Reviews for Brutal Legend

90

Hilarious!!

electriclemon | March 29, 2014 | See all electriclemon's reviews »

The narrative alone is worth a playthrough as it is packed with humour. If you are a fan of Jack Black/School of Rock, it has his personality all over it. The combat is neat, especially the RTS style gameplay, and the open world is fun to explore. I had a great time completing all the achievements and feats!

82

An amazing ride through the world of metal

martinni | March 17, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

There's one thing you have to be aware of when buying this game: it's not the most polished video game out there. And I truly recommend playing it with a controller (i began playing with mouse/keyboard and sometimes it was really tough to do stuff). That said, it's AMAZING!! If you love metal, buy it! If you love music in general, buy it!! It's a really beautiful adventure in the world of metal. It actually made me crazy for some bands again, as i would listen to them in-game and go nuts! I would easily give it 90+, maybe 95+, if it was better polished. Easily!!

80

Jump into the heavy metal world.

cdp_star | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all cdp_star's reviews »

In this game that aims at recovery of social status of true metal music, the prominent musician is appearing here and there as important characters. And the game has the feature to use music like magic by using a musical instrument as arms. Although it seems to be strange game, the game balance was not so bad and I was able to enjoy this battle system.
However, for the sake of a setting of the game, since the dark world with particular color sky continues, a game scene is sometimes obscure, and I cannot mention the 3D modeling was beautiful. At least I felt the heroine was enough attractive and I can recommend to play it, if you like action RPG.

95

This game is EPIC!

SonicusZ | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all SonicusZ's reviews »

If you enjoy metal music and hack and slash games Get This!!! This is an awesome hack and slash type of game with RTS elements! It has a great story! It can be quite funny at times and is simply a blast to play! I'm on my second playthrough of this game right now and it still makes me smile! The humor throughout is very nice and I feel like I keep learning new strategies with the gameplay! It has an amazing world to explore and a lot to do! Check it out!

75

An epic adventure of epicosity!

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

the gameplay is chunky and they throw you for a loop when it turns out to be a RTS, but this game is amazing for story alone. your a roadie that gets thrown into a mystical land driven by rock and metal music. this game works a little bit better on console than it did on pc however. the optimization was not all that great with is a shame because the RTS style would have worked perfectly. That however is the only downside i have with this game. the characters are well written and voiced, and the art direction was spot on for what a rock and roll god fueled amazingness should be.

85

A grand tribute to heavy metal

sonicchaos | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all sonicchaos's reviews »

What is it about? Heavy metal. That's what it's about. The whole game revolves around rock music and everything related. We control Eddie Riggs (obviously Jack Black), a roadie who has a stage accident and is transported in a heavy metal fantasy world where he meets Ophelia and her friends Lars and Lita, who rebel against tyrant General Lionwhyte. Eddie gladly helps them by building an army and rages war against Lionwhyte, not knowing that behind the scene hides an even dangerous presence.

How does it look? The game's world is composed of heavy metal elements everywhere, from rock guitars sticking out of the ground to metal trees and motorcycle boars. The contents of the inspirations are so many, it would take me days to enumerate. It's like Jack Black in particular took the time and, with his known passion, created a list of everything that must be created in order to make the perfect heavy metal world. And Tim Schafer just gave the okay, as he's also a big heavy metal fan. I don't know if I'm correct, but it sure sounds about right. It's not supposed to be that photorealistic world we see in many triple A games, but it is a visual artistic marvel, with cartoony characters and caricature monsters and enemies, great animation that syncs with the graphics and a detailed, fairly big world.

How does it sound? Are you kidding? It's heavy metal Heaven? What do you think it sounds like? Def Leppard, Black Sabbath, Dimmu Borgir, Judas Priest, Ozzy Osbourne, Scorpions, Megadeth, Manowar, Rob frikin Zombie and so much many more, totalling 107 tracks from 75 different bands, plus over 70 minutes of originals score by Peter McConnell. And with a cast like Jack Black, Tim Curry, Rob Halford, Jennifer Hale, Lemmy Kilmister, Lita Ford and Ozzy Osbourne himself playing as the Guardian of Metal you can only expect pure awesomeness.

