Reviews for Sword of the Stars: The Pit

83

A very good Roguelike

Dez | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all Dez's reviews »

If your a fan of roguelike games such as Dungeons of Dreadmore, this game is great (if your a fan of Sword of the Stars to, you probably already own it haha but regardless the more the better), it has a bit less of the absolute craziness of that game but makes up with it with all the alien items which could potentially cripple your guy or turn him into superman for a minute. The combat is satisfying, the random generation constantly throws you a different experience with items or weapons. The only thing I wish was that you could customize your character more at launch, but this roguelike is more about building a character with the items the game throws at you than starting out with the kinda skills you want then specializing from there, which I feel is actually truer to the roguelike namesake.

87

Addicting Roguelike

asbath | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all asbath's reviews »

Like any rogue-like game, this one drops you in the middle of it and expects you to learn on your own from dying - a lot. However, it throws a lot of bones your way from the get-go, so sometimes you'll be extremely well equipped to fight off death early on, or you'll be dead pretty soon.

As far as rogue-likes go, this one is pretty standard fare in how it procedurally generates levels and randomly spawns weapons and enemies. The enemies are pretty easy to defeat on their own, but they usually spawn in groups. Enemies seem to spawn based on your current level/stats so it's a fair game, which is a slight detriment to the game: it's a rogue-like, it should be more difficult and unforgiving :)

Despite the easier-than-normal difficulty, this is still an addicting game. From crafting recipes for food or weapons to figuring out which weapon to drop because your pack is full, this is a really fun sci-fi rogue-like. I especially enjoy the fact that no door is really "closed" because even if you cannot pick the lock or find the key, your trusty shotgun will always be your skeleton key.

85

Satisfying and Intense

FreddieFiasco | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all FreddieFiasco's reviews »

Ever since FTL, roguelikes (I'm sorry if I offend, hardcore roguelike fans) have held a particular interest for me. This game does not fail to disappoint. Though it isn't quite up to the quality of FTL, The Pit is an interesting and complex (relative to other games in the genre) experience; the game has a very light if difficult crafting system, for God's sake. But none of that matters. The real charm of The Pit is simply that it's ridiculously fun. I've played it at least half as much as I've played FTL, and that's saying a lot, because I've put countless hours into that old Star Trek sim. In the end, if you loved FTL, you'll certainly enjoy this game; just don't expect it to match up to the game which basically popularized roguelikes, and, in doing so, made The Pit possible.

98

Best Roguelike to come out in a while

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

This game is 10$. i've putten in well over 100 hours into this title. Is one of my favorite games to come out in quite a long time. Some may argue its too difficult. However I feel that its Just hard enough to keep you coming back and trying to tackle the challenge. There are a huge plethora of items and has a turn based system that lamost feel like its real time. almost kinda like how the old fallouts played to be compltely honest There is a ton of different items to use/figure out the recipes for. and theres a good few characters that have different styles of playing out. This game SCREAMS replayability. I honestly loved the different crazy monsters and I loved dying in here. It leaves me feeling liek some form of badass gladiator getting tossed more intense challenges until something finally fells me. I'll never forget the first time an irradiated diseased super bear jumped me around a corner after I ran out of charges for sensing enemies and i was starving paniucking sprinting around rooms looking for food. Just do yourself a favori and pick this bad boy up!

85

Hours of fun, if you like roguelikes

Iluminatro | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Iluminatro's reviews »

This is by far the mostplayed Roguelike I have in my library. It has a decent challenge and leveling system that can keep you playing for hours. Integrated into the gameplay are messages you can decrypt, slowly unveiling the secrets of the pit floor after floor. Looting, hacking,killing, crafting, searching,unlocking, this game has it all and more, a decent game for a decent price.Enyoable gamefeel meets decent game mechanics and a good story. So buy it, strap on your space boots and get your laser pistol ready, its time to reach floor 50 while paving the underground floors with dead critters. You are in for a bumpy ride!

