Reviews for Battlefield 3 (NA)

86

War is Hell

yngdr | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

Battlefield 3 delves in to the belly of the beasts of War. You fight defend and kill, you drive and fly. the graphics are great and the play is spot on. Enemies die and kill as they would on a real battlefield. Cut-scenes are done right with mild annoyances when you die. However, this game should be a guide for the COD games in balance of mechanics and story.

Worth buying specially on sale.

96

Amazing Warfare Shooter

Master_Conner | July 17, 2014 | See all Master_Conner's reviews »

I got this game for Xbox and PC (when it was free on origin) and I love it. You can play this game anyway you want. Do you want to fight in a tank, blowing up buildings, enemies, and anything in your path ? Then do it ! Do you want to fly a helicopter, shooting enemies, vehicles, and other aircraft ? Than do it ! Do you want to fly jets, shooting other jets down, bombing enemy tanks, and objectives ? Than do it ! Or maybe you just want to play as infantry. As infantry, you have four different classes to choose from, Assault, Engineer, Support, or Recon. Assault players specialize in assault rifles and healing and reviving teammates. Engineers specialize in taking down enemy vehicles with rocket launchers and repairing friendly vehicles.Support players specialize in Light machine guns and resupplying teammates with ammo. Recon players specialize in sniper rifles and scouting the area ahead of them with a flying MAV. There is so much more to this game than what I just listed, so if any of this interested you, I highly recommend this game.

85

Definitely better than CoD

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | See all bcf623's reviews »

This game was recently free to download on Origin, and if you missed that then this game is still worth buying. In my opinion, this game's campaign was highly underrated as the story kept me intrigued and the AI was actually decent. However, when it comes to games like Battlefield it is not always about the single player. The graphics are very nice, but the game has a blue tint to everything that may get annoying. The multiplayer was the best of any Battlefield that I have played with multiple different game modes, and a nice number of large maps that were very enjoyable to play on, and also just see the level of detail on them. As some have said a lot of players did move on to Battlefield 4, but there has been a recent surge of players and you're sure to have a good time.

96

Battlefield 3 Defined the end of the last generation.

HellBoundGamer | April 1, 2014 | See all HellBoundGamer's reviews »

Battlefield 3, even with all of its glitches was the epitome of a "Good FPS". With destructible environments and massive maps in which to simulate war with friends and foes alike. Battlefield 3, albeit not perfect, was very close to being perfect. The maps, the game modes, the DLC were phenomenal, yet the glitches and servers were not the best and sadly that is why it gets a 96/100.

89

BF3 beats CoD in every way

M3NT4L5 | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all M3NT4L5's reviews »

The graphics are amazing. The gameplay is amazing. The multiplayer is amazing. everything about this game is amazing except for the campaign. I didn't think it was very fun but that's just my opinion. I recommend this game to anybody. The vehicles really add a nice touch.

88

Great Multiplayer, Mediocre Campaign

JoeKikAss | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all JoeKikAss's reviews »

I had gotten this game for both PS3 and PC with intention on playing multiplayer on PS3 and Campaign on PC, I ended up playing both on PC and loved it. The Campaign has a good story line compared to that of Bad Company 1 and 2 and the graphics are a huge jump in. The Campaign looks fantastic compared to other BF games (Except BF4). The real jewel to the game is the multiplayer, there is a large array of maps to play on and each map has it's own advantage for players using different kits. Battlefield games are never disappointing in that perspective, Multiplayer Battlefield has always out gunned Call Of Duty in my opinion. The biggest thing that is Dice is doing that some people are not a fan off, to play multiplayer you have to use your internet browser to search the servers. They are basically forcing the Battlelog upon players with this. There of tons of weapons with attachments to choose from, again each with their own advantages depending on your play style. I did not like the PC controls however, they're just seemed to be more of them compared to other games which caused a bit of confusion with my left hand unless you have a keyboard with macros the controls are sort of... off. Aside from that it's another great game from Dice

100

Realistic First person war shooter

haider786 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all haider786's reviews »

This is by far the pest fps i have played on PC. Amazing graphics. Amazing Gameplay.This game is just wow. From the single-player to the Online, I was amazed. This took over my life. I love the graphics. The mechanics are great. I recommend this over COD. I got deeply involved with the single player story. The game runs smoothly and performs well. I have had no issues. I bought it for 5 dollars from a sale and what a steal. I got my code for origin right that second. Highly recommended to any FPS fan. Battlefield > Call of Duty!

93

Better than playing Call of Duty.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

For a game focused on multiplayer, I could say the Battlefield 3 may be the winner. I've personally only played CoD up until Black Ops II. I wanted to play a CoD competitor, so I got Battlefield 3 when it was on sale for $5. Man, that may be the best $5 I have spent. So much better than the same old Call of Duty.

This game has huge maps. I'm not used to playing maps that big, so I had to adjust to it. What else is there? 64 player battles on PC, that's the first I've seen. The game itself looks very nice. I put it on max settings @ 1080p. It looked so nice that I couldn't play the game until I had to turn down to medium settings for playability. I have an almost 5-year old GPU (Radeon HD 5750), but I'll be playing this again when I build a new gaming PC.

Overall, Battlefield 3 seems to be your average FPS with a focus on multiplayer. Way better than CoD. Most people have already probably moved to Battlefield 4, but if you haven't played BF3 yet, get it.

70

Just another Shooter

ironman517 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all ironman517's reviews »

I am not a shooter fanatic, but this game is pretty good. I bought Battlefield 3 because it was over hyped. I ended up building an amazing gaming PC and I wanted to push it to the limits. Battlefield 3 does that. The graphics, and physics are amazing. The details in the game are wonderful. Vehicles are very fun once you get used to them. When I first started out, I just used a jet to get to a specific location and parachuted out. But after a while, you can get used to actually flying.

My biggest problem with the game is that it is just another shooter. This game is virtually the same as every other shooter out there. A game with little customization, but focused on multi-player.

