Reviews for They Bleed Pixels

95

Full action platformer

Fourclops | Sept. 1, 2014 | See all Fourclops's reviews »

It's kinda like Super Meat Boy, but with a lot of action, in the sense that it involves attacks and strategies to kill the monsters. The pixel style looks pretty cool too, and all in all, the game feels very fresh. It's really worth the money

80

Fun and Challenging

Nymanthe1st | April 14, 2014 | See all Nymanthe1st's reviews »

I am quite terrible at this game, but even though I fail quite often the movable checkpoints make my rage quite minuscule, which is a great part of the game. This game is a great game to when looking for a challenge and has an interesting difficulty curve. "Interesting". In all the game is very good with the only thing I can criticize would be it's clunky controls.

84

Super Meat Boy with Combat!!

mogragh | April 14, 2014 | See all mogragh's reviews »

Quite fun! I would recommend it without a problem. The art is very stylistic, and unique.

Con: No full screen on 1080p yet, but it is coming ;)

80

Brutal

aceman1011 | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all aceman1011's reviews »

As someone who has played a PC platformer, I took a chance on TBP. I don't own a controller, but the PC controls weren't that bad. However, the controls do have a bit of a delay of sorts, although this appears to be intentional. The game is extremely difficult, but it does offer a very useful checkpoint feature that I liked. However, due to the extreme difficulty, I lost interest in the game very quickly. It is a wonderful game that I really enjoyed, but I would only recommend it for hardcore platform gamers.

82

Lovecraftian Super Meat Boy

bibboorton | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

That's probably the best way to describe this game.

It can get quite unforgiving, as a lot of other platformers do. What sets this apart is its lore. It has a story where many other games of its type do not. That is already a big plus for me. I recommend this to anyone who loves challenges but wants the full package of gameplay and story.

85

Tough but fun platformer

Mekh | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Mekh's reviews »

This game is brutal at times, a really tough platformer with a bit of combat that actually is quite enjoyable in small doses. The controls for this game are really tight, I used a 360 controller and didn't run into any issues at all during my time playing - the character moved like I told her to. I didn't try it with a keyboard at all so I can't say anything about that.

The only complaint I have is that wall jumping was tricky to master, more specifically dropping from a wall instead of jumping makes you unable to double jump afterwards. But after a few hours of practice I got used to it and it didn't bother me so much anymore.

Overall I'd say that if you enjoy tough platformers then this one won't disappoint.

85

Lots of purple and pain!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I picked up They Bleed Pixels from Greenman Gaming because I have a fondness for platform titles, especially ones with a retro look. I love the art style of this game but definitely wasn't expecting the challenge! Thankfully the controls are very responsive but it also means that you can't blame it for your own shortcomings.

The game has all kinds of cool touches that I wont' spoil for you but I can guarantee that finishing this game is not going to be a walk in the part. I have completed the game but still find myself going back to it for those hard to get achievements.

82

Fun platforming with a twist.

pthagonal | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all pthagonal's reviews »

When I first saw this game I wasn't sure what to think. The art style is strange and weird, but oddly enjoyable. Platforming is the meat of the game with great combat addition. You can even juggle with enemies (all while slicing them to death). I would say it is well worth the $10 entry fee.

75

Hard But Fun

mertgunes | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all mertgunes's reviews »

It is very very hard game like Super Meat Boy, but it is very funny. You can be angry while playing They Bleed Pixels; but you will contunie...For 10 dollars and for an indie game very good game, but for a normal game; not enough. If you want short fun, you can buy TBP. 75/100.

78

Rewarding

berthor | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all berthor's reviews »

The second most challenging game I've ever played. If you can manage the difficulty it becomes incredibly entertaining. Extremely intense platforming, skillful and violent combat, and lots of blood are the key points to this game.

