Reviews for SimCity (EU)

87

Believe me, it's actually a very good one!

martinni | March 17, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

I was really looking forward for the release of this brand new SimCity; it looked amazing back then. But i'm always cautious, I rarely buy a game before launch; and seeing all the trouble EA had with it, I did the right thing. And I actually think it was good for them as well! I purchased it recently and i've had a lot of fun with it. I played like 10 hours in the first 2 days... I was supposed to wait... Was "just trying it". And ended up playing a lot; and I'm really into it. And I haven't had any kind of issues with servers or anything - they look 100% fixed, - and i've got a really (REALLY!!!) bad connection at home. I've played a Private Game... So it's been only a Single Player experience so far. I didn't want to screw up someone else's game, but yeah... I've had lots and lots of fun nevertheless, and i'm pretty sure it ain't gonna end soon!

90

An awesome game

Iversman | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all Iversman's reviews »

Not many people enjoyed this game but, as rubbish as I am at the game, I've enjoyed every second of playing it. The always online DRM stuff is nothing horrible; it seems to work fine now after they've worked out most of the issues with it.

I would highly recommend this game to anybody who asks. Only thing that really disappointed me was the map size; it would be great to be able to build a fully blown city.

92

Getting over the hump.

Argentum | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Argentum's reviews »

This game came out in a cloud of awful. And I mean awful. Refunds round the world and people not being able to play at all.

I luckily avoided all of this by getting it a month late and was able to go into the game without the cloud of despair.

The negative, is that its a small map. Like really small, I struggled to have everything I needed in one, and when I did fit it in that meant I had people crying about pollution or crying because of the monster that invaded, or crying because I burnt their house down - grow up yeah. Its supposed to encourage you to work together with friends and other cities but frankly I hate all other humans and so tend to go it alone.

The positive is that even tabbing between cities can get you everything you need, and the trading system actually works, I usually end up with 2 or 3 cities one that generates all the power and digs up all the coal and the second where everyone lives and shops. The only problem I usually end up with is casinos that lose money hand over fist. Apparently in my Utopia not a soul likes to gamble accept one guy who wins 250000$ on a whim...

Visually the game is perfect, they have a good art style that just works spot on, and since I missed most of the issues the performance is also brilliant.

Overall thanks to avoiding all of the launch issues I got to play the best SimCities taint free.

68

Good, but could be better.

Scamalot | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all Scamalot's reviews »

The launch of this game was a total fail, but all the issued since then have been solved. Servers are fine and they are even working on offline mode. Continous development is a plus.

The game is relaxing but can get challenging if you so desire. Sandbox mode is if you just want to build your city with ease, or to test stuff out before making a huge mistake on your non-sandbox mode city. The game looks amazing even on low-end machines and even better on high-end PCs.

There is still lots to improve, the traffic system is pretty bad, for example sometimes ambulances can get stuck in a loop. Area for the city is way too small for more than 200,000 people. Then there are the minor bugs that occur once in a while like not being able to draw road from place A to B becouse "Can't place road through placed buildings, even if there is nothing there.

Overall the game is good, but not excellent. If you don't mind the little bugs and like the genre, this game is for you.

81

Improving with every update, still has potential to be great

Vidiz | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Vidiz's reviews »

Building your city is a very visual experience. From the little details of seeing garbage pile up when you have a trash problem, buildings abandoned or burned to the ground because of fires or their owners unable to find work. To the big details of watching apartment blocks rise from the ground as more sims move in and eventually huge skyscrapers rise up as your city starts to boom.

You can have a very rewarding and satisfying time with SimCity if you explore the deeper mechanics such as building an empire from selling oils, metals and electronics, making your city a gambling hotspot or making a beautiful city full of tourist attractions.

However the city size does become an issue after a while. Building your city is in my opinion the greatest part of the game, but that comes to a grinding halt once you use up all the space. It's for this reason why it becomes difficult to really get into the game as once you use up that space all there is left to do is min/max your city or start a new one. It's for this reason why SimCity falls short. It is very nearly a great game, and if the map sizes were to be increased with an update down the line it would certainly be a great game. For now, it is still a fun and satisfying experience but one that you will struggle to sink hundreds of hours into.