65

Fun game, but losing a community/servers to play on

BlockAgent | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

I'll start off by saying that this game is alot of fun and addicting. Action packed gameplay that is alot of fun in multiplayer. I have had a blast playing over the past few weeks. The bad part is, there are not that many servers still up (around 30) and they all play the same 6 maps. There are about 20 maps in the game if you don't buy any of the expansion packs, so there are alot of maps you will never get to play at this point. Unfortunately, with Battlefield 3, you can't create your own multiplayer game without buying or renting a server, so you can't just create a game on any map and just explore it by yourself. If you don't see it in the game server list, you can't play it. Provided me about 2 weeks worth of off and on entertainment before I got bored with playing the same 6 maps over and over again. The game is excellent though, so that's disappointing.

80

Epic fun, amazing graphics

TheTanko | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all TheTanko's reviews »

The highly-immersive, massive maps make Battlefield 3 one gem of a game. The squads feature, while a good idea, is not very practical (unless you're hitting up the server with friends). If you can run it (which you probably can; it's a pretty well-optimized game, considering how beautiful it can be at max settings). Only two things really hurt this game: the destruction is not very open, meaning not all walls break, and those which do always break in the same fashion. And the one other thing, the server system. I like server-based systems (as opposed to a machine-based lobby) but BF's implication is shoddy. You have to pay to have a server hosted for you (with no exceptions) and you join the game via the server browser...from your web browser...What? Why on earth? It's a silly thing to have to do, but whatever; it won't keep the game from being awesome. Play on.

97

Great shooter.

Knctrnl1 | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Knctrnl1's reviews »

I played the original CoD and BF. Then took a break till CoD MW2. I stayed with that game until a recent humble hundle sale and got BF3 even though it had been out for quite some time. I moved into the game and after taking my bruises and lumps had a lot of fun. I am now moving to BF4 while its new but BF3 was very enjoyable and the community I feel is a vast improvement over CoD.

95

Breathtaking Shooter

Batman100 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Batman100's reviews »

Coinciding with the release of Battlefield 4 I decided to play through Battlefield 3. One word comes to mind whenever I think about this game.Epic! Battlefield 3 has everything you would want in a great first person shooter. Great graphics, gameplay, multiplayer, and campaign. This game appeals to both casual and hardcore gamers. If you like working as a team to reach an objective this game is for you.

Highly Recommended

94

Truly breathtaking

trainiac12 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all trainiac12's reviews »

I love this game for so many reasons. Not only is this one of the most visually appealing games of this generation, but it is also amazing as game play goes as well. While the single player campaign is way too short, the online functionality delivers. From infantry battles that cause mass panic throughout, to tank battles that rain metal, to the dogfights above all of the chaos, where the aces reign supreme. The weapons are incredibly well balanced, and each class has its own unique abilities. One thing is offset though- in rush, if the advancing team has enough assault players, they can easily push back the defenders, as the defenders can't afford to use the assault class, as they have to combat armor. Either way, it is a small flaw in an otherwise amazing game. The battlefield franchise delivers. This game is a testament to what all FPS should be.

80

Best Unrealistic Shooter

Steveen78 | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Steveen78's reviews »

Lets face it, the campaign is crap. It tried way too hard to be Call of Duty, yet Call of Duty's campaign is terrible as well. The multiplayer is amazing. When you're flying dirt bikes around and blowing up tanks in a suicide run, the game is hella fun. I would say TDM is the least fun, since it doesn't include vehicles or big open landscapes like the good maps do. At 20$, I would suggest getting End Game DLC, as it includes Dirt Bikes and other really good maps. This game is a blast, just a shame it is put out by EA. EA has DLC up the kazoo, and it is terrible in this case. The expansion packs such as End Game and Aftermath are fine, but the shortcut pack allows new players to dominate the battlefield because they have all the weapons and vehicles and such. I would suggest buying this game if you have a friend or two, just so you can ride around and have fun.

77

Good, But something mssing

Jncocontrol | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all Jncocontrol's reviews »

I played the game for roughly 50 hours before I just got to me.

While I was playing BF3 online, at the most random times i would get shot and have not a single clue at where I was being shot at. That was the main problem I had with this. yes, in a actual war that is very possible. But It's just not in my personal taste. So, naturally i spent more time in a tank than on foot.

If there was a thing I would recommend to the dev, was that don't make it like a 2 hit kill thing, it barely gives me a chance to fight back. But overall it's a good game.

87

A penny per Hour of enjoyment

darkking | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all darkking's reviews »

When EA reworked the battlefield series people wondered with the final result would be. The end result was pure enjoyment. multiplay is where this game shines like a little Star.So many facet for so many types of players. Want your FPS thrills? its always there. Maybe you arent the greatest at shooters? Just be a medic and heal and revive. Dont want to be on the front lines? just do support and grab a big gun and lay down cover fire. Or maybe you have a steady hand? just lay back and snipe. You are a driving person? show your skills in a jeep or even a tank or take off with a crew in a helicopter and raid the enemy base. I'm not kidding when i say there is something for everyone. There is a bit of a learning curve as better equipment unlocks based on accumulated points. This might worry the new player but in a matter of no time if you just keep plugging thru eventually what you need unlocks.

Ea took good care in making sure there was new content and it shows. maps,maps and more maps. Two player missions that you and a buddy can do and even compete for the best completion score. Single player is good but just a bit short. At the price this game is at right now it is An EASY buy and like I said you can get multiple hours of enjoyment of of this. For the price of two people going to a movie you can get 100x then entertainment time. Why are you still reading this? if you dont have it, just go buy it...

92

Battlefield 3 surpassed my expectation

Raggzie | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Raggzie's reviews »

When it comes to FPS games, it can be difficult to choose. Titles such as Medal of Honor, Ghost Recon, Call of Duty, and Battlefield are always coming out with new games in their lineages. Battlefield 3, however, proved to be a worthy opponent against its brother Bad Company 2.

The vehicle combat in Battlefield 3 is amazing. I can't recall any other game that has jeeps, tanks, Humvee's, jets and helicopters on the same battlefield. It truly is a fun game to play.

I didn't like the idea of Origin at first, but after playing Battlefield 3 I grew accostomed to it. I also liked the fact I could have friends both on Origin and in Battlefield 3. It made it easier to connect with people to plan game play together. The platoon system lets you have 4 friends capable of roughing it out together.

