Reviews for Psychonauts

85

Stand So Original Of its Own

DDEMOLITOR | Nov. 17, 2014 | See all DDEMOLITOR's reviews »

Psychonauts is a 3d platformer with a very familiar control layout playing.Also there are some psychic power to have through the game and some collectibles to collect.But what makes This game unique is definitely its level and character design.Having an adventure in somebodys mind is a clever idea especially if this person has an distinct persona.Games levels are twistedly designed and really shines.Unfortunately game is not a very lengthy game and doesn't have both some type of multiplayer and much replayability and collectibles don't help much.Psychonauts is one of rare platform games avaible for pc.Playing this game with a gamepad is recomended.

85

Insane and Good

Jericho417 | July 31, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

Psychonauts is a kind of psychic platformer. You enter various characters minds and interact with their subconscious. The main character, Raz, is voiced by Richard Horvitz. Once you hear the voice, it'll probably click. The game takes place at a psychic summer camp where you're being trained to use your abilities. Things start to get strange(stranger) when people start acting strange. You're tasked with solving the mystery and saving your fellow campers.It's a Tim Schafer game so expect some great weirdness.

I've played this game through quite a few times. I have to say, my favorite mind is definitely Linda's. Quirky platformer+Tim Schafer+ Zim? That's a yes in my book.

80

In short: gem.

Furrek | June 27, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Let me say at first one thing. I haven't played Psychonauts as kid, I haven't played it when it was out in 2005. I did heard about game, but never cared to check what it is. Well, I think I would have much more fun than nowadays, but this game is still simply gem as platformer. It's really well done, challenging and simply fun. It's one of these games with awesome experience while playing. It's not only platformer, but it's mix called puzzle platformer. And puzzles in this one are not easy. Maybe I did get old, but trust me, some of them will really make your brain hard work. The story is great, characters fun to talk to. If I'm not mistaken, it have some little tutorial at beggining, but after you are on your own. Maybe because of how games are made nowadays, I felt sometimes lost on the map.

If you are looking for good platformer, some game where you could use some thinking, or simply for some great game from old school - get it and play it. It's a game for long time, you won't finish it in one sitting or one night.

90

Simply amazing

Irdanaj | May 24, 2014 | See all Irdanaj's reviews »

This is one of the most charming games that I ever played. Everything about this game is done with an amazing care: the story, the characters (especially the main character), the gameplay. What else can you expect from Tim Schafer, the creator of Monkey Island series. The game mostly plays like a 3D platformer, but also it has some elements from point & click adventure games. Also, this game is heaven for people who like collecting stuff. The story is good enough that it can be made into a Pixar movie. Even do the game is released in 2005, the graphics are still great, same as the music score. The only downside is that it still didn't get a sequel, probably because it didn't have great sales. This is a fantastic game that you should play immediately.

100

Want some crazy? Get this!

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

This game is not only for everyone, but I think that it's a must play for any gamer. You're playing as a kid that can get into other peoples minds in a camp for such kids. However your parents disagree with it and they want to get you out of the camp, therefore you only have so few days to become a psychonaut. The game is a nice mix between the crazy inside other peoples mind and the weird that you find while wandering around the camp. It also has a monetary element - collect coins and spend them for new awesome gadgets. Some of the quests in the game are challenging to complete, some will surprise you and some are just entertaining. Either way it's most definitely worth buying.

65

A great game for kids!

BlockAgent | April 25, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This game is a 3d platformer that reminds me of the days of the Nintendo 64 3d platformers. The gameplay is enjoyable and the game as a whole is well done and creative. As I was playing it I found myself a little embarrased anytime my wife would walk into the room because this game, from the characters to the story to the graphics, is obviously geared towards kids. While playing the game, I felt like I needed to be 8 years old for it not to seem weird or embarrassing that I was playing it. Watch some modern day cartoons on the disney channel to get a preview for how it feels to play this game. Overall a mildly decent game though.

