Reviews for Forge

70

A great game with not enough players

cremvursti | July 12, 2013 | See all cremvursti's reviews »

For those of you who like the competitiveness side of online games, this is for you. As it has been said before, it is comparable to the WoW PvP or GW2 PvP, only withouth the race for equipment. Rather, it has a very unique level advancing system that will keep you coming again for one more match. It feels very dynamic thanks to the movement system, which gives you a unique sense of reward for every kill you make. Sadly, it suffers from the fact that few people actually play it, despite the fact that it went on sale and was featured in a bundle, at a very low price. And when you ain't got nobody to play it with, well... the game's pretty much useless.

80

Rather Fun but Requires More Players

roguehunter | July 5, 2013 | See all roguehunter's reviews »

Forge is quite interesting from a PvP point of view. To me it's kinda like WOW mixed with CS. I found the controls a little confusing at first but once you play a bit you tend to remember.

The only downside to the game is the lack of players. Having to look for rooms to play with more than 3 people was a problem. My greatest hope is that more people start coming to the game.

90

Great game but Dead Community

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Forge is a team based arena game with MMORPG style gameplay. There are many different classes that you can use to either go solo or in co-op. The classes are very balanced mostly because when you level up your character's power doesn't increase, you get new abilities and armor. This allows for some customization. There are lots of updates that don't let the game get old so it's hard to get bored of the game quickly. The only big problem is that the community is very dead so it's hard to find others to play with. At $20 this game is a must buy.

76

Arena game

lok0812 | June 19, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is similar to your MMO Arena match sort of like the one in WoW. choose to control one of the 5 or 6 characters and your objective is to fight against the enemy team. Each of these characters have unique skills while a few of them is stronger than others but all are pretty much the same controls. Graphic of the game is pretty nice, and the sound is acceptable. Give it a try if you enjoy a PVP Arena game.

83

Pretty Great

DanielZo0 | June 10, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

If only combat from forge could be merged with GW2, it would the perfect combat system ever made. For example the Z axis hardly used in GW2 on land, only underwater combat, yet forge has implemented a style where wall jumping up trees and fighting in the air actually makes the game feel 3Dimensional(prince of Persia style) as well as effects that ACTUALLY blinds you (screen goes dark for a few seconds when blinded) and not just drops a symbol on your head something arenanet should take note of.

You're probably wondering why I've compared GW2 to forge, it's because forge has similar ties to GW1 with a dash of First Person Shooter minus the first person (character is in 3rd person just like GW2 and developer explicitly told cynical brit that it has ties to such games). It's faster paced and ultimately more enjoyable combat imo over GW2 (maximum stun lock prevention in place, also something GW2 should have had). The only negative i have with forges combat which it actually shares with GW2 is that you don't really need to aim at targets when using range because projectiles are like homing missiles, only way to evade is through certain skills or breaking line of sight, and in both games makes it boring because you just stand back while auto attacking into a snoozefest.

In the end i believe this game shows real promise, with more tweaking and more game mode options (which will be in a future patch in December) this games PvP could very well trump GW2's sPvP, even WvW (future plans for larger maps for 16V16+) should definitely keep an eye on this one, more so if you're tired of the grind in GW2.

70

Great Potential!

Plasros | June 9, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

If only combat from forge could be merged with GW2, it would the perfect combat system ever made. For example the Z axis hardly used in GW2 on land, only underwater combat, yet forge has implemented a style where wall jumping up trees and fighting in the air actually makes the game feel 3Dimensional(prince of Persia style) as well as effects that ACTUALLY blinds you (screen goes dark for a few seconds when blinded) and not just drops a symbol on your head something arenanet should take note of.

You're probably wondering why I've compared GW2 to forge, it's because forge has similar ties to GW1 with a dash of First Person Shooter minus the first person (character is in 3rd person just like GW2 and developer explicitly told cynical brit that it has ties to such games). It's faster paced and ultimately more enjoyable combat imo over GW2 (maximum stun lock prevention in place, also something GW2 should have had). The only negative i have with forges combat which it actually shares with GW2 is that you don't really need to aim at targets when using range because projectiles are like homing missiles, only way to evade is through certain skills or breaking line of sight, and in both games makes it boring because you just stand back while auto attacking into a snoozefest.

In the end i believe this game shows real promise, with more tweaking and more game mode options (which will be in a future patch in December) this games PvP could very well trump GW2's sPvP, even WvW (future plans for larger maps for 16V16+) should definitely keep an eye on this one, more so if you're tired of the grind in GW2.