The game is quite an adventure, and with multiple DLCs you have hours of high quality game play to enjoy. The graphics are some of the best I've ever seen to boot.

84

An Outstanding Military Shooter

andrice90 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all andrice90's reviews »

Lets start off on the right foot. Ignore the Singleplayer. The story is as generic as they come, and only serves as a little eve candy to show off that new gaming rig. (although I dare say the Jet mission was really well done)

Multiplayer is there the meat of the game is. It's above and beyong all of the competition out there today, until Battlefield 4 comes out that is. You can tsink endless hours in multiplayer without it ever feeling stale. It's brilliantly executed and masterfully balanced, and is just a heck of a lot of fun. Now days you can get your hands on a copy for under $20 almost everywhere, and by golly it is worth it!

100

One of the top FPS shooters

Tommy6888 | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all Tommy6888's reviews »

This game has brought many hours of entertainment. The fun ranges from CQC to large scale battles and intense vehicle combat. The Battlefield series is unique in its own way which makes this the series stand out from all the other fps games I have played. Although the game is not noob friendly once you get the hang of it you would find yourself playing it all day long starring at its beautiful graphics.

87

FPS sandbox hidden in a competitive modern shooter.

WhiteStripes | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all WhiteStripes's reviews »

Battlefield is more than just your run of the mill modern shoot 'em up game. There is literally so much you can do in this game it's possible to put in a couple hundred hours and still have things to do or new ways to entertain yourself.

Do you want to have a friend put a claymore on a jeep, drive up to an enemy, and you detonate the claymore with an EMP pulse from an unmanned scout drone to kill them? In BF3 you can do that.

On top of the ridiculous Frostbite 2 engine that lets some amazing feats of sillyness happen is placed a truly awesome FPS that offers some of the most large scale fun for all out modern combat I've played. I proudly say that this is one of my favorite shooters and a must to play with friends.

90

Forget the single-player campaign, the multiplayer rocks!

alfrodo22 | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all alfrodo22's reviews »

Battlefield 3's single player campaign is forgettable. Enough said.

The multiplayer... oh where to start? There are so many things to do, so many things to learn, and so many maps and modes to try. This game has kept me entertained for well over 150 hours and counting. When you first start out it can be really frustrating if you just join a quick game that has tons of experienced users and 63 other people. Don't do this! Take it easy by joining a smaller server and getting the hang of things.

If you have played any of the other DICE titles, you will recognize the feel of the menu and the basic objectives. The bread and butter is conquest mode: Take control of points so you gain more points and can spawn there while not letting your enemy capture them. There are tons of weapons, gadgets, vehicles, upgrades, etc. to keep you interested in gaining more experience and they are rewarding and fun to try. If you don't understand a new gadget, check it out on battlelog or youtube it! I'm still learning how to use new gadgets and get more upgrades!

The graphics are superb although you will need a decent system to handle them. There are some glitches when trying to maneuver the battlefield but they generally don't ruin gameplay. Bf3 rewards teamwork so it may be frustrating if you don't keep that in mind as you go up against some well-organized teams and squads. There are four classes to choose from, some are more intriguing than others. Sniping is tricky but once you get the hang of it, it is very entertaining. The engineer is the most practical in maps with vehicles, the medic is the best for infantry maps. I'm not a fan of the support class but some people love it.

Basically, if you like first person shooters and trying out new weapons, gadgets, and vehicles (including tanks, helis, and jets), then you will love this game as long as you go into with patience and a learning attitude. If you don't have the time or energy you can actually buy weapon or vehicle upgrade packages so that your opposition doesn't have an advantage over you. But where's the fun in that?

85

Best Shooter Around

Bran187 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all Bran187's reviews »

I may have only given BF3 an 85, but don't let my score fool you. This is the best multiplayer shooter around! Everything about this game is epic. Whether its the breathtaking graphics, the massive scale of the multiplayer, the all out vehicle warfare or the sizable selection of weapons and gear to choose from, Battlefield 3 delivers. The destruction is somewhat of a step down from the Bad Company branch of the Battlefield series, but it is still there and has meaningful impact on the battlefield around you and the way you interact with it. At 20USD this game is a steal, its a must have, especially if you have a few buddies to squad up with!

83

An excellent shooter for PC. DLC not even necessary!

BubbaSquare | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

Battlefield is a game series that truly shines on PC. The quick, heart-pounding gameplay makes the game a fantastic experience for those even knew to the FPS genre! And those of you who are put off by the Premium Pass/any DLC, do not worry! This game has plenty of users who play without DLC, so don't worry about not being able to find matches! Trust me, this is a game you will not want to miss, even if BF4 is around the corner.

85

Very Good Looking

mayhem3366 | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all mayhem3366's reviews »

The game's main attraction to me was how the game looks; and its amazing. The single player has a great storytelling and is very well scripted. The multiplayer is where I feel it is lacking, the air vehicles I feel are very unbalanced with the fact that they are very fast and anything that locks on to them are not effective since they have flairs that divert the missiles. Over all great game, would buy if you have $20 laying around.

88

Pretty Great Shooter

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

Single player is really laughable, like a B movie (which is why I enjoyed it, but I'm weird)

Multiplayer is pretty fun, though, and it never gets stale. Haven't really figured out how progression works, but it doesn't look too complex. Team Death Matches feel and play similar to CoD but the large vehicle maps are where BF3 really shine. Great game, great physics, enjoyable experience.

86

Great with minor flaws

analytalica3 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all analytalica3's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is the spiritual successor to Battlefield 2, taking elements of the Bad Company series and putting them on a larger scale. I was never a huge fan of Battlefield Bad Company 2's low damage model. The guns always felt weak as it took an entire magazine to take someone down at range. Battlefield 3's gun balance and time to kill is perfect: your bullets feel lethal and you nearly always get a chance to take cover under fire. The vehicles are a little less perfect, with small loopholes in game balance that let ace pilots stay up entire rounds and dominate the entire game. Tanks feel weak and can be destroyed in a matter of seconds, as each shell fired has a tiny radius vs. infantry and the secondary machine gun fires slow and barely does any damage. Helicopters have unlimited flares and can fly away faster than you can fire another rocket at them. However, even with those slight shortcomings, Battlefield 3 is a great game that continues to keep me occupied for hours on end, whether I'm going solo on the ground or flying a thousand meters up in the air. If you like first person shooters, don't miss out on this one.

