Reviews for Crysis 3 (NA)

76

Amazing graphics, decent game.

13thmurder | May 25, 2014 | See all 13thmurder's reviews »

It's one of the most beautiful games you'll ever play, if your computer can handle it.

The gameplay itself is alright, but nothing all too special. The suit has less modes than in the original game, which takes out some of the challenge, since you don't have to give up being well armoured to cloak or sprint anymore.

It still has the excellent weapon modding system though, which has always been one of my favourite things in this series.

95

Eye Candy and Fast Combat

IDprofile | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

The first Crysis game made a reputation as being the most graphically intense game ever made and kept it's title for quite a while. As the video game industry progressed in technology, Crysis became outdated. Crysis is back with it's third installment taking back the title as the game with the highest graphics.

The story is future science fiction with aliens so it's of course quite interesting. The characters have amazing actors and top notch facial animation.

I'll be honest. The gameplay is not as good as the first Crysis. It's much more linear with smaller maps and less options as to how to approach your objective ingame. The combat is still very good. Constant fast paced action while always giving you the ability to slip into the shadows and take things slowly.

The online multiplayer gamemodes are very fun, fast paced, have good maps, and unique from other FPS title games.

The combination of extremely realistic graphics and great acting make this game very immersive. Even if it's not your type of game you could still get it to show of your computer's graphics or to stress test your computer's hardware.

Check to see if your computer has the horsepower to handle this game at it's highest. If not, at least at the minimum settings requirement.

75

Best graphics yet. Okay gameplay!

SonicusZ | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all SonicusZ's reviews »

Okay this game looks amazing. I have actually stopped playing and just admired the graphics at a few spots and there have even been a couple situations that the graphics helped me. Like in multiplayer when I'm hiding next to a tunnel filled with water and I can tell if someone is going through the tunnel based off the light reflecting off the water! So if you got a nice PC this is the game to show it off! Now on to gameplay. The multiplayer is fun for a little while but not all that original. The hunter mode is probably the most unique and my favorite. The single player is fun and offers great combat and lets you explore here and there. It is still nothing compared to what the first crysis was and the game is also really short. I really wish this game was longer since I did enjoy playing it but because of it's length I'd recommend buying this only if it's really cheap!

80

Brilliant art style and story

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

First person shooters tend to grow old fast when I'm behind the gun, especially if its a single player game. BioShock Infinite managed to steer clear of this trend, leading me from start to finish within a few days.

I loved the art style and setting. The world is so beautifully built and crafted by the developers and the story line is both touching and clever. Throughout the game I grew to care about the characters and I was genuinely interested in learning more about them.

The gameplay was often fast and furious, mixing gunplay and supernatural powers amazingly well which helped create some very unique and exciting battles. Swapping and changing your powers and loadouts really helped to add an extra layer to Bioshock.

Despite my ability to grow bored of the genre pretty quickly I absolutely loved Bioshock Infinite. Its worth diving in for so many reasons, story line, gameplay, there's just so much to try.

80

Maximum Spectacle

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

The game is stunning in appearance, with every aspect of vision and sound meticulously crafted. The control scheme is also perfect and there is never any significant disconnect between the player's intent and the character's actions. Crysis 3 continues the traditions of its forebears in these regards, pushing a new generation of gaming PCs to their limits. Predictably, this game also suffers from the same weaknesses as earlier entries in the series: a weak plot and few interesting characters. The supporting character Psycho adds a personal touch that has been absent entirely in previous games, but he alone is not enough to compensate for the non-characters that perfunctorily populate the rest of the game.

The bow enhances the stealth element to gameplay, which is consistently good fun, right up until the last couple of missions where stealth ceases to be an option. The final boss fight is a frustrating jump in difficulty. However, since the story is so uncompelling I didn't see any reason to push through and just gave up at that point. The game had given me what I had wanted and I had derived the enjoyment I had expected by that point.

85

Melts your PC

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

The conclusion to the most beautiful looking series video games have seen. Crysis 3 caps off a great trilogy (for the time being). The story mode is great, it brings you into the nano suit of prophet once again who was the main protagonist in the original Crysis game. You don't get the open world of a Crysis 1 but you get big open areas in New York that gives you that feeling of freedom when tackling each mission. You can use multiple ways to take out enemies like going all in guns blazing or stealth with your cloak engaged. A great new weapon in the game is the bow. I wasn't too thrilled about it at first but once I got my hands on it, I used it more than any other weapon. The feeling of accomplishment when you get the kill is great. However, there is a downside to Crysis 3. The story is a bit short, in fact very short. It runs you about 4-5 hours which is very short in comparison to other Crysis games. The multiplayer is where I had most fun, tons of game modes but nothing brand new or game changing to online shooters of course. Its fun running around in your nano suit and taking out enemies online