100

perfection

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

this game is nothing if not weird. its a crazy trip into the minds of some of the weirdest people ever imagined... wait, what?

the art style is amazing and works perfectly with the twisted mind melting story that it goes with. the character designs and levels are just so ridiculous, you couldn't even imagine how they were dreamed up in the first place. this all makes sense though seeing as all the levels take place in the minds of the characters that are in them.... uuuugh head hurts... the gameplay is a simple platformer. you collect items, buy upgrades, fight monsters and try and defeat an evil genius boss monster. there's also some ridiculous jokes added in for good measure. don't be fooled though because this is NOT a little kids game. the enemies and puzzles can be very hard, and some of the subject matter that they deal with can be very dark and deranged, but that's really who double fine is when you think about it. Loved this game, and i think everyone at some point should play it. not just for the cultural references, but for the amazing experience that it provides.

86

My psychic powers tell me you'll love this game

sonicchaos | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all sonicchaos's reviews »

What is it about? Our hero is Raz (short for Razputin), a psychic little boy who runs from his carnival life and his strict father to join a camp for psychic children. Within the camp we find an amazing cast of charming little characters and their teachers, but we also find adventure. There's something about Tim Schafer's games that always draw me in, and this game being one of the first that I played from him, I have to say I might be a bit too biased. I just love Taz and I love his friends. The story is interesting, you have the feeling that you move the plot forward, you have total control of what you do in the game and the world is just fantastic. It's simply a beautiful game.

How does it look? It's cartoony to the core. It's like playing through a tv cartoon in which you are the main character of the show. The world is beautiful and complex, yet simple enough to make you feel familiar with every corner very quickly. The single drawback are the cutscenes, which are very different rendered as the in-game engine and they completely remove the immersion from the rest of the game. However, the game looks like it never ages, it still has nice graphics at every resolution and it will probably always remain as timeless as the first day it came out.

How does it sound? The soundtrack shines at every tune, the music might not be as catchy or memorable as other classics, but when you're in the game, everything sounds perfect. From the menacing tone that alerts the incoming of a giant monster to the rhythms of Spanish tango, every level has its own theme. And the voices are just fantastic.

How does it play? Many complained that it's not that original, that it's a action-adventure puzzle platformer that doesn't reinvent the formula and that it's not challenging. I completely disagree with all of the above. The gameplay might not be as original or as challenging as other games, but in its own way it feels natural, it feels like it's supposed to be and there are some instances when challenge becomes frustration, mostly because the camera keeps changing the way it wants. If you want my advice, go for completing all the achievements and you'll get plenty of challenge.

100

Interesting game

silviapuiu | Jan. 25, 2014 | See all silviapuiu's reviews »

The game Psychonauts offers a great experience for all kind of players. The image is impressive, colours lead you to a wonderful world, but what is more amazing is the main character. Achievements are very challenging and some of them are really hard to get. But after you get them, you feel satisfied about the challenge offered by this game. Its great advantages are graphics, story, achievements, colours, voices. It is not a game for kids, it is a game for different ages and sometimes it becomes scary, because you do not know how to solve a puzzle like that. I will give it a 10.

91

Play it!

kwadracik | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all kwadracik's reviews »

Psychonauts is a fantastic game. I will repeat. Psychonauts is a FANTASTIC game. Double Fine made a fantastic, timeless masterpiece. If you haven't played it yet, and you aren't sure, should you buy it, the best recomandation is that Psychonauts fans are still waiting for a sequel. PLAY. IT. NOW.

95

A timeless masterpiece

Neonberry | Dec. 19, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

I played Psychonauts about 4-5 years after its original release and it was clear from the very start that I am facing a timeless classic. The game did manage to merge a strange story with original gameplay within the frames of the classic 3D platformer genre and create something unique. This game is one of those that make a strong argument for videogames being more then "just" games, being the next generation of storytelling. I do not really want to go into details about the story or the gameplay - I didn't know anything about either when I first started to play and I was just amazed so I hope others will get the same experience. But just that I don't leave you empty handed the game is a cartoonish story in every aspect about kids but not at all only for kids.

91

Fun to play

gforcesa | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I don't know how I've never heard of this game before.I only picked it up a few days ago and i cant stop playing it.The humor and the characters are just so amazing and funny and i love it.The pc port is kinda buggy because its a xbox port after all but i found a patch which made it all better.The boss fight are unique and fun to play as well as the levels.One of my favorite levels was the one in which i in some city and i was like a monster and destroyed everything in my path.For a 2005 game it's well worth the money and time to play.

