Reviews for Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle

76

The Kidd is back!

Numbi | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle is another one of those games that I remember playing way back when on my Sega Genesis. I actually picked this one up from a Mega Drive Classics pack and found the game to still be very much playable even in this day and age. Of course, growing up with this game probably helps but I find that a lot of modern Indie games try to emulate the kind of classic gameplay found in Alex Kidd so if you are a platform game then give this one a shot.

82

Good and challenging platformer

panz3r88 | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Alex Kid in the Enchanted Castle is a very good platform game. The gameplay is quite fast. The levels are full of enemies and obstacles you must avoid to reach the end. Alex can defeat his enemies using his punches and kickes.You can even drive some vehicle like a motorcycle and an helicopter. The game is never boring and the level of difficult is not low.

70

Harder than I remember...

Sublime50lbc | June 21, 2012 | See all Sublime50lbc's reviews »

Back when I was much smaller, this game was so addicting. I played it all the time. In a sense, I even looked like Alex as a child.

Loading it up recently, I've realized that this game is way harder than I remember. Maybe I just used to play the first level over and over again and never really played past it but even still it's a great first level..

Still, this game holds a piece of my childhood and I'm glad I'm able to pick it up again many years later.

59

Not worth playing

drakaenae | Nov. 14, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

Alex Kidd In the Enchanted Castle is a retro side-scrolling platformer. The goal of this game is to help Alex (the monkey/kid) find has father by defeating enemies and surviving. You can get powerups by challenging monkeys in the houses in rock-paper-scissor games.

This game has a lack of plot and annoying music. The punches and kicks may sometimes miss the monsters even though it appears to have hit. The levels are boring and repetitive. After finishing the first stage, each stage on will be nearly identical; the monster may look different and the background may change, but the gameplay is essentially the same. The bosses are random and pointless; you have to beat them in a rock-paper-scissors game which requires luck and if you lose you have to go back to the beginning of the stage and try again unless if you have the powerup that tells you their move. The only difficult stages are the last two stages. I would not recommend this game, Sega has a lot of better games, you should not waste your time on this one.

59

Not worth playing

drakaenae | Nov. 9, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

Alex Kidd In the Enchanted Castle is a retro side-scrolling platformer. The goal of this game is to help Alex (the monkey/kid) find has father by defeating enemies and surviving. You can get powerups by challenging monkeys in the houses in rock-paper-scissor games.

This game has a lack of plot and annoying music. The punches and kicks may sometimes miss the monsters even though it appears to have hit. The levels are boring and repetitive. After finishing the first stage, each stage on will be nearly identical; the monster may look different and the background may change, but the gameplay is essentially the same. The bosses are random and pointless; you have to beat them in a rock-paper-scissors game which requires luck and if you lose you have to go back to the beginning of the stage and try again unless if you have the powerup that tells you their move. The only difficult stages are the last two stages. I would not recommend this game, Sega has a lot of better games, you should not waste your time on this one.

90

Childhood <3

Babelfish343 | Oct. 12, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

This game is kooky and fun, and also quite challenging! One of the gems of my childhood back on the SEGA Mega Drive, I played this game just for the laughs.

Versing a baboon in a game of paper, rock, scissors? Yes please! The majority of the game is platforming, with the help of some awesome stuff like a pogo stick.

The controls are a little weird, but you get used to it after playing for a while.

Oh and one other reason to buy Alex Kidd: He has EPIC sideburns :P

70

Cute little platformer form my childhood

faraany3k | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

I use to love this game back when i was a Kid. This was the first game which introduced elements of RPG to traditional MARIO formula. Game is now two decades old but somehow graphics still feel fresh and attractive. I don't know if it has the same charming effect on an adult who is playing it for the first time as it had on me when I was a kid. Nonetheless if you have kids at home who like games, or a Girlfriend who hates you for playing shooting games all the time. Just let them try this game. I am sure they will enjoy it a lot.

69

Woah

hotmando1 | Aug. 13, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Want a revisit into the past? And actually have a good time? Alex Kidd is one of those games where every adult must at least play once. It's a given and it should be in any game collection. It's like mario with rpg elements. Still..graphics are old and such but that is to be expected. If you can get over that MAJOR wall, then this is for you.

78

Old but good.

Seren666 | July 9, 2011 | See all Seren666's reviews »

Despite how old the game is, how bad the graphics are and the weird logic of the game, it is STILL an amazingly fun game to play. What makes it fun is actually the weirdness of the game, such as the power-ups. I had loads of fun on the SEGA and am still having fun on the PC 7yrs later!

85

Just have fun, it's what matters

Arthan | June 15, 2011 | See all Arthan's reviews »

It's a great game you MUST play. If you want to talk to anybody about old games, this is the proper game to talk about. You don't have even to think about buying it if you never played Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle, just do it and enjoy!

80

Ancient game right here.

wahidasoldier | April 11, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle was a fun game. I just hated the fact that if you took one hit, you would die. I was like "What the heck?" when it first happened. Alex Kidd has some weird power ups. Power Braclet, Pedio-Copter, Cloak, Staff, Motorcycle, and Pogo Stick. I liek the Power Bracelet. It can strike enemies from a distance. The one level i hated was To The Sky... because you have to Pedio-copter across the sky while avoiding getting hit by blimps and bombs. Over all this game is old school but it was fun. Try it out for a while. You might enjoy it.