Reviews for Civilization V: Gold Edition (NA)

95

My Go To Turn Based Game

ComputersWelcom | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all ComputersWelcom's reviews »

Besides Advance Wars, Civilization is the only turned based game I play. I do own the Gold Edition, however I think I would have been fine with just the standard edition as I have NEVER played any of the DLCs. I simply play the standard game and find that satiating. As someone coming from Civilization IV (4) the game took a bit longer than expected to get use to. But everything is fine, and I really appreciate the modern updated feel to the game. I have used the feature to save to the Steam Cloud many times while transferring computers. The gameplay is fine and standard. It is easy to win against computers even on difficult settings. The research tree is really well though out. The game lends itself to whatever play style you prefer. If you want to just take over the world with military or out research everyone. It is all there. The AI is very good at interacting with you. In all, it is a good game. You will play for large chunks of time and stop for a long time and get back a few days later. Or at least that is how I have been playing. Good game. If on sale, I would say buy the original to try out before investing in all the DLC.

75

A mixed bag

imonlykidding | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all imonlykidding's reviews »

What Civ V does well, it does incredibly well. What it does poorly... it does very poorly. The game is visually stunning compared to predecessors, but it feels like an oversimplification of the core Civilization gameplay. Gone are many of the intricacies and small touches that made Civilization IV one of my favorite games, with nary an explanation for their removal in sight. Things like cities that are taken from you gradually growing to love their captor, to the point that one or two hundred years down the road a recapture would make them unhappy.

In Civ V, recapture them 5000 years later and they'll still be content. One thing that stands out as a marked improvement from Civ IV is the removal of stacks; love them or hate them, you have to admit that they got tedious.

Overall, Civilization V feels like a fusion of Civ IV and Civ Rev. Take that however you will.

90

The Definitive Civilization

rct2guy | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all rct2guy's reviews »

Personally, I find this to be the best edition of Civilization yet. After the reintroduction of religion and espionage in Gods and Kings, it became clear to me that this is the definitive game in the Civilization series. The graphics are pretty good for a strategy game, the music is absolutely beautiful, the AI is actually fairly complex, and it's mostly bug-free. Close integration to Steam and the Steam Workshop makes for much easier modding of the game, opening it up to even more content than the Gold Edition will net you. The gameplay is addicting and very enjoyable, with multiple difficulties and leaders available to tailor how you play. Overall, this game will likely give you hundreds of hours of gameplay (with the main game, plus all DLC, expansions, and custom content), and is definitely worth picking up.

93

One of the Best

mayhem3366 | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all mayhem3366's reviews »

This game is one of the best in its class. The game along with the expansion; This game will give you hundreds of hours if enjoyment with the multiple different ways to play and win. From building up your army and wiping the earth of all others to building up a empire that focuses on finding the wonders of the world and strives for science and discovery; of focus solely on relationships with other nations, gaining there trust and loyalty. There is so much to do and so many ways to do it that you will find that this game is worth every dollar.

97

The best strategy game pack

nightassassin1 | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This game pack offers not only the base game of Civilization V, but all of the extra expansions, not including Brave New World. The base game itself was pretty large, but the huge additions from the large DLC packaged in with the game adds a lot more functionality. Some extra features added to the game are religion, more civilizations, more maps, more scenarios, naval combat split into melee and ranged, and new city states. That is only a little of the added material provided by all of the dlc bundled into the base game, so in other words you want this pack compared to just getting the normal game. All of the provided additions give you more ways to win and allows for broader play styles. This makes multiplayer much more fun, even more so when you have so many possible choices from what ruler you want to be, making your opponent stay on their toes if you change rulers every game you play with them. It also allows you to try a different play style.

Over all this is one amazing package. There are still some glitches in the AI for the builders and the plane animations are long, but that does not hinder the game play much. I personally don't see too much use in religion, so I stay away from directly attempting to progress it. I let it progress and spread as the game wants it to and focus all efforts on other game aspects. I have never once lost to someone with a strong religion.

100

Great game

shurfire | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all shurfire's reviews »

This is one great game. Really fun to play by yourself and great to play with friends. Only thing is that this game isn't meant to play with random people. It's meant to play with friends you know. It's amazing when you set up LAN parties though!

95

Simply Amazing

TylerHeaton | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all TylerHeaton's reviews »

This game is one of the most addicting games I have ever played. I had avoided turn based strategy games for a long time until I decided to try this when it was on sale and I honestly don't see why I didn't try it sooner! I always tell myself 'Just one more turn' and it is never the case. Game mechanics are awesome. Graphics are amazingly detailed. The game is just overall amazing.

