Reviews for Golden Axe

86

Do you like my sword

Gojko | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

This was one of the best Sega series of beat-em-ups. I played this game in arcades store, and always need to wait for a couple of hours just to came my turn to play.

This game have one of original concepts that you can see in new game as a standard. You have three characters, and all of them have a different combat moves and different special magic.

Buy it, try it, feel the spirit of arcades.

85

Classic, Trademark Beat-em-up Gameplay

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all PeppaJ6's reviews »

This was one of my favorite beat-em-ups I've played as a kid. It's in very much a traditional setting, where a princess is kidnapped, and the main character or characters have to traverse through the game's storyline to get her back, and teach the main boss some manners. The gameplay can be seen as traditional today, but was intense in its day. My favorite parts in this title have to be when the heroes are camping, and goblins attempt to raid the campsite, getting away with the heroes' goods if they are not stopped. This adds some depth and life to the gamer's experience with the title, and keeps the gameplay from being too linear.

88

One of the first great games I have ever played

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

I remember the early days of the Sega Genesis. All those black cartridges seemed like amazing little adventures to me. I used to pop in a game, and enter a new world. Of course gaming has changed since then, but Golden Axe still holds up to me. Each character has it's own unique merit (my personal favorite being the elf) and each level has it's own special feel to it. The characters include a barbarian, a warrior princess, and an elf. Each one has their own magical powers and different weapons. Every person I play with has their own favorite character, and it's guaranteed you'll love one of em.

The gameplay is extremely fun, and with another player, the fun only multiplies. Throughout different levels there's mythical beasts to take control of and use to your advantage that add to the fun of the gameplay. The bosses on each level are intimidating, and rewarding to beat. Between levels, a fun little mini game keeps the player(s) satisfied with extra health and magic potions up for grabs. Also, in multiplayer, friendly fire is on... so things can get pretty hectic with a friend.

If you love classic games, beat-em-ups, or just a good time, get this game.

80

Conan the Barbarian: The Video Game

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 10, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Golden Axe is the first one of Sega's storied brawling/beat 'em up series. A relatively early title on the Sega Genesis/Mega Drive, Golden Axe lets you choose from either a male barbarian, the female amazon (and sorceress), or a viking dwarf?

Yes, while Golden Axe has a lot of inspiration from Conan the Barbarian, various elements from other fantasy stories are thrown in for extra fun. You can bash your foes in handily with your weapons, but you also have magic at your disposal as a screen wiping attack, or you can get riding animals who can attack your foes.

It's fairly simple and not particular long, but it's an overall fun romp through a fantasy world, just beating the crap out of evil amazons and giants. While I feel that Sega's later brawler efforts such as Streets of Rage 1 and 2 worked better, Golden Axe is a fun experience and great for its two player mode.

82

Hack n' Slash Arcade Classic

AkaRai | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

The Conan the Barbarian inspired kingdom of Yuria is in danger, as the evil -and now classic- villain Death Adder has kidnapped the king and his daughter, and is in possession of the magical Golden Axe the title refers to. To stop him, you pick between an axe-wielding dwarf in green, a blue loin cloth clad barbarian with a broadsword, and a beautiful longsword-wielding amazon in a red and silver bikini.

In it's day, Golden Axe delivered a very enjoyable co-op adventure that was since repeated and emulated in numerous other games. While other games improved on the formula, Golden Axe was undeniably fun. Beyond the typical hack and slash, each character could use a magic spell to clear the screen if they were overwhelmed, and the addition of mounts contributed a lot to how fun this game was, as you could knock enemies off their mounts and get on them, and in turn they could knock you off and take it from you. The enemies thrown at you do get increasingly repetitive as the game progresses.

Golden Axe is a must have for collectors of Sega arcade classics.

82

Golden example of a great beat'n up

Bozorov | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all Bozorov's reviews »

This game is the fist part of one of the most memorable Sega series. Three warriors, Ax, the barbarian, Tyris, the amazon and Gillius, the dwarf, must fight and stop the menacing Death Adder and his henchmen.

