Reviews for 10 000 000

85

A solid, interesting title

Nezumichan | Oct. 9, 2014 | See all Nezumichan's reviews »

It combines solid and somewhat unusual match-3 gameplay (you can drag as far as you want, but only in one direction) with dungeon-crawling thematics and the ability to upgrade your base, allowing you to improve your equipment and buy bonuses that may help your chances or make certain tasks easier.

It's not the deepest game, but very satisfying for the asking price.

85

Can't complain

Arteus | Feb. 9, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

As a lover of "match 3" styled games I have no issues at all with this game. It takes a classic formula and mixes it up by making every action correlate to your character's performance in the dungeon. The controls are simple, the upgrades are fun to obtain and the combat, despite being controlled by matching tiles, feels like it has impact. The sound effects are well done, the music is catchy (reminds me of VVVVVV) and in the end it's just a simple game that offers a good amount of challenge in the later stages.

My only real complaint would really be that you can quite easily end up in a tough battle with no combat-related tiles readily available to you but hey, that's just the luck of the draw.

70

Addictively entertaining

smajor92 | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all smajor92's reviews »

This is a very fun puzzle RPG cross game that offers decent entertainment for good value. It is very addictive to begin with but as you get towards the end it does start to lose its charm quite a bit but for the price I would say its just worth it.

79

Unexpected Addiction

jcyuen7 | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all jcyuen7's reviews »

I bought this game on sale and I didn't really have any expectations for it. A few hours later, I was glad I stumbled across this puzzle/RPG cross. With the world currently engrossed in Candy Crush and the like, 10,000,000 does well to offer a new take on the genre with upgrades and different goals for the player to achieve. It is a great game to play in short spurts as well. A hidden gem.

85

Great twist on the match-em-up format

cydoniac | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all cydoniac's reviews »

10,000,000 is a game that takes the classic formula of games like Bejeweled and gives it a much-needed refresh, RPG style. You are trapped in a castle and the only way out is to score 10,000,000 points, a number that seems impossible at first but slowly as you build up ranks and power up your tools, becomes a feasible challenge.

The gameplay consists of your character on the top of the screen progressing through a dungeon, while you solve tiles at the bottom of the screen. By matching up different objects, such as swords, wands, and shields, you give your character the power to attack, defend, and also be able to open up chests along the way. You must be quick as the dungeon scrolls along regardless of whether you're moving or not, and if you don't keep ahead you lose out. Matching up chains or 4/5 tiles at a time gives you an edge, and items you get from chest tiles also help you along the way.

Even if you aren't normally inclined towards standard matching games, this game provides enough of a fresh take on the genre that it is quite enjoyable, and the format of the game always brings you back to try hit that elusive 10,000,000 score, and break your way out. The controls are purely mouse based, so make sure you're using a decent mouse or a trackpad as when the gameplay gets faster, it can become frustrating if you don't have a degree of accuracy. Most of the time I didn't have any problems, also occasionally a row or column wouldn't drag on first click, due to the speed I was doing it at. This doesn't prove to be too much of a problem overall. Once you hit the 4-6 hour mark and eventually complete the game, there is little to keep you playing bar the competitive scoring side of things, so a little more replay value would have been appreciated, although the developer is apparently building on more to the game in the near future.

Overall, this game is definitely worth checking out. It isn't a massively long game and after about 5 hours you will probably be hitting the 10m mark, but getting there is lots of fun, and the upgrades are enough to encourage you to persevere without getting bored. Go get it!

84

Simple yet Addictive

syclonix | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all syclonix's reviews »

10,000,000 combines your standard match-3 type gameplay with dungeon crawling and charming 8-bit graphics. In fact if there's one word for 10,000,000 it's that it is simply charming. It's not at all complicated, there isn't much strategy involved, and the scope of gameplay is fairly limited, but it's still a joy to play because of the way the theme, graphics, and sound come together.

