Reviews for BioShock

100

A piece of art

Zazutuu | April 6, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

The Bioshock games are my favorite.This one is as my title says a piece of art in my opinion. The atmosphere and it's universe are one of the best. The story is really interesting. Just don't ask me for a fair review. When I am talking about the Bioshock series, I just can't do it!

98

A True Masterpiece

Subj3ctLambda | March 28, 2014 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

 BioShock is one of those few games that come and leave a mark that no other game can fill! Not even its sequels! This game has everything...a wonderful story, great graphics(a pretty game even today), solid gameplay, interesting enemies and truly worthy antagonists!
 The fact that your plane crashes at a lighthouse in the middle of the ocean tells you that something is not right here! You take a bathysphere in the lighthouse which takes you to an underwater city - Rapture!
 This game's atmosphere can truly be unsettling at times with its darkened corners, creepy sounds and shadows of the insane citizens who descend even further into madness! Your only hope to survive here is to use a substance called ADAM to rewrite you genetic code to give you powerful abilities like shooting fire,lightning or ice from your fingertips, lifting objects with telekinesis, creating decoys, laying whirlwind traps for unsuspecting foes and much more! There are a wide variety of weapons like the pistol, shotgun, tommy gun etc. to be used in conjunction with the aforementioned powers!
   The problem is...to get ADAM, you need to acquire it from the Little Sisters who wander the dying city harvesting from corpses! While they are harmless little children themselves, they are protected  by Big Daddies - big metal suited hulks who will defend their Sisters to the death!
   Will you be able to survive Rapture and figure out just what is really going on there? I urge you to try...you won't regret it!

95

One of the classics

elliah | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all elliah's reviews »

Although the first-person-shooter is not one of my favourite genres, Bioshock is one of those games which is the exception to the rule. The most compelling thing about the game, to me, is it's story. Narrative often takes a back seat to game-play in quite a large number of video games. Granted there are video games out there with excellent writing, but right now, these are exceptions rather than the norm. And we celebrate these exceptions by heaping praise on such games. Bioshock is one such game. Aside from the exceptional writing, the gameplay is smooth and intuitive. For a non-FPS person like me, I appreciate the responsive controls and how well-balanced the enemy AI is. The aesthetics of the game is very well done. The art style really suits the dystopian theme of the game, the 1950s feel is spot-on. The soundtrack is excellent and further enhances the whole feel of the game. Bioshock is a definite must-play.

100

Gets better with age?

vipc | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all vipc's reviews »

The Bioshock series has to be one of my favourite series of the generation.

As this game has been out for quite some time now, it is a question of whether or not it still holds up in this market. Well the answer is yes. The gameplay is still as solid as it was when it was released, far more so than Bioshock Infinite, the latest iteration of the franchise.

And although the gameplay is very solid in my opinion, it isn't so much the gameplay that I love Bioshock so much for. Rather it is the storytelling, and the atmosphere that makes the Bioshock series so great. That isn't to say that the gameplay in Bioshock is bad, not by any means. In fact, at the time of release, Bioshock offered innovative gameplay with plasmid combinations and visually and practically unique guns.

With that said, Bioshock is still a great blend of great gameplay and incredible storytelling and atmosphere (including music!). However, for the nitpicky on the graphics, Bioshock may or may not hold up as it did on release. Namely, it is the textures, which is a little low res by comparison to today's standards (AAA standards anyway).

But in my honest opinion, this shouldn't deter you from one of the greatest games of the generation. For the amount of enjoyment, and the low price point, even more so when it is on sale, this is a game you cannot miss. I highly recommended.

92

Unique atmosphere

Neonberry | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Rarely a game manages to create such a unique story and scenery as Bioshock. The FPS takes place in Rapture, a city turned away from God and turned towards genetic engineering. From start to end the atmosphere is spot on. The ruins of the once utopian city now inhabited by crazy (more or less) people, the Big Daddies and the little girls, the weapons - everything is highly original about this game while retaining the classic shooter formula. You get some special powers as well in time and all in all upgrade your character, though the RPG elements are only to compliment the shooter part. Bioshock became an instant legend - and rightfully so. If you finished Infinite or you are new to the franchise - or you just love shooters or want something with a unique dark atmosphere you have to pick up this game.

89

A modern marvel

Gmen | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Hailed as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, there was a lot riding on this one. This one doesn’t take place in space though – it is the polar opposite, taking place at the bottom of the ocean floor. Graphically it is sublime, and incredibly it runs on lower end systems rather well. The sound is also spectacular – particularly the score.

Gameplay-wise this is more of a straight first-person shooter than a hybrid FPS/RPG title, with a simplified inventory and less in the way of RPG elements like the game that inspired it, and so predictably it is a lot more linear with less replayability value even if it does have multiple endings.

Having said that, you won't tire of the whole genetic modification element – playing around with different combinations of plasmids that you are able to purchase and upgrade that you can use alongside more conventional weapons to take on the rather cunning enemies.

It was one of the few games in recent times that I actually played more than once to completion. I can't say that about many of today's games.

100

Best shooter ever.

Zagan | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Zagan's reviews »

Bioshock has a really immersive story, in which you enter the ruins of Rapture, an old destroyed city, after having an airplane accident, and where you find with a man that tries to help you to escape from there.

What you don't know is what type of adventure you have to live...

You'll have multiple weapons and "skills" to defeat lots of enemies along the game to finally reach freedom.

100% recommended!

90

Great Shooter!

brenker99 | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all brenker99's reviews »

This game is really Amazing. The Story has some really good twists. The way you can combine your Plasmid and guns is really fun. In my opinion Its Story 10/10 Gameplay 8/10 And graphic are(Based on that this game is quite old)8/10.

99

Close to perfection.

Xpire | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all Xpire's reviews »

What took me so long start playing this game? First of all: beautiful, beautiful game. The visuals, the atmosphere, the everything about this game is stunning. This game is indeed very unique, certainly quite different from other first-person shooter games.

The story is anxiously captivating. It really draws you into the game. Being quite an enthusiast on philosophy, this game is a gem. Also being a fan of George Orwell's work, you could see an influence he had on this game. What I think ties everything together is the sounds; the soundtrack, the voice acting, the sound effects, etc - all marvelously done.