93

Great Shooter

bhudda | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all bhudda's reviews »

The single player in battlefield is pretty much standard fare. Some nice set pieces, but no big payoffs. Its a good place to start and get your bearings before jumping into the real action which is in the multiplayer portion of the game.

Even though when you first start playing online it is a bit overwhelming, you soon get used to the cues and start enjoying your time completely. Where I really enjoy the game is with my friends playing on the same squad so we can coordinate and take objectives or help each other out. This adds a whole new aspect to the game.

If you haven;t yet bought the game and you are a FPS player you are doing yourself a dis-service. Get it. Play it.

90

Best Multiplayer War Game

Highlander9782 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

Great graphics, tons of vehicles to use, and largest maps i've ever seen. This has much better multiplayer than any Call of Duty game. The destruction that can be caused in the game is glorious. The single player is decent but shouldn't be the reason you buy this game. The graphics are still the best for any war game out there. You can have squads up to 4 people to play with your buddies so you can see where they are in the large map at all times. Numerous classes to choose from with each having distinct weapons. Definite buy if you're looking for a war game to play with your buddies.

94

Best Online Multiplayer

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

The title says it all. This is the best online multiplayer you can buy. The Single player isn't exactly the best, its serviceable but the real meat and potatoes has to be the online multiplayer. The game features large beautifully stunning maps filled with plenty of toys to play with. Several vehicles , including boats , tanks, humvees and of course jets. Fully destructible environment gives you a feeling that you're never safe and always have to look over your shoulder in case a rocket launcher comes your way . The gun play mechanics is some of the best around, the unlockables really makes you want to keep playing so you can fully customize your gun. Plenty of game modes such as Conquest, capture the flag, rush and team death match. One of the best shooters around and certainly should be in your collection

100

Okay SinglePlayer, AMAZING MultiPlayer!

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

When I first bought Battlefield 3 for the PC, I didn't quite know what to expect. I was hoping for a good Campaign, and then some Epic Multiplayer Action. What I got was a Campaign that I could only play through once, or I'd bore myself the next time I tried to do it, but the MultiPlayer! Now THAT'S how all Online Games should be played! I've played more hours on the Multiplayer on Battlefield 3, more than other Full Games! Helicopters flying by your head, Tanks rolling over the hills, dirt bikes hitting massive jumps, and jets, barrel rolling towards you, it's an Online experience like no other! Ranking up is extremely fun, and you need to know what you're doing if you want those extra gun attachments, because if you don't help out your team, they won't help you! The online maps are huge free roaming areas, basically a whole entire video game world, put into one map of Online Battlefield 3! The Online Game is extremely fun, and every addicting, but the campaign lacks something very important, something that Bad Company had, Humor and suspense. This game seemed so straight forward and boring, but in Bad Company, you never know what's going to happen next, this game you could basically guess what will happen in the next five levels, and get everything right. What they needed in Battlefield 3 was a storyline of more mystery, and closer characterization, instead of "Here's your drop point, shoot the bad guys and save the day." I'm Rating this game for it's Multiplayer, NOT for it's campaign.

95

Simply Amazing!

thepinder | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all thepinder's reviews »

What more can you say this is by far one of the best shooter games you can play! It has everything you might want in a game. From its huge maps to the loads of vehicles and even jets. You can't say that about many other games. Its multiplayer mode is loads of fun once you get the hang of it. No other came quite compares to BF3. The intense moments you get while playing are unlike anything else. Its a must play game and all it will take is a few minutes to get hooked.

The only complaint i would have about this game is the skill level on vehicles, they add such a big advantage when you know how to use them but the learning phase for me at least wasn't very easy. In all the game is good fun and for the $20 right now its much worth the buy!

90

Better and Bigger

Fazbott | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Fazbott's reviews »

I first played a Battlefield game when i borrowed Battlefield Bad Company from a friend a few years back. Since then I've always been a fan of the Battlefield series because of it's utter giantness. The maps are substantially bigger than any other shooter I've played and it makes for a much more intense gameplay. With some of the best graphics on the market and good customization features, I'd give this game enough thumbs up to satisfy any game critic.

94

Best shooter of this generation

nightassassin1 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

Battlefield 3 was just the best. It was amazing in every way. I have been an FPS gamer since the Delta Force Land Warrior days, moving to Delta Force 2, then Black Hawk Down, Joint Operations, and up through the CoD, Medal of Honor, and Battlefield franchise. Out of all of the new games I like the Battlefield franchise the most. The graphics quality, the game mechanics, pretty much everything they have seems to be better than the other games. The one thing I like more about Battlefield than anything is the community. The player community is much more mature than CoD. It seems that all of the kids play CoD and the adults play BF. There are some kids in BF, but even so they are usually not too bad. The hacker rate of BF also seems to be lower than CoD, however I do like the CoD zombies play and battlefield should implement something of that nature.

This game offers destructible environments, a massive amount of vehicle use ranging from jets and helicopters to jeeps in the normal game and to construction equipment in the expansions. I recently got the Back to Karkand expansion and flipped out when I saw someone run me over with a construction vehicle. It also offers a huge amount of guns and unlocks.

One of my favorite features of Battlefield is the ability to take tags when knifing players. I like to collect them from snipers and people who have killed me a good deal as payback. I am more of a hunter of high level tags though, obtaining my first set of 100 service star jet tags at level 23 I began hunting for the very hard to get tags such as those. I have only two complaints about the knifing system: the tags do not display the names, I really wish I had a wall of tags from every soldier I took them from like trophies, not just the graphic tag and the second is that you can not fight back during a knife. I always think "See, right there you notice you are getting knife and have ample time to punch the guy in the face and have a chance to live or at least block the knife some way." It is kind of annoying to watch yourself get knifed and not be able to do anything, and teammates usually don't attempt to save you, they try to get a knife kill on the guy who is knifing you, waiting for you to die before killing the guy. The best part is, Battlefield 4 will fix this and add a counter!

