Reviews for Sniper Elite V2

95

Snipe the Base

lajvjjajajaaaa | July 31, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

Sniper Elite V2 is third-person shooter game. You're elite sniper Karl Fairburne and you need to prevent Nazi V2 program from the hands of the Red Army. You begin with the tutorial how to hold your breath and snipe perfect. How to sneak and complete your missions. In sniper elite even the wind and gravity matters to the bullets fired from your guns. Every time foes come there is something, and if you find that something you can kill them faster than normal. Also you can place traps, you'll have to predict you opponent movements. When you shot someone in the head it'll x-ray show how you killed him. The graphics and sounds are perfect. Smooth gameplay and good AI.

80

A good game

patacon | June 8, 2014 | See all patacon's reviews »

This is the type of game fps I look for when I want to play with friends, with a cooperative campaign with 2 players (For me the best number of players in cooperative campaigns such games) this game is something that assures you that you are spend hours on the computer, in addition to this, has different game modes and single-player game (that seeing his great co-op campaign is not as important) out of it and going into the gameplay is not my type of game though sometimes I enjoy very much, I appreciate the creators to have the players in mind and give it away, I hope the sniper elite III since I think that will be a great game. 8/10

100

this is how sniping shold be done in games

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

The reason why this game is so good is solely down to its shooting mechanic and the A.I.

Let's talk about the shooting mechanic. The sniper bobs up and down and you need to concentrate your character's breathing to make it more stable. There is bullet drop. There's a kickback on your rifle and you can't just snipe while running.

Now let's talk about the A.I. The A.I. is very good. If you're just going to stay in one place they will find you sniping from there quite quick. They are also good at aiming, meaning that getting your character exposed can mean instant death.

Then there's also some nice little add ons. Such things as for example a kill cam that shows you all the injuries that your bullet caused to the enemies insides. You can turn in to the minimum, or you can turn the kill cam to the maximum and enjoy the glorious inside explosions with pretty much every single kill.

There's also a co-op mode, that's very fun. You are essentially going trough the same single player story, but your friend will most likely enjoy sniping beside you.

This is how real shooter games should be made. If you're interested in realism in your combat games you should definitely pick this title up.

70

Great WW2 Action

WiccaniAU | April 25, 2014 | See all WiccaniAU's reviews »

Ive played this game on both Xbox and Pc , and i will have to say it is one of the better ww2 sniper games. The Killcam would have to be the biggest plus of the game with the realistic mode giving a real challenge , but overall i felt the AI was a little lackey and the missions felt repetitive

89

Amazing Sniper Game

Percyro | Jan. 8, 2014 | See all Percyro's reviews »

This game is amazing for any fan of sniping and slow motion bloody kills. The graphics for the game a quite nice and the game play is a ton of fun. You basically go around trying to snipe enemies from afar, or use submachine guns, pistols, and explosives for close range. One of my favorite features is the slow motion and x-ray view. When you shoot an enemy with your sniper, there is a chance the game will slow down and you can seen the bullet enter the body, hit some organ (you can shoot their testicles off), and exit. The only downside is the game play does get rather repetitive, but other than that the game is great. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a good sniper game.

70

Good.

amnv | Dec. 10, 2013 | See all amnv's reviews »

The idea of sniping is always fun. This game showcases sniping while giving off a great WW2 atmosphere. The story lacks slightly and the graphics arent going to blow you away, but the fun comes from the slo mo cam, the stealth, the weapons and the xray shots. The hard difficuties take wind and bullet drop into account, and your players resting heart rate affects the direction as well. The games multiplayer isnt the best, but the DLC for the game is quite good. From Hitler to zombies, theres plenty to do in the game besides the standard campaign. All in all, its a pretty good game that you should consider if you feel the need for something a little different.

80

Great Game, but Still some Flaws

thegaminglyfe | Oct. 14, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

If you are a fan of sniper simulators or want to try one out, give Sniper Elite V2 a try. A really neat thing is that if you want a more casual experience you can try the easiest difficulty, the bullet goes where the scope is pointing to. But if you choose the hardest difficulty you will have to take account things like bullet drop, wind etc. There is a great slow motion camera that shows a graphic display of what damage your bullet caused when it goes into your enemy. Yes, you can see people's skull explode. The graphics aren't the best but they're definitely not bad. The sound is pretty good if you have headphones. The flaws are that the multiplayer is pretty bad and it would be better if they tried to improve on the level design to make it more open ended. It's too linear for a sniping game. And sometimes the slow motion bullet cam slows down the action.

78

The BEST sniper game that you can get your hands on!

