Reviews for BioShock® 2

90

Better or wose than first Bioshock?

Obsessor | Aug. 24, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

People are divided among lovers and haters of Bioshock 2. I say it's just... different from its predecessor. It improves on what was good in the first game, buffs up the graphics a bit(Little Sisters aren't looking like some horror movie creeps anymore).

You can argue if the story is as good as it was in Bioshock 1. I can't really decide if I liked the first or the second game best. Both appeal to me in some ways. I enjoyed being a hunted survivor of plane crash from Bioshock as much as impersonating a Big Daddy in the second game. And having a fixed goal from the beginning - saving Elanor was a nice touch compared to "I don't know where I am or what I'm doing" atmosphere from the first game.

You just have to answer this question for yourself. But be sure, you won't be disappointed playing Bioshock 2.

97

Awesome Part2

yngdr | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

a great game with visuals and sounds that enhance the experience. great controls for a game that keeps you stuck in your seat till your eyes are tearing from lack of sleep. enemies that think and are stupid at same time. (think smart junkies). A sequel that helps the player understand what and why the events of the first and second happened and wrap them up. Sounds immerse you in the underwater world of Rapture. the game give you a choice on how to play with rewards; harvester or savior the choice is yours alone.

97

A masterpiece

NekroStrike | Aug. 11, 2014 | See all NekroStrike's reviews »

Have you even wonder how magic works? Well, here is the answer. I didn't played much this game, but I can say it's amazing. It made me feel good taking care of a little sister, it made me feel a good daddy. The gameplay is not only shooting and kill stuff, it's more than this. Even if it's not an Open World game, you want to explore the game, to find something to help your journey. It is, in one way, tactically game, when you start a fight, its not only "pew pew, look, i just smashed him", no. You think what you will do in that fight.

It also have a multiplayer, which I didn't played yet, but I'm sure it's going to be another great experience. I heard it have some interesting game modes, so I can't wait to play it.

I highly recommend this game for those who want to have some great time in an interesting FPS.

80

Back to Rapture

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

Bioshock 1 had this really great feel to it. It was unique and felt thick with it's atmosphere. Bioshock 2 is an enjoyable game, but it doesn't really add much to the first. The story is interesting and we learn more about what went on in Rapture, but a lot of what made the first game great comes out a bit stale here.

When viewing it on it's own, it's an interesting game. You play as a prototype Big Daddy. One of the very first. Problem is, you died. Ten years later, you're revived by in a Vita-Chamber. I liked the plot and the twists. Gun play and plasmids were done much like the first game, with a few small changes. I never found myself bored with fights. I did notice some stability problems, though. A crash or two isn't a big deal, but I became a bit paranoid about it.

85

A solid sequel with minor improvements

fuzeblu | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all fuzeblu's reviews »

Bioshock 2 brings us back to the world of Rapture not as a man, but as a Big Daddy, a very refreshing change of pace. If you are familiar with the original Bioshock, there is little difference between the two, but there are improvements in combat with effectively using both hands and some story telling elements that alter choices more often. I find the driving ambiance and arch in 2 to be less engrossing, but it is still very on par with what makes Bioshock special. Overall, this game is a great continuation of the story in Rapture. I would suggest picking it up!

89

More entertaining than the previous one

eduardXD | July 29, 2014 | See all eduardXD's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is the next step in the franchise.The game does not innovate enough to surprise us as the first one did it. The graphics are almost identical to the previous one. The environment still being the fantastic Rapture. So, why is it special? Because it improved in the most important aspect of a videogame: the fun. In bioshock 2 we will pass of playing from a mere human to a Big Daddy, so all our weapons will be more powerful,but it does not mean that the game will be easier, on the contrary, there will be new enemies that will test us our use of weapons and plasmids. Also we will have the responsibility to protect our little sisters to collect adam that will help us a lot. The story is the continuation of the first game, but maybe it will leave us many doubts because of the differences that will appear. Bioshock 2 is for those who needed to return to Rapture to appreciate it a little more. It is not so impressionable as the previous release but still being a great game.

92

Almost as good as the first

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is a game with much more focus on the gameplay than the original Bioshock. You now play as a Big Daddy named Subject Delta, who has to traverse Rapture to rescue his Little Sister, named Eleanor. While some people bash this game for having a weaker plot, the story is still great. Although not as good as that of Bioshock's, Bioshock 2's story is still an emotional and powerful ride.

Bioshock 2 has vastly improved gameplay over its predecessor. You can now have a plasmid in one hand and a gun in the other, which allows for much smoother gameplay and combat. You can also use a Big Daddy drill for even more combat variety. For fans of the first game, Bioshock 2 is a must-play. While some may bash it, it is still a fantastic game.

96

A complete work of art

Eyeless42 | April 25, 2014 | See all Eyeless42's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is a terrific sequel to the first game. The story elements mantain the level of the first Bioshock, delivering a simple yet compelling narrative. The graphics are great and looked wonderful when maxed out. The soundtrack is beautiful. The game mechanics stay unchanged from the first game but there are additions to the customizations you can make.

Overall this is an excellent game and above all it is a general work of art.

97

Would you kindly play Bioshock 2?

Zazutuu | April 14, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is not as good as the first one but still a very good game.The story is really good and involves more kind of decisions.Some gameplay elements have been added but the gameplay remained almost the same.This game includes multiplayer which is not that great but I like it.In the main story you take role of a big daddy named Delta who is in the search of his little sister,Eleanor.The game is really worth it's money.

90

Shockingly good

Leander | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all Leander's reviews »

Even at this day, Bioshock 2 is a worthy successor of the original Bioshock. I personally find it an improvement that you're able to use both your hands for a weapon and a plasmid at the same time. The end is also a lot more satisfying than the original bioshocks ending.

I've played Bioshock 2 on a Windows 8 PC. This isn't something I would recommend to do, since Bioshock 2 crashes frequently on W8 as well as on W8.1. It's a lot more stable on W7.

Bioshocks ambiance hasn't changed in the series. It's still as well creepy as beautiful, as well dangerous as restful. The sound isn't going to amaze you, but the screams of the big sisters and the moaning of the big daddies are timed well and really add something to your gameplay.

