Reviews for Stacking

90

a wonderfully whimsical romp

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

when i was reading pre-views for this game i was sooo excited. it has everything that i think enjoyable. puzzles, pantomime, family, and Victorian era whimsy. the gameplay mechanic is simple, you use the talents of yourself and others to solve puzzles and save your family... by taking over their bodies!

its simple enough but that's what makes it so good. you can finish levels many different ways and at your pace. there's enemies to defeat, but no fighting, this is a family game remember?

the only flaw is that i wish it was longer. there is an add-on, but it wasn't enough once you figure out all the different ways to finish the puzzles.

85

Extremely happy with this purchase

ashleymurray | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all ashleymurray's reviews »

What a breath of fresh air. This game has memorable characters, fun puzzles and a unique approach to adventure gaming. A serious issue, child labour, is broached but there is a light atmosphere to keep things from being too drawn out and emotional. It's simply lovely to play a game that is different and isn't your same old shoot-em-up slash-and-grab. Do I have any complaints? The length. I've had this game for a day, played about 3 hours, and I'm more than 60% of the way through. There are side puzzles and characters to collect, which I have been doing, but it still doesn't take long.

73

My first exposure to Double Fine

magusonline | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

At a glance, the game via screenshots and videos had absolutley no appeal to me. However, after giving it a try on my friend's XBOX, I had no choice but to see what it was like.

Initially I did not like the art direction of the game. But again, a personally biased opinion. However, I did like the concept behind the mechanics. Using Matryoshka dolls to "devour" smaller people and obtaining their powers. Reminds me of something between Katamari Damacy and Kirby's Dream Land.

Anyways, the game's highest point for me, was finding a mechanic doll that had the ability to fart. Which was all I ended up doing, until I realized the farting actually had a purpose (farting into an air vent to ruin a party).

I'd give the game a shot if you want to pay the smallest bracket, that's fine. I would too.

75

Solid

lightlurker | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all lightlurker's reviews »

This game is interesting, simple, clean in design and could be played by different ages. It is enjoyable, but not necessarily the best or worse game out there, its rather average when it comes to the actual game play. That being said there are three solutions to just about every puzzle and hidden secret dolls that can add for replay value. Probably best to get in the humble bundle or on sale.

90

Double Fine Delivers

bwrussell | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

Stacking is a unique puzzle game where you use a plethora of Russian stacking dolls to solve challenges, explore, and just goof off. As far as mechanics go this game is unlike any other in it's genera but somehow is still intuitive. You almost never will be left guessing the rules of the world or fumbling at the controls. The challenges are fun, mostly intuitive, and a hint system will never leave you stumped. The world is well built and detailed and the various dolls are really works of art but they are more than just pretty. Not only does each doll have a unique ability but their size, age, gender, and profession change how other dolls react to them.

In true Double Fine fashion the writing and humor in Stacking is top notch. Once again they show the rare ability to write a child main character for an adult audience without alienating younger players. The humor ranges from fart jokes to surprisingly funny jokes about child labor. The setting is similar to the US industrial revolution and the plot revolves around rescuing your family and child labor, hence the previous line. There is no voice acting so cut scenes are played out like silent movies, with cards showing "dialog" between scenes. While a little slow, it conveys the setting and feel well and overall I enjoyed it. (Contrary to other reviews, you can skip cut scenes, R-click after a few seconds, but I would not suggest playing like that. Stop and smell the story). Personally I turned off the vignette overlay and opened the FOV but I understand immersion-wise why they are defaulted the way they are.

Stacking is not a particularly long but it's not too short either. With the multiple challenge solutions, unique dolls to collect, and hi-jinks (using different dolls unique interactions in various ways) it doesn't outstay it's welcome but provides plenty of value. The addition of the Hobo King DLC essentially provides a 5th chapter.

As far as stability goes, I had one repeated force close issue that I solved by running the game in XP compatibility mode. Overall it ran smooth and quick with no other hiccups. My play time was split right about 50/50 between a gamepad and mouse & keyboard with both working well and feeling good. The menus are a little cumbersome at different times with both setups but in game the control prompts display for the input system you are currently using which is always a nice touch.

My final word is a hardy recommendation. Unique but polished, Stacking can provide quite a lot of clever, humorous, puzzle solving fun for players of almost any age. Even the main menu is strangely entertaining.

