Reviews for Mirror's Edge (NA)

78

The ultimate first person parkour experience.

heerox328 | Dec. 7, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

Do you love DICE (Battlefield)? Do you love first person games? Do you salivate at the idea of a game based on parkour mechanics and martial arts? Mirror's Edge is right up your alley then.

The game, itself, is a breath of fresh air in an industry long plagued by established franchise and bloated AAA developers. The combat and interaction with the environment is incredibly engaging and fun. The combat is strikingly simplistic, yet complex when you combined your various abilities together.

The story itself is a bit lackluster, and the game isn't incredibly long, but this is a game worth playing. The game also still looks stunning considering when it was released and has a unique artistic style not seen in other games.

I'd definitely pick this game up, especially the next time it goes on sale. It truly is an experience everybody should have at least once.

95

Beautiful and Immersive

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | See all DragosLoL's reviews »

One of my favorite games out there, Mirror's Edge offers a vast, open, immersive environment for players to dive into. The gameplay makes you feel like you really are free running through a vast city, even when it's indoors. The graphics are simple yet beautifully immersive where every objective is visually clear. It's hard to get lost as everything in the game is color coded in some sort of way. The story has this mystery aspect to it and just makes you want to ask for more. The game's relatively short but time challenges make up for it. Compete against other people online to see who can dominate the fastest time in a course. Mirror's Edge is definitely a must play game and I'm really excited to try out Mirror's Edge 2.

88

Truly unique if flawed in some ways

Gmen | April 16, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Mirror’s Edge is unique seeing as to date it is the only major game where parkúr, or freerunning, features in a big way. You can traverse the city via the rooftops, tram stations, malls, the streets, and any other conceivable terrain, using or negotiating any and every obstacle in your path to get to your ultimate goal.

The graphics were and still are great, relying on colour schemes unique to games, with areas usually white or grey with reds, oranges, blues and greens catching the eye. This is certainly one of the more beautiful games out there, no doubt. The only thing that isn’t very pretty is the cutscenes.

The gameplay is different, refreshing, certainly separate it from the rest of the bunch. Having said that though, there is really only one way to play this game. Even though combat is featured in the game, it’s poor and doesn’t work well. This essentially being a parkúr simulator, the controls are also maddeningly frustrating to master – a far cry from the more simplistic approach employed by the likes of Assassin’s Creed.

Still, if you want something different from the run of the mill FPS, then this is a game you should consider.

95

Absolutely stunning experience

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | See all Pwnclub's reviews »

Mirror's Edge is very much a "love it or hate it". I belong to the former group, as I adored it.

First off, the graphics are fantastic, especially for 2009 (that's 5 years ago). Aesthetically, this game creates a colorful Utopian environment which looks gorgeous. The game play mechanic itself involves you parkouring on top of buildings, along edges and inside vents, avoiding cops who are shooting at you. What is interesting here is that although you CAN pick up various guns, the shooting mechanics are made very poorly- on purpose. This is because the game tries to steer you away from shooting the bad guys and encourages the player to find other, creative ways to get out of these kinds of situations. I think this is a brilliant idea.

I didn't pay that much attention to the story line and the cutscenes are pretty bad (thankfully you can skip them). But what the game does well is the game play itself, which is in my opinion the most important part of a video game.

If you are interesting in trying out a first-person parkour game, you can't really miss this title. I strongly recommend purchasing.

90

Might make you dizzy, but you'll love it.

radenthefridge | March 27, 2014 | See all radenthefridge's reviews »

I'd say my biggest concern with this game is it made me think I could actually do parkour in real life.

All joking aside, I enjoyed this game a lot. Some parts are better than others, and this game shines best when the enemy in the environment vs. the soldiers/guards. Similar to Prince of Persia, there's fighting, but it's when you're navigating and puzzle-solving that Mirror's Edge really stands out. That isn't to say I didn't like the fighting, but it just isn't the game's strongest quality.

There's also the speed-runs and leaderboards, but I just enjoyed playing through the main story.