Overall I would give this game a rating of 9 out of 10. It's a classic one with a nice storyline and good graphics when you take it in respect to the date it was made in. The only 'really' disadvantage was that there appeared to be a non-OS-based bug which disabled me from using all my weapons - I was left with only a drill, hacking tool and a camera.

100

Not the best, but pretty good.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Bioshock 2 has nothing on the original, lets say that first. story wise, the first was way more interesting story wise, but this one hits the nail on the head just as well. it has all the best parts of the first, but continues the story to give you a more fleshed out idea of what Rapture was and is. My favorite addition is the ways that you encounter enemies. It seems a little more random if you re-play the same levels over, enemies will spawn in different locations and at different times. The range of enemies as well have gotten a lot better too. not only do we have to deal with splicers and big daddies, but now there's tank like people (very strong) and a big sister (who is scary as, to have to deal with).

its a great game and deserves your money.

82

Not as great as the first game

Gmen | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

The problem with this game is that nothing really that new is presented. It’s really just a glorified expansion when all is said and done.

Graphically it’s much the same. Getting to play as a Big Daddy? We did that in the original BioShock. Although you do get to go through the experience for a lot longer this time. Some of your combat tactics will change. As a Bid Daddy you are not invulnerable, so you need to use your noggin when taking on a group of splicers. If anything, the combat is much more vicious than it was in the first game.

Getting to explore the ocean floor is arguably the biggest change here, seeing as in the original you couldn’t even set foot in water that was above ankle height.

You have a few new weapons and plasmids to play with, but other than that, if you’re looking for something radically different from the first game, you’re better off trying BioShock Infinite.

95

Old game with good factors

Freako | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is indeed really shocking to be honest.

Bioshock 2 has crossed the genre of action/shooter/horror at the same time. You get to experience all of these cheap thrills when playing this game. Making small decisions along the way might change your gameplay a little.

What maintains in Bioshock 2 would be BIG DADDY. Everyone loves big daddy. He is great and awesome, some may find him evil , some actually like him.I personally adore him. The game may not seem like your type of game but i can guarantee when this game comes to sales. You better purchase it if not you are losing out in alot of fun.

Yes it maybe an old game. But this old game beats may other shooter games i have played in my gaming years.

88

Back to a beautiful world

andrealbu | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all andrealbu's reviews »

After the greatness of the original Bioshock comes this sequel telling a whole new story about Rapture and its people. Bioshock 2 lives to expectations and unravels new perspectives. It feels great playing as a Big Daddy and as a little sister, though the latter may feel very mechanical. The FPS experience is as solid as never before and the gameplay for me is better than the original. The variety of weapons, both old and new ones only improves the game. The adding of a multiplayer mode is a good feature though its incomparably worse than the singleplayer campaign. The story, just as the original, is the better part of this experience, full of dark drama and twists again.

82

A worthy successor

drakso | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

A second game in the Bioshock franchise, and a good one at that. For a player that doesn't know what Bioshock is, its a FPS game, renowned not for the usual weapons or shoot - mechanics but by the story and the experience. As a worthy successor of the original Bioshock, you can expect to find a great story telling and an amazing look at another perspective on the mysterious city called Rapture. This time you won't be playing the same silent protagonist, but take another roll, as a special big daddy. The gun play is still the same, but the addition of the drill is a warm surprise. The enhancements are also more or less the same. As oppose to the original, Bioshock 2 is a far longer game and is a bit hard at times. It is still not a hard game but its somewhat harder than the first.

80

Still good.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

This game doesn't achieve the same lofty heights as the original, but that doesn't stop it from being a good game that's worth playing. This time, you play as a big daddy. The combat is therefore noticeably better than in the first games, which is good, as it was the original's weakest feature. A lot of the new weapons such as the drill (your default weapon) feel much more satisfying than the old game's weapons. You are also now able to dual wield weapons and vigors, which adds a lot to the gameplay. The hacking mini-game is also better than it was before. However, the game falls down on its story, which, although good, is not as good or innovative as the original's. Nor does the underwater city have the same impact. Still, it is a decent game, and notably has the very good 'Minerva's Den' DLC, which has a story that is in my opinion better than this game's.

90

Very funny game

Fuorilegge | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all Fuorilegge's reviews »

Play as a Big Daddy named 'Subject Delta', with new weapons in the fallen Rapture of first Bioshck. You still have, as the first chapter, a huge set of plasmid and weapons to use on enemies (splicers, turrets, Big Daddy and even a new powerful adversaries, the Big Sisters) on the way to reunite with Eleanore, 'your' little sister.

The second chapter of the Bioshock saga isn't as brilliant as the first one. It is still an awesome game, with a nice gameplay, beautiful setting and a very intensive plot, but it isn't at the same level as the first Bioshock. It seems more like and extension (howewer) higly recommended to the fans.

93

Solid Bioshock game

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

While not necessarily as enthralling as Bioshock or at all as beautiful as Infinite, I would still say Bioshock 2 is my favorite in the series so far because it's single player gameplay is rock solid for me. I think being the first big daddy brings a lot of new possibilities that you may find yourself discovering and enjoying, it's not for everyone because it's a dark game like the original; but it is incredible.

91

Great sequel!

stownd | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all stownd's reviews »

I really enjoyed playing the singleplayer campaign of BioShock 2. The major difference betwen BioShock 2 and the first game is that you play as a Big Daddy. This will have an effect on the basic gameplay mechanics and on the combat.

The story: The story is set 10 years after the happenings of the first BioShock game. This time you play as Delta - he is the first Big Daddy. At the beginning of the game you see a video where Sofia Lamb makes the player to put a gun to his head and pull the trigger infront of his littler sister which is called Eleanor. Ten years later you wake up somehow (reason for this is explained at the end of the game). Your task is it to find Eleanor (your little sister) who is caged by her mother (Sofia Lamb). Sofia Lamb is the Leader of some cult or political group so you have to deal with her followers, before you can save your little sister.