The basic premise of the game is to scroll the columns or rows of blocks to match 3+ of the same block-types. There are weapon, spell, shield, key, and treasure blocks and you have to match the correct type in order to defeat the enemy on screen or unlock the door/chest on screen. The game is fast-paced and gets increasingly faster as you progress and if you run out of time or get hit enough by enemies you die. You continue doing these runs, unlocking different "levels" as you go until you're able to reach a score of 10,000,000. Overall, it's a great little pick up and play game with good replayability and is sure to be handy for those times you want to play something that doesn't require a big investment in time or brain power.

85

Ten Million Tiles

Cheeseburgermaf | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all Cheeseburgermaf's reviews »

Summary:

10000000 (ten million) is a single player match-3 puzzle game with some RPG elements added.

You can collect resources that are spent in your camp to improve your character in an RPG-like fashion.

I've heard people call it a match-3 roguelike. If I were to be blunt, I'd say it's a poor man's Puzzle Quest with a timer on

how long you can spend on each turn. This may be a good thing for some.

In-depth:

The puzzle field has you playing a standard match-3 puzzle game. Every three tiles matched produces an effect.

Back at your camp, where you start every game, there are several rooms. You can unlock these in any order you wish. Inside each room, you can spend your resources gathered from the dungeon to improve your character in various ways. One category of unlocks offer abilities that you can toggle on and off, offering a combination of positive and negative effects, allowing a degree of compelling decisions that go beyond simply improving your physical attack damage or reducing incoming damage.

You can deal magical or physical damage to monsters you encounter. Monsters may be weak or resistant to different attack types.

Each dungeon ends with a boss encounter. Defeating this boss increases the difficulty level to the equivalent of the next dungeon's difficulty, but only grants the score multiplier of the originally chosen difficulty.Each time you beat a dungeon's boss for the first time, you unlock the next dungeon difficulty. This difficulty increase grants score and resource multipliers, potentially increasing your overall score if you are skilled enough.

You can match keys that will unlock chests and you're standing at, but these keys are wasted if you're not currently standing next to one of these.

Chests contain items with a variety of effects that you can save for later use. Unused items will carry over to your next dungeon run, so you can do this in easier difficulty dungeons to prepare for a more difficult run. You can also obtain items from matching chest tiles.

Obtained items will be displayed in the top-left. You may hold four items at any given time. They are used by left clicking on them. Some of the items you can find are:

Food that moves your character away from the left side of the screen, damages the monster you're currently facing.

Change all tiles of a specific type on the board into another type.

Spare keys you can use at any time.

Using any of these items while you are not in an appropriate situation will result in that item being wasted. For example, using a key while in a fight will have no effect and you will lose the key.

You can't take your time in the dungeon. You're always fighting the clock. You must balance speed with planning. Do you clear some of those keys that are filling the board so you can make room for more attack tiles, or do you work with what you have available at the moment, saving those keys for the next encounter that might be a door with several locks on it?

The game gets repetitive once you've seen all it offers. For me, boredom did not set in until about 20 hours in. If you're playing for an hour or two per day, this comes to about one week of gameplay. For 4.99 USD, this is a good value.

There are a few Steam achievements to help keep your interest, but you'll need skill to unlock them all. You can't just brute force your way to them all.

75

Fun title but gets a little weak towards the end

Drabit | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all Drabit's reviews »

In that style of RPG meets Bejewled and other sliding block puzzles, the latest entry to it is 10 000 000. While the game progresses fairly well as you run the dungeon, getting gold to unlock upgrades back at your castle, slaying monsters with your sword or spells or items you find by making matches, once everything is unlocked it feels too much reliant on luck to actually beat the game from this point. All and all it's still a pretty fun game to poke at and is among the better of the puzzle rpgs.

88

A different type of puzzle game

Kitzii | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Kitzii's reviews »

I bought this game a few months ago, puzzle games are my guilty pleasure, this one brought many unique features to the match 3 puzzle. With various upgrades and abilities you can unlock along the way, it keeps it feeling fresh for a long while. It does get a little repetitive but all match threes get that way after a while. I love it and still actively play it as a time killer.

89

Time Sink

Skyrao | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Skyrao's reviews »

I thought I would pick this up to kill some time but I ended up playing it for hours. I actually started having dreams in little slidy square things, it was really weird :/ Anyway.. It is a lot of fun.

