Reviews for Evil Genius

100

My name is.....Blofeld...

JaviDoubleOh7 | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all JaviDoubleOh7's reviews »

Did you ever want to destroy the world with a push of a button? Then look no further!! This game is the perfect strategy game for all you evil geniuses out there. You get to pick from three kickass villains who want to destroy the local "007" and control the world for themselves. You get to plan ways to take over the world by building your base, however you want it, setting traps for unsuspecting 00 agents, hiring new mercenaries to complete your evil deeds world wide, and by pushing a button to see your rival fall down to their doom.

84

Fluffy white cat not included

taigatsu | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

Let your inner mastermind reign supreme in Evil Genius, a fun filled romp through a tongue-in-chic swinging 60s spy pastiche. The core gameplay revolves around building your secret volcano lair and managing your corps of henchmen and nameless minions, balancing their everyday needs with your goals of research, covert criminal operations and eventually, world domination. It's great fun, and the Austin Powers meets Dungeon Keeper comparisons are apt, and deserved.

Something that sets Evil Genius apart is the aesthetic. It operates in an exaggerated art style where everything is a caricature of 1960s tropes. You'll build absurd traps and torture devices, including an oversized blender or a slowly moving laser beam, and your subordinates walk about in brightly colored jumpsuits, hunched over banks of consoles. It's bright and cartoony, and doesn't take itself very seriously. Thumbs up for this one for sure!

90

Be the villain you always wanted

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

If you are also one of those people who have been waiting patiently for some new game like Dungeon Keeper to come out Evil Genius is yours. You might not control a dungeon of imps and demons but henchmen and ... more advanced henchmen but the basic idea is the same. The game has a lot of content and a lot of depth with lots of different minions to develop and rooms to build in your underground lair of your secret island. The game has a great sense of humour based on the more ridiculous episodes of James Bond and will keep you busy for hours while you carefully plan how to terrorize some money out of the world. The game is great for all strategy/simulation fans and anyone with some sense of humour. And it is an absolute must if you are plotting and scheming your world domination.

86

The title of the game says it all

drakso | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

Evil Genius. A strategy game that simulates just that. You pick an evil genius out of the 3 available witch all have different traits and heroes that fight by their side and you start a game on an island with a huge volcanic mountain in the middle. Your goal is to build a secret base in the mountain, gather armies and minions and eventually rule the world. Even tho its an old game, the cartoony graphic style makes the graphics and animation still very good. There is a lot of funny moments in the game and the minions are certainly not the smartest bunch and that's what makes the experience even funnier. There are also agents from governments around the world that will try to uncover your plan, so you must take care of them by setting traps, training soldiers or simply making your base as hidden as possible. The game is one of my best strategy experience, and I recommend it to anyone that wants to play strategy games and also wants to have a few laughs in the process.

85

Instant Classic

Dancer087 | Nov. 10, 2013 | See all Dancer087's reviews »

Evil Genius is the epitome of a brilliant game that never quite received the recognition it deserved. If you're a fan of the Dungeon Keeper series and you're a fan of camp 70's spy fiction, you will love this.

It can be rough around the edges at times and the AI can sometimes be frustrating (with your minions setting off your own traps) but the pros greatly outway the cons. You can just feel the passion and care put into this game, It's one of my favourites and I think it always will be.

100

Super Agents Got Nothing on Me!

FennixSilvertai | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all FennixSilvertai's reviews »

If you purchase this game you need to modify a file that allows you to have more than the default number of minions at 100. It was almost impossible at such a low number. Once I changed it to 200 I actually was able to get everything done that I needed in a reasonable time.

Most creative ways to defeat super agents I have ever seen, also nothing is funnier than watching all your stuff burn up because you decided to use a Russian who has a bazooka and explosives as his only weapons to guard your base. Given it's frustrating but it's absolutely hilarious.

Graphics: 4/10 Probably the least interesting part of the game, it has not aged well but that's okay. The rest of the game pretty much makes up for any flaws that you might be feeling for this. Music 5/10: A bit repetitive and boring, but this is only because Evil Genius is a game you will spend hours on. Honestly just throw on your own soundtrack and you will be good. Gameplay: 10/10 Absolutely fantastic in fact I could rant about it for hours on how much fun it is. There are a few querks in the game but all of them have a workaround and it really isn't as bad as you want to think it is.

76

Bugs, bugs everywhere, but still....

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all bala1201's reviews »

Well, for me this game is a little bit one of a kind. I mean there are not many games where you are not Batman or any other superhero, but the evil villain. A little bit of Dungeon Keeper idea, but a far better gameplay. If you can get used to the graphic cluthes, stucking minions and occasional crashes.

100

A really great game!

Jerkka | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all Jerkka's reviews »

I bought this game when I was young, and I loved it! I traded it back for some reason, but I just had to buy it again few years later! It's pretty nostalgic to me playing this.

Seriously one of the best games I've played.

80

Evil mastermind simulator? Right here.

PaulLFC | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all PaulLFC's reviews »

If you've ever wanted a game centered around being an evil genius, then as you might have guessed from the title, this should be the game for you. Should be, because nobody knows how good a game is before they play it. The idea intrigued me, so I bought it, and it is fantastic. Bear in mind this was when it originally came out, years ago, so given it's aged I probably have a more rose-tinted view than others, but if you like the premise, go for it. It's good... very good.

95

Loved it

Mathop | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Mathop's reviews »

Who wanna be good when you can be an Evil 70's movie Genius? Spiritual successor for Dungeon Keepers 2, what else can i say? Your goal is to create the perfect Liar, with all the traps and minions that you will see on a James Bond movie, cuz if you don't the secret agents that invade your base, are gonna steal all you're Evil Plans, we can't have that happening. Still not convinced? Try the game, and you sure will love it, trust me. But on a side note, save often... One never knows what evil things can happen if the game crashes

96

Outstanding!

kowen | July 5, 2013 | See all kowen's reviews »

I bought this game at GreenMan Gaming, and I love it! This classic combines aspects of games such as Theme Park and Dungeon Keeper.

