Reviews for Altered Beast

60

A Little Too Basic For My Liking

Numbi | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

This is another title that I got as part of a Sega Classics pack and to be honest it is not one of my favorites. I never played it back in the day but apparently it is an arcade port. The visuals are a little bland and the gameplay too basic for my liking but the whole turning into a beast gimmick is quite cool. This is probably going to appeal the most to fans of the original.

87

Rise from your grave...

Gojko | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

This is the sentence at the beginning of game. Game have a standard concept for most of arcade games... somebody is kidnapped (girl) and you need to save her!

When this game came on arcade machines, it's instantly became a great hit. Reason was a big specter of animals that you become at the middle of every level. To become an animal you need to pick blue orb that you are acquire by killing of white wolf. You will need three of those orbs on every level to become some animal. You will become werewolf, dragon, bear,tiger, and every of those animals have there own combat move.

In all game you have around 14 opponent including bosses on the end of every level. For price 2.99$ this is very good buy.

85

"Rise from your grave!"

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all PeppaJ6's reviews »

I remember playing this one from a long time ago at a friend's house, but I never knew the name until years later. I thought the coolest part of this game was the fact that your character has the ability to turn into a menagerie of creatures, acquiring a brand, new appearance and a multitude of new abilities each with their own graphical goodness used to pound out their enemies! It has a very Castlevania feel to the game, in that it is also a side-scroller, you're facing up against goblins and ghoulies of the night, and that you're able to become one yourself. With the price on this one, and its nostalgic gameplay, you really can't go wrong here.

80

Not a bad game for its age.

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

While not being the best beat 'em up game from its time, Altered beast still has its charm. The animations for the character may be funny to watch and seem like the game is silly, but its not a game to be taken lightly. The game can be pretty hard for those who aren't used to this style of game. Though it is hard, it is still possible to play and beat. If you are a retro gamer, or a beat 'em up kinda gamer, get this game...You'll not be disappointed.

68

Mostly appeal to nostalgics

F4T4LV0iD | July 24, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

Altered Beast is mostly going to appeal to gamers who remember the originals back in the arcade and on the SEGA Genesis. It might not be for modern day gamers unless if they enjoy the throwback to the classics.

One notable thing with Altered Beast was the difficulty. It wasn't that the game proved to be a noble challenge, it was that the AI and the controls could be extremely difficult at times, but as with any other game of this genre, repeated playthroughs and learning enemy patterns will aid you through this classic. And once you transform into one of the many beasts through the powerups you collect from defeating enemies, enemies will fall before you in droves.

To any SEGA enthusiasts, this is a great game to add to your collection. To anyone wanting to go back in the way-back-machine and re-live a classic they may have missed out on during its initial run, then this side-scrolling beat-em-up is a great start for the price.

60

Starring Elmer Fudd as Zeus

DeweyDTruman | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

If anything, Altered Beast proves the Sega Genesis system would be a completely different beast (no pun intended) without Sonic the Hedgehog. Before he appeared on the scene in 1991, all the Genesis really had going for it were arcade ports. While they weren't horrible, they weren't arcade perfect either. This game is one such example. Ultimately it doesn't hold up that well, though it certainly isn't horrible. The gameplay mostly consists of just walking right, punching things until you're in your beast mode, and then killing the local boss, whereupon you lose all your power ups and have to do it again in a different level with different best modes. I can't honestly say I'd recommend going out of your way to play this, but if you happen upon it, then it shouldn't just be ignored. It wasn't the original pack-in title for a Genesis for no reason, after all.

95

Still a great game!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

I don't care what anyone else says, Altered Beast is and always has been a great game. I STILL play this one, it's one of my all-time faves and make no mistake about it, it's a fave for a reason. No matter how much I play it, no matter how long it's been since i last picked it up, it is a classic that is untouchable and undeniably awesome. Words cannot express how much I love this game, honestly, they really can't. Put it this way, you can either buy 3 $1 Mcdouble sandwiches from McD's, which will give you all kinds of issues, or you can buy this and enjoy it for years upon years! Your choice, but you know what I'd do.

