Reviews for GRID -

90

Drifting into a 9.0

Wecameasgaiters | May 29, 2013 | See all Wecameasgaiters's reviews »

This game is amazing. When I seen it here for 3.74 I had to jump on it. This is my first time buying any computer game and I made the right choice. The game is hard but nothing you can't handle. Unlike GT5 Drifting was hard in that game...more realistic I know, but hard to get a grip of. I recommend this game if you want a solid racer for the low! :D

85

Incredible Game

chrisdolman22 | May 28, 2013 | See all chrisdolman22's reviews »

This game may have been released way back in the early days of this generation but as a racing sim/arcade hybrid title it's fantastic. The graphics are very good (particularly when you consider it's age), the selection of cars is great, but by far my favorite part is the sense of sheer speed and adrenaline which comes with playing a tightly-contested race in ridiculously fast super cars. Codemasters are a great team of developers and I'm very much looking forward to GRID 2, it's been too long

100

One of my favorite racing games EVER

pholly | May 28, 2013 | See all pholly's reviews »

I've been playing racing video games for 20 years and this is one of the best ones I've ever played. It's got a nice mix of simulation and arcade mechanics that make it fun and challenging at the same time.

90

Simply the best

szami777 | May 28, 2013 | See all szami777's reviews »

This is the best Arcade/Simulator game ever. The carrer mode is very exciting. This is a very ideal game for online with anything else. Nice handling, and the crashes are very fun, and the original maps are great and beautiful. The graphic is charming.

75

Not bad

psyren89 | May 28, 2013 | See all psyren89's reviews »

Realistic racing games: where a single mistake means you have to restart the race, the AI drives perfectly and always manages to accelerate/brake much better than you, and their cars are invincible in collisions where yours are made of paper.

Having said that, the game is quite fun, but it does get quite frustrating due to the reasons outlined above. If you're after a realistic racer, play this game. You'll love it. If you're after a fun game, play Split/Second instead.

I highly recommend you use a controller for this game. Anything but your keyboard.

90

Fun You Can't Miss

tayfuntuna | May 10, 2013 | See all tayfuntuna's reviews »

If you enjoyed DIRT and said "I wish I could drive like this in a street race", this is what you need. With a steering wheel it becomes so realistic that it gets harder to drive good and win. The flashback option is nice, but it's kinda like a cheat.

Grid 2 is on the horizon, but this is a good alternative since it is so cheap. If you enjoy this kind of games, you could also try Shift + Shift 2.

85

Still be the great racing game till these days, just buy it!

amj1984 | April 28, 2013 | See all amj1984's reviews »

For today ,Grid might be an old racing game in the market. But everybits in this game are still modern till these days. The sounds and graphics still nice and pretty. The physics and damage system still looking good and giving a great sense of realistic. And a campaign mode still very fun and more challenge to test your skill. Sadly ,the online session in this game is not active anymore. But even without it ,Grid still be worth for your money (and for me it's worth even in the full price!) and still be the strong competitor for the new racing game in the market or even it's sequel too.

91

The perfect racer?

DaddyDoomBar | April 26, 2013 | See all DaddyDoomBar's reviews »

This game is great, make no mistake. It has a few flaws - limited tracks and cars - but what it lacks in substance it makes up for in style. If you want a pick up and play racer with plenty of carnage, visceral sound and excellent graphics, the get GRID. Even a few years on it stands up well to most modern racers. In a word - fun with a capital F. It's not as deep as Forza or GT, but it's not Burnout either. It's somewhere between the two.

90

The best arcade/sim hybrid racer out there.

acondie13 | April 23, 2013 | See all acondie13's reviews »

I've been playing quite a bit of NFS Shift and Shift 2: Unleashed lately. They're fun, but the cars drive like jet powered bathtubs. I started looking for an arcade/sim hybrid and found Grid. Bought it on GMG and Activated on steam with no problems. Right off the bat as I was setting up my profile it asked me to pick a voice for my name for radio chatter/announcements. WHY DOESN'T EVERY GAME HAVE THIS? Interface is okay, but wish there was mouse cursor support for the menus. Pretty well optimized and looks great for being several years old. Rarely dropped below 60 fps on my GTX 550 TI. I did run into a few times that it went to 10 fps for a second or two but only a few times. The rags to riches approach for campaign works well. I love the rewind feature and how other racers are adopting it. Overall very innovative and amazing physics and graphics. Very hard to find complaints on this one. Could hardly be more satisfied.

87

Delivers exactly what it promises: car racing

mugaro | March 29, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Grid is just a racing game. It basically says "here's a car, go race" and honestly, that's what you should be expecting here. The maps are beautiful, even for a 2008 game it's a lot of fun looking around.

There are 3 sections: USA, Europe & Japan. The USA sections are the most varied, from Detroit, San Francisco, Los Angeles & Washington. The races are street cars in the streets of each city (with the exception being the Detroit Derby) so it feels realistic sailing down the hills of San Francisco, even though you could never do that in real life.

The Europe sections sometimes involve stock racing cars, formula 51 or European street cars. The maps are usually specifically designed race stadiums, not street races. The European races also have the most competitors in them, up to 20 sometimes.

The Japanese sections are half drift competitions and half street races. Once you learn how to drift, it's really easy to take first place and a lot of fun to do. The street races can sometimes involve oncoming traffic which make them pretty exciting.

The best thing about this game is unlike Kart racers, the AI actually makes mistakes and can fail out of the race due to crashing. Your car takes realistic damage and can impact the rest of the race. For example, you might take a heavy hit on the right side of your car, lose speed the rest of the race and have your car veer to the right as you keep going. This can make for a pretty steep learning curve, it took me about an hour & 1/2 or so before I smoothed out and had it figured out. Once you have it figured, it's a lot of fun.

Some people complained that this game didn't feature garage customization or other secondary content. I have no problem with it. This game is straight forward and right to the point: car racing. What it does, it does well. The only drawback is they took multiplayer servers offline, so this is only a single player game which is a pretty big drawback for some people. However, the single player is still a lot of fun and good for 10-20 hours a year of entertainment.

If you like car racing sims, this is definitely one of the best games out there.

90

Blew My Mind

ROKET | March 28, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

When I first saw this game I was enthralled. I couldnt believe how much they packed into the game and was instantly hooked. The game featured a damage system, realistic physics, an intense racing experience and multiple disciplines to experience. There was also a ton of cars and a nice involved campaign that challenged you to make your way up from rookie to expert.

Graphically the game is amazing and immerses you immediately. The car models are amazing and so are the tracks. I loved the screech of the tires and the sway of the camera as you rip around a turn. Its such a great experience and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a game that isnt a total sim but isnt a total arcade game either. I see GRID as a great middle ground racer that you can just have fun with.