-1 point for the game still being in a beta state (although entirely justified they need funding after all so just 1 point) -1 for lame target assist -1 better music/sound effects but again can't be helped it's a indie game and it really doesn't effect game play much at all

65

Forge, some mixed feelings

rabidchihuahua | June 9, 2013 | See all rabidchihuahua's reviews »

Forge is unlike anything I've ever played before. I'm not really interested in many multiplayer exclusive games. This one looked interesting enough thematically and also said it was free from grinding up to higher levels. So I figured it would be a good place to start for my journey into MMOs. The game's tutorial is fairly comprehensive going through most of the essentials. It is kind of slow paced and left me with some boredom. The option that worked best for me to learn the game was the bot match. It pit me one on one against every class in the game, with three levels of ascending difficulty. It helped me learn the various moves for each character and their various areas of effectiveness. However, now there was just a patch released literally one day ago. The tutorial has been rebuilt so I am going to assume it is better. I hate to play it again now that I have the basics down. There were also tutorials added for each of the five classes specifically which was definitely a problem for me before the patch. It was hard to learn by my errors in multiplayer. The tutorial is much more comprehensive now and teaches you where you would use your abilities in an actual battle situation. The best addition of the patch, besides the wonderful new title screen (heh), is the co-op bot battle. It more realistically simulates a player versus player match than the 1v1 bot battles did. Another good feature which should have been there from the beginning is a compass. When I played my first multiplayer game I had no idea where any other player was, now the compass should help with that. That problem was also made worse by another really bad problem. One main qualm which I have with this game is the lack of players. An online game really needs a significant number of players to thrive. If I take only the matches in which I have the least latency, then I usually have only a couple to choose from. Sometimes I have none. Heck, even with the games that have a bunch of latency it is still only a handful. It is also common for the matches to only have 6 out of 12 possible players. I think that the game would be much more fun with full or close to full servers. There are three different online modes: capture the relic, king of the hill, and team deathmatch. They play exactly how they sound. It has been hard to choose which mode I want to play with the lack of servers and players. It is just go with the flow so far. It is also very random, the players that you get to play with. I have played on the same server multiple times but with crazy variations in skill level. This would not be a problem but it usually ends up that one team is full of new players while the other has people who have been playing since release. There are also a few minor problems I have. One minor problem which I think merits mentioning is that it is hard to find information for this game online. Forge is the name of many things and is some sort of thing in Halo Reach. It was hard to find extra tutorials/tips. Now with the revamped tutorials though hopefully that should not be a problem for new players. Another problem is that there is no server browser in game. It's annoying to have to go through the Steam servers. The patch added a reconnect button, so at least you can get back on the server you most recently played on. Despite this game's stance on grinding there is an experience system and leveling up for new abilities occurs. I have not leveled up much but I can see how it does have the potential to put new players at a disadvantage. The actual gameplay is fun enough. The classes have 9 abilities and take up various amounts of action points. The classes vary well. Some are more adept at close range combat will others are good for long range. It is good to start as Pathfinder, archer, when you play your first few matches online. I actually played my first game as Assassin and got repeatedly assassinated. So learn from my mistakes. Some classes are good for offense while others are good for defense and support. Shaman is a great support class. It is good for significantly healing teammates. The maps are pretty enjoyable as well. Wall jumping plays a role in your character's movement in the game and there are plenty of things to jump off. There is a variety of terrain to hide behind. That pairs well with the Pathfinder's ability to go invisible. You can hide behind something and pop up again right by an opponent. The balance in this game between classes is pretty good. If an Assassin uses it's ability to jump behind you and you are a Pathfinder you can lay down a trap to stun the Assassin. These kind of abilities seem very intimidating when used against a beginner so it is very important to learn every ability of a class. My thoughts on this game are very split. On one hand, I think the gameplay is pretty fun. It is a good change from the normal shooter fare for me. One the other hand though, there are quite a few problems with this game so far. In fact before this most recent patch the game seemed to really lack potential to me, especially the tutorial and the lack of mini-map. The recent fixes have restored my faith in the game to a degree and I hope it can attract more players. I would say that it is worth buying (or winning), especially on sale. It might be worth it to wait for a while before buying, just to see if the patch brings in more players. It certainly has a chance of doing that because new players are less likely to be discouraged with the better training resources.