What does it play like? The game plays like a hack-n-slash action-adventure game from a third person perspective. We drive around in The Deuce, half enemies with the double-bladed axe aptly named "The Separator" and melt people faces with his trusty guitar Clementine, with which the player has to perform a short minigame similar to the Rock Band gameplay. Everything is perfect and all, until we get to the strategy part of the game. Boy, what a piece of uninspired mess! You suddenly grow wings and have to command small troops while at the same time must intervene personally, otherwise you'll just lose. I personally hate this feature of the gameplay and hoped I could somehow skip it or just do all that from the ground, but once you get to the later boss fight (because that's what these basically are), there's just no way in avoiding failing over and over again until you find that exact specific strategy you have to perform. It's awfully stupid and I hope that, if they ever give a try for another instalment, and I hope they will, just hold the onion, please! Overall, it's a great game, dragged only by a small gameplay feature that doesn't even fit well with the rest of the game. Oh, and there's also multiplayer.

75

A pleasant indie surprise

Matlair | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Matlair's reviews »

I honestly didn't expect a game like this when I got it from the Humble Bundle. The story is nice, the voice acting is brilliant and the music is freaking awesome. The animations may be a little sloppy and the gameplay may not be as fluid as it could be, but that isn't stopping Brütal Legend from being an awesome game that is definitely worth your time and money.

74

Rock your foes to doom!

Nexxolae | Jan. 10, 2014 | See all Nexxolae's reviews »

Very, very, very funny game! Jack Black has set the base for an epic ROCK-RPG. The game takes place in a HUGE open world where Rock-Music is the key to succes! The game also refers a lot to great artists, which is very funny! Graphically the game is set in a cartoony way, but the story and environment is very well set for this. If you like the movies with Jack Black, you will totally love Brütal Legend!

81

A genre bender

Nat3r | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Nat3r's reviews »

Brutal Legend was a game created in 2009 from the mind of Tim Schafer. Jack Black, an everyday roadie, gets teleported to a land that worships metal. and by metal i mean the 80's. Some people criticize Jack Black poorly. I think he is perfect for this kind of role, Tenacious D anyone?

The game starts out as an action hack n slash with a bit of magic thrown in, via Ocarina of Time songs. We're not set on a linear path either, we're set in a open world with side missions, and a few things to collect and run over with your metal powered car. About one quarter of the game in though we get introduced to an RTS style of game play. You have a stage, which your units spawn from, and you send them to collect resources, and destroy the enemies stage, all while controlling yourself and attacking the enemy.

The game does have its flaws though. The world, being vast, is actually pretty empty. There isn't really anything to do after you collect everything and complete the side quests other then listen to Dragonforce to the 20th time. The combat is fun, until you realize you're getting over run by enemies and have to run away to spawn some more allies.

Overall the game is a fun adventure that we don't really get to experience anymore. There is plenty of humor. Even if you don't laugh that much you can't help but crack a smile realizing you're controlling Jack Black. If you liked Psychonauts, and love metal music then definitely give this game a play.

80

Pretty cool, ahead of its time tho, if it came out now.

AsmodeusSabrael | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all AsmodeusSabrael's reviews »

..it prolly would have been better with a different engine and more stuff to do tho for it's time when it came out not bad at all.This game fucking rocks face omg wow. the multiplayer is cool and bad ass because it reminds me of star wars battlefront classic action slasher and real time strategy mechanics but with METAL, the game campaign is funny, brutal, violent, and just awesome. If u want something randomly comedic, violent, decent story, good voice acting, cameos of celebs, and METAL play this f**king game asap!

85

A rocking adventure that stumbles occasionally

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Harry_276's reviews »

Do you like to rock, kick ass and fight...in RTS battles?

Brutal legend is a game I feel will become one of those little game gems that earn the right to be called cult classic. Play as Eddie Riggs the worlds greatest Roadie as he fights his way through a world of Heavy Metal, and my god is it amazing and full of secrets that will keep you searching for hours. Character is a huge part of this game from the world with designs that would fit on any Metal Album cover to the actual characters and people you interact with along the way, get ready to belly laugh at the game lighter moments only to clench your controller in adrenalin when things heat up.

