Reviews for DLC Quest

70

Heavy-handed but amusing sendup of DLC

Lorddyran | Oct. 21, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

The name gives you a very good idea of what to expect - it's a funny idea stretched out into a full game (albeit a short one). The idea is enough to carry it, barely, but there is nothing other than the initial impetus (and a few achievements, if you care about those) to really keep you going.

80

Funny little game that describes how DLC has gone too far...

Zazutuu | Aug. 11, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

If you want to spend 3 hours laughing and smiling,then DLC QUEST is perfect for you.It describes how downloadable content is today.Want to jump?DLC!Want to walk left?DLC!The game has also an expansion and since it is so cheap it is really worth it.It may be a short game but you have a lot of achievements and collectibles to collect.It is full of parodies and I really recommend it.

84

A Fun, if Short, Satirical Mockery of Today's Gaming Industry

PredatorDrone18 | June 15, 2014 | See all PredatorDrone18's reviews »

DLC Quest is a game based on poking fun at the Gaming Industry's recent obsession with downloadable content. In this game, you need to purchase DLC (with in-game money, of course) to unlock necessary elements of the game, including jumping and walking left. The game is casual and comical, and my only qualm with it is the length of the story. You could easily finish it within an hour, and that's if you're meandering about for a good amount of time. The game is worth its cheap price, and it will most likely draw a laugh out of anyone who picks it up.

90

Short and sweet

therealjmanx | June 13, 2014 | See all therealjmanx's reviews »

A beautiful take on all the excessive amounts of post downloadable content plaguing us today. Not very long of a game(an hour or two at most), but it gets the point across and is quite amusing. Give it a try, worth the money you were going to spend on horse armor anyway.

85

When DLC has gone TOO far!

HolyWinter | April 18, 2014 | See all HolyWinter's reviews »

The entire game itself seems like one giant parody! I picked this up a few months ago for $0.99 and I think it was worth it! The game has its nice little quirks and ahem inside jokes to boot but its not without its charm and little features and possibly few endings? (I have yet to find out). Without a doubt it is humorous and fun and just plain silly. Luckily there is more then one game mode the second being longer of course and each though, if you do pretty well and speedy this entire game can be beat within an hour, first time playing? maybe a few.

IM WARNING YOU NOT TO DO THE BLACKSMITH CHALLENGE THE HARD WAY. It involves you to do it 10,000 times which I took up this challenge and in the end all you got was a "I salute your efforts" message pretty much. Just do it the easy way!

80

Satire at its finest

xborcx | April 18, 2014 | See all xborcx's reviews »

There's no denying that gaming from the days of yore and modern times are two entirely different beasts. For better or worse, the days of buying a game and that being the end product are behind us. Now, a game is shipped and its very rare that there isn't day one DLC right out of the gate. This game does a great job at poking fun at what has become industry standard and provides fun, albeit shallow platforming. The game is pretty short, which is good because any longer and it would wear out it's welcome. For the price its a good deal, on sale its a steal.

75

DLC Quest as commentary

Cheeseburgermaf | March 29, 2014 | See all Cheeseburgermaf's reviews »

This is a platformer that parodies the huge amount of DLC that could be the future of gaming, if players vote with their wallets and keep telling EA and Capcom that they're allowed to do this.

Aside from the parody nature, this is still a fun platformer in its own right. There are enough achievements around to bite at the overachiever in you, and there's a small entertaining story.

The game is fully playable with just a keyboard. There's no complex combat, so this game could be an option for younger uncoordinated gamers. It could also be of help to parents of children who could use some practice reading.

DLC Quest has two campaigns. The first parodies DLC, as I have said above. The second parodies the Freemium/F2P/P2P model that has become hugely popular with game producers these days.

As a commentary, DLC Quest works well. It's more fun than preachy.

The game is short if you aren't a completionist. If you try to do everything there is to do, you'll get several times your money back.

80

Cheap, Simple, Short, & Worth Your Money.

combodombie | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all combodombie's reviews »

Welcome to the world of DLC Quest. This is a simple indie platformer which is a satire to DLC and also telling on what can happen if DLC goes too far.

Yes, this game is about 50 minutes long, but saying that's just the first campaign (they added another campaign in an update) and the game is only $2 and it still was worth my time and money, you should check this out.

