Reviews for Painkiller: Black Edition

90

Great and kinda old game.

Furrek | July 25, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I got Painkiller: Black Edition, when it wasn't Black. I mean, few years ago both games were realesed separately. It was made by developers from my country, so it was Day 1 buy for me. When first time I played Painkiller I was simply happy - it was something that I never experienced before. Game is so well made, that there isn't anything you can complain about. It sure is dark and have horror atmosphere, filled with fast and enjoyable action, making every next level more enternaining. Painkiller have this one weapon, not sure how it's called in english, but it could fasten your enemy's to walls. God, how many hours I spent just doing that. My all time favorite thing in Painkiller will be weapons - there are few to choice, but if I remember well, every weapon have two ways to use it. You can also play this on really demaning difficult level, so if you are looking for challenge, some fun game, with great weapons - Painkiller: Black Edition is for you. It comes with normal Painkiller and Battle out of Hell, which is even more hard and fun to play.

83

Want more Doom? Here is your best bet!

AkiMatti | May 15, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Painkiller hits pretty much the same vein as Doom, Doom 2 and in some extents Doom 3 did. There are demons from Hell that the player has to defeat with his firearms.

And what firearms they are, indeed. The selection to use is excellent, with possibly the spike thrower being the favourite among players which impales the enemies and leaves them hanging on walls. The difficulty is also very tight especially on the harder settings and will provide plenty of challenge to FPS veterans across the board.

Today the graphics might seem a bit dated but on the other hand all the bells and whistles can be set to max along with the AA. Environments and aesthetics have been successfully developed to bring the correct mood for each stage.

Basically, this is a grim version of Serious Sam. If that strikes a soft spot in you, grab the game.

69

One of the better Painkiller games

drakso | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

Painkiller is a very awesome shooter. It is just a mindless shooting, but a very fun experience. The game has lots of variants that the company had the nerve and guts to call separate games. From all of the games the original painkiller and the black edition are the worth while games. In the game you mostly shoot very well designed and slightly creepy creatures with a number of weapons. The weapon design I think is the high point of this game. You not only shoot with the weapon, but feel awesome while doing it. The maps are divided by sections and you must clear a section before continuing to the next. There are also very old school boss fights, in the meaning that you can't just win by shooting in it. There is a certain way of killing every boss and you must figure out how. Overall a very gory shooter with very awesome weapons. Recommend as a stress releaver or just if you feel like shooting mindlessly.

85

If you want more Doom in your life just take a Painkiller!

MauroR | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

If you loved and still love Doom this is the game that you're looking for. Imagine a good graphics engine, fast paced gameplay, and tons, tons , tons of monsters, here you are served a fresh Painkiller. This game recreate the the Doom gameplay style perfectly, at least in my opinion, also the story it's quite good for a fast action shooter like this one. I've really enjoyed at the time of release and I've enjoyed it now, there's also a remake powered by the Unreal Engine 3 released few years, you should check it out that too if you're interested or you don't have the original title.

Also the expansion (included in the Black Edition) it's quite enjoying so you'll get the full experience of the title with this pack. Just grab a copy and start slaying monsters, you'll never want to stop.

85

Guns, enemies, and fun.

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Painkiller is a throwback to the old shooter days, and I enjoyed playing it. Each gun has a punch and kick that gives a feel good feeling when taking out hordes of enemies. The only complaint I have is that the soul-system takes a little bit long to appear, and it is an instant-use mechanic/system. However, do not let that small nitpick prevent you from enjoying this fast-paced shooter.

80

Hugely Entertaining

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

Painkiller is back. This edition includes both the original award-winning game and its expansion pack “Battle out of Hell”. Now is the time to discover the thrilling game acclaimed by all journalists and players during the last major international tournaments. Pure adrenalin and awesome graphics: the perfect adrenalin shoot of this year!

Features: A fantastic single player mode: over 30 levels of fierce action, dozens of different enemies in completely unique and varied environments. Even greater graphics, thanks to the PAIN engine and the Havok 2.0 physics engine: destroy hyper detailed enemies & blow everything up. Adrenalin rushed gameplay: non-stop action, hundreds of enemies to be decimated and gigantic final bosses.