80

Great game with some shortcomings

blofeld | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all blofeld's reviews »

Simcity is a beautiful game, it is very pleasing to look at and the graphics are stunning. The gameplay is also very good, I have spent countless hours plannig and the executing my plan when building new cities.

The bad however is there and this tarnish an otherwise great game. DIsregarding the debacle launch of the game (since the things broken at release has been fixed) the always-online DRM is just stupid and has no merit at all. Still, almost everybody has a broadband connection today, so this is a minor issue. The bigger issue though is all the sims and the vehicles pathfinding troubles. You can see throngs of sims walking around even though there are buses and trams running around empty. THe sims try to find jobs that are available in plenty, All fire engines going to the same fire, same with police cars. This has been tweaked some, but it is still far from logical. The size of the cities is also an issue. Sure, a small size lets you concentrate on perfecting our sity, but when the space is up, you wish there had been just a little more room for that new residential area.

The game is patched regularly which is a good thing. It feels like the devs really care about the game.

If you think of bying the game I say wait until it drops in price a bit.

85

Ignore the fuss

ablake7 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all ablake7's reviews »

Ignore all the fuss about this game, the initial launch problems have all but disappeared which leaves us, the player, with an enjoyable city building simulation.

I especially enjoy the detail presented throughout the game, each person/car/garbage truck has its own thoughtful place in the world.

70

Good!

Prejudgedkiller | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Prejudgedkiller's reviews »

While this may indeed be my first Simcity game, I do feel that it has its weak points. The servers started off badly, however now the game runs perfectly fine . The management side of the game I would say is slightly weak compared to other games similar to this, however this does not mean it reduces its enjoyment. If you are looking for a game which passes the time and doesn't require much brain power I would say this is for you, however if you are looking for a game full of complicated management skills then you should look elsewhere. Overall the game can be enjoyable but it does get slightly tedious after long periods of playtime.

59

Not as good as I expected

Daggerstorm | July 27, 2013 | See all Daggerstorm's reviews »

I bought the game shortly after the launch, even though I knew it was buggy and didn't really work as intended. But I was a Simcity lover, and took the risk. The game was fun, but the fun lasted for few days, and that was it. The AI did not work, it took the shortest route to destination and thus caused traffic. Citizen drivers did not let emergency vehicles pass (Police, paramedic, etc.) and because of that, houses burnt down and people died. Casinos weren't working, they just made a big loss in your income. I think it's fixed now. With a dedication from developers, this game could easily be turned into a working good game, like earlier Simcities were.

80

Great Game

christopherftw | July 26, 2013 | See all christopherftw's reviews »

Apart of the issues they had at launch its a awesome and fun game.

62

You'll sure have some fun (before the cracks begin to show)

johjo605 | July 10, 2013 | See all johjo605's reviews »

I want to love SimCity. I played the crap out of the original back in '89 and had some good times with SimCity 2000 and so I had high hopes for this one.

The long and short of it: If you like SimCity type games, then you'll definitely have a good time for a good number of hours. But... I can't help being disappointed by the smallness of the cities you're able to build. I get that they are going for something different with this installment, but it's not me somehow. I don't mind playing with several other players in a region. It's a lot of fun actually. But I would have liked the option to just say no thank you and just build a giant super-city all on my own as well, without having to rely on surrounding cities in the region.

Also, much of the "AI" or whatever you want to call it, doesn't seem to work all that well. It might have gotten patched since I last played, but fire fighting and policing is a mess, as are transports and trade depots and ambulances and... well, it's just a mess of AI cars not really doing their job very well.

I'd recommend this game if you like the genre, and if you're generally satisfied with having 10-20 hours of fun with a game before discarding it. But if you're looking for that SimCity game that you'll stick with for years and years, then this isn't it.

65

Not bad but not quite there.

connorisgreat93 | June 17, 2013 | See all connorisgreat93's reviews »

I agree with other reviews stating that it's not what it could have been. While they quote the problem that the always on DRM is required for complicated calculations but under closer scrutiny the game seems a lot more simplistic than it is pretending to be. While this is a fun game to play especially with friends, it gets boring and repetitive after a while and it seems the game has been dumbed down and over simplified.