The only thing I can say is wrong with the game is the main battles. Though most of the fighting is done with your Axe and magic (in the form of powerful guitar riffs) the major story battles take the form of simple RTS style fights. Though there is some strategic logic required and you can fly down to join in the fight it does present an odd shift in tone and can be jarring at first.

That being said this is still a great game and well worth your dollar, get it and get lost in the world of Brutal Legend.

86

Jack Black: God of Metal

el_pelado95 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

This game is from Double Fine ( the cooles game makers at the moment).

You play as Jack Black, in a exellent metal land. The gameplay has two parts: the hack and slash part (pretty cool) and the "strategy" part. In this one, you control your troops and you have to destroy the enemy "base", just like the real time strategy games. Also, this mode has a little of the hack and slash component.

The voices and the music are Exellent. You will find a Jack Black, a Ozzy Osburne and other great meteal gods. The soundtrack is amazing (it haves some Tenacious D songs and Def Leppard ones).

If you are a metal fan, you have to buy it.

62

Could have been something special

ecaudill | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all ecaudill's reviews »

I love metal. I love Jack Black. I love open worlds. I should love this game right??

Not quite. This game had so much potential. In fact, the first couple of hours of the game were awesome. I played the demo at least a half dozen times before the game came out. However, when the game started opening up and you were free to explore... I quickly got bored. And that's saying something for me. I could spend hours driving around in GTA or Saints Row listening to crap music and doing absolutely nothing productive. But even the amazing soundtrack in Brutal Legends couldn't keep me interested and I drove around the lifeless landscape. There's just not that much to do besides progress the story. Then you start getting into odd RTS-like battles. The concept is cool, but the execution is poor.

As much as I enjoy open worlds, I kinda feel like if they had kept to the linear progression from the first part of the game, it could have been so much better. Heck, even Ozzy couldn't keep me coming back for more. OZZY!

80

The Power of Metal

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

At first, this game seems like an action game. But you soon learn that is was meant to be a strategy game. While it succeeds in the action, the strategy feels kind of weird. Everything works, just not to it's full potential. If this game is ever on sale, pick it up.

79

You might want to put on your

drakemirow | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all drakemirow's reviews »

Let's start with this: If you are sick of metal stereotypes, stay away! Because this is going to hurt!

But even if these stereotypes really are old and over the top it is so much fun! So many good songs, so many good musicians, they are all in it. This is the one and only true metal video game (until further notice). Even some parts of the game that include simple strategic elements and repeating sidemissions can't stop the metal inside you. I almost jumped with joy when I met Ozzy in the game and that's just one of the many cameos that are so well done. I actually never had so much fun with a soundtrack of a game. this is tim schäfer at his brütalst.

80

I'm not that found of metal but...

zhack075 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

This game is really nice to play !

First of all, what I love about this game is that you feel that the developpers wanted to create a fun, honnest game. Jack Black offers a great performance. I add a special "wow" to the game menu which is really awesome !

So, the game itself ! Well Graphics are nice, not perfect but nice ! Character are well stereotyped and are really fun and the vast open world is pleasant to explore.

If the game doesn't specially shine by its classic combat system it remains really funny to play thanks to the Jack black performances and all the funny metal cliché well used that create a really interesting universe.

I recommend it but keep in my, this is not the greatest game in the world, this is just a tribute... to heavy metal mostly.

85

A must have for a metal fan

Thoosa | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

How to start this one... It is... Well, honestly, I found out about this game a few weeks ago. Not really knowing what am I really going into, I bought it and... I am really surprised how much fun it is. If you like rock and metal music you will likely enjoy the soundtrack, the stellar voice acting led by Jack Black (yeah, Tenacious D all the way!) and even a good old lead singer of, arguably, one of the best metal groups off all time makes an appearance. The stylized world is fascinating, the combat is enjoyable and the story is gorgeous. Like I said, a must have for a metal/rock music fan.

87

Let's rock!

spectatorx | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all spectatorx's reviews »

This game is crazy! And that's why you have to play it.

Conception of it is really crazy, a lot of hack and slashing, some platforming, lots of humor, insane boss fights, hilarious game.

Visually engine is not the greatest but in this game graphics are not the most important part, the most important part of this game is audio and music! Hell yeah! Music is just epic! Brilliant rock and metal songs which will blow your mind.