This game definitely deserves its universal acclaim. If you love first-person shooter, 40s to 60s retro feel and dystopias, get this game. Right now.

90

This is where it started..

MauroR | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

When I've watched the first Bioshock gameplay 6-7 video years ago my mind was blowing I thought " This game will be awesome", and in fact I was right.

Bioshock was intended as a spiritual successor of the famous System Shock 2, hence the "shock" word in the name, it's been like a homage to a great game being released years ago (System Shock 2 has been released on 1999).

Anyways Bioshock has been released at last and the game didn't betray the expectations. The story, the atmosphere, the environments, the enemies, the original weapon systems (you also have a photo camera to spot the weak points of an enemy allowing you to use the proper weapon for every situation and every enemy) combined with the plasmid powers give you a lot to choose to face the enemy and defeat him, it's your choice.

You can also upgrade your weapons and plasmid powers, giving you a sort of roleplaying elements, so for being essentially a FPS you have several thing to choose from. And I suggest you to search the audio diaries there are scattered around the levels, the give you a lot of clues about the story and plus they immerse you more in the game world.

What can I say more? If you didn't played yet until now I suggest you to buy it, the game deserve the praise it got, you have FPS with a great story, RPG elements with creepy atmoshpere, you can't wrong with Bioshock.

See you in Rapture.

95

A Jewel

andrealbu | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all andrealbu's reviews »

Bioshock is a must have game and an abnormal FPS, by its added elements of RPG and by its dark, inspiring and twisted story. The mechanics are fluid and converge to a solid gameplay. The graphics are great for a 2007 game and help you to integrate and understand the world that surrounds you. The gunplay is ok, like any other average shooter.

80

A world that tells a story

drakso | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

This is the original Bioshock. An fps game with a silent protagonist. But don't turn your head just because you are not really keen on shooters. The shooting mechanics are not really the strong point in this game. The best thing about it is: The story and the world. This game is renown for just that. The great writing, the voice actors and the world. The world that you face tells a story of its own. Even tho its not an open world game, the surroundings, the recordings you find and the weird encounters are telling the story about a fallen city. A great idea that took a wrong turn. Besides the story the weapons are mediocre, but you could find some enhancements that are really innovative. Also, the game is really easy. There are resources lying everywhere and the enemies are not that tough, so if you are looking for a real challenge you won't find it here.

87

An excellent game, though not without flaws

PapaLazarou | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all PapaLazarou's reviews »

I have to admit, I didn't like Bioshock that much when it first came out. The game does have some very cool aspects, but the gunplay in this game feels really weak. Especially compared to other FPS.

But this game shouldn't be looked at as a pure FPS. The game has a lot more aspects to it: it has an RPG like crafting system, plasmids, a hacking mini-game and the best part of the whole game: Rapture, the world it is set in. It's very interesting to go out discovering more about what went on in that place through written messages (mostly in blood) and audiotapes of the inhabitants. It's a lot of fun to explore the levels to find out more info about the place and its interesting characters, or to find more loot so you are better prepared for future encounters with enemies.

Yes, Rapture is an amazing place. But shooting is still a major part of the game, and that is where it lacks: the guns you begin with feel very weak and don't have much recoil. Only with later weapons, like the shotgun, powerful plasmids and gun upgrades do you begin to feel the power you wield.

Overall, I still really liked this game and everyone should visit Rapture and it's interesting story.

85

A Different FPS...

juxtaposed_j | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all juxtaposed_j's reviews »

If you are after first person shooters that aren't set in a war-torn world with soldiers, tanks and helicopters than this is for you.

Set in the underwater world of Rapture where monstrous Big Daddies run rampant you are equipped with weapons and also powers such as electricity, and fire that offer a new dynamic to the way you can defeat your foes.

If you're sick of the current first person shooters nowadays you should most definitely check this out!

83

Bioshock

vitorupa | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all vitorupa's reviews »

One of the greatest games of the past generation, an unique story with an astonishing gameplay. This game really made the big corporations fear for their next releases. Bioshock is one of that games that really make you struggle, sometimes you have to think hard to find what's your next move. You feel the experience, and that's one of the reasons that made me love this game. You can customize your character with diferents powers and guns, also there's a lot of puzzles, it's kinda repetitve. The experience by playing it on a controller is way much cooler than playing on mouse + keyboard, so a controller is a 'must have' for this game.

90

Evergreen

pan_dudi | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all pan_dudi's reviews »

I have just recently completed the game and I found myself asking - where was I for the last couple of years?! This game has a great combination of brilliant story, great graphics (yes, after all this years) and pacing that give you goosebumbs when finally at some point a hunter hostile to you becomes pray and you take his role. After all this horrific events you had encountered on your way. Bioshock is a truly great experience and a must own for people who appreciate good story as well as for those who want action! It has it all. Although, when it comes to action I can't understand why they had messed up shooting so badly. It really looks and feels poor, but it isn't something that could ruin one's overall experience. PS. The game is ment for mature audience only.

100

amazing

RLFAV | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all RLFAV's reviews »

The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.

86

Classic

iQue | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all iQue's reviews »

While many might disagree, combat is one of this game's stronger points - the largely open map design leaves you open to approach combat in many different ways, set up traps or use the plasmids of your choice. Many thought Bioshock 2 had a more efficient combat system, but it then threw a lot more enemies at you - this game is paced better with spaced out encounters that rarely feels grindy. It is not a horror game despite a jump scare or two, but captures the atmosphere of a run down city with its equally broken individuals very well. The story ties in with it well and with the audio diaries there's more back story than you could ever digest in a single playthrough. There's very little character interaction, but you still get to know people better than you might have wished.

The PC version has some quirks like mouse acceleration and low field of view which you can somewhat rectify with editing a few files, but it's worth mentioning.

All in all a game well worth experiencing.

76

As everyone says

Gedehamster | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all Gedehamster's reviews »

It's pretty good. I wouldn't say it's the BEST game ever, it could be a bit more... interesting. Back when it came out it was amazing compared to most other games though. I feel like a lot of people tend to overrate bioshock 1, thief 1, other old 1's, just because it was closer to their childhood than the newer ones. Anyway, good game, should buy.