Singleplayer: The most time you'll spend in Rapture (name of the city under water) is defined by combat. The so called Splicers (citizens of Rapture who became insane by consuming too much Adam - Adam is genetically material which is needed to use Plasmids and Tonics) are the main enemies in the game. Some of them use normal Weapons like Shotguns, Tommy Guns and Revolvers, others mutated into muscle-packed melee fighters and some even fight you with Plasmids. Sometimes you have to deal with some bigger enemies like other Big Daddys or even Big Sisters.

Weapons: There are only 7 different weapons but each has 3 different ammo types. My favorite weapon is the Big Daddy Drill. With it's melee attaks you can bring down even larger enemies in a few seconds.

Plasmids: You can use trhe so called plasmids (genetically modifications) to kill your foes. Plasmids require EVE with every use (eve is comparable to mana in an RPG). Every Plasmid has 2 upgrades - with every upgrade they are getting stronger or gain a new ability. For example the fire plasmid: First you can set your enemie on fire, then you can charge it to shoot a fireball which will explode, burning multiple enemies and with the last upgrade you can use it as a flamethrower.

Tonics: Tonics are passive abilities (similar to perks in Call of Duty). You have 18 slots but there are much more tonics available. Tonics improve your combat skills, weapon damage, haccking skills or let you carry more health packs for example.

I didn't had the chance to experience the multiplayer yet but i'm sure it will kick ass!

BioShock is one of the greatest FPS. The fictional setting with all it's characters, places and ideas is just terrific. The singleplayer campaign feels nice and the atmosphere is just awesome. You can't stop playing until you're done with the game. With multiple endings the game has a replayability!

90

Fun Singleplay, Great Multiplayer!

Kevduit | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

The Singleplayer was totally re-imagined in this game. Instead of being just a regular human, you can be a Big Daddy deep sea diver! With whole new weapons, you're now ready to fight for a worthy cause! (which I will not spoil in this review) The campaign was very fun, and full of action, and the Multiplayer was something like no other. There were whole new game modes added into the game for Multiplayer, which made it incredibly fun. If you liked the first Bioshock game, but wanted multiplayer game modes in the game, Bioshock 2 is for you! It really was a great game, full of action and suspense!

90

Simply brilliant.

Bobafett2k6 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Bobafett2k6's reviews »

(this review is also on my Steam profile - Bobafett2k6)

The sequel to Bioshock is equally as brilliant. The story keeps you going and the huge array of weapons and 'plasmids' which are essentially powers that you can upgrade with the collection of Adam gives you an almost unending list of possible ways to dispose of the crazy wild eyed drug addicts of Rapture. There are lots of customisation options to change 'on the fly' as you pound through each area that will keep you busy just trying each combination of plasmids and weapons. The locations all look good and help to build a sense of atmosphere in the underwater city and there is also a large amount of different enemies to keep you on your toes. All in all it's just brilliant, if you don't own it, buy it.

90

Good sequel, but missing something

nightassassin1 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This sequel of the original Bioshock adds some interesting gameplay improvements, different plot angles, some new weapons, and some more information on what really happened in that underwater city. This is all nice additions, but the game feels almost exactly like Bioshock 1. I am not sure if they meant to make it seem like the exact same game from a different perspective or a simple continuation, however it seems like you walked out of the last game and into this one with little change other than the story itself.

With that said, this game is not bad, just not what was expected from 2K as a sequel. The game is very much playable and just as interesting as the first, however it is almost like a continuation of the first without too much of an upgrade. Almost like you watched an episode of Stargate SG-1 and now you are watching another episode.

I would recommend this to Bioshock fans. If you do not have the first game you should go pick that up first and then if you like that one, grab this game. I liked the first a bit more than this one and I feel I will not have enjoyed this one as much if I had not played the first.

88

Great game with great new features

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

First off, play the original first. You can play this without playing the first bioshock, but you won't truly appreciate #2 without having experienced #2. With that said, #2 takes all of the great elements of the first game, improves upon them, and then throws in new very cool features. Weapons, plasmids, the graphics, the level destructiveness, etc are all improved and freshened in this sequel. All the same great gameplay and storywriting skill are present in this one and that makes it another must have game for any gamer.

93

Deserves more praise than it receives

TCass29 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Bioshock 2 gets a lot of flack because everybody says the story isn't as strong as the original Bioshock. I disagree. I think the twist in the original Bioshock is legendary and makes that game what it is but the story overall in Bioshock 2 is stronger. The gameplay is better in 2 but the atmosphere in the original is leagues superior. Being able to wield weapons and plasmids at the same time is great.

You'd be doing yourself a disservice if you didn't play all three Bioshock games.

93

This game is emotionally superb

ccroatian | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all ccroatian's reviews »

I think they made it again. I mean a superb game, good story, better combat. It's hard to put down. I personally like the game setting in the history. The big daddy and the little sister plot remins me the beauty and the monster.

90

The game is amazing!

MOAOVOG | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all MOAOVOG's reviews »

Such a nice atmosphere in it. The gameplay was somewhat better then the first but still I love both of them. If you are really looking for some fun then i recommend getting this game.

90

Sequel to a great story game

lok0812 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is a sequel to the original Bioshock which was known for its gameplay and its twisted story. The setting is still the same as the previous Bioshock with the improvement of easier gameplay and acceptable story. The game still allow the player to make choices similar to the end of the original Bioshock. Truly an FPS game that have gameplay and story that were done top notch and deserve to be play. If you are looking for a solid FPS game that is not generic like many others in the market then definitely give this a try and you will not disappoint.

83

Decent Sequel

FlamingDbag | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all FlamingDbag's reviews »

For its gameplay improvements and different plot angles alone It's a worthy sequel, but its biggest flaw is it barely dazzles as much as the first game did. Despite the fact you play as a Big Daddy and the plot digs deeper into the ruined underwater city.

Play it if you want more Bioshock gameplay with new lore to discover, just don't expect for the story to finally pick itself up until near the end. If there's something this game proves though, it's that giant drills make AMAZING weapons.

86

Weaker atmosphere than the original, but better gameplay

FhexSans | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

To start, it should be noted that I was a huge BioShock fan back in the day. I played through the original around 7 or so times and I never got sick of it for one moment. That said, when I saw that there was a BioShock 2 coming out, I already had a feeling it couldn't live up to its predecessor. BioShock's story, although very weak, felt like it tied up everything with a pretty bow and there wasn't much more room for another narrative in Rapture. And to that part I was partially correct. I stress "partially".