90

Interesting game

silviapuiu | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all silviapuiu's reviews »

DLC Quest is a very original game, due to its humour. It has a lot of references for other games with so many DLC's and some of them quite useless. The graphics is nice, characters are awesome and here I also include the horse. The gameplay is OK and the achievements are quite challenging, making you to play the game more than once. The dialogues are funny and cute and you get attached to the characters. I was pleasantly surprised by the appearance of zombie sheep. The music is not very memorable, but it is good enough. I will give it a 9.

90

Well worth the time and the price

bmmmd | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all bmmmd's reviews »

Picked this up a few days ago for $0.75 not expecting much but it proved to be way more value than I imagined.

The gameplay is mostly classic platformer with a few modern references, pretty easy in the first campaign but somewhat challenging in the second. Furthermore it is really polished for a game this cheap, it really surprised me in a good way that the gameplay was well thought, detailed and bug free.

Where the game really shines is the humor and the myriad of references to various modern games, most obvious ones being Oblivion and the infamous Horse Armor DLC to the character DLC in the Mass Effect series.

96

Awesome game!

friendbear70 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all friendbear70's reviews »

This game is pretty cool. Its simple, it has what every great game should have: DLCS! It is funny to play and incredibly enjoyable. You will not be disappointed. Unless you are one of those people who hate fun.

Pros: Great game, great concept, great soundtrack, great everything.

Cons: In the second episode, it becomes less fun. It becomes more confusing and lame.

I love the game a lot. But after I got to the 2nd "episode" things got a bit boring for me. I did not like how they incorporated checkpoints or the fact they added a bunch of characters. I did however like their creative ways of thinking. This game will be like no other platformer game you have ever played. This game is cheap, but WORTH IT!

70

A simple, short game

mhmmm | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all mhmmm's reviews »

The entire game is a parody of most games nowadays, poking fun of the hundreds of achievements and useless DLC. I enjoyed it and had a few laughs at the humorous commentary, greatly paired with a simple concept. It's just $0.98 at the moment and can go down to $0.74 with the 25% off code. I think it's worth a try.

85

Well worth the asking price.

zeosinclair | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all zeosinclair's reviews »

This game is a very funny mockery of the way DLC is done in some modern games. If you are a fan of platformers or comedic games then this is a highly recommended title and well worth the low price. However be advised as it is not a very long game and does not offer masses of re-playability.

87

Great fun but sadly ended fast

Freako | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

DLC quest is hilarious when it comes to gaming.

The irony about gaming is there are DLCs after release. This game just takes this concept and makes a game it's basically you are a kid playing a game and then you stumble into a new area. So you need to BUY a dlc which means using money but no worries money as in game currency.

It's interesting getting DLC for weapons,armors and even maps. The concept is all great but there are flaws like the graphic style may not appeal to everyone gameplay wise too. Game is on sale don't give much thought to it worth it totally.

76

Funny but short

Zagan | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Zagan's reviews »

This game seemed cool when I saw it on Greenlight, so I upvoted it and decided to buy it when it was on sale, so months ago I bought it on a 75% discount and completed the same day I bought it. It's really funny, it has some easter eggs about videogames but it's really short. Anyway, I really enjoyed the 3 hours I needed to finish it. It worths the price!

85

Worth the price

beltmatt_usa | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all beltmatt_usa's reviews »

This game is very simple, but funny enough to keep playing.

The achievements are funny, the story is a satire of every game, the titles of the DLC are punny.

If you want a deep game, this isn't for you, and the game play for both the games (you get DLC Quest and Freeminuim or Die) is about an hour....maybe more if you need all the achievements. For a few bucks this game is worth it!

69

Too short

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

The fact that this game exists is awesome.This game makes fun of the other big games that sell DLC for half the price of the main game.It's fun and as you expected you have to gather money and pay for DLC which in the game are different mechanics like:double jumping,running,skins and so much more.It's a 2D platformer and its not that long but very fun to play and worth the 3 bucks.

90

Great fun

daraya79 | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all daraya79's reviews »

If You are looking great entertainment and tons of fun You will find all in this game. It is more parody of actual games business than game and it is very enjoyable. The only disadvantage of this product is it's lenght. 1 hour is enought to finnish it but don't You pay more for cinema tickets to see boring movie? DLC Quest is definetly worth it's price.