92

Stealth, Meet Aliens

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

Crysis 3 was a Beautiful game, not only with graphics, but an amazing storyline as well! A lot of people said this game wasn't worth it, but in my opinion I enjoyed every minute of it, and I've actually replayed the campaign of the game over a few times, and I don't usually play campaigns on these kind of games more than once. It was a very smooth game, with flashy graphics and tessellated vegetation, that kept your imagination alive when wandering through a wrecked city. The campaign was well put together, and kept you wanting to continue. Then there was the multiplayer, which was as well, very well done. I found that the Multiplayer wasn't as good as some other games Online Experience, but Crysis 3 knew where to hit the spot when dealing with close combat, sniping, and all out stealth wars. I found when playing Multiplayer, the servers were quite empty, so I suppose that everyone else didn't like the MultiPlayer as much as I did, but I still enjoy it! In Conclusion, if you're looking for a game where you get to take out Aliens with Big Guns or Stealth, and game that uses a bow with mods on it, or a game that has online stealth wars, Crysis 3 is your game!

85

Love it

sabin666 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all sabin666's reviews »

The game is a beast graphically speaking on PC especially with some added mods. On the game play side though it feels like the rest of the crysis series, I didn't find anything new. With that in mind the game is a must buy for new comers but can be dull for others that started to get bored by the end of Crysis 2.

67

Got the Hunter Edition

djriful | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all djriful's reviews »

Game looks fantastic in graphical but game story is short and not too interesting.

65

Singleplayer Review

ultraglorious | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all ultraglorious's reviews »

The original Crysis and its sequel, Warhead, are among my favourite shooters. The openness of the world allowed you to find creative solutions to missions. With Crysis 2, Crytek took a much more linear approach to level design in the vein of most modern FPS releases and placed a greater emphasis on their story; decisions which I felt were detrimental to the series. Crysis 3 promised to be a combination of the two, but for the most part it failed in that regard.

Level designed has been opened up somewhat, insofar that the corridors you are travelling down have been widened - sometimes quite significantly - but areas still only have one entrance and exit. While this in itself is not a problem, it does not recapture the feeling from Crysis that you can attack an objective however you please. It does, however, occasionally allow you to choose which order you do objectives in.

The story started in Crysis 2 is back in full force; a blessing or a curse depending on how much you enjoyed it the first time. While I have never expected much of the series' storytelling, I appreciated the first game's relative minimalism. Crytek's attempts at poignancy and gravitas fall flat and I was particularly disappointed when the ending came down to serendipity.

If I found the gameplay particularly enjoyable, something I do not recall having any issues with previously, the story's issues could be easily overlooked. The only difference between 3 and the previous entries that I can point to as having made it less enjoyable is the introduction of the bow. Having loved the bows in the Far Cry 3 and Tomb Raider I was fully expecting to love it here; and I do, in theory. Crysis' bow is a great weapon and perhaps my favourite in the game; at full tension it one-shots most enemies in the game, and you can fire it while cloaked. These are also the reasons why it ruined my enjoyment of the game; it is so powerful that you rarely have a reason to use anything else. It being the most useful weapon, I used it for the majority of the game and subsequently got quite bored. Perhaps it's my own fault for not changing up my style, but I didn't feel the game ever gave me a reason to want to.

85

An average solo campaign but great multiplayer. Sounds familiar?

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

In Crysis 3, you play as Prophet. You will more often than not be accompanied by Psycho, two names that should sound familiar if you have played the previous games.

As in Crysis 2, you start fighting against the CELL, then a certain moment, find yourself against the CEPH. These last ones are the strongest. Some of them need special weapons to get killed. However, the enemy is so dumb sometimes. You can kill 10 guys in the same staircase by staying at the same place. When they find you though, they do not give you a lot of chances. You have to leave in a hurry or face them to death. I would suggest you to play the game at a higher difficulty level than you usually do to fully enjoy the game. It will be a good practice for when you will play online.

There are some intels hidden here and there, however they do not add much to your experience. They add up in your info screen, but do not get any New sign beside them, so you do not know which one did you take that you have not read. They are fairly easy to find since you have the ability to mark almost everything in the game, including guns, ammo, intels, vehicles and enemies.

As in each Crysis, the graphics look very good, even if I was not able to run them at max capacity. There were some physical bugs though. I have seen guns and guys in the air, dead. The sound is generally excellent also. Gunfights are epic.

The story is not that excellent, but is still enjoyable. It takes about 8 hours to go through if you find for the intels hidden. However, this is not the place you want to be. You want to go Online and play multiplayer. There are plenty of modes and plenty of people. You will find a game, and even if you are a beginner, be able to shoot someone. This is nice for someone who wants to start in multiplayer since you have a chance to do something even if you have not played it for over 100 hours. The more you play, the more experience you get and unlock items for your guns and gadgets. This is similar to Battlefield 3 I would say.

Globally, this is a pretty good game for everyone who is looking for a shooter to get through the summer.

89

Just Correct

kalil | June 18, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Good to time who was willing to do an analysis of some game and so far I have decided on this seeing that it is a game that has caused much controversy both divisions notes as its duration, its little innovation among other things.

