Reviews for Krater

75

Solside City News

Obsessor | July 30, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Krater... Idea behind this game was brilliant. Execution... A bit less so. Still it is a game worth knowing if you enjoy hack'n'slash games. What makes it unique among other titles of this genre is that Krater is squad based. You control not one but three characters at once. You can have a healer, damage dealer and a tank, someone who can withstand a beating and keep enemies' focus on himself.

The game looks pretty, that's the word - pretty. Towns and cities are colorful and teeming with life. Character design in very neat. I must say few good words about the music and sounds in general, as they're in league with graphics.

So, the game sounds good so far, right? Yeah, it sounds good but in the end can be a bit disappointing. Having three characters to control limits you to having just six skills at your disposal(plus three more as gadgets, independent of the class). There are four classes, which makes sixteen skills available in total(not counting gadget skills). Yes, sixteen. Because each class has its mutated counterpart with a bit different set of skills. You will not get bored fast, but at some point it will come. You can try different builds, experiment with making your tank a healer(it is possible with an appropriate use of implants and boosters)and so on, and so forth. This will add some fun to your game.

So to sum up: Krater is a decent game, not brilliant, not outstanding. Decent. It is way above the average in my personal list of hack'n'slash games. If you have spare time try it. You may like it.

61

Great setting, poor execution

darkyhbk | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Krater's setting is rather unique and interesting - a post-apocalyptic Sweden, but the poor game design and uninspired gameplay makes it considerably less appealing. While the graphics are nice enough, both detailed and artistic, building up a believable recreation of a post-apocalyptic Sweden, the interiors look too unfinished and repetitive,leading to boredom after a short while. The sound effects are not fantastic - sometimes they fail to launch, other times they come with a delay. The music is fine, but the voice acting, as little as there is any- is absolutely abysmal. The storyline is barely there, NPCs giving you uninteresting info about a number of things like factions and locations. The story never develops, and the unexploited potential the game reeks of is really unfortunate. The gameplay is also unfinished, repetitive, shallow and uninspired. You get to choose 3 character classes to guide through the game at one time, each with 2 distinct abilities and corresponding weapons. Yes, only 2 abilities. You can buff them, as well as their stats, but that doesn't offer variety. The biggest problem is that the characters are level capped. That means that in order to improve one past level 5, you need to either pay a ridiculous amount of money in order to unlock the next 5 levels, or buy cheap, new ones, which start at level 1. That's incredibly stupid and unnecessary, as it makes leveling up seem tedious and rather pointless, with little to be offered. Thus, Krater is a very repetitive and uninspired game, with huge potential which was not exploited at all. Such a pity...

72

Visually interesting and fun ARPG

CommunistBatman | July 31, 2013 | See all CommunistBatman's reviews »

This game actually reminds me a lot of Warhammer 20k: Dawn of War 2. You spend the majority of your time micromanaging the skills and positioning of your characters. There are a few key differences for better or worse though. In Warhammer, you cannot dynamically change your character's loadout and you'll typically fight more weak enemies instead of Krater's smaller groups of stronger enemies. Warhammer also does not have any sort of crafting system and the RPG aspects are handled differently in the game. If you are interested in those, I advise on looking up lets plays for each game respectively.

I personally find the extremely stylized portrayal of the post-apocalpytic future in this game to be refreshing. Something about wandering around with a gas mask on and a giant engine block as a weapon seems much more entertaining to me than wandering around in another generic bulky military future suit.

The game definitely has its flaws. It could use a little more visual customization for the characters and the missions can feel a little like a series of fetch quests or 'kill 10 rats' quests, but its pretty much unavoidable for the ARPG genre.

78

Decent indie game.

CrysisX | July 8, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

Krater is a RPG game that is almost similar to Torchlight. In Krater, you control a group of three people in an adventure to find treasures. The only thing I don't like about the game is that the controls are a little bit messy which takes a while to get used to. The environment in the game is nicely done though the graphics are not that great. If you need a new RPG game, give this a try and who knows, you might like it just like me. Looking forward to any new content for this game in the future!