97

For the price, worth it.

veshnov | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all veshnov's reviews »

This game is beautiful. Not only in game play and graphics, but the controls are the best I've seen in some time. Comfortable and responsive, these controls are easily changeable without compromising the game play, and the reaction time feature is amazing. (Reaction time is generated by free running, and slows down the game on command) The levels are quite decent, having to think about each jump for leaping. The first time you play, the recommended route will be highlighted in red, but upon completion, "Hard" mode will be unlocked, allowing you to figure out your own route, as well as making the combat more difficult. Combat is in depth, but can be avoided if desired. Lighting and graphics are AMAZING.

83

New Feel

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

Parkour in a game? That's something that most game designers don't think about, except for EA. This game is very unique because it has parkour and is also in first person view. I guess it makes you feel like you're the person in the game as you're playing the game itself. The length of the game is pretty decent with 9 chapters. There's also a chapter 0, but that chapter's relatively short, so I wouldn't really call it a chapter. Part 2 is currently in the making, so I recommend buying this game before part 2 comes out, or you can wait it out to see if the price for this one drops when part 2 comes out.

87

Very Intersting and Fun

Percyro | Jan. 8, 2014 | See all Percyro's reviews »

The first thing I noticed about this game is how different it is from most games I play. The game focuses a lot on parkour and hand-to-hand combat. This doesn't bother me, in fact I think this makes the game unique. The environment looks very nice and the graphics are pretty good. The cut scenes aren't really my style, but that's little to complain about. Everything seems to handle well. The controls were slightly difficult to begin with (not all, just some), but after the tutorial I was pretty much set. I think this game is very fun and should definitely be bought by those looking for a game with an intriguing story and fun parkour action.

89

Brings you into a whole new world

YugTaht | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all YugTaht's reviews »

I got Mirror's edge for PC when it was still expensive for console. It's a great game. At first, you might feel alil dizzy and confused because it is SUPER first-person view, but you get used to it. Story: Tbh, I haven't finished it myself, and it's not because I don't enjoy it, mainly because I've been busy. So far, the story is interesting and with meaning. And it doesn't feel that far off from our own world, so it's nice to see that it is in line with reality. Gameplay: Once again, confusing and hard to adapt to. Once you get a few minutes in though you will pick up everything you need to know and be wall running everywhere. The game is very realistic too (as annoying as that is) -- falling from a two floor drop will make you grunt and take damage (as any normal person would). The graphics are great, make sure you can take this baby up to high quality settings for the best experience. Overall: Very good game, enough to convince me to get Mirror's Edge 2 (whenever it finally comes out).

90

A cult classic

Patofilio | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all Patofilio's reviews »

Mirrors Edge is a game that is different from anything we have seen before, a first person shooter game based around Parkour and while it may sound strange DICE found a way to make it work.

Story: The story for Mirror's Edge is pretty good since it revolves around the changes in government within an intriguing city. The characters you meet are interesting, but don't expect anything ground breaking.

Gameplay: This is where the game truly shines and it is in its parkour inspired movement. Your best weapon are your feet, climbing walls, sliding under pipes and jumping from hide buildings is insanely fun and incredibly easy to do, but also difficult to master, the first person look fits perfectly, making you truly feel like a runner. Gun play however is not as good, but fortunately you will rarely find yourself in need of a gun, most of the game can be easily beaten by running from your enemies rather than confronting them directly.

Overal Mirror's Edge is a pretty good game, with some interesting mechanics that are not for everyone but are definitely worth trying. A true cult classic and an underdog in the genre Mirror's Edge is the game you'll want to play at least once.

85

Unique game

fverret | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all fverret's reviews »

Mirror's Edge is a great game with a fantastic ambiance. I love being able to run across rooftops and even inside buildings. However, the scope of the levels is quite limited and I would have liked a more open world. The mission pushes you forward, so you rarely have time to just enjoy yourself. The gunplay also feels out of place; I feel the developer should have focused on disarm and hand-to-hand combat for the protagonist. As a runner, it feels weird to pick up a big automatic weapon to kill my enemies, especially since they are usually just doing their job.

