Reviews for Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

93

RPG Classic

Trebledaniel | May 19, 2014 | See all Trebledaniel's reviews »

This game has all the makings of a great game. The choices that affects the outlook companions have on you.The quests that keep you going, and the great graphics. Plus, who doesn't like taking on enemies way bigger than your character.

95

More than Worth the Money!

harpiegirl | April 30, 2014 | See all harpiegirl's reviews »

I spent awhile with the game sitting in my library before I decided to pick it up and finally try it. And it's amazing.

It took me 40+ hours to finish the main campaign my first time. I'm now on my second playthrough, clocking in at 70+ hours and I've only finished one of the DLC campaigns on the side. Your choices in the game really do affect the game, which makes them meaningful. For instance, you might make a decision one party member highly doesn't agree with and they'll try to kill you. You can also romance a couple different of your party members, three available for a female character(two male, one female) and two options for a male character(two female). Who you choose to romance may also have an impact on the game.

Combat is pretty great if you're okay with point-and-click type combat. You can pause the game at any point with space bar so you have infinite time to make decisions in battle - which I love. You upgrade three different aspects of your character - your stats, utility skills and combat skills. Utility skills are unique and quite nice. Some characters have their own character-specific skills which is interesting. Finally, you can unlock more sets of skills at level 7 and 14, and you unlock the different types by making various decisions throughout the game such as getting closer to your party members and asking if they'd teach you.

My only complaint is that while there are many decisions in the game you can make, some of the more obvious ones you'd like to make aren't always there,for example at the end of the game where you may want to kill a certain character but cannot, or compromise on certain situations.

93

Beautiful Game, Interesting Combat

Fazbott | March 23, 2014 | See all Fazbott's reviews »

When I first booted up Dragon Age: Origins I automatically noticed it's gorgeous artwork and design. The game just looks fantastic especially at higher resolutions and specs. Once I got into the game play I was a little confused by the combat system simply because it wasn't what I was expecting, but the point and click style actually works out pretty well. There is a very expansive skill tree and lots of cool items to make your brain and gaming heart very happy.

98

Amazing Or What!!!?

chataolauj | Jan. 22, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game is by far the definition of RPG(I may be exaggerating a little). This game has an excellent choice of dialogues that makes you want to replay over and over again. This game great replay value, so if you're a gamer that likes games with a lot of replay value, then this is the game for you. Character interaction is the best element in this game; it exceeds all expectations. I'm currently on my fifth play through, so that tells a lot about this game, and I'm not even a hardcore gamer when it comes to PC games.

82

An instant classic.

StormGryffen | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all StormGryffen's reviews »

Dragon Age Origins is a great game with a great story and a decent RPG combat system. This is an RPG done correctly, with just enough choice and consequences to leave you feeling like the character you create has a unique tale. The characters are interesting and the relationship system in the game is engaging and fun, if a little simplistic and flawed (you can just bribe everyone with gifts to make them love you).

Some of the choices you make in this game have consequences in Dragon Age 2 if you load your character file into that game. Although Dragon Age 2 is a completely separate experience and is a pretty bad game, I have hopes that my Dragon Age Origins adventures will have an impact on the third upcoming game in the series.

95

A really good game.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

Dragon Age is easily one of the best RPG games out there.

A single play through of this game will last you a pretty long time and because there is multiple endings you'll want to play it more than once.

The expansion ('Awakening') had some nice things that I wished the main game had. As for the other DLCs I really liked the "Return to Ostagar" and "Leliana's Song" as they had the better stories.

This game is a must have for anyone who likes RPGs.

80

One of My Favorites

Incendia_Intus | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all Incendia_Intus's reviews »

This was a throwback of the older RPGs I grew up with for me, with updated graphics and a few new mechanics. The combat was easily my favorite part. I paused often, turning it into more of a turn based RPG. However, it can also be played in real-time effectively.

The storyline itself was generic, and I don't really see the praise it gets. The characters themselves, though, were entertaining and interesting. Getting to know each and every one of them on a deeper level was satisfying.

The game and all of the DLC sucked up a huge chunk of my time, in a good way. I've replayed the base game more times than I remember, each with a different class.

If you're a fan of RPGs, this is definitely one you don't want to miss.

