Reviews for Need for Speed Hot Pursuit (NA)


Old school NFS title, new school NFS blandness

sycomantis1991 | May 29, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

Unlike the original Need for Speed: Most Wanted, this is a bland, float arcade racer. Need for Speed hasn't done much worth noting in the last almost a decade now. In my opinion, renaming this game was an attempt to gain back the fans they lost, before losing them all over again with the same dull and repetitive gameplay. It's designed decently as usual, but there's no fun or creativity to be found here.


Fun, but not as good as past versions

BlockAgent | April 7, 2015 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

I have played all of the Need for Speed Hot Pursuit games ever since the first one. I have to say that this one, although fun, wasn't as good as the past ones. The graphics are great, the cars feel fast and it is equally fun being the speeders and the cops. The cars handle oddly and have very bad steering response. This causes you to wreck more than you should be since you can't avoid hitting a lot of things. The game is very honed for consoles and not at all made for the pc. For example, you have to watch cutscenes at the beginning of every race that were obviously made to cover up long console loading times. The voice overs are annoying and on multiple occasions mispronounce car names and racetrack names. Also, any time you select a car that car revs...only thing is that whether it is a muscle car or a Zonda, it makes the same generic sound. So this game loses in the sound department. Overall, I had about 12 hours of fun playing this game. It did start getting repetitive at around hour 7, but it still was enjoyable enough to push to the end. Worth a go when it's on sale.


Really should be more

vipe_1 | Jan. 25, 2015 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

As a fan of Need for Speed back in the day, and especially the original NFSIII Hot Pursuit, Hot Pursuit 2, etc. this new take in the series is ok enough, but could be a lot more. Criterion takes over the series, and while the graphics, cars, and general game looks and plays well, giving this to the former Burnout developers has it's drawbacks. Arcade gameplay, ridiculous handling, and over the top crashes and destruction become the name of the game here. For action purposes that's great, but when you're looking for a more original game experience that relies much more on the racing this be for you. Tactics for cops don't really require you to trap or pull over a car, but just ram them as hard as possible. Where the original games straddle a fine line between arcade and realism, this is just over the top nonsense in the end. Not really for older fans of the series.


Best Racing Game Out There

Highlander9782 | May 13, 2014 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

I loved the original Hot Pursuit that came out over 10 years ago, and this game brings the joy of cops chasing criminals back again. Graphics are still top notch, with great cinematic car crashes. Cops and criminals have there own tools and gadgets to use in races to stop the other team such as an EMP blast, a EMP jammer to prevent getting attacked by one, Turbo Boost for criminals which makes it feel like your car is a jet, spike strips to slow down cars, road blocks, and helicopters dropping spike strips. Multiplayer races can go up to 4v4 matches and it doesn't take long to unlock new cars. Definite buy if you're a fan of the Need for Speed games or arcade racing games in general.


Need for speed slides away

sergebelanger22 | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit is another remake of an old game with which NFS is trying to make easy money. I loved the original game with the car chases with the polices. This one is not an exception to this. Getting chases by helicopters and police cars is very fun, and chasing cars as a policeman is even more fun. However, I am not the biggest fan of unlocking cars by raising levels. I prefer keeping my money to buy the cars that I want. And since we start the game with Porsches and BMWs, you quickly feel bored of driving your Lamborghini at the 5th race, even if this is a Lambo! It does not feel special since the cars more or less behave the same, i.e. they slide in the turns. It's impossible to take a turn without sliding and drifting. I know it's an arcade game, but they could have been cheaper on the slides! The cars look good, although they are way too shiny. The sound is great, I cannot complain about it. The story is made of around 90 events, In around 60 of them, you drive as a racer and need to evade the police or simply beat your opponents. On the other 30 or so, you are the cop and need to bust racers of drive your car to the finish line in a certain time, which is totally useless in my opinion. Globally, if you want to have few hours of fun, that's a good bet. If you want to play for a while with a racing game, do not buy this one. After few hours, you will get bored.


Good Looking but Bland

bwrussell | July 8, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

This is an odd entry to me in the NFS franchise. It's a reboot of an old series, the last of which was one of my favorite childhood games, with some of the elements of later games and very little of the fun from the originals. It feels like they tried for realism (more on that in a bit) and sacrificed fun in the processes. Hot Pursuit 2 (2002) had you dodging flaming barrels dropped from helicopters while this one has dramatic crash cams. There is no customization, absolutely no reason to jump into the open world, and zero plot. I'm sure this is an affect of the move to Criterion who seem to think every racing game fan wants nothing more than shiny cars and big crashes. Perhaps the strangest issue is the driving physics. They are just plain wrong. Essentially they are setup to slide around every corner which makes fine control something of an impossibility. This really becomes a problem when the game starts penalizing you for touching walls and traffic in time trials. The games saving grace is the ability to play as a cop and bust up races. In these cases the constantly interrupting crash cams seem justified and are satisfying compared to frustrating when you hit an oncoming car for the n-th time while your car slides instead of turns. In the end I can't recommend this game, even on sale. There is little depth so it quickly becomes bland and repetitive, getting to the end turns into a grind.


Fun Game, But Lack a Challenge

thegaminglyfe | June 10, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Recently, Need for Speed has been drifting away from there roots. The one thing that me and the fans want are the crappy cars so we can have that amazing feeling when you save up enough money to get that shiny lamborghini. When you start this game, you start off with some amazing cars. The game is fun, with some strange handling that leads to some satisfying drifts. The game modes are fun, but make no sense like racing cops? It's a good game and I recommend it.


An overall enjoyable experience...

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

This is another in the Need for Speed series that is a great arcade racer, but makes me wish they would just go back to their roots a little. There is sort of a career mode where you follow a set course of objectives for either the police side or racer side and try to duke it out against one another. Some of the police challenges just involve driving to a race, which I thought was weird. The story is crap, but you would expect that. They are basically just trying to paint an impossible picture and move on, but it doesn't really affect the game. The thing I miss is saving up money from winning races to buy the one car you were after. This game just throws car unlocks at you like it doesn't care as you "level up." Another gimmick of racing games I don't particularly care for.