Reviews for Max Payne 3

86

Rockstar's Own Interpretation of Max but still Brings the Payne!

khawaja07 | July 26, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

After Max Payne 2, Remedy turned their attention to somewhere else while selling the rights to Rockstar games for the Max Payne series. Rockstar certainly took their sweet sweet time in trying to deliver their own interpretation of Max. So, what to make of it?. I have good news! Rockstar spared no expense in trying to deliver the best Max Payne experience it had to offer but it also meant that some changes were to be made to some of the aspects of the Max Payne Persona, Gameplay and also how the Story is told throughout the game.

Max Payne 3 is built upon the upgraded version of Rockstar's famous RAGE engine which was used to power Red Dead Redemption. Thanks to Rockstar's High Production values, Max Payne 3's visuals are clearly gorgeous to look at. Unlike Rockstar's Previous PC titles like GTAIV, Max Payne 3 is incredibly well optimized and can easily scale from a lower-end spec to a higher-end spec in a jippy. A host of graphical options are made available to the player Including Directx 11 Tessellation, Anti-aliasing and many more options to add to the variety. The game looks beautiful during all the classy gunfights in all of its High-Def. Glory!

When it comes to Gameplay, Rockstar has made some changes to it such as now you can't select from a huge arsenal of weapons that you previously had in the past Max Payne games but instead you can dual wield two weapons of any type regardless whether its a shotgun in one hand and a pistol in the other or you can two hand a machine gun while keeping the previous two weapons in your inventory. The destructible environments around the player makes Gunplay even more fun and challenging at the same time.

I was surprised to see them adding a Multiplayer aspect to the third game, which made me doubt the credibility of the game as sequels don't mostly tend to change for the best, but thankfully its a fully fleshed out Multiplayer component featuring many fun Player vs Player challenges and so on.

While these changes were intended to have the game keep up with the current times, not all of them will appease the fans of the original two Max Payne games who loved them so much. Forcing Cover in certain situations, limiting weapon options due to it being closer to reality which really was not intended by the Devs. of the previous games, the goal was to make it fun and challenging so these changes to Max Payne 3 sometimes come close to ruining the experience we've all so much relished in the past. Most disappointing feature i found was the inclusion of an all new story-telling method - Cinematic cutscenes which replaced the Internal Monologues which were told through comics. Instead of experiencing the classy Noir feeling that you got from the Max Payne Games in the past, we get a broken Drunk man who's wishing he'd be dead already. This is not Max Payne, Max was never a Needy, desperate guy but a person who stood against any challenge that life threw at him.

But even after all that, as i said before, the high production values made this game still stood out amongst the other great games of 2012 but it could've been much much better if Rockstar had left some things intact really helps in defining Max Payne as a Character.

The game soundtrack is actually extremely Good and the best when comparing it to the previous 2 games. 100% recommended to listen to separately!

So, Max Payne 3 in my opinion could've been a lot improved upon if it was still Max Payne 99% of the time, but when a game series changes hands among two developers, changes like these are to be expected. For me the previous still two entries stand out today and i considering them better than this iteration of the Max Payne series.

0

Broken DRM = Can't play = Zero score

sallee_6783 | July 24, 2014 | See all sallee_6783's reviews »

DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! If a game won't let you experience its gameplay then it deserves a "0" score. Max Payne 3 requires a Rockstar Social Club account and internet connection to even play the dang thing. Unfortunately, this cursed obscenity of an added layer of DRM never worked for me. Passwords don't get recognized even after several attempts at recovery and resets. Even after finally logging in, the game never goes beyond that. No start menus, no opening cinematic...just the "Max Payne 3" logo, some ominous theme music, and either "initializing" or "needs to be online or have a Social Club account" under that. I've updated drivers, reinstalled the game, run it as administrator, and a host of other tips i had to dig up online to no avail. I've jumped through more hoops than a Seaworld dolphin....at least the dolphin gets a treat at the end....i couldn't even say if this game sucks or not because i couldnt even play the game....sigh...just DO NO BUT THIS GAME!....just dont, its not worth it!

80

Bullet Time!!

vekktorious | July 22, 2014 | See all vekktorious's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is an interesting buy, the story may be short (finished in 3 hours) but the gameplay is exhilarating , so sometimes its great for a game to be short but sweet. The plot plays out like a movie, and Max is his usual depressed self. You end up going through a bunch of missions ranging from boat chases to shootouts in the favelas. Bullet time could quite possibly be one of the best shooter mechanics of all time, and it quite frankly diving over a desk with dual pistols and putting copious amounts of bullets into a bandit in slow motion never gets old. There is nothing really new and game changing about about Max Payne 3, but if you can buy it for cheap, then its money well spent.

30

Life is too short for bad fan fiction

PersusNine | June 20, 2014 | See all PersusNine's reviews »

Max Payne 3 really serves to emphasise the genius of Sam Lake and Remedy.

"But Sam Lake didn't write this instalment and Remedy didn't make it!" you say, "It was written by Dan Houser, Rupert Humphries and Michael Unsworth, and made by Rockstar Vancouver!"

"Exactly." I reply.

This feels like bad Max Payne fan fiction. The shooting is a bit wrong. The writing is a bit wrong. Everything is just a bit wrong. For example, the clever little asides that Max made during the first two games are now replaced by the most ham fisted of player guidance. Nothing is polished and as it should be. The game is better on easy where Max Payne's classic shoot-dodging becomes a viable strategy again and progress is faster because there are fewer enemies but it is never right.

Like others I've had my share of problems with the the horrible Social Club DRM. It never actually locked me out but there is a problem with a disappearing pop-up that I need to re-signin to make reappear and until I do then I'm locked out. Pretty rubbish.

My breaking point was when I switched down to easy difficulty and played for two or three hours before taking a break. When I went back the game loaded me into the point where I'd switched from my no fun medium difficulty game. I'd only been playing for the story so the prospect of doing it again was totally unappealing. So yeah, not a very good game, no manual save option because it is a shitty console port and the autosave is apparently unreliable or broken. Nope. Life is too short. I've played the first two Max Payne games multiple times but this one, I'm not even going to finish once.

100

Epic max payne!

lynxil | May 7, 2014 | See all lynxil's reviews »

I'm a huge fan of the Max Payne franchise, I loved the whole dark and gritty feeling, so I was really excited about this game, and I wasn't disappointed at all, I finished it twice because I loved it so much! and now, I've decided to write a review about it and share my thoughts about this great game!

Story So, if you don't have a clue about who is Max Payne... you ought to be ashamed! I'll just start from this game, so, after the last game, Max left the police force and settled in a New Jersey, where he was just drinking himself to death and been haunted by the loss of his family, one day, while he was drinking a friend finds him in the bar, and offers him a job, to protect a well known family in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil, he accepts the job, and leaves USA to protect the family. And from here the story twists and turns...

Graphics The graphics are amazing imo, really good, they've thought of everything (Rockstar), even the smallest details, the animations are crazy good, the effects of the bullet-time is sweet!... I've nothing to add, really the graphics are sweet!

Gameplay Max Payne is a third-person shooter, and the first Max Payne where the first to introduce the Bullet-Time feature, and so, it's also in this game, and they've taken the game to the next level, I mean it, everything, you can jump to each side while the effect is on, you can move from cover to cover, you can blind-fire, and there's also a slow-motion effect when you kill dudes (like Fallout 3, Skyrim etc)... everything you look in a third-person shooter, Max Payne 3 got! and my favourite one is that when you prone you actually roll over and the player turns 360 degrees to maintain his sight on target, I found that really nice and making me feel like they've thought of everything in the game. now, I heard from people that actually didn't like the game because of the long cut-scenes, I really don't understand this, cause the game itself is story driven and the cut-scenes are a must! the story it self is amazing, and the cut-scenes are just like a movie, Rockstar knows how to make this kinda games, from GTA to Red Dead Redemption, L.A. Noire and Max Payne. I loved the gameplay, it's full of action and fun!

Conclusion I LOVE THIS GAME! The game is well built! they've put thought of every small detail, and just made it perfect! The gameplay is fun and full of action! and I just couldn't get enough of it! the single player is long and delivers a movie-like story, with twists and turns, it took me about 13 hours or so to complete the game, The graphics are amazing! had no bugs at all, the game worked fluently with no lags at all, and I had GTS 8800 320MB GPU, which wasn't the best at the time I played it. I can really go on and on praising this game, and I really think the game deserves it, Rockstar made an excellent game, they maintained the feeling of the original games and just made it even better! If you didn't play this game at all, put it in the top of your list, and if you already played it and stopped, give it another go! for me, I'm waiting for the next Max Payne to come out, I really hope they're making one :)

Taken from my Steam reviews page Feel free to ask question about the game there http://steamcommunity.com/id/JustLynx/recommended/204100/ and check out the in-game screenshots

88

Top notch 3rd person action, and one hell of a main character

Balrock168 | April 23, 2014 | See all Balrock168's reviews »

First of all to the gameplay, it's kept simple and nothing is revolutionized in terms of 3rd person action, but they achieved the combat to be fun, challenging (especially at higher difficulties, a trait I miss in many other games) and it has a nice flow to it.

