Reviews for Tropico 4: Collectors Bundle

90

Become "El Presidente" of this cuban-ish town.

MafuMafu | July 31, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

Be the ultimate dictator with this awesome and outstanding game. Now I want to take over my neighbor's garden and start my own government. Let's see: - You can be the dictator of this Cuba-like universe. - You can manage everything the way you want. - You can do whatever you want. - You can build your dream city. - Again, you can be a dictator. Who wouldn't want it? This is not the base game. This is the base game, plus almost all the DLC's. Fun guaranteed for a long, long time.

75

Good City Builder

mrkhill | Feb. 19, 2014 | See all mrkhill's reviews »

I bought this game right after Sims City came out and had disappointing reviews. Many said that this was a better game if you want to have fun and they were right. While not a must buy it is very amusing to play for the first 20 hours. You run around your own island as a dictator controlling every aspect of the city. Simple to play yet a lot of fun. There are many different island types and terrains but the type of different buildings is a tad low. The simplicity comes at a price though, after playing a certain amount of time it starts to become repetitious. While not as long lasting as I hoped it is worth the money, especially at only 10 dollars. You Will not regret this purchase.

86

Continuing To Build On Success!

RedPhenx2000 | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all RedPhenx2000's reviews »

Each iteration of Tropico gets better and better, with more features and more fun packed in. The base game of Tropico 4 provides hours of enjoyment and several scenarios to keep you entertained.

Tropico 4, once again, has you lead a small island nation, while trying to curry favor with your larger neighbors while still maintaining your own course. The game adds on several new features and graphical upgrades from 3.

The collectors bundle adds a must-have DLC and some simple building upgrades and uniform upgrades.

Modern Times is must own, and updates the game with many new features, including (what else?) but the ability to continue your island into the current era. The other DLC (plus the DLC that isn't included in this bundle) isn't really necessary, especially since the scenarios and DLC aren't integrated into the campaign. However, for the same price as base game, you might as well get all of the additional costumes for El Presidente, that help set this game apart from other city-builders out there.

96

GOOD MORNING TROPICO

Narsuaq | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all Narsuaq's reviews »

Have you ever dreamt of being an all powerful dictator? Have you ever wanted to live on a paradise island? I ask you, have you ever thought both would be possible at once? Well, I believe Tropico 4 may fulfill your dreams... (virtually of course). It's certainly one of those games which keeps you playing over and over again until your hands are bloody stumps. Don't worry though, as El Presidente, you can simply get new ones...

100

Just GET IT.

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

The moment i saw that this was out as a bundle, i immediately got it. Firstly. It is one of those strategy games that puts you in absolute control right down from the building blocks of the city to the mechanics behind it. (YOU GET TO BE A DICTATOR) i know, this might seem cheesy but honestly, there are not many games out there that lets you run the world. That is, the in-game world though. By far, this game incorporates all the aspects of a excellent strategy-cum building game. One of my all time favourites. And what has been done here would be to bundle the DLCs togther, so that you get the complete experience (I noticed that the Propaganda expansion DLCs is missing though) GET IT. AWESOME GAME 10/10

100

AWESOME GAME. 10/10

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

The moment i saw that this was out as a bundle, i immediately got it. Firstly. It is one of those strategy games that puts you in absolute control right down from the building blocks of the city to the mechanics behind it. (YOU GET TO BE A DICTATOR) i know, this might seem cheesy but honestly, there are not many games out there that lets you run the world. That is, the in-game world though. By far, this game incorporates all the aspects of a excellent strategy-cum building game. One of my all time favourites. And what has been done here would be to bundle the DLCs togther, so that you get the complete experience (I noticed that the Propaganda expansion DLCs is missing though) GET IT. AWESOME GAME 10/10

89

Great fun

centurionMZ | July 24, 2013 | See all centurionMZ's reviews »

Having not played or heard any Tropico games I came across tropico 4 and got interested. The gameplay has been great and i find the music to outstanding as well. It is a very fun city building game and i definitely recommend anyone who loves sandbox city builder games or just anyone who is seeking to try it out.

