Reviews for Mass Effect (NA)

85

Fantastic, Even if you're not a Big Sci-Fi Fan

harpiegirl | June 26, 2014 | See all harpiegirl's reviews »

First of all, I'm really not big on sci-fi and space-themed media. I prefer classical fantasy type things. However, this is one fantastic game. I spent 70 hours on my first run just exploring the world and trying to do all the side missions and just being a paragon.

The story is fantastic - when I first played the game, I quit for two weeks in the middle of the first mission because I wasn't too interested and the combat was difficult to adjust to. However, I went back, finished the mission and then became enchanted by the following story. Obviously, if you're a fan of sci-fi and space then you'll love this - but even if you're not, like me, there's a decent chance you'll love it as well if you're a fan of drawn out story lines with tons of details and best of all, the ability to impact how the story goes however you wish.

The characters are good. Your squad mates aren't always the most interesting people and don't always have something to say, but when you get to the meat of it they are interesting and clearly their own individuals. On another note, their story lines and back stories are greatly expanded upon in Mass Effect 2 and Mass Effect 3, where the quality and quantity of their writing also increases.

You can romance two characters per gender, men have two female choices and women have one male and one female choice. The romances aren't as drawn out or nearly as important in Mass Effect as they are in later games and the Dragon Age series, but seeing how they develop in 2 and 3 makes it worthwhile to try one out.

Combat is interesting. I came in expecting FPS-style combat, While similar, that's not what you get. You do shoot guns and throw bombs but the combat is actually very tactical and will require you to pause the game (via a game mechanic, of course) and consistently use abilities and skills to take down enemies.

Of course, you can also explore space. That means traveling to various planets in different star clusters, scanning them and even sometimes landing on them, in order to collect resources and other important relics in order to finish quests and gain money and experience. Traveling on planets, most of the time you'll end up on your vehicle, the Mako. At first the controls are somewhat difficult but it does get easier over time. Combat in the Mako is convenient and easy but only after you figure out which tactics are best against which enemies. Fighting enemies such as Thresher Maws can be quite difficult if it's your very first fight in the Mako.

Overall, a fantastic game. I would recommend this to someone who loves RPGs, strategy games or even someone who likes romance simulations (it's fascinating to see relationships evolve over the three games).

90

Fantastic!

kymned | June 17, 2014 | See all kymned's reviews »

This game series is an absolute blast. In the first iteration, there is a great deal of exploration, though it does get repetitive. The combat is decent, though they definitely improve upon it in the second game. However the real reason you play this game, and most other Bioware titles, is for the story.

90

Get Ready to Have a (Not so) Massive Effect

BrutyTabooty | June 14, 2014 | See all BrutyTabooty's reviews »

Don't get me wrong by the title of my review, I love this game. For its time it had great graphics and the story was pretty good as well. There were times where your choices felt like they had a real impact, and that was always great, but the problem being that with certain exceptions, many of the choices begin to feel a bit hollow, especially when you get into the later games.

That said, this is an amazing game that is totally worth getting and replaying over and over.

85

Can't go wrong with the original!

HappyCloud9 | March 26, 2014 | See all HappyCloud9's reviews »

This is a solid game that will completely submerge you in a sci-fi universe unlike any other. The story and characters make this title worth playing, the only drawback is the slow combat and overwhelming amounts of side-quests. Other than the previously stated, this game is almost perfect for anyone looking to get into PC gaming or anyone already PC gaming.

92

My number one favorite series

dweeez1 | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all dweeez1's reviews »

The mass effect trilogy is, in my opinion, the greatest game trilogy out there.Since this is just a review for part one, I'll try to keep part's two and three out of it. Part one has an AMAZING story, and awesome graphics for it's time. I took off a few points because the gameplay is a bit rough on some parts, but that might just be me comparing it to the amazing gameplay of two and three. If you have never played this series before, GO BUY IT

95

Bioware never ceases to amaze its fans with great characters

homes223 | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all homes223's reviews »

Story: You are "Insert First Name Here" Shepard. Save the galaxy, humanity...or not. Your choice.

Missions: No mission is ever the same. No repeats here my friend.

Controls: Different, takes a little to get used to but work fine.

Features: In depth, story, gameplay, characters, choices, and lore. So immersive. Plus the diologue scenes are awesome and not boring like so many other RPGs.

A.I.: Can get in your way and stuck at times but usually do their job in combat.