The narrative wasn't really as strong as the original, but felt a little bit more straightforward; it felt like a lot of the political and social undertones in the original were put more to the side in BioShock 2 in favor of a story that deals more with the personal aspect of Rapture's demise, which isn't bad but is a marked turn in narrative. The general atmosphere of the game doesn't feel like it changed a lot from the original, but it does not feel as captivating as the original in quite a few aspects, but that might only be because it's not nearly as unfamiliar to veterans of the series as it was when we first stepped out of the bathysphere in the original, so newcomers of the series might disagree with me entirely.

The gameplay has improved quite a bit, though, in contrast to the former game in the series. Plasmids feel more integrated with use with guns this time around for example as you don't need to switch between plasmids and guns; one hand holds a gun while the other is a plasmid. This makes it really easy to do things like the classic "1-2 Punch" from the original BioShock, even in larger groups. The plasmids in general also got quite a bit stronger, so you'll find yourself using them much more often based on their own merits. The guns, although different from the original game's, don't feel much different from their counterparts (e.g. the drill and the wrench, the minigun and the machine gun, etc). Research, too, also feels more integrated. Instead of having to take out your camera to take pictures, one after the other, in hopes you don't die taking them, you now just have to switch to your research camera once, select the target, and let your camera roll, which allows you to combat the enemy and get points based on how "original" the way you dispatch it is to how you did it in the past. This also gives you an incentive to change up the way you play the game quite often, as the more you do "original research" the better bonuses you can receive.

The enemies are mostly the same ones from the original BioShock, but with a few notable inclusions like the explosive-carrying Daddies (whose name escapes me right now, but I think they were called Boomers), the Alpha Daddies, and Brute Splicers. I won't spoil the latter two, but they do make the gameplay even more varied.

On the note of the multiplayer, it felt very unoriginal although there were some good ideas. The loadout customization, the new guns (like the Elephant Gun, for example), the masks, and the visual degradation of your player-character as you rank up (to give you the impression that your character is becoming more spliced up over time) were all incredibly good ideas. Protect the sister, too, felt quite nice for a time. But at the end, it just did not feel like it was enough and, in my own personal opinion, it got stale after a while. I haven't picked up the multiplayer since but I've heard it has all but died on us. It's sad, but not all that unforeseen.

To summarize, the narrative has its good parts, but it didn't feel as strong as the originals. Newer players might find the atmosphere quite refreshing from other games, but veterans of the series will find its the same Rapture as before, not much different. However, I believe the more streamlined gameplay really adds a lot to the BioShock experienced, as well as the new additions to enemies and so forth, but the multiplayer really leaves something to be desired.

95

Brilliant game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

I absolutely loved the first Bioshock and thought that a sequel set in Rapture, albeit eight years later, was going to be far too similar to the first. Initially, my first reaction to the new game was just that. However, as I played the game and got deeper into it I began to really appreciate the differences made.

Firstly, the weapons are quite different, the most interesting addition perhaps being the drill. There is also the rivet gun and the spear gun. A funky new addition is the remote hacker, which is used to shoot darts at remote units to hack them, but can also deploy turrets to help defend areas. The shotgun makes a return but is still rubbish in my opinion although the special rounds are a little different and can be quite effective. Also returning is the machine gun (though more like a gatling gun), the rocket launcher and the research camera, although it works like a movie camera this time.

I loved actually playing as a Big Daddy. Of course the player in the first game had to turn himself into a Big Daddy, but this did not affect the gameplay at all. In the new game, you sound, move and attack like a Big Daddy should. It always spooks me a little when the Little Sisters refer to me as 'Daddy' and look at me lovingly with those vacant eyes, but it does make the player feel more like a Big Daddy. I like the fact that the player actaully takes the Sisters to 'angels' to extract Adam. It can be quite difficult fending off enemies in this process, but the turrets, rivet traps, rocket launcher mines and spear traps all come in handy.

I found the new hacking game so much better. The old one, where you had to rearrange pipes, was pretty fun to play but was so repetitive and time consuming, and after 50 hacks or so I began to hate those blasted pipes. The new game features a skill stop game - you must stop the needle on a green area or a blue one, which gives a special bonus that could be a first aid kit or extra cash in a safe.

It was a little disappointing that so much was the same in the new game, such as the vending machines, most of the plasmids and tonics, and most of the denzien types. But how different could a game environment be that is set in the same underwater dystopian city. I found that Bioshock 2 was as addictive as the first in terms of gameplay. I also found the new storyline very good, but thought that the Dr Lamb character was fairly redundant. I think perhaps if the player had a direct affect on her outcome, as opposed to the actual indirect affect, then she may have felt more relevant. I'm not saying that she has no effect on the storyline at all, far from it in fact, but the developers could have made the relationship between her and the player alot more interactive.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I think those who love a good story and an addictive gameplay will love it. Those who expected a game which was totally new but at the same time a clear sequel to the first were perhaps expecting too much. I thought that the game was a fantastic sequel to the first and moved the Bioshock franchise forward - for example, we know now what it feels like to be a little sister and a Big Daddy, and we know more about the power rivalrys in pre-civil war Rapture.

90

A Solid Sequel

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

A solid sequel to Bioshock, Bioshock 2 retains many of the best things about its predecessor: the atmosphere and gameplay, while adding in new enemies and even more tension. A must-have.

86

Less of a bang than the first

darkyhbk | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

It is almost impossible to surpass the genius and utter perfection of the masterpiece that Bioshock was. So hard, that Bioshock 2 doesn't really do it. It is a fantastic experience, no doubt, but it's just not as much an impact as the original game was. The graphics-sound combination is as flawless as in the first game. All the elements work perfectly together, and it is a marvel to see and hear Bioshock 2. The confided environments look so artistic, while the voice acting is brilliant, and the music selection shows much good taste in the producers' decisions. However, the gameplay is more or less the same. Shooting and plasmid use work slightly better, and there are some new enemy types, but everything else is pretty much the same. Of course, this does not mean the game is boring, not at all- you'll be hooked in from start to finish, always marveling when exploring a new area, but it's not much of the improvement you'd expect. Storywise, the characters are less memorable, and the allusions are less impacting, despite a number of sections that surpass some of the original game's. However, this is understandable, as you cannot really offer an entirely different experience in the same setting. Despite being more of the same, Bioshock 2 is nevertheless a masterpiece, an enjoyable and memorable experience that every gamer should go through at least once.