But where are you fighting? No worries, the area's you shoot up have enough diversity to not make you feel like you shoot up the same place over and over.

Collectables (pieces of golden guns) should have been removed imo, as they are not only there during the normal gameplay but also during some cutscenes, making them look utterly ridicolous. My take on it is that they simply don't fit in a game like this.

The Story is a decent thriller set in Sao Paulo, but what really makes this game memorable is Max as a main character. You don't play a Supersoldier #9 out to save the world nor the knight in shining plate armor. You can actually follow his reasoning why he's doing the things he's doing,

In Short Max Payne 3 is a decent story with a really great main character bedded in a solid 3rd person shooter.

(Note Multiplayer was not taken into account for rating, this review is for the singleplayer only )

94

Back in style!

sivaprasanna | April 8, 2014 | See all sivaprasanna's reviews »

I'm simply out of words to explain this epic. I, myself, have thought many times that Rockstar Games is only good at developing open world video games but man, they have shattered all my thoughts with their all new Max Payne. The new Max is awesome, charming and all but when it comes to business, he is a freaking killer machine. Hit him once. Oh boy, that will be your last day on earth.

Pros: 1. Story is top notch. 2. Max Payne's iconic bullet time mechanism. 3. A completely revamped weapon wheel makes it easier to select your favorite weapons. 4. Stunning visuals. 5. Greatly optimized to run in all types of hardware.

Cons: 1. When you do shoot dodge, Max takes forever to get up.

I found it a little bit hard to aim with my mouse but with a controller you're good to go.

65

Not bad if you can get it cheap

AsmodeusSabrael | March 18, 2014 | See all AsmodeusSabrael's reviews »

Not bad kinda nice seeing Max back at it again and so emo, yet the gameplay itself is pretty much the same as before, tho more action in my opinion.

Graphically could be better yet at the same time better than before, plenty of graphical options to optimize yet still not perfect because the clothing textures are meh. Close ups when hiding in cover show bad textures too. But overall graphically not too bad.

Story is straight to it, very linear and not too many places to really get your completionist fix. Yes there are hidden "collectables" yet that's not too satisfying.

If you are a casual gamer and like to be in and out of gameplay then this is fine. It's replay value is meh, multiplayer is meh, finding matches is slightly dead and boring yet if u like it, then u have many rankings to go up to to unlock more avatars. Story gets repetitive because it's pretty much, small cinematic, then shoot some baddies. Most look the same yet the physics of shooting debris is a nice touch. Get it cheap and it's not bad, pay more than 10 and you might not be happy.

78

Awesome Gameplay, Lacking Story.

joshuasm57 | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all joshuasm57's reviews »

I was blown away by the amazing mechanics of the action, the bullet time, and things of that nature. My overall experience was ruined though, do to a repetitive story line. Hopefully for the next one they bring in people who can write, not just program.

83

Ragdoll Galore

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

I've had a lot of fun playing Max Payne 3 with friends. The multiplayer is fantastic, offering a good amount of different game modes (My favourite being Deathmatch In Heaven) and a variety of different weaponry and abilities. Diving out of windows and making a bunch of cinematic moments is a great feeling that probably won't get old any time soon.

The story mode is just as good. Many argue that the amount of cutscenes within the game really spoil the immersion, however if you're a long time lover of Max Payne as a character, then chances are it won't bother you all that much and you'll be shooting enemies in slow motion in no time.

The gunplay is something that needs to be mentioned in it's own paragraph. It tops pretty much every other third person game out there (Aside from GTA V as it's pretty much the same, if not better) and focuses heavily on the realistic impact of the rounds an-Ok, I just love watching ragdolls, I won't lie.

You can get this game for relatively cheap now, so I wouldn't hesitate.

81

Slow motion symphony

taigatsu | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

News of development of a third title in the series may have raised some eyebrows, but this release shows that the franchise still has some life in it. Max Payne 3 retains most of the strongest qualities of its predecessors. Diving out of cover, slowing down time and firing akimbo is just as good as it has ever been. There are a few issues, like when a slow mo shootdodge over a table will be interrupted by landing on the surface flat on your belly. Or how cutscenes will unequip any two handed weapons you are carrying before dropping you into the action. Overall though, the gameplay is more than strong enough to carry you through the campaign.

Sao Paulo itself is a terrific backdrop. The levels take place in a much broader variety of locales than before, and mostly avoid the pitfalls of the oh so typical warehouses and boxes school of design. Like in the other games, the voice acting is top notch, particularly Max himself. The graphics are very well done, and even though some may take issue with it, the use of saturation and filters helps the game put its own unique mark on the franchise. In terms of writing, it manages to sell a desperate noir tale as almost well as either of the prequels, and stands out for confining itself to a smaller, more believable story, unlike the grandiose conspiracies and machinations of the first two.

One thing that bears mentioning is the quality of the multiplayer. It feels underdeveloped and inadequate. The community for it is struggling, at best, with a very small amount of active players. The balance is weak, and somehow is utterly unable to convey the same sense of action that the single player campaign does.

Taken as a single player game, Max Payne 3 is a well polished title that captures the essence of first two games. It's not as much of a marked improvement as the second one was over the first, and some of the smaller changes made are a bit questionable. That being said, it's still a great game that offers a viscerally gratifying experience.

90

What a great game

OmittingCoder | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

I've never played the other Max Payne games so my bar wasn't high for this game. But the game looks beautiful and an amazing port by Rockstar (Finally they learned from GTA IV PC port ew) This game even ran on my integrated graphics and it still looked stunning although on low you get this real awful shadows with sharp edges it sucked but I since upgraded my card and it looks better than ever. Bullettime is an amazing slo mo system to kill enemies in this game. If you haven't played any of the other MP games give this a shot is is awesome! If you have I can't guarantee you'll like it but it is still really cool.

81

New Look

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game has a totally new look to it, but it's totally the same old Max Payne; that's a good thing by the way. The details of this game is amazing. The voice acting for Max Payne is also superb as well.

The setting of the game has changed from North America to South America. This game is located in Sao Paulo, Brazil where Max Payne is a bodyguard of a rich guy. The rich guy's wife is suddenly kidnapped at a part, which spins Max Payne's life around all over again. The story isn't as good in this one as the previous two, but it's still worth looking into if you've already played the first two.

80

amazing gameplay and a good story

madxskillzxgame | Jan. 8, 2014 | See all madxskillzxgame's reviews »

the gameplay is amazing with the slow mo dives and the ragdoll physics really makes it awesome the graphics are awesome to some of the best ive seen. now the story takes place after the other ones by years so if you played the others you understand max if not then the game is still great because its a whole new story with raul passos and there stuff you wont see coming im not gonna spoil it though

90

Maximum Payne

mulletov | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all mulletov's reviews »

I recently completed Max Payne 3 and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a straightforward third person shoot 'em up. You spend pretty much the entire game just shooting enemies. There's some golden guns parts you can collect but they aren't necessary for completion. This game most closely resembles Uncharted in gameplay. You make extensive use of cover and there's a large array of weapons to pick up and try out. There's the bullet time effect which I didn't really find myself using a lot because it felt ineffective even when headshotting enemies. Once you fall out of bullet time, you end up lying on the floor out in the open. And yes, the enemies take a lot of bullets to go down.

The presentation is very cinematic and you play through several flashback levels which help flesh out the story of why Max ended up in Brazil. I think the setting gives the franchise a fresh start to tell a new story without too much baggage from the previous games. It also allowed the game to take you to a variety of locations for interesting firefights. My favorite level was the last mission with the song Tears by Health playing in the background while you're blasting enemies leading up to the finale. Rockstar really knows to make a movie like game with a good story. The graphics, music, and gameplay are top notch. Get this if you liked Stranglehold, Gears of War, or Mafia II.

80

Decent but Hard to Describe

ROKET | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

It took a long time for me to play this game. The download is 30ish GBs of data and I was terribly lazy about installing it. Overall it was enjoyable and the story was good but it didnt blow me away or leave me wanting more.

Story:

Its a grizzly tale of redemption and revenge but doesnt leave you liking Max or...anyone...for that matter in the end. The story was good, if not a tad predictable, but was full of often shallow characters you barely explored. Even Max, despite his various monologues, seemed empty of character and interest. I like the story because it finished well and gave you a satisfying ending but I would have liked a little more growth and exploration.

Gameplay:

The gameplay in this game is tight but doesnt leave you feeling like a badass. Despite your "powers" the game doesnt give you many instances where you WANT to fight. I found myself hoping I didnt have to fight anyone more than wanting to tear it up. The AI is good but annoying at the same time. Most of the sequences were a drag and I played through most areas just to get to the next cutscene (which were great). The weapon variety was also lacking.

Presentation:

With SweetFX and everything turned up - this game is stunning. The voicework and animations were awesome and the grizzly nature of the kills and story made a lot of the gameplay satisfying in the end. I just wish there was...more. I dont know.

Overal: 80/100

70

Rockstar doesn't disappoint

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I personally bought a product called Max Payne 3: Complete Pack back in October. It included both the game and the Rockstar Pass DLC pack, but since the said product doesn't seem to be available in the store anymore, I will be reviewing each part of the pack separately.