86

Dungeon's Retro Style

Dean_Demon | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all Dean_Demon's reviews »

This is such a simple and charming game which does bring back the very best traditions of classic 8 bit gaming, hey it has pixel's, easy level design, entertaining music and sfx which is almost chip sound in nature and keeping with the 8 bit theme but does use modern sounds but does manage a very good job of having that 8 bit feeling.

The game itself is played on a single screen of 7x8 grid which total's 56 blocks in the Bejeweled style so is very easy to learn and each type of block has it's own colour and function, so a green block has a key on it which will open a door and a blue block has a sword on it which you can attack the various enemies to be found in the game, the rest i will let you discover for yourself, there are power ups and potions to be found as well, power up are good by the way and there to make things easier for you and the potions can be both good and bad so select these wisely.

Now the fun begins ..... believe me it may appear simple but it grabs you right from the start and it's fast as well so you have to think rather quickly, the idea is to escape the dungeon by killing all the various monsters which earns you points and hopefully you will attain the large number of 10 million points to escape the dungeon and earn your freedom, this turns out to be very much more difficult than it sounds, throughout the game you must complete challenges to advance your rank which in turn makes the game faster and more difficult.

The game has a number of steam achievements which requires you to complete the game of 10 million points on various difficulty levels which is rather quite devious indeed, it's not just a case of reaching the hardest difficulty and reaching your target, oh no it's couldn't be that simple but i will let you discover all these little secret's for yourself and hope that you enjoyed it as much as i did, all i will say is that one of the achievements in the game i class as one of the most difficult that i've ever encountered so be prepared for a lot of replays, if you do manage to gain all the achievements then you will feel a great sense of pride and know that you have earned eveyone of them, it's a real great tribute to games of yesteryear and i rate it a sparkling 86 out of 100.

91

Hours of fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

This game is definitely up there with the likes of Angry Birds, Peggle and Plants vs Zombies in terms of casual fun factor. It's got hours and hours of gameplay and it's extremely simple so it makes it easier to just pick up a game and go and leave whenever you need to. The upgrade system always keeps you wanted to go further into a level to make sure that you can get enough points. The difficulty of each level scales well but you always have the option to go back and earn easy points too. It's not a graphics revolution by any means but that's not to be expected. That being said, the cheesy 2D graphics fit the game well and there is a great soundtrack to accompany all as well.

80

Incredibly addictive, until you reach the end-game

dessicant | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all dessicant's reviews »

The dungeon crawling RPG elements draw you back into this tile-matching puzzle game. Again... and again... and again. It became a problem. The tiles slide as entire rows/columns, sort of like a flat rubik's cube, which I found a nice change of pace from the typical swapping mechanic. Gameplay is fast-paced and frantic, as your "life" is time, so acting quickly is imperative to survival. I found the gameplay surprisingly strategic, in that regard. However, once you reach 10,000,000 points and reach the end-game, you've most likely unlocked just about everything, and then the game sort of collapses in on itself. With no goals to strive for, it's just another tile-matching puzzle game where you try to get as high a score as possible. It's still a fun time-killer, but my interest dropped off a cliff at that point.

81

Small, yet entertaining

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

10 000 000 isn't the biggest game in the world, nor the longest-lasting. But it is a pleasure to play, and play, and play, until it becomes repetitive, or you're ready to do whatever it is you need to do in real life. A good way to waste time, and feel good doing it.

76

a pleasant original title

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

Yet another reason why i love indie games. Excellent low priced game with a nice bit of depth. Dungeon crawler meets roguelike meets puzzles!!! what isn't there to enjoy!

85

Very Fun and Addictive

PlagueofMidgets | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all PlagueofMidgets's reviews »

10,000,000 is a great game and well worth the asking price. The upgrade system will keep you playing as you try to best your previous run.

71

Fun little diversion

RHatcherMD | July 27, 2013 | See all RHatcherMD's reviews »

Nice little mix of match-three combat and dungeon-crawling (actually dungeon running).

Not a lot of depth to hold you in for more than a few hours, but still, worth the asking price.