95

A classic of this age

jlazamy | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all jlazamy's reviews »

Psychonauts is probably one of my most favourite games. Every computer I've had, I always had it installed (I've gone through 3 or 4 computers, and it was not always a legitimate copy...). While the PS2 version was good (except for the abominable loading) the computer port is pretty much perfect: graphics are great (all the better to see the zany characters and environments), load times are minute, no bugs at all (that I've encountered). The only downside is that the cutscenes are noticeably grittier/pixelated, but at least for me, it was not a big issue in the slightest.

Getting to the actual game, it's your typical platformer, with puzzles, powers and a pretty solid plot. The puzzles (for the main gameplay) are not too difficult. There are quite a number of collectibles too, and getting these (I'm thinking particularly of the scavenger hunt) can be challenging on the outset. So in this regards, it's fairly easy to pick up and play. The powers are incorporated well, and none feel useless. Even Clairvoyance, having little use in combat, is a source of humour when you know when to use it. And the plot, settings and characters are simply awesome. Each are detailed and unique. The characters are pretty fleshed out - a lot is revealed about each character if you choose to dawdle with them. The humour is sharp and witty. The sights are engaging. It is easy to immerse yourself in this game and to endear yourself to the characters. It is not difficult to see why this game is so popular!

So it's a pretty outstanding game, and it's very reasonably priced. The art is fantastic, plot is engaging, humour is quick. The beginning may throw you off with its pacing, but bear with it. It gets a lot better, crazier and engaging. A fantastic game.

95

Magnificent game

tuptus9 | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all tuptus9's reviews »

I bought Psychonauts after I was amazed by storyline and everything of Brutal Legend, another game by Double Fine. And even though I wasn't so enthusiastic at the beginning, I can tell that it's probably the second best game I played this year (well, I mostly play older games, nevermind), after aforementioned Brutal Legend. The story is just fantastic, there are tons of collectibles (which I really like in every game) and intelligent humor. Even graphics is quite good as for game released in 2005, but it's the least important thing. Oh, and I forgot to mention the voices are just epic (Sheegor voice is masterpiece). Game is almost perfect, then why not 100? Well, the controls are definetely not perfect, I used mouse and keyboard, but still it was sometimes hard to move between menus. I also had some problems with camera, especially in narrower places, like small rooms or caves. Everything else is perfect. Except the fact that after 8 years there's still no Psychonauts 2. I still hope that cash I spent on this game will one day make my dream of Psychonauts 2 come true.

83

Very Entertaining

aznsnsn | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

This game is designed towards younger kids, but it is really rated e for everyone. The storyline is very dynamic and interesting. The combat system is also well developed, with many different techniques to use to get around. The graphics are of a somewhat cartoonish quality but the textures are kind of nice. Sometimes, it can be confusing on what to do to continue on to the next level. There were many funny gags in the storyline that draw quite a few laughs. The controls with a keyboard are smooth and work out very well for those used to it.You should try it out yourself!

81

Good Game

pswan77 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all pswan77's reviews »

Psychonauts was a lot of fun. There are a lot of interesting game mechanics. There's a solid variety of weapons to use. The writing was well done. There is a lot of platforming and that isn't always easy in a 3D game. Still, it's mostly handled well. The graphics look decent for how old it is now. I definitely recommend Psychonauts.

90

A Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste

CrimsonWizard | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Summer time, that season where parents ship off their kids to camp to learn skills and make some friends. At Whispering Rock Psychic Summer Camp however get to learn more than just how to use a bow or pitch a tent. Psychonauts stars Razputin, a boy wishing to learn more about the psychic powers he's started to manifest. The lighthearted camp quickly takes a dark turn however, and Raz finds himself being the only one capable of saving everyone, having to turn from novice to expert psychic in record time.

Thankfully, you're a fast learner with special merit badges and your mentor helping you develop an armory of psychic powers from pyrokinesis to confusion. These abilities will help you progress these the game's many minds you infiltrate and the huge campgrounds. The rest of the game acts as your typical 3D platformer with collectables to find and objectives to complete, but the setting is what really makes the game.