90

I loved this game.

nomis77 | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all nomis77's reviews »

And believe me I did not expect to. I am not big on shooters (co-op on Borderlands being the sum of my experience before playing this game) and games seem to scare me more than most movies ever could, but I really did love this game. The graphics are fantastic and the setting is so fully realised, and so well executed that you are fully immersed from the very beginning. The history of the setting is so well thought out that the collectibles are a joy to find, letting you find out more about everything that has happened in this once great city. The gameplay is great, with many weapons and powers to keep things new and exciting. There's also the opportunity to hack bots and turrets which is a great addition to combat, ultimately leaving you with a lot of choice in how you handle the combat. The story is brilliantly executed, never lagging, with an ending that will leave you very satisfied, and maybe just a little mind blown. If you like shooters or can generally enjoy most games with a good story, like me, then this is a must play.

90

Golden game

DeadReap | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all DeadReap's reviews »

Bioshock is like golden game, you must try it if you haven't tried it yet. The game is awesome, Graphics even now are Really good. The power ups makes game even better, Physics and mechanics are great, Game play is really enjoyable and the storyline is excellent, and animations are the best. Environment is stunning. Game worth every Dollar you spend.

91

You must own it!

Nova4 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Nova4's reviews »

Is a FPS, but not a generic one, it had: +A great storyline, with a mind blow plot twist +Lots and lots of powers and perks to customize your character. +An awesome atmosphere +Well made graphics +A good selection of enemies, boss battles and weapons.

I love it, no just because is fun, I love it because it seems like your are in the game. Just awesome!

60

Not as good as I was lead to believe

Glyndwr | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Glyndwr's reviews »

I don't know, maybe it was the excellent reviews and all the talk from friends but I expected much more from Bioshock and maybe that had a bearing on my experience. For me the game was a disappointment. As a shooter it is average, it seemed to rely on cheap scares which is something I have never found interesting in games. There is an atmosphere created but it isn't out of this world merely solid. The story does have some interest, yet again it is strong without being truly excellent or groundbreaking. That is what it comes down to for me, this game has been praised a great deal yet I feel it is only a solid game and could only appear brilliant when the competition was weak.

85

Thank You Kindly For Reading This Review

phool | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

The immediate draw of Bioshock is the beautifully realized period underwater setting of the game, which has been rendered in such detail that the first time you see it, it takes your breath away.

After sucking you in with the gorgeous environment, Bioshock ups the ante with a gripping story that cleverly unfolds with perfect pacing that you are always left with the need to play for just that little bit longer. In addition to this is the excellent gameplay, and unique use of ‘plasmids’ to provide you with new abilities.

The character animations are also fantastic, with the expressions of the Little Sister’s quite unsettling if you choose to harvest them. A minor gripe is the hacking sequences, which become quite mundane and tedious rather early on in the game. However this is a minor gripe in the context of the rest of the game.

Overall this is an essential gaming experience, and games highly recommended!

100

A must play

noname010 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all noname010's reviews »

One of the best games of all time. It was touted as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, and while it never quite achieved that, it did manage to become a fantastic game in its own right. I have to say Irrational Games have become my favourite developer due to the care and attention they put into their games. Every moment in BioShock has been polished to a high sheen, the graphics are awesome, the style is unique, the game-play is extremely well balanced and paced between shooting, narrative and other activities like exploration and growing your character. The A.I is some of the best I have ever seen. But most importantly of all for me, is the way you can play the game however you want to. If you like to get in people faces with the shotgun and melee weapon you can do that, or you can stick with rapid fire weapons and high explosives, set traps, go stealthy, use the myriad of plasmids etc. Its just a fantastic and game and so spooky to boot. Without a doubt it is one of my favourite all time video games. If you like intelligent shooters then this is a must play video game

80

Brilliant Atmosphere

jep1138 | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all jep1138's reviews »

Bioshock is one of my favourite games of all time. It has flaws to be sure; it's arguably too easy, there is no inventory system, the morality system is very simplistic etc. However, these imperfections are soon forgotten once the game's atmosphere begins to sink in. This is the reason I cherish it so. The city of Rapture feels wonderfully dark, oppressive and dystopian. The art deco visual design, and the Randian philosophy espoused by Andrew Ryan go together very well and give the game a mature flavour. It is only disappointing that this maturity was not mirrored in the mechanics which were rather dumbed down compared to the de facto precursor System Shock 2.

90

The lore will lure you in

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

This game is not just an ordinary shooter. No, sir, this is one of the best games you will ever play.

Why did a sprawling underwater city suddenly plunge into darkness? Why are these cute little girls stabbing those dead bodies? Why are you blindly following orders from some man you just randomly encountered?

Oh, it will melt your brain. Saying more would do you a disservice when you play this for the first time.

Fair warning, there are some parts that feel like blatant padding. Not that they're not fun to play through, it's just that they seem to be there to prolong the game time without helping build the story. And the game suffers from bad pacing in the sense that the most climactic event happens about 75% into the game.

But, ultimately, if you like getting immersed in lore, this is the perfect game for you.

96

A FPS with a Top Notch story

SnarfDash | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all SnarfDash's reviews »

Bored of generic FPS' with boring and unsatisfactory stories? Then welcome to Rapture! Rapture is home to one man's beliefs and it's deadly inhabitants. You are offered Plasmids, which are initially super-human abilities controlled through the tip of your fingers, for example, you gain the ability the shock enemies with "Electro-Bolt", ignite them with "Incinerate" and many more. You must take notice of the surrounding and atmosphere in the game, as the posters and advertisements in the game are often amusing/interesting. The story of Rapture's inhabitants is told through Audio Diaries which I recommend looking out for in the game, as the more you venture through, the more your curiosity will peak. The gameplay is essentially a generic FPS but the plasmids can be used to make it more interesting. The soundtrack provides a solid, horror-like atmosphere. A nice touch in the game is that you get to keep all the weapons you pick up, giving you plenty of ways to defeat enemies, as enemies can have weaknesses. The storytelling is brilliant. The gameplay is fulfilling. You must persevere to the end to appreciate the story to it's fullest. I highly recommend this if you wish to enter the awesome franchise that is; Bioshock. Play this before Infinite and get a grasp of what was, and prepare for Bioshock Infinite's DLC where you'll return to Rapture! Prepare for one hell of an intense ride.

