Reviews for DiRT 2

88

The definitive non-sim rally series

Dez | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all Dez's reviews »

If you don't wanna go fully rally sim, this is the best rally series of game on the market, DiRT 2 being the most pure rally game in the series IMO and my favorite. Its a racing game, so a controller or wheel is handy but you can play this on keyboard better than most. Not really much more to say I guess, its campaign is nice and long, good tracks, its got a good soundtrack and the cars feel great. Graphics still looks great.

100

Great offroad racer

rjb789 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is extremely fun. Dirt 2 is the sequel to the first critically acclaimed racing game called Dirt. This newer game takes everyhting that the critics loves about the first game and reinvents it and polishes it up to the near point of perfection. All of the racing modes can create some very fun experiences and tense racing situations. There is also a very wide range of cars that you can choose from and customize. The graphics in the game are also absolutely stunning. All the environments are crisp and alive with color. The cars are also extremely well detailed and the different weathers in the game makes for a very fun time.

74

Fun

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Its a fun game but it gets boring after a few hours of playing. There are some cool features that aren't in many racing games . The game technically is fine , the driving is fun , you can do crazy drifts and can be enjoyable when you do it right but it isn't that fun after a while. The game just feels empty and unappealing. Its visually a beautiful game, especially the levels in the mountains ,its a great game to look at but every event just feels like more of the same to me. I sunk well over 10 hours into the game and career mode but I could barely finish a race after. If you're not big into racers, I doubt this will change your mind, it doesn't do much different I think

89

Good racer good multiplayer!

Shanti | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

This is one of the good rally racers, very nice for single player and great for multi-player! Colin mcrae was when Dirt was the best, better than the newer ones. Enjoy physics destroy your car slight damage show, best graphics nice controls (try with wheel). Also, very cheap now so get.

94

Awesome

ColeYote | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all ColeYote's reviews »

I'm a big fan of off-road racing. This game is GREAT for that. Stages and tracks are well designed, I love Codemasters' racing engine, it's got pretty graphics, the soundtrack between races and during replays has some pretty good songs on it and most importantly it's a lot of fun. Particularly rallycross, raid and land rush, as having 8 cars on an offroad course can get a little chaotic.

95

The absolute best, offroad racer!

Yaniv1050102 | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Yaniv1050102's reviews »

awesome campaign with a really good soundtrack and a multiplayer too! best racing game ive ever played.

88

Very nice indeed

Oblaque | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

At first the EXTREME theme and X-Games focus were a turn off, but once I realized that you can turn off the in-car comments and choose to drive rally and landrush events while ignoring the trucks and buggies I found myself having a ton of fun. This is not a serious rally simulator in the vein of previous Colin McRae games, but it is a really enjoyable driving game. Damage has been toned down and most races significantly shortened, so it is very much marketed to the short attention span crowd. Despite this nerfing of the rally sim, it still is a tremendous amount of fun to play, so I give it a 9. It is different from earlier Colin McRae games, but just as fun, in its own way.

91

Great!

muchakomar1 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all muchakomar1's reviews »

I was never a fan of simulation racers (I prefer Arcade) until I played DiRT2. The interface and world look beautiful, and the game is challenging and fun. The ability to roll back time after making a mistake in a race is super cool. I'd highly recommend playing with an analog controller or some kind (I use an Xbox360 controller on PC), since you need precise analog controls to maintain control.

85

Love it, better than Forza

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

I absolutely love this game, mostly the water and mud effects you gather whilst driving. You have a vast array of cars, hatchbacks, buggies and sand dune vehicles ready to destroy on the courses. You can watch as your vehicle accumulates dirt round the tracks, and loses it as you go through water - which I think is pretty nice. I don't really enjoy generic racing games, but this is one of those games that stands out from the rest. Even the menus are interactive - you walk around to choose your selection - for instance you walk out of your trailer and select the car to begin racing. It's the little things that make this game great.