69

Worth Checking Out!

Plasros | June 12, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

After all those patches, to fix all those bugs, and all those crashes, the game finally became soooo worth buying. I can honestly say that this is the most charming game I've played in my life, and the gameplay is fantastic as well. A truly engaging story, and fantastic nature to explore. And the extra that makes it a 10/10 is the town designs, and the brilliant music throughout the game. So to sum up, it's really really worth buying, I would easily have spent double the money to get this game.

73

Some more polishing would have made this game good.

McDoenerKing | June 7, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

It is a squad-based hack'n'slash RPG. The customization is done well, you can individually build your characters by choosing boosters and implants. Also you can build your squad how you like it. Do you want three mutant healers? Just do it the sky is your limit.

The crafting system is very cool. You can buy some recipes, but most of them you have to find yourself and materials has to be found from enemies too. Some materials can be bought, but it is rather expensive.

The graphics is cool and the names of the characters are funny. This apocalyptic sweden is very atmospheric. I would recommend to manually edit the ini file to finetune the settings, because the ingame settings do not allow much tuning.

So what is so bad about krater? It is monotonous. Very monotonous. Why? You will fight most of the time the same enemies in the same settings. Rats and bears all game long. Also it is very easy, but sometimes an enemy pops up and just kills you. Since your characters do not learn any new skills, you are set in stone from the beginning gameplay wise.

I would recommend it when you have absolutely nothing else to play or want some mindless hack'n'slash.

71

Bit of a disappointment

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

I knew Krater was going to be an action RPG, and I actually thought it would be a good 7 hours or so long, considering it's a downloadable game. But so far I've been playing for nearly 13 hours, without having done all the sidequests. It's fairly lengthy. It looks great, it sounds cool, it just works. 'Aren't there any downsides ?', I hear you ask ? Unfortunately, yes. Instead of using 3 main characters, you'll be switching them around several times during your playthrough. There's just no connection. And even though the upgrade system allows for a lot of custom builds; it's actually so diverse that you'll die quite often just because of this system. I'm stuck near the end and I just can't beat the final boss. It's impossible. Literally. Ok, I'm exaggerating. It IS possible, but you'll have to rebuild your characters entirely. It's just no fun. Also, the loot drops aren't all that great. Really, some of the design decisions... I just don't get them. Ok... I'll stop now. Really.

75

What it could have been...

abelfs | March 3, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Krater arrived with the promise of being an original and revolutionary action RPG that would depose the throne of Torchlight, one of the finest indie RPG games. When the game was released, it was plenty of bugs and it always crashed. However, now it's completely different. Krate has recieved major fixes and it's much more stable and the best part, it has a Co-op mode now! Krater is a game with a gameplay that reminds to the Diablo saga, only that you control three characters at once. The atmosphere of the game is kind of particular, set in a colorful post-apocalyptic Sweden. If you like RPG, atleast give this game a chance. It deserves much more!

76

Great indie title

rstokes | March 2, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Krater is a isometric strategic action RPG where you control a group of three in search of riches and loot. The combat is real time, so you cannot pause mid fight to issue commands, this makes the game rather hectic and death can be permanent or result in serious unerasable injuries which gives combat a fun flight or fight feeling.

It has co-op but only through short mission like scenarios, which always end too soon. Kind of lame they released it with the promise of co-op only to make us wait several months for a watered down version. If you enjoy diablo, baulders gate, or torchlight, you should give this game a chance

65

A poor mix of many different type of games

panz3r88 | March 1, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Krater is a squad-based roleplaying game set in a colorful post-apocalyptic world. When this game was released it was very buggy and it always crashed, however now it's completely different. Krater has received major fixes and it's much more stable. The main problem of Krater is that it fails to mix many different type of games: it's a squad based rpg with action- hack and slash elements but every elements is not well developed.
The game has a good the character design and an in-depth crafting system and character customization.