95

Amazing gameplay and amazing story

bradysam | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

This is easily one of the best shooters (and potentially RPG) of the past 10 years. The story is told perfectly through recorded audio messages around Rapture, talks with characters, flashbacks of previous inhabitants and through messages scrawled on the walls. The atmosphere is perfect and it is realized perfectly. The game play is spot on as well having to juggle between plasmid powers and guns to inflict the most damage and the "boss" fights with the Big Daddies are still some of the best battles within games today. It's incredibly easy to recommend this game, either for the story, for the atmosphere or the game play itself. But if you have the faintest bit of interest in this game you should go out and get it as it is easily worth it.

93

Wonderful

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

What a wonderful game I loved the story line very unique compared to other games that I have played. This game is one to keep and play again very eerie at times. I won't go in to the storyline as I believe it will spoil it for others who may or will purchase this game. I love the sequels, but this game is what got me into the Bioshock games, it really is great! I recommend this to anyone, as it is amazing.

95

Do yourself a favor and play this game!

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

This game has got to be one of the best games of this generation. The story in it is just phenomenal and haunting. I love the gameplay with this game too because there are multiple ways to fight enemies such as shocking a pool of water which they are standing in or just doing it the old fashioned way with your weapon of choice. The game is also quite creepy with so many people that are insane (especially at the start) but this makes it really enjoyable and immersive. Great game!

90

Excellent Shooter

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

An excellent shooter, with a marvelous atmosphere. The ruined city of Rapture is spine-chilling. The noises coming from somewhere not quite visible, the tension building music and flickering electric lights makes for a truly terrifying atmosphere. Combat is fast-paced and exciting, but also requires some thought in terms of which abilities you use when.

94

Amazing

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This is one of the best games you'll ever play. The environment and excellent story absorbs you into the life of Jack, a man who crashed his plane in the middle of the Atlantic ocean, and discovers Rapture. The city was a failed dream, where people are not what they seem.

You can use many tools to defeat people in he city, including electricity and shotguns. The intelligent AI is what makes this game so fun to play; they even scare you at times, making the game suspensful after you see a shadow running across the wall.

All in all, it's a must buy.

95

One of the best game of this generation

Agolf | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Agolf's reviews »

Bioshock is the best game of this generation after HL2, the storyline is perfect, with plot twist very well done, Rapture is one of the most iconic city in video-games and you will never forget the experience you lived in this horror town. Definitely a good son of System Shock 2.

92

Truly one of the best first person shooters ever made

Jands12345 | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all Jands12345's reviews »

I recently replayed this game to see if It still holds up in 2013 and the answer was a clear. YES.

Bioshock is a game with a very unique setting, one that lends itself quite well to both gameplay and story. While Bioshock's graphics are starting to show their age a little today, the close-quarters gunplay and engaging story will easily keep you entertained through-out the entire experience.

With the new DLC for Bioshock: Infinite set to return us to this beautiful location, now is a great time to experience the city for yourself.

98

Would you kindly play this?

darkyhbk | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Bioshock was one of those games that came out of nowhere and blew the entire FPS market up. Considered to be System Shock 2's spiritual successor, Bioshock certainly lived up to the legendary game's reputation and offered an unforgettable experience. Taking place in an underwater city in the earl 1960s, it offers the ideas (an results) of how a purely capitalistic society in search for self-affirmation would end up. It is really interesting and thought provoking, and the implementation is spot-on. Nothing is too obvious, everything is alluded with subtlety and much, much care. The game itself is more or less straightforward. In a confined space, you'll kill enemies with your weapons and special abilities, called plasmids, which range from fireballs to freezing enemies and objects, solve puzzles and have some memorable encounters with unforgettable characters. If you look at it from this point of view, Bioshock might not have much novelty value in terms of gameplay, but what marvels players is the setting and the atmosphere, as well as the storyline developed through recordings and messages scattered around the levels, but also through the state that things are in. Everything has a fantastic suggestion power, and everything is exploited to the maximum, making you imagine scenarios in every room you visit. In a nutshell, Bioshock is a rare gem, a superb reference to social inequalities, extremism and a dream of a perfect society.

85

Really interesting game

Spang | July 28, 2013 | See all Spang's reviews »

I got this in a bundle with Bioshock Infinite. Never played any of the games in the Bioshock series before now. The first Bioshock is a really good game, and I'm quite sad I didn't play it sooner. The atmosphere is more than 60% of the whole experince in this game. Very creepy and sometimes almost homey (weird, isn't it?). There are a couple of flaws, but mostly related to the age of the game. The mechanics is maybe not the sharpest, but if you haven't tried it, you definetly should pick it up on a sale, or something.

91

One of best

iamkyo90 | July 22, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

One of the best PC games I have played. The better the story, the setting a very good idea to play that mixes the strategy fps. Impossible not to have this game.

93

Still the best of the series

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

I still think this game is the best in the Bioshock series. Infinite is really, really great, but it's still not as good as this instant classic.

The atmosphere of rapture is just as beautiful as it is scary and the whole story felt a bit more thought through. The weapons handle extremely well and I absolutely love the sound design.

Highest recommendation.

90

Old but Gold

simodeso | July 13, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

i played this game and i enjoyed it a lot. It invented a new gameplay in the world of fps/shooter and it works well.. it's the first chapter of the series bioshock but it's very awesome. It has a nice story, (prepare for surprises) and it is very funny to play with all the powers that yo have, you can kill your enemies (combined and Big Daddy) in very different ways, and you will get also a lot of weapons with different ammos! the game it's not very hard but killing your first Big Daddy may be a very hard quest! It has also different endings based on you choices. Try this game, if you want to enter in the fantastic world of Rapture, the city under the sea.. and don't forget to take the little sisters with you!

96

Fantastic

MonkeyDot | July 13, 2013 | See all MonkeyDot's reviews »

Great story, mood, and gameplay. Buy this!