90

Like Tropico 3, but better.

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

For the most part, this game plays like Tropico 3. However, this game manages to expand on that and add in new features to keep the game fresh and interesting. With the new request system that allow you to earn extra cash or other rewards, to the new buildings that help the citizens of the game, as well as the humor in the radio broadcasts, and being able to rule over the masses, if you have not played a Tropico game before, I would recommend you getting this one.

89

Rule your island as a dict- I mean El Presidente.

Mykylo | July 7, 2013 | See all Mykylo's reviews »

Tropico 4 is a city building game where you take an island with nothing on it and turn it into a thriving community. It is similar to SimCity, so if you like those type of games, Tropico 4 is absolutely worth it.

The game has a few different modes, but the two main ones are Campaign and Sandbox. In the Campaign, you are given a set of goals you have to complete in order to continue to the next island and the next part of the story. The campaign also teaches you how to do some of the things not shown in the tutorial. In the Sandbox mode, you are free to build your island however you want. You can choose to make your island thrive from tourist attractions, having farms as your main source of income, having mines for your main income, etc. You can choose to be either the lovable and caring dictator or you can become a feared, tyrannical dictator.

In the sandbox and campaign, there are 8 different faction groups you need to keep happy. Sometimes an action you take will make one faction like you better while it makes another like you less. If you don't help any faction, the factions will become restless and cause many protests. Some may invade your island with their military.

My only problem with it was that sometimes it gets a little repetitive if city building isn't your favorite thing. If it is your favorite thing, you would absolutely love Tropico 4.

90

A Great Addition to a Great Series, Now in One Package

xaeteor | July 5, 2013 | See all xaeteor's reviews »

To put all the cards on the table, I'm a long time Tropico fan. With that bias out in the open I will say that Tropico 4 is a fantastic game. Part city builder, part political simulator, and all done with a healthy dose of humour.

With many alterable settings, players of every skill level can create their preferred island. From a large, fertile island paradise to a rocky, salt sprayed hellscape of which there is no escape, the choice is yours. For those wanting a little more direction, the campaign and pre-designed missions off a focused challenge (such as changing from a farming to an industrial economy, or creating a tourist paradise).

Returning fans will find many similarities to '3', but with all the included DLC (I'm looking mostly at you, Modern Times) this will be the most complete experience the series has yet offered.

And as not to drag this on, I will leave it there.

Viva El Presidente! Play on!

86

Sandbox fun

Peterlwd | July 5, 2013 | See all Peterlwd's reviews »

Easy to get into, harder to master.

Tropico 4 is both a great game as a 'sim' as it is a sandbox city builder. Plenty of buildings to choose from and the mechanics regarding politics and economy all work nice; but don't worry if this doesn't really appeal to you, you can still have your moneys worth of fun from building around without micromanaging. Curved roads and a handful different islands to build on give the game enough variety.

95

El presidenteeeeeeee

randyoup | May 20, 2013 | See all randyoup's reviews »

Do you like being rude to people? Well in tropico 4 you can do almost anything, from building a water park, to building a nuclear power plant. The graphics have been updated from tropico 4 as well as the gameplay. The collectors bundle really pushes the game further with new buildings and extra missions!

90

Newcomers to the series will find much to enjoy

cy25 | May 18, 2013 | See all cy25's reviews »

Tropico was never the deepest strategy game around, but it was one of the most fun, and the humour returns as strong as ever. Radio broadcasts poke fun at your decisions while cruel caricatures pop up with their requests for specific buildings, more exports or just a sackful of cash. These requests now appear as floating exclamation mark icons that can be clicked, then accepted or dismissed as you see fit. You can go out of your way to placate every faction, balancing out your capitalist excess with concessions to the environmentalists and placating the intellectuals while pandering to the religious, but the game is always happy to plunge your ratings for murky reasons, forcing you to spin more plates ever faster.

95

Awesome fun for someone who likes a good city management game

WildStrikerz | May 5, 2013 | See all WildStrikerz's reviews »

If you played SimCity before you're familiar to the genre and its definitely top of its class (minus its drm always online fiasco but thats another story heh..)

