Reviews for Anodyne

71

Random dream... the game

Nova4 | July 28, 2014 | See all Nova4's reviews »

This game is a mix of zelda and deadly premonition... Is weird, charming, sometimes silly, funny and scarry, al at the same time. This is the story of a guy that... well.. is hard to explain, play the game and you will get your own comclusions.

The good:

+Cool nivel desing, is just cool, sometimes you had to go to a werid beach and others to a deadly forrest, I wont spoiled to you, but I really like it.

+Challenig puzzles, like the old Zelda game´s.

+Interesting story... weird but interesting at the end.

+Awesome easter eggs, lots and lots of fan service to the fans of rpg, fantasy ands scify.

THe bad:

-Generic boss battles.

-Horrible jump mechanics.

-Most of the time all the deads are so cheap.

-Lack of any sence for the zones and their enemiges.

Overall I enjoyed this game, is fun but not for all, if you like zelda gameplay a werid games, this is for you.

81

Very Nice

77Bottles | July 16, 2014 | See all 77Bottles's reviews »

A very lovely game. The art style is something to behold and gameplay is smooth. Starting out one may get lost a few times but that's what's so great about exploration. The enemies are fun to fight and re-spawn once you leave the screen, so be wary. The story is enthralling but at times hard to follow and leaves one wondering where one needs to go. The soundtrack in Anodyne is nice to listen to and fits the game well.

85

Great Atmosphere... Nostalgic and Competant

perfectblue_82 | April 16, 2014 | See all perfectblue_82's reviews »

I've put about an hour into this but I have read it is about an hour long... so here is what I can say so far.

This is a very nostalgic, euphoric release. brings you back to when you were a kid again (for me anyway). Many people have compared this to classic Legend of Zelda, and that is somewhat fair given the top-down, pixel-style, rpg elements.

I'll be honest, I have not jumped into such games since Zelda itself so I was tentative to continue at first but this is one that can grow on you. The developers (just 2 mates) have clearly put effort into this... sound, puzzle aspects, mysterious storyline, and pixelated environments are neat, and I'm enjoying the not so linear game play thus far. It feels just right and is worth a go. If there's one or two things that held me back are that you fight with a broom for the first hour, but I am excited to see what will unfold. The controls (moving diagonally) can be somewhat tricky as well, and the game does not extend to 1920 x 1080 in terms of width. Nonetheless, great work by the developers - It's a very neat, nostalgic experience this far, with interesting environments and narrative... humorous at times.

77

A Little Odd, But That's OK

bwrussell | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

A bit quirky but oddly familiar is another way I would describe Anodyne. It felt sort of like an inside joke that that, while not entirely in on, I could still relate too and appreciate on some level. The same goes for the plot, there is little to no back story or context given but I suspect this was a conscious decision as it leads each player to get a different meaning from various parts based on the context of their own life. Unfortunately it is a little subtle and you're never hit with that moment of introspective clarity that other games manage to deliver.

Mechanics wise the puzzles are nicely balanced between single room puzzles and exploration/ labyrinth puzzles. A few of the platforming puzzles were a little rough, mainly because of bad spawn points, but overall it's straight forward but satisfying. The worlds and dungeons are nicely varied, very nicely actually, and interesting, as are the enemies.

In the end this is probably not for everyone but if you're looking for a throwback to the heyday of adventure gaming or are looking for something a little different with a lot of heart to burn a few hours then this is as good a choice as any.

89

A Game that Values Atmosphere

NimbusStev | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all NimbusStev's reviews »

(This review was adapted from my previous recommendation, posted on my Steam account)

I bought this game for a couple bucks during a sale and figured it would be a neat little time waster. What I got was so much more than that! To me the most important factor of a good game is something a bit intangible - the mood and atmosphere. And boy does Anodyne deliver in that regard.

The tone is mostly set by the super eerie and mysterious music of Sean Hogan. But the whole game feels like some kind of profound experience as you travel through this almost dream-like world. Everything about Anodyne is so surreal, and because of that it really feels like a piece of art. The game play is like old-school Zelda, the dry humor is reminscent of EarthBound, and the whole thing will make you feel like you stepped into a time portal to the 1990s. After only playing for a couple hours, I was already in love. Controller support for this game is a bit wonky (especially if using a PS3 controller) and sadly the developers don't seem to have any plans to fix that. But it doesn't take too much away from the overall experience. If you enjoy games with interesting atmospheres, this one is definitely for you!

