Reviews for BioShock (NA)

91

Great story

howard195 | Nov. 10, 2014 | See all howard195's reviews »

Picked this up in a bundle for less than $1. Since playing it, I realised this is a game worth paying at least $5. Doesn't sound like much, but this is coming from a guy who's pretty dang stingy. Doesn't feel so much like I'm just churning through levels, but rather progressing through a story. Little bit of good decisions vs evil decisions in the story. Great shooter made better by the plasmids. They remind of the force powers from the old jedi games. A lot of creative ways to defeat your enemy. Lots of good jump scares too. Worth playing.

95

Creepy.

RavenRayn | Oct. 28, 2014 | See all RavenRayn's reviews »

Creepy, Ominous, Unsettling, an Dark. These are words that can describe BioShock. The first time I saw this game, I was just a kid watching my older brother play shooting games with the occasional scare. Now, I just have to be amazed at how much this game still stands out in gaming. If you like a story, this is for you. If you want a good shooter, this is for you.

95

A flawed beauty

Lorddyran | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

Sometimes models and beautiful women have beauty marks - imperfections that just make their good looks stand out more. This game has its flaws, but the quality just stands out further, despite or even because of them.

Gameplay-wise, it's a pretty tight shooter with some neat powers and character-building options. It also has a silly "hacking" minigame that many point out as a flaw, and it has Vita Chambers (basically save points) that are too forgiving. Don't come into this game looking for a raw challenge, but enjoy the finely-tuned shooting, setting on fire, possessing, freezing, and other powers.

Story-wise, it's very basic but incredibly well-executed. The atmosphere is engrossing, the audio journals let you decide how much you want to be involved in the personalities, and everything complements very well. You probably know there's a twist, but it's one of the best twists I've come across, in gaming or otherwise.

Presentation-wise, it's gorgeous, with well-executed sounds and graphics and exceptional art design. There isn't much bad to say at all.

Long story short (too late), the game is absolutely worth playing.

90

Love this Game

lunarei919 | Aug. 19, 2014 | See all lunarei919's reviews »

I put off playing this game for a long time and I admit to regretting that now. Bioshock is an amazing game for many reasons, though I will admit to some drawbacks. The game has an engaging storyline that will have you questioning your actions from the start. It’s set in a world that is so fascinatingly twisted that you can’t help being absorbed. Drops litter the map, forcing you to explore every nook and cranny, which was surprisingly enjoyable. The weapons and special “plasmids” you get in the game allow for a diversity in playstyle: would you rather just blow things up with a grenade launcher or convince one of those lovely Big Daddy’s to kill everyone for you. The atmosphere is creepy enough to still keep your nerves strung several hours in. I will admit, the controls take some getting used to. I can’t tell you the number of times I went to fire a weapon only to switch between them. You get better at it overtime, but it’s still frustrating early game.

Despite the one complaint, I’d still recommend this game in a heartbeat.

97

Story worth playing

yngdr | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

The game takes place in Rapture during 1960's. Like any society without rules, it fell apart. The developers did an amazing job with creating this atmosphere to completely submerge you into the game. The story is packed with relevant information that both helps and enhances the play-through. Packed into this game are great graphics with scarce ammunition and enemies that jump from nowhere, sounds lead to a spooky environment too. One of the greater twists of the game is the psychological aspect of the game delving into the mind of humans and what we are capable of given the wrong moral choices and views.

95

Worthy of the praise

Jericho417 | Aug. 9, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

The atmosphere in Rapture is so good. It's a place that's decaying and falling apart, which you can see all around you. The story is really great, even messing with your head a bit. Combat feels well done and I really enjoyed the powers you unlock. Through out the game, you get the choice of how you treat the Little Sisters. It was always a bit unnerving having the little girls act as they did, when you were taking the adam from them. It paints a picture of just how brutal the others in Rapture may have treated them. Big Daddies were a hassle to deal with, when they just wanted to protect the little girls.

93

A Dark, Haunting, and Unforgettable Game

fuzeblu | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all fuzeblu's reviews »

Bioshock is one of the few games that blends excellent story telling, haunting ambiance, RPG, and shooter elements into a mold players can sink their teeth into. The world, set beneath the sea in a dystopian city called Rapture, sets the stage into eeriness immediately. The NPCs are grotesque and mad, perfect compliments to a city torn to shreds. Player plasmid abilities are fantastic. Who doesn't want to send a swarm of bees at an enemy's face? The music and artwork are big draws to this game. The early 1900's setting and sound lends a sense of surrealism and brings the player deeper into the world of Rapture. The game does suffer a bit from awkward combat. You can only use either a plasmid or weapon at a time, which makes switching styles less smooth. The enemies can get tedious with lack of variety, and sometimes the "quests" double back unnecessarily. However, Bioshock is by far one of the best games in the genre, and if you haven't played it yet, would you kindly go and do so?

99

The best story in gaming

PootisMcPoot | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all PootisMcPoot's reviews »

A very dark and twisted, but deep storyline. A world that draws you in a slowly throttles any sense of hope. Great gameplay and immersive environments. Amazing writing and dialogue. This game is almost mythical in reputation, and I must say it deserves it. While the heaviness of the game's story makes it hard to play more than an hour or two at a time, that hour will be one of the creepiest, most intensely thought-provoking experiences you've ever had in gaming. Gameplay is straight survival horror. Ammunition is scarce, environments are spooky, enemies are creepy and often appear behind you when you don't expect it. More horrifying, though, is the cerebral aspect of the game, which demonstrates many twisted viewpoints of the world and of human morality. Gunplay is tight, exploring is spooky but addictive, and the sound design, art, and music for this game are peerless. Truly a masterpiece of modern gaming.

98

A must play!

Stephunnay | July 25, 2014 | See all Stephunnay's reviews »

This game takes place in the 1960s and is set after the downfall of the underwater city, Rapture. Like any utopian society, it falls apart. The creators did an amazing job with creating this atmosphere that will simply make you forget about the outside world. When playing you completely submerge yourself into the game and all the elements that make it great. There's so much information and story packed into this game and it's truly incredible. This game makes you think and leaves you wanting to know more and more. All three games are great and I suggest playing them all. You'll be missing out if you don't.

