Reviews for Cities in Motion 2

93

A solid city transportation simulator

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a unique city transportation simulator, and is a direct sequel to Cities in Motion. Instead of building the city itself, Cities in Motion focuses on optimising the city commute using buses, trams, trolleys, trains and water buses, and controlling the flow of traffic by using stations.

I am a big fan of simulations and surprisingly enjoyed the first Cities in Motion, which is why I really looked forward to playing Cities in Motion 2 when it came out. I actually pre-ordered this game. However, memory leaks limit playtime to only 15 minutes for me back then. Until recently, when I upgraded my RAM and file system, it has been basically unplayable. So the first thing I'll say about the sequel is it is quite demanding on your PC and memory compared to the original.

Cities in Motion 2 adds the ability to create roads yourself, thus expanding the city to your own liking, as well as providing a fully sandbox public transportation simulation. It also adds a timetables feature, which create an additional layer of control so that theoretically, you will never have overcrowded stations. Despite this, however, the addition of depots which requires vehicles to get back to the depot after every run actually limits the continuity of lines, which in turn makes players overly rely on simply increasing the intervals of running vehicles. This also means that you will always have vehicles stuck in the depots even if the stations are indeed overcrowded. This design flaw makes the game feel more hectic than it should be.

The game itself has a very relaxing feel to it. It captures the essence of the gameplay of the first Cities in Motion and expands upon it thanks to your ability to bend the city to your needs. The slow pace of the game makes it feel extremely realistic as even on the fastest setting, one game day will equate to about 18 minutes in real time. This is a good thing, as it gives you more control over the day-to-day micromanagement of your transportation system.

The game also integrates Steam Workshop so you can share custom cities, scenarios, rulesets and more with other users, or play other people's creations. This extends the life of the game dramatically. It also includes co-op and multiplayer modes so you can build or compete together with friends.

Overall, it's a very deserving sequel to Cities In Motion, despite the two having huge fundamental differences with each other. I can see myself losing a lot of time to playing either games, the second one especially. You can play it how you want to play it, having as much control as you want to apply, though you can also set it and forget it, and the game will remain forgiving as long as you don't shoot yourself in the foot. It provides more challenges and flexibility than the original Cities in Motion, without making much tradeoff aside from the performance needs.

Like the original, perhaps the most limiting factor about the game is the concept itself. Like Euro Truck Simulator, it is hard not to mock the concept at first hearing about it. But if you're even the slightest bit interested in a good simulation game, I would highly recommend it.

20

Nothing special in this genre.

Furrek | June 21, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I remember when any kind of simulation and tycoon games used to were very good. Sadly this era ended, and now we have only pack of decent games. Cities in Motion 2 is one of these decent games. What it is? It's a game where you manage a transport network. What's fun about it? The most is map editor - you can build your own city in this game. You can also play with your friends. What's not fun about this game? Multiplayer option is terrible. You will spent more time having troubles with sync than playing. Gameplay could be a bit more interesing. I mean, building your own transport network is fun and all, but this game could be much more expanded, having more options and things to do while you are earning your money. If you are really looking for good simulation/tycoon games, try something older. Buying this game is kind of waste of money. There are also tons of not so cheap DLCs, that gives you almost nothing.

10

Not worth it

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

When I got the second one, I was expecting something along the lines of the first one - moderate game speed, difficult levels that are fast, lots of transport simulation. Good points: the transport simulation is still there. The levels are still nice and it still includes lots of thought. Really in that regard it is as good as the previous one. What killed it for me: the very slow gain of money. With the game fast forwarding after you have set your transport systems in motion you will be siting there for hours just waiting for the money to pile in. And it's not like you can leave the game running trough the night - oh no, you have to readjust the prices constantly!

tldr: if this game has "skip a week" feature it would be a very solid game! However as it is right now I can't recommend it, because you'll spend too much time just sitting there readjsting prices once in a while and you'll spend very little time actually setting up and building your transport systems, which is (in my opinion) the fun part of the game.

92

Worth your money!!

ShadowsVoid | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all ShadowsVoid's reviews »

This game is the best. You can control all masses of transport within the game. It has multiplayer to allow you to play with your friends. The different choices you make for your city also change the way your city develops.There is now a day and night cycle which helps to simulate traffic and human transit during the different times. This is a big step-up from the original!!!

76

Better than previous

lok0812 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a much better game compared to its predecessor in terms of both visual and the feel of realistically. One thing triumph all of the aspect is its dynamic cities, the time and the economy. Similar to the first one, Cities in Motion is not your Simcity game, you are just instructed to build a transportation system for the city. The main thing that attracts players is definitely the sense of accomplishments that it gives since it requires you to micro mange a lot of aspect in the city. The game does have its flaw and the main one is its UI system which can be hard to learn if you are not used to the series. Regardless, this is a great transportation sim games for people who loves micro managing.

