Reviews for BioShock Infinite (ANZ)

90

Great story driven game

ramibiz21 | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all ramibiz21's reviews »

This is a superb AAA title with stylish and often breathtaking graphics and decent gameplay. However it is the mysterious and well-written story and wonderfully depicted characters that keeps you playing.

Gameplay is adequate but not as good as top-rated shooters, mainly because of the lack of challenge as there is no real consequence for dying. It is designed perfectly though to support the story, right through to the thought-provoking conclusion, which contains a nice moment for fans of the previous games in the series. Highly recommended.

93

Very good

sungunnara | Jan. 18, 2014 | See all sungunnara's reviews »

Started this game after watching a youtuber play it. Seemed really good, bought it, played it 5 hours straight. Really great game and the interface and user friendliness is high. The story is also very interesting but sometimes quite hard to understand. Art style and the detail and content of this game is highly recommendable.

96

Phenomenal Game

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

The original Bioshock was one of my all time favourite games, so Bioshock Infinite had a extremely high mark it had to hit to not disappoint, and it completely delivered. The story in this game is brililant, smart, and is enough reason to give the game a look in. Visually the game is stunning and the game does a great job of letting you explore it without having to just constantly run and gun. The one thing that should be clear - if you are wanting to go in for a great FPS game, you may find yourself underwhelmed with the combat, but if you accept that that has taken a backseat to this game just being an interactive story, you will definitely get a lot of enjoyment out of it.

95

Storytelling at its finest

vipc | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all vipc's reviews »

Bioshock Infinite is the third in the Bioshock series. The Bioshock games have always been very well renowned for its stellar storytelling, and Bioshock Infinite only adds to that legacy.

The story of Bioshock Infinite is one of the best of the generation, and in my opinion, of all time. There is a level of engagement and immersion to the world that no other game can really give you. The dynamics between Booker and Elizabeth, the main characters of the game, make you care for them in a way that you would otherwise brush off in other "escort" style games.

The world is beautifully built, with wonderful set pieces and incredible stylistic direction.

However, the same level of praise cannot be given to the gameplay itself. It is highly dumbed down in comparison to the earlier Bioshock titles. It becomes a stale shooter with little strategy nor does it do anything unique enough to draw you into the combat. Not even the 1999 mode can make the combat interesting.

Do not let this dissuade you though. The storytelling, the characters, the world and the music is more than enough to overwhelm the negatives of the game. Bioshock Infinite is not an experience to miss.

80

Average game

xfeizhu | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all xfeizhu's reviews »

Although the game had beautiful graphics and great story line the gameplay wasn't that great for me. It was pretty linear and not very challenging until appearances of patriots, handymen and sirens which would drain all your ammo rendering you useless.

93

Fantastic game

HowWeSurvive95 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all HowWeSurvive95's reviews »

While the gameplay can be very bullet-spongy and slightly irritating at times (especially the handymen), the beauty of the city of Columbia and the brilliant story more than make up for that. The characters of Booker and Elizabeth are fully fleshed out, and the story is simply divine. Anxiously awaiting the DLC

80

Keeping it fresh

envail | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all envail's reviews »

While I absolutely love this game, I'm not sure I would title it Bioshock. By trying to keep things fresh some of my favourite elements from the original games are missing - no Little Sisters or Big Daddies, no gene splicing lunacy. Mechanically however things remain similar, you still have your plasmids and guns aplenty.

In its own right Infinity is great, the transition to a sky city (although a little Rachet & Clank) works well and there are some lovely sections, it's a game that sometimes has you roaming like a tourist just soaking everything in.

The story starts well and ends off nicely, but it does tend to give itself a bit of a get out of narrative free card with its explanation and reasoning of certain events. Attention to detail is great but somewhat made a bit pointless due to this.

Great game that you really can't go too far wrong with, although it may not sound like it from what I've said, there are a handful of positives for every one negative. Highly enjoyable and entertaining game.

94

WOW!!

poik12 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all poik12's reviews »

This game had me engrossed from the beginning until the end. It has pretty good mechanics compared to any other FPS but like all of the other Bioshock games, there is depth in the story and characters that truly makes it amazing.

90

Awesome game

edwinw | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all edwinw's reviews »

A great game from start to the end. Awesome story, action and gameplay. Great graphics and polished game. Highly recommended!

85

Let Me Tell You A Story

Monaro213 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Monaro213's reviews »

Bioshock Infinite is a fantastic story set in an achingly well-crafted world. Strife and chaos are disrupting an archaic, racist theocratic 'city-in-the-sky', while you, Booker DeWitt, are seeking to redeem yourself.