75

Flawed but fun (for a while)

buckleboff94 | June 10, 2013 | See all buckleboff94's reviews »

As said in the many other reviews, this game is far better than most people will let you believe- whilst still not the game many people expected, it is now completely playable, and up until a point, quite fun. Ill start with the positives- the graphics (on my AMD radeon HD7870) look stunning, especially with some of the filters- the UI is very user friendly, and the specialisations are relatively interesting up until the 50+ hour mark. Further, the always online factor is no longer an issue for me- this now depends on your own internet connection, not the state of EA's servers- the regional play does add a new element to the gameplay too. Negatives include- the creatively restraining plot sizes,resulting in many cities looking the same, the traffic issues still dont seem any better, the glitches can still be annoying- tourism cities especially require far more effort than is worthy of the rewards, and there seems to be quite a few features missing- terraforming, overpasses, subways etc. In summary, well worth about £25 for 50+ hours of relatively entertaining, engaging gametime.

70

To be fair...

cy25 | May 25, 2013 | See all cy25's reviews »

Alright, so I played the demo...so some may find my review 'null'. But I am going to try and be fair here. People are giving the game horrible reviews mainly because they haven't been able to play the game yet due to these horrible connection issues. I will admit that this horrible service and launch does deserve to bring the game down a few points. This 'always online' stuff is horrible for the single player. BUT I think someone needs to step up and actually talk about the actual gameplay. From playing the demo and watching videos gameplay, the game has been simplified a lot in terms of UI. This is a good thing! It is easy to construct roads and zone areas. You can add landmarks and even add additions to things such as hospitals and fire stations. When you can actually play the game, it is fun and addicting. The multiplayer component is pretty neat as well in terms of sharing resources and creating a whole region with specialized cities. Each city can be specialized in many ways - you can make a gambling city, educational city, industrial city..etc.

90

Great Game

droox23 | May 24, 2013 | See all droox23's reviews »

Simcity is a beautiful and good game. I loved every bit of the game. BUY IT NOW

65

Fun yet sometimes forced

runnerx | May 7, 2013 | See all runnerx's reviews »

After playing for a few good months(after the dust from the launch settled) i can describe the game in detail. The way they design the buildings and roads in this game is made to maximize the layout of the city while resources on the map such as water, coal, oil or ore means that you have to be very careful how you design the city from the start, and the city specialization tab adds a lot of challenges to every city you build. Now for the cons.. Well everyone one who heard about this game has heard already about the evil online DRM it was shipped of with and the problems that it caused for everyone since day one. For good reason yet most has been resolved now so that's not why i'm bringing DRM. The choice for DRM meant that certain game mechanics were changed in order to justify it's existence. For instance cities are very small. While you can maximize as much as possible buildings and roads you finish the layout of the city pretty fast and than your stuck waiting for cash to generate so you can upgrade your city. The city size was deliberately small to force the notion of the region on players. This way you can create multiple cities that can work together with different specialization and supply resources to one another. However! The region sometimes works sometimes doesn't because the nature of saving your cities onto servers means that it takes some time for it to be processed. You cant jump in one city put down a power station for example and expect the other city to be able to buy the extra power right after. So in other words despite the fact that the region idea was good for multiplayer, the way it works means that you still have to create mostly self-sufficient cities. There you have it, the full description of the game.Might worth the purchase now because like i said most of the issues have been solved but don't expect a masterpiece either.

30

I expected more

Knetus | May 2, 2013 | See all Knetus's reviews »

This Simcity is not what it could have been. It has been dumbed down and simplified with a promise of co-op where the co-op doesn't work due to syncing issues. The always-online-DRM was said to be needed due to large calculations but leaked inside information from programmers has said there are No calculations done on the servers. If I could get my money back I would.

