Reviews for Mass Effect 2 (NA)

100

The best Mass Effect game yet!

HappyCloud9 | March 26, 2014 | See all HappyCloud9's reviews »

I wish that I could rate this title more than 100/100 because that's what it deserves.

This game is a gripping, emotional, yet hilarious sequel to the original Mass Effect. It feels like you are in a moving story book in which the world is yours to explore. The new combat systems trump the original's ten-fold, and the story feels absolutely flawless.

You would have to be crazy not to get this game.

99

The Battle Continues

upandatom786 | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all upandatom786's reviews »

Commander Shepard returns in this sequel to Mass Effect, and it's hard not to see the improvements Bioware's made in this game. The combat, a sore spot in the first game, particularly the shooting, has been revamped. Playing as a Soldier is now much smoother and more fun. That doesn't mean the powers system isn't still tremendously accessible. They are, and still remain a perfectly valid way to play the game.

The graphics have improved greatly as well. When this game first came out, the level of visual acuity it showcased was stunning. Even now, the game looks great, especially if you have a higher end PC. And the art design of the world has kept up with the expansion of the playable world. The new playable race, the Drell, are well fleshed out and look suitably exotic.

Of course, the real strength of this game, as in the first, is the writing and storytelling. Both factors remain strong as ever. The dialogue between characters is brisk and snappy or deep and dark, as demanded by the story, and no other video game franchise is as adept at making you care for the main characters. The story is compelling, and would hold up to the plots of most movies. All in all, this is a great game, as close to a perfect AAA title as studios can get.

92

Wow!

LtValerii | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all LtValerii's reviews »

Mass Effect 2 is by far one of the best games I have played to date. It took everything they did right in the first game and expanded on it. Yes, it has it's faults, like all games, but it is truly enjoyable!

ME2 is a mix of RPG and shooter and it has a great balance. The conversations that you have with other characters are informative on the huge universe and many have an impact on the story. It's nice to have some control that what you are choosing makes a difference.

The combat has been updated from the first and is a lot more fluid. It's more fun to play and there are more things to do. It has been quite an improvement.

There are of course drawbacks, the probing system is a bit boring and tedious, but it can be worked around. You don't get to explore planets much (unless you have some DLC), but it helps to move along faster. Takes out a lot of down time just drifting.

The story opens with a bang and continues to get more interesting and fun. The universe opened in the first game is greatly expanded on and there is a lot of new and exciting things to learn.

There is still a nice customization system in ME2, though different from the first. You can fully customize your character. Armor and weapons aren't really customizable, but you get to choose between a bunch and you can color your armor and choose the pieces (which have some effect). There is also still an upgrade system for your powers which is slightly different, but more fluid. Last of customizations is for the Normandy (your ship), you can upgrade everything and it even impacts the story.

Overall, I recommend this game because of the great story and gameplay. It's great for any gaming level as their are setting to choose from to make the game comfortable or challenging. Enjoy it!

89

Good, But Prefer The First One

chataolauj | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

The felt like the storyline to part 2 didn't have much of an impact to the series. I really felt like the main point in part 2 was just to recruit people and nothing more. The gameplay, such as combat, is much better though. The battles are pretty difficult though, except for the last boss. Getting to the boss was more difficult than the actual boss battle. I guess part 2 was more about character development rather than the main plot to the series. Overall, the game is still a very good game, but don't play unless you've played the first one. Oh yeah, I also like the fact that you can have feelings for another character. Sets another mood that other games don't really have in RPG, shooter does.

96

Fantastic Sequel

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Mass Effect is a series known in part for it's innovation, and while Mass Effect 2 isn't leaps and bounds ahead of Mass Effect 1, it improves so heavily upon the formula that it's almost a new game. Everything is better, the graphics, soundtrack, game play etc. The companions are for the most part, great: each has their own abilities that allow Shepard to complete his mission with relative ease. As the game starts off your ship explodes and are henceforth considered dead, but Cerberus - a rogue human 'splinter group' revives you and does you a solid by giving you a replica of your old ship, with considerable upgrades. Overall the story is somewhat generic, but apart from that this game is largely a unique experience.

