Reviews for The Secret World (NA)

83

An interesting ride,

Bytrine | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Though this game isn't widely known and didn't receive as many players as expected at launch, it certainly is worth playing. You are someone who is thrown into a world of myth, legend, and mystery. Imagine every nightmare, monster, and fairy tale were true, this is what The Secret World offers. You choose from a few factions which tailor the NPC's, weapons, and outfits. Though the combat is restricted to hotkeys, gets repetitive and boring, the visuals and cosmetics of the combat moves are done very well. However, you need a very good PC to play this. Which is rare for an MMORPG. Lastly, there are many varieties of weaponry and you have a lot of customization and flexibility with your skills and how you'd like to use them.

80

Something old, something new-ish

LightningMelon | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all LightningMelon's reviews »

Very little in the Secret World truly covers new ground. The combat is hot-key button pressing, the story is often awkward and is usually more interesting for the atmosphere and setting than for individual encounters. But that atmosphere drives the game forward in a way that you might not expect. You'll want to stick around to uncover whatever the next eldritch horror is, because it usually is pretty freaky stuff. In addition, while much of the game might not be truly exceptional, it's never bad either. The combat is reasonably fun, the leveling system is wonderfully open-ended, and the game has a good sense of scale. It might not be the next best evolution in MMO game design, but given the cheap entry price (and lack of subscription fee!), if the subject matter interests you at all, definitely check it out!

96

One of the best MMO's out there

sheogorath98 | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all sheogorath98's reviews »

Totally immersive and fun, The Secret World is one of the most enjoyable experiences i have ever had the joy of playing in my gaming life. I've sunk almost 40 hours into it and I've only had it for a week. The storytelling is broad, and they way you grow your character without leveling is a really refreshing take on an old system. Storyline is good, but I wish you could feel less alone most of the time. The storyline is full of solo instances in which you must leave your group behind, and it really takes you out of the fun of playing an MMO for a few minutes. Other than that, no complaints. Totally worth the price, and highly recommended.

70

Mixed Bag, Here.

teamcanuck | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all teamcanuck's reviews »

TSW has great parts. The story shines in ways rarely seen in the MMORPG genre, and it's class system is pretty damn good as well. Problem is it's most of the other parts that is a turn off. While graphically, TSW rules, the animations for some weapon classes are horribly sub-standard.

Like I mentioned, the story shines, but the problem with that is it almost shines too well. You almost don't need to care about anything on the "MMO" end of the game, like dungeons,etc. I know same can be said about most other games, but you have to say something about over 300 hours played in a MMO without any interaction with another player.

It does some things well, but other than story, nothing great. It's moving wheels make you think it's going somewhere awesome, but in the end, this elevator stops halfway up the building.

90

My Favorite MMO out currently

Rainadraken | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Rainadraken's reviews »

I've played most of the major titled MMOs on the market, and this is the one that has my heart. I'm normally a fantasy player, but this one sucked me in and keeps me coming back for more. The combat is interesting, the point gaining system keeps you from making too many mistakes and the story telling is simply amazing. They keep the ambiance up and I love the music and the way they tell the story in the current world.

85

Better than expected, by far.

ZoraLink | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all ZoraLink's reviews »

I went into this very, very hesitant as to the free weapon switching, as well as the actual gameplay. At first, I found it dreadfully dull. After stopping for a month or so, I went back into it and pushed through a bit more, and started enjoying it a lot. At first the combat felt very clunky, especially with ability queuing on. Picking blood as my first weapon likely didn't help, combined with the ability queuing.

It felt like an odd mix of SWTOR and Guild Wars 2. It works though, for the most part, though certain things don't work, such as investigation missions at time, doing odd things that aren't very logical. And fair warning: There will be several missions that expect you to know morse code/have an interpreter. Don't be afraid to look those up, there is no shame in not wasting your time on these.

A fun little MMO that has surprised me with its better than expected voice acting (Not phenomenal, but better than many), decent story lines, and different take on 'leveling.' Combat can be quirky, and the start is relatively awkward before you start getting more abilities, but it picks up quickly.

78

Great Combat, Clunky at Times

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

The Secret World has a very different combat system that is really fun to use. It feels like a combination of a hack and slash combat system with lots of dodging and a traditional MMO combat system with the abilities set to the numbers. Unfortunately this feels very clunky at times during combat. The story is very engaging and is very unique from other games. The leveling may be unique but there is lots of depth. The graphics are beautiful, the game sounds very nice and it is easy to pick up for newcomers. I recommend any MMO fan give this a shot.