One of the most interesting things about game is this game is not only for windows but only works under linux and this is great working on linux game. Has multichannel audio support, multidisplay support. By activating game on steam you are getting windows and linux version as well.

90

Ever wanted Moshpit: The Game?

felixdenfule | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all felixdenfule's reviews »

This game is all about metal music. If you do not like that, go look at cute kittens instead. Seriously, this game will definitely not hit the spot for you. The gameplay feels pretty much like a big mix of different genres and styles, which is where the game is really lacking. On the other hand the story is excellent, even if it feels a bit cut short. The setting is vibrant and really fits the game perfectly. The environment and setting really blends so very well with the music that it makes me slightly insane. And don't even get me started on the music. Featuring excellent voice acting and soundtrack this game is a must-buy for any metal fan out there.

85

Metalmania

Darawnal | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Darawnal's reviews »

Tim Schafer and Jack Black takes you to a world filled with metal!

You need this. You need this game at least in some part of your life. The world, the soundtrack and the characters are the best parts in this game; the world is highly detailed with awesome metal memorabilia, soundtrack rocks your metal heart out and characters make you laugh almost at every turn.

The bad points in this game are somewhat awkward keyboard controls (which can be solved with Xbox 360 controller) and the not-so-great RTS parts. This game is filled with very stupid RTS parts, but you will prevail them if you have enough metal inside of you.

The game itself is very solid. Hack-and-slashy parts work like they should, RTS-parts (at least try to) work like RTS' should and driving is satisfactory. You seriously need to buy this if you love humor, Jack Black and/or metal music.

92

Brutal Legend is awesome

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

Brutal Legend is amazing game! I never thought I could fell in love with an adventure game. The game is unique and sooo much fun. If you love heavy metal you're going to love this game! It has Black Sabbath, Motorhead and many other songs. The game is definitely worth your time! My recommendation - play it!

91

What a ride

zipnox | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Brutal Legend. Where to begin?

This game is one seriously kickass action-adventure, hell, it even has real-time strategy in it. The plot is very humorous and revolves heavily around rock & roll, which in itself is a great concept. This obviously means the soundtrack is absolutely stacked with great songs and the game contains various cameo appearances from rock stars.

The game is played in a big open explorable world with great scenery and different environments, it feels great to cruise around and get some roadkills with your car but traveling feels a bit slow in the later part of the game. The combat is very satisfying and smooth, you can do all kinds of crazy stuff with the power of rock! The main story is great, but I would've liked for it to be a bit longer.

Some people got turned off by the strategy portion of the game, I rather enjoyed it. If you like rock & roll, action, strategy and general demonslaying, get this game!

79

Nice metal-themed game

blotunga | July 30, 2013 | See all blotunga's reviews »

The game's atmosphere is great, the voice acting is hilarious. I couldn't stop laughing in the first 15-20 minutes. But afterwards it gets a bit tedious (especially the strategy part). Still a nice game

90

Heavy metal fun!

mahon | July 24, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

If you like metal music, you should already have played this game. If you don't - play it and maybe you will get to like this kind of music.

The game is very entertaining with its excellent soundtrack, great voice actors, oh well, not even actors but metal stars (some of whom are even visually recreated as in-game characters), nice graphics and fun story.

It's great to see a story about these oh-so-mean looking guys, obviously showing how much tongue in a cheek approach to themselves and their stage personalities they can have.

Moreover the game is really entertaining and fun to play, so I recommend it to everybody.

70

Hilarious!

boyschraverus | July 22, 2013 | See all boyschraverus's reviews »

The gameplay and the graphics of this game are not good (Mainly because it is a port from the playstation). I Highly recommend a xbox controller, or something like that, because it is not optimized very well for pc controls.

The music, and the voice acting do make up for this medium game. Jack black is hilarious, and the metal tracks you can listen two are great if you like that kind of music!

95

Must play for Metal Music Lovers

spycid | July 21, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

This game has one of the most amazing music score. It starts of with an open-world sandbox game and later on turns into a RTS, still the game does not lose any sense of direction or momentum. It's a must play title for Heavy Metal fans as well as Open World Sandbox and RTS fans. It's a great news that finally this game arrived for PC after more than 5 years.