90

Great Transportation Strategy Game

draanor | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all draanor's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a great alternative to Sim City and Tropico. While you don't really build any buildings, you are the tycoon behind how the people get to point A to point B. There's a large selection of mods of transportation you can provide and you can spend hours tweaking your network to maximize people's happiness and your revenue. If you love strategy games like Sim City I highly recommend this game.

99

A good but not perfect sequel

AlexCorvin | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all AlexCorvin's reviews »

This game does bring a lot of improvements and features that were requested in CIM 1. I love the new graphics, I adore the new vehicles however it does have some bugs, the pedestrians have a weird way of commuting and the initial release could have used some more vehicles as opposed to having more of them sold separately in DLCs.

Bottom line: if you loved the previous release you will surely love this one if you can overlook some bugs that will be squashed anytime soon, and the separately sold vehicles packs.

89

Good in her category

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

This game is, by leaps and bounds, the best city simulation game to come out in a while. Great AI pathing, impressive graphics, persistent sims, so many choices for transit it boggles the mind, and I could go on. The initial learning curve is hard to get over, but it's well worth it. The tutorial wasn't done very well and doesn't really teach you how to jump head first into the first scenario. I recommend watching at least 1 youtube video on metros and reading up on reddit or another social media site to get past the curve. Be prepared to dream about placing bus stops, trolley lines, and underground metros after the initial 10 hours or so of gameplay. Collapse

98

Multiplayer makes this game amazing

Snook | July 29, 2013 | See all Snook's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a great sequel to the first one, these developers seriously know how to listen to the community and implement what the people want. Multiplayer was probably the number one reason why I decided to upgrade and it was definitely worth it. Multiplayer is now not only a social event, but also educational! When I play with my cities in motion buddy we share tips and tricks all the way from how to build a profitable integrated transit system on the macro side to what type of transit type and vehicle should be used on a line on the micro side. If you’re good at building lines like myself and have a friend who is good at managing them and prices then you can combine your skills to make a better transit system than you could on your own in single player. It is a definite buy for any business or transit sim enthusiast.

95

Multiplayer makes this game amazing

Snook | July 29, 2013 | See all Snook's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a great sequel to the first one, these developers seriously know how to listen to the community and implement what the people want. Multiplayer was probably the number one reason why I decided to upgrade and it was definitely worth it. Multiplayer is now not only a social event, but also educational! When I play with my cities in motion buddy we share tips and tricks all the way from how to build a profitable integrated transit system on the macro side to what type of transit type and vehicle should be used on a line on the micro side. If you’re good at building lines like myself and have a friend who is good at managing them and prices then you can combine your skills to make a better transit system than you could on your own in single player. It is a definite buy for any business or transit sim enthusiast.

93

A worthy sequel

awestover89 | July 6, 2013 | See all awestover89's reviews »

The original Cities in Motion was a surprising gem for me, and I was a little nervous with the sequel, but CiM:2 has done nothing but enhance the city building experience with better graphics and more realistic city traffic.

There is still room for improvements, especially when building your own maps, but the campaigns are both challenging and unique. One of the most interesting aspects is that the campaign scenarios will occasionally revisit old areas and the transportation networks that you made will still be there, exactly as you left them.

I do miss the actual real world cities from the original game, but am really enjoying building my own cities using community mods and tools.

90

Incredible

Drakoid | June 25, 2013 | See all Drakoid's reviews »

This game is simply amazing. There is now a day and night cycle which helps to simulate traffic and human transit during the different times. It has multiplayer to allow you to play with your friends. The different choices you make for your city also change the way your city develops.

90

What game am I playing, again?

TimothyD | May 30, 2013 | See all TimothyD's reviews »

The original Cities in Motion was great on it's own standard, and this revamped new sequel simply builds on what was already great to create something new and even better. The cities now change on their own, building themselves around your transportation networks, reminiscent of Locomotion or A-Train. Night and day cycle through, effecting the amount of people moving around the city at a given time. The game has also added in great multiplayer features, along with an interesting new campaign while still handling the old beloved sandbox mode. This game is significantly easier, giving new users a better walk up the learning curve than the first game. With the new graphics and night/day timetable system, the cities feel genuinely alive and gives you all-the-more of a reason to build up the transportation networks. The new systems for building and managing are thorough and intuitive without being too overwhelming.