BubbaSquare | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

Sniping has always been a cool mechanic in FPS games, and the idea to create a game solely on sniping has been a huge miss for the most part cough cough Sniper Ghost Warrior cough cough Sniper Elite V2 on the other hand, delivers a balance of excellent gameplay with an interesting, somewhat historically accurate story. It's a blast to play, and runs amazingly well on PC if you have high specs. I fully recommend the game to anyone who has a sniping itch to scratch.

83

Best Sniping game out in the market.

Sinjin | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Sinjin's reviews »

There have been a lot of bad reviews toward many of the sniper simulators out on the market, but Sniper Elite V2 is not one of the. This game which is made by Rebellion Studios, takes sniping to a whole new level, with realism with features such as the bullet dropping, stealth, wind direction, and the best part (slow motion camera). It might be initially challenging to those who haven't played a simulator shooter before, but it is rewarding to those who get the grasp of it. Controls were OK with me, but overall it is a descent game.

65

Sniper Elite takes a shot beside the target for few aspects.

sergebelanger22 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

At first glance, I thought that Sniper Elite V2 was for version 2. In fact, it is named V2 in reference to these rockets that were developed during world war 2 by the Germans. So, after you get this, you can easily see the story coming. You have to stop the "bad Germans" from launching these rockets. Once again, the story is not the strength of this game. It is just another reason to shoot at some Germans and Russians.

The graphics look ok, but are not great. Sound is good once you have headphones, otherwise it is of poor quality.

I played on the highest difficulty level and there were few places where I restarted several times, especially where there are other snipers in the entire city and no save point until you complete your objective. These save points are sometimes too far from each other, so you have to be very careful when you walk forward. Also, the enemies seem to have eyes to see you from miles away. You cannot walk without being shot, so as soon as you hear something, you better got to back off otherwise you will be killed.

Very often you will have to shoot at gas cap to make vehicles explode. This is some of the hardest objectives to get done in the game. This takes a lot of patience and talent since you have to wonder about the wind and the distance. The slow-mo of the bullet leaving your gun to your opponent's head is nice at first, but after a while, you really get tired of it.

I played this game right after playing Sniper Ghost Warrior 2, and without any hesitation, I highly recommend more Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 than this game.

60

A unique shooter

Anach | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Anach's reviews »

The introduction of 'bullet time' style sniper shots was entertaining at first, but this game quickly became tedious. Most missions were confined and uninspiring; the detail level was good, but nothing to write home about and the story wasn't at all memorable. However, if you like the idea of a tactical, lone-wolf style shooter, with multiple ways to complete each mission, then this is definitely worth picking up at the next sale.

75

Loving the bullet-time

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game has redefined the sniping aspect of many games, due to the 'bullet-time' slow motion effect that occurs when you snipe. I especially like the intricacy and detail put into the organs for enemies, where a bullet impact will result in an organ from that area being punctured. The story is very nice too, especially with the addition of the "Kill Hitler" downloadable content. The only aspect I dislike is the multi-player, which could have been so much more.

80

Really good sniper game

OmittingCoder | July 31, 2013 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

The sniping system is awesome and for the most part it is pretty realistic. And every time you have a great shot and the cam does an xray on his skull exploding it is oh so satisfying. For me at least it never gets old but it'll get annoying for other gamers. If you like sniping then pick up this game!

82

The least boring Sniper Similator

DeathRowMax | July 3, 2013 | See all DeathRowMax's reviews »

Trust me, that title says a lot! It's very hard to re-create the experience of being a Sniper without it being tedious - the nature of the role is to mostly wait. Yet Sniper Elite V2 manages to eliminate most of this boredom as you genuinely feel the benefit of moving around carefully and slowly and the eventual tedium is always broken up by breath-taking X-ray Kill Cams. Every now and then (or more/less frequently depending on what you choose in the settings), you will enter a super slow motion which follows your bullet's trajectory through the air then through your enemies. It's amazingly satisfying to do and you'll want to replay some of your finer moments - unfortunately this isn't possible within the game, and it's a huge shame. A native capture tool (perhaps like the one in GTA IV) would add volumes to this game - maybe we can hope for this in a third opus. One surprising benefit of Sniper V2 is that I have genuinely learnt more about the human anatomy - playing it with friends or family members allows you to figure out with internal organ you've shot, and I've gradually discovered more about the human body, not something I was expecting! I imagine this would be a great way for doctors in training to to take a break whilst still revising their knowledge of anatomy! It's important to note that if you have been taught your FPS skills by Call of Duty, it will take a while to adapt to Sniper Elite V2. It's much less forgiving than the CoD series so aim is important and if you play at higher difficulty levels, there are loads of environmental factors to take into account - wind, gravity, etc... I'd definitely recommend this game when it's on special offer (which happens rather often at Green Man Gaming). If you stick with it and overcome what might initially be disappointment at the game's strictness on accuracy or occasional bug, you will grow to love it. It might not have a long story, but does that really matter? The challenges and online multiplayer will provide most of the shelf life of the game and it's all based on a brilliant mechanism.