Loading Times: Lots but they don't take as long as people say they do. The quick ones take around 5-10 seconds. Long (elevator) ones take 15-30 seconds.

Graphics: Look great. Only fault is the popping due to the Unreal 3 Engine. That could have been polished a little more.

Audio: Voiceovers for all. Usually don't repeat which is nice.

Multiplayer: None.

The Good: Story, RPG elements, characters and their development, and just the feeling of being in such a large universe.

The Bad: Loadings can slow the gameplay down...

The Ugly: The textures after loading when the skins don't load...

Replay Ability: High. I've played beaten this game twice (1st time fully all missions, sidequests, etc. 2nd time just did the opposite of the 1st) in about a month. I still have another playthrough in me.

The Bottom Line: If you like Sci Fi movies and/or RPGs, Bioware delivers you a pretty, package with a nice bow of awesomeness attached.

90

Gorgeous!

LtValerii | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all LtValerii's reviews »

Starting off, this is one of my absolute favorite games to date. Most people who play love their shooters and anything even slightly less is unacceptable, but this game combines everything very well.

Admittedly, it can be rather slow at times, but these parts are important. At its heart, Mass Effect is an RPG. You're meant to spend time talking to people and making decisions. This does get tedious at times, but it's usually exciting to learn more about the huge universe they created for this game.

On top of this, there is also an extensive customization system. You design your character, upgrade you and your teammates, pick/upgrade weapons, add to weapons, and pick/upgrade your armor. There is a lot to choose from and enough for everyone's style of play.

The story in this game is huge and exciting. The choices you make actually effect the game itself. There are a bunch of people to meet and things to do. The game is sci-fi so there are alien races for you to interact with and learn more about. Moreover, you can decide whether or not you like these aliens and that will change the game play and outcome.

Aside from running around talking to aliens, there is also some combat. Until you reach the highest difficulty, it's not much of a challenge, but it's fun. The game play is simple and that makes it enjoyable since there it isn't solely action. Your choices in the battlefield will also impact the game.

Overall, I highly recommend checking out this game. Though I warn, only do so if you have the patience to handle an RPG style game. It's a lot of fun if you give it the chance!

94

Can't Go Wrong

chataolauj | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This has to be one of my all time favorite games. I've played on both PC and XBOX 360. First of all, if you like character customization and a story where you get to make choices that actually DO impact the story then this is the game for you. Mass Effect is a RPG first, then shooter. It's not just a run 'n gun game where you just shoot people to get to the next level. You have to interact with multiple characters and build some sort of relationship with them. There aren't really any RPG shooters that can compare with Mass Effect. If can get it at a low price then get it for a console before getting on a PC. I prefer to play on the console instead, but that's just cause I played it on the XBOX 360 first. It's still good with M/K as well.

88

Great RPG

Gmen | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Mass Effect is one of those games that will keep you glued to your PC screen for hours at a time.

It revolves around humanity being a young upstart among many other alien races in the solar system. They are fighting for recognition and acceptance, which is hard because they have stepped on the toes of the Turians, one of the so called ‘council races’ in the past during the First Contact War. This is all just the backstory though, but is nevertheless very interesting, with many codex logs to explain every little thing you encounter in the game, like an ever growing encyclopaedia, much like Stalker: Shadow of Chernobyl and Doom 3.

The central plot in the game is the chase after a rogue spectre (essentially a Special Forces soldier), named Saren, in a bid to stop his crazy attempt at wiping out humanity and possibly other species too. This sees you go off in your starship with its crew to save the universe.

You can go directly after Saren, but it’s worth the time to do a lot of the side quests in addition to this mission, like other RPGs, as you gain experience and lots of money.

The graphics are very good, the story very well written and you will get lost in the magical universe for hours or days. The sound and music is almost synth-like, blending in with a very modern space theme, but does tend to get a little irritating at times. The AI and path finding of your squad members a problem, with your buddies getting stuck behind crates and boxes in loading bays. The dialogue scenes are usually very long, with many questions passing between characters, and this can get frustrating if there is a fight scene straight after, and you haven’t had the chance to save because of the verbal diarrhoea flowing. This isn’t to say that action isn’t present, because after all is said and done, or your character is more the renegade personality type, and shoots first and asks questions later, gun fights are many, and you will die many times; this game can get very challenging.

I would recommend it any day. It’s excellent.