90

Platformer with a twist

michalmichal | July 30, 2013 | See all michalmichal's reviews »

They Bleed Pixels is not for everybody. If you don't like retro games - leave it. If you don't like platformers - leave it. If you don't like difficult games - leave it. But if you want to play an incredibly difficult retro-style platformer, the game may be a good choice for you. The graphical side is supposed to bring retro pixel art platformers to mind, even though the game is quite new. The gameplay is pretty much what you would expect from a platformer with running, jumping and killing enemies - especially with fancy combos, but with a special twist: there are no preset checkpoints. You need to kill enemies to fill a special checkpoint bar and create your own checkpoints. And using the scenery to your advantage (pushing enemies off platforms and onto dangerous elements) is recommended.

Add to this some mild Lovecraft and Poe references and interesting extras that you unlock throughout the game and you know what to expect. Good game for anybody looking for a challenging platformer!

90

Great game

Jorgel | July 28, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

Imagine Super Meat Boy with combat elements, that is They Bleed Pixels. The game combines a very good 2D pixel art with a great combat system with combos and various attacks, that test your skills and makes you want to get better and better at the various stages. The game also brings horror elements, from Poe to Lovecraft to create a mysterious and good history as background of the frenetic and difficult(in a good way) gameplay. As an addition, there are a lot f bonus contents, from videos to beautiful illustrations that are unlocked as you play, what can be annothe incentive for you to play this fantastic game

80

Good, fun, and requiring some skill

ConorEngelb | July 25, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

A good, fun 2D platformer, They Bleed Pixels is. What makes it stand out is that it requires some skill (or luck) to pull off combos and survive fights. The game often points out that it favours tight controls over button-mashing, and this is certainly true: with only one attack key, your type of attack is determined by where you're facing, if you're moving and for how long you hold down the button.

80

Solid Platformer

lok0812 | July 19, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is similar to any other type of 2D platformer and adding in an extra element of action. Throughout the game you dodge traps and defeat foes to get to the goal point. As you defeat more foes, you will be filling up your checkpoint bar and once it is filled you can setup a checkpoint within the stage anywhere you want. Therefore, if you see a hard obstacle ahead just simply create a checkpoint and play until you get past the point. There are also other modes to unlock as well as collectible in the game. Definitely a solid platforming for anyone that enjoys a fun 2D action adventure.

60

Great art style brought down by poor mechanics.

Maghook | July 10, 2013 | See all Maghook's reviews »

For a game that prides itself on combining platforming with hack-and-slash elements with full controller support, They Bleed Pixels does an absolutely terrible job at focusing on consistent battle mechanics with responsive and intuitive controls. There is one attack button, where the type of attack changes based on the direction you are holding or how long you hold down the button.

This would be fine if the game didn't require such tight controls, akin to Super Meat Boy, and did not entice you to perform better due to the combo meter looming above your head. There is simply no way to precisely control your character's actions.

Have you ever experienced the dreaded "No way, I totally pressed that button at the right time! Why didn't it respond?" syndrome? They Bleed Pixels practically embodies that phenomenon, time and time again.

83

Absolutely Incredible!

Plasros | July 7, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game is absolutely incredible. The story is short but very interesting, while the game play is fun and smooth. The levels of the game after you pass the first 2 becomes extremely difficult and can take pretty long to finish. The thing i love the most is the checkpoint system ( even if most times I want to rage quit because i put it in bad places ) and the unlock-ables. One of the best games I played this year.

80

A Great Combination

YggdrasilsSword | July 6, 2013 | See all YggdrasilsSword's reviews »

They Bleed Pixels is a 2D indie game that combines the tough-as-nails puzzle platforming of Super Meat Boy with a highly satisfying combat system, allowing you to splatter the walls with your enemies' blood, instead of just your own. The combat ties in to the SMB mechanics, as you make heavy use of environmental hazards to punish your enemies. A particularly cool feature is the ability to earn and place your own checkpoints. Not to be ignored is the bizarre mixture of a Lovecraftian Cthulu world and a protaganist who is an adorable, seemingly harmless little girl. And as a little bonus, it has Steam card drops too.