Still, this is a unique experience with a lot of personality. It should be played. Hopefully, we will see another Mirror's Edge with a slightly better focus in the future.

82

Cool looking and well pulled off.

SuburbanWalrus | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all SuburbanWalrus's reviews »

A great view of a dystopian future, and some inventive gameplay.

90

Parkour fun

aznsnsn | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

This is the first decent game I have found that incorporates parkour and shooting together. The many different kinds of tricks that you can pull out going all over the map really sets this game apart from most rpgs. The graphics are a cross between half-life 2 and portal with a little more cartoonish edge. Following the plot line in a comic strip like 2D setting does make this game seem a little less than it could ahve been. The combat system is realistic, where you slow down depending on the size of your gun and the inability to hold multiple clips of ammo, making the game somewhat strategic. This game has put an interesting twist on rpgs and is worth the money.

100

My Favorite EA Game

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

I saw one, yes just one, video of gameplay for this game, and immediately went out and bought it, why didn't I find this game sooner? I found myself playing this game straight through with no breaks at all (Well, maybe to grab a cup of coffee) but I beat it all, and the experience of this game was amazing. Here are a few of the things I LOVED about this game. It was new, unique, and interesting. The Style of the game was all about Parkour, Action, and close combat confrontation. You'd be running on one building, jump to another, barrel roll into an enemy and knock him out by kicking him after you were done rolling. Now, what kind of game offers that? Also, the levels in this game were absolutely stunning! The graphics and time put into this game must've been unbelievable, because at moments I'd have to remind myself that I was playing a video game. Not many games offer Beautiful Graphics alongside an Amazing storyline, WITH the gameplay of legends. I've always wanted a game where I could run around and parkour, and am SUPER excited for the next one! Only downside to this game, is that it was too short. I could played for another twenty levels, but the game just seemed to come to a quit stop, and then done. The game was so amazing, I wish it just continued on for a while longer, but I guess all great games must come to end sometime! If you're looking for a game with a storyline like no other, epic gameplay, and some intense action mixed with Parkour, this is TOTALLY your kind of game!

76

A lot of things could have been done better.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Caputalis's reviews »

Mirror's Edge would have been a pretty good game, if it hadn't been for a few flaws in its gameplay and controls. Firstly, the controls their selves are confusing and seemingly unresponsive. You'll go to wall run, and your character won't do it, and will simply fall down. Another thing is that looking around while holding onto ledges and poles is very frustrating, as you can only look left and right, and not up or down. There are times where your character should have been able to grab onto something, but then doesn't. As for the gameplay, Mirror's Edge features a unique free running style of play that'd be great, if it wasn't for the bad controls. This severely limits your immersion, as you know you should be able to make a jump, or you go to wall run, but then your character just doesn't respond to what you want to do. The combat system isn't very good either in this game, with enemies not flinching at all when you throw your whole body at them, or acting severely effecting by a simple punch. You cannot hide from enemies, either, as if they can see through walls, or have eyes on top of their heads. In all, I'd recommend getting Mirror's Edge when it's discounted, because I can't truly say I feel it's worth its full price.

80

Fun, unique but wish there was more

Qosmonaut | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Qosmonaut's reviews »

It was one of the first of its kind: a first-person parkour game. The freerunning feels great when you can seamlessly progress through levels without losing speed. The combat system is lacking and can be frustrating at times.

90

WOW! So good!

OmittingCoder | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

Too bad it is published by the infamous company EA... Anyways this game is boss. Super boss. And also underrated, this game looks great on the PC even though it seems like it came out so long ago. I've beaten this game a couple times through and I can't get enough of it. The only complaint I have is that the dang cutscenes are like cartoons and it is just stupid. The story is good if you watch those dreaded cutscenes. WORTH IT!

90

A fun free running game.

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

Mirrors edge did something that other games had never done before, make running smooth and fun! While the controls can be finnicky and troublesome it doesn't stop the game from being a great time for the player. The game has a different kind of difficulty where if you are genuinely bad at the game, it will punish you, However if you are good at it, the game is a smooth.