Max Payne 3 is an excellent addition to the franchise and one of the best games of 2012. Yes, it is a shooter, like many others, but at the same time it is not "just another shooter", it's a unique game with a spectacular gameplay(many aspects which cannot be found in any other shooter are well-implemented in Max Payne 3), amazing graphics and a great story.

Now that I am done listing the great aspects of the game I will present its biggest flaws, I call them "the interrupters". One one hand, there are the long cutscenes that make the overall experience less immersive and furthermore, the game tends to take control of your character and do things that you might not have intended to do, such as opening a door before you found all the collectibles.

Overall, the game is a great addition to the franchise and a great shooter.

83

Same old Max in a new setting

connlasair | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all connlasair's reviews »

I've been a Max Payne fan since the day the first game in the series was released back in 2001. I approached Max Payne 3 with caution and without high expectations, because I already assumed that Rockstar won't capture the specific atmosphere that made the previous installments shine. The game did not disappoint. The new setting (no more snowy nights in shady places) is figurative to the transition of Max Payne - a character we are given deep insight into, as Max comments bitterly on nearly everything that happens around him. The gameplay itself is tight, shooting mechanics and destructible environments make every firefight quite an experience, looking like it was an action movie sequence. The story gets a bit predictable midway through, but strong writing pushes it forward. Beside single-player (15-20 hours, depending how fast one plays, I was taking things slow) campaign, the game offers a lot of content to keep players occupied; there are time trials, collectibles and a very solid and intense multiplayer, which feature an intriguing choice of special abilities as well as different kinds of weapons. Overall, Max Payne 3 is a very solid game. Recommended.

90

Good game for a good price on sale

TekilaShot | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all TekilaShot's reviews »

I played max payne 1 and 2 and was a big fan. When they released max payne 3 I was a bit reluctant but overall I'm satisfied. The gameplay is solid, they improved a lot for the animation part. The weight changed when he switch weapons and you can feel it. The bullet freeze effects isn't too much overpowered and the story fantastic. My only downside is the multiplayer, I don't feel like it was necessary but it's a nice option to have one. My recommendation : get all 3 max payne and enjoy the experience .

70

Vigilante Story

Prozac | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all Prozac's reviews »

If there's one thing you can say about Rockstar, it's that their story telling craft keeps improving.

Max Payne 3 is a departure from the previous two games in that you're no longer the squinty protagonist trapped in a city of madness, drugs and conspiracy. Instead, you're in sunny Brazil working as a private body guard, getting away from the rainy NYC from previous games.

Max has a few flash backs to his former life and how he got down to the tropics and tangled up in a kidnapping plot, but the story is heavily based on the corruption unfolding in Sao Paulo.

Although Max goes through a minor mid-life crisis and ends up shaving his head, it just doesn't feel the same without the nightmare levels or the dark delusions of a alcohol saturated mind. With no police force to report to or people to really be held accountable to, it feels a bit "gringo vigilante" throughout most of the game.

The gameplay is reasonably solid, but the difficulty curve takes a steep drop once you get familiar with aiming directly for the face every time. Bullet time only makes things easier when you're getting the hang of dialing your sights in. I have to imagine it's much more difficult with a controller, but with keyboard and mouse, it's only a matter of time before every enemy is one or two shots to the head away from no longer being a problem.

Like any good Max Payne game, the ending is pretty brutal and Max is left not much better off than he started with the bad guys dead and another killing spree heavy on his conscious.

85

Reminiscent of the past…

ebeaver1016 | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is a shooter game. When playing through, I was reminded of certain aspects of the original. For one thing, you still get to utilize the “bullet time” mode. If your bar is charged up enough, you can enter slow motion mode. Plus, with the modern graphics, you get to see up close what your bullet does to someone’s face. So much detail. The graphics are really good. There are moments when the music in the game gets you into the mood for battle. That is always a plus. The game is very linear and because of this, I was able to play through pretty fast. The controls take a little getting used to. I got this game on sale and I thought the purchase was worth it. This was definitely an improvement upon the original. If there is another in this series, I would definitely look into the next one.

85

A gritty, well-acted modern noir story. Highly recommended

mercilessrobot | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all mercilessrobot's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is the most richly detailed game in the series and does a much better job than previous entries making you feel what Max has been through. He feels like an actual character now and is not just a generic cutout concept of a man out for revenge. The game is still a run and gun shooter, but it goes a long way to tie everything together in a logical and intricate story. I really enjoyed it all the way through and have since returned to it several times.

85

Worth getting, especially on sale.

TETfromLondon | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Speaking as someone who has never played the old Max Payne games, I was worried that I wouldn't be able to get into this one. However, I need not have worried, as I found myself drawn into the story quickly. The levels can be a bit repetitive, but this is not a problem as the combat and game mechanics are extremely fun to use. The game looks excellent, and the story is compelling. The levels are fun, especially with their superb destructible environments. And of course, bullet time is excellent. This doesn't even mention the solid multiplayer mode. I would strongly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys 3rd person shooters.

90

the best Max Payne game there has been, full stop.

PLAYS | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all PLAYS's reviews »

massive fan of the Max Payne games and i absolutely loved this, the story, the gameplay, the setting is nothing short of amazing. it is gritty, there's no mercy and the dark turns the story takes is fantastic. the setting in Brazil is perfect. i am a fan of Brazilian culture but even so, as an English speaker hearing nothing but Portuguese (the Brazilian language) being spoken makes you feel like Max, like you're in a different world where you don't know what is going on. i personally think this adds so much to the isolation of the character. midway through the game.. when you leave the favelas.. i was kind of annoyed with what happened. i stopped playing and thought i didn't want this to happen.. but then i remembered this is a Max Payne game. it was after that point i stopped messing around and became so hooked within the story. Rockstar, like with their GTA games have included the perfect game music. when Marcello pushes open the nightclub doors, when Max walks through the favelas, the airport level when the music kicks in makes you feel like a superhero. no question this is a dark game with plot twists but i think this was just incredible. nothing beats thinking you can bullet time through a door only for it to be a door that can't be opened and fall flat on your ass lol. you can't really skip cut scenes, even on an ssd it'll still say loading but then again why would you want to? the multiplayer is too difficult! i am normally really good at these things but i avearge out at 1 kill per 10 deaths when playing online. maybe that's just me.
true fans of the franchise will love this experience.

91

Amazing

Dannygdan | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Dannygdan's reviews »

Must buy! Its on sale right now!

98

Once again Max delivers

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

When teasers and trailers first arrived for Max Payne 3 I was extremely skeptical. I, like many others, said, "What did you do to Max?!". What Rockstar did was continue his legacy as being one of the most memorable characters to ever be in a video game.

Excellent story with stunning graphics and fantastic game play. Yet again Max delivers the action as only he can. The twists and turns in this story grip the player and do not let go.

Multi player could have been better, but let's be honest, this is not why we bought this game.

Is Max gone? Or will he be resurrected again? If the former, Max has left us remembering why we listened to his story from start (Max Payne 1) to finish.

80

Satisfying gunplay

gwynplaine | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all gwynplaine's reviews »

I only played the original Max Payne at release and a bit of 2 recently.. but they haven't aged too gracefully. Rockstar does their own take on it and there is definitely their stamp and flair all over it, for better or worse.

The story is typical Rockstar - take inspiration from a bunch of movies and turn it into a game. Man on Fire is a definite influence, and I wouldn't be surprised if they saw Pixote or City of God. The RAGE engine is on full display and much improved from GTA IV. Multiplayer is typical Rockstar too - unlockable loadouts and various run around, kill and die, spawn randomly modes. All of it is very familiar, depending on how much of their games you've played. If you haven't it's definitely worth playing. If you have, and you really like their work, it's also worth it.

The main standout in this game is the precision gunplay. The headshots and diving are as satisfying as the first game. The game is also very well optimized for PC.

95

Gritty, Modern, Old School Awesomeness

Bulletter | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all Bulletter's reviews »

I was hating at first on this game because it strayed from the noir style of the first two but after beating the game...then beating the game.... then beating the game yet again I'm still in love with good ol' Max. If you don't know Max hates himself, his lie and everyone around him and always winds up in trouble that only bullets can fix. Duck and cover, bullet time, kill cams and a nice variety of weapons round things out to help deliver the Payne. It's nice to play a game where you need to pick up health packs (in the form of pills) instead of your typical regen of health. Overall I loved it and keep it installed on my computer for those times I just want to shoot people in the face and not be bogged down by annoying things.

100

Just incredible

rjb789 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This is by far my favourite game out of the Max Payne trilogy. The graphics are simply stunning and they represent Sao Paulo in a beautiful light. The game play is also a stand out feature. Jumping from behind cover, going into bullet time and shooting ten enemies whilst having your in game friend snipe the others from a radio tower is very fun. As always it is very cinematic with plenty of cut scenes (sometimes too much for my taste) and the voice acting and moody atmosphere are absolutely top notch. Max is a convincing character and creates a different feel to the previous game. Go get this game if you like 3rd person cover shooters and action games!