89

Truly a great game!

friendbear70 | July 21, 2014 | See all friendbear70's reviews »

Wow, this game is FANTASTIC. The graphics are great, even on a low setting. There are constantly things jumping out at you, sounds that catch you off guard. This game keeps you at your toes, ready to face whatever danger lies ahead. If you only have 20 dollars, this is definitely the game you have to get!

The music and sounds are great. The plot is great. The suddenness and the monsters are fantastic. You will be begging to play the sequel when you finish.

There is only 1 bad thing that bug me. It is really creepy. Not for the weak. And it is really slow on laptops.

97

A Masterpiece

884okeoJ | June 30, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

A spiritual successor to System Shock, Bioshock is one of the greatest games ever made. The atmosphere is absolutely perfect, with Rapture being one of the most vividly imagined gaming worlds ever made. The gunplay is excellent, giving you access to both plasmids and conventional weapons in a way where you can use both in an extremely satisfying manner. The story is fantastic, and the soundtrack is haunting, fitting the overall mood of the game perfectly. Bioshock's graphics still hold up today, and the game runs perfectly fine on any number of PCs without frame drops. One of the most unique experiences in gaming, Bioshock is a must-play.

95

A must play game

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | See all bcf623's reviews »

It is a few years old now, and if you have not played any games in this series yet, then you must do so immediately. This game is very well received for a reason; because it is straight up amazing. The game features an extreme level of immersion in the underwater world of Rapture that is set in the early 1900s. The story and exploration of the game will keep your eyes glued to the screen from the start, and the very enjoyable and fun gameplay will keep you having fun until the end.

98

One of the Best Storylines in Gaming History

cedarson | April 13, 2014 | See all cedarson's reviews »

I never really got into Bioshock when it first came out. Later last year, I ended up getting Bioshock Infinite in a bundle just because I really wanted the other game at a great price. So, one night I decided to give Infinite a go, and I was sucked into the universe from there. Bioshock is a classic in modern gaming. Rarely have I played a game that drew me in and kept me in such immersion as the storyline and gameplay of Bioshock. It is a rare treat to play a game such as this. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

93

Welcome to Rapture

Pr0SparUs | April 10, 2014 | See all Pr0SparUs's reviews »

A nitty gritty, beautifully wretched, dark and wonderfully creepy experience. This game will withstand the test of time and continue to produce an increasingly large following as the years go by, and more people get the opportunity to experience this game.

The game places melee weapons, plasmids [a magic-esque mechanic], and ranged weapons to progress through the world of rapture, eliminating the lost inhabitants there within, in order to find out exactly who you are, where you are from, and how the heck you ended up in Rapture in the first place?

This game is absolutely fantastic in every regard, and needs to be at the top of your list for games to play (if you haven't already).

Well I guess this concludes my review, so I guess I'll end it with one simple question: Would you kindly go and pick up a copy of this game?

95

Intense atmosphere

TheTanko | Feb. 15, 2014 | See all TheTanko's reviews »

This game has by far the most captivating atmosphere. The game takes place in a utopia-turned-dystopia named Rapture, filled with crazies all over the place and the iconic Big Daddies. Basic premise: run around, try to find a way out, don't die. Along the way, don't curl up in a corner in cry; seriously, the intensity of the atmosphere can get overwhelming at times. The gameplay is varied and challenging, the atmosphere intense, and overall presents a very compelling story in which you must make choices you'd rather not as you witness the same choices being made by others. It's a game designed to make you think, and you will spend a lot of time away from the game thinking about all the things you see and do. It's one creepy game, but more than worth it.

97

Awesome game

clstrife16 | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all clstrife16's reviews »

This game is a little slow to start but if you give it about an hour or so it will have you hooked. It is very reminiscent of the old System Shock games which I loved. It can be a little jarring at first the way the enemies come rushing at you trying to bash your skull in but that makes it all the more exciting. The environment can be very creepy and amazing at the same time. If I were to give you one suggestion it would be to try and find all of the recordings to learn as much about the world of Rapture as you can. You will not be disappointed.

100

A classic game that still holds up.

pyjamasbox | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all pyjamasbox's reviews »

Apart of one of the greatest recent years in gaming (2007), Bioshock is a killer horror-esque classic set in an underwater city in the early 1900's. While it's a bit aged at this point, the 2007 classic still holds up well enough from a visual and atmospheric standpoint. You can expect perfectly executed puzzle, exploration, and intense first person action oriented gameplay that is complemented by an incredible twisty-turny style story. If you've never experienced BioShock before, i suggest you do so immediately.

90

Reviewershock: Welcome to Rapture

koticpaxx | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

Oooooooh yes. Oooohhhh yes. Alright, ye who has a weird mind, time to focus. Bioshock. Hmmm. Where to start? Oooooo, WELCOME TO RAPTURE.

Bioshock is an awesome game that BRILLIANTLY meshes gameplay and story beautifully. Too adjectives describing the same thing, eh why not? Lets start with the presentation. The beautiful underwater city of Rapture is amazing to look at but horrible to live in. With many dark secrets, it is your job to find out what this beautiful city terribly hold secret. The gameplay is fun. The element of first-person shooter and plasmids (powers, basically) is amazing. I only wish that you could have them both out at the same time. The story is awesome, and really captivates you.

I'd say this game is a must have for die-hard game collectors, as it will be a beautiful addition, along with its sequels. This game can be quite difficult (for me atleast) as some of the quest markers are confusing. This game also has its bugs and glitches which can be distracting, but don't let it take away the beautiful masterpiece which is Bioshock.

I know GreenManGaming, not my usual review. I'm tired okay? ;)

90

An in-depth shooter that is top notch.

homes223 | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all homes223's reviews »

Story: Deep. So Deep. That you must play it to experience it's Depth.

Graphics: Amazing. A great art style also. So Pretty.

Audio: Creepy and really make you feel like you are in Rapture.

Missions: Very open-ended.

Controls: Better on the PC and easy to switch from Weapons to Plasmid, Etc.

Features: Most everything in the world is interactable, Mod-Able Weapons, Many different plasmids, tonics, etc.

A.I.: Very smart. They work around and with the world of Rapture in an attempt to put you down.

Loading Times: Long depending on your PC.

Multiplayer: None. And that isn't necessarily a bad thing.

Requirements: Fairly high but there are work arounds for Shader 2.0 video cards.

Weapons: Mod-Able. Your average FPS weapons with many twists and extras such as different types of ammo and add-ons.