80

Awesome Idea

simodeso | July 5, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

This indie game comes out with an awesome idea. You deacide where and when put checkpoints, (no you are not allowed to save in the level in the menu or something like that) you have to make a certain amount of points collecting blood or killing enemies.. Well it's not that easy as you are thinking because you can't save if there are enemies near or razorblades. I liked a lot this way of saving, it makes the game a little harder and very funny to play, some areas are built with the intent to prevent your checkpoints and some of this area last a lot.. give it a try and kill those monster! Also now this game has trading card on steam.

95

Great Platformer

Mavromatis | July 5, 2013 | See all Mavromatis's reviews »

It is a great platforming game with really nice artwork and story, and to make it even better the combat system it uses is really good. It feels like a beat 'em up with good platforming. I would recommend using a gamepad to play this one, it is well suited for that.

90

Tough but addictive!

foxnoir | July 5, 2013 | See all foxnoir's reviews »

They Bleed Pixels is a really tricky platformer with a quirky style reminiscent of Super Meat Boy. Unlike Super Meat Boy it is also a beat em' up and boy is it fun kicking enemies into spikes and saw blades. Even though you die over and over trying to work out how to get somewhere the interesting atmosphere keeps you going til the end. The art style is great and the soundtrack is awesome, it peps up your mood after you have finished swearing at the screen!

72

Great 2D game!

drafek | July 4, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

They bleed pixels is a really great 2D game. The graphics are really good. The challenges are done well, sometimes hard to get but it's getable. The sound is really done well, The gameplay if fun but sometimes it does get boring. The controls are easy to learn. The game is worth getting on full price.

65

Simple yet enjoyable

mor0se | July 4, 2013 | See all mor0se's reviews »

This game keeps it simple, controls, graphics, gameplay. There is no need to dedicate yourself, you dont have to get used to certain controls, easily able to play the game and play it like a boss. Fun to find new ways in levels to make the blood pixels show!

94

Give it a chance to amaze you!

Liverpool1971 | June 19, 2013 | See all Liverpool1971's reviews »

Another incredible platformer that everybody should try. The story may be a little to short, but it is quite interesting. After the two first levels game becomes extremely difficult, and can take a lot of time to finish. Art style and music - both deserves praise. Unlockables and good checkpoint system are things that I loved (you will understand when you try it). Definitely one of the best games platformers. This is worth picking up for every price.

75

A solid game but not for me

MikeK47 | June 3, 2013 | See all MikeK47's reviews »

This game is not bad but has a fixed audience. I was hoping for a more pure form of a platformer but instead I'd say it's more of a beat 'em up mixed with Super Meat Boy. If you could completely avoid the combat I'd like it more but it is unavoidable. Though it's important to note I'm not a huge fan of Super Meat Boy either. So if you are looking for a classic platformer look somewhere else. If you want something faster then go for it.

95

A bloody quick fix

wongheungwing | May 8, 2013 | See all wongheungwing's reviews »

Despite the relatively ugly presentation, especially when you play with a big monitor, this game is in fact quite enjoyable.

The control is easy and responsive, just up, down, left, right, hit and jump. A very good game for quick fix when you don't really have time to play "BIG" games.

There is a wonderful feature that allows you to create check points after collecting some points. So you don't need to go all the way back to the starting point after dying.

82

A Bloody Good Time

All5claws | April 28, 2013 | See all All5claws's reviews »

They Bleed Pixels is an excellent blend of Super Meat Boy style platforming with a 2D beat em' up feel. Don't be fooled by the game's 1 button attack system; it's combat becomes incredibly deep due to the many scenarios set up by the levels in which you can satisfyingly dispose of your enemies. The game is a fair challenge. It's not bone-crushingly difficult but any enemy or trap could potentially be the death of you if you're not being careful. This game is an excellent buy with it's stylish visuals, chilling soundtrack and killer gameplay. Oh, and the title doesn't lie. EVERYTHING bleeds pixels.