80

A Fun Sci-Fi Roguelike

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

Sword of the Stars : The Pit is a sci-fi roguelike game that branches off from the typical hack-n-slash roguelikes and gives it a futuristic makeover with guns, blades, grenades and all those other goodies.

You will find yourself realizing that one of the most valuable items in this game early on is ammunition. It's wise to dispatch weaker enemies with your bare fists or a blade early on and stockpile as much ammo as you can for the tougher baddies at a later juncture.

One thing I love about this game is how the success of your actions, such as lockpicking, computer usage, scavenging, etc, are all determined through your skills. If your lockpicking sucks, don't expect to get through a locked door too easily, and you may even trip an alarm that will permanently lock that door for good!

There's 3 classes to choose from at the beginning of the game, each with their own weaknesses and strengths. So while you may be a brutish marine with all the strength in the world, you may soon come to find out that your lacking mental skills prevent you from obtaining lots of needed items from locked storage containers and lockers.

As with most roguelikes, the game doesn't hold your hand through your adventure and pick you up when you fall. When you die, death is permanent, and expect it to happen often early on until you get the hang of things. Also don't make the same mistake I did and jump in head-first without browsing the tutorial. (plus completing the tutorial earns you a Steam achievement.)

Any fans of roguelikes should feel right at home with SotS:The Pit, and anyone looking for a nice place to start to whet their roguelike appetite should look no further than Sword of the Stars: The Pit.

89

The pit of addiction

Kazeking | July 5, 2013 | See all Kazeking's reviews »

What can I say, this game is a gem. As a rogue-like games lover, The Pit is by far one of the most complete, polished and defying of this genre. The character customization is awesome, game mechanics feel well done, the difficulty of the game it's challenging, it makes you want to cry sometimes, also makes you cry of joy when you complete certain challenges. The game is so rewarding, so well done, and so immersive that you won't even notice when you already have spent 2 or 3 hourse into the game.

All I can say about the game is try it, if you like challenge, if you like rogue-like games, or even if you want to have a great time. I highly recommend playing the pit, also buying the recently launched DLC, worth every penny.

85

Great Game!

Plasros | July 4, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

The Pit is a new sci-fi rogue-like RPG game set on a distant planet, which was stricken by a terrible disaster. You take the role of a lone hero and descent into the ancient alien research facility to try to save the world. The facility of course turns out to be a giant deathtrap filled with deadly monsters that try to kill you in many horrible ways. To survive you have to use every bit of skill in weapons, looting a crafting you have. The game has four difficulty levels. The easiest one is still very challenging and finishing the game on any harder difficulty is incredibly difficult. All in all the game is a blast and has everything a good rogue-like should have plus very nice polished graphics and lots of lore and back-story that you can piece together during multiple playthroughs. There are just two UI issues that lessen the overall game experience. There is no zoom level that allows you to see as far as your character sees. That means you will sometimes get gunned down by enemies that hides outside of your screen. The second one is the inability to aim your gun with mouse. The entire game interface is mouse friendly and clickable, but you have to aim with arrow keys. That is something you would expect from a bad console port, but in this case the game controls have been dumbed down on purpose to allow easier porting to consoles in the future. That is something I don’t like at all.

85

SciFi Rogue Like - a rare breed

Scorcher24 | July 2, 2013 | See all Scorcher24's reviews »

I tried the Demo when it came out and I instantly liked it. The interface is slick, the game easy to learn, but hard to master. It is a resource managing game mainly, so you really need to watch out how much food you use on early levels, because it get's scarcer as you proceed down the levels. It is really addicting and fun and Kerberos did an awesome Job here.

80

Rogue-like, you can't never have enough of those

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

CAUTION, ONLY FOR THOSE WILLING TO SPEND A LO OF TIME PLAYING IT! An amazingly fun piece of game, 30 floors of scavenging, pew pew, slash and poke, aliens, critters crazy hoomans, interesting weaponry and items, an interestngly useful collection of grenades, this dungeon crawler is a fun business. Even though it needs quite some tome to complete a playthrough, I higly recomend this game for those who enjoy this genre, it won't disapoint you at all.

