Reviews for Clive Barkers Jericho

73

Not as bad as the big Review sites claim

EtaYorius | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all EtaYorius's reviews »

This game is not bad, don`t listen to the mainstream game critics out there.... the graphics are still good even at this point, game play is great and loved the mechanics of changing character each with their own skill to advance few puzzles, the story is quite good but the AI is rather dumb... you will spend a lot of time reviving your Bot team members and there is not much enemy variation, apart from that the game is worth buying.

75

A good game.

snakeoo | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all snakeoo's reviews »

This game, when I played it back in 2007 turned out better that I thought it would be and better than the average critic score the game received initially upon release .

The game has some great characters, and gameplay to match it. Clive Barker's story telling is present in every corner of this game. I f you're a fan Clive's work then I would recommend you pick this game up.

86

Grate game, bad port

parazitu91 | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all parazitu91's reviews »

A grate supernatural horror, gore and sick game with a story made by Clive Barker.................... for god sake is CLIVE BARKER who crate Clive Barker's Undying(story line) other crazy horror movies and books. To know from the beginning the game is not horror( i was not scared even once) but is SICK with crazy and disgusting creatures, sadistic locations and good characters. In terms of fps is solid with minor bug's, but in terms of story and character is masterpiece.

80

Very good

simodeso | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It has a low critscore, but this game is very funny to play. The mechanic are something new, you will have to play to understand the fun of this idea, you can change character, but you can't change weapon. Every character has superpowers, and there are tons of monsters, and there is a nice variety too between them. The story is nice i think it deserve more money that it cost, so buy it!

76

Decent

Joe56780 | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Joe56780's reviews »

The game puts you in a squad of 7 people with unique skills, early on granting you the ability to jump between them meaning your powers vary.

Its a decently made FPS, each character is required to move forward but none of them are boring. The locations in the game really change up as you go through it and I'd be hard done by to not recommend it with how cheap it is now.

The worst thing about this game is the ending, which suggests for a second game (that isn't going to be made). Still you can't do wrong for its price.

77

Pretty good

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

It is a good game, and a challenging one. I think a lot of games are purely judged on their multiplayer these days, and not the single player campaign. If you look at the campaign, it is easily as good as GoW, however multiplayer is non-existant, so it just gets slated. It might not be as technically impressive, but it does look tidy and has good effects. There is also no slowdown even when lots of targets on screen, and at times things can get very hectic, especially some of the bigger set pieces. The character swapping technique is an original concept, and works really well. You get to use 6 different soldiers all with different weapons and occult arts, and you will use all of them at some point. Particularly with the boss fights, you will need to work out which team memeber is most useful to implement. Only downside is the ending, which is abrupt to say the least. But then at least by not knowing what happens next, you can make your own interpretation I guess. Overall, I really liked it.

85

Loved it

Green_Shady | July 28, 2013 | See all Green_Shady's reviews »

Coming from the perspective of a F.E.A.R, Splinter Cell, Tomb Raider, Assassins Creed fan: Game is pretty linear. There isn't much to explore or multiple ways to accomplish goals but I'm not complaining- if I wanted that I would play a different game. This is pretty chill in the sense that you don't have to worry about picking up enough health packs or ammo or forgetting to collect some relic or a critical door key or something. So that way this is way less stressful. The strength of this game is its storyline. Its an adventure. You get to control some pretty powerful folk so I believe the AI associated with the rest of your team mates has been deliberately made silly lest that you will have little to do if your team mates blow all the enemies to pieces - so you gotta stay alert and play meaningfully. Play on hard if you think the game is too easy. I enjoyed the variety of bosses and stumbling across the key aspects needed to defeat them. I would love to play a sequel for this. Game is not scary most of the time because you have company. But there are some parts when you get stuck with a single character isolated from your group which makes it a tad bid scary. Game introduces a pleasant mix of fictitious characters from different backgrounds whom I found to be very intriguing - also something to look forward to.

77

Better than I thought it would be

OmittingCoder | July 27, 2013 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

So I got this game for around a dollar from a sale and I was a little skeptical. But after playing through it I noticed a couple really awesome mechanics in it that more games should have. First of all, player switching. What player switching is where you can switch players instantly in the middle of battle. And since you can't find different weapons this is really useful. Another cool thing is all the paranormal abilities that the Jericho squad possesses. Really mixes it up. The story for me at least is a little bland and it's hard for me to follow because it isn't too interesting. Graphics are good for the year it was made. It's five bucks now. And definitely worth it.