85

Brilliantly manic old-school shooter

RyanFitz | July 31, 2013 | See all RyanFitz's reviews »

Painkiller embodies a classic style of first-person shooting that seems to have become quite marginalised in recent times. Where now your Call of Duties dominate the battlefield, at one time most shooters were of a decidedly more arcade-ish persuasion. In the simpler times where Painkiller hails, there were no chest high walls to take cover behind; there was no regenerating health, no reflex scopes, no QTEs or stealth. Painkiller was all about throwing hordes of enemies at you while you ran around, spamming the space bar to jump, firing rockets and stakes and electrified shurikens at the bad guys, and laughing manically as they exploded in a shower of gore. The default weapon is a rotating sawblade on top of a staff that can be fired at enemies to obliterate them, or attached to a wall to create a laser beam that kills enemies who run into it. Let me say that again; this is the default weapon, the first thing you are given in the game. There are no crappy pistols. Only death.

Now I certainly have time for more considered shooting games But when I first started playing Painkiller, I can honestly say that I hadn't had that much fun with a shooter for a long time, to the point where I ignored everything else in my library so that I could play more Painkiller. Unsurprisingly, It quickly shot up to being one of my favourite FPS games, despite its stodgy cutscenes and the absence of any coherent level transitions.

Now, these are noticeable flaws with the game, but story isn't really why you're playing Painkiller, and who really cares how you got from the haunted cathedral to the secret military base, when all of the levels are designed so well? Indeed, the game constantly changes up its environments, which results in a great variety of enemy to shoot at as well. The game has tons of enemies, ranging from a "rocket hellangel" to a "supreme evil monk", or from a "zombie commander necromancer" to an "electro freak". Many of these enemies run at you screaming bloody murder, although there are certainly enough ranged foes to keep you busy.

Where the game does make a more egregious misstep is in its boss battles. They were unquestionably the most frustrating part of the game; there was often only one way to put them down, and their sweeping attacks would hit you hard. It was not the sort of frantic shooting that made the rest of the game so enjoyable, but a scurrying, desperate kind. Sure, it makes you feel like the insect that you are (at least in comparison to the bosses) but the gameplay is not as compelling. Luckily, these bosses only crop up at the end of each set of levels, and so don't quite get in the way as much.

Painkiller is not the most sophisticated shooter ever made. There are optional objectives to complete that will net you special powers, and a berserk-like system that enables you to essentially explode whatever enemies you can target for a short time after collecting enough "souls." But even here, the game flouts its singular direction: kill. There is nothing wrong with a single-minded determination; in fact, it was refreshing to play a game that seems to have set out to make you have fun above all else, and in that respect it was a resounding success.

85

An awesome ride!

Texhnolyzed | July 17, 2013 | See all Texhnolyzed's reviews »

Painkiller is a fast paced and violent FPS very much in the style of classics like Quake and Unreal. It features a cheesy but fun plot that puts you in a seemingly endless battle against the various spawns of hell and provides you with a wide variety of deadly weapons to put the monsters back to where they came from. Painkiller features a good amount of varied and well designed levels that will keep you playing and make the purchase more than worth it. Visually it of course can't keep up with nowaday's greats, but it is not an eyesore either.

If you are a fan of old-school FPS that don't waste time and just destroy waves of enemies, Painkiller is the right choice for you!

85

Doomlike, but different

augieg | July 14, 2013 | See all augieg's reviews »

This game does feel a lot like doom/quake/series same all rolled into one. I did have to turn off the music. I'm not into the constant pounding music of the older titles anymore,
This game is strangely addictive. The cut-scenes are nice too for a game of that period.
Definitely worth a look. Just know this is shooting mayhem at its finest.

90

Oldie but Goodie

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Old, odd, funny, awesome game!, it is a shooter with no other target than killing creatures like skeletons and zombies on the graveyard. Multi-player option is very funny if you are playing with your friends and the music during the whole game makes this game epic.

71

Nice but a little old.

drafek | June 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is old, that's why this game doesn't have good graphics but the good thing is, the game does have endless waves which you don't see alot these days. The gameplay is done well, I haven't experienced any glitches. The sound is a little odd but it's alright. I would suggest picking it up on a sale.

100

Very Addictive Old School FPS

thegaminglyfe | June 18, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Painkiller Black feels like Unreal Tournament or Quake with an even cheesier story. An assassin sent from heaven. But just because the story is cheesy doesn't mean its fun. There are lots of weapons to blow your way through monsters and 2 or 3 different ways to do it with each weapon. The level design is very good with some narrow hallways for suspense and some open rooms for mobility and different ways to avoid the monsters. The physics and gameplay are both top-notch and very addicting to use. The graphics were amazing when this game came out and they still look quite nice today. The soundtrack works perfectly with the game. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys old school FPS's and games that require you to stay on your feet.

85

a motherhumping stakegun!