92

One of the best,

Bytrine | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Mass Effect is one of those games I've played over and over again, and still haven't seen all of the outcomes. You play as Commander Shepard and are quickly thrown into a universe where an impending universal apocalypse is imminent. You and those of your choosing are sent to battle the threats, but only no one of importance believes you. In this game, you choose how you want to play and no other. The emotions you feel are what keep you coming back for more! This is a must buy game that lacks decent combat, but opens you up to the sequels!

90

The Start of An Era

IncrediBo | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all IncrediBo's reviews »

Mass Effect is an RPG that is mechanically a third person shooter. The story of this game is absolutely top-notch. Both the character and plot developments are among the best I've seen to date. The choices you make will eventually have an impact in the overall outcome of the story in this game and its sequels as well. The gameplay is very fun and unique thanks to the various powers and abilities you are given. However, compared to current day third person shooters, there is more emphasis on strategy. Overall, Mass Effect is an awesome game to play and experience. Having my own doubts when first starting this game, I can say that I have absolutely none now. Just make sure you have some spare change in your pockets because after you're done with this game, you'll be begging for the next two. The start of an era indeed.

70

Decent start

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I didn't get into the first Mass Effect game, just didn't strike me as something I wanted to play until I got Mass Effect 2. You can tell they had a promising start to something with this game, the world is huge with several planets you can visit and look around on which is cool but was a bit tedious after a couple times. The gameplay isn't its strongest point however, the gunplay isn't decent at best, there aren't actual bullets but rather heat powered rifles and handguns if you can say thats what it is. It got frustrating when having to face several enemies and your gun overheats rather quickly. The best part of the game though is the decision making. The game does a good job in making you believe your choices are effecting the world around you, and in some part it does. The only problem with that is there shouldn't have been a color coding system on what's good and whats bad. It should be shades of gray in my opinion

65

Way Over Rated

rslancer | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all rslancer's reviews »

Only thing this game really got right is the story which I will admit is pretty good. Everything else is pretty lame... Its a duck and cover then come out and shoot and repeat sort of game. Applies for pretty much 90% of the game. Maps are reused so often it hurts me. The "side quests" have no real meaning. Essentially all the same once you done a few. I couldn't bring myself to finish the game.

Skip this one and go straight to Mass Effect 2 if you must insist on playing these games. At least in the second one they didn't recycle the maps constantly.

93

The Best

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all romenjack's reviews »

Probably my all time favorite game. It has a grate story, awesome writing, and the best crew a commander can ask for. now a lot of things in this game are far more come place now like the ability to chose your gender or voicing the main character and still having dialog options but this was one of the first of its kind to ever do so. while yes the gameplay in the first one is probably the worst and there is a lot of clutter in the GUI none of it was really damaging to the flow, and while people will complain all day about the elevators in this game the fact of the matter is this was an attempt to not brake immersion and while i noticed the elevators in the first game never did i complain about loading screens so it worked it just made people angry about the same thing. one of the things that makes this game stand out is its attention to detail. very little in this game is left unexplained nor are they cramming the information down your throats. if you want to know how mass effects work you can talk to some people about it but more than that you can go into your codex and spend hours sometimes reading about all these things. not to say this game doesnt have flaws because it dose. the pacing in the game is a little inconsistent, and the side missions can get very repetitive, seeming that you go to planet get in mako drive around find base go in base kill people rinse and repeat and the third time or so that i played this game i was starting to feel that it was a bit of a grind but even that wasnt enough to make me stop doing them. i do wish that your back story at the beginning played a bit more into your story and that the actions that you take had a little more effect in the game beyond the council yelling at you for whatever it is you did or didnt do. over all an awesome game that i think i will be playing for many years to come

86

RPG with a Few Kinks

danneboe | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all danneboe's reviews »

The game is definitely one of my favorite RPGs. It attempts to blend RPG with FPS with some success. There were some kinks in the overall fighting experience, but the fantastic story line will hook you in.

96

Great RPG

ruler8696 | July 26, 2013 | See all ruler8696's reviews »

Mass effect is a great rpg where all your actions have consequences. The gameplay is fun and the story is interesting. It is well worth the money.

88

Upset I didn't play it sooner...

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | See all darkbreaker3200's reviews »

I can see why there's a strong, almost cult, following for this Trilogy; had I played it when it was first released I probably would have been blown away. It's a beautiful game, definitely tingled the Sci-fi and RPG geek in me. The prospect of traveling to an uncharted solar system and explore is so grand, that I wished Bioware made the Galaxy, in the game, much more vast.