The Good: The whole experience of this game and how you are immersed in Rapture.

The Bad: Requirements are a little rough but other than that nothing.

The Ugly: Your Enemies, the splicers. Blah.

Replay Ability: High.

The Bottom Line: Buy This. A must buy for 2007.

90

Rapture: A Nice Place to Visit But You Don't Wanna Live There

mulletov | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all mulletov's reviews »

The original Bioshock is an amazing story driven FPS that combines elements of exploration, RPG, and twitch gunplay to deliver a near perfect game. The controls are so tight and responsive that I was able to play it using an Xbox controller where I usually prefer to play shooters with the mouse+keyboard. The game immediately submerses you in its world from the get go and you discover Rapture as a failed utopia. There is a lot of action as you kill splicers, big daddies, turrets, and many other freakish Rapture inhabitants. Yet there are also some slower paced exploration and puzzle solving moments scattered throughout the game to give you some breathing room and work your mental muscles. I particularly liked the hacking minigames which resembled Pipe Dream. You can also level up your character with special tonics to give you superhuman abilities in addition to your gun skills. This was quite fun and really helps in combat. The story is amazing as well with a great twist at the end that I did not see coming. If you like games with purpose and great storytelling, Bioshock is a definite must buy.

84

I Don't Know

chataolauj | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

People said that this is a HAVE to play game, and one of the best ever, but I just think it's okay. I know it's just me, because I'm not much of a straight up shooter type of person. I play and play, but I don't find myself drawn into the game. The battles seem repetitive and there's not much of character interaction, but maybe I'm wrong since I've only played half-way through the game. I find if difficult for me to finish it, but I don't like playing games then just stopping out of nowhere. Maybe I'll like once I finish it, but we'll see. A times I do like it though, so I do recommend it if you're looking for some kind of shooter.

96

Wonderful Game

Percyro | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all Percyro's reviews »

This game is amazing. I will admit it is a little slow to get into the story at first, but it gets better the farther in you get. The setting is absolutely amazing. The first time I saw the beautiful underwater city I was in awe. For the time it was released the game has pretty good graphics. The game mechanics are also good. You basically have different fire arms, melee weapons, and plasmids and there is plenty of variety. The enemies aren't too difficult and the game overall is amazing. The only downsides are the game takes a bit to get into the ending seemed really weak and anti-climactic. Other than that it's great! Highly recommend!

94

Very Cool.

friendbear70 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all friendbear70's reviews »

I play this game with my sister. We love it a lot. We have not tried the 2nd one or the Infinite. But we play this game and we enjoy it. I like the fact there are random voices that pop out to alert you there are enemies near by. Usually in most FPS games, they have something pop up on the screen. Also, unlike most FPS games, this game his an awesome plot and story line. They way you play this game is unique with all the different weapons you can use along with your powers. The settings though are very dark and depressing. And the creatures are very creepy. I definitely will not recommend this game to anyone who gets scared easily. Overall, great game, great graphics, great everything.

90

Under the Sea...Play this NOW

faerie241 | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all faerie241's reviews »

This game is fantastic, and that is really all there is to it. The graphics are fantastic, because even though it was a game released years ago, they still hold up pretty well to modern titles. Of course, the story is the number one thing that anyone picking up a Bioshock title should expect, and it does not disappoint. The game's plot line will take the player on a trip through the underwater dystopian world that will not be forgotten.

The only negative aspect to this game is that the combat is a tad bit simplistic and dated feeling, which is probably due to the fact that the game is actually pretty old now and combat mechanics can be done better. Also, this game does sometimes struggle to run on newer machines, so be wary of that when buying this game. All in all, highly recommended for an all-around good time!

100

A Game That Will Define a Generation

bnamsrom | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all bnamsrom's reviews »

As Irrational games often does, Bioshock couples great gameplay with equally great storytelling. I bought Bioshock the day it was released, really going out on a limb in terms of whether or not this game would actually deliver. I am glad I took my chances. That was a few years back now, and I have seldom played any game since that has come near the experience of the original Bioshock. Combining roleplaying and shooting mechanics with a rich, dystopian atmosphere filled with interesting characters, one would surely be missing out on a true piece of video game history if he or she ignored this one.

80

A unique ride through a disturbing world

GoldenSaint | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all GoldenSaint's reviews »

The BioShock Trilogy, especially the first installment is worth playing. When the game was released it was a great blend of action and story. With unique weapons and these things called plasmids. They give you sort of like super powers nd you can do things liek dispatch enemies with bees coming out of your arms/ All in all it is a solid game but I dont think the game has held up that well since there are many great games that have come out since then.

100

A world of wonder under the sea

Harry_276 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Harry_276's reviews »

From the moment you enter Rapture to when you leave you are imprinted upon by a world you can't really believe. A game that has aged well and will continue to do so it, in my mind, can't be praise enough for its story, setting, originality, and over all experience that it has giving me that no other game to date has. The creators have seem to realize its the little things that matter and they get just as much attention as any major detail, leading to an experience that is refined down to its very nuts and bolts (pun intended).

Why are you still reading this review, get the game, that is all I can say, and you will not be disappointed.

100

Why haven't you played this yet?

rayskub | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all rayskub's reviews »

Bioshock takes place in the distinguished underwater utopia of Rapture. Andrew Ryan, founder of rapture, created this fantasy land in hopes of creating an environment where science cannot be held back by the grips of morality. With that, Rapture spirals into a civil war over the immoral gene-splicing, A.D.A.M. and Plasmids.

Let me start out by saying that this game is worth every penny. It offers a unique experience, and it is definitely is not your average FPS. Bioshock will thrill you with it's environment; the graphics are amazing for it's time, and it is still up-to-par with games today. When was the last time you saw a game take place in an underwater city? But the graphics is just a bonus compared to the twitch-styled gameplay. Hack machines, use powerful combinations of Plasmids, and a variety of guns will help you find your style. If you're one of the boneheads who played Infinite before this, I would still highly recommend trying Bioshock (the plot is not linear between Bioshock and Infinite). The gameplay is almost identical, but it should be taken note that this game is very dark compared to Bioshock Infinite. If you're looking for a FPS with a great plot and a beautiful, grim-dark setting, you just found what you're looking for.

91

Great Storytelling, fun, dark world.