Some bugs are really annoying, such as your minions get stuck, but otherwise is a fantastic game.

Prepare to Become an evil genius and conquer the world with this fantastic simulator.

90

Be an evil mastermind!

Deses | July 4, 2013 | See all Deses's reviews »

You are going to spend tons of hours building the perfect hideout and trying to become the best (worst) criminal mind.

There are loads of bugs, tho, and you will want to patch the game manually because the Steam version isn't up to date.

90

A Classic Game with No Substitute

Auburok | July 3, 2013 | See all Auburok's reviews »

Evil Genius is one of those games that, for whatever reason, stands alone. While it definitely takes inspiration from Dungeon Keeper, The Sims, James Bond and Austin Powers, there is a lot more focus on being a villain, gloating over your captives, sending henchmen to take care of infiltrating agents and launching a doomsday device.

It's a must play if you've every wanted to play a Bond villain, or just like games where you are the villain (Overlord, etc).

80

Good game but has a few bugs

malagchonga | July 3, 2013 | See all malagchonga's reviews »

Evil Genius is one of my favorite games, what is better then be the evil? Yes when you are the evil mastermind. This game makes alot of fun but then again it has his problems, Minions who activate your traps and get killed, minions opening doors so the enemy agents can get inside. One of the hardest bug they never fixed is the money bug, when you have over 20 million Dollar and change the base you will loose everything. This game is funny and addicting but becarefull when the bugs come, it can get easily frustrating.

80

Funny and engaging

Koronak | June 1, 2013 | See all Koronak's reviews »

The humor is more than a little slapstick, generally. But for those looking to finally be on the side of evil, building their empire? I don't think anything out there quite scratches the itch. Highly recommended.

91

Absolute Classic

Gregos | June 1, 2013 | See all Gregos's reviews »

This is a fantastic game and deserves the score I have given it. It can be very challenging and has a gameplay style that is similar to dungeon keeper but with a pinch of austin powers. It contains some fantastic humor with in it and you will enjoy finding different ways to torture the agents of good.

the premise you might have guess from the title you are an evil genius choose from 3 different head honchos and go about your world domination schemes.

The only reason this doesn't get a 100 score is simple there are some bugs, nothing major and stuff that if you know about it you can avoid. To save you the trouble of ruining 6 hours of game play I advise you scan the web for the bugs some involve not moving a specific object after placed and another about having too much money when moving base. As far as I am aware these are the only bugs that effect the game.

100

One of my childhood game.

dragonboy9x | June 1, 2013 | See all dragonboy9x's reviews »

If you have played this game, then your childhood must be awsome. I used to play it when i was a child. It's very fantastic and fun, especially when you can rule your own base.

100

Evil Mastermind Simulation!!!!

893kira | May 31, 2013 | See all 893kira's reviews »

Evil! Evil Simulation! Basically in this game you create your super secret private theme park aka evil lair with booby traps that could put viet kong to shame and build some facade paris hilton hotel or las vegas casino that could make those pesky tourist, CIA, KGB, commando and etc to idiots. Having build an impregnable base you start making heist like stealing some gold reserve, kidnapping some famous people to teach your brainless minion to 1st class playboy or commando and some valuable artifact to finance your doomsday machine for word domination.

Graphics: It's mediocre to this year because this game publish on 2004!

Gameplay: 3 Avatar evil genius to choose Tropico gameplay minion system like workers, waiter, soldier and etc Different Henchman to chose 3 doooomsday machine that could leading to 3 different ending

Pros: Entertaining Music (ahem evil music) Entertaining creative traps like bear traps, Nicholas cage bees, piranha w/ laser (just joking there are no laser piranha in the game) and many more black humor gameplay like killing disloyal minion in front of your minion to boost working activity and torturing some poor tourist or agents in a book shelves and even better collecting some corpse to make brainless hulk zombie to create a deadly patrols or make them a hamster to operate your creative traps. entertaining missions and villains aka heroes (super agents that could destroy your base)

Cons: 2 Campaign stories, 2 islands, limited customization and annoying ai leading to micromanagement.

100

Dungeon Keeper (the original) meets Austin Powers!

lordvonfleck | April 29, 2013 | See all lordvonfleck's reviews »

Dungeon Keeper (the original) meets Austin Powers! Truly an amazing game on so many levels (no pun intended). Ever wanted to be Dr Evil? Now you can, even look like him, his base... now just need to get Sharks with Fricking lasers on their heads! I recommend to all players wanting some truly "great" dungeon keeper action in a new setting, or just want to be an evil genius...

60

Wasnt the Greatest, Even in its Day

ROKET | April 27, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I played this game a long time ago - back when all I cared for was OWNING games and even then I didnt like it.

Gameplay:

The gameplay was very clunky. From positioning rooms to the UI you got a game that made no effort to help the user. It also didnt help that the premise for the game was terrible and gameplay didnt vary much between characters.

Presentation:

The game was...err...ugly. To say the least. It was nice to have in 3D and sure textures were glossy but the animations and overall look of the game was very bland and not very pleasant to look at.

Conclusion:

If you want to waste money, buy the game. If you want a good dungeonesque builder game, look elsewhere.

41

Just like some good chips

Luckmuche | April 26, 2013 | See all Luckmuche's reviews »

It's a very natural game that, as it say, on the summary, reminds me of Austin Powers and especially Dungeon Keeper with this special "air-camera", it's not a GOTY game of course, but the funny aspect is present...for three or four hours !