72

Entertaining while it lasts

zipnox | July 24, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Put on your best puzzle t-shirt and gear up for the simple, yet addictive puzzle/rpg hybrid that is 10 000 000. The game is fairly straightforward, your goal is to accumulate 10 000 000 points during a single dungeon run where you overcome monsters and various locks by matching tiles and using items.

The game is cheap albeit fairly short, the rpg and puzzle elements mesh nicely and form a smooth gameplay experience. The graphics work well in its simplicity if but a bit uninspiring, the music and sound effects add a nice touch but tend to get quite repetitive toward the endgame, as does the gameplay.

It makes for a fun experience and deals with its shortcomings by providing entertainment at a reasonable price. Definitely a catch if on sale!

84

Not Just a Puzzle Game

F4T4LV0iD | July 22, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

10,000,000 caught my eye immediately when I saw a trailer for it, so I thought I'd bite. I love me a good puzzle game, and this throws an awesome monkey wrench into your traditional tile-matching puzzle game to the likes of Bejeweled by making the matched tiles have certain effects.

The ultimate goal is to amass 10,000,000 points to escape your prison. With your first try to do this, you will likely fall short, VERY short. But as you play, you gain materials which you can use to purchase upgrades that aid in your quest for 10,000,000 points. Each time you enter the dungeon you will fight random enemies, each one with their own strengths and weaknesses. Some are weak against melee attacks while other are weak against magic attacks, so you need to plan your tile-matches accordingly, as you only have so much time through each run of the dungeon, and each time you are attacked by the enemy, it takes a bite out of your time.

Do not worry if you lose in the dungeon, in fact expect it frequently. But each run through you will keep making progress, and the upgrades will keep assisting you and you will notice each run through the dungeon you will keep getting closer and closer.

If you are a fan of puzzle games, and want something new by adding an interesting twist I'd say give this game a look, you'll be pleasantly surprised and find yourself wasting away hours upon hours trying to get to 10,000,000.

70

Challenging and interesting

zhack075 | July 22, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

This game is the combination of Rogue Like dungeon crawling and tile match games. It's impressive and addictive. The game is hard as this is a die and retry game but it's really great and not as frustrating as a super meat boy for example.

This game is really great to kill time and I would recommend to get it on mobile device.

90

Great bang for your buck!

Brandedwolf | July 13, 2013 | See all Brandedwolf's reviews »

I wasn't sure how much I'd like the game since I'm fairly mediocre at puzzle type games. But I've found myself coming back to it again and again. It's great in that there's enough stuff to do that you can keep playing for a length of time, but you don't have to. Jump in, play a quick run for a minute or two.. or keep running over and over collecting loot. The upgrade system will keep you busy if you don't mind running multiple times to get wood/stone/money/XP to do the upgrades. There is an ending when you reach 10000000. But you can reset the whole thing to keep playing. :) Overall a great game for such a small price.

85

Addicting

charles9 | July 10, 2013 | See all charles9's reviews »

For a tile-matching game, this is pretty darn slick. Rather than mindlessly matching pretty colors to rack up a high score, you're actually prompted to look for certian, specific matches based on the game's current context. Monsters must be fought (either with magic or weapons), chests and doors need to be unlocked, and all that wood/ore/gold isn't going to farm itself. Then, when the round is over, you can take some time to upgrade your character before the next.

And don't even get me started on the music.

It won't win any Spike awards, but for the price, this is a great way to kill a little time.

90

Easily one of my favorites!

blzzzrrttt | July 6, 2013 | See all blzzzrrttt's reviews »

A match 3 game (Bejewled, Candy Crush etc.) with serious RPG elements. The goal is to reach a high score of 10 million points so you can escape your dungeon imprisonment. While that might seem like a daunting task, the upgrades you can get certainly make it easier. Be warned! It's a real grind and is basically built on the "one more run" kinda hook. You can definitely spend up to about 6+ hours or more trying to complete the main game (and even more if you're trying to 100% it)

96

Excellent 8-bit style game

andrewbeechwood | May 31, 2013 | See all andrewbeechwood's reviews »

The word that describes this game - wow. It have the wow factor, something that could take your breath away. Graphics - pure 8-bit, I dig that, like that style. Gameplay is simply, you know what to do at first time. Music is fantastic, got that NESsy vibe. It's a puzzle game and i don't really like puzzle games, but all that things bought me. Great, Great, Great. Pure fun.