TheArtOfShazzam | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all TheArtOfShazzam's reviews »

This game allows you to develop your own methods for dealing with the things that go bump under the sea. I chose a wrench for most of my encounters, you can use guns or "magic" effectively to do the same thing. The versatility of enemies and the different set pieces make for an excellently paced game. The combat was more that just workable, it was truly fun. The story though, is where this game shines. If you haven't played it yet but are thinking that you're spoiled, you don't care about an old game, etc. Pick it up. It's great. I played it years after Bioshock 2 came out and still found it to be one of the most memorable gaming experiences I've had. Truly a labor of love.

85

A very unique game

EKS666 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all EKS666's reviews »

Even though this game is an action FPS, it really doesn't seem like it. It goes beyond the expectations of the genre, adding so much in terms of RPG elements, ability combinations, and skill building that it becomes more like an RPG than an FPS, but not as much as games like Borderlands of Fallout 3. The custom engine that this game runs on takes a lot to get used to, which makes the beginning half of the game pretty frustrating, but the extremely original and immersive world and the good storytelling is enough to keep you invested.

There are a few things that drag this game down though, such as the weird custom engine that I mentioned, and also a few other things. The system of vita chambers and having no penalty for dying, plus the hard difficulty when trying to kill a big daddy seems very odd, especially when trying to kill a big daddy. I've never played a game where you can basically go though the entire game on the hardest difficulty, without building any skills or learning how to play the game properly, and still make it to the end.

95

Take to the Water

CoillyZ | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

Bioshock is the spiritual successor to the System Shock series. It already had a great basis, but it surpassed and became something more. The survival horror elements and the RPG mechanics made it more than a normal FPS.The twist is one of the greatest I've seen in any game. Now, would you kindly buy this game.

86

Wonderful game

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

The original Bioshock will go down as one of the best games this generation if not one of the best games of all time. The creepy setting of Rapture and crazy enemies keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the game. The story starts off with yoru character crash landing and being taken away to Rapture and as you get there you soon find out something isn't right about it. The shooting is very good and tight for an earlier generation game , that wasn't expected and the RPG elements are actually incorporated very well. You can have multiple powers to help your character throughout the game, as well as looting corpses to gather ammunition for the multiple weapons you can find in the game. Theres a level of replayability as well because you can either harvest or safe the little sisters and doing so will give you 3 different endings. Each play through will take roughly 10 hours or so, but its a great experience and well worth buying.

100

A great and fun game

Knctrnl1 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Knctrnl1's reviews »

I only briefly played it when it came out. I got it when I preordered Bioshock Infinite. Started playing it in anticipation and it is such a great game even with its age now. It was definately worth the playthrough while I waited on Infinite to come out. It is also usually on sale cheap or in a pack so definately worth grabbing if you have never played it.

92

An Amazingly Well Made Game

cricketlenny | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all cricketlenny's reviews »

When I first played Bioshock, I was relatively new to shooters, so my lack of experience within the genre made this game all the more wonderful. I had never experienced such well designed worlds, such intelligent writing, or any other game that could parallel my time playing Bioshock. The gameplay is simple yet deep: use your upgradeable weapons and powers to fight against enemies and fulfill the goals and missions given to you. Plasmids are very fun powers to use, and the limited slots for equipping them make the game much more challenging since you have to decide which ones are right for the next situation. The guns are a blast to use also, with the alternative ammo types giving the game a more tactical feel to it along with the plasmids. The RPG elements are not very deep, but since this is a shooter first and an RPG second, its not an issue in my opinion. The story is great, and very well written, but to avoid spoilers and to make sure the experience is as grand for you as it was for me, I will not mention anything about the story. I will say, however, that it is inspired by themes used in the work of Ayn Rand, so expect some political philosophy. With a great atmosphere to back up a well written story, as well as fun to use gameplay mechanics, Bioshock can easily be called one of the greatest shooters of the generation. In regards to the score of 92, the reason it is not 100 is for 2 reasons. The first reason being that hacking is done with a "Pipe Madness" inspired minigame, and it can be tedious and could lead to a break in immersion, as it stops time around you as long as you are within the hacking interface. The second reason this game doesn't get 100 is that the upgrades for the plasmids are only numerical, as it increases the power of you abilities, but it doesn't expand upon your abilities. Final Word: Buy this game, you have to see it for yourself, its a truly amazing game.

90

Intense and Fun!

Kevduit | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

I've played this game for some time now, and I've found that it just captivates the imagination when playing it. The idea behind the game is absolutely nothing like any other game, it's beautiful AND disturbing. The gameplay I seemed to enjoy, but there was a lack of guns, well, you could have all the guns in the game in your inventory, but where's the fun of buying or upgrading weapons and such? (I suppose they left that for the next games) But it was overall a really fun game. It could be quite scary at moments (which is what it should be) and I found myself at the edge of my seat sometimes! It was a very good game, a game that can be played through quite a few times!

92

A very unique game

nightassassin1 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

I wanted to play this game ever since it was announced, but it took until January 2013 for me to finally get my chance, and even with the game being a little dated it was a pretty great play. It kind of reminds me of Deus Ex, but with a darker feel. The artwork of the game is dark and suspenseful adding to the effect of a biological civil war aftermath game. The combination of shooter and augmentations go together pretty well for some reason and make for an interesting play.

This is not just another shooter RPG. It has such an interesting and unique play compared to most other RPG shooters. The mysterious and interesting story gets a 9/10 from me and it is best left untold, leaving you to find out what the story is for yourself. It kind of ruins the game if you know the story.

The only down point of the game is the repeated tedious hacking that goes on. It gets annoying and time consuming later in the game and just kind of hinders the gameplay rather than fuels it.

If you like mysterious and dark FPS-RPG games then this is for you.

84

Great game that lives up to its legendary status

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Bioshock is a game that immerses you in it's world. It gives you choices to make that you really are torn on what to do. From the period correct music to the visuals, it really draws you in. Only problem I had with the game is that at times it can become a little repetitive in it's gameplay. It is very fun gameplay though and the game concludes before it becomes overly stale. Great game that every gamer should have in thier library.