90

Command the power of rock!

bluelegoon | July 21, 2013 | See all bluelegoon's reviews »

Brutal Legend is an odd game, it attempts to combine a number of different gameplay mechanics and to a certain degree it is a success. In Brutal Legend you play the role of Eddie Riggs, a roadie for a lacklustre nu metal band who is transported back in time to a world ruled by heavy metal!The game game begins as a simple adventure game, you control Eddie from a slightly elivated third person view and can slash enemies with your axe. The fighting is combo based and moves can be earned purchase...

76

A funny game which will highten your liking of metal

DeathRowMax | July 6, 2013 | See all DeathRowMax's reviews »

Although I often find Jack Black quite annoying, I think this is his perfect role. He incarnates a roadie perfectly in this funny and rather awesome game. The humour is well done, the universe well constructed and the soundtrack - of course - brilliant. As someone who doesn't often listen to Metal, I found this game made me appreciate it a lot more.

There are some really cool elements to this game - the odd creatures that you can ride, the vehicles you can summon and the brilliant cameos (Ozzy Osbourne anyone?)

Although behind this all, the game is an average open-world, buggy button-masher, the atmosphere surrounding it excuses this.

Fans of rock music and Jack Black should definitely check this out. People just looking for an open-world game might be disappointed.

65

Fun, but to rushed.

Sivisx | June 19, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

Taking the role of not Jack Black you enter the world of Meat Loaf's album art where everything is heavy metal and pyrotechnics.

I'm gonna go ahead and skip trying to explain the story further apart from saying that this brilliantly devised adventure is full of incredible visuals that perfectly marry the most in-depth and amazing hundred-seven plus sized soundtrack of the Heavy Metal Gods.

The sad thing is I beat this game with all the upgrades I wanted/cared about in just under seven hours, this includes the several Real-Time Strategy concert battles I failed. So all-in-all I probably could have beaten this in under five. This is really really undesirable, cause I didn't want it to end... Especially since the 'main' antagonist of the game is voiced by a Pennywise cackling Tim Curry.

Sadly, all good things come to an end.. and boy did this fuckin' thing come to an end. I felt as if I was rushing through when I generally took my time to do side missions and explore the land.

If you are a huge fan of Metal bands such as Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, etc etc.. then this gem is for you. Unless you have a unhealthy dislike of Jack Black, whom vocies the main antagonist that you'll soon fall in love with regardless..

And make sure you don't have a problem with RTS battles cause this is full of them

Since this is so short I cannot reccommend paying whatever the full price is and rather find this on sale.

92

Play more Metal world.

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

This game is not a parody or a joke metal world is the world of Metal inside a video game.

The game puts us in the shoes of Eddie (Jack Black) one roadie that handles the instruments, scenery and safety of a metalcore group of teenagers, the poor must listen as these guys kill the metal but in an unexpected twist Eddie caught in a hell as is typical metal which must fight to save humanity. Your weapons are; Ormagöden ax and guitar, both can customize with your car, attire and tattoos in Metallurgical Workshop.

The features are: Tainted Coil: A faction I'm not sure that tribe represents, but their outfits are the style Manson or Lady Gaga (not that it is metal, but they dress well). They are led by the cruel Doviculus. Drowining Doom: Have a pint of black metal or emo. Hairbangers: The Hairbangers are led by Lyonwhite, are based on the glam metal, with hairstyles, makeup and feminine attire. Headbangers: The "true" metalheads who appreciate metal as it is, no sissy or anything like that. Their leader is Lars Halford (so call my son) looking man like Robert Plant (young). Subfactions: Some outfits motoquieros equal to those of Halford. Some Amazons with painted face like Kiss or Gorgoroth.

During the game you'll stumble across metal legends like Ozzy, Lemmy and a character very similar to Halford (the Baron).

The game is not very well optimized, in larger battles that will take place during game (many units in the field) can make your PC cry a little, and there are some graphical glitches as the pupils but in general is very well.

TIPS, does not matter if you read the rest should read THIS. There are certain powers that I think are completely useless, buy them and I did not find a time when those who come well. -Electric pump: the enemy must be in the air for this to work. I never had an enemy in the air this unless by strong guitar attack. -Slip: you glide and turn on flames, very weak and leaves you unprotected besides being annoying. When you want to equip the weapon to go faster (shift) you will slip. Pirotecnica Pump: This power you learn for free .. do not need to buy it. Unless you to buy the "potencies" even more than I'm not sure.

