Reviews for Dustforce

85

An allergic person's nightmare: Dust

reginleifx | Oct. 31, 2014 | See all reginleifx's reviews »

This is a game that features an antagonist we usually fight in real life: Dust. Dustforce is a game with almost no plot at all, but it does not matter, because the game is beautifully designed. Its gameplay is fluid, and it requires much skills (specially in later levels), but it never feels unfair. There are four playable characters, each one having different stats than the others, so you can pick the one who adjusts to your playstyle better. Its soundtrack is beautiful. It is relaxing, and fits the game's atmosphere. Get it if you are looking for a challenging platformer. You will not regret it.

92

Platforming Heaven!

Skare_Crow_ | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all Skare_Crow_'s reviews »

Platform-type games are my favorite, and this game is the cherry on top! The gameplay is so fluid, the soundtrack is awesome, and still it has caused me to rage-quit more times than I want to admit. I thank the developers for creating so many levels to clean. Absolutely one of my top-rated games, and I absolutely recommend this game to anyone up for a beautiful challenge.

72

this game punches you in the face, and laughs.

dgol1115 | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all dgol1115's reviews »

it just so happens that the laugh is the most wonderful, melodic soundtrack i've ever heard. i'm not big into games like this, but i get better, simply because i refuse to stop listening to the soundtrack. (and am too lazy to find out if theres a way to buy it.)

there might be a story or something. maybe. but the real star is the gameplay, taking the cubic levels of the olden days and making them vertical, forcing a sense of momentum, and urgency, through the expanded controls, which include wallruns, dash's, multiple attacks, and probably other stuff i'm forgetting. if you like 2D runnerjumpers, or music at all, get this games.

86

Plataforming at its best.

Seibitsu | June 23, 2014 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

If you love hard and fast paced platformers you'll like Dustforce. You have to make impossible wall jumps, wall runnings along with other movements in order to reach the end. In your way you'll find enemies and dust to clean; actually the enemies can't kill you as you don't have a health bar but if you want to make a level in the most perfect way, you need to kill them ans avoid beign touched.

90

Amazing and difficult platformer

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | See all bcf623's reviews »

I originally played this game after learning that it was similar to Super Meat Boy which I loved. This game is somewhat different, but it does have one main thing in common: it is very frustrating at times and may cause rage quits. There were multiple things that this game had that caused me to fall in love with it. One of these is the art style, which to me is unique and ironically calming. What I also loved about this game is the fact that there are multiple playable characters that have slightly different forms of movement that can lead to a faster or slower time depending on the map that you are playing. All in all, if you are a fan of platformers, this is a must play.

89

Hard, but fair

Demilisz | Dec. 10, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

If you love a challenging, very hard platformers you will love a Dustforce. This is like Super Meat Boy, but your goal is to clean each level from dust or leaves or goo or whatever there is. As fast as possible. And as accurate as possible. Using one of four characters you will be cleaning and jumping, reaching places thought to be impossible to reach. Completing this game are not easy, and mastering it to reach high ranks on leaderboards are even harder. You will need a lot of patience to play this as later levels will require to repeat them over and over again looking for just right jump timing to save even quarter of second.

And when you done with singleplayer there is multi waiting with combat mode. If you like this kind of games - buy. The rest will probably destroy their gamepads with rage of fury.

90

I'm losing and I'm loving it.

Kchunxty | July 8, 2013 | See all Kchunxty's reviews »

Dustforce was one of those games that blew my mind with the trailer. So I was eager to play it going into the game. Once I got into it, first I fell in love with the music (The artist, Lifeformed is now my favourite music artist) and I had to get a feel for the smooth yet specific platforming. It was a weird feeling, but one tutorial later and I got it. After the first few stages, I realized something. This wasn't an easy game at all. This is like meatboy, but taking itself seriously. So I had a pretty hard time with it. I was pretty good at it, but some levels were just too much, and the progression system was a bit too demanding for me to handle. Then Hitbox decided to release an update for the progression system, to make it a little easier. once that happened, I found myself able to progress, but still having a very fun challenge. Dustforce is a game all about precision and perfect runthroughs. Being able to pull off advanced acrobatics is key to getting anywhere in this game. It leaves no room for people who aren't good at precision platformers. Now, if you're not good at platformers to begin with, don't give this a try, it will just anger you. If you're good at regular platformers, try it out and you will probably like it, albeit needing some practice with the specific fluidity of the controls and movement. if you're already good at percision platformers, then I highly recommend this game, you will thoroughly enjoy yourself. also the music is brilliant and the art style is pleasant as hell.