95

Awesome Game

DeadReap | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all DeadReap's reviews »

This game is awesome, the physics is wonder full, game play is awesome, multiplayer and singleplayer modes are good, Storyline is the best thing of the game, it gets you in from first minutes to the last seconds. Collectibles is good for both single and multi player game modes, golden guns gives you chance to show other players and it helps you in game. Multi player mode is very good, and other you have chance to use your abilities versus other players it makes the game even more interesting. The game is really good, singleplayer and multiplayer modes are great. The game is worth the price

82

A outstanding third-person-shooter but what happened to Max?

fRost373 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all fRost373's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is dark an and moody in it's own way but is missing the small touches of the two original games from Remedy, that twisted noir cop story feel and twisted humor is gone and is replaced with a depressed cop story trying to escape from its roots. That's probably the worst part of the game, the story and feel of it, it makes you wish it had not been a Max Payne game and rather its own ip. Now the best part, the gameplay! Here is where May Payne 3 shines and outshines the previous games! It goes for a more realistic feel making you only carry two sidearms and a main weapon instead of fifteen different guns at once forcing you to be a little bit more conserving with you're ammunition at times. The feel of your guns and movement is heavier and feels more realistic and also fluid than before, every weapon feels like they pack a real punch and upon hitting you're target they do a very satisfying dance of death before the hit the floor with a bang. The shooting and movement is tight and fun, it really kept every fight interesting. As a finishing note, the loading times are atrocious, there is no defending how long it takes to load this games even on a top of the line SSD and 16gb ram I find myself pulling my own hair when I just want to jump in to the arcade mode and shoot some baddies.

90

You just can't stop playing

Jimmysil | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

The third Max Payne includes everything that good game should have. Great gameplay, deep story, and awesome graphic. Max Payne 1,2 was also amazing games, and fans of the series can't be disapointed. Rockstar makes TOP games and this one isn't an exception. I believe that most of the people are going to play it more times than only once. Max Payne is a true action hero.

If you are tired of playing singleplayer. You can play against other people in multiplayer and show them who is the real Max Payne.

94

Max Payne did it again!

ccroatian | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all ccroatian's reviews »

What could or should I say? This is a Perfect sort of reboot of the franchise. They manage to make the gameplay and the story so good, that I colud barely put down the game. Visually it is like a film, there are tons of collectibles and the slow motion shootouts are more fun than ever. Bu let's have a look at the multiplayer! They made it into a good one. There are many modes, maps from the story, deep costumisation system, tons of perks and weapons. I recommend to everyone.

88

The conclusion

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is the final game(as it stands) in the Max Payne trilogy. Its set 10 years after the second game. Max is well pretty much having a tough time handling things after the events of the first and second game. He's addicted to pain killers and an alcoholic. Twists and turns throughout the story keep you engaged ,and it helps trying to find all the collectibles such as the golden gun mods.The game introduces for the first time cover mechanics. It works incredibly well as you take cover while enemies rain fire on you. However, there is a change gone is the full on comic book cut scenes to further the story in favor of full rendered in game cut scenes. There are some small hints toward the comic book nature of the game but ultimately its all cut scenes and quite frankly its done very well. Its the best game mechanically in the series for sure

85

Flawed Single-Player Masterpiece

phool | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

While not perfect and inferior to it's predecessors (admittedly a high-bar to beat), Max Payne 3 still delivers a fantastic single-player experience with some of the best third-person gun-play in PC history.

The gorgeous graphics are a treat to blast your way through and Rockstar have certainly put lots of effort in making sure each location is unique, which keeps the single-player experience fresh throughout.

In terms of cons, the most significant is the multitude of cut-scenes (many unskippable and therefore killing the replay value) tend to interrupt the visceral action. The story tries so hard to be serious but falls flat and is quite weak in terms of substance. This seems out of place when compared to the tongue-in-cheek nature of the previous games. That being-said, this is still an excellent single-player experience and certainly worthy of your time.

91

Smooth and Stunning

Nalern | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all Nalern's reviews »

Max Payne delivers a stunning performance as a compelling shooter that doesn't skimp on emotional weight. Though it may seem ridiculously heavy at times, I found it oddly refreshing for the most part. The combat is solid- I enjoyed the mechanics, though coming out of jumps always feels awkward. I really appreciate the difficulty level as well; the lack of regenerative health is a boon here. The multiplayer is not highly populated but engaging enough if you aren't already involved in another multiplayer scene and want to give it a shot.

90

Single-player review

toyminator | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all toyminator's reviews »

This game has great gunplay, solid cover mechanics, and a pretty interesting storyline. "Hard" difficulty is somewhat challenging but very fair in the sense that dying is a consequence of your actions rather than a broken gameplay mechanic or situation. The in-game graphics are some of the best I've seen, largely due to the amount of detail that the developers put into the characters and environments. There's also a wide range of colors that's really refreshing to see after playing through the dull environments of Max Payne 1 and, to a lesser extent, Max Payne 2.

Nitpicks: I found the "pop-in, pop-out" text and "frame-overlays" that happen throughout the in-game cinematics to be a bit distracting. I liked the comic book panel effects but, while I understand that the developers were going for a unique visual style, it would have been nice if there was an option to turn off (or minimize) the effects. Also, it was slightly disappointing to see how much the story of Max Payne 3 strayed away from the stories of MP1 and MP2. Then again, MP3 does a great job at further developing Max’s character and there are several scenes in it that wouldn’t have had the same impact to a player who has not played through the first two games.

TL;DR Buy this if you like to shoot things and like a good story. Or not.

93

Great game with great music

photochrisj87 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all photochrisj87's reviews »

Max Payne is a man who has lost his life in the previous games. In this game, he has set out to another part of the world to start anew. What follows is a chaotic story in which Max Payne must save the day while dealing with his inner demons and flashing back in parts of time of how he made it to where he is today.

The gameplay is easy to pick up and get through. Simple enough and follows through like the old titles. Music is amazing and really well made. It makes you feel more engaged to the game. It shines a lot through the last part of the game, running through favelas and the flashback levels.

My only complaint is that it left unanswered questions from the second game, but overall, its still a good game on its own.

98

Awsome multiplayer experience.

Darkspam | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Darkspam's reviews »

The multiplayer is brilliant. The shooting mechanics are easy to use and responsive the costumization is deep. You can make whatever class you want. The weight mechanic is really cool too soo for an example you can go fully armed but really slow or just with aikimbo pistols and no armor and speed run the map. The multiplayer will keep you ocupated for a long time.

98

Feel the Payne

Kelzhas | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Kelzhas's reviews »

This game was one of 2012's very best. It had fun gunplay, astounding grapichs and pitch prefect story telling. The way that Max himself is portrayed, really helps you to connect with him and the characters around him, and makes the entire "shoot 500 bad guys without a scratch", just a little more beliveable.

One of my only major gripes with the game, is that on your second playthrough, are forced to watch, almost ALL the cinematics once more, even though you just want the gameplay this time around. I understand that this is unavoidable since a game of this detail would have massive load times otherwise, but i feelt that it should be mentioned.

Other than that, it is a game i can wholeheartedly recommend, and i would say that anyone who appreciates a good story in a video game, should check it out immediately.

89

Maximiliano rules!

Sebastai | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Sebastai's reviews »

Max Payne is back in action in this title. The shootings are amazing, long, fun arcade mode. The best, its optimization is good. In other words, Max Payne 3 is a great game that lives up to the series, you see the lack of references to the series and an end to the height, but overall a great game.

Multiplayer is also good and enjoyable. It also has a lot of unlockables and ranks, which means you have to play quite abit to reach the top rank.

85

Better than what i and others thought

comedychris | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all comedychris's reviews »

i played this expecting a shooting game, with cool slow mo, awesome sounds and a 3rd person action game i could enjoy for 10+ hours... what i got was all of that and so much more... the storytelling in this game is stunning to the point of literally stopping me playing and thinking about it... a lot of people have complained about stopping gameplay for videos, cgi and story elements, max payne is built upon tragic stories and epic revenge/redemption the story is a huge selling point and the movie style game-play with the fun and sometimes challengeing battles is an awesome combo... thanks rockstar...

93

One of the better games out there.

AlbusDlx | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

With a sharp look and awesome controls it´s your job to protect a wealthy brazilian family. Stuff happens, you shoot some ppl. Sounds like a generic shooter? Well, it is far from generic. This is, BY FAR, Rockstars best title. Pistols, rifles, grenade launchers and so on is your tools by trade, The story is well written, well told and the actor playing Max is supreme. I love this game, and have still not found all easter eggs in the form of golden gun parts. If 3d person shooters is your thing, this game should be on the top of your to get list,

93

Here we rock again

Gojko | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Max Payne, man who lost everything. In last to prequels we saw spectacular action with some new addition that are following the trends of gaming industries.

Rockstar has fulfilled the promise, and made has made a modern game that embraces new trends credited for raising the quality of the finished product, but retains the integrity of all known game-play.

In third part of game, Max is now in Brazil, he is not young any more and he is working as a body guard for local tycoon, whose wife have been missing. After that Max is going to action.

Eye-catching animation and scripted action section, the realistic physics and graphics together they make full game-play feeling. This is the game, that every serious gamer should have in his own collection.