98

No Brainer.. This game is LEGENDARY

Demadizz | July 29, 2013 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

I couldn't put the game down, adds about another 9 hours of gameplay to the rapture story. Story was just as good as the first, the gameplay was even better, added alot of new techniques. Awesome all around, great buy. I Managed to get both 1 & 2 for 10 bucks, and that was a steal. Get it when it goes on sale. Or damn buy it for full price! Buying the DLC now, for 10 bucks!

80

Gameplay makes up for the less powerful narrative experience

badgersmacker | July 18, 2013 | See all badgersmacker's reviews »

It is hard to follow in the footsteps of such a beloved game. Indeed, most that merely try to ride the coattails of their predecessor fall flat on their face and are lampooned by the community. Bioshock 2 does not fall into that trap. The greatly enhanced gameplay of this sequel makes it hard to return to the wonky mechanics of the original game (the refined hacking mini-game alone is refreshing). The flow is vastly superior, and this time around, it does not feel like the gameplay is holding back the story.

The story, however, is arguably the main point of contention about Bioshock 2. Players of the original Bioshock will undoubtedly believe that the ludonarrative of this installment leaves something to be desired. This reviewer tends to agree, but there is an argument to be made that Bioshock 2 has a more coherent and more engaging plotline. The original game likes to throw big ideas at the player, a bombardment that eventually falls apart after the big twist and never recovers. Bioshock 2 does better in this regard, in that story arc sustains momentum and is more captivating, albeit not as powerful.

The game thus provides appropriate homage to its predecessor and is capable of standing on its own merits. While it is unfortunate that the intellectualism of the original Bioshock feels absent from this sequel, the core gameplay is much more enjoyable and has greater fluidity. For this, Bioshock 2 is an very satisfying experience, even if the hard-hitting, existentialist themes are not at the forefront of this adventure.

85

Not quite on par with the first game

nudeood | July 8, 2013 | See all nudeood's reviews »

On it's own merits, BioShock 2 stands as an enjoyable and atmospheric game, but if you've played the original you'll especially enjoy delving into the world of Rapture for a second time. In terms of combat, it certainly feels like an improvement from the first game. As a big daddy, you have a brand new selection of weapons and the option to use plasmids and guns simultaneously. This removes the need to pause every few seconds to change hands as in the first game and gives combat greater flow. However, being a big daddy doesn't come without it's drawbacks. Firstly, it removes the sense of vulnerability that created such a great atmosphere in the original game. As a human trapped in a city of disfigured and crazed inhabitants, the tension was palpable. In BioShock 2 you're just a big, mean killing machine with no need for stealth or agility. To conclude, BioShock 2 definitely feels like an improvement in terms of gameplay, but is no match to the original in terms of atmosphere.

86

Not as good as the first one...

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | See all bercilak's reviews »

...But still pretty darn good. Bioshock 2 didn't capture my attention as well as the first one, but I did still sit down and finish it in one big slog. It requires Games for Windows Live which is a bit of an annoyance, especially because I played through the first hour without signing in and it kindly didn't save my game. It was a lot of fun to play through the game, especially with the new enemies and the different player perspective from the first Bioshock game. Overall a great game still, just not quite as good as the first.

94

Very good game

roman9441 | July 7, 2013 | See all roman9441's reviews »

I'm always scared of big daddies in this game. I never brave enough to play this game until i get it with promotion from greenmangaming. How ever i found out the game is good but it not good as the first one. But anyway i enjoy the good ending it have .

80

Disappointing, but Fun

DocNuka | June 26, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

I'm going to start of this review by saying Bioshock 2's story is infinitely disappointing. It is a huge step down from the creepy atmosphere of the first, as you are now a Big Daddy and this isn't your first look at Rapture either. However, the gameplay is improved from the last game, with two hands available for combat, one with plasmids, the other with guns/your drill. I feel as if this type of combat is more fluid, as you can easily blast and bolt enemies more quickly, and combos are much easier to perform. Speaking of which, the drill is a new addition to the game which feels right at home, fitting in seamlessly with plasmid combos, and having some upgrades of its own, like freezing enemies at random. Overall, Bioshock 2 is a flawed game which has an inferior story, but does make leaps and bounds over the gameplay of the first. If you enjoyed Bioshock, pick this up.

98

Loved the first? You'll love this!

ctp94wakko | June 24, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

Everything that Bioshock had, but better! Bioshock 2 takes place prior to Bioshock and is a different story all on its own. Oh, and did I forget to mention that you play as a Big Daddy! The introduction of various new enemies, Big Sisters and the ability to use your mechanical drill as a weapon enable Bioshock 2 to add variety from its predecessor, while holding onto the best aspects of the original. Still taking place in the underwater city of Rapture, Bioshock 2 displays various lociations that the original did not, and while playing as a Big Daddy the experience is a breath of fresh air and in no way makes the player feel like they are playing Bioshock 1.5, but a completely different game as everything you see and do, you have never seen or done before. The graphics have been upgraded from the original and the story is a beautiful masterpiece. Bioshock 2 is a must buy for any fan of the original or any newcomer(s) who wanted to become immersed in an underwater city filled with mysterious, secrets and wonders to behold!

87

Beautiful, but not a masterpiece

MarcoCav | June 24, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

BioShock 2 is the obvious and palpable improvement of its predecessor. Every aspect of the gameplay has been finished, the action now frantic and without a moment's breath, the level design that manages to hold off the drama of backtracking. The plot is compelling: it is very difficult to find an equal quality in the narrative of another first-person shooter. But problems remain: technically the game is not very good and many of the additions to the gameplay, such as underwater sections, are not so interesting. But above all, BioShock 2 is partly a victim of his own inheritance. Too many parts of the game sounds like "already seen", most of all the environments, and nothing of this second chapter can match or exceed the splendor of its predecessor. BioShock 2 is beautiful, really very nice but it is not a new masterpiece.