94

Best Mass Effect Game of the Trilogy

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

I enjoyed it the most because its modernized a lot past the first Mass Effect game but it still makes sense holistically, as opposed to 3 which did not make much sense in terms of ending. You get 2 squad members and you drive around your ship completing missions. It's tons of fun because of how great combat works and the ease of controlling your squad. The decision making is also really great. One thing I hated about the game is that the space bar is the contextualized button. Like, you use the space bar to run, find cover, talk to people etc. In addition, I didn't really like how slow you moved, but perhaps I'm just impatient. Overall, good game, best (in my opinion) of the series. The plot isn't really cannon which means you can jump in and play (by which I mean that while playing Mass Effect 1 will help, it's certainly not required, kind of like you don't need to play Half Life to play Half Life 2)

93

Much better second effort

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I had skipped over the original Mass Effect and went right into Mass Effect 2 and quite frankly it was a good choice but also a poor one. This game is better off having played the first game so you know who older characters are. Its also a great feature that your decisions carry over from game save to game save, a very unique and innovative feature that most games don't have. Then again, most RPG's don't seem to have sequels that rely heavily on your choices like Mass Effect does. The graphics were greatly improved this go around as well as the gameplay. The guns feel good when using them and they removed the previous way of handling guns in favor of using actual ammunition which is a plus in my opinion. Certainly the best of the trilogy , I repeatedly went back and played this several times, its that good! Even if you're not a big "RPG" fan this changed my mind forever. Everything after it I played purely because I enjoyed this game. Its different of course from typical RPG's but it changed my view on these style of games

86

Good Game

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all romenjack's reviews »

The problem i have with this game is in the story. a lot of problems that were in the first game were fixed, like the combat and the repetitiveness with your surroundings, where it lost me was the beginning. a lot of actions that you take seemed really forced and out of character there are several things that happen that make you tilt your head and just hu, they set up a lot of questions and just kind of wave them off like no big deal and Shepherded just shrugs and goes with it. they flooded the game with lots of new crew-mates and while i didnt mind this at the same time i felt like some of them were really flat and uninteresting (Jacob) as where in the first game even the crew members that were not team mates i grew attached too in this you will care about half of them and just kind of ignore the rest. sadly i also felt that this game was a little incomplete. once you get all the dlc for it then you can play it and be like yes that was a good game and my liking of it does go up when i play all the dlc in the game. i loved the fact that they put interrupts in the game i felt that it did add a lot more to your character and really i wish they could have put more. i dont really like how they changed the leveling system though i do understand why they did it the way that they did and again it was nothing that hurt it in any major way. i do wish they had spent more time on the talking parts and fleshed out some of the characters more and i think that the game would have been a lot better if they had just changed the first 2 hours of the game and would have made the rest of the game flow better but still worth playing a few times.

90

Overall Just a great game

tripperthe3 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all tripperthe3's reviews »

I found the beginning of the game highly enjoyable but as i moved on into the rest of the game i found it a little hard to motivate myself to even keep playing or going. I feel as if there is a huge bump mid way that made me loose interest but once i got past it the game turned the story back up and i could not stop playing. The graphics i thought were awesome even when i played on my low grade graphic card pc. Gameplay is immensely satisfying while level progression is also a joy. Overall this game is awesome.

92

Somehow better than the 1st

ZinZano | July 30, 2013 | See all ZinZano's reviews »

This game is overall impressive leaving me in awe at almost every decision I made. The Story is both epic and amazing, one of the best stories I've seen in a video game.If you are looking for a more traditional RPG where a large portion of your game time is spent sifting through piles of loot and armour looking to max all your characters, then this game is not for you, because it is an ACTION RPG, with heavy emphasis on the action in this case. I took a long break between playing Mass Effect 1 and 2, but after finishing this game, I'm ready to start Mass Effect 3.

96

The best mass affect game

ruler8696 | July 26, 2013 | See all ruler8696's reviews »

Mass effect 2 is probably the best mass effect game. The gameplay is awesome, the story is interesting and the graphics are awesome.. It is well worth the money.

87

More Action than RPG

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | See all darkbreaker3200's reviews »

Mass Effect 2 is less RPG-esque than its predecessor. Graphics and controls are more fluid, but I felt it's a much shorter game than the original. They also revamp the upgrading systems; which kinda threw me off. You don't really find/buy a new armor, you upgrade your current one. All in all, It's a great game in its own right, but if you're expecting an RPG, you have been warned.

90

The Best of the Trilogy

onewinged90 | July 18, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

I've played all of the three games in the series, loved every single of it. And I think that from the first to second game, it was a huge step up in terms of gameplay, story and character progression. Although there are no more Mako exploration like in the first game, but it is good enough to fare on it's own. Story takes on a huge emphasis in this second game, where progression from the previous game will be imported with bonus stats for your Sheperd.

