Reviews for The Bridge

85

Good puzzle game :)

insane11 | May 26, 2014 | See all insane11's reviews »

This is a decent puzzle game that can be best described as a cross between Braid and And Yet It Moves. Each level has you trying to find your way through a door which you do through rotating the level (like in And Yet It Moves). You also have the ability to rewind time if you're going die or make a mistake (like in Braid).

The Good: - I really loved the visual style of the game. - The level design is really cool with each level having an abstract art look to it. - The puzzles provide a decent challenge.

The Bad: - The game doesn't feel very original having used ideas already used in other games. - The second half of the game just features mirrored versions of the levels in the first half. While these levels are more challenging than original version it would have been better to maybe have added more original levels instead.

Overall this is a pretty decent game and worth picking up if you enjoy puzzle games.

80

Decent puzzle game.

edg1812 | May 19, 2014 | See all edg1812's reviews »

More and more creative elements are introduced as you progress through the different doors gradually. Once there are 4 or 5 new methods and tools for solving puzzles, the game gets interesting and is actually quite challenging at a few instances.

I have to say that I had to invent a few rules reminiscent of the right hand rules of eletromagnetism in order to keep a track of which objects ended up with which orientations of gravity. Cool concept, but not much more than a stage-by-stage puzzle solving game.

I would definitely suggest giving it a purchase if you like brain teasers.

60

Meh

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | See all Pwnclub's reviews »

This game isn't that good. It really isn't. It's a puzzle game that involves turning the world around you to affect objects in it. A somewhat cool idea with an interesting art style, though not executed that well. I found the game pretty boring and got tired of it really quickly. If you're looking for a similar game that is much better at what it attempts to do, try And Yet it Moves. I do not recommend The Bridge for any price.

88

So Simple, Yet so complex.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

Let me say something before I start: I love indie games. Why? Because, they are from a fresh face in the industry to create something completly out of the ordinary of usual games. The Bridge is a shining example of a brilliant indie game.

The Bridge is a puzzle game where you are Issac Newton, and you use gravity to solve puzzles, but theres one catch: You have control of the world. You can turn it upside down, right side up, or how ever you want to solve mind blowing puzzles.

Its art style is like one I've never seen before, and it works perfectly into the mysterious setting of the game. You are drawn in with a pencil in every level, and everything looks like a rough draft of whatever it is. Mix it up with music that brings a mysterious and puzzling mood, and you got a great indie game.

One of my favorite indie games of all time, and I cant wait to finish it.

99

a confusing romp in the mind of an artist

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

i didn't understand what this game was at first... was it a platformer? a puzle game? i just didn't get it... until i was getting mad at it.

this game is so hard to try and figure out that i spent almost 6 hours trying to get one puzzle... and i enjoyed every minute of it. it has an interesting mechanic mix of using gravity, color, optical illusions, and platforming. you have to get you the end f the level (or through the next door) but its not as easy as just walking up to it at times.

it's hard but very pretty. the art style is like a sketch that's come to life. and the graphics are light enough that the game can be run very well on under powered machines.

good game... very hard to finish

91

Twisted dimension platformer

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

The Bridge is a great artsy looking game with solid platforming puzzles. I loved how the game presented itself. Everything looks like a sketch - but well made, and the graphics is looking more impressive than unfinished. The puzzles will make you think a lot and sometimes you might have to resort to trial and error walking up and down to see what happens. I think the game is one of the most prominent member of the new generation of platformers that started with Braid. I would recommend the game for everyone who is up for a little bit of thinking and puzzle solving in a world influenced by Escher's art and/or is looking for some eye candy.

90

Brain exploder

daraya79 | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all daraya79's reviews »

There is something in this game what makes that I want to play it again and again. Yes, it's graphic style is unique and surrealistic. Yes, puzzles are challenging and not easy. Yes, it can be very frustrating. Yes, music is athmospheric. I guess all those things combined together made that this is one of best platformers I have played in my life so far.

96

Mind bending antics !

Eat_Pushy | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all Eat_Pushy's reviews »

If you love Mc Escher you better step up and start playing The Bridge. Mind bending antics for the criminally insane, as if Mr. Escher had a psychiatric session on the couch with Edward Nigma aka (The Riddler). Only to spawn such a devious and delectable puzzler like sow. Will add a Quote that could capture my feelings while playing this exquisite game.

"For emulation has a thousand songs that one by one pursue. Running, falling, vomiting forth cobras enamored of fire escapes. If you give way, or edge aside from the direct forthright, like to an enter tide, they all wash by, and leave you hindmost. One could pass valuable hours, perhaps days, doing nothing, but hanging by one's earlobes strung by a thin, white-hot wire, burning with ecstasy. Up through eternity and further, I myself have often succumbed. Knowing not around what, or dim high stone forth."

80

Retro game

iamkyo90 | July 19, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Retro game, but is very funny, based in puzzle logic. Very recommendable.

85

In the Escher universe

Xibalba | March 30, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

The Bridge is a 2D logic puzzle game that forces the player to reevaluate their preconceptions of physics and perspective. Not very difficult until the end of the game, but beautiful to look at and very satisfying to play. I'm playing with a gamepad on PC, and it works very well Overall, The Bridge manages to avoid crossing that fine line between challenging and frustrating, making you work to solve each puzzle without wanting to break your keyboard/pad

90

Great puzzle game

Cavalieroscuro | March 6, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

If you loved Braid or Echochrome, then you should buy the Bridge. In this puzzle games there are a lot of hard challenges, that will require all your skills to be beaten. But yes, there are a tons of good puzzle platformer on the market at the moment, but The Bridge has one astonishing feature, its graphic side. It's like an Escher picture mixed with a black and white comic book. When you will complete the game, it will unlock another version of it with new puzzles and challenges. One of the best indie game of this year (at least, for now).