90

Worth More Than You'll Ever Have to Pay

megiddo | May 30, 2013 | See all megiddo's reviews »

The Secret World probably won't be the MMORPG that gets you hopelessly addicted. It is not a game that you will feel the need to spend every waking moment playing to the dejected frowns of your loved ones. Once you start, it's not even a game in which you'll feel like you're behind everybody or that'll you need to play 5 hours a day for a month to catch up. However, The Secret World is one of the most rewarding and entertaining experiences you'll find in any MMORPG to date. It's an amazing game that's worth far more than the $30 they're charging for all the 2012-developed content. Up to May 2013, there are two additional Issues (content packs) that players can purchase if so inclined, but they're not required and there's more than enough game already there to justify the cost.

TSW is a modern-day, three-faction MMORRG that's a compelling combination of adventure, action, conspiracy, and horror themes. At a basic level, it's a theme park action-RPG where you arrive at a hub, meet an NPC, and take on missions. However, TSW elevates the routine by making almost every quest a story-based chain. Consequently, players won't grab 10 or 20 quests and "clear the zone." Instead, players can take on a selection of story and side quests, rarely knowing where the missions will take them or what they'll need to do when there. In addition to conventional kill-X-many-enemies quests, TSW also gives a variety of missions that tell players to get something done without telling them exactly how. Sometimes you'll find clues in-game and sometimes you'll have to use google (Just be sure to add "-tsw" if you don't want spoilers). It's up to you to discover the clues and how to progress through the story.

The stories in TSW are the cornerstones of the game with the major arcs taking the player to present-day New England, Egypt, and Transylvania. The developers have quilted together folklore with ancient religions and urban myth. They've created characters who live in our world (some of them have real active Twitter accounts), but travel in circles full of magic. They are members of the secret organizations behind every major world event. A player's own character progression gives them the power to reveal more of the tale. There are no levels, just weapon and gear ranks. Players can buy ranks and abilities for their weapons with experience. More experience is granted from quests than from farming mobs, eliminating the need for grinding. Players will need to decide on the fly if Swords and Machine Guns or Blood Magic and Pistols or Hand Claws and Elementalism will get them through their current mission or if they'll need another weapon build altogether.

I've been playing The Secret World for about 10 months. I play it mostly solo while occasionally joining parties to achieve common goals and using my Cabal (guild) mostly for chat. I haven't discussed dungeons (5-man instances), lairs (high-difficulty open-world zones), raids (large group instances), or PVP because I haven't spent much time doing any of them. From what I see and hear in forums, podcasts, and reddit, multiplayer may be the game's weakest point even though players can't resist helping each other while we're all out doing our own things. Combat also takes some getting used to, but once you match abilities that synergize optimally in your build, you'll feel like a warrior god. Endgame is not a focus in this game and there's no need to race to get there. There's no urgency to get geared up to be a part of the 7% of players who see the game's most challenging combat content. TSW has tons of combat, but also tons of unique stories waiting for all players. If you're wanting to have the same experience that you've had in WoW, Guild Wars, or Tera, but in a contemporary, real world setting, TSW will disappoint you. If you want a unique, massively-multiplayer, combat-based, adventure RPG that you can take your time playing, you will not find a better game.

74

An underrated MMO gem

Cooberstooge | May 6, 2013 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

It's a real pity so many overlook this title, as it's got some of the most original player interaction I've ever seen. Sure, you work with people to complete quests, but factions that can pair up can also turn on one another. Trust needs to be earned in this one, and going into a big battle without it can leave you second-guessing everything.

While the visuals of the Secret World are strong, they look dated now and did so somewhat on release. As this isn't a big-budget title, one can forgive that, and honestly they did some solid work compared to the AAA MMOs being pushed out lately. Stability-wise, the game runs well most of the time, with slight lag during firefights in enclosed areas.

The shop that exists for you to customize your character is chock full of new items and gear, and I've wasted hours alone on just that, trying out new setups and weapons. The community is still a decent size, and for the most part friendly to newcomers - I joined late and a clan helped me get into the game, not expecting me to stick with them for the long haul either.