If you are looking for a game that's not really like anything else definitely get this game!

90

One of a kind game.

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Mirror's Edge offers a very unique experience. You play as Faith, a freerunner that parkours on the cities rooftops. You jump up walls, slide down slopes, run across buildings, and leap far distances. The whole game is a non-stop action packed adventure that will have you feeling exhilarated every second of the way. The combat comes every once in a while, and I had no complaints what so ever. For how fun the parkouring is, the gunplay and combat equally accompany the gameplay. No other game plays like this, and everyone should give it a shot.

90

Intense and Atmospheric

bwrussell | July 16, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

For a game that, at first blush, is defined by it's mechanics Mirror's Edge has a moving story, an engaging atmosphere, and some very intense sequences.

While current video game technology will never be able to create a perfect parkour simulation this game actually pulls off what easily could have been a disaster with flying colors. I had initially avoided this game for a few years due to reports of the free running being frustrating and buggy but after playing it, it quickly became one of my favorite games. The free running mechanics are actually good and as a result you typically aren't left button mashing the controls or messing up a (no enemies) sequence to many times.

This leads us to the enemies and combat. Most of the time you can or must avoid direct confrontation to survive which leads to some of the most intense chase sequences I think I've ever played. This is where the first person perspective really shines. Because some of the other enemies can also free run you can not look back to see where they're at. You can just hear their footsteps and shouting, right behind you, closing fast. Combined with the fact that you'll be hard pressed to take down more than a solo enemy means you really feel the need to flee and the terror that accompanies it. That being said there are several places where you are forced to confront multiple, armed, enemies which leads to some frustration as you try not to take more than the couple of hits that are fatal while working out the path and using the unforgiving combat system. The combat system has several moves but I struggled to remember and execute the more advanced ones because the speed at which encounters occur and the low amount of damage you can take (I have no issue with this, it's better than taking a clip and a half).

A few more misc notes: The musical scoring is excellent, particularly during the last level where the music really conveys the mood and mind set well during lulls in action. While no end credits song may ever unseat "Still Alive" from Portal the end credits song from Mirror's Edge (odly enough titled "Still Alive" as well) is high on my list. Also, watch through the credits as there are little audio clips that act as an epilog. The 2D animated art style for the cut scenes is interesting and seems to work well.

Overall I highly recommend this game. With Mirror's Edge 2 finally confirmed you may see deals popping up but if you need a break from hiding behind walls, shooting people that are different from you then Mirror's Edge is a terrific choice.

60

A Cool Parkour Simulator

UberGeekGamer | July 15, 2013 | See all UberGeekGamer's reviews »

EA for the past couple years have been stale and boring and not releasing anything really great or innovative. But EA has seems to have turned a new leaf with the past couple releases including Mirror's Edge.

The game is about Faith, a runner in a futuristic totalitarian world were everyone is under surveillance and any opposition to the powers at are quelled. Faith finds herself part of a murder plot and she goes out to finds out the who's and why's.

Mirror's Edge main attraction is the gameplay as all of it is from a first person view and most of the time the player is running around climbing, jumping, sliding, and flying around than shooting. It's a weird experience to play and would advise people that are susceptible to motion sickness to either take precautions or not play the game. Controls for the game are pretty easy to get used to so most players should be pulling the basic maneuvers pretty fast. Graphics are kinda mix bag for me as the textures are nice but not great because everything is white washed, even though it fits the primary color's only future. Music is pretty good and fits to the game well blending into the background making the player feel like Faith is wearing a MP3 player while running. Plus the theme to the game, Still Alive sung by Lisa Miskovsky, really nice sounding.

The only thing I really found annoying is the story is very simple and short and that the combat is very limited and needs work but overall the game is really good and would like to see a sequel sometime is the future.

90

Fun, with a controller or keyboard.