94

Awesome Game, Awesome Story

romenjack | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all romenjack's reviews »

The story is grate, the writing is awesome, and the characters actually have different personalities that are interesting. every origin story is interesting and actually has effects on the rest of the game even if they dont effect much. And the romances of your companions are actually engaging though still suffer from the bioware syndrome of say all the right things and they will throw themselves at you. the part where this game lacks though is the fighting mechanic. while i do like the tactical aspect of it and the difference in difficulty from normal to hard is extreme and really adds a challenge but it can be slow and suffers from the mmo set up of two people standing there hitting each other and the fist one to run out of health looses. overall a fun game, fun story, and you will definitely play it several time.

54

Overrated

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I couldn't get into Dragon Age Origins no matter how hard I tried. I love the idea of being able to control your own game, make your own choices but I was incredibly disappointed when I found out that this was a traditional RPG game and not an action RPG game. Unfortunately this took me out of the experience and took any potential joy of this game , out of me. Buyer beware because I made that mistake and paid for it (literally). For a 2009 game, the graphics weren't that stunning, but its to be expected because it does have a lot in the game itself. I personally wouldn't recommend it unless you're an avid RPG player then maybe

97

It doesn't get any better than this.

photochrisj87 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all photochrisj87's reviews »

There really isn't anyway to start this review so Ill do my best -

Story - An epic storytelling that I believe is on par with Lord of the Rings. You play a character who is from the order of the Grey Warden, and you are to amass a giant army that comes from the alliances of different kingdoms and realms while also dealing with the political problems and relationships with your characters while fighting the hellspawn and the archdemon (an unbelievably strong and intelligent dragon). Months after you beat the game (DLC), you are continuing your journey across the lands, bringing order. The last DLC (in chronological order) has you settle your personal score with one of your former party members.

Gameplay - easy to play, easy to insanely difficult to beat. Quite the challenge you will find here. Decisions can be difficult.

Music - Memorable and really adds to the atmosphere, particularly the music you hear whenever you go to camp.

Visuals - while not on par with current gen graphics, it is forgivable but not as bad.

I found myself playing the game from beginning to end (Witch Hunt) and clocking in at 128 hours (with side quests). This game will definitely not disappoint for those who love a good story, good and balanced gameplay and an overall great RPG experience.

100

A Completely Engaging Story

noobboy191 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

This is a great rpg game with awesome gaming mechanics, but that is not the true star here. The great gameplay only compliments the amazing story. Craft your own story as Ferelden's last hope against an ancient evil that roots back to the dawn of time. See the perspectives from cultures all around Ferelden, conquer the taint and master your skills of a grey warden, and forge alliances to beat the darkspawn back into the holes they came from! If you ever loved rpgs you owe it to yourself to own this game

91

One of the better rpgs out there

lolbliv | July 17, 2013 | See all lolbliv's reviews »

The best part about this game is how much influence your decisions impact the game. Not only that, but there is a distinct origin story line for each character that didn't seem rushed but very well put together. With this, you can replay the game twenty times and never have the same exact outcome as you did before. Another great aspect is how much emphasis there is on strategy compared to just rushing in swords first killing everything in site. This is a definite must get for any rpg fans, especially those that like an intricate story.

90

A Pleasant Surprise

Dark217 | June 29, 2013 | See all Dark217's reviews »

Although I had played many Bioware games in the past and had an idea of what to expect, Dragon Age: Origins was a (very pleasant) surprise. I was simply expecting a cliché fantasy rpg with the good writing and choice elements that most Bioware games possess. Instead, I found a rather intriguing (only partially cliché fantasy) world, surprisingly strategic/tactical combat that one typically does not find in an rpg, and a story that could differ so much depending both on your choices and your origin story.

As one may deduce from the title, origin stories play a major part in the game. It is quite amazing that the developers put so much time and resources into crafting 6 unique backstories/prologues that actually can impact the later story. Although it may not have a major impact on gameplay (unless you are a dwarf and thus cannot be a mage), the fact that your unique origin story can actually continue to impact the story beyond the prologue is amazing. Also, the story itself and the characters within it are expertly crafted (as to be expected from Bioware) and every player has the ability to make meaningful decisions with differing consequences with both the story and characters.