86

Fantastic racing game that anyone can enjoy

zachprkr | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all zachprkr's reviews »

I was a massive fan of DiRT on the Xbox 360 and never got around to playing the sequels. When I saw that GreenManGaming had such an excellent deal on them, I couldn’t resist buying them. After playing through DiRT 2, going back in time I would pay full price for the game.

DiRT 2 is just like its predecessor. The graphics are beautiful. The details in the car and the environment are top notch. Every location feels new and different and the scenery never gets boring.

The gameplay is also great. There is a variety of different types of races that alternate so you are never doing the same thing over and over. One race might be a rally, the next a time trial followed by a standard race. This made the game more enjoyable to me as it never felt repetitive.

The only issue I had with the game was when I was using a controller. The steering is extremely tight with the default settings. It took me a good dozen races to finally hone in on a perfect set up that didn’t feel like the slightest touch would send my car veering into the walls.

If you are a racing fan, I could not recommend this game enough. I’m not and I still find this series very fun and can’t wait dive into DiRT 3 and Showdown.

85

Best one of the DiRT games

Saakeli | July 27, 2013 | See all Saakeli's reviews »

Although the first DiRT was an excellent game, and held the torch of ye olde Colin McRae Rally -series brightly lit indeed, the second installation of the series is arguably better game in almost every respect. This game isn't as much "rally" as the first one, and has some annoyances (emo punk rock soundtrack for example), but the tracks and gameplay are very solid and in my opinion, much better than the first one. If you like car games, buy this one. If it HAS to be rally, buy DiRT 1 or 3 instead.

98

Best offroad racer

darkyhbk | July 23, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Dirt 2 is quite simply the best offroad racer ever. It has personality, charm, great cars and diverse tracks, and is loads of fun to play. First of all, the graphics are phenomenal. Everything looks top notch, with high resolution textures, shading and effects. The sound is also very realistic, the music is simply superb, and the transition between the racing and the menus with music is great. The voice acting is also quite good, and it helps you bond with the other racers and perceive them as persons, despite you not seeing them. Travis Pastrana might give you a friendly greet at the start of a race, while another will apologize if he or she bumps into your car. It's really good natured and fun. The gameplay is what we're used to from Codemasters. It's a mix between simulation and arcade which works exactly as it should be. Cars react differently, and you also need to pay attention to the surface you're racing on : sand will make you spin out more easily, while puddles can slow you down. The AI is good, and when you've crashed out or missed a turn, you can rewind time and correct your mistake - the number of rewinds depending on your difficulty level. Now, the tracks are diverse, ranging from USA deserts to Chinese Mountains, Morocco, Croatia, London and Malaysia. There's enough variety to keep you going. Also, the trailer serves as a menu and is placed in each of the locations you're visiting, with accompanying backgrounds. This is a great thing, as it adds to the friendly atmosphere the game has. With a few pleasant surprises here and there, Dirt 2 starts well and never tails off for a minute. This is offroad racing fans' heaven, buy it, it's worth every cent !

90

Brilliant

pawddy | July 8, 2013 | See all pawddy's reviews »

Picked this game up a few months ago for around £3 and i'm glad i did. I'd happily pay £40 after finishing the game. Great selection of cars, and the tracks are brilliant. The game looks fantastic on ultra settings too. The only downside, is that there isn't enough rally, and quite a few landrush/raid (buggy/truck) events that I never even bothered playing, but i was happy to find out that I didnt need to complete these events to unlock all events and cars (except world tours). There is only a couple of tracks, too. Seems to be 1 rally track for each country that you go to, which is disappointing. But overall, great quality game, and a must-buy for all rally fans! After playing this I'm going to buy DiRT 3!

85

Better than Dirt3

insideracing | July 7, 2013 | See all insideracing's reviews »

For those who want a game to have fun, this is it! Many kinds of racing tracks and cars. Better than Dirt3 because it doesn't have that annoying gymkhana stuff, just pure racing action. Good physics for an arcade game, and excelent graphics as every codemasters racing.

75

best

iamkyo90 | July 7, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

It has very good graphics, gameplay, music, travel the world, all in the last race gets a little repetitive, but it's a great game. Too bad few people in the online.