98

A Great Game That Stands on Its Own

Wiesler | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

Anodyne does deserve its comparison to Zelda, especially in terms of the art style. The aesthetics are well done in a retro Legend of Zelda (the Link's Awakening) style. The gameplay also relies on the same exploration, puzzle solving and combat. However Anodyne is much more than a game trying to be Zelda.

Anodyne expands on the old Legend of Zelda in many ways. The game revels in its convoluted story. The basic plot does take work to piece together. The way the narrative is presented is also very interesting: dialogue and card descriptions give the story.

Along with the experimentation with story, Anodyne develops a different angle of gameplay. The combat of Anodyne is simple, but the platforming aspect is very well done and focused on. Where the old Legend of Zelda would have a little bit of platforming that required precise timing, Anodyne is full of it.

Great art, music, story, and gameplay. This is just a wonderful experience.

75

Winks and exploration..

XGpredator | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Anodyne offers an adventure which is both contemplative and packed with eye to the world of video game winks. Nonlinear and not off-putting, growth holds many surprises. Just blame it on being too easy, few bosses, and the short lifetime, but it still have a good side, such as the he pleasant and varied music and the cards collection, for 9$, it's worth it.

70

Like a much, much weirder version of Zelda.

FLD | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

This game is very weird. The world presented in it is eerie and strangely beautiful. The gameplay is obviously heavily inspired from older Zelda titles such as Link to the Past but it's a much more relaxed affair. This all sounds great on paper so I went in with high expectations but the game didn't quit grab me, for some reason. I stopped playing after a couple hours and although I've been meaning to get back to it, I've yet to do so.

I wouldn't say it's bad, though, so I'm really not sure what it was that didn't click with me.

88

Definitely a recommended play

Solidarity | July 20, 2013 | See all Solidarity's reviews »

When I picked up Anodyne I didn't have high expectations. However, once I began the game I saw the great art style and changing aesthetics, fantastic soundtrack, and good game design. With such simple mechanics the game never gets complex but the 'story' (very strange and abstract, but great) keeps you going through the uniquely interesting dungeons the overworld offers. In the end you gain an item that allows you to change the game as you see fit to find hidden items and secret areas which is fun in its own way.

66

Trying to be Zelda, but it's not Zelda

redsoundwaves | July 8, 2013 | See all redsoundwaves's reviews »

Anodyne has a great Gameboy aesthetic to it, which is what originally inspired me to buy this game. I went in not even knowing what it was going to be besides a homage to old Gameboy games. Well it was a bit more than that, but not a ton more. Anodyne tries to do the same thing that we have seen from Zelda games in the past, before 3D arrived, and it does it well but sometimes it does it a little too well and the story is too broken to make you want to move on.

What do I mean by doing Zelda a little too well? Well it's got the swordplay down and the dungeons are great crawling fun, without the tools that you typically gain throughout a Zelda game (not a problem), but the big problem with Anodyne is that backtracking can be a huge bother in the game. Sometimes finding out where you are supposed to go can be a huge problem, especially if you do the dungeons out of order. That isn't the only problem though.

The story begs you to look into it a little too much. I will not spoil anything but the game really needs the player to grab on to something for them to understand what is going on, and even then you are never reassured that what you think is the story, is correct.

On a good ending note though, the best thing about Anodyne is the immersive environments. Anodyne has some great level design and some great dialogue from characters that aren't important to the story, you time travel, go into different dimensions and dive deep into the jungle.

Overall if you are looking for an old school, Zelda-esque experience, or just want a short retro experience, you will probably enjoy Anodyne.

96

One of my favorite indie games

nintendo97 | July 4, 2013 | See all nintendo97's reviews »

I recently have been playing the classic 2d Zelda games. This game is similar to them in many ways. It even surpasses all of the handheld ones aside from Link's Awakening in creating a wonderful atmosphere to play in. It has original locations including one that looks like an apartment building!

The core gameplay is simple. You explore the land, fight with you broom, and solve puzzles in dungeons. The developers are very friendly and are active in the game's online communities. The game isn't very long, but the 8 hours or so you will spend playing it make this game well worth the money.

82

Classic Zelda-like game

lok0812 | June 20, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you enjoyed playing the old Zelda games on your Game Boy you will find this game to have a similar experience with them. Control and combat are exactly the same. There are also puzzles you needed to solve to move onto the next area. The musics of the game is top notch for an indie game. The game is a little short, it is only about 2-4 hours depending on how good you are in memorizing your paths but overall it was a fun experience that delivered right from the start.

