Reviews for Kane and Lynch Pack

55

Meh...

NeutronGTX | July 26, 2014 | See all NeutronGTX's reviews »

I managed to get this pack on sale which is a decent value however I would not recommend buying this pack for full price. The gameplay is bland and uninteresting and the enemy AI is horrible. The graphics are nothing short of terrible with clunky camera movement which are guaranteed to make most people motion sick. The first game while being vastly better then the second is mediocre at best, but occasionally fun if you can overlook the vast amounts of problems you can get some very minor enjoyment out of these games.

79

2 Titles of 2 Psychos in 1 Pack

Azrael360 | June 11, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

This pack contains two legendary titles developed by Io Interactive, the same creators of the great Hitman series. This time, we don't have games known for their stealth mechanics, instead, these games are pure and violent shooters in third person perspective. And be warned, these can be very violent and shocking. The protagonists are not the usual nice and valiant heroes, but just almost psychopaths anti-heroes, if that's possible. The stories are also violent, but very interesting. Either you love the games or not, there's nothing in between.

The first game is much older, and you can tell. The graphics are average at best, but the game is really fun to play. The second if more polished and also gruesome. You play it if it's filmed by someone following the action with a very shaky camera, with mosaic censorship in extreme violent situations, like somebody been shot in the head or when there's nudity in the game. It's supposed to be this way, like a filmed documentary in real-time.

Overall, this is a very good pack to get if you still don't have these titles. You save money in two good games.

One tip for you, in Kane & Lynch 2, if you're suffering from motion sickness or just don't like the shaking of the camera, you can disable that effect in the options for the controls and enable "Steady Camera".

76

Hated because that's the cool thing to do

OMGmyFACE | June 8, 2014 | See all OMGmyFACE's reviews »

Are the Kane and Lynch games stellar? No. Did they revolutionize the medium? Kinda, yeah. What you have are characters completely unaffected by the moral outrage fad that's taken over the industry. These are relatable but unlikeable people dealing with situations they put themselves in, gambling with fate and losing. Not a single thing about either of the two makes the case for an enviable life but by the end, you're glad you played a game that explores a real grimy version of camaraderie amongst killers, the kind of non-friendship I wish more characters in action dramas had. A "bros" game that isn't Army of Two - there isn't any high-fiving here.

The first game is most famous for the corruption in the videogame journalism (ha) business that led to Gerstmann-gate, which then led to Giant Bomb in its prime. And the second game is most famous for being the sequel to the game everyone hated because that's what r/vidya wanted you to do. But to truly understand K&L, you've gotta play it and since it's always on sale, you don't have an excuse. Most of the flaws have been or can be explained through devil's advocate nitpicking, such as calling the unforgiving shooting (which was improved in the second) and the weak cover system (which was improved in the second) more realistic and the shakycam in the second game can be turned off. Altogether, the games are 7/10 titles but treated like 5/10s, which of course is how you get people reviewing it in the 2/10s.

It's not Heat or Collateral but I'll take any game that comes close, personally.

70

Good Games, especially Dog Days

masoomraza | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all masoomraza's reviews »

I played the first one and thought that it was decent, but there were some things that bothered me. Luckily, the second instalment was much better. The game got a pretty nice graphical and physical overhaul, and the weapons and overall gameplay did not feel clunky the way the first one did. I also enjoyed playing Fierce Alliance, given that I love heists (bank heist level from the first game was awesome). Overall, the only major drawback was its length. I felt that the story mode was a bit short, and I was hoping that we would see what happened after they left Shanghai, but, I guess I'll have to wait a while to see what morally corrupt mischief they get into next. Overall, I thought it was a good game.

75

Okay TPS

Pro_Fish | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Kane and Lynch is a troubled game with good ideas. Borrowing much of its plot and missions from films like HEAT, it plays out in a gritty, and almost realistic way. It is only when it comes to poor design choices, bad PC optimizations, and Frustratingly difficult sections that this game could be a bad experience. On the other hand, if you can look by these flaws, you will find a game that wants to be good, but just can't get there.

I personally enjoyed the way the Heist missions played out. Also, the way in which they portray every character as a disgusting human being adds a dark new look at the anti-hero. Overall, I would recommend this game, but be prepared to look past some issues.

60

Mediocre TPS

lok0812 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Both of the Kane and Lynch titles in this pack are really mediocre in terms of gameplay. The first Kane and Lynch set in a very ugly world with ugly characters. The gunplay is very bad as the enemies AI are so bad that they are always just standing there waiting for you to pop their head. You also have the ability to command the bots that are on your side but you will most likely will get a F word in return. In fact, the F word come out of the dialogue of the game 90% of the time making it really childish. Then there is the second game. The game has vastly improved from the first, you no longer need to command friendlies and the setting and character are much better in design but not depth. The story can be completed in 4 hours and the multiplayer aspect of the game gives new innovation but couldn't be delivered due to the lag that plagues the multiplayer aspect. Do not bother with this franchise, if you are into robbery singleplayer or multiplayer give Payday a try and you might like it better.

68

A dirty journey through violence

zonzon | July 29, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

IO Interactive, after making the most successful and intelligent assassination game, goes on for two all out violence TPS. The first Kane and Lynch was not critically acclaimed, but IO went for a sequel, that successfully get us to witness the utter violence of banditism.