100

what can i say about this game except it's AWESOME!!!

raymanlegends | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all raymanlegends's reviews »

a game that is worth every dollar i must admit i had a blast playing this game every chapter the graphics the phsyx the dialougs the voicing the characters the emotions the story everything was more thn perfect i must say the mutliplayer was almost as perfect as the sngle player but sadly poor netcode and connection issues made the multiplayer imperfect than single player but still worth it!!! please pick this game up if u haven't.

92

Very enjoyable Noir / Brazilian Bash

NightFox45 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all NightFox45's reviews »

Max Payne is back at it again. At first when I saw the bald headed Max Payne I was worried that the series had been altered beyond repair. The story tellers at Rockstar proved me wrong. About a third to half of the game is spent in flashbacks in New Jersey in scenes that are reminiscent of Max Payne 1 & 2.

The other half of the game takes place in favella's and other shanties, along with roof tops, crack dens, mansions, and even soccer (football) stadiums.

The story weaves in and out and best of all, NO loading screens. All loading is hidden behind in game cutscene's.

The multiplayer is a lot of fun also. It isn't just a tacked on mode, it is full blown action with plenty of maps if you get the Rockstar Season Pass, also available from Green Man Gaming.

Worth it!!!

95

A great story, and awesome gameplay!

xkaboskyx | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all xkaboskyx's reviews »

Max Payne 3 has you dodging and diving your way out of cover and shooting enemies in slow motion. These features makes you want to take out many enemies in various ways which keeps you entertained from start to finish.

You play Max Payne, an alcoholic man with a long past working as a body guard for a rich Brazilian family. Everything seems fine and then terrorists kidnapped the children and your mission is to keep them alive. You learn about Max Paynes past (for those who haven't played the first 2), and how he started out with his new body guard job,

Other than the story line the gameplay in my opinion is amazing, I've tried so many ways on taking out my enemies I felt that I might as well been making a movie out of this. The graphics of the game can probably fool your own grandma into thinking this is real life with how much the texture brings you.

I only had one small complaint about the game and not to sound like a noob, but your health went down so fast it seemed like one shot and you were half way dead (you have a health bar). Luckily you had pain medication which restored some of your health or if you ran out of health, make a saving shot and restore you health if you still had pills.

All in all I recommend this game for anyone who's interested in a action shooter that the story line keeps you on your feet, and the multiple ways of diving and shooting your enemies keeps you entertained for hours.

88

It's like playing a movie

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

Playing this game, I feel like I am playing as Mel Gibson or Bruce Willis on one of their great action films of the past decade. The mix of story and combat is well balanced. While it isn't the most in depth shooter combat-wise, the gun time mechanic and easy aiming make it a really enjoyable experience. Graphically, it's a good looking game. The character models are an upgrade from games lika GTA4 but not quite as good as LA Noire's MoCap style of design. Controls will be easy to learn for any fan of shooters. There are tons of great gun options and the unlockables make you want to be as thorough as possible. This game does honor to the Max Payne series.

91

A big comeback.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

Max is back and ready to shoot some dudes. You'll be taken to South America and even back to Max's old stomping grounds in New Jersey. This offers up a great variety in level design and some challenging scenarios. This isn't the best Max has ever been, but it's definitely a great action game with a strong story and characters. The gunplay that stood out in the games before it has only been improved to a shine here. You'll be feeling a true badass when you dive through a door and take out three or four bad guys before even hitting the ground. It's gritty, it's gruesome, and it's awesome. If you're looking for amazing gameplay, pick this up. Not to mention it's fantastic soundtrack. (seriously)

90

Rockstar Continues To Impress

nicktodd12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all nicktodd12's reviews »

Ever since first hearing about Max Payne 3 I was always pumped. It looked fantastic and I quickly put down money for the Xbox 360 version. After playing through the game and some multiplayer I had to go to college and leave my 360 behind. I ended up really missing this game and the multiplayer so I bought it on a sale for pc and still don't regret it. The single player is fantastic. Great story and awesome gunplay. The multiplayer has slowed down some and can be hard to find matches every so often but when they are available they are a ton of fun. I would certainly recommend picking this up for your game library.

90

A fantastic experience

jwelch24 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all jwelch24's reviews »

As a fan of the first 2 games in the series, this was a game that I was greatly anticipating, and I was not disappointed. While some players may be upset that the game strayed a bit from the formula used in the original games, I found that the interlacing of the story with the gameplay provided a truly thrilling experience. This game also features what I feel are the best controls ever in a third-person shooter, the gunplay is just unbelievably satisfying. This is a game that I highly recommend playing.

90

Must have!

Hansch1986 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Hansch1986's reviews »

I wasn't expecting such a action packed and great game! Imo the best of the franchise.

90

This is how a trully Max Payne sequel is done!

fabiotp91 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all fabiotp91's reviews »

I have completed every Max Payne made till today, and i have to admit, this one really serves you well! The story is awesome and emerging, making you get a taste at every part of it, till the very end when you have all the answers!

In terms of gameplay, it has to be one of the best games i have played to this date, everything is well balanced but the way you fell your character when you´re controlling it, is without a doubt one of the best experiences i´ve ever had! Even if you like to play with a controller or with a mouse and keyboard your experience will never be bad!

This game even has a multiplayer option for when you complete the main story so that you can have even more fun playing it with your friends online.

Bottom line, i recommend this game to anyone that wants a good story driven, with a well balanced action and shooting game.

74

Good action game, worse Max Payne

lokitch | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all lokitch's reviews »

Those who have never played Max Payne, find really good game, but those who know the world of Max Payne will be a little disappointed by the "Die Hard" style.

90

Worth every dollar

jobs99 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all jobs99's reviews »

This game is just perfect. Delivering you lots of action, shooting and bringing a nice story into it. It's the good old Max, even better than the good 'ol Max. The graphics are looking great, even on not the best PC's. Do yourself a favor and get it right now :)

80

The worst chapter in the series - not Rockstar's fault

MalcolmR | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all MalcolmR's reviews »

I have waited for Max Payne 3 for so long. I'm a huge fan of his first two adventures and they redefined game storytelling for me. Also, the atmosphere and sadness of MP always touched me - and after replay those games just before jumping to MP3 I still got that creepy feeling in my back.

Yeah, when I played Alan Wake, the latest game from former MP-developer Remedy, I had that feeling too. So it's not Max Payne that made this story interesting, It's Sam Lake, writer of the those stories. So it's a shame he was not involved in MP3. Yeah, fair enough.

MP3 ist technically advanced and the engine on PC beautiful to watch. The whole game makes a lot of fun. But the story just doesn't feel true to Max' adventures. I'm fine with the location change, BUT Max was a smart man, who just happens to be in a whole lot of mess. In MP3 he acts stupidly and doesn't seem to be as sharp as before. Rockstar tried as good as possible to catch Sam Lake's art of story telling, but fails at some points. The game itself is already and very fun to play - but Max has changed a lot, more than I liked.

87

Don't Go Without it , A must have ...

adimic107 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all adimic107's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is just gorgeous and intense.

The Good Tight, terrific gunplay that feels especially good with a mouse Great writing, voice acting, and cutscene presentation Detailed environments that get destroyed in spectacular fashion Impactful sound design Fun, chaotic multiplayer.

The Bad Max's shootdodge maneuver is sometimes frustratingly ineffective.

96

A strong conclusion (I hope) to the Max Payne trilogy

Pro_Fish | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Taking place years after MP2, Max Payne 3 takes Max on a completely new adventure to a foreign place where, like NY, the bullets are always flying. I can only start this review by saying how this game IS the complete package. In Rockstar's style, they have formed an experience like no other that blends a great story, smooth gunplay, and an addictive multiplayer that should keep you playing for a long time. Also, the game is very well optimized, to the point that many lower spec machines should run it well.

Within the new setting of Brazil comes debate as to whether this game is noir or not and I honestly believe it is. Featuring a dark and engrossing tail, "sunny" Sao Paolo always seems to be a dark place even in the best of light, and the grimy uncomforatble feeling that is seen when you look around very well embodies Max's emotions as he moves throughout the story. It is truly something worth visiting and revisiting.

I must mention the gunplay, too as it is an integral part of Max Payne 3 that gives the game a brand new feel. Featuring top notch physics as well as weapons that feel like they have weight, every shot feels powerful and creates a great, responsive effect. This is a game that no one should miss out on and my personal GOTY 2012.

I

90

MAX IS BACK!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

I have awaited the return of Max Payne for a very long time. This game is a brilliant addition to the series and is a masterpiece of a game. Well done Rockstar! The graphics are amazing, the slow motion is great and the bullet wounds are so realistic! I absolutely love this game and cannot wait for more DLC for it!

90

Max is back from the dead

suvojit91 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all suvojit91's reviews »

Th game is set nine years after the events of Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne, Max finds himself living a degenerative lifestyle, addicted to painkillers and alcohol in the city of Sao Paulo, Brazil while trying to forget the past that haunts him.Max works in private security, protecting the wealthy Branco family. But as things go wrong and Rodrigo's wife Fabiana is kidnapped, Max is forced into a deadly new conflict, while relying on the abilities he attained from the experiences of the past he left behind.