100

Sniper Elite V2, the greatest sniper game available

TheAnkka21 | June 23, 2013 | See all TheAnkka21's reviews »

Sniper Elite V2 features detailed sniping simulation with advanced ballistics, taking into account gravity, wind, velocity, bullet penetration, aim stability and more. Guaranteed to provide players with the most realistic simulation of military sharpshooting yet available. Amazing ‘kill cam’ technology showcases what really happens when a bullet enters an enemy’s body, allowing players to see hearts and lungs tear, livers burst, and bones shatter. The slightest changes in the environment need to be taken into account to move into the perfect position, observe the quarry, take the shot and slip away unnoticed. And that's why i love it!

80

Good game...But

LDM | June 23, 2013 | See all LDM's reviews »

This game is very fun and one of the best sniper games I've played. Sniping in this game is harder then your COD you have to know when to shoot and how by looking at the wind how fast the bad guys are moving all this makes the game fun and makes you feel like your a sniper.The game play is smooth and the slow mode in the game never gets old i love it. now that i told you the good things about the game here comes the bad. The game does not have much re-play you might play it two times but that's about it. i would not buy this at full price but when it goes down i would say pick it up you will like it just not at full price

75

Good Snipe Game

furious_gamer | June 21, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

Played its successor and played this in my friends PC. Not to mention the decent graphics, but the gameplay also improved a lot. Game is good for sniper hardcores. The game set in WW2 era, which again is a good to see one. And then there are achievements, MP etc. Never played MP but heard it is not good, but not bad either. But nonethless it is an enjoyable game and decent buy, for the price(If on deal, it's more good).

84

SNIPER ELITE V2

NewVegasGod | June 21, 2013 | See all NewVegasGod's reviews »

Good game, worth buying, only story is a bit short!

82

Good Game

kalil | June 2, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

It is the specific type of a sniper, undercover agent, I loved it, I must admit that I am not considered graphic but that's because I tried it right after trying Battlefiel 3 mode and the fact that I have to take care of your strategy is really good. It kills me when the target system and hidden-tion of evidence. I sounds like your EQ, it is useful to play as more than once all that happened was that Germans today at a distance of 2 meters and were like 100. I especially like the cooperative mode.

80

Incredibly fun!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

Even if I'm not the greatest sniper, I still love sniping and sniping games! Sniper Elite V2 was a fun little treat to play, quite enjoyable. It's third-person as you move around but you'll find yourself looking through your scope most of the time. It looks pretty decent, I noticed a few glitches here and there but nothing major nor anything game breaking. The game doesn't have the most interesting story but it holds up good enough. This is a game that's all about the game play which makes it understandable that the story is lacking a bit.

You're an awesome sniper and you're job is to be sneaky and snipe your way through German and/or Russian soldiers while getting to your objectives. The sneaky part is harder than it sounds. The sniping rifles are the main characters in this game, the rest of the guns are not quite as powerful but they do the trick, if you aim right. There are a lot of things to take into account to make the perfect shot count.

The use of sound is quite important in this game, you sometimes will see an indicator on your top-right when a large sound can mask your shots. Trying to time this right was pretty fun, since if your shots are heard the enemy might notice your position rather fast. The AI isn't perfect, I found them running into obstacles and getting stuck once in a while, which was pretty funny but takes away a little of the challenge.

I had a lot fun with the game though and I recommend it, it's about 8-9 hours long. The game also has a co-op mode that can add a few extra hours.

70

Enjoyable for sniping fans.

fable2 | May 13, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

The weapon ballistics are solid, bullet physics, wind factor and gravity have a decisive impact on your shots. That's vital in a game that has such a big emphasis on sniping. That, along with with pretty graphics and good sound effects (excepting voice acting) and that's pretty much all it has to offer on the good side.

The AI is incredibly accurate, especially on the Sniper Elite difficulty, even at very long range, using submachine guns like the MP40. That might increase the challenge, but it's totally unrealistic. As accurate as it is, it is also dumb. They stop all of a sudden in the middle of the firefight, they take routes they shouldn't and they get easily fooled by rocks thrown by you. This is a popular method to distract the enemy in stealth games, but it's just silly to see a bunch of 3 or 4 nazis going to one spot because they heard something. Also, they sometimes spawn just in front of you and that can get really annoying.

Missions are repetitive and they mainly consist of killing nazis untill you get to kill your target. The story is based on fictional events happening during the second world war.