81

Great DiRT Game and Good Racing Game

DonVercetti | July 6, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

DiRT is undoubtedly one of the greater racing series. The name DiRT has a reason, it has a lot of offroad/dirt track races. The racing element is done greatly as the tracks you're on have impact on your handling of the car. The summary, it's the greatest offroading 'simulator' out there, and its lots of fun!

96

The best dirt game

spycid | July 4, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

This is considered the best dirt game for a reason, not for rally only but also for the best rally, off-road experience. If you love playing off road racing games then this is a must play game for you. Gameplay, variety of tracks and car, everything is a reason for you to get this game.

80

The Most Fun I've Had In A Racing Game.

IDprofile | July 4, 2013 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

Dirt 2 is an arcade offroad racing game. Although not a realistic simulation of driving Dirt 2 is purely fun and doesn't stretch too far from reality. If you are wanting to ease through the game without difficulty then you can set the opponent drivers to drive slow for you but if you're looking for a real challenge Dirt 2 will pull through and have you racing to the edge with a heavy sweat and a beating heart you will fight for the podium. Dirt 2 when paired with a force feedback steering wheel is a fast paced thrill. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys the rush of a race.

85

One of the best arcade racing game so far.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Dirt 2 is the sequel of Dirt as well as the once Colin McRae games. This is a really good rally game. You will say that there are not many of them, it's true. But Codemasters could have done a bad quick game because of that. No, they really did something really nice, with nice graphics, good gameplay and wise AI.

The cars and landscapes look really nice. You can race from the interior view which I do and you will see your wipers turning on when you hit some water, your windshield will crack off or even break entirely. That adds a lot of realism to the game. However, your wiper will sometimes turn on when you are on a dry section.

The AI is quite intelligent in this game and they are also quite aggressive. You have few levels of difficulty which allow you to use few flashbacks (as it was in Grid) down to no flashback at all. Notice that the difficulty level rises as you decrease the quantity of flashback. So, if you are an authentic racer, you may want to remove all of them, but if you are a newcomer in the world of racing, it still allow you to make some mistakes and not being punished too much.

There are not a lot of different cars in each categories, but they are few categories (cars/trucks/buggies). Each of them drive very differently. You can quickly adjust them at the beginning of each race. Each option is explained, so it can be done by people with a lot of knowledge as well as the less experimented users.

On the downside, you cannot buy pieces for your cars. There are only racing package that will allow your car to enter some higher level races. That's all. There is not that much to do with your money other than buying cars.

There is also only one video in the whole game, which is in honor of Colin McRae and that's it.

I am not that annoyed by this, but I know that some people might complain about the advertisement that there is in the game. To me, it is part of the rally in the reality, so I just find this normal to find it in a game like this.

In conclusion, I would say that it is a must play for every racing fans and it is a really good option to look at if you want to start in the world of racing too.

91

Top notch

parcelu | June 9, 2013 | See all parcelu's reviews »

DIRT 3 is a solid course game. Pros: Controls are spot on Easy to adjust to Competitive at higher difficulties Cons: Opening sequence is a bit annoying Game seems a little 'slow' in the speed 'feel' department. Not really a big negative for me, but everyone is different.

92

An undeniable masterpiece

parcelu | June 9, 2013 | See all parcelu's reviews »

Really good racing game for the price, very solid, with lots of races to unlock. Many hours of fun. If you are looking for a good dirt track racing game, that is simple to play this is it.

90

The Perfect Balance between Simulation depth and Arcade Fun

Pr1mus | June 8, 2013 | See all Pr1mus's reviews »

Dirt 2 strikes a great balance between the demands of a highly realistic simulation and more arcadey racing games.

The driving model has enough substance to it to reward skill on the higher difficulties available and is forgiving enough to make off-road racing a lot more accessible than it would otherwise be. With the ability to rewind time to correct race ending mistakes the player is always in the action and frustrations are kept in check.

Great variety of cars, tracks, environments and game modes (there is a lot more to it than just classic point-to-point rally races) will keep you occupied for a long time. Also do not get fooled by the game's age. It may be 4 years old now but it remains a beautiful game that runs very well on any half-way decent gaming PC built in the last 4-5 years.