Max Payne 3 is a third-person shooter in which the player assumes the role of its titular character, Max Payne. Max Payne 3 features a similar over-the-shoulder camera as its predecessors, with the addition of a cover mechanic, while also retaining much of the same run-and-gun style of gameplay.Yes it's not a good as the Max Payne 1 and 2, but still fun.

Jaw dropping graphics, superb detailing, lively characters,Max Payne 3 also marks the return of bullet-time in action sequences, for which the franchise is notable. In bullet-time it is possible to see every bullet strike an enemy in detail.[New to the series is a "Last Stand" mechanic, which gives the player a grace period after losing all health during which time the player may kill the enemy that wounded them in order to continue playing, however this mechanic is only usable if the player has one or more bottles of painkillers in their possession.

The game's online multiplayer features maps and modes that dynamically change within a match, as well as reward, ranking and clan systems.[12] Max Payne 3 lets players form private crews with friends, or join public crews. Players can be a member of up to five at the same time, and completing tasks as a crew gain XP points for the player.

Now head for the BRAZZILL & shoot some bad guys... Ciao people....Happy gaming

80

A must have

RaTcHeT302 | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Max Payne 3 moved on to a more generic holywood plotline, though we get to see how progressively Max's depression forces him to accept the faith of his family once in for all, being left with nothing else to fight for or live for.

The technical part about Max Payne 3 is marvelous, a revolution in third person shooters, one of a kind, the gunplay being extremely fun and it's sure going to suck you in within it's caotic gameplay, surprisingly for being a next gen entry of an older game Max Payne 3 is actualy quite challenging compared to most generic TPS/FPS games we have met.

The game itself is a great PC port, but sadly the ammount of HD cutscenes contributed to the ridiculous size of 30 GBs, instead of being rendered in-game, though that's no excuse to not get this game.

90

Great game!

Fwcurse10 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Fwcurse10's reviews »

Max Payne is back with the bullet time action shooting! Really good game with a fantastic storyline, and amazing fights! The diferent thing is that this one is slower than the older ones, maybe because of Max's age (and weight) but nonetheless it makes the game more tactical and realistic.

90

What happened to you Max?

simodeso | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

This game is pretty awesome, i played the first 2 chapters and i wanted to know how the story continues.. well you have to do the same if you have ever played Max Payne 1 & 2 ! It's still the old Max.. but well.. a bit more fat with more alcohol than blood and with tons of painkiller. You have to jump and shoot in slow motion like the other Max Payne's Games and this make the game fantastic. The story is well written and there is the multiplayer. Discover the Fate of Max Payne in this awesome game!

87

A nonstop decay.

Everton1992 | July 26, 2013 | See all Everton1992's reviews »

Max is back in action in this title. Very different in terms of atmosphere and the way they tell it, but the essence remains Remedy Max. The shootings are masterful, long, fun arcade mode and multiplayer acceptable. The best, its optimization is good, away from other games like GTA IV. In other words, Max Payne 3 is a great game that lives up to the series, you see the lack of references to the series and an end to the height, but overall a great game.

85

Not a good as the Max Payne 1 and 2, but still fun.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is quite different from the original Max Payne as well as its sequel. That being said, I still found it to be quite a blast to play.

Gone is the hyperspace inventory of the original, which allowed you to store 10 guns on your person, and now it uses a more realistic weapons inventory of 2 small guns and 1 long gun, although the gameplay still remains largely unchanged from the original. A cover system has been added, although you can still do bullet time shoot-dodging to take out your opponents.

This game might not be as good as the originals, but I would still recommend it for it gameplay.

85

Max Payne with a Face Lift

Jonot86 | July 23, 2013 | See all Jonot86's reviews »

Max is still a brooding mad son of a B*tch and I love every second of it. This is why I love playing Max Payne, for the noir storyline with heart pounding gun fu fighting.

The gameplay has been updated with some more interactive battles. this allows for more fluid action scenes just like in all John Woo movies.

The graphics are beautiful and finally some colour but what can you expect with is being in Sao Paul!

Pick this up and get rocking dual gun style!

80

Great game but not for everyone

GrogtheGinger | July 14, 2013 | See all GrogtheGinger's reviews »

This game has some really fun gameplay albeit some very linear levels. The bullet time is one of the most fun mechanics in a shooter and the graphics are amazing (it's very similar gameplay wise to the other Max Payne games). My main annoyance is the amount of cutscenes. The game takes control away from you so often that you get really frustrated because you just want to get back to the gameplay if you're like me. The story is very good and has that Rockstar games feel that all Rockstar games have this console generation. The time I had my real fun though was the multiplayer because it's all gameplay obviously and it's just really fun and addicting even with the odd over powered gun. The single player just had too many cutscenes for me to properly recommend but the multiplayer definitely makes it a really fun game to play.

80

I recommend this game with some caveats

Sexbad | July 7, 2013 | See all Sexbad's reviews »

Gameplay-wise, Max 3 is entirely a one-note game. It's all--all--about jumping sideways in slow motion and shooting at things while you're jumping sideways in slow motion, but the gunplay is so masterfully crafted that every single firefight is really entertaining. If you're good, the AI won't get much chance to react to incoming bullets, but it normally performs on a nice mixture of scripts and dynamic behaviors that make it seem like it's a real person you're tearing apart. The guns are honestly a little weak sounding, but every single bullet's impact has a very visceral effect, whether it's on a guy's jaw or the environment around him. By the end you get yourself into some pretty complex firefights with guys swarming around you in large environments, and it's pretty tough and absolutely thrilling all the way through.

On the other hand, the cutscenes are no joke. They're well directed and fairly well written, but they don't pace the game well. There will just be stretches of cutscenes for, say, ten minutes to set up a level that is mostly firefights without any real story going on. I found that I can't skip through most of them, and what I was able to skip seemed pretty arbitrary. That said, the narrative is still nice and it has some gripping moments and dark themes. An unfortunate side effect of the reliance on cutscenes is how the game just uses them to railroad you from one firefight to the next with very little interesting overarching level design. The actual combat environments are extremely well crafted, though, so the core gameplay isn't truly harmed.

Max 3 can become tedious at times because of the storytelling, but every firefight is so damn great that it stands strong anyway.

90

The fallen hero returns.

IcemanO11 | July 6, 2013 | See all IcemanO11's reviews »

Max Payne was one of those franchises that surprised me. I didn't catch on until the second one came out, but when I did, I realized that it was a quality series with the kind of attention to detail and gunplay that is lacking in a lot of games in the current gen. Even though MP3 was handled by Rockstar, rather than Remedy, it's still a shining example of how to design a story driven third person shooter. Bullets tear holes in your enemies, who react realistically to gunfire hits. Max gets hit, and falls from shotgun blasts, leaving his suit stained with blood. They even added a realistic difficulty where bullet damage for all players is ACCURATE. (Aka you die in only a few hits, dependent on where you are hit). All in all, huge attention to detail, a good story, and a surprisingly good multiplayer component make this a must-buy if you enjoy shooters.

90

Epic slow motion is back

lagendofdoom | July 6, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

Where should i start ? mmm first of all this game is simply Amazing and without a doubt will be game of the year of 2012. Max Payne 3 delievers everything that we wanted from it, the storyline is good, gameplay is amazing, graphics are amazing, the game itself is hard, the singleplayer isn't shot but also isn't long and in the end we have a great multiplayer which will keep you playing Max Payne 3 for a long time.

90

I had to complete this game.

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

It drew me in so much. I had to complete this game. It is beautiful and the gameplay is amazing, just everything is. The story the way it's told the weapons the cover system. Everything. If you are a Max Payne fan then do yourself a favor and buy this. If you are a fan of shooting games or action movie type stuff with a good story then buy this. You can't go wrong with this game.

90

Continuing the great story

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The newest installment of the Max Payne series continues with Max story and it did not disappoint. Gameplay is similar to other types of shooter with the old mechanics of previous Max Payne, so there isn't much that was changed. Graphic wise the game is very beautiful with the modern engine and packed a lot of beautiful scenery as you progress through the game. One downside about this if compared to other Max Payne you won't find it a better game that is because there isn't really much new addition to it besides the nice graphic and the multi player mode. Do give this a try for any Max Payne players for the story and any other people that enjoy a nice solid shooter.

90

Great action, must buy

silentshade | June 21, 2013 | See all silentshade's reviews »

Max Payne is always been one of my most favourite franchises and this sequel is the best of the picking, with slick visuals, great shootouts and SLOW MOTION. You will have a lot of fun and with absence of loading screens it brings a breath of fresh air to cinematic games. With about 12 hours single player and a ton of replay-ability as well as two arcade type modes you won't get bored on your own. If you do then you have multi-player which is amazingly fun and challenging. There is not regenerative health in the single player and it is hard so if you are expecting a call of duty, look elsewhere.