CurtisMN | June 21, 2013 | See all CurtisMN's reviews »

Definitely a new kind of game, with the new one coming out, there is little reason not to buy this now. I wish it had spawned off a whole new genre of free running games.

94

Amazing Free Running Game

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Mirror's Edge is one of the greatest, if not the best free running game of all time. The graphics are beautiful and detailed but seem a bit bright at tines, The controls are very tight and easy to learn and pick up. The game sounds very nice and the soundtrack is perfect. The story isn't bad and feels like a weak attempt to piece together the cinematic moments. There are lots of awesome cinematic moments that are very exciting to play through. Helicopters chasing you, swat teams shooting at you while you're trying to get to the roof of a building etc. Very exciting and fun. If you're looking for a fun free running game this is highly recommended.

100

Fantastic!!

mathcat | June 13, 2013 | See all mathcat's reviews »

Brilliant game. Amazing!!!!!. Wow what a great game.

85

New type of games

lok0812 | June 11, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

An unique game play style that mixes parkour with action combat. As the player you are instructed to get to the finish point of each mission. In a huge map it is your choice to figure out how you want to get to your destination with different types of parkour moves. Enemies will also be presented in the stage that serves as blockade to your run and that is where the action combats comes in even though that isn't a lot of those. The game would be flawless if it includes some sort of multiplayer that allows player to race against a friend online but sadly the game only have leaderboard as multiplayer aspect. This game last around 7-9 hours depending your play style. Definitely must try if you are looking for a new type of gameplay.

75

Amazing idea, mediocre execution.

tusccar | May 5, 2013 | See all tusccar's reviews »

This is one of those games that makes you realize how important a unique game is in the gaming industry. The feeling of flying through the air and relying on blind judgement and the hope that what is below this building ledge is another ready to cushion your fall and keep you running.

This game, while a great play, suffers tremendously from poor execution. Thestory is very short and not so sweet. It leaves tyou wanting more and features one of the most anti-climatic and lack luster endings. The choice of animation for the cut scenes was a poor choice and you will instantly become disconnected from the gameplay. The idea of creating your own path and relying on split second judgements was a strong feature of this game....so it seemed. The path to completion in each level is rather linear and many failed attempts to venture away and create your own experience will leave you falling to your death.

The combat is very shallow when it comes to hand to hand. However the strongest points were the combat integrated with parkour. However, that sliding kick or jumping tackle soon leave you in a very awkward fist fight. You have the option of taking someone's gun if you mash the right button at the right time, however it will leave you on the edge of your seat hoping that you pressed the right sequence of buttons and Faith uses the gun rather than throws it away.

The slow motion feature was rarely used in my many playthroughs. Most of the time it was used when I forgot that you could not reload by pressing R. I was then left with no way out as i ran slowly towards an enemy that had his gun trained on me.

This is a very enjoyable game. However much should not be expected from item its shallow plot, linear paths, and painful combat will pain you. Because this could have been great in so many ways. It just missed its mark slightly. However if you can look past those flaws it is a very enjoyable game.

79

A Unique experience if you have the stomach!

i6ix | March 15, 2013 | See all i6ix's reviews »

The Good: A unique, fast paced game that will surely keep your blood pumping with it's fast pace and vivid visuals. The whole emulation of free-running can be incredibly entertaining on it's own, with the addition of this very cool main character you will surely enjoy the ride.

However, a ride it surely is.

The Bad: IF YOU GET MOTION SICKNESS: be prepared. Sit back from the screen a bit. Take breaks. This game made me feel ill a few times, because of the nature of the game.

It was still a great experience. But if fps makes you ill, this will likely as well.

Lastly, the title is short; That may be good or bad.

83

Unique

Xiphora | March 1, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Mirror's Edge is a game largely based on free-running, which allows for a unique gaming experience because of its gameplay as a fast-paced first person parkour game. Mirror's Edge running mechanics are very simply but hard to nail, and its combat mechanics are mostly hand to hand, with few usage of guns. Mirror's Edge is a very special game, and while some may hope for it to be an open world running adventure, still delivers solid gameplay.