75

They call it Dirt for a reason..

wfosnot | June 3, 2013 | See all wfosnot's reviews »

Racing.. done right. The car "feel" like they weigh something. The tracks are a little more varied (some games seem like the same tracks over-and-over) - Dirt 2 has a little more variety. This type of game is about the career mode and it it done right. They kept all of the good things from Dirt and added better graphics/visuals for this sequel.

100

Run to buy !

LoudeRZz | June 3, 2013 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

I love this game so much !! its so realistic, the sounds, the graphics, the cars [all original], the tournaments and the sponsors .. everything is so cool ! The career mod very interesting and you always want to play, its never tired. Its also better to play with a steering wheel and its even more realistic. About th price, i think its worth 15$ easily and i say just run to buy it now ! The multiplayer and Singleplayer both are very cool, i recomend to try them both. If you debating between this one and between DiRT 3 i recomend both but they are very different so make your choice.

83

The better Dirt

KynesLiet | June 3, 2013 | See all KynesLiet's reviews »

Having played all the Dirt games, this is without a doubt the best one. Dirt Showdown is too arcade for my tastes, and Dirt 2 is less demanding than Dirt 3 on older hardware.

For us without the latest graphics card on the market, Dirt 2 is the game to get.

81

Really good racing career

ccccp | May 31, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

I recently bought this game, well I must say I'm not disappointed. I play with a xbox360 controller, there is immediately a good feeling and driving is very nice. The downside is all the trash with the other drivers, I personally do not care to be a buddy or not with dave mirra and most clenching is when they talk during races. Graphics are very nice . The career is amazing. Maneuverability is the same kind as Grid, between arcade and simulation. Do not miss this game! Only fault I found the menu a little confusing, not very clear but the loading animations are great so we soon forget that little detail. Superb!

95

The Best Of DiRT

chrisdolman22 | May 31, 2013 | See all chrisdolman22's reviews »

While DiRT 2 definitely definitely didn't follow the Colin McRae script when it was released, in my opinion it bettered it in every way. DiRT 2 swaps straight-up rallying for a very good balance of rally and rallycross, along with a handful of new gamemodes which add further depth to an already very solid franchise.

DiRT 2 is all about off-road speed, from tearing around a London Battersea track in a rallycross event to trailblazing across open desert landscapes in a ridiculously fast modified car. My favourite mode is gatecrasher, which combines both a long, twisting rally stage with yellow gates scattered along the course that much be smashed, which requires speed but also driving precision, something which has been fairly lacking in a lot of rally games and is a very nice challenge on higher difficulties.

The graphics are surprisingly good for a game of it's age, the driving physics are great, there is a great variety of tracks, and while the selection of cards is slightly lacking, you don't really notice it because of the different upgrade packs which have to be equipped for each different type of event. Codemasters are one of the best studios at making cars feel unique in how they handle, and they really pulled it off here.

In short, DiRT 2 is a fantastic game, easily in my top 5 favourite games of all time, and at the prices charged these days it's impossible to go wrong. Buy it and you won't be disappointed.

82

Racing at it's Finest

brute452 | May 30, 2013 | See all brute452's reviews »

In my opinion, DiRT2 is one of the best racing games with a unique feel and solid gameplay. I recently started in this genre of game, but I highly recommend this game to all newcomers and pros as well. The driving mechanics feel very smooth with a gamepad and with a keyboard. The damage system is a very nice touch to add a sense of realism, but if you're into a nice ride, you can tweak the damage and difficulty settings to your liking.The graphics have a beautiful look and the landscape, from hilly plains to desert- like maps. The game feels well optimised and it won't run your rig too hard either. I have to say though, the strict keyboard to controller setup is a bit annoying, as you can't use your mouse in any way. I do highly favor an xbox360 controller when playing this game, as it adds a more smooth sense of turning. It's still very fun with a keyboard, so don't feel cheated it you don't have a gamepad.

This is a great way to start out with the racing genre and it won't break the bank. For a game that was made 3 years ago, it fells like it was out just yesterday.