85

a dramatic TPS

frikitex | June 14, 2013 | See all frikitex's reviews »

this game is a masterpiece of rockstar, either graphically or gameplay or story or the factor that you want to get into this story is about the max payne old, retired and like a sponge for both drugs, alcohol and bullets, is a bodyguard of a millionaire family of Brazil, well, rockstar, if you know the brand you have faith, if you see an offer of 40% discount on purchase must IMMEDIATELY

90

Different But Still Good

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is very different from the first two games. But it is still just as good as the first two games. There are still the basic features like bullet-time and shoot-dodge. The game is really fun and I highly recommend you buy it. When I first got the game, I thought the multiplayer would suck. Just a useless feature. But I decided to try it for a couple games and I actually really liked it. It is surprisingly good. The story is amazing and the gameplay is great. The physics are improved in this game. When you dive to a wall, you don't slide down the wall with your head stuck in it. You will actually hit the wall and bounce off it. Highly recommended to action fans.

90

It's like a movie...

Supraballs | June 10, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

And you are in control of the characters. Well, mainly Max, but it's very cool to see the story unfold. It feels very cinematic and has some pretty good length to it. You get to the see the evolution of Max in this one as he has fallen on the hardest times. Characterization is the best way to describe this game and the formula is pretty familiar. It's action packed, lots of guns are used and the bullet time is still there. Just know this is a huge install, so have plenty of gigs on your PC for this one. Just like mentioned above, the voice acting is superb, but I still love me some bullet time. There is nothing like diving into the battle and working over the enemies in slow time. It doesn't get old to me and it probably won't get old for you either!

90

An exciting neo-noir actioneer

jackrhien | May 23, 2013 | See all jackrhien's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is a heavy departure from the original two in terms of its tone and pacing. What was once slow burn, traditional noir in terms of plot has been turned into a straight-up action title. Don't be fooled by the new style though, the depth that comes from our brooding hero has not disappeared, nor does the heart of the noir themes. We have a broken man attempting to find redemption, as well as escape a curse of death that follows him. The plot may not be as strong as the others, as the story feels somewhat more like a revenge action title than a really well layered conspiracy story (the twist was rather weak), the action and style more than make up for it. With new mechanics that make things much easier to deal with (simple things like cover), it helps one adjust to the now unrelenting carnage that comes into play.

Technically speaking, the game is great. The models, textures, and lighting all stand out, but despite the quality, it runs rather smoothly (also this is due to one of my complaints, framebuffer limiting, which limits how much you can adjust the settings in the game based on how much VRAM you have). The attention to details is simply staggering, as everything from the sterile skyscrapers to the dingy ghettos are given top notch detail, especially if you can handle the max settings. The sound design is also high grade, as one would expect from a Max Payne and Rockstar title. The voice acting is believable, with Max Payne continuing to be gruff and disparaging as usual, played with a certain deadpan style that only works in favor of the dialogue, which can be a little bit on the cheesy side of times. The varied sound effects are also well done, as everything from walking on surfaces to the ringing of gunshots all sound different and high grade.

I will say that if you were hoping for a classic Max Payne title, you may be a bit disappointed, as the departure from tone is pretty heavy (the same way Aliens departed from Alien). If you're not bothered by that, you'll be in for a solid, fast paced action title that doesn't let up. Odds are you'll be pretty entertained.

90

A great addition to the franchise.

Neon25 | May 23, 2013 | See all Neon25's reviews »

Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to present Max Payne. New York's finest, with the biggest mobster bodycount ever.

It’s been almost 9 years since we’ve last seen Max Payne. Rockstar Games had a lot to prove taking on the continuation of this classic PC third person shooter, since the original developer- Remedy- parted ways with Max in 2002, when they sold all the rights to Take-Two Interactive. Has Rockstar succeeded in making a true, worthy sequel, or is Max Payne 3 a max pain to play?

I didn't like the way the show started, but they had given me the best seat in the house, front row center.

Before the release, there has been a lot of controversy regarding the new setting of the game. While the predecessors have been placed in New Noir York City, a large part of Max Payne 3 is set in São Paulo, Brazil. Indeed, the grim, dark streets filled with Russian mobsters and Valkyr junkies are no longer here, instead they have been replaced with nightclubs, favelas and luxurious cruise ships. After the events of Max Payne 2, our antihero returns to his home in New Jersey, where he lives the life of self-pity. That is until he meets Raul Passos, a former colleague from the police academy, who is doing a private security job for the Branco family. Max and his friend engage themselves in a conflict with the mob, and soon Max is forced to move out to Brazil as well. As you might suspect, things don’t work out well for him. Seriously, has things ever worked out for him?

Your past has a way of sneaking up on you. You'll hear broken echoes of it everywhere, like a bad replay.

Needless to say, Max doesn’t turn out to be a good bodyguard. Half-drunk all the time, addicted to painkillers that he downs with whiskey, he simply cannot do his job properly. This results in the boss’ wife, Fabiana, getting kidnapped. These are things you learn in the first 15-20 minutes of gameplay, but I’m not going to spoil anything more, since the story is fantastic. The plot, characters, and dialogues are top-notch, and even after you finish the game it is worth to play it again just to notice little nuances in the characters’ development. James McCaffrey, who returns as both a voice actor and as a mo-cap actor, delivers an absolutely stellar performance. Payne’s famous monologues make a return, although the flowery metaphors are more often than not replaced by harsh cynicism and bitter nihilism (I needed a real drink to deal with the electronic music and the robotic people). Despite having a nonlinear narrative, the story is rather easy to follow through the heavily edited cutscenes, definitely reminding me of movies like Man on Fire (some key words in the dialogues are highlighted in the scene). The old comic-panel storytelling device is gone, but the flashy cutscenes definitely make up for it. Their visual aspect, heavily inspired by IO Interactive’s Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days, actually plays a large role in storytelling as well. It represents Max’s constant hangover and tipsiness, with cut-up, multi-framed, noisy scenes, flashing lights and weird camera angles reminding me on my own drunken ventures and the morning afters, but let’s not get into that. Overall, Max’s story is an engrossing, brilliant experience, and what’s even more important, it keeps in touch with the noir aspect of Max Payne 1 and 2.

Firing a gun is a binary choice. Either you pull the trigger or you don't.

Max Payne 3’s gameplay is the old-school fun you remember from the previous games. There is a massive arsenal of weapons to choose from, ranging from revolvers, through micro SMGs and ending with a sniper rifle and a grenade launcher. However, you can only wield two one-handed weapons and one two-handed weapon at a time. If you choose to dual-wield, you drop the larger weapon. The cool thing about it is, all weapons are shown on Max’s body throughout cutscenes as well, and the way he reloads his pistol while holding a shotgun in another hand at the same time is one of the finest animations in gaming to date. Here comes the first complaint though, after each cutscene, and there are a LOT of them, Max defaults to his one-handed weapon, which might sound like a minor thing, but is actually quite annoying and breaks the immersion slightly. It is something that should definitely be fixed in a future patch. The old gameplay mechanics are still here- both bullet time and shootdodge make a return, and you absolutely need to use them if you want to stay alive. You might think that the game has been dumbed down because of the newly introduced cover system, but you couldn’t be further from the truth. Not only does the health not regenerate even on the lowest difficulty setting (painkillers make a return as well, so you can’t make Max suck a thumb for a few seconds to recover), but the cover is also fully destructible. And so are the enemies. Max Payne 3 is mercilessly brutal. The developers take pride in that it seems, since there is a button that allows you to slow down time to see your bullets shot at the last enemy in the area. And then allows you to shoot him some more. With 50 bullets more. To the chest. By the time the guy is down, his body has more lead in it than blood, and each of the wounds gushes blood and leaves bloodstains on clothes as well. The game utilizes the Euphoria physics engine known from GTA IV, and although some hilarious glitches might occur, you can feel the impact of the bullet with every shot, and seeing an enemy stumbling over a set of stairs never gets old. The game is a majestic theatre, a wet dream of John Woo and Chow Yun-fat, and a glorious sight to any gamer. The environments intensify the firefights even more- from shattered glass, through empty shells bashing the floor with every shot, to massive splinters falling off of wooden surfaces; the game is a truly thrilling ride throughout all 14 chapters, lasting about 9-12 hours.

It wasn't about how good you were. It was chaos and luck and anyone who thought differently was a fool.

When it comes to multiplayer, I have mixed feelings. The maps are well balanced for the amount of players that can play at the same time (16), yet, paradoxically, the gameplay is way too chaotic. You have your classic character progression system, with hundreds of ways to customize your character both visually, and in terms of abilities. These abilities, called “bursts” are basically perks known from Call of Duty. Some of them increase your damage; one grants you Bullet Time (which actually works great in multiplayer), another one makes you appear as a teammate to your enemies. One game mode I really liked is called “Payne Killer”, where two players take a role of Max Payne and Raul Passos; they start up loaded with ammo and Bullet Time, and if you manage to kill one of them, you become either Raul or Max. One of the most marketed gamemodes, Gang Wars, is a hit or miss when it comes to actual enjoyment. When you play GW, you have a set of objectives you have to accomplish, and the set of objectives may change depending on which team wins the round. However, Max Payne 3 is hardly an objective based shooter, and many players are simply running around killing dudes, without caring about the objectives at all. And honestly, I can’t really blame them. Objective based gameplay doesn’t have a place in a Max Payne game, just like a simple deathmatch doesn’t fit in ARMA or Operation Flashpoint. I understand that Rockstar tried to improve the longevity of the game, but they also could have introduced mod support, since there were countless of those for MP1&2 which greatly improved the lifespan of these games.