40

The Game That Kicked Off A Generation

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Altered Beast is a beat 'em up arcade game made in late 1988, and eventually ported to the Mega Drive/Genesis version you see here soon afterwards. Originally, a pack-in game for the system, Altered Beast was meant to show off that Sega's console could faithfully reproduce the full quality and graphics of the arcade experience compared to Nintendo's more limited NES system. While not a perfect conversion, Altered Beast showed an arcade experience in the living room was possible and turned some heads before Sonic the Hedgehog took center stage for SEGA.

That said, there are several reasons why the Mega Drive/Genesis became far more popular once Sonic replaced Altered Beast as the pack-in game. Altered Beast was designed to show off the capabilities of the system, but has very little lasting charm outside of the hilariously grating sound clip of "Rise from your grave!"

The story is relatively simple. The evil god of the underworld and sorcerer Neff has kidnapped Zeus's daughter Athena, and you're revived and tasked with saving her, punching and kicking anyone who stands in your way. At least Zeus is in character, forcing other people to do the job he should be doing, but where is Hades in all this? While I'm glad Hades wasn't misrepresented as a villain like in the Disney movies, he's nowhere to be found with Neff firmly in his position in the Greek Pantheon. Also, if Neff is god of the underworld, how is Zeus able to revive you when you're dead already? The ending does give a little bit of clarity as to how all this silliness works, but it would be nice if it made sense within the logic of the game.

As for the game itself, it was made in that rough period between 8 and 16-bit graphics, and it shows with Altered Beast having great graphics and colors...for 1988. By today's standards, they're big, somewhat deformed, and rough around the edges. While later games would be able to use tricks and improvements in the cartridge hardware to look prettier, Altered Beast shows they had a lot of work to do to learn the system.

The actual gameplay also shows a lot of simplicity and arcade difficulty. While the parallax scrolling helps make the game a little smoother, it's hard to ignore you have only 5 stages to play through, and that you have only two real attacks, a punch and a kick. The objective is to gain orbs to transform into buffer forms until you become a were-creature of some sort to fight the stage's boss, and while the transformations allow you to play with new attacks, it's still very simple. Yet, despite that simplicity, the game is rather brutal thanks to it's arcade origins, and it will take planning and knowledge of your enemies to be able to survive past the first stage.

Altered Beast is an important game in terms of the medium's history. It was SEGA's flagship title for their Mega Drive, which helped push the way for Sonic and their other fantastic titles. Altered Beast's flaws also helped SEGA learn and improve on the beat 'em up genre with the later Golden Axe and Streets of Rage series. Despite all that history however, the game simply isn't fun to play. Outside of the "Rise from your grave!" meme, there's nothing particularly noteworthy or charming about the game with several titles heavily improving upon what it set out to do. It's not a bad game, but I can't recommend it either, and suggest you try out some of SEGA's other, better games on Green Man Gaming.

70

Rise From Your Grave!

AkaRai | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

Altered Beast is an arcade classic, which was originally ported onto the Mega Drive and Genesis, and has since been emulated in a ton of different formats over and over again. There was even a PS2 remake that saw somewhat limited release.

You play as a one of two buff adventurers brought back to life by Zeus to rescue Athena from an evil wizard who among other things can turn into a bipedal rhinoceros. Along the way, by defeating white wolves which pop up throughout each level, the player can transform, first becoming larger and more powerful, and finally becoming a monster of some variety, ranging from a werewolf, to a dragon to a werebear.

The game is somewhat repetitive and short, and I found the difficulty ramps up near the end, but it's still mostly fun along the way. Unfortunately it hasn't held up as well as some other arcade classics, but it's a must for any fan of classic Sega games.

75

Good game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Think about a classic game from 1980-1990 era. This is Altered Beast. I think that anyone heard something about this game before. Even the famous phrase "Rise from your grave" with that bad and funny sound. Altered Beast is a good game. It is not like a Sonic, a Streets of Rage or Golden Axe, in my opinion but is really a good game to be played without compromise. The graphics are ok if we think about the time that was made. The gameplay is good. Very simple but good. you will punch and kick with a good of variations but it is not the main thing. All that you want to do during the stages is to transform to the next creature. You can be a werewolf, tiger, dragon... It is the most interesting part of the game. The gameplay with them changes a lot and it is a positive thing. The bad is that the game is too short and you will have a few of stages and transformations. But it worths the money. I recommend.

