Reviews for LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes

85

Top featured Lego game

vipe_1 | Dec. 11, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

From a feature and content standpoint, LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes is probably the best. The sheer amount of characters, places to go (including all of Gotham city) and gadgets are huge. There is open world gameplay, voice acting and every villain or hero you can think of. Vehicle combat is terrific as well.

It's not all perfect though. The story of this game is arguably lackluster. It's only really "ok" and doesn't get the other heroes involved enough. Performance in the open world Gotham is spotty as well.

Levels are well done, suits are cool and flying around as Superman can't be beat. Co-op play is still very fun, if not essential.

From a gameplay/content standpoint, this is the best. Even so, the story and some elements of the game are not up to par with other offerings. It's all still worth it in the Lego Batman series.

93

The Definitive Lego Game

darkhorse441 | Sept. 27, 2014 | See all darkhorse441's reviews »

Lego Batman was the best selling game of the franchise and gave a new twist on Lego Video Games. Now, as The Dark Knight was to Batman Begins, Lego Batman 2 improves on nearly every aspect of the original. It adds an open-world, expands on the story, has voice acting, and increases the size of levels. The result is a funny game that evokes all the nostalgia of the older Lego games while creating a fresh new style of gameplay. If there is one game that truly shines in the legacy of the original Lego Star Wars, it is Lego Batman 2. While it is sometimes buggy and has a small character selection compared to other games, it uses the toyline to its fullest and incorporates the best elements of both Lego and DC to create a fun experience for gamers of all ages.

40

Poorly executed sequel!

Thomazen | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all Thomazen's reviews »

I had my hopes high, after playing Lego Marvel Superheroes. Unfortunately, this game is nowhere near the standards of the newest Lego game. Alright, it is one year younger, but the finish of this game is horrible. I have been stuck by bugs for several levels, and in the end, I just didn't wanted to go on finding any more bugs. It was put out too soon without having a good control, and it ends up being one of my most horrific PC-game experiences in a long time. If only there was a way to get ones money back after been playing it. I do not personally recommend it. Also, want to know of the many bugs, do a quick Google-search, and there will arrive many more 'horror' stories like this. Something I should have checked before buying it.

The only plus is the many DC characters.

90

Got me hooked!

Numbi | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I picked this one up because I loved the original Lego Batman and Green Man Gaming had it on sale for a price that was too good to refuse. After playing it for only a few hours I can definitely recommend this game to fans of the Lego games, fans of the Batman franchise and anyone who loves a good game. There is a huge city to explore, tons of very cool missions and the voice acting (yes voice acting!) is top notch. The original game was pretty humorous but this one takes it to a whole new level. I'm absolutely hooked!

85

Arkham Playhouse

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

This is the Best LEGO game ever, hands down. The writing and voice acting made it for me. I actually laughed at this game. Being a LEGO game, it has a tonne of characters. Superman felt just as overpowered as he should be. The flying controls were kind of wonky, however. The graphics aren't great but they get the job done. The music cues were done well. I enjoyed this game a lot.

91

The best lego game to date

jrojas28 | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all jrojas28's reviews »

This was definitely the best lego game I ever played. It was nice to play lego games when I was 10 years old and all that, but it was incredible how this Lego game involved me and my brother (two 18 year-old males) to the point that we liteally finished it 100%. The voice acting gives life to what once was just some funny character made of lego, and the new open world is just beautiful to explore and discover. It's still a lego game to its core (Characters have a main specific ability, you buy cheats, repeat levels...) but above all that, its an awesome experience that EVERYONE should have, be it with family or alone. highly recommend this!

82

Great sequel

lok0812 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is a great sequel from the original Lego Batman. Not only the gameplay have tremedously improved by giving the game an open world feel but it also fixed one of the weak point of the original game, the lack of co-op feature. In Lego Batman 2, everything still remain the same in Lego formula in terms of graphic and combats. More characters will make appearance since it is now involved with DC comic heroes therefore more villains will also come into play. The co-op support finally hit the series and provide even more fun to the game by playing the game with any player. The roster of the game that the players can choose to play as is huge and each and every single one of those characters have unique abilities that the players can use to tackle the mission. Overall, one of the best Lego games to date and it is a must get for anyone who enjoy Lego franchise games with superheroes.