Each character has unique attributes and attacks, some fueled by magic pots that can be stolen in the interludes between the stages by malicious gnomes. The characters also can use mounts, including the mascot of the series, the Chickenleg, a strange creature with an avian beak.

Despite being a great game, it's a bit too short, given it's Arcade origins, but the ending is very, very funny.

88

Brings back good memories...

Finka_Karfein | June 15, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

I remember spending hours playing this classic when I was a kid. Now you have the chance to relive those times. Golden times of Golden Axe. Three different characters to choose from with different abilities and magic. Various enemies, numerous mounts and varied gameplay focused on intense fight in 2D. Also there is a cooperation mode for never alones. And that unforgettable ending... Great graphics with very good animations and legendary soundtrack which you will remember until the very last hour of life. My only question: why Golden Axe has to be so short? When you get the knack of it, you will complete the game in less than two hours. At least there are two sequels to check.

81

A Golden Classic

pauljebe | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

Of all the Sega classic games available Golden Axe has probably weathered the test of time the best. Originally an arcade title Sega brought this game to their Genesis / Mega Drive console to showcase the power of their system. The concept is a good one; a traditional beat-em-up in a fantasy setting complete with local coop play. It’s relatively short, but since the story is kind of generic you won’t be playing it to advance the plot and thus replay value is very high.

This newest revisit to Golden Axe also allows you to save your game state, meaning you can stop to eat dinner and still pick up where you left off later. It plays well on netbooks, so on the go gamers and players looking for nostalgia will be delighted.

80

Hack & Slash your way to victory.

GAMERamble | June 9, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

If you’ve played the arcade version of this then you should be familiar with the story of Golden Axe. The evil Death Adder has taken the king and princess hostage and three brave warriors has volunteered to battle their way to the castle to defeat him. Take your pick from a Barbarian, Amazon or Dwarf and fight your way through hordes of enemies avenging the deaths of your friends and families at the hands of Death Adder. If you like side scrolling beat 'em ups then you'll have a blast with this one.

80

Play for the old time sake

satyakun | May 25, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

a such wonderfull game. Set in fantasy land. there are three heroes to choose, with each has a special ability that will help very much iin the game. The graphics, well its old one, but remember this game was a phenomenon on the time. I remember play it with my friend in one computer, very fun and entertaining. recommended for nostalgic.

80

Just like the old days!

Aladar | May 24, 2011 | See all Aladar's reviews »

..aah, I still remember mashing my keyboard to this amazing game.. this is a 16bit beat'em'up at it's finest - even though it was nothing new then, and certainly isn't nothing new now, I can guarantee that this game is still loads of fun!

All the needed ingredients are there - three great charactes, each with their own special moves, well-designed enemies, very challenging gameplay, fun to play levels, mounts, and great co-op mode. AND a minigame where you can kick midgets around inbetween levels to get bonuses! What's more to want?

95

Golden Axe of Nostalgia +1

DragonKenji | April 19, 2011 | See all DragonKenji's reviews »

Golden Axe, a game that many a person grew up loving and I'm much the same - I may have had the Amiga version over the Mega Drive version but it was the same great game with it's simple yet fun if challenging gameplay and it's incredible soundtrack - I dare anyone who plays this to not be humming the main tunes afterwards.

88

Golden Axe? Golden classic

Truegamer | April 10, 2011 | See all Truegamer's reviews »

One of my earliest memories as a child was sitting on my sega megadrive playing this game sooo long they turned red and sore, yet that still didnt stop me, although its been a fair while since my last play through, it has many charms, is simplistic, addictive and the power ups and multiplayer options is always alot of fun, another game which prooves that a game graphics doesn't depict how fun it is going to be, another bargain from green man gaming, i suggest trying this mega drive classic, one of many, give it a try and see how you feel, if you like the classics, you will certainly like this.

90

Classic!

Muzicjohn | April 5, 2011 | See all Muzicjohn's reviews »

Golden Axe is a great game, which still give me a lot of fun. It's hard to explain why, game is pretty simple, but after all this years I'm still playing it with my brother in co-op mode. Three characters, magical spells, lots of enemies, ridable dragons, giant bosses, all this elements makes Golden Axe an timeless game. If you really love games - you will enjoy this one.