The team at Irrational have developed a fantastic tale and world, and my only real criticisms of this game are as follows: 1) You kill enormous numbers of police, vox soldiers, etc for very little reason. If there were less of them, I wouldn't have a problem, but for a game that confronts death a lot, to ignore the (in my case) thousands of kills that you make, it's a bit jarring. 2) The gunplay is rather dull. The Vigours liven it up a bit, but for the most part, it's the same gunplay you've seen and played over-and-over already, and if anything, is made less interesting by lack of feedback from your weapons. They're deadly accurate, little by way of recoil, and just feel strong. 3) Strong, that is, until you reach the 'heavy-hitters'. The Siren and the Handyman are unbelievable bullet sponges: I found them to be remarkably un-fun to fight. 4) My final criticism is more a nitpick than anything, but the pacing of the narrative is odd. You're thrust (rather elegantly, I must admit) into Columbia, then the narrative bottoms out for a few hours, before snowballing at an incredible pace and delivering a brilliant and satisfying ending.

All-in-all, however, this is a rare game that is all about the story. A singleplayer experience that I strongly recommend to anyone that loves a good, intelligent yarn. 85/100

93

Awesome game.

scottnat | July 13, 2013 | See all scottnat's reviews »

A linear fps, but a good one. Gorgeous world. Distinct. My only small qualm is i'd have liked to see the story fleshed out a fraction more. In an effort to keep it unusual felt like a couple of things weren't quite fully explained. Loved it, nonetheless. Big recommendation.

97

Perfect.

Anarky_64 | July 12, 2013 | See all Anarky_64's reviews »

Strong Story, fluid gameplay and beautiful visuals. This is one of the best games I have ever played. Serious Goty contender..

94

An Excellent Game

cptalpaca | July 12, 2013 | See all cptalpaca's reviews »

By now you would have heard all the hype and praise for Bioshock Infinite, and you're probably if this game is over-rated. Short answer is no, this game may not be the greatest but it is definitely great.

The gameplay is fast paced and exhilarating, with the various possible options to eliminate enemies, simply enhancing the enjoyment. Vigors, weapons and your companion Elizabeth can all be used to to spurn branches of creative deaths.

Story-wise, the game is magnificent. The story will simply leave your head spinning by it's conclusion. The AI in Elizabeth is amazing and will get you attached to the game through various interactions and conversations. The tiny things in this game, the tiny moments between you, Elizabeth and the world are part of what keeps you coming back and back.

Do yourself a favour and buy this game. You won't regret a thing.

97

Brilliance all round.

nate1x | July 4, 2013 | See all nate1x's reviews »

Bioshock is one of those games that comes along every now and then, a triple A title that truly lives up to and goes beyond expectations, the gameplay, the graphics, the story, a beautiful and elegant world. A must buy for all gamers.

96

A Must

BeanBag | June 9, 2013 | See all BeanBag's reviews »

Although Bioshock Infinte is another generic first person shooter, its gameplay is incredibly fun and diverse. The story though is just absolutely top notch, I can easily say best story and plot of any game I've played (and I've played a lot of games) just so elegantly crafted it's incredible.

82

Solid Game

taqwadune | May 31, 2013 | See all taqwadune's reviews »

A solid entry in the series, not living up to the first in the series but surpassing the second. An excellent story that does not overreach, wonderful character design and character progression.

95

Geat

squint57 | May 29, 2013 | See all squint57's reviews »

Very good game and well worth the price.

100

Great game

ReverseKev | May 3, 2013 | See all ReverseKev's reviews »

While this gameplay is sometimes criticised, the audio, visuals, story and presentation really do make up for it.

I don't usually play many straight out FPS so I really like the using your guns and vigors together to kill enemies effectively. The difficulty curve imo is quite good, and lets you learn how to play and have all the vigors before the enemies get a bit harder. The

Elizabeth is a great companion and is not the damsel in distress you normally see in games although she is locked away. She will constantly aid you in battle, revive you when you clumsily die, pick locks for you and even throw in a few coins to help you buy those awesome upgrades.

The upgrade system is split in to infusions and weapon/vigor upgrades. Infusions are pretty much elixers that upgrade your health, salts or shield (you can choose) and are found throughout the game although you do need to go out of your way to find most of them. The weapon/vigor upgrade system is based on the gold you collect, you do lose gold when you die, but if you have enough left over you can buy yourself cool upgrades for your weapon, up to 4.