Gameplay: Fairly smooth. Fussed around with the combos and the game is too easy, even on the level in Brütal not find too many problems. Technology: Not well optimized, but not as bad as Dark Souls. Graphics: Very good, the game tries to look caricaturistico so do not expect photo quality faces. Sound: Perfect, the car, the steps, the music, the game, the swings are also well represented. Innovation: I know of no similar game.

75

A solid and entertaining game

Lekes | May 8, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an engrossing tale with characters that are likable, and top of the line voice acting. Jack Black does a fantastic job. The hilarious dialogue and spoofs carry the game's first half, and by then you are genuinally interested in the characters and plot in the second half. There are numerous different environments that aren't simply repeated tilesets. The artwork is amazing. I would have liked to see the ridable animals better implemented, but really, this is a terrific game that while could have been better, stands on its own just fine.

84

Some silly fun

TartFlavor | May 2, 2013 | See all TartFlavor's reviews »

Although originally released on console in October 2009, the game was not available on PC until February 2013. I may as well start off saying that you need a controller to play this game. Don't have one? Don't bother reading any further. Without a controller the controls feel very clunky and it greatly detracts from the experience. I would consider it playable without a controller, however I would not consider it enjoyable. Even with controller though, the controls still take some getting used to and feel a little clunky at first. It feels like they tried to jam a bit too many commands into the controller causing them to be a little overwhelming.

Now that we've got that down, let's take a look at the actual game. The story is centered around Eddie Riggs (Jack Black), a roadie that is sucked into land of rock. The game is open-world and in third person, as well as being an interesting combination of action and real time strategy.

While no Skyrim, Brutal Legends has a fairly decent sized map. However, while Double Fine got the size down, the map is barren and not very diverse. Much of the landscape looks the game and it feels a little half-hearted. Much of the map feels closed off with walls that you can't go over and other barriers. As well as being enclosed by physical barriers, the missions seem highly linear.

Now to talk about where this game excels - the combat. As I mentioned earlier, Brutal Legend is a cross between action and RTS. For the action side, you fight as an axe-wielding roadie that likes to cut things up. Another main weapon is your other axe, your guitar. The axe is your melee weapon while your guitar is used for ranged attacks. You can also use to summon things such as your car or to rally your troops by playing a few notes.

In terms of RTS, you must buy units in a major battle from points accumulated based on the number of "fans" you have. Fans are acquired by building merchandise booths in certain areas. You must protect these as well as destroying the enemy's. You control your troops through a series of button combinations. This is where the problem with the controls comes into play. The RTS part feels clunky due to the lack of buttons on a controller as opposed to mouse & keyboard. Another complaint is that there is a relatively small unit variety at your disposal as opposed to other RTS games. The same is true with a low amount of enemy variety.

The game has a lot of customization options such as new skills and combos, as well as upgrades for your weapons and car. It even has reskins available for some things, like the car. While some of the upgrades are generic such as "do more damage", there are some pretty fun ones that include spewing blood everywhere with a car attachment.

My favorite part of the game by far is the humor. The game is hilarious ranging from the enemies to the descriptions of items. With a cast consisting of people like Jack Black and Ozzy Osbourne you can guess how good the voice acting is. The game also has some great music from bands such as Black Sabbath and Judas Priest.

Overall, the game has decent mechanics and an acceptable art style. Where this game really excelled is with its humor and voice acting. If you're looking for something to dive into and just have some dumb fun as well as laugh at some jokes, this is the game for you. If you're looking for a more in-depth game you might not find this to your taste. Personally, I loved it.

74

Rock n Roll

Joeru | April 25, 2013 | See all Joeru's reviews »

This game takes the absurd and then beats in the face with a guitar, this hack n slash adventure combined the comedic narrative skills of Jack Black and metal music of the rock gods themselves like Ozzy Osbourne, Megadeath, Dragonforce and so on.

The gameplay include two modes aside from the aforementioned hack n slash there is also an RTS element, which unfortunately isn't quite as fun as the hacking and the slashing.