93

Great game

Saleen512 | July 8, 2013 | See all Saleen512's reviews »

I had previously played Civ 4 but didn't really like it. I tried Civ 5 because I own a Windows 8 tablet and wanted to try a game the works with touch. I downloaded the demo of the game the next morning I purchased it. I love it! It is a very good game and works well with the Windows 8 touch.

95

Industry Leading Strategy Game

Nickxc88 | June 25, 2013 | See all Nickxc88's reviews »

The civilization 5 gold edition combines all previous DLC into a nice bundle which saves civ fans a decent amount of cash, instead of buying each DLC component individually. Most notably, the God's and King's expansion is included in this edition, which adds two completely new dynamics to the game, those being religion and espionage. Religion is somewhat similar to social policies in that upon accumulating enough religion points a civilization can found or enhance a religion composed of 5 core attributes that provide bonuses for cities that follow that religion, regardless of which civilization they are in. Espionage has changed the city state game in that spies can not stage coups and rig elections to increase your influence in that city state. Spies can also be used in rival civ cities in which they can steal technology and provide intrigue about production, planned attacks, and other things. Counter espionage can also be used in your cities to ward off enemy spies. All of the base content from the original Civ 5 game is provided in this edition as well. There are still cultural, conquest, scientific, and time victory conditions, as well as well over 20 civs to play as thanks to the DLC provided. Civ 5 has excellent core game play mechanics, however the AI has been known to make stupid or illogical decisions from time to time. While this doesn't detract from the overall experience, it can be annoying. For example many aggressive oriented civs such as Germany, India, or America will always seek expansion and usually will declare war on you once or twice even if they don,t have a likelihood of winning, or any other serious motive other than conquest. That problem doesn't upset many players however it also leads to the issue that even when playing for a cultural or scientific victory it is crucial that a strong military be kept or else you risk being conquered, even if none of your actions are aggressive. Despite this Civ 5 still has excellent game play mechanics and always delivers a unique experience with each game played. Graphically Civ 5 is much more pretty than its predecessor Civ 4. The environment is crisp, smoother, and much more realistic looking. Another nice addition is the animated sequences that trigger when you talk to the leader of another civ. These are extremely well done and a huge plus over the Civ 4 leader screens. Learning to play civ 5 can be a challenging task, as the complexity of the game is intimidating to many new players. The in game tutorials help, but the real knowledge is gained actually fending for your self against other civilizations. Civ 5 is an excellent game that sets the standard for other to strategy games to follow. Players are given micromanaging control over 95% of their empires, which is extremely noteworthy strategy wise because players can shape the functions of their empires to their liking. Civ 5 is a industry leading strategy game that is very enjoyable once the initial learning curve is progressed through.

86

A Very Solid Gaming Experience

BossManKrenko | June 9, 2013 | See all BossManKrenko's reviews »

A very well put together game, especially with the addition of the Gods & Kings expansion. Multiple paths to victory and a large variety of map types and civilizations allow for large replay value (My 300+ hours in the game can attest to this).

The game itself is beautiful, though will large games it has the tendency to lag even on the best of computers, however, not enough to discourage one from playing. The music is most often fitting and changes depending on the civ you are playing, a nice touch and much appreciated.

All in all, I believe this is a very solid addition to the Civilization collection, and I can't wait to see what the next expansion has in store for the series.

85

The Best Civ Yet (Especially for Completionists)

cevana | May 26, 2013 | See all cevana's reviews »

I've been playing the Civ games since III. Like many, I was a little ambivalent towards V when it came out. I liked the removal of the massive stacks of armies, but missed some core features such as religion.

With the Gold Edition, these worries shouldn't stop anyone interested in the latest installment. Gods and Kings re-introduced religion (in a way that encourages more player decision-making than it did in IV) in addition to ironing out the erratic AI a little.

Of note, this is the only edition I know of that contains ALL DLC and expansions in a single package (GOTY, for instance did not include the Korea or Wonders of the Ancient World DLC). Some of the DLC civilizations are among my favorites (the Inca's terrace farms look epic and the Vikings are fierce competitors).

If you are determined to get the most complete version of the famed civilization building god-game, the Gold edition seems like your best bet until the expansion is released

Pros: -The best Civilization game yet, including the classic multiple routes to victory and defining age shifts -Gods and Kings has worked out many kinks with the AI and tech tree, and introduced a highly customisable religion system -Hex system and removal of stacked units means more strategic warfare -Gold is the only 'complete' package of the game as of this review's writing

Cons: -Can lag a little even with recommended specs, although this has been improved with this edition -Even with improvements, AI is still not as enjoyable as in Civ IV