90

Great lego game

rjb789 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This new Lego game from DC is a must have for anyone who is fan of the previous lego games or anyone who enjoys watching or playing as Batman. The graphics in this game are brilliant and they are helped by the hilarious cut scenes that frequently pop up to explain the story in a humourous way. The sounds are brilliant as well and the music compliments the game in almost perfect style. The campaign is long and very fun on your own or with a friend. The gameplay is the same as previous game, collect studs and fight the bad guys and unlocking new characters is as fun as ever. In short, this game is a must buy for any fan of lego or batman and the co-op really makes this game a great purchase if you enjoy playing with friends.

80

Fun open world LEGO game

bradysam | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

I enjoy the LEGO series of games, and this one is no exception. There is plenty to see and do. The city is huge and there is a massive amount of content to unlock and puzzles to solve. The campaign is a blast to go through and it's still very enjoyable to go through a level you've completed using the free play option so that you can find and unlock everything. The DC universe translates incredibly well into the LEGO universe and is a game I keep coming back to again and again. Once more, highly reccomended

82

Favourite Lego Game

bashscrazy | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all bashscrazy's reviews »

I haven't played all the lego games but this one is by far my favourite out of the ones I have played. First of all.. It has Batman! and well.. Batman is the best!

Main reason I enjoy the game is because of the open world of Gotham City! You can play as the most popular Justice League Characters and use their powers. It is quite entertaining for that aspect alone. You can drive in the Batmobile through Gotham City! Another reason why I found the game so entertaining. Arkham Asylum and Arkham City didn't include the batmobile for driving but if you've always wanted to drive it or even the batwing or batboat you can in this game along with other Batman and Robin vehicles!

The core gameplay though is missions with some fighting and puzzles. You can't really die so it's quite casual but still fun nonetheless with many collectibles and other side things for unlocking all the characters!

85

To the Bat-Computer!

swabja | July 5, 2013 | See all swabja's reviews »

As a long time Lego fan and as well has a big fan of Batman and Superman this game suits me right down to the ground! I am yet to play it cooperatively with a friend but I think that is where the game probably really shines. That said it is still hugely enjoyable in single player. I like it when games have a good variety of action, puzzles, and character as this game does. It uses the DC universe roster of characters to excellent affect throughout the game. It has a wonderful sense of humour, I especially enjoy the relationship between Superman, the grumpy Batman and the admiring Robin!

The game looks great and runs very well on my laptop. As with many games like this that are suited to playing on a TV I also appreciate full Xbox 360 controller support which makes playing with friends a lot easier. Music is excellent and I was especially pleased to hear the John Williams Superman March make an appearance in the game. Voice acting too is very good as expected.

Overall if you like Lego games you will certainly enjoy this one. While if you haven't tried one before I would recommend this as possible the best of the lot.

90

Best one so far!!

El_Rickhead | June 11, 2013 | See all El_Rickhead's reviews »

This is definately the best lego game i have played so far, they seem to be popping them out left, right and center but this one does stand out from the rest. The addition of voice acting is welcome especially with it being new material as opposed to ripping sounds clips directly from a movie like Lord of the Rings! The game looks nice and plays as expected with it being a lego game, the DC characters offer a fantastic mixture of abilities that keeps it fresh meaning you want to unlock more and more. If you want another Lego game or need somewhere to start, i highly recommend this one!

88

Mediocre on your own, Amazing in co-op!

thegaminglyfe | June 8, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

The lego games have always been about humor and puzzles and Lego Batman 2 executes both of those perfectly. One thing that Lego Batman 2 is that they finally added voices for the characters in the game while still managing to keep the humor and even making it better. The gameplay is the same as the previous game, fight people, figure out how to open the door, figure out the technique to fight the boss etc. But one major awesome addition they added is the free roam. You can now navigate around Gotham City with a wide variety of characters. Don't get this game if you're going to finish it yourself, the game is best with someone to play with. You guys can drive/fly/run (yep, Flash) around the city in split screen. The sound is mediocre, not the best but it works for the game. The graphics look nice, but don't expect top-notch graphics from a lego game. In conclusion, a buy if you have a partner to beat it with, think about or wait if you're going to play solo.