The graphics in game are just astounding. This was probably the best graphic game on the market when it released, it looks nearly real and would be scary in virtual reality, especially the knifing animation. It does require a good GPU to run on ultra settings, but if you can afford it, it is worth every bit for use with games like this.

The game price was decent for a new game and has dropped to a reasonable amount over time. It is currently $5 in the origin humble bundle as well, so that is very nice for players who may want to get ready for Battlefield 4 by practicing in 3.

This is a FPS game that is meant for multiplayer. There is a single player and it is decently done compared to some other games, but it is still not very good. The single player is a great way to begin the game so that you can learn the mechanics and get decent at playing so you don't ruin your scores in ranked matches when you start.

It is not hard to rank up in this game and to unlock items. This is something I really like. Back in Battlefield 2 it took quite some time to get unlocks and I was always put down by getting destroyed by high level guns. This game balances guns very well and the unlocks do not take too much time. I ranked up to a level 1 colonel in about 36 hours of gameplay, I am now a level 3 colonel with a large amount of service stars, 13 on a G3A3 (my favorite gun of all time, used to use the G3 in Black Hawk Down) and another 13 on the 870 MSC shotgun, mainly used when I am getting killed inside my base on a TDM or close combat area.

A tip to those who do not know: the G3A3 is ONLY acquired by completing the Coop missions. It is the most powerful assault rifle in the game, but it is also the slowest firing one. It is a god weapon if used correctly, however almost no one uses it but me. I have only ever seen one person who uses it regularly and everyone else only uses it if I kill them a lot with it and they have it. Beware of the small clip size of 20. You can only get about 4 kills before reloading so don't waste bullets.

If you want to gear up for Battlefield 4, buy this game now. You will not regret it.

Problems: It runs on Origin. Origin is not a bad client, but it would have been easier to have it on Steam. It requires the use of battle log, which requires the constant shut down and load up of the game. The game is run through EA, which has terrible support staff. I was on the phone with someone for an hour last week at EA that was trying to get me to unplug my USB devices from my hard drive and run my computer without a mouse or keyboard and open the game. That is not a mess up on my part, I really mean they stated 4 times to remove my USB devices from my HARD DRIVE I was trying to argue with them that it was not possible since a hard drive has no USB ports. After one hour and thirty minutes of a run around with this person, I finally got a supervisor and they fixed things for me in about 7 minutes. The problem was on THEIR side. Battlefield 3 has no lean and no shooting in water, which I miss from older games.

Overall great game, bad customer support, great game experience. The issues stated are not big problems, only small, but the customer support problem is the most annoying. It will drop the game a little in rating, but the game is so epic that the drop is very small. The game gets a 94 from me.

82

It isnt ArmA, but it is incredable

CorpsmanHusky | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all CorpsmanHusky's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is a war game that sits between the perfection of ArmA and the common Call of Duty Game. Tanks, guns, jets, helicopters.

Even if you have this on the consoles, PC version has better graphics, bigger maps, and more players.

Controller supported

You cannot skip out on this game

70

Graphically Pleasing, Not Fun to Play

kebebasan | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all kebebasan's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is one of, if not the best looking game of the generation. Gunshots tear across the landscape, bullets and rockets leave scars, and every interaction feels physical.

But it's missing something.

It's missing what made Battlefield: Bad Company 1 and 2 so fun to play, and I can't quite put my finger on it.

Maps are more open, but they lack focus. Most of the vehicle maps will leave you decimated by high level players, and the infantry maps just don't hold up.

Guns feel great, but they lack the well paced, industrial feel of BC2. Those felt like death machines, whereas BF3's selection lacks that same oomph. They reload faster, fire faster, and feel significantly less dangerous.

And the rank up system is a bore. It takes hours upon hours, and because this iteration lacks that special something that kept me coming back to its predecessors, I'm still stuck with lower level weapons. Which isn't unfair, but certainly puts a damper on player freedom.

The campaign is nothing to write home about, save for a few really beautiful locales.

If you're a PC gamer, this is certainly a game to have in your library. But if the idea of another military FPS turns you off, pass.

94

Unforgettable

konradecai | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all konradecai's reviews »

Graphics-(9.5)The graphics are mind blowing if you have a decent gaming rig. Gameplay-(9.0)The gameplay is as realistic but also very fun to play with friends or alone. Sounds-(9.75)The Sound of Battlefield 3 has always been a amazing from everything from the guns to the explosives. Story-(Who really buys this for the singleplayer?) Overall-(9.5)Battlefield 3 is just a game you don't want to miss and for the low price its a no brainer.

92

An experience no gamer should miss

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

This game is truly EPIC. In every sense of the word. You just can't beat playing in a match with 63 other players, guns blazing, rockets firing, explosions everywhere and you can do any of it. The controls are great and the graphics support is pretty much unmatched among the shooters that are out now. I think the only thing I have against it is the crappy campaign. I feel almost as if they shouldn't have even bothered. It is forgettable and not even fun. The same can be said for the co op missions but luckily, you no longer have to do them to unlock the multiplayer rewards. All in all, it's a game that all gamers should get to try.

85

Ba Da Ba Ba Da Ba

TheeYohoinator | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all TheeYohoinator's reviews »

Battlefield 3 was a highly anticipated FPS that was going to offer outstanding visual, environmental destruction, and great action. And my goodness did they deliver. The multiplayer is one of the best in the genre hands down. The customization is great and the selection of guns is superb. One thing I have to mention that I did not like about the game was that the single player campaign was absolutely boring. It tries to hard to be good and kind of like the Black Ops campaign. So, if you are just looking for a good single player game, I do not recommend this. But if you are looking for a good multiplayer game and your computer can handle it look no further than Battlefield 3.

88

Best multiplayer game hands down

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Though the campaign was about as boring and unoriginal as vanilla pudding, Battlefield 3's multiplayer is without equal. No other game will deliver the same scope or scale of Battlefield, and no other game even comes close to visual appeal. Still filled with epic "battlefield moments" that no other game really delivers, Battlefield just stands out in so many ways. Probably the most amazing thing I've ever seen in a game is when I saw a jet's left engine get disabled by the jet following it. The jet went into an uncontrollable barrel roll, with flames shooting out the engine, and crashed into an oil refinery in an explosion so big and graphic, I almost ducked.