90

One of the best games I've ever played

rsand27 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all rsand27's reviews »

Bioshock is one of the best games I've ever played. It's the creepiest game I've played since the original Silent Hill on PS1. The underwater city contributes to a claustrophobic environment. The enemies in this game aren't just mindless grunting zombies. You often walk in on them talking to each other, arguing or fighting with each other, working on some machine. Even though they clearly have a psychotic monster mentality to them, they still seem to go on about their business at times. It's creepy when they sing. Anything the Little Sisters say is especially creepy.

The art style is fantastic. Really good graphics for a game from 2007. And I enjoyed the music selection for the game. It gives age to a science-fiction style underwater city full of genetic experimentation. The best is when you turn on a jukebox and it plays "How Much is That Doggy in the Window" because it's so completely inappropriate for the setting. It just adds to the strangeness.

The game controls great. I'm not a big fan of first-person games, but climbing, jumping, pressing buttons, collecting items, and simple navigation like walking and crouching are all perfectly executed. Most enemies don't sprint around you, which makes it easy on the stomach for those who suffer motion sickness. I found the game to be more about slow exploration than fast-paced shooting.

There is a good variety of weapons and "plasmids" which are basically superpowers. You can easily switch between plasmid and weapon with the right mouse button. As in most games you can mouse-scroll to change weapons or click the corresponding number on the keyboard. There is a "damage research" system that lets you take photographs of enemies to build up research points, which turns into bonus damage as you complete the research tiers. You can upgrade your weapons at upgrade stations and you upgrade your plasma by spending Adam, which is acquired from Little Sisters. You can choose to harvest or rescue the Little Sisters. I recommend rescue. The rewards were sweet.

Bioshock is more than just combat. The more you explore, the more tape recorders you find, which reveal more of the story. There isn't much in terms of puzzles. The game points you in the right direction with a flashing arrow. Items of interest are obviously highlighted. Hacking is the main "puzzle" side of the game. You can hack vending machines, security bots, and safes through a mini-game. Hacking security bots and turrets makes them work for you.

I played on easy, because I really don't play FPS games and my backlog of games is too large to get hung up on a single game too long. Easy setting was EXTREMELY easy. I never died and the final boss was a joke. As I progressed, I needed to buy less and less supplies. After a while I couldn't even collect money anymore before my wallet was full. Using the invisibility plasmid also makes the game significantly easier. You can hide from monsters and more importantly security bots. If you trigger an alarm you can just stand still (and invisible) until the timer ticks down.

The best part of this game is the story. It is interesting with an amazing plot twist. I'm not going to say much about the story. No spoilers on that one.

89

A wonderful and memorable experience, but not for gameplay

FhexSans | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

BioShock has to be one of my top favorite games that I have ever played. The reason for this isn't necessarily the gamplay. The gunplay is a bit clunky, but passable; the AI is a bit dull at times; Big Daddies can be incredibly easy to dispatch if you know how to deal with them; the graphics can be quite dated at time especially when it comes to some of the models; and the ending was really much to be desired.

However, regardless of all those, I still found myself replaying it... 7 times to be exact. The question is why? The atmosphere is just perfect, for starters! The main story is a bit simplistic, but the backstory to Rapture and to many of the events surrounding it... I just loved it! The city of Rapture itself was beautifully designed as well, and I must applaud them for that. Not to mention, it can be quite fun to replay the game with different strategies, like only using the original wrench for the rest of the game or using Security Beacon or Enrage for the whole game... it can make it quite fun!

I'd love to give it a perfect score just because of the love I have for this game, but I can't in good faith give it that due to some of its numerous flaws. Still, I have to recommend this highly!

80

Solid game

bl2k3 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all bl2k3's reviews »

A single player fps that also has some RPG elements. The story and setting are both really good, but some parts of the gameplay can become very repetitive. I've heard there is a possible of 3 alternate endings as well, so that's a plus.

The strongest RPG elements in this game are the plasmids. The plasmids add a lot of replayability seeing as how every time you come back to this game, you can play your character out different.

The weakest part of the game for me is the hacking. Hacking becomes a huge hassle later on. It's okay at the start, kind of a cool concept, but then with how much you have to continually hack things, it becomes a huge bore.

All of the guns and gun upgrades are pretty fun to use. There's not too much to elaborate on, but I do recommend to use the upgraded ammo eventually since it will really come in handy.

Some quests can be quite enjoyable, but a lot are just really annoying fetch quests with backtracking. Thankfully you can find diaries along the way to learn more of the story to make it more enjoyable.

Pretty good game, but I don't think it's that amazing like most people have told me. If you can buy this on sale though, it will be well worth the price.

94

Great Adventure Game

friendbear | July 31, 2013 | See all friendbear's reviews »

This game is amazing! The graphics are stunning. Everything is very, very detailed. They got the shading and what everything looks like just right. Their setting options have a very wide variety too. You can set item glow on, and other stuff like that. If you are a beginner in first person shooters, this game is great for training your reaction time. This game is not scary, but nor is it lame. Perfect for ages 13 and up!

95

Great

Dimber | July 29, 2013 | See all Dimber's reviews »

Bioshock is just flat out great. The entire first act is told throughout the second act, and the second act is told completely through the gameplay. Though the story goes on farther than it should and the real ending is pathetic, it's a fun exploration of a city under the water. It's one for the halls in gaming history.

80

Great game but not perfect

UberGeekGamer | July 15, 2013 | See all UberGeekGamer's reviews »

I've been waiting for this game since I saw it in Game Informer a long time ago and when that day finally came I was as happy as a squirrel with a sack of nuts. I started the game and was amazed by the pure eye candy that was the graphics; the water effects looked better then any other game I've played before, level textures were great, and the only real graphics that weren't awesome was the faces. As I continued on I started to notice what was the real appeal that drew me in to System Shock and F.E.A.R. which was the very atmospheric and creepy music and sound effects which scared me a couple times and the voice acting was also awesome and gave all the characters real depth. The guns in the game felt great even though they were really standard for a FPS and the addition of Plasmids (genetic power ups that gave you lightning, fire, ice, telekinesis. etc.) were great at first but became a novelty pretty quick because I was really only using the lightning bolt the majority of the time. Story is what kept me going (as it should have 'cause it is a single player game only) and getting the good ending, while short, was great and rewarding. Over all it's a great game but not as great as say Half-Life 2 but a must buy/play none the less.