If you get lost, there is also a button to help you unless you are playing in 1999 mode, which in 1999, there'd most definitely not have anything helping you find where you need to go :)

This is an amazing game and a must buy if you like any of the previous Bioshocks', like a good story or like a unique FPS.

94

Brilliant game with some minor issues

karaku32 | April 28, 2013 | See all karaku32's reviews »

Bioshock Infinite is an amazing game, its well presented, very polished with solid gameplay and an AMAZING story, The combat feels solid and moving around columbia on skyhooks is alot of fun, but this game does have its slight issues, a limited power pool, Elizbeth flicking coins at you ever few seconds which results in a cutscene that last about 3 secobds, but it happens so frequently it gets on the agitating side rather quickly. But these issues can be overlooked due to the amazing combat which is similar to the previous games, but its had alot of its issues fixed. Amazing game and a must buy for any gamer.

100

The Best.

fryzee | April 26, 2013 | See all fryzee's reviews »

Simply put it's the best single player game released this year and probably this generation. Cannot wait for the season pass content.

96

Masterpiece

Mikester7 | April 20, 2013 | See all Mikester7's reviews »

Irrational Games return once again for this anticipated third instalment of the Bioshock series. We see a similar recurring theme with the original title, though this time you are put into the world as the crisis is happening, rather than at the aftermath of Rapture. While Columbia no longer offers the dark, atmospheric and sometimes scary nature of Rapture, players are delivered a more accessible story. Columbia is filled with powerful imagery and almost flawlessly depicted a heavily religious western society. The original Bioshock did a better job at showing a dystopian society, but many people may find the newer story more involving and obvious. This is not to say that the story was significantly weaker to the past, it more went in a different direction, focusing on the characters and personal issues with the main character, rather than the overall society. Elizabeth, one of the main characters, was depicted incredibly well and is easily the most interesting character of the game.

Across the board there are numerous gameplay improvements over the original game, combat feeling more solid, better weapons and more interesting, useful and fun abilities. The level design was generally less audacious than the original, though it was able to avoid the issues of arguably poor level design that sometimes poked its head through in the first. The ending was well executed and tied off the story much better than the first, though I do miss the sometimes scary nature of the first, though I do not think it would have fit in well with Infinites story. Overall, Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece of a perfect length that is not too short and does not stay around long enough to get stale. Simply put, other game developers could not even dream of creating a story anywhere near as good as Bioshock Infinite. It is simply a video game made with a massive amount of effort and passion for storytelling and gaming. It is going to be a historic game that every open minded individual should experience.

95

Best Game so far This Year

gafail | April 20, 2013 | See all gafail's reviews »

I play a lot of games and when I played the first two bioshocks I was very impressed and pleased, in simple words they were amassing. then I got bioshock infinite I know it would be good but was it going to be a huge step op from the previous games or just another good game. nothing could of prepared me it was way beyond any of mi expectations, I am currently playing it for a third time on the hardest mode and I can honestly say it is the best game... not one of the best THE BEST GAME I have played in a very long time

97

Masterpiece!

Denonic | April 18, 2013 | See all Denonic's reviews »

This is the only game in the last couple of years that has had me glued to my seat for 2 days straight. It's an edge of your seat kind of experience that is well paced and very story driven.

The combat itself is quite satisfying to boot. Vigors are extremely useful in weakening opponents and you'll find yourself using them far more often than most other games (the original Bioshock included) as they can often mean the difference between a kill or running out of ammo foolishly.

The breadcrumb like feature is also very useful. Unless you play in 1999 mode you are best off spamming it to find the direction you should be going in, but also to point out the areas that aren't part of the story (i.e. areas with hidden collectibles).

The graphics are beautiful and one of only a handful of games where more than 2GB of GRAM is actually worthwhile.

A must have purchase and if you have played the original Bioshock, this is just as good and very worthy of the name.

97

Best Bioshock Ever

tehayshun | April 16, 2013 | See all tehayshun's reviews »

With Bioshock Infinite being the 3rd game in the Bioshock series, I was very skeptical about how it would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised when the game turned out to be the best bioshock game I've ever played and definately a game that I'll remember for a long time. The story and world are compelling and immersive with little details catching my eye. I probably spent more time roaming around in search of secrets and lore than actually shooting people. The combat mechanics are very similar to the previous games and I felt to be a bit repetitive later on into the game. Definitely worth the purchase.