The clean cartoonesque 3D graphic style lends well to Jack's character and everything seems to flow fairly well together.

While this game may not be perfect it is a fun game with a quirky story and really awesome music. Any metal heads out there or people who enjoy a good laugh then this game is for you.

Rock On!

75

Heavy Metal Fans, Rejoice!

murgo23 | March 25, 2013 | See all murgo23's reviews »

If you're a Tim Schaffer fan, you'll like it. If you're a heavy metal fan, who also like games, you'll love it. Being both a gamer and a heavy metal fan (mostly the old school metal), this is the game I've been waiting to play. I got it when it first came out and loved every second of it. I'll keep this short and sweet.

Pros: -Game is fantastic -Soundtrack is amazing -The world is like every metal album cover come to life -It has Ozzy, Rob Halford, Lemmy, Jack Black, Lita Ford, and Tim Curry playing characters -Story is awesome -It's flat-out fun!

Cons: -Combat system can get tedious after awhile -No too much replay value -Multiplayer gets boring after awhile

60

Good Concept but bad Execution.

fable2 | March 11, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

It's an average button masher. Apart from the awesome setting, the insane music, the characters and humor i see nothing outstanding, nothing that would give this game a boost above games such as DMC or Darksiders. That being said, in a short period of gameplay i found quite a few bugs, artifacts and glitches. Nothing to cripple gameplay, mind you, but they annoyed the hell out of me. The gameplay mechanic is sort of clunky and unpolished, but it's a port so that was to be expected. It's a good game but nothing spectacular

66

Decent, but flawed.

ANeM | March 1, 2013 | See all ANeM's reviews »

Brutal Legend isn't great, but it is good enough. The fact is that it tried a bunch of things and not all of them were executed particularly well. You've got an open world game mashed with an RTS mashed with a brawler and it just didn't quite pan out for any of those things. The brawling is uninspired and the RTS is far too simplistic to be much fun, and the content offered by the open world is questionable at best. Furthermore, the driving mechanics for traversing said open world are clunky at best and the optional racing side quests are duller than dull.

However, it still isn't a bad game despite all the game parts being somewhat bad. The redeeming quality of the entire game is really the Metal Motif. The soundtrack is fantastic and the world has enough interesting sights to see to justify just driving around and enjoying what the game has to offer.

85

Great game with humor

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

Eddie Riggs is the person who made the whole metalworld and the ingeniously written story complete. With his humor he makes Brütal Legend to what it truely is: an extremely brütal game. Schafer and his team had an original vision and made a unique game out of it. A game that mixes genres un an unusual way that make you laugh constantly. It's a pity Double Fine didn't do more with the somewhat simple side-missions and that the game is rather short. However, I couldnt get enough of the adventures of Eddie Riggs and it's one of the best games I've played in a while.

90

The power of Metal!!

abelfs | Feb. 24, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

I played this game when was released on XBOX 360 and when I saw it for PC I bought it without hesitation. You will feel breathless while you go through its story. At first you'll find a Hack N' Slash to pass to a sandbox experience driving an infernal car with the rhythm of an epic heavy metal soundtrack; with groups like Dragonforce, Ozzy Osbourne (who also appears in the game as a character), Motörhead, Juda Priest, Megadeth or Manowar. The more you play, the more surprises you will find. There will be also levels where you manage an army like a real time-strategy game. Buy it and surround yourself by the power of metal!!

49

Too many ideas not enough fun

samtman | Feb. 24, 2013 | See all samtman's reviews »

I had high hopes for this game. I love the idea of a game built around the rock world. There are positives to this game the characters are genuinely funny and well though out and some of the dialogue makes you laugh out loud. Jack Black, Ozzy et al make this game tolerable. The music is good too if you are a fan of metal. The rest of the game is not as good. The game is an open world game of sorts but is bland with not enough to warrant going anywhere apart from a to b. this makes the world crafted pointless. Just when you think it is just an action adventure game it changes. There then are a number of simplistic RTS battles which are completely out of place. These are either too easy or stupidly hard with no middle ground and they are not fun or interesting either. I am a fan of Tim Schafer and had high hopes for this game especially with the subject matter but feel it is trying to do too many things and ultimately doesn't make any of them anything more than adequate which is not a word I often use when gaming.