75

A great idea. but with a few problems

Sadrax | July 6, 2013 | See all Sadrax's reviews »

Lets think... Where should i start? The game puts you as a leader of a 7 man squad equiped with paranormal skills, but not for long. In the end of first part of the game our main hero 'dies' but in last moment his spirit jumps to one of his teammates. From now on you can switch between characters and use their powers (in addition to your own "cure" power that allows you to revive fallen teammate). I found this mechanic pretty nice because there isn't any weapon change system. Unlike in some FPS games, the enemy variety is pretty good. Because of the story presented in game, you fight with transformed version of nazis, roman soldiers, gladiators and even templars. However most of the times there are areas that will swarm you with enemies untill you get to some point of that place. The story is intriguing and captivating, on the other hand the tension wasn't as good as it fits a horror. In addition the game ends with a cliffhanger, probably because there was second part planned but the developer got shut down. But even considering those small mistakes. The game is worth to play.

82

Not a bad game at all

abelfs | July 3, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

A FPS shooter where you can switch the control between seven characters with their singular abilities. The main success of this game is the balance between the characters (you will be forced to use all of them to move forward). The premise is original, the atmosphere is superb and the story serves its purpose. The only thing that dulls the final result is its ending, where, after 6-8 hours of epic gameplay. you feel like "I've playing all this only for this?"). If there were an expansion that casts light on the game it could have been better. Anyway, buy it if you want something fresh in FPS genre.

80

Got it's problems, But worth the look...

Sivisx | June 20, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

Like Tom Clancy, Clive Barker loves the sound of his own name. But while Clancy has the war genre Barker is the master of Horror... and leather.

This game really sucks for the first hour but when the Main Character dies, spoiler alert, the game becomes a mixture of RTS and FPS. While he doesn't 'Die' he becomes a ghost possessing the other members of the team at any time, whom all have their own talents and guns. I found myself jumping from person to person taking out waves of enemies.

The combat seems stale at times, only serving to stall the story. But the story, being written by a Horror God, is fantastic. The dialogues between characters later on is believable and well spoken. The gold, however, is the soundtrack.. A gothic gregorian choir and orchestra makes the environment all the better.

This title is incredibly unique and I have never seen something so interesting, even with it's flaws.

For only $5 it's hard to not buy, there are flaws but the gold is in the details. Pick this up if you are a fan of HellRaiser, i.e. the Hell Bound Heart.

83

A Cult Classic

videopower77 | June 20, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

A unique horror-action FPS with tactical elements, Jericho has received a mixed reception as it can possibly get. Bugs aside, this game would have been a perfect candidate for Co-op but sadly it is just a singleplayer experience. Although it doesn't reach the greatness that Clive Barker's Undying did back in the early 2000's, Jericho certainly has the Barker feel to it.

70

The horror of Barker, but without tension

MarcoCav | June 17, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

The story on which Jericho is inspired by the myth of the "first born", the one that according to some gnostic and apocryphal texts should be the first creature who populated our world, even before Adam. In the imagination of Jericho, this creature would be to go back and that's why the player, in charge of a team of three people, will wear the shoes of a warrior with supernatural powers in order to prevent this from occurring. This background provides the leit-motif of the game and its settings, generally claustrophobic and full of graphical effects worthy of a slasher film.

The atmosphere of Jericho therefore seems sufficiently cured (without a search in the field of horror as refined as that of Undying), and luckily for him, is accompanied by a gameplay that is interesting. The team leaves no space for refined offensive techniques, but nevertheless it is fun and offers the player a different point of view from that of the usual FPSs. The control of the characters contributes to it: the ability to switch to another weapon (left arm and right arm) or use one of the powers in its possession, gives the player the feeling of being part of the action, better than most other "aseptic" combinations seen in the past.

Beyond all, there are, however, other considerations to make about this game: the atmosphere of tension is not well recreated as would be expected from the genius of Barker. You are not in fact almost never the feeling of being really at the mercy of the enemy, to be in danger, and this is because of the power of the controlled characters, and because it is possible to automatically switch to one of the other fighters of the team when you died, with no interruption. The feeling is therefore to be strong and then to be able to deal with almost everything that gets in front of... a feeling really far from the one proven in Undying, where the player constantly felt oppressed.