85

Amazing game, with amazing graphics

Shav | May 29, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

It doesn't matter if you are a fan of racing simulators, or if you are looking for a good, arcade racing game. While playing Dirt 2 you can have fun anyway! Even though I am more of an arcade players I had amazing fun while playing this game. Add the great graphics that it can offer, and you will get one of the best racing games ever.

Also, there are a lot of races, cars and stuff to unlock, so you will have a lot of things to do! Sadly, the multiplayer is not longer an option, but considering the game's current price its only a minor flaw.

69

Well, it´s not Dirt 3. =)

AlbusDlx | May 28, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

I write this in 2013. Dirt 3 has been released, and Showdown, This feels sluggish and old, but that is probably just bacause I keep comparing it with the 3:rd piece, and I know, that´s not fair.

I bought this because I got a really good deal. And to you who are concidering it, don´t pay full price when you can get Dirt 3.

The thing that made it a 69 and not a 79 is the HORRIBLE intro and presentation, again, I KNOW, it´s like 0.005% of the game. But it made me so angry I sat and screamed at the poor guy who is oly trying to help.

It WAS an awesome game, not anymore I´m afraid. I will still play it thogh, and I will still enjoy it. The best when it came.

90

One of the best racing games

merkabahpt | May 11, 2013 | See all merkabahpt's reviews »

Well, every one loves to race a beasty car, but racing it on rally tracks is just the best recing experience you can get. Thats exactly what you get when you buy this game, a godlike racing experience. The cars, tracks and other drivers in "single player" are all real. The physics engine, car grip, stability and so one are all very good, a real simulator, not a arcade style racing game like the NSF series (excluding Shift 1/2). If you want a game you can spend lots of hours on and don't get bored, Dirt2 is re right choice. You may think that Dirt3 is better, but believe me, it isn't. The phisycs, grip, graphics and what not are all basically the same, and almost being forced to do "gymkhanas" is a bad thing. Overall, 90/100. A must have for racing games fans.

85

Very solid Racing Game

hathor | April 22, 2013 | See all hathor's reviews »

In my opinion this is the best Dirt so far. It may be a little arcady but the cars feel very good to handle, very direct. The Singleplayer may not offer anything revolutionary, but a good way to experience the different kind of race types and cars there are in this game. If you are into racing games that are not too unrealistic but also not too difficult because of their realism, then this is the right choice. Even the graphics still look increadibly good, even after 3 years since the game's original release.

81

Racing with personality

mugaro | March 29, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

The single player game has you competing with famous racers who are colleagues of Colin McRae. You start out as a newbie in their eyes and gain reputation through winning races and at certain points of the racing, you do a 1v1 race with each character, called Throwdowns.

The maps are absolutely beautiful. Some of the maps are circular events, usually 3 laps. Some of them are straight point A to point B, linear instead of circular. An example is the Utah sections. They take place in Southern Utah and feature some of the most beautiful maps, especially with the sun.

There are also Gatecrasher events, which are basically race events where you have to hit certain makers (gates) to extend your time during the race. For the most part during the races, you want to top out around 55-65 MPH to maneuver the tight turns and stay on the course. Some of the races early in the game have heavier cars that don't turn as easy, so there's a slight learning curve.

Overall, Codemasters knows what they're doing when it comes to racing. For off-road racing, this is a fantastically beautiful game and can be quite fun once you get the hang of it.

75

Good but Felt Off

ROKET | March 28, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

When I first played this game I was expecting an awesome new addition to the sparse rally racing game scene. It was alright and the game was gorgeous but when I started driving I didnt get as much enjoyment as I expected. The cars handled oddly and the sense of speed wasnt all there as a result.

The interface was also a bit lame though detailed and slightly pleasing to the eye. The damage modeling and car models were also good but you didnt see as many cars and variety wasnt really there. The tracks were also meh and you didnt get much rally style racing. They focused more on circuit racing and the commercial x-games style aspect of the sport and I didnt really like that.

Get this game if its cheap but if you can - get Dirt 3. Its better.

Thanks.