85

Narrative delivers an incredible experience

badgersmacker | July 11, 2013 | See all badgersmacker's reviews »

There are few high budget titles these days that can provide an immersive ludonarrative experience, and Bioshock is among this happy few. Without spoiling anything, the game is not your conventional first-person shooter – indeed, it actually tries to turn that idea on its head. It accomplishes this by placing the story arc, an existentialist journey through the world of Andrew Ryan, above that of core gameplay. That is to say, the narrative is the emphasis of this game, and for those who are particularly academic or literary, there is much to be appreciated.

The inherent problem, however, with this redirection of attention, is that the gameplay is not anything revolutionary or particularly noteworthy. The arsenal can almost be directly compared with that of Gordon Freeman in Half-Life 2, if you were swap out the crowbar for a wrench (perhaps an intentional reference). Plasmids are the non-firearm option, and are akin to spells or superpowers. They do offer some more interesting playstyles, but some are incredibly situational. Puzzles are occasionally thrown in there, and are either simplistic (use fire plasmid to melt the ice on this door) or downright annoying (mid to late-game hacking mini-games, which consist of connecting and redirecting a series of pipe pieces to complete the flow of liquid, become near impossible).

The last quarter of Bioshock also suffers with regard to the plot. There is the big, climactic twist—a very original one too—that really complements the ludonarrative, but it is then followed by two or three weak chapters that fall flat on their face in terms of storyline momentum. The antagonist becomes a cartoon character and seemingly evil only for the sake of being evil, the difficulty only increases in the sense that more goons are being thrown at you, and all the while you just want to process that plot twist that was just pulled on you. The main gripe here is that the resolution does not come quickly enough, and when it does, it is laughably generic and arguably inappropriate for the game.

The memorable parts of Bioshock, however, certainly outweigh the post-revelation slump. The game delivers an incredible experience because of its immersion, and curiosity will drive you to learn more about Andrew Ryan's dystopian Rapture. Bioshock is a great game, perhaps just shy of being an outstanding game due to a few issues, mainly gameplay elements that are simply par for the course. Still, the near-masterful creation of the narrative has generated discussion even five years later, and for that, it deserves the highest of praise.

88

Great game

sadlerd | July 4, 2013 | See all sadlerd's reviews »

At first I was septic about this game whether it's good or not. I know have more then 10 hours of gameplay and I must I enjoyed every last minutes spent. The story is interesting, good graphics, sounds and gameplay is really nice cuz there is always a different way to achieve your goal and the game itself is not repetitive

90

A must buy for -any- gamer.

SethGrey | July 3, 2013 | See all SethGrey's reviews »

Truly a masterpiece when it comes to gaming, Bioshock is a First Person Action RPG and the first of three in the series. I won't go into detail about the plot of the story for obvious spoiler reasons, but the story sucks you into a deep and immersive world, and when the writers bring out a twist it smacks you right in the face without warning, but it fits. Plot twists aren't tossed in for the sack of plot twists, they're carefully crafted to fit the needs of the story.

The gameplay is your standard FPS shoot enemies in the face, but with two twists. One is simply each gun has three types of ammo that work well on certain types of enemies. Two is your get access to Plasmids, which either passively improve your skills or allow to shoot lighting, fire, or freeze your enemies. Sadly when it comes to passive Plasmids you'll find the few that work for you and stick with them, rarely changing them out for different kinds.

The only major flaw in the game from my view is the hacking mini-gaming, it's a tedious puzzle that makes you create a pipe path to point A. to point B. before the water hits the end of your pipe, and while easy early on, late game it gets harder and harder to the point where there's no possible way to complete it. There are Plasmids to make it easier, so you'll grab those and never look back.

There's too much to talk about in this game to state in a short review, and I could go on and on about the game's strengths, but I suggest you find out for yourself by buying the game. It is well worth the $20 and plays well with both a wired Xbox360 controller and a keyboard and mouse, and if you ever see this game on sale and don't have it, well that's all the more reason to buy it.

I give this game a 90/100 for good story, good gameplay, but tack points off for a tedious but avoidable hacking mini-game, and stale passive Plasmids. This has been Seth Grey, good gaming to you all!

67

Pretty Good

LunarMemories | July 1, 2013 | See all LunarMemories's reviews »

It is an interesting Steam-Punk style game. It is a little odd, and would like you to diverge a lot of time and energy into the game (More so than the general user may intend). Overall I think it is interesting. I only finished part of this game, because the story got too crazy for me. You definitely have to be a person who enjoys a game's story to complete this game.

95

A beautifully written story and more!

chad0605 | June 30, 2013 | See all chad0605's reviews »

First getting this game on the Xbox 360, I was skeptical at first, but once you play, the game puts you in rapture and you end up loving this game. Great pacing, twists that actually got me in awe, and gameplay that actually got me to fall in love with this game the 10th time I played this game!

This game's story is probably the most fantastic telling of a story of a forgotten city under the sea. I love all the characters. Rapture's past is best put as a story that this world has yet to discover.

Gameplay wise, this game is a smash hit in all ways, a hint a puzzle, a hint of running and gunning, and a bit of strategy, but doesn't act like a puzzle piece forced into another, they fit so well together!

95

A Masterpiece on many Levels

DocNuka | June 26, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

I love this game. Everything from the deep political/economic overtones to the fast and addictive gunplay which combines good ol' fashioned lead spitting with genetic mutations that allow you to shoot fire, electricity, bees, and much more from your palms. The world Ken Levine creates, the underwater dystopic Ayn Rand-esque society is one of the best I've ever seen in a video game. Though some of the FPS mechanics aren't perfect, Bioshock takes a great story, great gameplay, great characters, and mixes them all up to create one of the best games of this gen, and one of the best I've ever played.

97

Great solo game

aumikre | June 25, 2013 | See all aumikre's reviews »

It took me years, but after watching a Bioshock: Infinite let's play, I decided I would try out Bioshock itself, and I'm so glad I did. The action is non-stop, and there are so many different ways to play with the weapons at your disposal. The characters are interesting and the sudden reveals towards the end of the game will take you by surprise (provided you haven't been reading spoilers like I did, haha). Bioshock is a well-rounded and fantastic game, and I definitely recommend it.

