Reviews for Cities in Motion 2

92

Worth your money!!

ShadowsVoid | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all ShadowsVoid's reviews »

This game is the best. You can control all masses of transport within the game. It has multiplayer to allow you to play with your friends. The different choices you make for your city also change the way your city develops.There is now a day and night cycle which helps to simulate traffic and human transit during the different times. This is a big step-up from the original!!!

76

Better than previous

lok0812 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a much better game compared to its predecessor in terms of both visual and the feel of realistically. One thing triumph all of the aspect is its dynamic cities, the time and the economy. Similar to the first one, Cities in Motion is not your Simcity game, you are just instructed to build a transportation system for the city. The main thing that attracts players is definitely the sense of accomplishments that it gives since it requires you to micro mange a lot of aspect in the city. The game does have its flaw and the main one is its UI system which can be hard to learn if you are not used to the series. Regardless, this is a great transportation sim games for people who loves micro managing.

90

Great Transportation Strategy Game

draanor | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all draanor's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a great alternative to Sim City and Tropico. While you don't really build any buildings, you are the tycoon behind how the people get to point A to point B. There's a large selection of mods of transportation you can provide and you can spend hours tweaking your network to maximize people's happiness and your revenue. If you love strategy games like Sim City I highly recommend this game.

99

A good but not perfect sequel

AlexCorvin | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all AlexCorvin's reviews »

This game does bring a lot of improvements and features that were requested in CIM 1. I love the new graphics, I adore the new vehicles however it does have some bugs, the pedestrians have a weird way of commuting and the initial release could have used some more vehicles as opposed to having more of them sold separately in DLCs.

Bottom line: if you loved the previous release you will surely love this one if you can overlook some bugs that will be squashed anytime soon, and the separately sold vehicles packs.

89

Good in her category

Hunork | July 30, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

This game is, by leaps and bounds, the best city simulation game to come out in a while. Great AI pathing, impressive graphics, persistent sims, so many choices for transit it boggles the mind, and I could go on. The initial learning curve is hard to get over, but it's well worth it. The tutorial wasn't done very well and doesn't really teach you how to jump head first into the first scenario. I recommend watching at least 1 youtube video on metros and reading up on reddit or another social media site to get past the curve. Be prepared to dream about placing bus stops, trolley lines, and underground metros after the initial 10 hours or so of gameplay. Collapse

98

Multiplayer makes this game amazing

Snook | July 29, 2013 | See all Snook's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a great sequel to the first one, these developers seriously know how to listen to the community and implement what the people want. Multiplayer was probably the number one reason why I decided to upgrade and it was definitely worth it. Multiplayer is now not only a social event, but also educational! When I play with my cities in motion buddy we share tips and tricks all the way from how to build a profitable integrated transit system on the macro side to what type of transit type and vehicle should be used on a line on the micro side. If you’re good at building lines like myself and have a friend who is good at managing them and prices then you can combine your skills to make a better transit system than you could on your own in single player. It is a definite buy for any business or transit sim enthusiast.

95

Multiplayer makes this game amazing

Snook | July 29, 2013 | See all Snook's reviews »

Cities in Motion 2 is a great sequel to the first one, these developers seriously know how to listen to the community and implement what the people want. Multiplayer was probably the number one reason why I decided to upgrade and it was definitely worth it. Multiplayer is now not only a social event, but also educational! When I play with my cities in motion buddy we share tips and tricks all the way from how to build a profitable integrated transit system on the macro side to what type of transit type and vehicle should be used on a line on the micro side. If you’re good at building lines like myself and have a friend who is good at managing them and prices then you can combine your skills to make a better transit system than you could on your own in single player. It is a definite buy for any business or transit sim enthusiast.

93

A worthy sequel

awestover89 | July 6, 2013 | See all awestover89's reviews »

The original Cities in Motion was a surprising gem for me, and I was a little nervous with the sequel, but CiM:2 has done nothing but enhance the city building experience with better graphics and more realistic city traffic.

There is still room for improvements, especially when building your own maps, but the campaigns are both challenging and unique. One of the most interesting aspects is that the campaign scenarios will occasionally revisit old areas and the transportation networks that you made will still be there, exactly as you left them.

I do miss the actual real world cities from the original game, but am really enjoying building my own cities using community mods and tools.

90

Incredible

Drakoid | June 25, 2013 | See all Drakoid's reviews »

This game is simply amazing. There is now a day and night cycle which helps to simulate traffic and human transit during the different times. It has multiplayer to allow you to play with your friends. The different choices you make for your city also change the way your city develops.

90

What game am I playing, again?

TimothyD | May 30, 2013 | See all TimothyD's reviews »

The original Cities in Motion was great on it's own standard, and this revamped new sequel simply builds on what was already great to create something new and even better. The cities now change on their own, building themselves around your transportation networks, reminiscent of Locomotion or A-Train. Night and day cycle through, effecting the amount of people moving around the city at a given time. The game has also added in great multiplayer features, along with an interesting new campaign while still handling the old beloved sandbox mode. This game is significantly easier, giving new users a better walk up the learning curve than the first game. With the new graphics and night/day timetable system, the cities feel genuinely alive and gives you all-the-more of a reason to build up the transportation networks. The new systems for building and managing are thorough and intuitive without being too overwhelming.