Bynn | June 11, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Yes, my favourite gun of all times, a sodding stakegun <3 The rest of the guns are cool but this is by far the best of the game for me. Cool-looking old school shoot'em all,very dark settings, just overall interesting and fun. Not really for those who love deep stories anmd developments os such, just shiit things all day long ^^

75

Just shoot everything

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

Yep, that explains this game. It's fun in the fact that there are lots of enemies and as mentioned in another review, it does have a Serious Sam feel to it. This is where it all began and if you want to play this game where it all started, this is it.

95

Old School FPS at its finest!

Mumblez | May 23, 2013 | See all Mumblez's reviews »

Let's say you're sick of modern military shooters. You've seen every chest high wall, every cloud of smoke and every bullet decal there is to see and vomit rises in your mouth whenever the word 'corridor' and 'gunfight' are mentioned in the same sentence. You want something fresh. You need something fresh. Look no further, Painkiller is here to help you!

This game is the first and unquestionably the best in its series. You are one man, armed with a wide array of weirder than weird weapons, fighting against hordes of crazy monsters in gorgeous arenas. Levels are linear, but it doesn't matter. The gunplay and movement is what make this game great. You can bunnyhop while you use the titular weapon to dismember your foes, all the while evading their attacks. This is what a shooter should be, in my opinion.

As stated, all the weapons are crazy - this is a good thing. Every gun is unique and to top it off, all of them have alt-fires. It's worth trying all of them out just to see what kind of craziness they can produce! There's even one that fires shurikens and lightning. Shurikens and lightning! (If only it had tits and was on fire...)

The levels are beautiful and all of them are different. You'll experience war-torn battlefields, asylums and even theatres and all of these areas will be filled with deadly monsters all out for your blood.

Enemy AI is bad, but since this is an old school FPS where you'll be facing hordes for the most part, it doesn't matter. Monsters will chase you while you blow 'em to bits and that's how it should be. In a game like this, advanced AI is not a necessity.

This game isn't perfect, occasionally enemies may get stuck in the map itself and you might encounter other bugs, but at the end of the day, this is an experience I'd recommend to everyone. If you like shooters, give it a try. You won't regret it!

TL;DR:

THE GOOD: -Great variety of weapons -Amazing art style -Visually well-designed enemies and arenas -Practically non-stop action

THE BAD: -A hilariously bad story. Borders on 'So Bad It's Good' -Enemy AI is laughable, monsters can get stuck on some levels -Minor bugs

My rating: 95 Play this. It's an amazing experience that you should not miss out on. Give it a go!

80

A throwback to the classic FPS genre

Jelley | March 25, 2013 | See all Jelley's reviews »

Painkiller is a throwback to the classic style of first person shooters. Waves of enemies lie between the player and the exit of the level, and it is up to the player to blast their way through all of them to reach the exit. Simple in concept, Painkiller is well executed and has just enough plot progression and variety of levels to maintain excitement. Typical to the genre, the game features a variety of weapons which offer a variety of ways to disembody the endless waves of hell. With an emphasis on killing, the game houses an impressive physics and graphics which showcase the destruction caused by the player, and are incredibly satisfying. One such weapon can pin enemies to a wall, while another simply explodes monsters into a fountain of blood. The endless killing is broken up by several cut scenes which progress the plot of the game, as well as boss battles which significantly change up the physical game play and overall strategy. Players can also complete an optional objective in each level to unlock a tarot card, which can be activated to give slight buffs. Painkiller also features multiplayer which essentially has the typical modes of capture the flag and death match. With addictive game play and wonderful physics and graphics, Painkiller is an engaging game and is well worth a look.

80

Very enjoyable FPS similar to Serious Sam

kairegister | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all kairegister's reviews »

This game is all about shooting. Shoot shoot shoot. Shoot them all. Tons of monsters. One thing this game benefits over Serious Sam are the level design. None of the levels are just an open field, and it's very easy and comfortable navigating the inside of a building. There's also enjoyable bosses (Which I feel Sam didnt get until BFE)

The game offers many weapons, each with 2 different weapon kind (Example: The machine gun is also a rocket launcher. yeah, exactly)

If you're thinking of getting this game, dont play on Insomnia ("Normal" difficulty), it's too easy at that difficulty.

86

The best game of the Painkiller series

panz3r88 | Feb. 21, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Painkiller: Black Edition contains the first game of the Painkiller series with its expansion and it's the best game of the series. In Painkiller there's no time think:the levels are linear but full of enemies and you must use your weapons to survive all the waves of monsters that try to kill you. The weapons are quite original and they all have a primary and secondary fire. This game is also original if compared to other old school shooters due to the tarot system: when you start a level you can choose between various cads that allow you to use different temporary or permanent bonus during the levels. During the game you can unlock more powerful tarot cards if you find secrets and hidden rooms