92

Great gameplay with a fantastic story

billycohen | July 11, 2013 | See all billycohen's reviews »

I am very late to the Bioshock series, and this is the only one I've played so far. The story kept me coming back for more throughout the entire game, and the combat and gameplay were also superb.

This game is definitely worth a buy, it's rare nowadays to find first person shooters have both great gameplay and a rich, deep story.

97

One of the most atmospheric shooters ever

MrMrstoff | July 10, 2013 | See all MrMrstoff's reviews »

Bioshock is in my opinion near perfect. Of course, the game is almost 6 years old now and you can see this but with its amazing art style and world design Bioshock is still one of the best looking games I know. This really good design, the great voice acting, the matching music, an amazing, mysterious story and stunning events create an atmosphere I very rarely experienced in a video game.

The gameplay is also very satisfying. The different weapons, the possibility to use your environment and the plasmids give you a great variety of possibilities to fight the enemies.

Bioshock isn’t a shooter like for example CoD (I’m of course not speaking of the completely different setting here and don’t want to bash CoD in some way) and you shouldn’t buy it, if you just want quick action and simple shooting. It is a slower shooter with fewer enemies. It’s more about the great atmosphere you experience while walking through this beautiful world and not about brainlessly shooting down waves of enemies. Nevertheless Bioshock has enough action and doesn’t turn into simple story telling at any point.

Therefore I highly recommend this game to everyone that doesn’t just want quick action and brainless shooting and want to encourage everyone that does, to give this game an open-minded try – I’m confident you might enjoy it ;).

98

One of the Best this Generation

ShapEile | July 7, 2013 | See all ShapEile's reviews »

Bioshock is a classic and needs to be played. The setting is so well done and the atmosphere is incredible. Rapture is a beauty to behold as a crumbling Utopia and the villain Andrew Ryan is fantastic and him and Atlas play a role in a massive twist that has gone done in gaming history as one of the best plot twists in gaming. Bioshock may not have the best gameplay but it by far has the best story, setting and even the graphics hold up well today as it looks better than games that come out now. Bioshock was ahead of it's time and one of my favourite games ever.

97

I wasn't sure at first...

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | See all bercilak's reviews »

...I watched my brother play this game for a year or so, and didn't think I would like it at all...I was so very very wrong. Bioshock is probably one of my top five games from the last 10 years, and I can play it over and over again without getting bored. I did have some issues with sound not working, which is apparently common, but plugging a headphone jack in (not connected to headphones- extender cable) fixed that. Overall I think it's a game everyone should play at least once in their life. Would you kindly give it a chance, it might just be the best decision you ever make.

95

Fantastic

Massacyre_ | July 7, 2013 | See all Massacyre_'s reviews »

The story is fantastic, the graphics and aesthetic look are stunning and the gunplay mechanics are a joy to use and a wonder to behold. Believe me, once you enter the world of Rapture, you are never going to want to leave

99

Great game

roman9441 | July 7, 2013 | See all roman9441's reviews »

This game is awesome but make me scared. This game theme is good setting but some how I don't like their theme but the story of the game is good some how. So i keep playing it even i scared. This game is the good game if you like to follow the story check out the detail that developer make in the game. So i think this game is awesome even i didn't play it on the time it release.

97

Instant classic!

stalze | July 5, 2013 | See all stalze's reviews »

This game is absolutely fantastic! It mixes really well designed combat mechanics with a gripping story with an brilliant ending. The universe in which this game takes place is well engineered and really tells an interesting story! If you haven't played Bioshock yet you just have to buy it! You won't regret!

95

WELCOME TO RAPTURE

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

A game that allows you to be immersed in its atmosphere. If you enjoy a good story line in a steam punk late 50' style with a critic on our society you will love this game! The game shows us that humans can not contoll too much power on a single person and what happens if greed and power come together.

93

Gaming doesn't get much better than this.

JasonAFC | July 5, 2013 | See all JasonAFC's reviews »

It wasn't until 2013 that I finally committed myself to playing this game, 6 years after release, and what a fool I feel like for waiting this long.

There is no other game that is this immersive and has such a fantastic storyline. As the player you enter the underwater city of rapture, designed by objectivist Andrew Ryan, the games main protagonist. A friendly Atlas (an Irishman from the working class of rapture, leading an uprising) guides you safety via radio, helping you take out your first Splicer, the games main enemy.

Combat isn't this games strong suit but it's satisfying you can carry all the games weapons at once without having to choose which ones to leave behind and the different ammo types add some variety in strategy. The games other weapon type, plasmids, have to be picked and chosen but can be changed quite often as you go along.

It's one worth playing, let it drag you in.

94

Stunning game with a great story and twist.

sixfeet | July 5, 2013 | See all sixfeet's reviews »

Bioshock takes place in the underwater world of Rapture. You play the sole survivor of a plane crash who happens to stumble upon the city by seemingly sheer luck. As you delve further and further into the city and find out more through the story and the extra recordings from characters and other denizens of Rapture you begin to learn, something just isn't right, something is occurring outside of your control...

It may be getting old, but stories are timeless. If you haven't yet, do yourself a favour and pick it up.

88

Modern classic

Peterlwd | July 5, 2013 | See all Peterlwd's reviews »

Bioshock is a game on its own.

A nice story, a dense atmosphere and a wonderful world to explore, all with varied, satisfying combat and a few spooky thrills. The level design is best described as half linear half open. You can backtravel but most of the game is linear driven. Plenty of weapons and special powers to use and decent length for your money. Don't miss this one.

87

Great game that still holds up

angelus073 | July 4, 2013 | See all angelus073's reviews »

Bioshock really makes for a great game from the opening to closing credits. Really stylish look to the graphics makes Rapture an excellent setting for a well written and well thought through game. Characters are well written and the voice acting adds to the feel. This is a must play.

79

Superb combat, terrible storytelling

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

Best combat system and feeling in FPS ever made. Lots of vareties how to smash your enemies. Terrible story-telling with one really good twist. Badly pre-scripted (story-telling) events. Very interesting and neat graphics. Combat feels good enough to overcome story issues.

96

Breathtaking

madhair60 | July 3, 2013 | See all madhair60's reviews »

A truly immersive experience and one of the greatest FPS titles of the generation. You will get completely lost in the ruined splendour of Rapture, one of gaming's most memorable locations. Possibly the best opening hour of any game, and what follows absolutely does not disappoint. Everyone should own this.