70

Caution: Only recommended for the strongwilled

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | See all jcyuen7's reviews »

I did thorough research on the game before buying. I was already warned about the difficulty and the frustration, but what I found was a pretty charming game, even if only for a couple hours. The turn-based element of the game make it so that you really have to ponder your next step (reload before moving, etc). But the game boasts a crafting system that more than often punishes you rather than reward you for experimenting.

If you're into the roguelikes, SOTS: The Pit is a true challenge to any gamer. There's a ton of replayability, and even when you die, every game will never be the same.

85

Descending into The Pit.

Nemorian | June 5, 2013 | See all Nemorian's reviews »

A couple weapons, few clips of ammo, some food and meager extra supplies. Thirty random floors of who-knows-what waiting in the shadows to eat your face off. The odds are definitely in favor of the face-munching.

The challenge, however, is part of what makes this game fun. While you may never start with much, there's plenty to loot from abandoned containers and gunned-down monsters. Find more ammo, a better rifle, and craft your own tools of survival from the many recipes you can either toss together at random or from info you can get on old terminals (provided your decipher abilities are up to par).

Of course finding what you need is never guaranteed, so rationing your supplies is vital to a lengthy survival. With a nice balance of skill, strategy and luck you might even make it to the bottom. Just remember to keep yourself fed, watch for traps and make every bullet count.

If you're a fan of roguelikes, tactics games and/or dungeon crawlers, The Pit may be very well be a game you'll enjoy jumping into.

89

Old School Piece of Art

edchaos | June 4, 2013 | See all edchaos's reviews »

This game is a wonderful piece of art, it remembers the old school dungeons games. After you understand the basics, it becomes addicting, with increasing challenge as you fight your way down The Pit. If you play the game on easy, it can become boring as it is very "easy", I strongly recommend playing it in a more challenging difficult. The craft part of the game requires a lot of guesses that are not easy to find, I think they made it that way to force you to find and decipher the recipes. Overall its a good roguelike game and you will spend many fun hours with it. Enjoy!

90

Excellent Sci-Fi Roguelike

ZothOmmog | May 4, 2013 | See all ZothOmmog's reviews »

Sword Of The Stars The Pit is a Sci-Fi themed, turn based top-down adventure game in the rogue-like genre.

You have a choice of three pre-made characters (Marine, Engineer and Scout), each of whom has a different set of stat and skills that has quite some impact on the way you'll play and experience the game.

As usual for rogue-likes, levels are created randomly, so no game is quite like the other, and danger lurks around every unfamiliar corner. You have only one live, and if (or rather, when) you meet your end, you lose everything - every piece of equipment, every stat point, all progress, and you'll have to start from the beginning. And be assured, this will happen a lot. On the one hand, this can be frustrating, of course, but on the other hand, it is a great incentive to try to make it at least a bit further than the last time.

There is one element that is persistent across plays, though: Information. Every piece of intel you manage to decode will be available for your next character, too, including crafting recipes. While this may seem trivial at first, it's actually really helpful, as the ability to craft more useful items means the odds of survival are at least a tiny bit better than before.

All in all, SotsTP is an excellent (and highly addictive) game, and provides great value for it's money. Highly recommended !

91

Probably my favorite game

Rawrbacon17 | April 23, 2013 | See all Rawrbacon17's reviews »

Let me start off by first talking about how great the crafting is in this game. It is by far one of the most unique crafting systems, trumping both Minecraft and Terraria alike. I enjoy this because it allows for a more fulfilling feeling of discovering recipes and learning through the consoles located across each level of the pit. I enjoy the diversity in the different playable characters as well as the wide assortment of weapons and mods. Ooh, another thing, the fact that different things change on every play through. (What different colors of traps and weapon mods do) The only thing that I believe could have made this game better is a character creation type thing, where you pick a set class then just decide how they look, although it's a small thing, It would have made it even more unique. The fact that it's probably already the most unique game I have ever played, adding that one thing would have added a certain level of personality to it for myself.