80

Fun game, but better for new players rather than old

mindstorm555 | May 1, 2013 | See all mindstorm555's reviews »

Simcity better then most people make it out to be. Many people still cling to the initial server issues and DRM as excuses to hate the game. However the servers are no longer a problem as there is now 27 stable servers cross the globe. You very rarely have to wait to join a server now. DRM is not really an issue however it does mean you can't play on the go. However should your internet go out the game does give you 20 minutes to reconnect. The game is fun for and there is many different play styles to experiment with. This game really shines when playing with friends as you can play across one region and support one another. However the main criticism of this game is the plot sizes. They can effect a lot of your later gameplay as once your plot is filled you find yourself waiting for mission goals and requirements to complete. Its not the easiest either to change your city once built and you tend to move onto the next city as your last one whines out of control at something you can't change. However this game it still getting patched but really was released before its time and now players are paying the price. Be aware of the DLC that will come in the future but overall a good game with a large potential play time.

55

Fun for a short time

GeMeZz | April 28, 2013 | See all GeMeZz's reviews »

You probably heard a lot about simcity on the internet. There is an always online DRM and its quite buggy, also a lot of features you would expect were not there from the beginning (such as region filters). I played like 10 cities by now. The first thing I want to say, the city size is way to small! Second, the game is still very buggy, of my 10 cities, online 3 of them arent bugged and still playable, the other 7 ones are "still processing". Though this does not mean I had no fun playing it. The game has a lot of potential. Maxis did not try to make a good game here, they just tried to make a lot of money. The game it self is not bad, but will become boring quite fast. Please consider this when you want to buy the game.

70

good

infernos13 | April 27, 2013 | See all infernos13's reviews »

A game full of possibilities and excellent ideas. Unfortunately - there are many disappointments: absurd limitations is terms of the area that can be used for a new city kills creativity, and Glassbox technology has some issues that interfere with an idyllic metropolitan life. The developers have concentrated too much on cooperation and social elements and have forgotten basic gameplay elements. You play and have a very strong feeling that the game isn't polished enough. And when you consider monstrous problems with servers and DRM, you get a game that's simply not very good.

75

Great fun for everyone!

16thhour | April 26, 2013 | See all 16thhour's reviews »

This game is very fun for every age and genre, this game unfortunatly isnt like the old Simcity were you had a larger landscape or more types of transportation and extras built-in but still SimCity 2013/SimCity 5 is very sturdy game with its flaws such as Always-On DRM and sometimes your city won't save onto their servers so you might loses hours of work in building your perfect city.

67

Good, but buggy.

AlexFarr123 | April 20, 2013 | See all AlexFarr123's reviews »

SimCity, also known by some as SimCity 5, or SimCity 2013, had a rather rocky start. Its use of always online DRM discouraged some potential customers, and flat-out stopped some people who had just bought the game from playing. Thankfully, these issues have been addressed (mostly) and the game is now stable and playable. The game itself consists of, as you might imagine, creating a city from scratch. It's a very satisfying feeling to see your city grow, and there are a lot of ways you can make your city unique. The region play, which is the main reason (or excuse) that the game has always-on DRM, allows you to interact with other cities. You can send them money or police cars, buy power from them or even send waves of criminals to their cities if you have some of the DLC (a feature I dislike thoroughly.) You can work together to build great works, which range from solar farms to produce power, to space centers to draw in tourists and increase tech level. However, SimCity falls short in a few areas. First, the cities are incredibly small. It's an almost herculean task to attain more than 200,000 people in a city, and it will suffer because of it. Most of the buildings will be unattainable for you because you simply don't have room. This forces you to claim more and more cities to make a trading infrastructure, which harms the amount of people you can have in the region. The game lags, even on top-end rigs (Though it is only noticeable towards the peak of a cities size) and if you play windowed so you can go AFK, the game stabilises at around 20fps, which causes horrible stuttering. This may not apply to all users however, so don't take my word on that. Other various bugs such as cities being inaccessible for long "processing" times and infinite load screens drag down the score of the game. Despite this however, it manages to be fiercely enjoyable and a large time vacuum. If you buy this, I suggest you play on sandbox first so that you have a safety net, and there won't be any sudden Godzilla attacks and earthquakes.