Our two pals are not going to get out of there unharmed.

The gameplay feels a bit like Gears Of War, but doesn't attain a similar perfection. There are flaws in the cover system, that get you shot, even when in cover...

The game is really meant to be played in coop mode. In the highest difficulties, a human helping hand is definitely required.

75

Good deal for good games

StrxXx | July 29, 2013 | See all StrxXx's reviews »

Played both these games when they where launched, Some people may call them clunky or unpolished. But I that you should give them a try for this price.

Both the games have a good storyline and Kane & Lynch are some very interesting characters.

70

Decent experience, particularly Dog Days

Twisted1410 | May 24, 2013 | See all Twisted1410's reviews »

The first game isn't so great. It starts off poorly but gets better, only to get worse towards the end again. The shooting doesn't feel too great and the cover mechanic is terribly designed. The story is okay but is overly convoluted and there isn't much reason to care. The major positive in this game are the environments. Kane and Lynch: Dead Men takes you to a great variety of locations. They don't bore you with showing you the same locations over and over. Overall it's just an okay game, it doesn't do anything particularly well.

The second game however, Dog Days, does many things much better. It is just so much nicer to play. It actually feels completed. The cover mechanic is smooth enough and the shooting feels solid. The storyline you can at least care about. The game is not as varied as the first game as it largely takes place on the streets surrounding buildings of Shanghai, but the atmosphere is so great and the mix it up just enough so it doesn't matter too much here. The second game is actually an enjoyable experience.

I can not comment on the multiplayer components of these games as both communities appear to be dead.

30

There are better games....

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

this is impossible. Its hard enough to get live working and when you do there is a problem with playing coop. This game was made for coop, but obviously coop for the 360. On the pc there is no LAN or internet option when you want to play coop. The only option you got is to connect one or more xbox 360 controllers to your pc.. The singleplayer is hardly any fun with all the bugs, I bought this game for coop but I cant since I don't have a 40" tv connected to my pc, nor do I have any 360 controllers. I don't recommend this game, there are better games to waste your time on.

13

This is not Heat. Avoid at all costs.

Uppland | May 2, 2013 | See all Uppland's reviews »

tldr: It's a shooting gallery with psychic enemies that pop their heads up once in a while to snipe you in your face from afar, when you zoom in on them they duck and let their friends fire at you from somewhere else. This is repeated thoughout the game.

So I got interested in getting KaL after having seen the trailer and remembering the shoot out sequence from the movie Heat. I never got around to play the first KaL but later I saw the KaL 2 bowling ball on CC TV trailer and thought I had to get this one. Surely the developers must have learned from the critizisms that targetted the first game? Well no. While the story and setting is good, and Lynch is a really badass character, this game is not worth even 5 bucks. In fact I think watching a play through on yt is a better experience than playing it yourself. I played it on the 360 with a controller, maybe it will be better playing with a mouse. But still. Save your money.

67

Could Have Been Better

ravestar | May 1, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

The story and key characters are engaging. Kane and Lynch take you on their crazy ride as they rob banks, battle cops and criminals. That's probably the main positive of the game.

The graphics are comfortable to look at, but not mind blowing. The soundtrack is strong but the sound effects during gameplay is mediocre. While Kane and Lynch feel like a cinematic story, it is let down by the overall presentation.

Main weakness of Kane and Lynch is that the game plays like a incomplete work. The weapon mechanics feel disconnected and loose, it's a weird feeling. When I shoot, there's no real sense of impact. Even moving around is not the smoothest experience.

I also dislike the point to point structure, move, shoot and move got tedious really quick. I can't explore the environment much because this is not an open world sandbox.

In terms of replay value, the single player campaign is not exactly long. I manage to finish Dead Men in 8 hours and Dog Days in 6 hours. The online mode is fun if you can get friends to play with....since there's not much community for it. Overall, this is a average game series, if you can pick up the pack on sale, it's a decent buy.

75

Good deal for a couple of okay games.

GoatMuncher | April 29, 2013 | See all GoatMuncher's reviews »

Let me start by saying that these are not the greatest games in the world. They are dark. Very dark and gritty. Have you ever wanted to play as the bad guys but still feel like the hero? You've found the perfect games.

The first game could have been better if the co-op mode was available online. Unfortunately it isn't available online, only local co-op. This doesn't however kill the game, as the story is still fairly decent. Bear in mind though, it is an older game, and is a little shaky for today's standards.

Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days on the other hand, is a decent game, if you can get past the most nauseating camera of all time. It is a really cool camera angle, cloverfield-esque. The cover system is greatly improved, the story kicks off immediately and gets you hooked, and everyones two favorite anti-heroes are back and online. With the co-op campaign now available online, this one is easily worth a pick up, if you've got a friend to play with. Just remember; camera.

75

A good pack

Cavalieroscuro | April 27, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Kane & Lynch are two nice game. Well, the first one is better then the second chapter, it has a nice and good story, good gameplay and all. The second one is very short, the story is nothing special and also there is this "mockumentary" filter I personally didn't like at all. But the price is low, and this pack is worth the price, at least only for the first title.