Tropico 4 is a pretty awesome city management game that eases you in with a great detailed tutorial with fun challenges addicting in game music and a lot of voice acting for missions and characters which is a nice touch. There is however one problem I've had with this game that made it very frustrating and it was not being able to place buildings and farms on certain terrain even when it doesn't look that bad... I can see maybe they don't want you building a house or other structures on the side of a mountain but a gentle rising hill? come on :/ I see them all over the place in the real world!

93

Never fear Presidente is here!

MrGrizzly | May 2, 2013 | See all MrGrizzly's reviews »

Tropico 4 may seem like your typical city simulator where the only catch is you're on a tropical island during the Cold War, but that is a small slice of the pie that is Tropico 4. Tropico throws you on an island and gives you the reigns as Its Lovable/Tyrannical dictator (The choice is yours) and you get your Island's economy off the ground and flourishing (hopefully!)

The game offers you a large and fun campaign that will teach you all of the games mechanics and features whether it be setting up a simple farming community or an expansive tourist attraction. You'll have to deal with various hardships like crime, military coups, rebel threats etc etc. You will meet all sorts or creative characters which represent each of the eight factions. During your time in Tropico you will have to work to appease all of them as upsetting and neglecting factions will lead to setbacks that will make your Caribbean Crusade all the more difficult.

The only issue I have with Tropico is that The Modern Times DLC (as great as it is!) makes the game a lot easier by giving you mass quantities of resources and therefore mass quantities of cash.

This game is a definite buy if you love city builders and hilarious character banter.

93

With DLC it finally feels complete

MikeJeffs | April 27, 2013 | See all MikeJeffs's reviews »

This game is worth it for the music alone. With the added DLC in addition to the base game this bundle will provide anyone with countless hours of fun. Whilst it is similar in part to previous tropico 3 the DLC helps to reduce this problem with a LOT of new content that the base game does honestly feel is missing without.

Brilliant game.

95

Simcity: Cuba!

habsvision | April 5, 2013 | See all habsvision's reviews »

Okay, they never actually make any reference to Cuba, but everything indicates that this is where this game takes place. I had never played a Tropico game before this one, but I was very impressed with the depth of this installment. You'll never find that there's never a shortage of interesting and fun things to do.

This game is a must have for lovers of the genre. Everything about it puts a smile on my face, and I can't say enough good things about it. Buy it! Now!

92

Channel your inner dictator and build your island paradise

DaiMonPaul | April 3, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

Tropico 4 is, at its core, a city and citizen simulator. You play as El Presidente during the Cold War, and you build up your Caribbean island with plantations, casinos, and army barracks while maintaining relations with outside superpowers and a balance between the various factions of your citizens. Essentially, the game is SimCity with some citizen management, set in a Latin American dictatorship (with you as the dictator). And just like in the older SimCity games, Tropico 4 is an awesome sandbox that offers countless hours of entertainment.

Tropico 4 is many things, and the most important of them is fun. The game offers a substantial campaign with a detailed tutorial. It's easy to learn how to play, and the game isn't too difficult. If you want a serious challenge, then Tropico 4 probably isn't what you're looking for, but if you want a fun diversion into building your own Latin American paradise (and stuffing your off-shore bank account), then Tropico 4 is the game for you!

This collection contains the base game and all of the DLC released for it. Most of the DLC adds a few buildings and other minor things, but the real gem here is the Modern Times DLC. This is a semi-expansion to the base game, adding a lot of new content (new buildings, edicts, and upgrades), including a campaign set in the current day. It adds a ton of replayability to the base game, and it also alleviates one of the main criticisms of Tropico 4, which is its similarity to Tropico 3. The base game feels like the developers took Tropico 3 (also an awesome game), tweaked it a bit, slapped a fresh coat of paint on it, and then released it as a full-priced sequel. If you already owned Tropico 3, the value wasn't really there for the price. With all of the DLC included, though, Tropico 4 finally feels like its own unique game.