94

Terrific game

sammichthyme | July 28, 2013 | See all sammichthyme's reviews »

Although many argue BF3 tried too hard to appease console players I disagree. The game was clearly made for PC by PC gamers and then ported over. Everything about the interface is simple and only a few clicks away. Graphics are gorgeous, gameplay is top notch and fast paced, and it offers a wide variety to appeal to everybody. A truly outstanding game and I can't wait for BF4

95

As good as it gets

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | See all Jonot86's reviews »

High end graphics, fast furious gameplay with the ability to drive multiple different kinds of combat vehicles.

What else can you ask?

I play many FPS games and the battlefield series has always put a smile to my face with it's intense action but with these graphics it can easily make you feel like you're really there!

While there are some moments with other players finding the little exploits the overall experience is positive, this is a must game to play on the PC.

83

You Know What You're Getting

bwrussell | July 9, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

This is really the tale of two games, the single player and the multiplayer, and it's clear which the developers favor, and rightly so. The single player is forgettable. Lots of dark, grit, and shouting of military sounding things. Honestly DICE should have just left it off and just went 100% with the MP/CoOp because that's the reason you buy this game. (Reflecting this dichotomy, my score on this review reflects MP only since the current price justifies buying it for that alone.) The multiplayer is fun yet intense due to an emphases on team work. The majority of the games are team based, with each team often broken into smaller squads, with objectives outside of just kill-or-be-killed. In fact the best way to increase your score is make your kill count secondary and instead focus on completing objectives and using your classes support skills (healing, resupply, vehicle repair/attack, recon). My highest scoring rounds were spent providing suppression and resupplies. It's that focus on support and objectives that really help balance this game. You don't have to be able to get huge kill streaks or even get many kills at all to be able to contribute and feel like a participant rather than just a target. On top of the team play there are some other aspects that help the multiplayer stand out. Things like bullet drop and suppression effects add immersion and balance. Of course it isn't perfect but if you don't have the time to make waiting to pay $60 for BF4 worth it but still want a robust MP FPS at a discount price then this just could be the ticket.

85

great game

IVIonteith | July 2, 2013 | See all IVIonteith's reviews »

BF3 beats CoD in every way possible. The graphics are stunning and the destructible environments are just icing on the cake. Must buy for any FPS fan.

The only downside is that I can't really seem to get into the single player campaign. But maybe its only me. The multiplayer makes it worth the buy though

93

Still has that Battlefield fun.

sgtpepper901 | June 28, 2013 | See all sgtpepper901's reviews »

It isn't the funny Bad Company 1 or 2, but its a great Battlefield. Packed with some of the best graphics out there, Battlefield 3 is one the greatest war experiences for any gamer to have. Destroy building, crushing your enemies within. Ride tanks into the battle and blow them up or from above in the returning jets. It's a great game with plenty of replay value, just hope you can run it!

80

Great multiplayer but inexistant singleplayer.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

This Battlefield game was another time one of the most expected game of 2011. Another time, the singleplayer campaign is a joke. It will last you about 6 hours if you play on the highest difficulty. If not, that should take you about 3 hours. Sure, the missions are intense, but when will DICE understand that if they want to put in the game a singleplayer mode, that it needs to be good and last more than 4 hours.

On the brighter side, the multiplayer is without any doubt the place that you want to play this game. There are only 4 types of players (Assault, Engineer, Support and Recon), but they can be customized with some unlockables. You can unlock C4, claymores, drones, rocket launcher as well as some abilities. You will unlock stuff quite often, which is very "a la mode" these days. It's more or less rewarding but some of these upgrades can be very useful. There is a good variety of maps, which are sometimes a bit too big though.

It may happen that your team won't be able to advance to any point because you do not play in team. This game is based on teamwork, so do not go all alone on your side or you will be down quickly. It is very nice to play all together and warn your allies of any enemies that you are aware of.

The graphics look so nice and the sound is good. As in any DICE game, there are several collision bugs, most of the time found in the multiplayer COOP missions.

This is definitely one of the good multiplayer shooters that came out lately, but on the other side, one of the most disappointing singleplayer shooters also.

80

A great game, with a few flaws of course.

omac | June 13, 2013 | See all omac's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is a pretty great game - while not upholding the scale and greatness of BF2, it's a pretty big stepping stone to covering that gap. The Singleplayer is roughly 6-8 hours and provides some pretty awesome scenes, decent gameplay, and a story which you can start to guess as you go. It's by no means perfect, but it's a decent tutorial for getting you started on the MP.

The multiplayer really is a lot of fun, even though the community is overrun with a bunch of people who like to troll and just talk crap. Turning off chat or leaving it hidden alleviates most of the anger that you'd have otherwise. It has a decent class system, wonderful graphics, but the lack of modding tools really leaves a bunch to be desired. Game modes can get a little old, and you really have no means to 'customize' the servers, compared to the old BF2 days. Here's to hoping that BF4 will finish closing the gap between BF3 & BF2, while bringing both up to date with great graphics.

80

Decent game nothing really special

toberm | June 12, 2013 | See all toberm's reviews »

This is an ok game, falls short a little. It just doesn't have what I feel other games in the series had and I just can't put my finger on it. Not only that but you are forced into using origin and some really weird browser based system just to launch the game and play it. Huge battles are the strength of this game but otherwise it just isn't really anything special and with Battlefield 4 on the horizon if you really want to get a game from this series I would suggest just waiting.

80

Not Bad But Fails Expectations

thegaminglyfe | June 10, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Battlefield 3 is a pretty good game but riddled with bugs in every game mode. The campaign is short and not very exciting and the co-op feels like they had 2 or 3 great ideas and every other mission was just so fill in the gaps. The game feels like its drifted away from its roots, every player on the team could be going solo and your team could still win. Back in BF 1942, you either play as a team or lose horribly. The game is great but if you're a hardcore battlefield fan, Battlefield 3 will be disappointing.

96

Hours or fun!!