90

More Than Just a Mindless Cover Shooter

bwrussell | July 9, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

I think many that level bad scores and a list of complaints at Mass Effect 2 have fallen into the trap of looking at games purely as a collection of mechanics. Sure, it's another cover shooter, which taken alone is merely decent. They're right that the RPG elements are simple and at times are obtuse and too black and white. You can, at least partially, break the upgrade system by grinding resource collection. Given all that it would seem there is no reason to even play this game but you'd be wrong. This game, and the whole series is trying to be more than just mindless entertainment. It's trying to to tell a deep, rich story, trying to get you to really care about it's characters, and it's trying to get you to think beyond the mechanics, beyond the game even. By no means is this just a story with some game attached but story and how your decisions effect it and it's characters are a huge part of this game.

When you play this game, because to be clear, you should play it, I would urge you to try and actually role play the choices. This game brings up some pretty serious issues in some of it's choices. Issues that should stop and make you think, not just about how this will effect your game but about how you would actually feel about this in your everyday life. You can always go back and play it again and make all the "good" or "bad" choices but at least once you should really put yourself in Cmd, Sheppard's shoes, make the choices you would be comfortable making outside the game. Don't worry about what the game says your moral score is, play it to learn something about yourself.

87

A Mix of the Good the Bad and the Ugly that still wins

Dark217 | June 13, 2013 | See all Dark217's reviews »

A question that I will answer immediately is: Is Mass Effect 2 worth buying? The answer is a solid yes, especially at today's prices. For all the criticism that the game draws, I still believe that I is a great game, especially in the department that Bioware games are most well-known for: the story. Mass Effect 2 possibly has the best story of the trilogy, with its loyalty quests that give deeper character development for your party members to an end that can actually be effected to have quite different endings depending on how you prepare for it (unlike cough Mass Effect 3 cough). The gameplay is a love or hate deal. It is completely different from the first, and many hated how it attempted to evolve into an action shooter with for too little weapons and upgrades. However, the most important aspect of the game that makes Mass Effect what it is still remains. There is still a great story that is still affected by your decisions, and that is made even greater by the fact that you can carry over your character and decisions from the first game. All of these factors combine to polish away the flaws and make this game great.

86

It is what it needs to be..

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

Mass Effect 2 appropriately bridges Mass Effect and Mass Effect 3. That's probably the best way I can sum this game up. There few moments in it for me that are truly memorable. You spend most of the game chasing down the reapers until you meet with the obvious climax of the game. There are plenty of new characters to meet and lots of side stories to complete. For me, it simply isn't memorable. There are parts I remember about the game, but it doesn't grasp my attention like ME1 and ME3 have. All that being said, there is nothing fundamentally wrong with it either.

95

Amazing Choices and Story

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

ME2 feels just like what a sequel to ME1 should feel like. The graphics are amazing, the music, the cinematics, the characters come alive, the dialogue options are all there, and there is so much to explore and do and collect within the game that make it worth playing. If you enjoyed the epic storyline of ME1 and were hoping the sequel was just as good, you will not be disappointed with ME2. I actually picked up this game after losing my save file from ME1, but I was able to re-create my Commander Shepherd and continue making the choices I made with ME1. There is also a nice little add-on to the game that allows you to review the back story and make the decisions you made from the first title when starting a new game in ME2.

One thing I don't like about ME2 is that the character customization options seem to be lacking. You can't change the equipment or appearance of your squad. There aren't a lot of weapon or armor upgrades. The level up process seems kind of pointless, and I never understood how to use any abilities aside from shooting a gun. So while it is nice to try and use these extra combat techniques, I really don't feel like the character menu does much for me.

The suicide mission has to be one of my favorite moments in gaming. The preparation I took prior to that mission actually worked against my crew. All the same I loved it.

90

My Favorite of the Series

cevana | May 26, 2013 | See all cevana's reviews »

I wouldn't recommend you jump straight into playing Mass Effect 2 without playing the first in the series, yet I find it a huge improvement on that game.

Maybe it's just that we started the game with dozens of hours under our belts as commander Shepard. But I feel like the game really took the promise of transferring a character from one game to another and delivered.

Two common complaints I hear about Mass Effect 2: it lacks the epic scope of 1 and 3, and it abandons the RPG elements of 1. To me, the great appeal of Mass Effect 2 was it's more intimate story. This is a tale about building a crew for a single, dangerous mission. You get plenty of time with each of your supporting characters. When the plot reaches its climax, this pays off in spades. The writing is so much stronger than in Mass Effect 1. It is much more focused on creating believable relationships than cramming an index with entries from a second-rate sci-fi story.