Gameplay:

I think one of the games I offered more gameplay and variety to make things in the market is not as free as the first but is more open than the second which is appreciated. He misses the broader maps playable with more opportunities and that they are more populated by NPC but without the extension of the first, a middle.

Technology:

Main reason is its useless IA noting especially that of the Aliens to melee over others. The PC optimization is very good for graphics beast it is. In addition to throughout the game I have not found a bug. I would also like to note that thanks to the drivers who scored the game's release later performance has augmentado exponentially.

Graphics:

In this section, too many words, you only need to see some catch to see the magnificent graphics that has the game and its beautiful artistic design.

Sound:

It seems sublime in every way, the sounds of the weapons are incredible, the Spanish dub this to a very high standard and the music perfectly complements the scenes that live along the game.

innovation:

Since it is a 3rd party and can not expect a radical change in essence have gotten several new features, such as maps broader, bow, side quests, to choose the path you want to use, etc..

History:

I think by far the best of the 4 games (I count the Warhead as delivery) ahead of the second. At first begins rather slowly and can say that boring but with the advent of greater interaction with Psycho, the whole story gains. I would put almost a Psycho starring more than a Prophet, which makes a superb acting. To end the end they leave open to potential new releases but I hope you take it more calmly and shows the game and unhurried.

duration:

The game at its maximum difficulty and beating most side missions lasted me about 12 hours, mixing confrontation with stealth, so if you do everything you can quietly take about 15 hours (which I exceed the maximum cost Bioshock) . There is also a good replay value as there are different ways to ask yourself the missions.

Multiplayer:

I've spent a few hours and I can say it COD style but with nanotrajes. I highlight above this normal online Hunter mode far the option to enjoy as a dwarf.

Conclusion:

The game has not completely fulfilled my expectations were very high but not the monster that many people want pages and paint. It only remains to say that anyone who likes shooters with aliens going semiopen love and recommend its purchase.

94

Amazing Game - Tons of Fun

awemazing | June 14, 2013 | See all awemazing's reviews »

Never have I been so immersed in a game, where I actually was addicted. I could not stop playing Crysis 3. It makes you feel like you are actually in the action with the amazing graphics and realistic environments. It even looks gorgeous on low graphics settings. The only parts that I got frustrated with, were killing the final boss. I was on the normal setting, and the final boss was almost impossible to kill for the first 13 times that I tried to kill it. It was infuriating. But, when you kill it the boss, the game comes to an epic close that keeps you drooling for more.

P.S. - When you buy this game (I know you will, and you will not be disappointed), make sure to watch through the credits. I know they are long, but do it.

100

Amazing!

UziOcelot | June 13, 2013 | See all UziOcelot's reviews »

Crytek never fails at making the most technically advanced games on pc. Crysis 3 continues the story in the series and adds a whole new setting. This time you are in a the ruins of the city that is overgrown with plant life and makes for a beautiful setting to hunt with your new bow. The story is awesome and the suit makes the game more exciting than your average FPS game. As far as graphics go, you will not find any game out at the moment with better graphics than this, this is as next gen as you can get so far.

70

Its beautiful but most certainly not polished!

ImValentineGuy | March 3, 2013 | See all ImValentineGuy's reviews »

Crysis 3 was my most anticipated game of this year, and after Crysis 2 I was expecting perfection. What I got was an amazingly beautiful game but completely not optimized. The first level is undoubtedly got the worst of it, I have dual Nvidia GTX 670 FTW in SLI and the game would play in 50-70 fps, but when I would enter certain areas it would drop suddenly to 17-18 fps!! it has nothing to do with FX but just completely random!! No Matter what the settings are! I had fun in this game, The story is interesting and the gameplay is top notch, but there's nothing that disappoints me more than a not optimized game that just wouldn't run smooth.

89

Great conclusion

Damien_Azreal | March 1, 2013 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

Crysis 3 brings the story full circle. Bringing a more personal and actually emotional entry to the Crysis trilogy, reuniting Prophet with Psycho and showing the hardship the characters have gone through over the years.

Gameplay is very similar to that of Crysis 2, a few small tweaks. A new upgrade system and a bow that allows for extended cloaked sequences...

Visually the game is stunning. And on PC, even on medium settings the game provides one of the best looking shooter campaigns to be found.

80

Awesome gameplay and graphics

Xiphora | Feb. 27, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

The Crysis series has been known to be the pinnacle of fps graphics and innovation. The Crysis formula - a gorgeous shooter with different approaches to missions returns once again, with spectacular fashion. The graphics are incredible and once again proves itself as the benchmark of visuals. The gameplay embraces the different approaces to missions - with different physical "modes" to activate, players will often play stealthy at one point, and at another point may run down the jungle of New York, gunning down everything in sight. Crysis 3 is a pleasure to play, and will likely entertain you during its sweet ride.