58

Another small disapointment

RicBac | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

Tim Schafer has once again made me a bit disapointed. The feel is there and the graphics and humor is good. But there is something missing that I just can't figure out what it is.

The Cave - Another game by Tim was the same thing. Very likeable, but then again not.

Well Stacking is a cool puzzle game ide with the dolls. And some puzzles are nice. But there is something that just doesn't make me start the game up after a couple of hours playtime. Such a pity.

70

For fans of dolls!

felixdenfule | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all felixdenfule's reviews »

This game has a few annoying mechanics, like unskippable cutscenes, but the puzzles make up for it. The general setting and environment is really in place and the story is pretty gripping. I would recommend picking up the DLC as well since it features a more comic twist to the generally pretty depressing game. The story features very rich elements such as industrialism and child labour, which really gives the protagonist more and more of a hero role. It's definitely worth the money, the game delivers over expectation in content and length and every character featured really feels rich in design.

60

Simple story but clever puzzles.

Pradlik | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

Stacking is an indie adventure game with an interesting idea of the world of matrioshkas. It promises some challenging puzzles and dolls to collect in the areas. The story is a bit lousy though and the best parts are the challenges really. Also after few hours it might get pretty boring because it's still the same.

85

Memorable and fun adventure game

mahon | July 26, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

I had pretty low expectations regarding this game, but after playing it I was hooked. I just loved the way it is stylized to resemble a silent movie, with excellent music and film-like cutscenes. But the best thing is the whole concept of a world inhabited by stacking dolls, just like the Russian ones. Every doll has a special ability, related to its role and appearance. And the dolls actually stack, which means a smaller doll can enter into a one size larger doll, thus gaining control over it. This innovative concept allows you to assume different roles in order to use their skills and receive different reactions from other dolls you will be meeting in your quest, because other dolls react differently to different dolls you will be controlling.

This game plays on your emotions, moving from amusing to touching, and engages you into a long quest for the lost family. And if it is not enough, you're getting an additional adventure in an included expansion, which allows you to spend even more time in the land of stacking dolls.

87

Fun, Quirky, Simple

IchiVanilla | July 20, 2013 | See all IchiVanilla's reviews »

This is a great game to play when you don't want to have to learn a ton of complex controls, leveling schemes, etc. that you find in most games these days. That is not to say it doesn't make you think, some of the puzzles are quite hard to figure out. What is nice is you won't get stuck on any level and end up rage-quitting because each level has at least one really easy solution to each puzzle, allowing you to advance forward. Getting every alternate solution however is harder. The "stacking dolls" gameplay mechanic is unique and rewarding.

Overall if you want a light-hearted, quirky platformer/puzzler from double-fine, pick this game up. It's not psychonauts, but it's still got tim schafer's charm.

81

Unique

drafek | June 17, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game does look really unique, the details in the game is done really well. The game reminds me of 1946-1960 around those years. The game does have alot of puzzles they're sometimes really hard to solve, but if you think long enough you can solve it. The soundtracks of the game are done really well, It took me a while to get into the game but after some minutes I was into the game and ready to go.

85

Really Good

massi2323 | May 11, 2013 | See all massi2323's reviews »

When I first saw that the game was about russian nesting dolls, I was quite skeptical, however once I began solving puzzles and discovering the unique dolls, I fell in love with the game. It has an amazing sense of humour just from the dolls appearances and their special abilities which are integral to the puzzle solving. The puzzles tend to be a bit on the easy side at times, since it often feels like certain character does a certain thing, which triggers the solution, but since there are multiple solutions finding all of them is the true challenge and will take longer. The graphics are not anything special, but the simple elegance of the world and the dolls is enjoyable. The gameplay is very simple and intuitive, and playing with a controller felt good, but I don't know how the keyboard controls feel. The story and the game's style make you care about the characters from the get go and you feel like you've accomplished something and did good at the end of each level. All in all another fine outing from Double Fine.

86

Good

Jugheads88 | March 24, 2013 | See all Jugheads88's reviews »

The game is really great in a whole bunch of ways. There are many puzzles to be solved, the details are great in the game, and the story was really well planned out. The dolls are really nice and detailed with their own personality.

The game has some really great graphics and soundtracks to fit in the game. The world looks stunningly beautiful, and the sounds are brilliant. This game has a really good story through the puzzles and dolls in the game.'

Overall this was a great game. The graphics, story and audio are amazing, and the game has some really good sense of humor from the dolls.