As for the RPG elements, let's be honest: Mass Effect was never a great RPG the likes of Knights of the Old Republic. At its heart it really wanted to be a shooter, or maybe an ARPG, but couldn't ditch the RPG interface. In practice, this meant cluttered menus and a lot of pausing in some mediocre combat. By embracing itself as pretty much a straight-out shooter, Mass Effect 2 plays at a brisk pace, and has a clean and intuitive interface.

Also of note: gone are the cookie-cutter hideouts on unremarkable moons. Mass Effect 2's side quests are full-formed mini-stories that I enjoyed as much as the main quest itself.

70

The sum of mediocre elements makes a decent game

JimRory | May 4, 2013 | See all JimRory's reviews »

The problem I have with Mass Effect 2 is that it has a lot of elements: it's a sci fi third person rpg shooter with decisions to make. However, the individual elements on their own are mediocre at best. The third person combat pales in comparison to games like Gears of War or Uncharted. The sci fi story at best is very good fan fiction (The ending is just plain silly). The rpg has been streamlined to the point where I feel it's unfair to call this game an rpg. There are no grey areas in the decisions and feels childish; red is bad and blue is good. They do a great job in fleshing out the side characters, but overall the game is composed with a bunch of mediocre elements. Together, however, you have a decent game.

90

Outstanding RPG

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

I have spent above a 100 hours in mass effect 2, so you might as well ask yourself why I don't give this game a perfect 10. Its quite simply really, there are some small flaws. I will try to explain them, but know the game is really an extremely well designed experience. With that said; I find there are two flaws in this game. First, the number of comrades you pick up in the game is to large. Now, you might ask why this could possibly be a problem. This is quite simple, all of them have a "loyalty quest" - and with so many comrades all the sidequests feel a disconnected to the main plot. Add to this that with so many comrades, you never get a special feeling for any of the comrades - like you did in the first mass effect where you had a more limited number of them. Its a shame really.

The second flaw, is the whole weapon system. This problem is more compounded by several smaller issues. First off is the "new and improved" ammo system, which blows to be honest. The first game had a heatcooldown system, which was actually fine. Now you have what they call "heat clips" that are universal, yet you cant shift them between the your weapons - this is just plain odd. besides the weapon selection is dumbed down to much. You have a severely limited amount of weapontypes to choose from, and the way you upgrade and find them feel.... well to be honest, mildly retarded. But even though the games have these flaws, I will still rate it a 9 for the solid script, plot and superb gameplay.

100

One of the best sequels of all time.

GuardianOfSouls | April 27, 2013 | See all GuardianOfSouls's reviews »

A fantastic follow up to Mass Effect. They streamlined a few mechanics a bit far but overall it improves over the base of the series very well. The story is great and the difficulty levels are the real treat.

The game is much better on Hardcore and Insanity than on other difficulties due to the change in shields, barriers, and etc that the enemies have. It really makes you use your squad intelligently.

97

One of the Best

x40sean04x | April 22, 2013 | See all x40sean04x's reviews »

This has to be the one of the best games I've ever played. The game play is great, the graphics are amazing for its time (if you have a good enough PC) and they story is nothing short of incredible. Make sure you play the whole series, as you can import your characters and decisions into the other games. I'd strongly recommend playing ME:1 first, just for that reason. The story is the best part of this game. This is the only series that has actually had me caring about a certain character. Every gamer owes it to themselves to play this game. If you don't your seriously missing out. Don't miss out on one of the single greatest games of all time!

99

An all-around epic game

Xiphora | Feb. 27, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Mass Effect 2 is the my favorite game in the Mass Effect series, and for good reason. Mass Effect was already a great game, but Mass Effect 2 tweaked and changed all the bad things about the spectacular first installment of the trilogy. And what was the result of one of the most hotly anticipated releases of 2010? An absolute masterpiece. Mass Effect 2 took Mass Effect's third person shooter/rpg formula and changed some of the mechanics of the first game. Hacking, elevator rides, and repetitive missions were thrown out or improved. The graphics got a very nice improvement. Mass Effect 2 created an astonishingly effective shooting focused combat system, along with making the missions non-repetitive. Mass Effect 2 also comes with a great story to tell, a signature element of Bioware's. Also, many new squad members are added, and some return and are improved. The sheer number of squad members this time around is very impressive. With so many improvements that Mass Effect 2 showcased, it's not just a worthy sequel to the already spectacular first installment of the Mass Effect trilogy, but proves to succeeds the original Mass Effect entirely. Mass Effect is a powerful adventure that will be remembered as the pinnacle of games for many years to come.