Reviews for Columns

90

Classic. I love it.

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This was one of the first games I played on my MegaDrive and I must say; it's 2013 and I still play it today! It's simplistic, it's not violent or gory, it's calm and vivid and is a nice reminder of how games used to be. This is a great game and is very playable - I can be sat there playing for hours, totting up my score and trying to keep the columns as low as possible - it's brilliant. In some ways I prefer it to the more modern games, purely because of it's innocence and simplicity.

60

Decent falling blocks title, but there's better

DeweyDTruman | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

Columns is a very competent falling blocks-style puzzle game. And it still holds up after all these years as being worth your time. However, there's far better out there. Tetris is probably one of the best, and if you're only looking for genesis titles Dr. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine is a personal favorite. If you have a few dollars to spare though, it's worth the purchase.

75

Still a fun one to play in 2013.

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

Out of all Sega Genesis games, the Columns series has to be, arguably, one of the most fun and addicting to play. On par with Tetris and Dr. Mario to a point, it does it's own special thing and actually inspired a whole arisen generation of jewel-and-gem-based puzzle games that we still play to this day. Jewel Quest and Bejeweled being 2 of them, though they are different in style, it's obvious this was a major inspiration for their visuals and reward system. Get it, it's not expensive. Grab it and have some old-school fun!

60

Why Am I Being Rewarded For Crushing Gems?

CrimsonWizard | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Columns is a puzzle game originally developed for home computers until SEGA bought the rights and made their own version for the Genesis/Mega Drive. Other than the Roman styled setting, there isn't much here except the game itself.

Basically, the game drops columns of 3 random gems from the top of the screen and you have to direct them down and try to match 3 gems in any direction to make them explode and get points. You're forced to place the pieces vertically, but you can change the order of the three gems to try and set up combinations for more points. Pieces will gradually fall faster from the top as you rack up points and destroy more gems, and occasionally a stack of special games will slide down, enabling you to destroy first type of gem it touches across the entire board. There is also a 2 Player Mode, offering something of a competitive mode, but that's about it in terms of different styles of play.

However, the system just isn't quite as engaging as say Tetris or Dr. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine. It's very easy to accidentally set up massive combos without much strategy, and the restrictive manipulation of the puzzle pieces makes it less intuitive than the previously mentioned puzzle games. The lack of extra game modes doesn't help either, offering little in terms of replay value other than racking up higher scores. While it's a competent puzzle game, I recommend a different puzzler than this one.

61

Mostly for nostalgia

Micepudding | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

Back in the Nineties most Genesis gamers either owned this game or had played it. At the time, when you were Sega OR Nintendo, but not both, it was an addictive, colorful game - who needed Tetris anyway?

But the gameplay is less compelling than Tetris, partly because it was always easier to rack up huge combos simply by stacking up towers of random blocks and triggering a chain reaction, than by trying to set up big scoring runs yourself. Flash Mode is probably the best take on the formula, tasking you to clear the screen to reach one block, but a lack of randomness shortened replayability here too.

For a nostalgia kick, Columns is fine, but don't expect anything out of this if it's a game you haven't played before.

72

A very playable classic.

GAMERamble | July 24, 2012 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Columns is one of those deceptively simple games that start out nice and easy, no problem at all and before you know it the whole screen is filled with things falling at the speed of light and one wrong move could cost you the game. No I'm not talking about a shoot em up, it's a puzzle game. Puzzle games have a reputation of being a bit addictive (if they're good) and columns is no exception. The idea is to match up falling columns( consisting of three colored blocks) in groups of three according to their colour. In order to do this the columns must be rotated in order to line up the matching three colours. This can be done in any direction as long as three (or more) columns of the same color is touching each other. They then disappear and after you manage to this for a while the level increases and the columns start falling at an more speedy pace. That's basically all there is to Columns and you might be thinking it's just a rehash of the old Tetris idea.

There is a few nice touches, like the way you get to choose what shapes are on the columns (fruit, dice, gems, blocks etc.), and there is also a nice game option called flash where you have to eliminate a block at the bottom of a whole pile of columns in the fastest time possible. The graphics are very basic and there are almost no backgrounds, but this is forgiven seeing as this is a puzzle game and you're attention should be on the columns anyway. The sound is barely noticeable and after a while tend to fade into the background. Sound effects are few and far between and generally unimpressive. None of this really matters however as the gameplay is solid. Columns III is still my favourite in the series but this one is still very playable.

92

Memories....

Babelfish343 | Oct. 12, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

Used to play this for so long on the SEGA Mega Drive! Fantastic Tetris-like game that will have you hooked for hours trying to complete the challenging levels!

The music is fantastic, and is visually simple but with its own "egyptian" flair. Really great game and still holds a part of my nostaligia :')

75

Great Sega Classic

drakaenae | July 5, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

This is a great classic game. The objective of this game is to match 3 or more gems (vertically, diagonally or horizontally) which drop in columns of 3 in a "tetris-like" manner. Although the graphics are not too great, its still a great game. I would recommend this for casual/puzzle game lovers and retro game collectors.

80

Retro classic.

Vulpine_Vixen | May 24, 2011 | See all Vulpine_Vixen's reviews »

If you bought a Megadrive in the early 90s the chances are you may have got a copy of Mega Games 1, with your console, including the games Italia 90, Superhangon and Columns. The game is simple; you have to match 3 (or more) coloured jewels, in order to eliminate those jewels (horizontal, vertical or diagonally) to score points. But that's not all... the game get progressively faster, the wall of jewels builds and more colours are added to the mix as you reach higher levels. The fast pace nature of this game makes it as puzzling as Tetris, although they aren't directly comparable, and just as addictive. There are varying levels of difficulty, depending on your skill, various game modes and Vs if you're feeling competitive. This game is a must for old school gamers and puzzle addicts alike.

82

Simple yet addictive

Truegamer | April 10, 2011 | See all Truegamer's reviews »

I played this game as a kid, and although this is a simple tetris based game in which you remove levels as the speed steadily increases, it doesnt mean that it doesnt have its own charms and isnt a great deal of fun, on the lower to mid range levels you can simply play along for hours but still retaining all the fun and addiction similar to Tetris, seeing how long you can last before it finally gets you, those looking for a bigger and better challenge it offers a variety of more challenging levels to test the skills of the most accustomed gamer, try it out, its simple yet addictive.

75

Memory Lane

Cuba_Ent | March 30, 2011 | See all Cuba_Ent's reviews »

Played this first when I bought the SEGA Game Gear way back in the day. As frustrating now as it was back then!