Philly_phil04 | June 9, 2013 | See all Philly_phil04's reviews »

The campaign is decent. But where the game really shines is the multiplayer. You can literally spend hours playing on line and have amazing matches or have that one horrible match where you just want to punch your screen. Regardless its a blast plus its very affordable

96

BF3!

shushyaz | June 1, 2013 | See all shushyaz's reviews »

This game is absolutely awesome! From the large maps, a plethora of weapons and vehicles. This game has got to be the pinnacle of FPS games out on the market right now. If this game is not in your arsenal of games to play then you need to add this game ASAP on get on the battlefield!

85

Must be in your collection if not already

hellomoto7 | May 20, 2013 | See all hellomoto7's reviews »

I finally built a new rig, and running this game on max, it's almost like I'm inside the real world fighting. The amount of openness in multiplayer and the different approaches you can take to handling a situation is all very fun. The destructible environment also adds a new level of strategy to the game.

The singleplayer is a little bit lacking, and has a very predictable plot with quick-time events and isn't very fun. The Co-op however is quite fun when you're playing with a friend over skype, and I especially enjoyed the stealth mission where two people have to sneak through a building to rescue a hostage.

Overall, positives outweighs the negatives, and the only reason a person would get this game would be for the multiplayer anyway.

85

Amazing gameplay and graphics

cam51037 | April 19, 2013 | See all cam51037's reviews »

Playing this game in 1440p is a dream! The only thing really holding me back in my game is my GPU, which is a 670. Even though this game is relatively older, it is still extremely system intensive. It offers amazing gameplay, and 64 player online games are super fun, and the campaign offers the player a fun way to sort of train for multiplayer experiences.

I'd highly recommend this game to everyone, it's great for having fun and relaxing, or high hyped clan battles as well! Only points taken off are for EA's kind of lame online servers, and how system intensive it still it, but if it wasn't as intensive, the graphics wouldn't be as good. ;)

67

Not Bad But Could be Much Better

Nuxaider | Feb. 17, 2013 | See all Nuxaider's reviews »

If you were like me, Battlefield 3 was your first Battlefield game so this review is based on a standard, non-Battlefield veteran standpoint. That isn't to say I know nothing at all about previous games but I don't have first-hand experience with older games.

First things first: this game requires Origin to play. I have a personal distaste for Origin but it doesn't affect the quality of the game. Love it, hate it, or indifferent to it, it's just a FYI. Additionally, I will be covering the single player, co-op, and multiplayer portions of this game. If you don't care about a certain section of the game, just skip on ahead. Anyways, onto the review.

Graphics: One thing that's been very consistent with every Battlefield game is the beautiful graphics and this game is no exception. The only thing that detracts from the beauty is the notorious "blue filter." As the name suggests, the game has a noticeable blue tint in it that makes the scenery seem washed out and dull at times. Bright environments suffer the least from this, but darker environments have a noticeable blandness to them.

Sound: In terms of an actual soundtrack, it's well produced, but very unmemorable. Most of the soundtrack sounds like generic Hollywood action movie music. The theme of this game is very bland and doesn't evoke as much emotion as I would have hoped. "But what about the epic Battlefield 2/older Battlefield theme?" I hear through the monitor. The theme is rarely heard and even when you do hear it, it's just a short snippet. As for the sound of the guns, vehicles, etc., it's very good and it feels as though you are actually shooting a gun or driving a jeep. That being said, I've never fired a gun or driven a tank so I can't say that the sound assets sound just like real life, but they are diverse, clear, crisp, and better than most sounds from other shooters I've played.

Single Player: The single player of this game is easily one of the most boring and tedious campaigns I've ever played. First off, this game treats you like an idiot. And before anyone cries out that it's catering to the mainstream audience, Bad Company 1 and 2 had campaigns that were interesting, respected your intelligence, was open, and most importantly, FUN all while being on console. Battlefield 3's campaign just does not deliver. Narrow hallways, a constant "Follow __" arrow to point you in the right direction, boring characters, and an overall boring story. Now, some fans will say that the campaign is a tutorial for the multiplayer. That is a downright lie. The only thing the campaign teaches is how to control infantry (which is basically the same as all FPS's anyways) and the tank, and even then, the tank "tutorial" is misleading. It implies that tanks have at least 3 weapons at once when you only have 2. Everything else vehicle related is not taught at all. As soon as I realized that in the jet mission you aren't flying the jet and are just sitting in the back on an on-rails type of deal, I had little hope for the game to actually teach me how to pilot important vehicles like the jets and helicopters. Overall, the campaign is a total waste of time and should be avoided at all costs. If you bought this game for the single player,...I feel sorry for you.

Co-op: This is slightly better than the campaign but not by much. The biggest improvements over the campaign is that you actually get to shoot people instead of watching your teammates do it. Other than that, the co-op adds a whole array of new problems. Idiot teammates and a lack of a VOIP makes it rather annoying, still rather linear levels, and the fact that you HAVE to do co-op to get all the weapons for multiplayer is ridiculous. What was supposed to be a fun time waster with friends turns into a mindless grind for multiplayer weapons. Additionally, one of the very first co-op missions require you to fly a helicopter, so basically, you'll end up crashing a lot and angering your teammates if it's your first time flying. All in all, better than the single player campaign, but not by much.

Multiplayer: Now this is what everyone's been waiting for: the main course of this game. Since the multiplayer is so large, I will be splitting it up into multiple parts. Scroll down to the ones you're interested in.

Frostbite 2: The "new and improved" engine that DICE had been advertising is surprisingly underwhelming. Walls that should be destroyed cannot and only specific buildings can be destroyed. They argue that if everything could be destroyed, it would unbalance the maps. Well then, design your maps better, simple as that.

Classes - Battlefield 3 introduces 4 classes: the Assault, Engineer, Support, and Recon. Each of these classes have their own respective role but the balance is not perfect.

Assault - Essentially the medic of this game. With the most versatile guns in the game (assault rifles), the ability to heal and revive teammates, and the ability to have underslung weapons, the Assault class easily outshines the other classes. Of course, it isn't the best since it cannot destroy vehicles at all, but the ability to go into any gunfight at full health is a valuable asset. Combine that with very versatile weapons and the Assault is the most important class in the game.