81

Cheap but Lots of Fun!

fadillzzz | May 26, 2013 | See all fadillzzz's reviews »

I had no idea what kind of game I should expect when I was buying 10,000,000. The only reason I wanted to buy the game was because I had some friends who were talking about it and they were praising the game with joy.

The first impression that I got when I got to the tutorial stage was, "Wow, this looks a lot like that Bejeweled game". And yet, I was wrong. It's a bit different than that. Because you don't switch the places between two pieces to create a match of three like, but rather, you move an entire row or column till you create a match of three. So, that kinda struck me by surprise. But, it didn't turn me off from playing the game.

I really like the concept that was put into the game. How there are monsters that you have to fight by matching the sword or the staff pieces and chests and doors you need to open by matching the key pieces. But of course, the main goal is to reach a score of 10,000,000. The main character will be set free once you reach that score. But you can still keep playing after that happens.

Another thing that's nice in this game is that you can actually buy some upgrades for your characters, and his weapons and armors. This is really helpful because as the game progress even further, just like in any other game, the enemies become tougher.

I'd say, this game is very worth the price. It's cheap and it might not look pretty, but you'll surely get a lot of fun out of it.

70

Perfect for quick gaming sessions

bradysam | May 15, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

It's another tile matching game meets rpg but it's done very well. You can add rooms to your castle and improve your character so that you can get further and further into the dungeon (and ultimately escape). To escape you need to run from a wall of death closing in from one side and multiple monsters, doors and chests the other side. It's fast paced and ultimately it's fun going for one more run to try and beat your last score and get closer to the end. Unfortunately it definitely comes across as being optimised for playing on your touch screen phone as sliding tiles with the mouse sometimes feels cumbersome and it's not the kind of game that you want to play for more than 20-30 minutes at a time. But if you're looking for a tile matching game and something to play quickly whilst waiting for something then there's definitely a lot worse you can do. On sale it's definitely worth checking out.

95

An unexpected favorite.

Sir_Selah | May 10, 2013 | See all Sir_Selah's reviews »

10,000,000 is a grind. It's a match three puzzle. It's an endless runner. It's a game in which the design borders on minimalism. It's a game without any character development. It's a game that puts the focus on a mere number.

It's possibly my favorite game in recent memory, and I'm trying to figure out if it's because of the above, or in spite of it.

You start off with some instruction as you set off on your way, matching three with little purpose as you meet a swift death. You awake the next morning in a dungeon bed, and you're given the choice to do it again. Doesn't sound like much does it? Oh, but then you learn what's going on. And the game begins.

Between runs you have the option to use resources to open up rooms, and in those rooms you can level up your equipment/abilities/unlock special abilities that give you a boost in exchange for sacrificing a different stat. But how do you get those resources?

Whenever you're playing the game proper, you come across enemies that you must defeat by matching three wands or swords to do magical/physical attacks. And as you do this you'll notice other tiles. But what are these for?

The keys you use to open chests along the way to randomly get gold or one-use items. The chest pieces increase your rate of drops when you defeat enemies. And those resources I mentioned earlier? You get wood and stone to upgrade your upgrade rooms by matching those tiles to. Which means you have to mine for resources quickly in between fights while setting up attacks for you to use on your enemies.

And then you see hours of your life disappear.

The game does have an ending. You can escape once you have a run in which you score at least 10,000,000 points. But after the credits you can keep playing to get an even higher score.

Or you can start over and do it all again. Something I've gladly done multiple times now.

85

Much bang for the buck!

Laudes | May 4, 2013 | See all Laudes's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of bejeweled and all those kinds of games, however this game cought my eye, and I bought it as soon as it was released. It's extremely fun to play, chilled out at the same time as you're trying to hurry up and get those blocks in the right place. I've heard friends who played this out in the time I've spent in total, and I'm not even half done yet! I may not be very good at this, but that doesn't matter so much, the game is very fun and well designed, and the music is extremely RETRO! The entire game is retro-oldschool fusion. And I recommend anyone liking small games like bejeweled or any other like that to buy this. It's also an indie game, which makes it even more worth your time!