The gameplay as stated before was a pleasant surprise, offering tactical combat where placement and maneuver actually mattered and wasn't your typical rpg slog of spamming the attack button. Then again, the combat is still not for everyone, especially if you are a fan of classic rpg combat or desire something more action-packed. Nevertheless, I believe that the game is worth playing solely on the value of the story and the choices you can make throughout it.

80

A really good start for that franchise.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

The beginning of the story of this game is not as different as other. The area is being attacked by some monsters. You have to defeat them. But, the way that is being used to get to your goal is really nice. It is really immersive and addictive. You always want to do one more quest until you realized that it has been a while since you started to play.

However, there are a lot of crash. You will need to save very often. Over the 80 hours that I put on this game, I got at least 10 crashes to desktop.

The choices that you have to do do not really affect the result, except for some situations.

There is really too much blood in it though. Your character will always have a lot of blood in the cut-scenes even if you did not fight for a while.

The difficulty really vary. There are some quests that require a lot of health potion, some others that are really a joke.

You will need to come back later at some places if you want to unlock every chests.

The graphics look good. The story is great. The commands are natural.

You can spend easily over 50 hours on this game. If you want to do all the quests, plan at least 100 hours.

A really nice game, despite the few cons that it has.

95

One of the best games of this generation

CurtisMN | June 19, 2013 | See all CurtisMN's reviews »

I absolutely loved this game on the 360, and now i'm loving it on the PC! It is definitely a different game on pc. I really love how magic works in this game, but all classes are fun.

89

One package for the original Dragon Age Origin

lok0812 | June 11, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is by far the best Dragon Age game when compared to its sequel. Storyline for this game is top notch and with many twists and plots. Sidequests and collectibles are present in the game for players to tackle and collect. The main story quest line is around 10-12 hours then add in the many DLCs from this pack will increase the playability of this game even more. This package also comes with the Awakening expansion pack that extend the original story even more. Expects great length of story from this package. Combat wise is your basic action type games with quick bar to access your skills, in addition to that, player can pause the combat and command your party to do different things and have them executed when combat resume at your discretion. This is a must have for RPG fans that are deep into storyline.

95

Surprising and Nostalgic

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

This game flew completely under my radar back in 2009. I was eagerly awaiting the sequel to Mass Effect when I realized this game was coming out the November prior to ME release. I've played many BioWare games of the past...Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, KOTOR, and this game brought back the nostalgia I felt playing those games.

The different origin stories for each character was simply awesome. It made re-playability a lot easier. The skills provided were also something to be lauded.

The character interactions are usually the best part of any BioWare title and I loved interacting with my party. Morrigan, Zevran, Oghren, and Lylliana provided some of the best content of the game.

The story begins are your typically high fantasy story would and evolves to cover the entire kingdom. Expansion has great content and a pretty good story as well.

80

A solid RPG

acloggedtoaster | April 30, 2013 | See all acloggedtoaster's reviews »

Dragon Age: Origins, Offers a deep and intricate story, many role playing decisions, and loads of character customization, and vast lands to explore however, the game play feels sub par. Having to constantly pause the game to select enemies to attack makes it feel like it drags you out of the action each time you do so, However this can be overlooked due to the excellence of the rest of the game.

90

Bought the orignal and got this for the DLC's

Yellier35 | April 24, 2013 | See all Yellier35's reviews »

i have to admit this game sucked me for the longest time out of other games similar to this one. The characters are great and my fav has to be allistar, the constant banter back and forth and comments are just great. This game really fealt like an old school rpg to me and not like these dumbed down games that keep coming out. Hopefully DA3 is much better!!!

85

Get it for the DLC's.

Coolicy | Feb. 15, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Bioware games uses Bioware Points for DLC's. Bioware Points almost never go on sale, so you'll have to pay full price for their DLC's, and that sucks if you're a bargain hunter like myself. The base game (DAO) and the expansion (Awakening) are both fun and memorable games, but it's the DLC's that make this package shine. My favorites are Warden's Keep (originally a digitally deluxe content), Stone Prisoner (came with new copies of the base game) and The Darkspawn Chronicles. If you think about how much Bioware Points cost and how much it'll cost you to buy them separately, buy this and think of the others are added extras.