The people at Double Fine did a wonderful job giving each brain you have to psychically storm into have it's own personality while playing with the fact that you are in a brain. Between all the humor and silly situations these minds put Raz into, you can tell they also touch on the dark little secrets a mind can possess, giving some of the characters you deal with a bit more depth and even make a few tragic. The graphical style of the game fits this sort of tone, matching up with something bright and colorful Pixar would be proud of, while simultaneously possessing a bit of a twisted look, hinting towards something more sinister.

Double Fine and their talent have always been good at developing unique worlds, but Psychonauts really shows their potential. Running through someone else's mind has never been so much fun, and the game is superb at being funny, but also pulling at your heartstrings. It's a true classic that deserves your attention.

65

A Bit of a Cult Classic

bwrussell | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

Psychonauts is a game I very much wanted to like but a mix of poor stability, not really it's fault, and a lack of immersion or engagement prevented me from actually finishing it. I know this will upset fans of the game but it just stopped being fun for me.

This is a pretty old game but, in the ways we normally define the term, it has aged well, the writing is still funny and the cartoonish graphics style is obviously older it doesn't suffer from the same issues older "realistically" styled games do. The issue I had with it's age was stability. Instances of saves not saving, stuttering, and mid session crashes (with a particularly aggravating habit of crashing right after a boss encounter before you can save) make the game start to feel like a grind pretty quickly. With a game I really like and enjoy playing this would either be viewed as a mild inconvenience or I would have the motivation to find a solution but with Psychonauts that motivation just wasn't there.

I will say that the writing is quite good for a "kids" game. Think Pixar and the way they take a medium, animation, typically seen as "for kids" and make it accessible and enjoyable for adults. From what I played the the characters are children but they do not behave in the typical way video game children do, whiny and annoying and/or totally helpless.

The platforming is average at best and, while better than first-person platforming, it shows that platforming is at it's best in 2 or 2.5 dimensions. The controls were not what you would describe as tight which does not help the platforming. Even with my mouse turned all the way up the camera still felt too slow.

In the end I wish there was a way to play this game and experience the story with about 50% of the guff in the middle removed. The full price is not too steep but I would probably recommend waiting for a sale or bundle to pick it up due to bugs possibly preventing you from fully experiencing the game. As your experience with this game may be completely different than mine or anyone else's (hence the term cult classic) it's still probably worth a look at the right price.

89

Tim, you did it again!!

abelfs | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

One of these games that did not triumph when it was released, but the years gave it the recognition that it deserved. The legendary Tim Schafer mixes hilarious dialog, wildly bizarre settings, imaginitive gameplay and the voice of Invader Zim to make a truly excellent game. The only issue are controls, I finished the game twice: Once with keyboard and mouse and the other one with my xbox 360 controller. The second experience was much more satisfactory than the first one, so I highly recommend the pad.

75

Very funny game

simodeso | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Even if it is for kids (in my opinion) it is very funny for older boys and girls too. The gameplay is very enjoyable, got stuck a few times so there is a nice difficulty.. Become a Psycho- Marine to discover the amazing story with plot-twist and try to discover every secret (there are a lot). It deserve your money trust me if you like platformers!

96

Awesome game that's kid friendly.

Halt | July 27, 2013 | See all Halt's reviews »

This game is not only fun, but it has an odd vibe to it. It's a rather odd game to begin with and the story is great and filled with a lot of humor.

If you're into action adventure games, you should totally check this game out!

100

Great game

silviapuiu | July 20, 2013 | See all silviapuiu's reviews »

It is a wonderful game for kids. It is very funny and clallenging. Graphics is ok and characters are well built.

62

Kooky but not in a good way

Elethomiel | July 9, 2013 | See all Elethomiel's reviews »

I'll confess I didn't play this all the way through. It was entertaining enough but the tone of the game is aimed at a very specific sense of humour that was not mine. It just became grating and the cutesy-poo graphics didn't help. Some of the gameplay was frustrating as well, punishing you a bit more that I thought was fair for missing jumps etc. and some basic challenges were difficult enough to be frustrating. I don't know if the game designers had made up their mind as to whether this was supposed to be fun or challenging but in the end I found it to hit neither mark sufficiently. Enjoyed it while I was playing it but when I quit I had little to no interest in loading it up again.