70

Classic of classics

antonioli84 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

This game is a classic from a classic era. The golden age from SEGA. Of course that we are in the end of 2012 year. The game is from 1988 if I am not wrong. We are talking about 24 years. I was a little child when this game was launched. But, looking the 16bit era we see that the game is very interesting. It is a simple game with much more action than story. The story is a cliche: save Zeus daugter that was kidnapped by someone bad. All of one certainly see the scene in ourlifes with the characters waking up from death from the graves with the words "Rise from your grave". Even this scene is very classic in videogame world. So, we must save the girl. The mechanics are good for the time and it is not uncomfortable even nowadays. It is simple but not uncomfortable. The game has something very very very interesting. During the stage you will becoming stronger after take something and taking three of this thing will transform you in a beast. That is why the name is Altered Beast. That is the show part. You can be a werewolf or a dragon or a bear or a tiger and the gameplay changes completely depending on what who you transform. This is a great game that deserves to be played.

10

Go back to bed, warrior.

nairume | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

For those that have fond memories of this game, do not return to it.

For those that have any interest in trying out a supposed classic, seek entertainment elsewhere.

For those that are determined to play this game, abandon all hope ye who enter.

Altered Beast is a bad game. It is a very bad game. Once you get past the spectacle of such large and detailed character sprites and shake off that nasty twenty year coma, you will find a game behind the graphics that is an utter drab to play. Combat for much of the game is rendered a chore whenever you are a human because of his pathetic attack options, while fighting as a beast is a mixed bag because the beast forms either have broken screen clearing attacks or are even weaker and short ranged than the human. Furthermore, the platforming segments are clunky at best, with the game's slow controls fighting you at every turn.

All the while, you get to deal with boring and uninspired music, a bareboned plot, and not much else to make the slog worth it. Do not play this game. Do not buy this game. Do not do anything to remind Sega that this game exists.

33

Ugly...

Zinzun | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

So maybe when it went out during nineties it was a good game, but today is not. It's a very short game, and to finish it you will need to ABUSE the savestate system (by the way this is how I finished it on PS3). You are a...man? And collecting some orbs you can turn yourself in a monster with different powers. If you are good enough you can mantein this form for the rest of the level and beat it. That's all. Hard bosses, only five levels...think before buying.

43

Short and without variety...

panz3r88 | Aug. 24, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

This is a really bad action game. You must reach the end of the level killing all the enemies and the final boss. During the levels you can increase your power killing the silver wolf with three head and collecting the orb he leaves when he die. If you collect three orbs you can transform in a very powerful beast and you can kill easily all the enemies. The game is really simple and short,there are only 5 levels and in less than one hour you will reach the ending credits.

30

Old but gold

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

This is an incredibly old game (1988 if I'm correct) and I can only recommend to old school players who love the classics. Pretty sure you can get this on your iPad/iPhone as well. I'm not even really sure what to say about it. Story was awesome though. Graphics: 1/10 Gameplay: 3/10 (Harsh, I know, but that is based on today's games) Story: 8/10

70

Power Up!!

emwearz | Sept. 20, 2011 | See all emwearz's reviews »

So the basic concept is simple enough. Go from the left to the right of the screen while collecting orbs so you can "POWER UP!", eventually becoming a different Beast on every stage, in all ops of rescuing Zeus's daughter.

Sounds pretty good right? Well it was when it was release as a launch titles for the Sega Megadrive, but today it feels very dated and stiff, the three button control scheme feels dated of most. Very button masher-ish and it becomes overtly hard towards the end.

Don't let your memories of this game be ruined, let them stay as just that, happy memories.