95

Outstanding Sequel

Fluffy_McFluff | June 17, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

There are many things that go into making a great game, and I believe having a compelling, deep, engaging story can be one of the most important parts - if not THE most important part.

In the first game, the player witnesses the bizarre, horrifying genetic modifications made to Little Sisters and their protective Big Daddies. This time, the player sees the world of Bioshock through the eyes of a Big Daddy, himself - this perspective allows the player the opportunity to see things in a different manner. Instead of fully despising, being disgusted by, or sorry for, the Little Sisters, players perhaps sympathize with them, feel protective of them as they are attacked by ADAM-hungry Splicers.

Bioshock 2 took a little bit of a risky move by taking the player out of their 'comfort zone,' placing them in the shoes of a Big Daddy, and being able to witness a scenario from a different perspective - by giving the player a place in the world of Bioshock, and the ability to make decisions, to seek revenge or forgiveness. Players are given a story to both enjoy, and be a part of - to be horrified by, and to be a part of.

85

A man chooses, a slave obbeys

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Bigg Daddies where allways an interesting match in Bioshock, and being in the skin of one was the dream of many players. Being an interesting secuel to Bioshock, this game puts you as one of the fearsome guardians of the Little Sisters, struggling to find yours after being separated years ago. The only thing standing between you and your girl is a gigantic, never-ending mob of splicers, turrets, other Bigg Daddies, and the feared Big Sisters, not too much of a challenge, isn't it? With an arsenal almost as good as the first Bioshock, the amazing powers of the Plasmids, and your own wits, you are on your own to explore once again the forgotten city of Rapture, reveal many of it's dark secrets and find out the reasons why your Sister was parted away from you. Overall a great game, but some parts can get a bit tiring, after so much shooting and all ,we all need a rest.

88

Mostly the same as the original...and that's not a bad thing!

MoizMansoorV | June 5, 2013 | See all MoizMansoorV's reviews »

Bioshock 2 hits the right notes, most of the time. It might seem a little redundant to be roaming around Rapture yet again, but it's as fun as ever, with a few new tweaks to freshen things up.

The story's great, but not the best Ken Levine's come up with (Bioshock: Infinite takes the cake there). It's still head and shoulders above some of the other shooters out there though.

Recommended.

82

Under the sea

darklyfallen | June 5, 2013 | See all darklyfallen's reviews »

Pros: The game looks and feels fantastic, and is a blast to play. It definetely has a better storyline than other FPS's out there. Basically, everything that was good about Bioshock the first is present in most ways.

Cons: The gameplay is pretty much the same as the first, with a couple of different weapons and plasmids. The characters aren't as compelling as in the first, and the story's a bit weaker.

There's a game-breaking bug towards the end of the game where if you go inside an asylum cell, it'll close and won't open (hopefully you saved not too long ago!)

Also, a bit short.

In summary: A well-polished shooter that adds to its predecessor's gameplay, but doesn't quite hold up to it. Still great in it's own regard.

81

Still good, but lacking.

simpkinscm | May 21, 2013 | See all simpkinscm's reviews »

I must say that compared to the original, Bioshock 2 is somewhat disappointing. The storyline is fairly bland and though you will find yourself traveling outside the protective shells of ‘Rapture’ the actual environments feel much more simplified than the first with the player only being as awed by their surroundings in specific areas, and feeling that some areas were simply ignored. Gameplay-wise, however, Bioshock 2 improves on the original in almost every way. With the player now able to use powers in one hand and a gun in the other, there is no more having to fumble between the two. Though Bioshock 2 is still a good game, it simply falls short of what it could have been.

80

Good game and good sequel

britishlad | May 11, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Bioshock was a wonderful game that had many twists and turns that had me utterly gobsmacked as I made my way through Rapture. In a return trip to Rapture, I found things felt all too familiar, yet I was still affected by the narrative and ambience of the wondrous world. Bioshock 2 is a separate story from the original game. In this fame you play as a big daddy. You are a decommissioned (murdered) Big Daddy who is resurrected for unknown reasons, drawn to the little girl who was your original Little Sister. Playing as a Big Daddy should've of been an awesome experience being be powerful and heavily amoured but this simply wasn't the case. The game explains it away as you are only at half strength, but it would have been nice to have those powers and roam around that world. The added nemesis of the Big Sister was truly excellent and fighting them was the most epic part of the game.

The graphics were top-notch, again, the sound perfect. The little details were there, clearly apparent in the final level where you get to see things in a different light. It is these sorts of things that make the Bioshock franchise stand out from others. I would have liked a more original story instead of a game that felt far too familiar and there were no amazing twists like the first game, but the time spent in Rapture was a delight, despite the sameness to the game.

90

"Who watches over the sleeping Angels, Mr Bubbles?"

pasinduthegreat | May 6, 2013 | See all pasinduthegreat's reviews »

Delve back into the undersea rapture that is Rapture and it does not fail.

Its different this time. More broken, just holding itself together. Ryan's dream has a little more life in in. This time however, the story is about the psychiatrist who uses a little girl to control the Rapture.

Just like it's predecessor, Bioshock 2 is a game that is based on a very nice shooting mechanic, as you do get to use some very nice weapons, at the same time as you get to use your awesome plasmid abilities, allowing you to set your enemies on fire, shocking them and several other possibilities.

Important to say that, this time, you play as one of the fearless - and terrifying - Big Daddy! But don't get your hopes up just like that: the game is still going to present you a worthy challenge; their names: Big Sister!

Just as powerful as a Big Daddy, but extremely faster and more acrobatic, each Big Sister encounter is very likely to keep you tense, as you try to think your ways out of the fight victorious!

Summing up, the game is great. It'll give you the same drab atmosphere as the previous, with very nice gameplay and awesome controls, and, most of all, a great challenge with the new and slim-killer enemies: the Big Sisters!

89

Bioshock 2, much of the same

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | See all maddocks2379's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is pretty much the same as the first one with improvements, like weapons in one hand and plasmids in the other, new items like hacking darts, but otherwise its pretty much a continuation of Bioshock 1.