90

Best Bioshock hands down

WhitekaosGG | July 2, 2013 | See all WhitekaosGG's reviews »

this game is amazing , it really has an atmospheric environment and characters , worth many playthroughs

95

Humid, claustrophobic and beautiful

MarcoCav | July 1, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

BioShock is a game full of charm, exciting, fun to play, and particularly long-lived. The shooter from 2K Games has an artistic aspect of high level, perhaps one of the most beautiful ever seen in a videogame production, and manages to keep the player playing for hours and hours without boring. Rapture is humid, claustrophobic, full of anxieties and hatred of its monstrous inhabitants, disillusioned by ideals that have transformed the hope in a nightmare. A title to have, to play, to play again, to remember for years.

93

Way better than infinite

notmyid | June 26, 2013 | See all notmyid's reviews »

I couldn't understand the hype over infinite, Bioshock 1 will always remain in my heart as the best Bioshock of them all, the story is amazing and gameplay is pretty fun. I'd say the story and execution of the story bumps this game to 93, gameplay wise it's around 80. Recommended!

95

Humid, claustrophobic and beautiful

MarcoCav | June 24, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

BioShock is a game full of charm, exciting, fun to play, and particularly long-lived. The shooter from 2K Games has an artistic aspect of high level, perhaps one of the most beautiful ever seen in a videogame production, and manages to keep the player playing for hours and hours without boring. Rapture is humid, claustrophobic, full of anxieties and hatred of its monstrous inhabitants, disillusioned by ideals that have transformed the hope in a nightmare. A title to have, to play, to play again, to remember for years.

81

a FPS with unique elements

drafek | June 22, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

In this game you're in a under water world. Here are robots and some humans. The game does have a dark feeling on it. The gameplay is fun, the elements are made good. The story is interested but also a little scary, not that I was scared but the game is really dark. The graphics are good. The sound sometimes is really quiet and then it goes really loud. This is a start of a trilogy so I recommend picking up bioshock 1 and 2 together, bioshock infinite is a little bit different.

100

Somewhere beyond the sea...

Pradlik | June 21, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

A truly groundbreaking game...Well some may disagree but it definitely was during its release. Brilliant story of Rapture, a city at the bottom of the sea discovered a plane crash in the beginning of the 60s. The story is the main reason why I loved Bioshock so much but also the gameplay featuring many weapons and plasmids and their combination for devastating attacks. Last but not least I fell in love with the art deco style of Rapture and the music exponentiating the atmosphere. I dare to say any horror fan, good story lover and creative gamer won't be dissapointed. Nor will be the others :)

92

Beautiful game.

CrysisX | June 16, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

This is one of the best games I have ever played. The city in Bioshock is just beautiful and will keep you wanting to explore more. The story in the game is interesting and at the end, there's two different endings to choose from. If you haven't played it yet, buy it now without a second thought!

95

One of the best games of all time

Cupcakeboy14 | June 14, 2013 | See all Cupcakeboy14's reviews »

I played this games on My Xbox 360 when it first got released a it just blew me away. Now that i have it on PC, i can re enjoy it. The game offers different play styles (Good, Bad) and will result in a different ending depending on which one you choose.

The game also offers a wide variety of up-gradable weapons and powers (Plasmids) These really help you throughout the game and helps keep the game fresh even after com pleating the game.

Overall one of the best games of all time

95

welcome to rapture

frikitex | June 14, 2013 | See all frikitex's reviews »

what you want? adventure game? adrenaline? Good bosses? Original SPF? puzles? for that it is an abbreviation, is called Bioshock. the story is that you visit your cousins ​​and for some reason, your plane fails and has an accident in the middle of the ocean, there's only a lighthouse, and common sense is best to go to him, there is when you find a golden statue with battens with a message rather curious, after 30 minutes you're in an underwater metropolis, well, I think that is enough to tell the rapture, just buy it

90

Excellent Game

furious_gamer | June 12, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

Compelling, addictive, game. And for me, it's the GOTY in every aspect. It's must try game for every avid games out there. Just pick up and play.

90

How it all began...

angel_zmz | June 11, 2013 | See all angel_zmz's reviews »

After having played Bioshock Infinite, I wanted to re-experience the first Bioschok, see the differences, beyond the technological section. As is evident, the passing years will notice anything more to start the game, but going on what really matters. We have a game very similar and yet very different from most current. Bioshock, offers a very interesting plot, mysterious and haunting. We find ourselves nothing more to start in a plane crash, which leaves us in a lighthouse, which will lead us to investigate a strange underwater city. Thereafter, it is when the magic begins ... On paragraph technological and graphic of the game, Bioshock even today, is a game that does not look bad, control is very simple, easy to get used to and helps combats are very dynamic. We have a limited amount of weapons, basically one for each number on the keypad, but they are all very different from each other and all very helpful. The secondary characters, of which the majority of the time most hear only your voice, are all very interesting. Basically, we have a showcase title, which give us good hours of gameplay and we will keep it in our minds for long.

95

Brilliance made colours and sounds, a story worth telling

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Bioshock, where to start.... A piece of artistic madness, delicious musical input, colours and light everywhere, a solid and compound story filled with nice plot twists in the right places, a fairly nice arsenal, and the use of special abilities to turn the tide and fill some guys with lead. A really nice and user-friendly game, teaching you it's ways in interesting scenarios, in an utopian world, characters you are boud to never forget, gigantic men in metalic suits, trying to drill your guts out, mutated people trying to pluck your guts out, a crazy man trying to... you get the idea. "We all make choices. But in the end, our choices make us." ―Andrew Ryan

96

One of the best games of the decade

captainstark | June 7, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

Feel absorbed in the world of rapture, a mysterious underground city which will have you marveling at it's beauty.

92

There's nothing like Rapture

Forceflow | June 6, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

For me, this game is up there with the Half-Life series when it comes to engaging, atmospheric storytelling. From the moment you arrive in the underwater city of Rapture, you're entranced by the wonderful art-deco architecture, the signs that this was once a thriving city, and the state of decay all the beautiful locations are in.