85

Very Fun Game!

Plasros | June 7, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Finally a game I can play with my girlfriend! Two Xbox controllers on PC. Ok, it's for kids, but the level of imagination and fun we both had completing each level is right up there with the best that gaming can offer. Puzzles are pretty simple, but not always obvious. The level-design and witty spoke dialogue stand out, but I wasn't really that interested in the open world element. With two-people playing when the screen splits it's really hard sometimes to work out where you are and where to go. Wish the campaign was a bit longer rather than adding the open world, but anyway - this is the best lego game I've played!

83

A good sequel

Compax | June 7, 2013 | See all Compax's reviews »

Lego Batman 2 is a great sequel to Lego Batman. It's a lego game as you've come to expect - not deep, demanding or particularly complex, but applying charm with Kryptonite effectiveness through dozens of fully playable, fully voiced superheroes and a puzzle-packed open world.

81

A great Batman game even as a Lego doll

kalil | June 6, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Not the best game about Batman or superheroes, but it is the best I've had in all of Lego. Even as a rather childish game, there is to be a kid to enjoy it. Gameplay: right in the line of Lego but with some changes and some added important. For starters, the sandbox, with Gotham City acceptably large to move freely by either running, flying or in vehicles. In the part of the story is where continuity is safe at some point, very linear, "puzzling" simple and inability to die, which makes no challenge whatsoever. Yes, fun is. As in all previous Lego, there are many secrets and you have to replay several times to get everything. Perhaps the most tiresome is having to change clothes again and again, so that, once the story, others can be chosen freely heroes ... The fights against the villains (Two-Face, Ras Al Gul, Bane, etc.) that are in the city should be more varied, except in a couple all boil down to the same pattern. Yet the whole is entertaining, is long and has but one notable failures: control when flying is quite awkward.

Technology: what is most striking is the AI, both ally and enemy. The bad guys are utter fools, but the companion and ... It just goes on and lets you get hit. Also often get in the middle of it and you hit him more than bad ... Moreover, nothing bad to stand out, but not anything good to stand out.

Graphics: As usual, the game mixes shooting photorealistic environments with Lego pieces. Everything looks pretty good and the dolls have a very nice design. The characters have some expressions, drawn clear, very good. Overall is pretty good and is resultón, but not impressive at all. Furthermore, the distance blur ugly.

Sound: for the first time, Lego dialogues, and over in Spanish. Not perfect, Batman speaks very little in my opinion, but instead the Joker is great. There are sounds like "Help!" you are a bore and repeated too much, and instead I miss the characters speak for the game itself, not only in the cinematics. The music is correct, and curious point is that when flying with Superman (which incidentally is a superhero hipervitaminado compared to the rest) sound music.

Innovation: it is quite like the previous, such as Harry Potter, but by adding the full Gotham voices at last we can say that it has innovated itself decently.

In short, a game recommended to hang out, a laugh and not eat the head. It is what it is, a fun, comedic content and putting in the hours.

95

Extremely fun co-op gameplay

Vudupet | June 6, 2013 | See all Vudupet's reviews »

Now is the time to play the role of batman and a some of dc comics superheroes exploring, building, and using all their abilities to complete puzzles, while you follow the game story full of fun and comic situations. I really have enjoyed the lego games series and i think it's a great way to play games and have some quality time with family, friends or your girlfriend.

85

Great Batman game

barniman | March 31, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

LEGO Batman 2 mostly follows Travallel's Tales usual LEGO game recipe but it also innovates a few things. Compared to their earlier games they actually managed to make the exploration and puzzles much more engaging and actually the story is much more interesting than in their previous games, even if you're not a fan of Batman, it can be easily enjoyed. The rest didn't change much, the controls are the same, the humour and the funny charm the LEGO games usually have are all still there. Sadly this one doesn't really deliver on the music departmant as much as the LEGO Harry Potter games, but other than that it's a great game.