50

If beat-the-clock games aren't your thing, I'd steer clear

rsand27 | March 17, 2013 | See all rsand27's reviews »

I didn't think this game would be all that great based on screenshots alone. It looks like an Atari 2600 game.

The matching game is very much like a Bejeweled clone. I'm a big fan of Bejeweled with about 50 hours clocked in on Bejeweled 3.

I liked the upgrade system in this game. It's fun to upgrade your castle and then to level up your weapons, armor, and shield. Potions add interesting new effects.

I enjoyed this game at first enough to play for 3 hours in a 24-hour period. Eventually the frustration killed the fun. Maybe my reaction time is just too low, but any time I turned my attention to what obstacle was in my path at the top of screen, the slightest glance away would eat up all my time. I actually found it better to not even look up top and just match away and hope to get lucky. And if you run out of matches that are glaringly obvious and have to scan the board, you might as well just give up. If you take more than two seconds to think during a dungeon run, you lose. At least that's how I found it to work.

I think what kept me playing were the weapon/armor upgrades. I assumed that I'd eventually just overpower everything in a dungeon and be able to best all the enemies in one match each. Even at max weapons/armor for my level, I still had difficulties. Some monsters still take a lot of matches to overcome.

If beat-the-clock games aren't your thing, I'd stay clear of this. If you like those types of games, you'll probably find this very satisfying due to the RPG elements behind a Bejeweled-type puzzle game.

84

Fairly simple and basic, yet profoundly satisfying game!

alphalegion | March 16, 2013 | See all alphalegion's reviews »

10,000,000 is a fairly simple and basic, yet profoundly satisfying game. I bought it on sale not having very high expectations for it, as it seemed incredibly basic and lacking in any “real” features... But oh boy, was I wrong.

The art style in this game is nothing to scream and shout about, and it’s certainly not unique, but it certainly offers a pleasant and rustic charm to the game. The gameplay itself is yet again basic, but extraordinarily fun. It works on the basis of you matching tiles to perform certain tasks, such as attack, block, heal, move etc. And it actually works incredibly well.

Certainly one I would recommend picking up, and definitely a MUST BUY if you catch it on sale! It offers a good amount of fun, however after a good few hours can seem quite repetitive. But has a good drop-in-drop-out gameplay aspect!

91

Love child of D&D and Bejeweled

nkahoang | March 16, 2013 | See all nkahoang's reviews »

TL;DR: Definitely addictive. Buy this if you have no plan for a while, otherwise say bye bye to your productivity.

It can be described as the love child of the infamous RPG series Dungeons & Dragons and Puzzle series Bejeweled. I wouldn't have thought I would be this much addicted to the gameplay.

The interface and gameplay is very simple and old school. It is easy to pick up. Match the tiles will let you explore, fight or loot.

You also have a base (your prison) to construct and upgrade buildings, preparing for your next run.

Boss fighting is fun.

And to think that this can't get any better, you get DINOSAAURRR in the game.


I personally recommend you get this. Get a version on mobile as well (I purchase one for my Android device).

81

Simple and yet, so fun

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

10,000,000 looks simple and, well, it is, but it's also fun to play. It reminded me of Henry Hatsworth for the NDS, without the manual platforming elements. Your character will run automatically until you bump into an enemy, door or chest. Then it's time to match key, staff, rock, wood, shield, backpack or sword tiles. Sword and staff tiles will damage your enemies, wood and rock tiles will help you build your castle, backpack tiles can give you items and shield tiles will give you a shield (did you expect anything else ?). A little counter in the top right will count to 10,000,000 while you journey along. That's right, 10,000,000. That's a lot. But in fact it will take several minutes to reach it. That is, if you upgrade your entire castle and know what you're doing. It also depends on a little factor called luck. Expect to finish it in 5-10 hours. A fun little game, worthy of your time.