Engineer - The second most important class in the game. The ability to destroy armored vehicles (tanks, jets, helicopters, etc) makes engineers an important asset to a team....provided there are vehicles to destroy. On solely infantry maps, the Engineer is arguably worse than the Recon. The carbines are basically assault rifles but worse in terms of damage, recoil, spread, etc. It's not impossible to get kills with but against another player of equal skill, the Assault will always beat the Engineer. One thing to note is that the Engineer's AT-Mines have no physics, meaning that you can't "throw" them like you could in Bad Company 2. They simply drop wherever the cursor is pointed, which severely limits the Engineer's agressiveness. The Engineer's gadget, the EOD bot, is the most useless gadget in the game. Though it is amusing to see the physics make the EOD bot fly in the air and do flips, it cannot perform it's intended purpose, which is to arm and disarm M-Coms. Horrible driving physics make the EOD bot useless.

Support: One of the great things about Battlefield 3 is that LMG users (Support) are actually useful (Suppression; more on this later). The ability to throw down ammo for your teammates is somewhat useful if they want to continue using their gun but it is entirely possible to pick up another kit of a corpse and use that gun instead. Claymores and C4 make the Support an excellent area denial class but the "campiness" of this class may detract some from using it. On that note, C4 suffers the same issue as the Engineer's mines not being able to be "thrown" (see above). The third most important class in the game.

Recon: Recons can either be the most important player or the most useless player in your squad/team. Being able to snipe enemies from far distances, placing spawn beacons, making enemies show up on the map, and laser designating enemy vehicles are all important, but unnecessary. Recons are far less useful than they were in Bad Company 2: no C4 makes them useless against armored vehicles and no motion balls limit the usefulness of the Recon and make them more sedentary. Easily the most useless class in the game.

Suppression: This element of the game is so controversial that it deserves a section all to itself. Basically, suppression is supposed to emulate the feeling of being, well, suppressed in real life. No one can keep calm with bullets whizzing by their heads and explosions going off nearby. When you shoot at someone, the bullets will cause their screen to blur and their bullet spread to increase, forcing them to take cover until their screen clears. While in concept it is a great idea, the ability to make the enemies' bullets defy physics turn gun battles into total luck. Say 2 people are shooting each other: they each get 1-3 bullets on each other and by this point, they are both suppressed. Whoever survives is the one who happens to have luck on their side. A great concept, but executed badly.

Maps: Most of the maps in this game are rather terrible though there are a few gems.

Operation Metro: Basically the "Nuketown" from Black Ops in Battlefield. Set in the Paris subways, the map is essentially one giant choke-point and is a kill farm. It is extremely easy for the defending team to set up shop with their bipods and Recons and deny all access to the objective. Just flank them you say? Too bad there are only 2 other narrow corridors to go through.

Caspian Border: An actual good, large map. Though more suited more vehicles, dense foresty environments make for fun and intense firefights. There is nothing bad about this map.

Operation Firestorm: A large desert map with an emphasis on vehicles once again. There are roads for vehicles to traverse but also buildings for infantry firefights. Nothing bad about this map except for a tendency for Recon to snipe you 1000 meters away on the mountains.

Grand Bazaar: This map is literally a square. Putting a LAV in a map designed around infantry combat make this another kill farm map, though it's slightly better than Operation Metro since you can flank the opposite team.

Damavand Peak: When the trailer showed Damavand Peak, everyone freaked out about the base jumping and how it was "epic." That is now nothing more than a gimmick that will probably end up getting you sniped. The tunnels are basically Operation Metro except a bit darker but the outside of the tunnels are large and perfect for infantry combat. Not a bad map, though has some good and bad elements.

Tehran Highway: A vastly underrated map. The only night map in the stock game, it is wide urban combat with tanks. The size of the map allows for versatile gameplay: you can snipe, engage in close infantry fights, or go in a tank.

Kharg Island: Kharg Island is a cruel mistress; sometimes the map plays beautifully and you are in love with it and at times, you regret even joining the game. In terms of Rush, if you don't make a successful push on the first try, the defending team can spawn camp the attacking team which spawns on the carrier. Additionally, though this map has air vehicles, it is surprisingly small, but large enough for infantry combat.

Seine Crossing: Another Bazaar/Metro-esque map. Close quarters combat with a tank available. If you get pushed back far enough, the defending team can easily destroy the attacking team as they spawn. The buildings serve as a perfect camping spot and given how many floors there are, it's near impossible to take care of the campers.

Noshahr Canals: Known for its killfarm TDM variant, Noshahr Canals is actually a good map. It is wide and open but like Kharg Island, the attacking team can be spawn camped since they spawn on the carrier and can be sniped by anti-air and tanks.

If you managed to read up to this point, congratulations. Though it sounded like I was complaining the whole time, I actually do like this game. I just wish it was better. There are several design and map issues that make me cringe but it is still easily the best multiplayer shooter of 2011. If you have never played a Battlefield game before, go ahead and buy this. If you have played Battlefield before, I recommend waiting for Battlefield 4 instead.

90

BF3 at a reduced price!

Coolicy | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Even if you aren't a fan of First Person Shooters, you have definitely heard of Call of Duty and Battlefield. This is the fiercest competition CoD has faced, it doesn't top it, but comes the closest out of any shooter.

BF3 features a full-length campaign, which can be fun because all the mechanics are solid. The design however is a little lacking, and is rather linear and doesn't play to BF3's strength.

It also has multiple coop missions, the story links to the campaign loosely. You're put in the shoes of soldiers that were in the same missions or takes place in the same time frame. The missions have a lot of variety, the usual foot soldier fighting an onslaught of enemies, helicopter fights, sniper challenges and more to change up the pacing.

The gem is definitely the multiplayer. If you like Call of Duty, there are modes that play very similar. If you're bored of CoD, there are modes that BF3 excels in. Rush and Conquest are both my favorites. PC also has Large variants of the same maps that were scaled for 64 players. The mixture of infantry and vehicles are balanced perfectly.

I didn't enjoy the campaign and coop as much as I did with multiplayer, but I've spent over 150+ hours in it alone. The price is now reduced, making this a great deal. Wait for it to go on sale and use a GMG voucher and you just saved a TON.

There's still a ton of people playing the multiplayer. Have fun fragging.