80

Underrated

SeverinMK | June 1, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

I remember playing this years ago but as far as I know this game never had much publicity. It's a horror FPS with the nice element of being able to switch between multiple characters who all have their own weapons and skills. The story line is nice and interesting to follow, though as far as remember not that long and the ending was a bit unsatisfying. The graphics are nice and I think I know no other game with that much gore in it. For this price it's definetly worth buying.

85

Cliche, but still amazing

Ravsantana | May 29, 2013 | See all Ravsantana's reviews »

For a horror fan, Jericho adds nothing: a dark place with a darker main protagonist, monsters, a dead city, bullets and guns. However, the surprises of the FPS genre makes this title as horrifying as it meants to be, and that's awesome!

76

Overlooked

Valtiel1 | May 29, 2013 | See all Valtiel1's reviews »

I played Jericho when it was first released and though it was an ok to good game. The shooting was slightly generic but the story and setting were interesting. After comparing it to current gen shooters however, I can appreciate Jericho for everything that it has to offer. Jericho has personality and substance where call of modern warfare does not. The cast of characters are mostly stereotypes, but at least they stand out. The enemies you fight are original and grotesque; the boss fights are good too. As befitting a game written by Clive Barker the story is original and creates dread and tension. This is a game that warrants a sequel and sadly ends in a cliffhanger, despite this however it is a game worth experiencing.

86

Clive Barkers Jericho - review

Neapolis47 | May 28, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

The plot of the game is very simple: some members of the Jericho squad, a group of professional fighters that deals with the world of the occult, we have to stop the return of the Firstborn, the most powerful creature created by God who lives locked in a parallel dimension. In the first part of the game you drive a single character, with which you can familiarize yourself with the controls and other aspects of the game. Then we can "enter" any member of the Jericho squad whose peculiarities will be revealed in the course of the adventure. Each character in fact, has two arms and two occult powers that make it unique. The others are controlled by the CPU, unfortunately the AI ​​is not brilliant especially when the fights get heavy and monsters to be killed are many. Clive Barker's Jericho is a very ambitious project that was refined better. Sublime in a few moments, rough in others, is full of contradictions in the realization that going to undermine the overall. Probably many will love it, especially if you love a certain genre fiction.

55

Oldschool FPS Mediocrity

SGGDrew | May 28, 2013 | See all SGGDrew's reviews »

Is Clive Barker's Jericho worth your time? Yes and no.

Jericho is a horror FPS with nothing much else going for it. The storyline is serviceable, the graphics are mediocre to bad, and the gameplay is bog-standard.

With that out of the way, lets talk about the good parts. Jericho features an interesting mechanic with the ability to switch between any member of your squad, who have a variety of unique abilities and weapons, on the fly. This allows you to pop between characters and mow down enemies in this generic, but gorey and action-filled game. The game is also relatively short, but not in a bad way. Perhaps more a merciful way as the game would most likely wear out it's welcome if it were much longer.

By no means is Jericho an awful game, especially without it's original $60 price tag. It is simply generic with an interesting horror coating that would appeal to a niche audience of Clive Barker fans or FPS games along the lines of Painkiller.

90

It's a worth buy by far

LordAGUNI | March 28, 2013 | See all LordAGUNI's reviews »

This game is a FPS based on the ideas of Clive Barker, It have a very good storyline, you are part of a squad trying (like always) to defeat the bad guys but at any moment you can change of character just selecting the guy of your squad with which you want to change, each character have different (superhuman) skills and the game always try to force you to utilize at leas 2 times each character to feel the dynamic of the game, The game is full of gore, the graphics are well made, for some reason it looks like if everything is covered of dark blood, the enemies AI its acceptable and the fight against the different bosses isn't just jump and shoot, each one have a puzzle (there are a loot in all the game) that you need to do to found the weak point of the boss and kill him.

I really fall in love with this game, maybe the storyline it's a bit short (like 6 hours) but for the price it will be a bad idea if you don't go for it.

75

Classic FPS

DukePaul | March 27, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Jericho from Clive Barkers doesn't add nothing new, you can select different characters ingame with different abilities, some of them are neat but others are dull.

The game looks fantastic and is a total gorefest. Jericho is also quite hard at times because you need to kill all enemies if you want to go forward, the AI for the enemies is very bad, they only think to kill to you, maybe this have charm for some people who love classic FPS gameplay.

Jericho also has QTE action cinematic parts where you need to press a button quickly, I think they are terrible but you can beat them.

I think the game has a great atmosphere and if you like it, the flaws that the game has will not bother you.