Mass Effect took about 40 hrs for me to complete about 75% of the game, but I also did a lot of useless wandering around the Galaxy too. Plot started out a bit slow for my taste, but once I departed the Citadel it really took off, pun intended.

100

A Star Trek nerd haven!

mathcat | July 2, 2013 | See all mathcat's reviews »

This game is a brilliant well written Sci-Fi masterpiece. The storyline is epic. This game is Star Trekesque. The system is hard to get use to but once you are it is like playing as a real commander of a squad. Graphics good if you set them to the right setting. Without the right setting the graphics are incredibly fuzzy.

90

Addictive Fun

ebeaver1016 | June 26, 2013 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

This game is very enjoyable. You get a story that keeps you entertained and involved. The graphics are also very good. You get to make decisions that influence the outcome. You can compare it to unleashing your inner dark side or becoming that heroic guy. However you choose your fate in the first Mass Effect becomes your past in the 2nd Mass Effect if you choose to upload your previous game files. It is recommended to play the next in the series because the future game makes reference to the past game and if you forget what happens, this may alter your response. I had no problem with this because I enjoyed my experience enough that I immediately went into ME2 right after. And while playing ME2 I was fortunate enough to find ME3 on sale. This is game highly recommended.

92

A Great RPG Experience

deathgrape | June 24, 2013 | See all deathgrape's reviews »

Mass Effect is one of the quintessential RPGs of the 2000s. It was one of the few to figure out the RPG+ shooter style, as well as the RPG+ space style. On all accounts, it does these well. ME isn't the greatest shooter you'll ever play, but it doesn't try to be. What it tries to be, is a true RPG experience where your decisions actually create an impact, which it actually does. Other RPGs (cough cough Skyrim) give you the illusion of choice, but in reality nothing you do will impede you from your quest to the top, eventually becoming Grandmaster of the World or whatever. ME is not one of these. Your choices WILL get people pissed, and others killed. This game is not for those with a low attention span, because much of the game is delivered through dialogue, one of the shining features of the game. Every voice actor portrays a brilliant character, creating even more depth to already deep characters. Overall, if you are into experiences more than amazing action, ME will be a game you won't be soon to forget.

100

A Detailed Futuristic World

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Mass Effect has one of the most engaging stories in any game that I've played. You will keep wondering what happens next and if one person really did the thing they're accused of or not. Each character is very detailed and they each have their own distinct personality. There are many different things you can say to people. Each option levels up your character in one of several different ways depending on what you said. Whether it's helpful, disapproving, neutral etc. The combat is lots of fun and relies heavily on using your squad to help you get to your destination. There are lots of weapons that are futuristic, advanced version of weapons we have today. The graphics are very dark and high tech and you can really see Bioware's attention to detail. The game sounds very nice, from the weapons to the soundtrack when you're fighting. Highly recommended to any RPG or action fan. You will love this game.

85

The Start of an Epic Trilogy

Dark217 | June 13, 2013 | See all Dark217's reviews »

Right of the bat I have to say that the Mass Effect series has one the most engaging and involving stories that I have ever seen. Starting with game one you are presented with characters you will learn to love as you travel with them throughout the whole series, learning about them and interacting with them and growing closer to these well written people who actually feel like they have distinct personalities. Honestly, I feel that the game's main story is merely a side dish compared to the stories you will build with these characters that you will spend the next 90 or so hours with. It is not just the big story, but all the interesting little side stories woven into it as well. For whatever gripes I and many other people may have about the game and its gameplay, I wholly recommended you to play it at least once (and hopefully the rest of them as well) in order to experience possibly the most epic story to ever grace the medium. As a game, I find it to be quite decent, but I do feel that in Bioware games that all comes second to the great story and the long lasting player choices with consequences that their games are famous for.

90

Your choices matter most

onewinged90 | June 13, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

When you first jumped into the game, the story and lore might confuse you at first so make sure to read your journal to gain more information about particular subject. Sci-fi fans will be thrilled to add this game to their collection, fantastic story combined with replayability makes this game a must buy. This is a shooter, but it is by no means a short one. 16 hours for the campaign and it will double if you opt for 100% completion. As great as the game can get, there are few flaws with the game. The combat system feels stiff and the character animation looked robotic.