The story is good and keeps you interested, the combat is pretty much the same but with new weapons and the graphics are still good for a 3-4 year old game.

Bioshock 1 is probably better but this one is still good and should be played

90

A little bit behind the original, but it is still a great game

onewinged90 | April 9, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

Developed by different developer with a mix of some staff of the original. But does it live up to the expectations of the first? As for me I thoroughly enjoyed myself playing the game.

  • Playing as a Big Daddy, how badass can it be?
  • Rapture is much more of an eye candy now. Improved graphics, and 10 years after the events of Bioshock, it is so familiar and different at the same time.
  • Improved gameplay compared to the original. Mouse targeting works well enough now, but still not perfect as a true shooter.
  • No more plasmid toggle (in the original you need to right-click then left-click to use plasmid) where you can now use plasmids and weapons at the same time.
  • Enhanced plasmids. Different level of plasmids have significant upgrades and how they deal damage. For example the level 2 of Electro Bolt enables chain lighting, and level 3 creates continuous electrical arc.
  • Bye-bye pipe hacking. Bioshock 2 replaced the original's style of hacking with needle hacking, a much welcomed change and do not feel as tedious as it is before. Beware: The game does not pause when you are hacking.
  • More variety of enemy splicers and big daddies. Oh did I mention you gotta fight Big Sister as well?
  • Voice acting is superb as always, Fenella Woolgar as Sofia Lamb really took over the personality of Andrew Ryan and Atlas from the first game.
  • Multiple ending makes a comeback, which makes the game highly replayable.

  • Story does not have the same twist as it had in the original.

  • Shorter gameplay length compared to the original. Even if you take your time in the game, you complete it sooner than expected.
  • The Games for Windows Live is very bad, I'm sure those of you are aware of that.

On one note, Bioshock 2 does come with a DLC - Minerva's Den. Where player assumes the role of Subject Sigma, another big daddy. With only $5 and around 4-5 hours worth of gameplay, it is a must get. The only problem is that the DLC is only purchasable at Xbox.com website and not available anywhere else including GMG, which is a bummer actually. If you're willing to go through the atrocious GFWL, I really recommend you to get that add-on and it will be worth your money.

80

Begs for comparison, yet falls short

Endyo | March 29, 2013 | See all Endyo's reviews »

It's been a long time since I played BioShock, so long that I pretty much had forgotten the whole story and had to look it up soon after starting BioShock 2. It didn't particularly help much despite them being set in the same location (Rapture) and being separated by only 10 years. A single notable character returns from BioShock and leaves early in the game, serving only to sort of kick off the story line. Everything else is new content. It can be a bit strange to have so much familiarity surrounding you in the environment as the player, but so little of the original (and quite good) story remaining. I think one of the most interesting differences, however, is that you'll be playing as the voiceless Alpha Series named “Delta”, a version of the “Big Daddy.” Regardless, BioShock 2 does offer a memorable foray into the leaky halls of Rapture.

BioShock 2 has many of the gameplay elements that the original game had. You'll still be firing a weapon with your right hand (LMB) and using Plasmids with your left hand (RMB). Plasmids themselves are very similar to those in BioShock as well – with a couple of new additions such as Hypnotize and Scout. Weapons of course are more attuned to the capabilities of a Big Daddy despite having the same mechanics as the weapons of the original. The use of these tools in the game are fairly entertaining. It is seldom expressed what differences there are between varying tactics, such as using a minigun with the Winter Blast plasmid or Incinerate, but trying out the combinations is one way the game stays a bit more dynamic.

There are, of course, elements of the gameplay that have changed from BioShock to BioShock 2. While you'll still be rescuing Little Sisters, much more of the game is wrapped around it. You'll be taking them to corpses to collect ADAM rather than simply releasing them from their mind control and letting them go or harvesting them as soon as you finish off their Big Daddys. Then you ultimately are given the choice to do the same, save them or harvest them, but it seems like a sort of ridiculous way to just slow down the game. While collecting, random spawns of enemies come after you and halt the collection process. You can choose to simply take the Little Sisters an not collect any ADAM, but of course the severely hampers your ability to progress in the game effectively.

Another change from BioShock that I felt was unnecessary was the hacking system. I always thought hacking in BioShock was one of the best mini games in modern games. It was changed into a sort of “stop the bar” thing where your task is to stop the bouncing needle in the green or blue colored marker. It just seems like a huge step down from something fairly innovative.

The majority of the game you'll be traveling from objective to objective in the standard murky hallways, some lit reasonably well while others are completely dark. Water drips and flows from every conceivable area and enemies make enough noise that they rarely surprise, but often build suspense. Occasionally you'll come across a room that acts as a central hub. This usually serves as an indication that you'll be backtracking here. I've never personally been a fan of backtracking in games, and it is made worse here by seemingly infinite respawns of enemies. At times you can simply go in and out of a door in the hub and there will be spawns of enemies. A mechanic that made me stop playing Far Cry 2 all together.

When you load up BioShock 2, you immediately recognize the environment and the design of the characters and structures. It may have some visual improvement from BioShock, but it's really hard to tell because of this. Is there more detail on the splicer's face? Maybe, but I don't remember what they looked like in BioShock. It is all well crafted though and never really leaves you feeling like the designers weren't giving 100%. It has a quality that few games can emulate or hope to achieve these days. You really get the feeling you're in a place deep in the ocean that's dark and wet and just all around uncomfortable. As much as it delivers the standard hallway-hallway-room-hallway formula that FPS games have been offering for decades now, it seems to just make sense in the design of an underwater city. Enemies have animations that are appealing and a weight that makes them seem believable. The city of Rapture and the people within it feel just as you would expect them to, and that's exactly what I wanted.

The sound of the game is a strong point. Weapons make sounds you'll come to recognize and react to and the feedback that provides pulls the player a little further in to the game. The voices of the majority of the splicers are sufficiently manic and environmentally fitting, though they sometimes get a bit repetitive. Big Daddys, just like in BioShock, radiate their deep whale-like groans through the metallic hallways giving you a chilling “impending doom” feel. It's probably one of the most recognizable and suspenseful sounds in any game. Raspy songs of the 50s return in the game as well, providing an equally creepy feeling to the game in the same way they did previously. I think that there really couldn't be a BioShock franchise without the sound department being as good as it is.