75

Pokémon like...

drafek | June 17, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

When I first saw this game I though this does looks like pokémon, ofcourse there are alot games that do have a look like this game. The game is done pretty well, the story is good, a little short but good. The music is done pretty well, in my opinion a little scary but good. In my first 20 minutes of this game I already did got stuck, not that this is bad or anything it was my own fault it was a little puzzle I guess. Overal the game is done pretty well.

86

Inspiring I must say!

DanielZo0 | June 10, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

If you are in your mid-twenties, this is the only game you should play this year. Its an inspirational game made by people like us, about us.

I grew up on FF3, Secret of Mana, Chrono Trigger and Zelda. This game fits into that world, explores it further in many respects, and falls short as well. As you go through the game, you realize these game devs played those games, and they remember what it was like to be a kid. The nostalgia goes beyond the stylization and pixel art. Its as much an homage to the genre as it is to the kids that PLAYED the genre back in early nineties. The game is a gift to its users. For that reason, it gets high marks from me. I have trouble critiquing what I didn't enjoy because it was part of the art. The aforementioned games are TEDIOUS, and Anodyne has annoying spots that require some keyboard jujitsu to jump holes.

The game features the best post completion New Game+ experience that I've come across. I won't give away spoilers, but the rabbit hole goes deep.

90

Straight outta your unconscious mind.

Ruzinus | June 9, 2013 | See all Ruzinus's reviews »

In many ways, Anodyne is a Zelda tribute. You play Young (or is it Yang?) as he explores his unconscious. "It was all a dream!" isn't some twist here, it's just the basic premise. As a premise, it's much cooler than as a twist, because it means that you're basically exploring a human's psyche.

Young clearly plays a lot of Zelda. Other than the clear visual link (...oops) to LTTP and Link's Awakening, the world is also filled with any number of little Zelda jokes.

And yet, the gameplay is clearly its own thing. One of the things that clearly identifies a Zelda game is its signature dungeon design: You enter a dungeon, you have to find ways to get around without a critical item. Eventually you fight a midboss and get a new toy, and the new toy completely changes your ability to interact with the dungeon.

Anodyne does not do this. Anodyne gives you no new toys. You gain the ability to jump, and you gain a certain cool ability as an endgame reward. But the dungeon design doesn't rely on that central Zelda trope. Instead they just get trickier as you go. But they don't hardgate you with items, they just force you to get better at knowing what Young can do and at solving puzzles. It's actually entirely possible to do dungeon 3 before dungeon 2 (I actually did this), and to do dungeons 4, 5, and 6 in whatever order you like.

But it still essentially feels like a Zelda game. You move through an overworld. You enter dungeons. You solve increasingly difficult puzzles, and eventually you fight a boss.

It's just what a Zelda game might be if it broke down the fourth wall and realized what it was.

Anodyne isn't as cool as Link's Awakening, but it's a hell of a lot cooler than Oracle of Seasons. If you like old school Zelda, play this game.

86

Great retro game with a Legend of Zelda feel to it

CJV | May 27, 2013 | See all CJV's reviews »

Anodyne is very simple in terms of design, there are only two actions buttons, one to attack (or interact) and another to jump. It really reminds of the Legend of Zelda games I used to play on my gameboy, except in this one there are no new item per dungeon or item oriented puzzles. Expect an handful of dungeons and towns to explore, and also some secrets and collectibles.

If you don't care about collecting all the cards and discovering secrets the game is short (about four hours long), but even so it is pretty enjoyable and if you have any interested in this kind of adventure game then I really recommend you give this one a try.

80

A great, little gem

Cavalieroscuro | April 3, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

I bought Anodyne before it was greenlighted on Humble Store, and this game is simply amazing. It has some bugs and the plot is...well, confusing, but the art direction, the stunning visuals, the soundtrack...it's a great game. Like gameplay, it reminds Legend of Zelda (but you have only one weapon, the broom, so there isn't magic, bow or boomerang), you will gain additional energy when you'll defeat a boss (or simply by exploring hidden dungeons) and during the second half of the game you will aquire the ability to jump. The game is pretty easy and short, but the interesting thing is the endgame: collecting all 49 hidden cards, additional items, exploring the debug world...yes, Anodyne is all about exploration. It's a little great game, so give it a try.