You'll never forget your first encounter with a Big Daddy, and the scrapfights with the splicers can get pretty feisty, too. The combat is very meaty, and it's one of the few games where a second playthrough, using other weapons and powers, felt like it added value.

The pacing is slower than your average shooter, but that's because the level design demands to be gazed upon. On higher difficulties, it's also absolutely necessary to dig around for extra supplies.

In the visual department, it holds up pretty well when compared to today's standards. This was one of the first games to fully use the power of the Unreal 3 engine, with advanced water effects and good rendering of wet surfaces. Lighting also plays a very important role in this game, and it's executed beautifully.

Pick this up ASAP, you owe it to yourself.

90

Great game

triforce228 | June 3, 2013 | See all triforce228's reviews »

Bioshock is a must-have for a gamer.

90

Just brilliant

Wilcoxn | June 2, 2013 | See all Wilcoxn's reviews »

Bioshock is a great game. The story is great, the game play is fantastic and the whole underwater vibe is great.

95

Would you kindly buy this game?

SeverinMK | June 1, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

This game (or the whole Bioshock series) must be one of the best SP FPS of all time. The graphics look very good even today and the game runs exteremly smooth, voice acting is great too. As for gameplay, you're given 7 different weapons which all feel very different from each other and can be upgraded, there are also a lot of so called plasmid (think magic like powers only they're not magic) may it be one to ignite foes, trick them into helping you or send out a swarm of bees, the variety of plasmids is great and they can be used in a lot of ways. I don't want to say much about the story other than it's amazing and will probably blow your mind. The setting of the game is also very unique and the different places in this game all look gorgeous. A must buy if you like good stories and first person shooters.

100

One of the best games ever created

Shav | May 29, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Playing Bioshock is truely unforgettable experience. The first time you see the world of Rapture or encounter a Big Daddy will stay in your mind for long.

Developer menaged to create the world which is both charming and scary. Trust me, this game, even though isn't a regular survival horror has its shocking and frightening moments.

Mechanics-wise, this game is even better then the Bioshock Infinite, mostly thanks to the harder gameplay and bigger variety of plasmids (called vigors in infinite). Also, I prefered the darker atmophere of first Bioshock.

Even though this game was released in 2007 it hasn't aged at all! The graphics and sounds are still great and pleasant.

To sum things up - Bioshock is one of the greatest games ever created. It is worth every penny, so go on and get it, even for a full retail price.

95

Be Enraptured

OllyTrolly | May 26, 2013 | See all OllyTrolly's reviews »

BioShock is of course lauded as one of the best games of all time. This isn't because it's perfect, far from it, the best games often have huge blemishes, they just accomplish some things so well that people fall in love with the game. In BioShock's case, it's the absolute sense of place and the simultaneous wonder and shock as you explore and find out what has happened in this 'utopia'. Coupled with the horrific and oft-referenced revelation you make towards the end of the game that challenges part of the FPS genre itself, BioShock was an absolutely revolutionary game when it came out. And you'll most likely find it still is.

There also aren't many games that give me the willies, as games like Dead Space and Resident Evil are mainly horror - gore and nastiness to shock you. BioShock does this too, but also throws in some pure terror into the mix, you're surrounded by people that have gone insane, and you have no idea what they'll do. You meet some royally messed up people on your journey through Rapture, and they make everything so much more interesting (yet terrifying).

The combat system and the ending are arguably the weakest parts of the game, but neither are awful, just bad compared to the heights of the rest of the game. The plasmids are still interesting to use and well integrated into the story, and your choices will give you two different endings as well.

Overall, BioShock is a must play for anyone who enjoys games and immersing themselves in a new place - if you dislike horror then that may put you off, but trust me it's worth powering through and seeing what BioShock has to offer anyway.

91

One of the best game out there.

brenker99 | May 24, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

I don't have anything bad to say about this game. the story is Fun and twisty. You can finish it Twice or more and have the same Exitment like its first time ! 9/10 it would be a 10 if there would be more ending then 2 Lol

100

Oldie but Goodie

koppen | May 19, 2013 | See all koppen's reviews »

Even with Bioshock Infinite, this is easily still my FPS of the decade.

From a gameplay perspective, Bioshock shook so many things up for an FPS. Creative use of plasmids and varying guns allow for exciting gameplay. Enemies, like the Big Daddy, are great fun to play against.

From a mood and thematic setting, Bioshock is such a creepy game. I was truly afraind when I encountered my first Big Daddy. Rapture is a beautiful, eerie Eutopian world with its messed up under-belly. Entering rapture for the first time is such a memorable experience.

If you're looking for an FPS, but are sick of your Call-of-Dutys and Battlefields, this would perhaps invigorate your love for the genre once again.

90

Fantastic story, gameplay, RPG elements

DISCOMAN | May 15, 2013 | See all DISCOMAN's reviews »

This game is very good in many aspects. The gunplay is very good, the art and graphics are very beautiful and will hold up for a long time. The voice acting is excellent too.

The combat is very well done and has you using several guns which can be upgraded and 'hypos' which is basically a sort of magic gave to the player by injecting them into their body, its fuel for which is Adam and Eve, a sort of experience and mana played very well into the story and cleverly hinting at founding power.

I will not say much about the story as that needs to be experienced by the player themselves but I found it to be excellent and keeping you immersed within the game and its world.

Overall I really loved this game, and it made me a fan of the series back in 2007 and have replayed it a couple times (and its sequels) since.

95

A utopia separated from state and religion gone wrong...

NorBdelta | May 13, 2013 | See all NorBdelta's reviews »

Bioshock is a game set in the underwater city of Rapture post civil war, the city was founded on the beliefs of capitalism and the benefit man can create for oneself without religious or state persecution or intervention. Basically it started as such but after a time individuals sought their own control and power accumulation and the city fell into anarchy.

The game has a beautiful combat mechanic revolving around special abilities such as the control of fire and electricity as well as many more even more entertaining. The special abilities akin to magic are used in conjunction with standard weapons or fashioned ones (e.g. Machine gun, pistol, etc) and the grenade launcher, etc which has been made from junk and parts. The fashioned ones do not need to be made but have been built during the civil war. They are all upgradeable to further their effectiveness which adds considerable entertainment value to their enhanced effects.