88

The Black Sheep

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

This game is easily the black sheep of the family in this three part series. I don't necessarily mean that in a bad way, it is just wildly different from its successors. The combat systems is barely comparable to ME2 and ME3 which makes it worse, only that it is not nearly as apparent as in the other versions. You will find that you are more suddenly in trouble than in the other games. The combat itself is seemingly looser and less refined. These are the things I dislike about this game, the other aspects are wonderful. There is a wide library of armors and guns to find in this game which is something that ME2 and ME3 are certainly missing. There is plenty to do and several planets to just drive around on in the Mako, something that will never again make an appearance. It's still a great game. It's just not ME2 or ME3. Don't expect it to be.

88

The Black Sheep

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

This game is easily the black sheep of the family in this three part series. I don't necessarily mean that in a bad way, it is just wildly different from its successors. The combat systems is barely comparable to ME2 and ME3 which makes it worse, only that it is not nearly as apparent as in the other versions. You will find that you are more suddenly in trouble than in the other games. The combat itself is seemingly looser and less refined. These are the things I dislike about this game, the other aspects are wonderful. There is a wide library of armors and guns to find in this game which is something that ME2 and ME3 are certainly missing. There is plenty to do and several planets to just drive around on in the Mako, something that will never again make an appearance. It's still a great game. It's just not ME2 or ME3. Don't expect it to be.

88

BioWare meets Star Trek

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

This game is incredibly imersive. There is a long deep main story line that really keeps the game moving along and tons of side quests to bring the universe to life. With any RPG its the details that kill games. Not Mass Effect. The developers focused on every aspect of the game play and really polished it to a high shine. The biggest downfall is that it was developed for the Xbox and so the graphics aren't as good as you would expect from a game this incredible well put together.

Overall the scenes are a lot of fun. there are so many different ways to approach battle that its hard to get bored too quickly. The two problems I had were first in all the side quests the building layouts are incredibly repetitive. Its almost exactly the same except that furniture has been moved around. Second the AI can be a bit annoying and aggressive. The easiest tactic to win any battle is to sit back and wait for them to come to you. That's fine and all but i expect more out of my battles then sniper frag fests.

There are tons of side quests and tons of places to explore. the side quests even intermingle among one another and some of the moral choices are very ambiguous making the decisions you make much much more interesting. The only problem is that unless your physically writing down where you have explored you often get confused and end up revisiting the same planets over and over again. The controls while driving around planets is often erratic as well.

Interesting to travel after Saren and then find out the big reveal near the end of them. This only sets bigger things in motion for the series in-to-which the scale of the series comes into play.

90

Great blend of sci-fi, shooter, and RPG

redskyy | May 24, 2013 | See all redskyy's reviews »

I feel like Bioware got it right the first time with Mass Effect. The world feels very rich and diverse, with all the different species, factions, and various drama making everything feel alive. You end up caring about everyone in your party, and the game makes you make tough choices that have an impact on the overall outcome at the end.

I like the gameplay in the first game the best of the series, since it keeps the RPG elements in play while still having a nice shooter system. Very few complaints with this one, and definitely recommend you start with ME1 if you're playing the series for the first time.

96

Amazing Game

TheGrizzlyB | April 24, 2013 | See all TheGrizzlyB's reviews »

This game is one of my favorites, and you can really lose yourself in it. I forgot just how much i loved this game. I played through the entire series and went back for my second playthrough, and spent 6 hours just on the first time you make it to the citadel (a place where all the species in the universe meet). The game also has a lot of lore and background on characters and the environment. All in all it is a fantastic game and a must play.

98

Spectacular

Xiphora | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Mass Effect is possibly my favorite game series of all time. I consider it the Star Wars of games. Why? It has everything a good game has. Gorgeous presentation, enjoyable gameplay, and most of all, one of the best stories you'll find in a video game. Your choices really add up, and you'll be regretting something by the time you finish this 20-30 hour game. The film-like cinematics is perfectly executed, and the blooming settings creates a very noticeable atmosphere. Mass Effect is all about Earth as the new kid in town, and shows Commander Shepard as the representative. The amount of customization is ample enough, and your character is personal to only you. Everyone plays Mass Effect in a different way, which creates great replay values. The only drawback to Mass Effect is the bugs, which do appear frequently. But the bugs shouldn't hold back such a great gaming experience. If you haven't played the Mass Effect series, play it now. The Mass Effect series is a masterpiece, and the first Mass Effect is the gem that started it.