70

A Beast of a Game!

keysersoze16 | Aug. 26, 2011 | See all keysersoze16's reviews »

I don't understand why people moan so much about this game, back then this is what we had! this is what we played! now its much more higher intense graphics games, but for any Sega fan this is for you!

I have not bought this game but I can tell you what I remember. For this price you are getting rather a strange gameplayer, you are a beast which moves along the stage killing animals and enemies in your way to get to the higher end boss at each stage! THe sounds are just amazing lol and reminds me of my childhood playing this game among other Sega games.

Play this game and you will love it!

WELCOME TO YOUR DOOM!

50

Pass!

pauljebe | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

This was originally an arcade game that was incredible looking in its day. When the 16 bit console wars started Sega used this title to showcase how they could bring arcade quality graphics into the home. At the time that was enough, but almost two decades later this game’s simplicity is almost laughable. This new implementation offers one huge advantage that neither the arcade nor console versions could: the ability to save your game state so you can finish later. Aside from this feature there is almost nothing compelling about Altered Beast other than nostalgia.

60

Very Linear

drakaenae | July 23, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

Altered Beast is a very repetitive game. The goal is to defeat all the monsters in order to save the god's daughter. There are powerups available in this game which can transform you into a bear, dragon, tiger or wolf (there's two versions of wolf) and give you special abilities which help greatly for defeating monsters and bosses. There are five levels in this game.

Although this game is somewhat challenging since you have a limited number of lives, its just too repetitive. Once you get one of the powerups, the level is no longer a challenge since the powerups are too overpowered. The plot of the game is not interesting and there is not a lot of variation between levels. I would not recommend this game.

30

Didn't age well

Aladar | June 27, 2011 | See all Aladar's reviews »

If you are a fan of this game, you probably don't even read any reviews and buy it on sight. If you are not.. you should really reconsider buying this game. It REALLY didn't age well. The graphics are simple, bordering with unpleasantly looking, animation is horribly simple and stiff, your hero walks like he has spine made out of steel, and the gameplay is really lacking. The only piece of story I got was "I have rescued you from your grave to find my daughter". I don't think there is much more to say to this, it's a below average beat em up with pretty bad graphics, and generally feels like something out of '89 coin-op machine. There are better games on Genesis to buy than this, believe me.

83

Rise from your grave, and transform on this awesome adventure!

Truegamer | April 10, 2011 | See all Truegamer's reviews »

The premise on this game is very simple, the monsters have taken over, an evil sauceror is destroying the realm and the gods have chosen you (and a friend in multiplayer mode) to fight off the waves of beasts stampeading through the lands, as you go about your travels you absorb orbs to power up and transform into all range of monsters, be it werewolves, dragons, bears and other multiple animals, this as a child would steal away alot of loose change being rather difficult yet simplistic and absolutely fantastic, fortunately i had it on the sega megadrive so my wallet was kept save in the mean times, however this didnt rob the game of any of the charms, the game does feel slightly impossible at times, and multiple attempts might be needed to just succeed through the first 3-4 levels, but atleast the replay value is more than sufficient, i still have the odd attempt at this game now, and there is always a smile on my face when i see the animals transforming one more time, give it ago, forget about dated graphics, scroll along games on the megadrive were always gold, buy it, you won't regret it, or the beasts may soon come to find you elsewhere!

80

Rise from your Grave!

psymantis | April 5, 2011 | See all psymantis's reviews »

Violent, bloody and simple but one of the true Megadrive classics. From the moment a digitised voice tells you to "Rise from your Grave" it's pure non stop side-scrolling action. Occasionally a white bull appears and after being killed will drop an orb. Collecting this buffs the hero with three turning him into a different powerful beast depending on the level. But even without the full three the hero feels noticeable stronger each time.

The graphics for this game are very well done. The character design and imagination is at a very high level. All five levels are different and increase in difficulty at a reasonable pace. The game, if you can complete it first time, is very short but great fun while it lasts. Fortunately the short length is compensated by the low price. Personally, I could not complete it first time so it had extra replayability and I suspect other gamers will have a similar experience. I did get further each time so it's not an impossible game to complete but practice is needed to beat it.