A bomb went off in my head.

Max Payne 3 uses an updated version of Rockstar’s RAGE engine, known from games like GTA IV or Red Dead Redemption. The aforementioned cinematic effects give the game a unique atmosphere, and the engine is more than capable of displaying graphics worthy the PC platform.

Rockstar prepared a galore of settings and options for the PC owners. The game supports triple and six head monitor support, scalable water and shadow quality, along with a lot of command line parameters, ranging from anything from forcing the game to run in DX 9.0 to changing your language in-game. Max Payne 3 also fully supports DX11, and brings with it some effects we already know- like tessellation or bokeh depth of field. The team increased the details on both characters and vehicles, along with increasing the resolution of the cutscenes. By the way- even though they are basically just *.bik files, you don’t really notice a difference in quality when compared to in-game footage. Too bad we don’t get those in real-time though, which would bring the game size down significantly from the 30 gigabytes it currently requires. The port is extremely well done, and the game runs silky smooth (60+ FPS) on my rig, which, to be honest, I did not expect. Considering the GTA IV port fiasco, I just hope that Rockstar learned its lesson and the upcoming GTA V will be an excellent port, just like Max Payne 3 is.

The game’s score is bloody fantastic. The eclectic, brutal soundtrack by a New York rock band HEALTH is probably one of the best ones I had a pleasure to listen to in the last year. Additionally, the music is completely dynamic, so when there is a lot of action going on, the drums are heavy and loud, while when you’re just walking around, it gets quiet. The dramatic percussion, heavily distorted guitars and memorable tracks are one of the many reasons this game so enjoyable and satisfying.

I didn't deserve to walk away. There are no happy endings.

Rockstar has taken a lot of risk reshaping one of the most popular games on the PC. It can’t be denied that Max Payne 3 is a proper successor to previous games, and is a beautiful and well technically designed shooter. What little bugs there are, they do not hinder the experience in a significant way, and fun multiplayer modes improve the game’s longevity, making this product a game definitely worth buying.

9.0

  • Max Payne still feels like Max Payne

  • Actually difficult!

  • Bullet Time is as fun as ever

  • Fantastic story and characters

  • Ą great artistic design

  • A fantastic port

  • Great soundtrack

  • Some multiplayer modes are fun

-… But some are hit or miss

  • Little glitches here and there

  • No dedicated servers

  • Prerendered cutscenes

  • No mod support

85

A lot of bang for a lot of buck.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

While it's not the best game of the Max Payne trilogy, it's still an enjoyable game. Don't have too high expectations of the game and you'll have a fairly good time playing it. Max has turned a little chubby and extremely depressed, self-loathing and self-pitying since we last saw him and is drinking his miserable life away while being a bodyguard in Saõ Paulo. The single player story is fairly short, it took me 9 hours to complete and it's not all that great of a story. It's decent. Game play is much of the same. The bullet time is a lot of fun to use and you will need it. Mr. Drunkard Payne finds himself far too often overwhelmed by bad guys who wants him dead. This isn't very new for him, though. You will find yourself flowing through various of bad guys over and over again while getting Max high on painkillers - so it's not that very different from what we're used to with a Max Payne game. The game can however become rather repetitive so keep that in mind. There are a few annoyances such as a shaky camera from time to time and random weird color schemes. But the game looks really good but the noir theme that was in the first two games is lacking and you're following Max Payne in a whole different kind of atmosphere (and story). The game has A LOT of cut scenes, too. I don't mind them but for some people constant cut scenes are a bore, so I thought it would be good to add. Max Payne is a rather action packed game and will give you a few entertaining hours if you look past some of its flaws. The DLC for the game is for multiplayer and I can't say how active that is since I never tried it once.

92

Favourite of the three

britishlad | May 11, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is the Third Installment in Rockstar Games Max Payne Series & is set 8 years after the Events in the Last Installment. No longer a Cop, Max is close to washed-up, drunk & addicted to painkillers. Without a job on The Force, Max has left the greater New York Area, & finds himself in San Paulo, Brazil working as Private Security. Remedy Studios may be Developing Max Payne anymore but that doesnt stop Rockstar from Publishing/Develop it. The story of Max's decent from vengeful, leather-jacket wearing Detective roaming The Alleys of New York to the broken, shaving-headed man out for Justice on unfamiliar streets far from home is at the center of Max Payne 3.

The graphics are excellent - no pop ups or weak textures anywhere

The Story is Phenominal, Voice Acting is Terrific especially hearing James McCaffrey returning to voice Max Payne himself. The Orchestra Soundtrack gives Max Payne that Ballet/Noire touch like always & Art Design is Fantastic and it really flows with the action scenes. Combat System has improved but can be a bit of a hassle for those new to the Series. Weapon System has upgraded so now you can mix & match weapons for that action movement style.

However some may find certain aspects of the game frustating and tedious for example some levels are very hard even on the medium setting and the cutscenes are very long and you cannot skip them until the level is loaded but I didn't have a problem with this because the cutscenes themselves are excellent and very well made

Excellent game

90

Quality!

The__Malteser | April 28, 2013 | See all The__Malteser's reviews »

Being a new-comer to the Max Payne series, I was not sure what I was expecting. I was pleasantly surprised, as Max Payne 3 offered a top notch experience, on all fronts.

The story is breathtaking, full of twits and turns which will keep you guessing until the end of the game. Its a fairly long story, so it will take time to finish, if you follow it closely.

The game also has items to search for, clues and golden guns, which will keep you coming back to the game to find them all and complete it 100%.

Multiplayer is also good and enjoyable. While the number of people online isn't very high, they are very good and enjoyable to talk to. It also has a lot of unlockables and ranks, which means you have to play quite abit to reach the top rank.

I was surprised by the quality of the game, even more so when it ran flawlessly in my low end PC. Will be interested in the next edition of the series.

95

Great Game! Good Story.

icedogs100 | April 27, 2013 | See all icedogs100's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is a fun action game that has great graphics and a good story to back it up. Open ended games are fun but I have to say that this games linear approach really fits it well. Definitely worth the money.

99

A new standard for third-person shooters

DrDean | March 2, 2013 | See all DrDean's reviews »

Hell, this is a must play for fans of shooting games period. This is the best game I've played in years. The production value is astounding, and it's my pick for best looking game of 2012; tied with Hitman: Absolution. It is also very optimized.

Max Payne is my favorite game series. Some people will argue that this isn't a Max Payne game. To a degree, that is partially true. The best way to describe this is that it's a Rockstar game first, and a Max Payne game second. That is by no means an insult to it being a Max Payne game. I am a true fan of the series, I absolutely love Remedy, the graphic novel style, and noir writing of the first two games. Rockstar did the best you could possibly do with a sequel by a different developer and with the idea of taking the series into a new direction. It's still a Max Payne game, but it's a Rockstar Max Payne game. It continues with the Max Payne storyline perfectly well, with absolutely perfect gameplay. I can safely say that this game has set a new standard for third-person shooters. Rockstar said that they wanted this game to be a third-person shooter with the control of a first-person shooter, and by golly they perfected that with flying colors. Everything feels dynamic and alive from the sweat on Max that perspirates throughout the level, to the weight displacement when Max has a rifle in one hand and a pistol in the other. I absolutely love this game.

This would be a perfect game if it weren't for the multiplayer. I've put well over 60 hours into the multiplayer alone at this point. The multiplayer isn't bad, but it's not taken care of. At this point in time, it can be difficult to find matches other than Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch (which is a shame, because Payne Killer is likely my favorite gamemode but I haven't been able to play it in months). It can also be incredibly difficult for new players to rank up. This is mostly to do with unbalanced weapons, and generally anybody left playing Max Payne 3 multiplayer is ridiculously good. However, I would highly recommend you pick up the Deathmatch Made in Heaven DLC or the Rockstar Pass, if it's cheap enough, so you can enjoy the co-op. It can be played alone, but is obviously exponentially more fun with a friend.

96

Excellent! Everyone should play.

israel_hlc | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Max Payne 3 is an excellent game, totally worth of being in the Max Payne franchise. It kept the roots of the original games with a strong story, nice gameplay and, of course, bullet time. The graphics are pretty good with well detailed environments, realistic-looking modeling and textures. The gameplay is almost perfect, with only some movement issues that could be better. Like other modern third-person shooters, you will perform jumps, sprint run and get into cover while through gunfight. The unique point in this game is that your character can’t move around so fast or perform quick actions as you would like. Well, it makes a lot of sense, since Max now is a lot older than in the previous games. After jumping in bullet time, for example, it will take some time to get up again, so you wouldn’t like simply jumping through the open if you are not sure if capable of eliminating all enemies at once. The plot is good and fits the game very well. If you played the first (and maybe the second) game(s) you will probably understand it better, but they are not really a prerequisite for enjoying the game. Want a piece of advice? Buy it and play now. It’s one of the best games I have played in the last years.

95

Breathtaking!

Samegubben | Feb. 14, 2013 | See all Samegubben's reviews »

By far one of the best games I have played! The graphics are impressive, I do really like the setting and the story, well, what I can say is that it's full of twists and the voice acting is absolutely top notch! BUY IT!!