What you get from BioShock 2 is an experience that, while still entertaining in many of the same ways as the original BioShock, finds itself lacking much of the same vigor and surprise that blew so many away in 2007. It's a good game, but being in the same location with much of the same weaponry, plasmids, enemies, and visual elements kind of feels like a cop out. The story is also not anywhere near as engaging and doesn't have enough twists or turns to make it stand out. Any elements of the story that could create breadth are trapped in the recordings that are seldom even audible over the sounds of combat. I didn't choose to make so many comparisons between this and BioShock, because the game itself seems like it was specifically created to be directly compared. Still, BioShock 2 is fun and if you can ignore the comparisons thrown in your face by the game, you'll enjoy it.

81

Fairly good, action-packed sequel

barniman | March 28, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

My expectation were really high from this game after the glorious first episode and bioshock 2 didn't quite live up to it's predeccessor, but this does not mean that bioshock 2 is a bad game, it's just not as mindblowing as the first one. The environment is the same, Rapture. It's still an interesting place, but a change of scenery might've helped the game. The gameplay pieces are all still there from the first game, if you played that you'll get the feeling instantly, although this time around they focused more on the action/fighting aspect, which some people may like, some people may not. The story and the charecters are well written though again, even if you're not that into bioshock's fighting system, it's worth playing just because of these.

90

Who's your Daddy? Well, better ask: "who's your Sister?"...

alexxkkapricorn | March 2, 2013 | See all alexxkkapricorn's reviews »

Just the thought of getting back to Rapture is enough for you to decide to play Bioshock 2.

Both the shady and depressive atmosphere, as well as the amazing shooting mechanics are back this time! Not as gloriously as in the first game of the series, but you are very likely to feel rewarded as you play the adventure.

Just like it's predecessor, Bioshock 2 is a game that is based on a very nice shooting mechanic, as you do get to use some very nice weapons, at the same time as you get to use your awesome plasmid abilities, allowing you to set your enemies on fire, shocking them and several other possibilities.

Important to say that, this time, you play as one of the fearless - and terrifying - Big Daddy! But don't get your hopes up just like that: the game is still going to present you a worthy challenge; their names: Big Sister!

Just as powerful as a Big Daddy, but extremely faster and more acrobatic, each Big Sister encounter is very likely to keep you tense, as you try to think your ways out of the fight victorious!

Summing up, the game is great. It'll give you the same drab atmosphere as the previous, with very nice gameplay and awesome controls, and, most of all, a great challenge with the new and slim-killer enemies: the Big Sisters!

80

Sweet game again, not as good as the original

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

I had initially some concerns about Bioshock 2, but the game keeps it wonderful aspects that you have seen from the first title. Rapture is still a great place to be, all the unique elements create a special atmosphere and the gameplay is rock solid.

Unfortunately, the real surprise is a bit gone because the "innovations" are mostly variations on the original and also the development of the story is slightly weaker this time. On the other hand, you have various cool weapons to get started, even weapons and plasmids simultaneously, and some new bits of gameplay to offer. Right now, I just can't get enough from the Rapture.

85

Great sequel

celdiruen | Feb. 23, 2013 | See all celdiruen's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is a worthy sequel to the original. While the story elements may be a bit weaker, the game is still great. I'd say that it has better combat overall than the first game. This time, you get to be a Big Daddy, and interact with both new and old characters. The atmosphere pulls you in just as much as in the first game! This time, they've added a multiplayer mode. It is a bit dead at this point, but you can find some games, if you're interested in checking it out. If you liked the first Bioshock, you owe it to yourself to play this.

79

A good sequel to an incredible game.

actionjohnson | Feb. 22, 2013 | See all actionjohnson's reviews »

Bioshock 2 is the continuation of it's predecessors story though is for the most part disconnected. A new force has taken leadership in the now totally destroyed Rapture, with different laws and principles. The gameplay is largely the same, with a few key differences. It puts you in control of a prototype big daddy, smaller and faster than the others, but still capable of dealing some serious damage. As a big daddy, protecting the little sisters is a major part of the game, you will shoot many splicers while the little sister works defenselessly for you. There is still the moral choice to help the little sisters or harm them however, as well as new moral choices. The problem with these though is it's sometimes unclear as to which is the good choice and which is the bad one, there were a couple times when the game labeled me as evil when I was doing what I thought was right. This would be okay if the game didn't tally you on a black and white morality system. Overall Bioshock 2 is a good game, and is a lot of fun, though it never lives up to the feeling of the first.

92

Return to Rapture

FreeMan85 | Feb. 22, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

BioShock 2 made by another team, not Ken Levine like the first one. But still BioShock 2 is a great game. It has new enemies and new allies, also old faces pop-up. You now play Delta, one of the first few Bid Daddy model with the deadly drill and other weapon arsenal and the ability to use plasmids and weapons at once! You can even walk underwater, if you need. You can also adopt Little Sister to collect more Adam. A completely different experience from the first game. The graphics it's like the previous game, just like the sounds and music. Garry Schymann wrote a bit more sadder score. You can hear familiar songs from the previous game new ones. The '50s feeling still strong! The voice-acting is great, since you still just hear the characters via radio or tapes. BioShock 2 has multiplayer called 'BioShock: Fall of Rapture'. It has a Prologue and Epilogue, a little back story to integrate to the series. You can equip your character with 2 type of weapons and 2 type of plasmids and 3 type of tonic/perk. You can unlock more weapon, upgrade, plasmids if you advance in level. The maps familiar from the first game, just a little tweaked to multiplay. Sadly is a bit dead, but mostly you can find players. A very small but strong community still plays.

The game has 2 free DLC via Games for Windows LIVE, one of them is a multiplayer mode Kill 'em Kindly DLC, the another is a challenge room like single mode The Protector Trials DLC, if you beat it you will awarded with a free bonus plasmid in Minerva's Den DLC. Which I highly recommend, a very well done and standalone DLC. The others are multiplayer expansion only and buy only if you're a hardcore multilplayer!

If you liked the first game you can't miss this! Just to be know: the game use Games for Windows LIVE!