80

Great adventure, amazing art, wonky controls

Maghook | July 4, 2013 | See all Maghook's reviews »

It's obvious that the majority of the developer's budget went towards art and level design rather than gameplay. I'm cool with that, because the buttons still work at least... but the controls border on horrible and the gameplay is a bit tedious. It's your typical 3D platformer, similar to the Banjo-Kazooie era of platforming. Still, Psychonauts is a splendid game and deserves your money, if only to influence a sequel. Oh, do yourself a favour and use a controller.

82

Funny Platformer

mor0se | July 4, 2013 | See all mor0se's reviews »

Great platformer with many humerous varieties. Although its quite old, i still found myself playing. For the price it has been, it simply cannot be beat.

100

Amazing game with fun humor

thegaminglyfe | June 8, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Psychonauts is an amazing, creative game. You won't play many games like this. The art style is creative and nice to look at when you're playing. The game is funny with lots of jokes and silly things like a dentist removing people's brains. You learn lots of psychic powers that are fun to use in combat. There are various puzzles that will make you think of what to do next just because you don't want to fail again. Highly recommended to platformer fans.

84

Great Platformer

sittinghawk10 | June 7, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

An older title, but a great one nonetheless. The story is very fun and the characters are well written. The different psychic abilities you acquire are all pretty fun to use. Graphics are still ok looking given the art style. Highly recommended.

88

It gets high scores...and is still underrated

TCass29 | June 7, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

The main gameplay mechanic in Psychonauts is very interesting and superbly executed. It's a game with clever writing, a good story, and even better level design.

The protagonist is a young boy with psychic powers who goes to a psychic summer camp to hone his abilities. When things at the camp start to go haywire, he has to enter the minds of his friends, acquaintances, and strangers to figure out what's going on.

When I first played this game, there were some major graphical issues and audio bugs (for Mac), but they've since updated the game to fix that. It works well with a controller (which I recommend...I prefer controllers for 3rd person games).

It's really fun. Every good thing you've heard about this game was probably not exaggerated. Buy this game and thank yourself later.

92

From the Mind of Tim Schafer Comes a Psychic Adventure

AkaRai | May 27, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

Psychonauts didn't sell as well as it perhaps should have when it first came out, but it was a huge hit with critics and developed a loyal cult following among those who played it. It's PC release only increased it's popularity as more people got a chance to play it.

Psychonauts puts you in the role of Raz, a little boy who ran away from the circus to be go to a camp for psychics. Besides the camp which acts as a hub, each of the levels takes place within another character's mind, resulting in a wildly unique experience in each level. Generally, you have to face the character's demons and sort out their mental problems in order to succeed in your quest, and along the way you unlock numerous psychic abilities to fight his various enemies -both inside and out of people's minds- including pyrokinesis, levitation, telekinesis, invisibility, confusion, and a few others.

Psychonauts boasts a cast of strange and interesting characters, and one of the game's strongest points is it's sense of humor. It has a satisfying narrative which is simultaneously light-hearted and dark in that the game never takes itself too seriously, but many of the characters have downright depressing stories locked away inside them, which only makes solving their problems all the more satisfying.

If you enjoy 3D action adventure games with a ton of originality and a good sense of humor, you can't go wrong with Psychonauts.

95

Most Interesting Platformer Story Ever

bot2345 | May 5, 2013 | See all bot2345's reviews »

Psychonauts is a fascinating game with a pretty crazly awesome art design pulling you in to all of it's aspects, from an amazing story to it's awesome gameplay. You play as Raz, a boy who wants to become a psychonaut, a sort-off government secret agent who has major psychic powers who helps the world. You run away from home to join a secret summer camp to learn everything, but things aren't as they seem. Other then the amazing story, in 2011, there was a major update to the game to fix many bugs, graphical issues, higher resolution textures, and tweaked a few things to make the game better. I'd also recommend a gamepad if you have one, because some levels are pretty hard without one. It is a must play for anyone who loves an awesome story and gameplay.

90

One of the best 3D platforming game

Xibalba | March 17, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

This 3D platforming game is superb from its creative and colorful levels to its complex and conflicted characters, as the boy Raz, you learn eight different psychic abilities for combat and exploration that range from floating around to burning things. Very original and fun game. I know some complained about the controls, but I used a standard keyboard+mouse setup and it played great. The design came off with a nice balance between weird and realism, and has a maturity to it that most games I've played