Reviews for The Showdown Effect

65

Play this with friends only

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

It's one of those frenetic party action games that is best suited for messing around with your friends. You can still enjoy it playing online, but there is a severe lack of population.

Possibly because of the bugs and visual glitches you'll encounter every odd game or two. However, it is something that you can pick up and play easily and have fun if you have the players who are ready to play such a game.

81

Fun.

SuburbanWalrus | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all SuburbanWalrus's reviews »

Silly, weird, fun gameplay, sometimes has odd visual glitches. Fun with friends.

80

Great gameplay

Jorgel | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

Reviving the action movies theme from the 80's and 90's, Showdown Effect brings a good gameplay and nice characters. The game is multiplayer only, but is very competent at this: the gameplay is very nice and funny, especially if you are playing with your friends, each charater has i'ts own special ability, and you can choose one depending on your playing style. The scenarios are very beautifull too, evokingold movies from our childhood. The bad side of the game is the very few choices, mainly scenarios, and if you want some new weapons you will have to pay for it. Even with it's problems, Showdown Effect is a funny and fun game to play with your friends, so give it a chance and you will like it.

82

Fast paced sidescrolling game.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

Although I haven't played it much, I can tell you this: you'll definitely love this game if you like deathmatches in games like Call of Duty. The Showdown Effect, however, changes your perspective to sidescrolling, which gives it a nice and original touch, while making it a different kind of fun compared to typical FPS. You still have guns, anyway, and if you like shooting people to death, you'll like this one game.

78

Pretty easy to learn, hard to master.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Lunarsilkdragon's reviews »

This is a really good game to play with a few friends on LAN-night! As the title says, it's easy to learn the game, but very hard to master it. This is a good thing though as it allows for new players to keep developing their skills, while still having a chance to score a kill on the better players.

One perticular detail I like about the gameplay is that unlike other similar 2D-games, you actually have to have the enemy in your crosshair to hit him, instead of just shooting in his direction. It makes the game even more skillbased.

The whole game is inspired by 90s actionmovies and all the characters have hilarious one-liners that makes homage to Arnold Scwartznegger among others.

The only two real issues with this game is that it's pretty badly optimized and the netcoding leaves a lot to wish for. Lag is pretty common in matchmade games.

78

Fun multiplayer platform game to play with your friends

microsnitch | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all microsnitch's reviews »

Me and my friends bought this game to battle with each other. It is a great game. You can search/view the server(s) in-game that your friends created. This means that it is easier to play with your friends on your Steam account. It was very enjoyable experience playing with your friends and playing with other players online. The only drawback I would say about this game is the amount of players playing this game is quite low. I wish there are more players playing this game so there would be more servers and people to play with when my friends are not online. I would recommend to get this game if it is on sale.

77

Nice but not awesome!

RicBac | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

Just like many smaller server based games, this games falls on having too few servers with descent ping. So this basically makes the game hard to even start up.

But if you manage to find a working server then you are in for some gameplay "Soldat style".

The thing is though, this is a fast game, and if you don't practice you will get owned.

So...nice graphics, fun but fast/hard gameplay, superb humor. That is if you find a good server, it's not impossible.

90

Great game, awesome multiplayer!

ViSi0N | June 11, 2013 | See all ViSi0N's reviews »

I love this game, Im ejoying it with my friends almost everyday. When you don't have anything to do, join The Showdown Effect for great fights against your friend. 90/100!

90

Great little game

Mattydb | June 4, 2013 | See all Mattydb's reviews »

First of my plus's for this game are 1)It different with all those other FPS multiplayer ones this makes a nice change 2)The different outfits make it so you dont get bored of your appearance 3) I myself really like the voice acting. My Downsides for the game 1)There's not many people playing this so it takes a while to find a public match, Private's are really fun tho 2)The in game store some of the items you have to purchase with real money now i only agree with that in free to play games which this clearly isn't. But overall this game is great fun and worth the buy

88

Decent multiplayer battle-royale platforming game.

Bigshrimp | March 5, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

The first thing I noticed about this game is all the funny cliches it uses, like the light saber from the pre-order. This game is a must for playing with your friends. I enjoy the deathmatches and all the over-the-top action is gives.

Think of this game as the 2.5D equivalent to arena games of the 3D genre, like Quake 3 Arena, Unreal Tournament, etc. But instead its based as a multiplayer platformer.

This game has an in-game shop for cosmetic items that you can buy. All the heroes are pretty fun and different too. You can customize your heroes and weapons and you level up as well. Also the better you doing a match the better your chances of winning items to change the look of your character as well.

Overall this game is amazing fun and I highly recommend it for some multiplayer carnage with some good humor thrown in.