95

You owe it to yourself to BUY THIS GAME!

ctp94wakko | June 24, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

BUY IT! This game is one of the most atmospheric games I have ever played, and that's a good thing since the games spotlight is the focused on the atmosphere throughout the game. A first-person shooter set in an underwater city opens up a world of trouble and discovery for the gamer as he/she traverses this mysterious underwater world. While the shooting may be the weakest part of this beautiful game, the combat system is supported by the introduction of plasmids in which you can electrocute an enemy or send them flying into the air. The graphics are great and work well with the creepy undertone of the setting. Every sound in the game will make you cringe or look around every corner before you venture to ensure that you're not at the receiving end of a splicer. Big Daddies are a great use as mini-bosses throughout and it is up to the player whether or not the reward of facing such a fiend is greater than the risk. Buy this game if you love shooters! Buy this game if you love the story aspect of a game! Buy this game if you want to play a game with great immersion and discover a world that lived all on its own under the water!

95

Bliss

Sivisx | June 19, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

Upon returning to this game after several years I was really amazed by how much it still holds up. I had played this back when it was exclusive to XBox and the Elite was a brand new whose who club. So after playing the Sequel ten times over I decided to return to the original and had completely forgotten just how morbid this was. I mean fuckin dark, the second was gory and all but this was a serious snuff film compared to it.

I'm not even going to do my usually complaining because this beauty holds a place in my heart full of nostalgia. Good story, great gameplay and creepy blood drenched atmosphere.

However this game has a third installment now, so the price that 2K is asking for is outrageous. If you are a fan of the second or just looking for a game.. this is one to set aside some cash for, unless it is on sale which you need to get it then.

84

Great story and gameplay

lok0812 | June 18, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is the first installment of the series. The game itself is pretty great in terms of story. The story is similar to any other type FPS, shoot and magic attack. Along the story there are upgrades and perks you can purchase to further strengthen your character. One thing that is sort of unique is how you can use your magic to interact with the map itself which was really neat for games back in the days. Game itself is about 6-8 hours long so there isn't much to do aside buying the remaining upgrades after you beat the game. But there are multiple endings for the game to increase the replayability by a little but that can be achieve by saving the game before fighting the boss. Definitely give it a try for FPS fans.

95

Phenomenal

Fluffy_McFluff | June 17, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

  • The visuals are outstanding and hold up very well even in this day and age.
  • The various stories of the game - the one main story that you are a part of, the history of Rapture itself, and just what exactly went wrong - are quite compelling, and create a setting that is different things at different times: creepy, amusing, bizarre, bogus, and horrifying.
  • Game-play, controls and responsiveness are great. The numerous weapons, weapon upgrades, ammunition types, Plasmids ('magic' powers of a sort - genetically engineered modifications that you inject into yourself), and heck, even the environment itself adds to combat situations, giving you numerous ways to setup, ambush, attack and demolish your enemies.

95

Amazing Game

Flarix | June 11, 2013 | See all Flarix's reviews »

Bioshock has to be one the greatest games I have played the story is very immersive and keeps you wanting more. The story combined with the atmosphere gives it that creepy scary effect but its not so intense that it scares you away from the game it pulls you in deeper. The added use of plasmids along side the guns combined with the environmental effects makes it so fun being able to hide under cover shoot electricity into the pool of water to take down a group and gun down the last remaining enemy. Overall this game is extremely good for its price and if it goes on sale its a 110% that you should buy it.

96

Bioshock may be the greatest game of all time

TCass29 | June 7, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Ken Levine is a genius.

Bioshock features decent gameplay mechanics, a story unparalleled (perhaps met by Bioshock Infinite, another Ken Levine baby), a world that is so cohesively well put together, and just the perfect amount of creepiness to DEMAND AND MAKE SURE that you will never forget it.

The characters are all interesting, the enemies are so well designed in both how they look and how they act, and the backstory of the place is fantastic.

If you haven't played Bioshock by now I honestly don't know what you're waiting for. It's heralded by many as the finest piece of art created in the last many decades and they just may not be wrong.

92

An Almost Unrivaled Experience

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

The only bad thing I can really find to say about this game is that I am tired of hacking doors and turrets. For some of you, this is probably a seemingly negligible gripe. In the scope of the game, I may even agree with you. This game is the perfect example of how a game can draw emotional appeals from its audience. This is not a game, it's an experience. Never before has a game given a player such a feel of immersion and the only game to possibly capture this feeling again is its successor, Bioshock Infinite. This studio knows how to capture a persons imagination and their storytelling abilities are inspiring.

90

Entertaining

ebeaver1016 | May 29, 2013 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

This game was recommended to me and in turn I would recommend it to others. This game does have good graphics and a dark morbid storyline. This makes it easy to stay focused. The story especially is worth checking out and unique. What also makes this game fun is the types of weapons and powers that come along. I felt that the game was not overly hard. Allows you to play casually and enjoyably. The game does allow you to make choices that change the way it is played. It leaves you looking forward to the next. Overall, this game is worth picking up.

99

Few games are this good.

simpkinscm | May 21, 2013 | See all simpkinscm's reviews »

A must have for any gamer. The atmosphere is simply amazing and the controls are well done. The difficulty is low enough that most players will be able to finish it without too much holdup, but high enough that it doesn’t feel like you’re just strolling through the levels. The hacking mechanic is fairly original, having players complete a puzzle mini-game to hack various systems; though I did find this frustrating at times, since the randomly generated puzzles would sometime have no solution. My one negative about this game would be the Karma system. With the effect on the story being minimal, and the effect on gameplay being zero, you will not find yourself compelled to play through again simply to see the other ending. This should not stop anyone from trying this game as it only stops just short of perfection.

100

A masterpiece on several levels.

Haylel | May 17, 2013 | See all Haylel's reviews »

I originally got Bioshock on release because I saw the plasmids mechanic and it seemed very x-men like and cool for a FPS to have. From opening to finish my jaw hung open, eyes starry. The city of rapture is my favorite setting of any video game in the 20+ years I've been gaming. The story is incredible and easily tops any movie I've seen in the past ten years. The weapons, plasmids, and upgrades to them are extremely satisfying and fun. Even the hacking mini-game for vending machines and such is addicting. The only downside I can even think of, is there was no way for Bioshock 2 to to even try and match the greatness of this game.

100

An Excellent Game, A Current Gen Classic

JimRory | May 13, 2013 | See all JimRory's reviews »

An FPS set underwater in a Ayn Rand idealized world set during the mid 20th century? Yes, you should be skeptical given that the only FPSs that seem to exist are set in modern combat dumbed down for teens.