90

Gives Super Meat Boy a run for its money

redhandjohn | July 4, 2013 | See all redhandjohn's reviews »

Dustforce is one of the most fun and fluid platformers out there.

The mechanics are very simple to learn and the difficulty is only set by the level design. Speaking of which the levels are very varied as they span accross multiple themes and difficulties. You're gonna clean forests, castles, labs and cities and you're going to do it in the most bad-ass way possible.

The art style is great, the animations are very polished and the game features one of the best soundtracks you ever heard.

If you like 2D platformers you must buy it.

95

Fluid platforming

tumador | June 13, 2013 | See all tumador's reviews »

Dustforce is pretty special, it stands out among a plethora of recent 2d indie platformers. The game has a cool, melancholic calmness about it, brought about mainly by its amazing soundtrack.

The game requires a bit of learning, levels can seem impossible at first but over time you learn simple tricks to improve time and completion, all of this has a pay off in the form of flow (its all about flow), this game has the potential to be super graceful/zen like (this is probably the only reason i prefer it to say.. super meatboy). The ability to run on any surface makes for interesting level design, more so than simply jumping from platform to platform. I only wish the devs made more official levels (though there's tons of user created stuff).

If your a bit of a perfectionist you'll get the most out if it (im not but this game made me want to S rank everything). If your at all a fan of 2d platformers its a must play.

100

Artwork in trash

Bynn | June 11, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

When I first heard about this game I went WAT :I. Playing as a ninja janitor is kinda interesting, but beyond the silly look and quick thought about this game, lies a deeper though if it. Starting with nice, well drawn scenarios, an amazing musical set, "enemies" and dust, trash and leaves to clean, this game requires some technique with platformers, because if you want the best score, you have to be fast and swift. As with Super Meat Boy, it will make you ragequit sometimes, but still is a game you should give a try, with each one of it's 4 playable characters, with slight diference in movement, which each one work diferent for each map, try to find the best one for them ;D

75

Fun Platformer

sittinghawk10 | June 7, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

Nice indie game. Only a few mechanics to learn. Time trial gives good replayability if you are interested in that sort of thing. Definitely worth a couple of bucks.

85

Finally a good game about sweeping!

Vahgrant | May 8, 2013 | See all Vahgrant's reviews »

I usually don't like hard platformers like Super Meat Boy because they're insanely hard just to be so, so I tried Dustforce without really expecting anything out of it and I was really surprised. Indeed, even though the game is hard and you have to restart the level all over again sometimes, it's really fun. First of all, the game is, graphically talking, beautiful, the animations are flawless and the level design very well done. The controls also are amazing, if ever your characters falls or if he doesn't move the way you wanted it will be your fault, yours only, because the gameplay never fails, every moves are well distinguished. So if you fail doing something you won't end up blaming the game and raging like hell because you're the one to blame, it will force you to get better and to try understanding what you're doing wrong. Another part of the game is the Nexus, the place where you select all your levels, it is a really good idea, it allows you to never stop playing which is somewhat a little annoying in other games. Moreover, there is a level editor with which you can create your levels and there also is a system called "Atlas" allowing you to download other people's maps really easily. And finally my personal favorite aspect of the game are its musics, it creates a zen ambiance making you feel as if you were not there and it's just amazing.

Dustforce is a game you play to have fun, it is challenging and zen. If you liked hard platformers, Dustforce is a must-have

100

Poetic but Require skill !

zhack075 | Feb. 27, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Dustforce is an amazing game.

the story involve 4 characters who need to clean dust in many differents level. You need to choose 1 character and use skill in order to get rid of the dust and the enemies. The faster you are, the better grade you get. In order to do so you can jump and do many beautiful moves in the air or on walls.

The game is hard to handle. In fact, it's like a time attack based super meat boy. death is rare in this game but every mistakes make you loose time.

If you like 2D platformer, this game is a must have. With Super Meat Boy, it's trully the best 2D platformer available on the market.

81

Gorgeous combat plataformer

CJV | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all CJV's reviews »

Dustforce is a 2D side-scrolling plataformer with some combat elements and absolutely gorgeous visuals. Is one of those games that it is easy to pick up but very hard to master, but to master it is a very rewarding achievement, not because you unlock something by doing so but because the game is at it's best when you are able to flawlessly complete a level. I recommend this game to any hardcore plataformer fans.

80

A good but very hard platformer

Cavalieroscuro | Feb. 15, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

I bought this when it was first released on Steam. The game is pretty good, basically you must jump and clean the road thanks to your broom, but the game in insanely hard. There isn't a native support for controller, so you must map it. If you liked Super Meat Boy, you will like this a lot.