85

Great Arena Style Fun

faintfs | April 27, 2013 | See all faintfs's reviews »

Forge is a team based arena style game, Work together or go on alone to fight other players around the world. This game is amazing to play with friends or even alone. Not to mention the price of this game can't be beat, 19.99$. Forge features classes such as the shaman and pyromancer that have their own unique skill sets. All in all this game is a lot of fun and the price cant be beat. Snag this game while it's on sale at GMG.

40

Really Wanted to Like This Game

megiddo | April 26, 2013 | See all megiddo's reviews »

I keep giving Forge the opportunity entertain me and I keep being disappointed. My primary concern is with the unsatisfying combat. The game is inspired by MMORPGs, but it needs to be what it really is; a lobby-based multiplayer PVP game. It needs melee combat that feels as heavy and damaging as Chivalry or War of the Roses and ranged combat as opportunistic and energetic as Blacklight: Retribution or Team Fortress 2. What we have instead is a game where you can hit other players with an axe, an arrow, or a fireball and they never seem to get hurt until you see them keel over. The game can be somewhat fast-paced and "twitchy", but it's also somewhat rock-paper-scissor balanced with each class being distinctly better or worse at challenging each other class. The maps are covered in indestructible objects designed to break line-of-sight, which is required to hit or block, but they also make the maps confusing. Additionally, the little target reticle has to be lined up just right on your opponent to make contact, but the only indicator that you actually did make contact is the slightly different sound of the hit and the effects of any debuff your attack applied. Having put down $10 for the game already, I'm content to download patches and find out if it ever finally becomes fun. However, I don't recommend it. I do like the quality of graphics and the art style, but even then I'd really like to see more combat animations.

80

Highlt addictive and fun.

fable2 | April 24, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Fun and highly skillful game!

The game is open to many different tactics and strategies due to the unique skills and gaming method.

The beat of the game is very fast, but it will still take a while to take someone down, means that even if someone surprises you, you will still have the chance to retaliate if you are skillful enough.

I believe that after some class balancing the game will be super for clan fights and leagues Currently according to my experience, the winning team will be the team with more "Healers" on its side, especially on "Team Death Match".

Advise for the new player, take your time to learn the skills and a configure the key bindings at the tutorial as this part is a little bit frustrating at start, especially when other players are attacking you and you keep using the wrong skill.

To summarize, I would recommend this game to any gamer who lover fast competitive games (like Unreal, Halo etc.).

85

Forge

timeraider | March 5, 2013 | See all timeraider's reviews »

I know alot of people are irritated by the lack of some features. This game was an rushrelease, mostly because of the dire need of more funding to be able to proceed making this game..i cant imagine how great it will be after some patches incoming VERY soon... Now my review: This really is a game of my alley. Its a light game that holds your attention, but does not force you to play it as much as possible. It is a really nice combination of a fantasy PvP only MMO combined with aim/hit-box mechanics of an FPS. Atm its not in a complete state yet, but that will be hopefully solved by the money gained by the Steam-release (Indiegame developers always have a hard time getting the funding). Till now the progression they have made with the game is absolutely massive and i really believe the devs. put all their effort in making this game great.. The gameplay feels smooth, but also slightly challenging at start. The most basic features are implemented, a lot of features (skins/more optimisation/more maps/more gametypes/more classes/more types of maps with different amount of people allowed) are either in or being implemented. TBH, at other games i would be irritated those things weren't in there yet, but at this game i eagerly await them. Its been a great ride since Alpha/Kickstarter, but i would advise people to ask themselves if they would be able to step off the standard fps/mmo way and play a game like Forge. Watch the trailer, watch some videos and if you are interested i would say.. do not hesitate, step into Forge.. step into war! :D A real fps style arena game, nice fantasy features.. so.. check out some videos and judge yourself. Features like rating and more classes are scheduled for soon. Aside from that we already have organised tournaments (with commentators!), customisation of character and for the casuals you can always do some randoms (either alone using the server browser.. or group up!)

76

Forge, a magnificent experience with some flaws

Xiphora | Feb. 27, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Forge is an MMO fantasy game with some shooter and rpgs elements blended. It doesn't do anything new, but for the most part Forge is still an enjoyable experience. It's really addicting. Being an indie title, Forge is a marvel to play, the amount of work put into it is very noticeable with its fleshed out environments and solid gameplay. Past the environments and fun multiplayer shooter/rpg gameplay, Forge has little more to offer, and that's where other prominent MMOs outshine it. Forge doesn't bring anything new to the tables, so it may end up being any other MMO in the long run. But at the very low single payment of $20, Forge is a fabulous bargain.