From the very beginning of the game (and the opening truly is amazing), you get the sense that there was more effort put into the first 5 minutes in this game than entire levels of other games cough Call of Duty cough. Literally anything that I say about the setting and the gameplay would spoil you of the incredible world that is open for you to explore. Yes, the game at point does seem linear (there is a tram you take between levels), but the gameplay is varied enough and gives you a lot of options. There aren't two guns and pistol that you swap out when you run out of ammo. Instead, you are given multiple weapons, all of which have specific uses in certain situations, and plasmids, superpowers (I wont go into details about what exactly it is) that allow you to spew fire, shoot bolts of electricity, and more and more that I'll leave for you to find out.

As for the story, the only thing I will say is that the game does have a disappointing ending, which is actually in retrospect extremely disappointing given the incredible climax. Yes, the ending did sour my overall experience, but the sum of the game is very much worth your time. I haven't played Bioshock Infinite, and look forward to it once GreenManGaming has a good discount, but if Bioshock sets any precedent, then you'll be sure that the Bioshock series will be a classic franchise that questions what games can be, tells stories that are built specifically for the video game medium, and leaves forever lasting impressions of worlds you couldn't even dream of. The less you know of the game, the better. So what are you doing? Buy it.

(Bringing up the length of a game is equivalent of grading a middle school essay, where length is more important than substance. Do yourself a favor and buy this game. It's worth it for any price.)

100

Quite Impressive

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

2K's "Bioshock" cannot be handled as a game. Sure, the gameplay's solid and smooth, but that's not what makes "Bioshock" a masterpiece; it's the story. Based on Ayn Rand's "Atlas Shrugged", the game's story is deeply immersive, powerful, and frighting. The broad, beautiful visuals overrides the (kinda) muddy textures. Through the eyes of Jack, a dystopian society of greed and corruption is seen underwater. Is man truly innocent and can their crimes be washed away? Such sophisticated question was never asked before in a game, and "Bioshock" answers the prompt back with such epicness and horror, I HAD to give it a 10.

88

Great sequal

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

Bioshock 2 didn't live up to its predecessor, but it came close. There's less sense of wonder, but they ramped up the pace, so it's not as noticeable as I had feared. The gun play, plasmids, and voice acting are all solid, and make for a very immersive game. There is no noticeable graphical improvement over the first game, which is somewhat disappointing. Bioshock 1 was such a beautiful game 2 years ago that this isn't really a problem. Now onto the problems. The default controls were horrid, and don't make much sense. It feels like they just shout out random keys at times. Normally this wouldn't be something you can complain about on the PC, but there are some big problems with remapping them in Bioshock 2. Certain actions will only work when mapped to their original keys, and the onscreen notifications show the originals. The horribly limited mouse settings are unusable with high DPI mice. This required about 30 minutes of .ini file hacking to get to a level where I could actually play the game. Once again the DRM in this game is just mind boggling. They apparently didn't learn their lesson the first time, and are back in full force. All users (who want to save their game anyway...) have to install Games for Windows Live, which is quite simply a joke.

83

It's Good, but not too Good

Onefatcow | May 2, 2013 | See all Onefatcow's reviews »

People have a tendency to raise this game on a pedestal, similar to game like Half Life 2 and Portal. Don't get me wrong, the game is pretty good, but if you're looking for action and shooting, you would do better looking for it somewhere else. This games real strong-suit is its atmosphere, somehow it manages to create an environment that is mysterious, frightening, and amazing all at the same time. This is the core that is really interesting, it manages to manipulate your emotions in a way that is hard to find these days. All in all its worth the buy, but be warned that the combat isn't all that people make it out to be.

96

A Gaming Masterpiece

IAmZeDoctor | April 27, 2013 | See all IAmZeDoctor's reviews »

When Ken Levine and Irrational Games released System Shock 2 in 1999, the gaming world was thoroughly amazed at the world that had been created, the storyline, and the fluidity of action. 2007 rolled around and Irrational did the same thing, only eight years later with Bioshock, the spiritual successor to System Shock 2.

Though Bioshock may stand out for its brilliant use of combat mechanics, driving storyline, and deep progression, what is most notable the game is its ability to draw the player into the world. The sense of immersion is second to no other modern game, only being approached by Dead Space's gorgeous setting.

The world of Rapture is dynamic and living. The visuals will draw you in and make you want to explore everything, looking for everything the failed Utopia has to offer. The score and soundtrack are amazing and will leave you breathless during heated sequences.

The gameplay is amazing, as well. It plays like a smart game, unlike many of today's shooters. Overall, Bioshock is one of the greatest games ever made, possibly even in the Top 3.

92

Rapture!

murgo23 | April 2, 2013 | See all murgo23's reviews »

Cant believe no one has reviewed this masterpiece !!!

This game has easily moved into my top 10 favorite games of all time, perhaps even top 5. Things I look for in a game are great storyline, sense of immersion/atmosphere, freedom to play how I want, and re-playability. RPGs are my favorite genre because they often achieve these factors more often than other genre. This game combined all of these to near perfection.

From the outstanding introduction I found myself wanting to find out why things turned out the way they did, but I also wanted to explore the city of Rapture to discover things for myself. This game can be played in a very linear fashion but there are almost always other areas begging to be explored and the game encourages you to do this by hiding recordings, weapon upgrades, and other helpful items that further immerse you into the game.

From a gameplay standpoint I would relate this game closest to Metroid Prime in it's focus on exploration. This game is not a simple FPS and if you try to play it that way you will be in trouble. The game demands that you think before you act. The best way to dispatch an enemy splicer is often to use your environment and, especially towards the end of the game, to utilize stealth (and a wrench). After many battles I would see something in the environment like explosive cannisters or pools of water and think to myself, "gosh, I'll have to try that next time."

The only negative has been stated by most reviewers and that is when the action gets intense it can be disorienting, but if you play smart you can avoid these moments(e.g. moving into larger areas to fight). The musical score is superb (sometimes heart-wrenchingly beautiful)and the voice-acting in this game is probably the best I have heard and really thickens the atmosphere and mystery surrounding Rapture. This is one game where I actually felt a great deal of pity for my enemies (before I brutally killed them, of course). Finally, this game is also extremely lengthy, which is fairly uncommon for shooter type