80

One of the best roguelikes to come out in quite some time!

fable2 | March 23, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

This game is a somewhat above average roguelike. Art design invokes an nice sense of nostalgia with high fidelity textures that remind me of the original "Fallout" game. There is a very interesting crafting system in place and it can take many playthroughs it discover all the recipes available. The game offers up three character classes to choose from, each with it's own distinct playstyle which provides a good amount of replayability. There are 30 levels of increasing difficulty in the game and it takes a decent amount of time to progress through them all, particularly if you are being sure to fully explore each floor. There are several well implemented RPG elements as well in the form of crafting, random traps and enhancements (in the form of genetic altering "potions" and weapon/armor mods that are random each playthrough). It's not all good though. Sound and music is unfortunately rather forgettable as well as being really repetitive. Which brings us to another issue: repetitiveness. To be fair, this is an issue many roguelikes face, but that is no excuse not to overcome it here. Enemies and tilesets get really repetitive, with the tileset only changing once every several floors and new enemies being introduced at a rate of about one every five floors or so. And of course, as with any roguelike, be prepared to die. Often.

85

Surprisingly fun

Ghost101 | March 19, 2013 | See all Ghost101's reviews »

While I'm not a hardcore roguelike player I've played a few of the easier to get into ones like DoomRL, StoneSoup, Dungeons of Dredmor, SOTS The Pit is pretty good. The graphic tileset is very clean and easy to read and the HUD and inventory system is uncluttered. Another bonus is the sci-fi setting, as it's not one that you usually see in roguelikes.

Combat is fairly straightforward, with the ability to split your burst fire weapons' shots between enemies, as well as numerous grenades and other gadgets to bolster your arsenal.

A downside I've had is trying to figure out the controls at times, but it may be a problem on my part. Some quick tips: Control + X rests until healed, and holding control while hitting the movement keys turns your character in place to look around.

95

Awesome game!

FalconGrey | March 16, 2013 | See all FalconGrey's reviews »

This is an awesome game. It is hard to put down once you start and the on going 'adding' to the game makes it even more awesome!

Just a little suggestion to make the game more enjoyable is to start playing the game not on easy, but on normal. Make it a challenge! You're not suppose to make it through the whole thing on 1 go... You need to learn how the game reacts to you. Find how to craft things and what to craft.

There is a huge and great community on their home forums. Join it and enjoy this brilliantly polished game!

95 out of 100... only because there is nothing perfect and always room for better. (And they are still improving and adding to the game!)

78

Enjoyable roguelike game

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Sword Of The Stars The Pit is a roguelike game where you pick a class - marine, scout or engineer - and work your way down a pit. The game's combat is focused on gunfights, but you can use melee (weapons) as well, or combine those two to mix things up. There's a lot of broken stuff to repair, unlock and decrypt and you will basically get experience for everything you do. The use of items is a bit of mystery when you play it for the first time (and even after then it's still confusing at times) but you'll keep trying to figure out what these things are for nevertheless. The Pit is a fun game where you'll die a lot. A. LOT. But it doesn't matter, you don't care; you just want to get to the bottom of the pit. A very enjoyable game !

88

Awesome rogue-like in the SOTS Universe

Bigshrimp | March 15, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

This game is quite a polished rogue-like. Rogue-likes are where you only can live once, so once you do die, it's game over and you will have to start over all again. People may be familiar with that genre of games if they tried Dungeons of Dredmor and other similiar games.

You can play the game as a Marine, Pilot, and Engineer, each with specialization of skills. But even if you pick a Marine, you can still upgrade the skills that the Engineer gets a lot to start of with.

The graphics are pretty decent, and the flow of the game goes pretty well as you descend further into "The Pit" to try to find a cure to a major epidemic. The audio fits well with the sci-fi backdrop and I really enjoy how smooth the game runs.

Overall if you are interested in a challenge in this latest rogue-like dungeon crawler in the SOTS universe with lots of item drops and other kewl features, give this a try. I am glad I did and it really gets addicting.