All in all, The Secret World is a good game, and one most avoid because of early bad press - but it is one you should try, as there's more here than meets the eye. Random problems aside, this is a good little game.

95

One of the BEST MMO's available. Period!

Cody64 | May 4, 2013 | See all Cody64's reviews »

The Secret World is the best MMO's I've ever played. I wont' go so far as to say that I'm an MMO enthusiast, but I've certainly played my fair share of games in the genre. This one beats them all.

For me, the main reason why this MMO is so great is because it has a heavy focus on Story Telling; something missing from many games in the genre. the story is dark, and set in creepy settings with some genuine scares! Very unique for this type of game.

Complimenting the story nicely is some excellent voice acting and superb writing. Much of the dialogue has a humorous edge to it, which makes it all the better. If you're into dark comedy, you'll get a kick out of some of the dialogue in TSW.

A great story with excellent voice acting would mean nothing for an MMO if it didn't have good gameplay. Luckilly, the gameplay in TSW is just as superb as the story. It has everything that you'd expect to see in an MMO, but does it all differently. From leveling up your character, to questing, and event to crafting; everything in this game has it's own unique spin. It's a fresh, exciting experience throughout.

Speaking of leveling, there isn't the typical "choose a class, gain levels, choose skills" that you see in most other MMOs. You actually don't even gain "levels". Instead, you earn SP and AP as you gain experience. You dump these into passive Skill Points, and into Abilities that are tied to the type of weapons you have equipped. It's a great system that let's you build the exact character that you want!

This game has a ton to offer, and with each content patch and DLC package it continues to get better. I could write a novel on this game, and still miss something! Rather than doing that, I'm just going to HIGHLY recommend that you check this game out, and discover all that it has to offer for yourself. You won't be disappointed!

70

Interesting, but a word of warning for non-MMO players

chestburster | May 4, 2013 | See all chestburster's reviews »

I like this game as a fan of H.P.Lovecraft and other weird mythos. But before The Secret World, I've never played any MMO. I bought this game after looking at gameplay videos. And in those videos, what you can see is that the game characters are firing guns; what you can't see in the videos, is that the player doesn't actually "control" the shooting--you just press the "skill" keys (1-9 number keys by default). There is very little targeting. --After some gameplay and research, I've come to the realization that this is how the modern MMOs are played. Well, not a gameplay style I like.

So yeah, if you're looking for a shooter, you gonna be disappointed. But I have to say, The Secret World is very well made for its genre. The graphics are nice and the story is kinda interesting. The quests involve some reading and puzzle solving, which I like.

88

Good mmo

chivshiv | March 25, 2013 | See all chivshiv's reviews »

The Secret World, though different than most current MMOs, is a fantastic game. It has a solid quest/story based progression that pits you against fairy-tale monsters, Lovecraftian horrors, and more zombies than you can shake a sword, assault rife, or magical fetish at. The combat system is a bit more mobile than most MMOs and you have a massive number of passive and active skills to aid you along the way. The 3-way pvp keeps things interesting as you're constantly having to watch your back to make sure one faction isn't circling around behind you as you fend off another. There is also a cash item shop, but its filled with cosmetic items; articles of clothing, full outfits, and the like. The game operates on a 'single server' system. There are multiple "Dimensions" but you can communicate and even group with players from those other dimensions. Upon joining a group you are loaded into that group's dimension until which time you zone after leaving the group. its a fantastic setup and allows for a much larger pool of players to group, quest, and interact with. Check it out! You'll likely enjoy it!

66

Interesting with some flaws

jbrown87 | March 18, 2013 | See all jbrown87's reviews »

The Secret World is a former Pay-to-Play game from Funcom that recently dropped its subscription model to Buy-Once-Play-Forever. It's a very interesting game that lets the player build a character in one of three factions:Dragon,Templar, and Illuminati. All three groups have deep stories that will keep you glued to your screen as you play through them. The combat system lets you choose a focus from several weapon categories including magics, melee, and guns. Now whilethe game is fun and fairly deep,it's not without its flaws. Namely the client stability. After playing on three different computer builds the client showed a tendency to lag and crash very often while in DirectX 11 mode, and often enough in DX9 mode. The constant lags, crashes, and graphical bugs can be enough to drive players away, especially on setup. If you have the patience to see past the glitchiness of the game, though, you'll find that it is very fun, even for an MMO.