The gory kill cams are a bit too much for my taste, even though they're greatly executed.

Overall the game is pretty fun, but you can get all you it has to offer from you in a few hours, if you get past the annoying things.

65

One Shot. One Kill.

pasinduthegreat | May 11, 2013 | See all pasinduthegreat's reviews »

Hopefully two kills. But at least one satisfying kill.

Seeing a bullet puncture lungs, rip through brain matter, shatter bones, squash testicles never gets old.

The sniping itself is awesome; ballistics respond awesomely however its not the same with the AI. The AI has a hard time communicating and figuring out whats happening. Enemy snipers see you from WAY far away and their comrades don't realize whats going on right until you shoot back.

Achievements lengthen the game and so does the multiplayer, which is well ALright, provided you can find a good server. Multiplayer games take a long time and involve a lot of camping.

Graphics are nothing special; story is forgettable but for a sniping enthusiast, the game is pretty fun.

80

Sniper Elite V2 an awesome game

kryze57 | May 10, 2013 | See all kryze57's reviews »

Sniper Elite V2 is a third person tactical WWII shooter and the sequel to 2005's Sniper Elite. Playing as an American sniper infiltrating Berlin during the last days of the war, players must sneak and shoot their way to their high-ranking targets. Realistic bullet physics can make landing a shot challenging, though there are a number of assists available to help players if they so choose. In addition to a campaign that can be played cooperatively, there are a few cooperative online multiplayer modes. PC players can also engage in tense deathmatches online against other human players. I hope you like this game like me

80

Kill feels so satisfying

Lekes | May 10, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Sniper Elite V2 is a definitly a worthy sequel to the first. The athmosphere is great, and each kill feels so satisfying. The story may not be very historical accurate, but I don't think thats what Rebellion put their view on. This is definitly the best WW2 game I've played in a long time. Only drawbacks I find is that its abit too short, and the levels are too scripted sometimes. It would be nice to have the option to go through a level totaly silent and undetected, which is sadly not possible in most of the levels in this game. I haven't tried the multiplayer features yet, but if Coop is similar to the first game, then its going to be damn fun!

80

Unexpectedly Good!

The__Malteser | April 28, 2013 | See all The__Malteser's reviews »

Good and solid game. Single player is very good. It is long enough for you to stay immersed, but not short that it falls short content wise. The stealth aspect is wound in well with the gameplay, and the X-Ray cam is excellent! The wind and gravity are top notch too. It makes the game very realistic and makes it stand out on other game. The 100 gold bars and 37 wine bottles will definitely give you some searching to do.

Multiplayer is great too. Who doesn't like some sniper/stealthy action? The Distance King game mode is great, something which for me, is new. Also, the fact that you can tweak the effect of gravity and wind makes each lobby unique. Also, the gravity and wind create a somewhat steep learning curve.

Co-op is a good add on. It has 3 game modes (excluding co-op campaign) with around 3 missions per mode (Kill Tally, Overwatch and Bombing Run). They are very fun, until the novelty wears off, and then they can get a bit tedious.

The achievements help to add longlivety to the game, meaning that you can get a solid 24+ hours to fully complete it.

Very good.

75

Sniping simulator

Stebsis | March 11, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Sniper Elite V2 is a sniping simulator, and it succeeds in it quite perfectly, but is sniping simulator that fun though? Answer is... yeah, kinda.

So you're a sniper. Yeah, the main character has a name(I forgot it) and there is a story(forgot it completely too) but no one plays this game because of it. Story is boring, enough about it.

The sniping itself, in all its realism can be fun but also boring. You need to find an advantage point where you can take down your targets. You can snipe your enemies from really far to head, lungs, legs, even testicles which looks really painful, but it's so much fun. You see an x-ray vision like in Mortal Kombat, when the bullet hits lethally at your foe. You see his skull crak, eyeball pop, brains turn to smush and if you're lucky, the bullet can even go through your enemy and hit another one behind him.

This long range sniping also has its problems, and the problem is enemy AI. As a sniper you're usually far away from your targets, and AI doesn't always respond to it that well, and who can blame them, if you're sniper you don't want to be seen but this removes much of the tension, or it responds little too well letting them pop you in the head from unnaturally long distance. It has its ups and downs but in the end is a lot of fun.

Graphics are quite ugly and you don't get that much variation, lots of ruined cities and ruined cities and... yeah. The game is also a bit buggy but nothing game breaking.

I wouldn't say Sniper Elite V2 is worth the full price, as it's quite short and doesn't provide any real challenge, maybe if you're really interested, but definitely get it from sale, it's fun and sometimes that's all a game has to be.