Without any spoilers the main character you play as ends up in the city and quickly gets involved in the affairs of key individuals with a few very good story twists thrown in.

The game is extremely entertaining and has an excellent story as well as the mentioned twists. definitely a game on the list of Must Plays in the life of a gamer.

83

Wonderful game

britishlad | May 11, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

I was going to talk about how excellent the story is but I don't want to give anything anyway so I will onto gameplay. The combat in this game is good and uou can have many different weapons with different ammo types, you can genetically modify yourself with plasmids, the ability too shoot fire, electricity, ice etc. from your hands. You can also customize phyical tonics and engineering tonics and more.

But the best thing about this game is rapture. The city is beautiful, scary, strange. It is unlike anything i've seen in a game before, so unique. It perfectly resembles a world gone wrong, and it is just a mystery waiting to be solved. Bioshock is a linear game but you can explore to your hearts content, and when you do, you might discover some of rapture's secrets..

As good as this game is, it's far from perfect. The gameplay can become repetitive as the game get's further along. The combat could be better as you can only use one hand at once which isn't very logical. The game does lose some of it's initial mystery once your used to the rapture, and exploration could of been more of a factor, as i was itching to explore rapture fully, but there wasn't that much to explore.

Overall a great game in a unique world. The campaign can be completed within 10 hours

95

THE game everyone should own

TheGamePimp | May 3, 2013 | See all TheGamePimp's reviews »

BioShock is a fantastic game that is worth every cent. The atmosphere is perfect, the music (composed by Garry Schyman) fits beautifully, and the gameplay encourages creativity. There is only one downside to this masterpiece: the mouse was simply not meant for this game. Even at the lowest setting it feels weird. And I've had my experience with FPS games. Of course, you can play with a controller. Or resort to messing around with the game's files. Regardless of this little flaw, no one should miss out on BioShock. Rapture is a beautiful world that everyone should visit. You will be enraptured.

100

Best game ever

Custard2098 | April 30, 2013 | See all Custard2098's reviews »

This game is extreamly hard on your first playthrough due to the trickyness of switching between plasmids and weps. but once you get the hand of it you can concentrate on the real meat here, the horror. this game is exteamly scary which is unusual for a game nowerdays. buy this game. do not ignore it. just buy it.

94

Art.

pasinduthegreat | April 29, 2013 | See all pasinduthegreat's reviews »

Art. The game that made me see how a game could be simply a work of art. A submerged city, under the eyes of the world, the broken dream of a man gone wrong.

If you haven't played this game, you should. The narration, storytelling, voice acting is utterly top notch. The graphics aren't meant to look realistic, it was meant to look like a dark painting, like a guilty work of an artist, hidden up in the attic.

The gameplay is equally amazing, the concept of 'splicing' and Adam and Eve, being able to infuse your body with fire and lightning and other elements, being able to bend nature to your will brings about some amazing gameplay.

For the spiritual successor of System Shock 1 and 2, this game does not fail.

100

Amazing story line, followed with amazing game-play!

MrKieran | April 28, 2013 | See all MrKieran's reviews »

Bioshock brings amazing graphics for the time it was released in both me and my friend agreed that the graphics were amazing. The story line and game-play are also great as your always stuck with a cliffhanger, always wondering what's happened or happening. Amazing game, highly recommend it.

60

Not a fan.

The__Malteser | April 28, 2013 | See all The__Malteser's reviews »

I am a huge FPS fan, so after reading countless good reviews about the game, I decided to give it a try.

I saw sadly disappointed.

I feel lost and confused. I feel that I am spending much more time looking around to find bullets for my gun, rather than following the story. There is a lot of places to move around and get lost, which at first may be good (as you are free) it ends up being tedious and a bit annoying.

Its not all bad though. The graphics are good (considering its a bit old now) and the sound is top notch.

Still I feel I was a bit disappointed with it, and I am not sure I will move onto BioShock 2.

95

Shooter of the Decade

onewinged90 | April 8, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

"I am Andrew Ryan, and I am here to ask you a question. Is a man not entitled to the sweat of his brow? 'No,' says the man in Washington, 'it belongs to the poor.' 'No,' says the man in the Vatican, 'it belongs to God.' 'No,' says the man in Moscow, 'it belongs to everyone.' I rejected those answers. Instead, I chose something different. I chose the impossible. I chose...Rapture." - Andrew Ryan

That was the authoritative and yet welcoming speech presented to you when you first arrive at Rapture, an underwater city beneath the ocean. I played the game for the first time a few years ago, it was awesome. I played the game again before writing this review, it is still awesome.

Awesome points of the game: +The atmosphere of Rapture itself. It's dark and gritty truly adds the overall experience when playing the game. + A pinch of horror element is a welcomed addition. + Excellent storytelling, albeit the main protagonist does not speak anymore after prologue. + Plasmids, an equivalent to spells/magics are very fun to use. Saw an enemy? Set them ablaze with Incinerate and watch them jump into a puddle of water, then electrocute them. + Different ammo types to deal with different types of enemies. For example the anti-personnel rounds for splicers and armor-piercing rounds for the big daddies. + Big Daddies are challenging. In order to get to the Little Sister, you must first defeat the Big Daddy who accompanies her. The sense of intimidation and challenge really adds to the gameplay experience. + Audio diaries provide a more in depth storytelling, some hiding from plain sight so make sure you search every nook and cranny. Voice work of the game is phenomenal. + The power of making decisions that will affect the game's ending, thus making the game highly replayable.

Most notable downside of the game: - Mouse controls are not ported well. Even after patch v1.5, this is still not fixed by the developers. But pcgamingwiki.com could provide you with instructions on how to "fix" the problem. - Puzzle solving i.e. water pipe connector puzzle, can be very tedious as every hacking of machines/safes/security require the same puzzle solving. - Repeated animation when saving/harvesting the little sisters, can be tiresome to watch, but hell...more ADAM! - The PC port does not have any achievements in it, which is a let down for me.

Irrational Games truly delivers in this game, Bioshock stands tall in every aspect. Get this game since it is $20 price now, you would have your money well spent.