85

A Parody of the nowadays game world.

MauroR | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

This little game just parodies the nowadays situation with games, you buy a game then tons and tons of DLCs will become available and you have to pay for them, again. Sometimes they want you to pay for content already in the game but that you need to pay to make it visible and usable, absurd, right? Where the good old times when you bought a game and the full content was already included without additional money to pay? And the expansions? Do you remember how where the games expansions? Many times the expansions were better than original game and added a lot of things for the price you paid for. But now time has changed, in several games you have to pay even to get a new skill, or more agility (Tomb Raider 2013, I'm looking at you) or to unlock a particular thing.

DLC Quest just mock in an elegant and polite manner this situation where you have to spend money on money to experience a certain game fully (many things could be implemented since the release without any additional cost) by buying DLC, DLC, and...more DLC. This game it's funny and entertaining, and at this price you really can't miss it. It's not that long, for sure, but you're not paying €60 euros for a 4 hours long game, but less than €3, there's a very big difference, don't you think?

76

Short & Sweet

TPCGorillaMunch | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

This game is not meant to be taken seriously and bashes games that release features as DLC that should come with the game. In this game you will need to buy literally everything as DLC, using coins collected in the game of course.

The game is quite short but will make you want to collect all the coins and try and get all the achievements. The game is very funny filled with numerous jokes and a crazy story. The game has limited replay value if you aren't interested in high scores and achievements. Oh and the game also comes with a free DLC expansion pack! Recommended for anyone with a good sense of humour.

70

Funny and entertaining game, but not much to it

finkrocks44 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all finkrocks44's reviews »

I ended up getting this game on sale and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The game is basically a satire of modern games that require DLC. It kept me entertained for a couple of hours but takes very little time to complete, but what else can you expect when the game costs a couple of dollars when full-priced. The gameplay itself is pretty cool and has very smooth controls, but there is almost no replayability. At a price of $3 I would still recommend getting the game, it can give quite a few laughs and the gameplay has a very nice modern-retro hybrid feeling to it.

85

You Must Purchase This Review - 5 Coins

Suavalicious | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all Suavalicious's reviews »

After playing so many games that have downloadable content that is just plain insulting such as a simple costume or VS. mode that should have been included in the games release, I've often wondered what they are gonna charge me for next. Turns out its the ability to walk to the left. DLC Quest takes the common practice of having small and sometimes unneeded features released as paid downloadable content and goes nuts with it. Wanna jump? Buy the DLC. Wanna have the jumping animation? Buy the DLC. This of course isn't done with real money but coins collected in-game. The game is comedic and very enjoyable but don't expect to be spending hours playing. It takes about an hour (if even that long) to complete with speed run leaderboards being the only reason to replay this. Still this gem is well worth a playthrough, especially to those with a sense of humor. I would tell you more but you first must purchase the DLC.

85

You Must Purchase This Review - 5 Coins

Suavalicious | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all Suavalicious's reviews »

After playing so many games that have downloadable content that is just plain insulting such as a simple costume or VS. mode that should have been included in the games release, I've often wondered what they are gonna charge me for next. Turns out its the ability to walk to the left. DLC Quest takes the common practice of having small and sometimes unneeded features released as paid downloadable content and goes nuts with it. Wanna jump? Buy the DLC. Wanna have the jumping animation? Buy the DLC. This of course isn't done with real money but coins collected in-game. The game is comedic and very enjoyable but don't expect to be spending hours playing. It takes about an hour (if even that long) to complete with speed run leaderboards being the only reason to replay this. Still this gem is well worth a playthrough, especially to those with a sense of humor. I would tell you more but you first must purchase the DLC.

84

Funny,but indeed very short

marvthecrashkin | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all marvthecrashkin's reviews »

DLC Quest is a good and funny game for its price.Basically it is a parody of todays DLC Politic from Game Publishers(EA,Activision).You play a little hero,but to earn your skills and way to save the princess,you need to buy DLC from a trader,like jump or sound DLC.Even though it is a very very short game(Has 2 campaign,takes around 2 hours to finish them)it can offer you a great amount of fun,so its a good idea for a party

80

Nice, funny and extremely replayable!

killalien | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all killalien's reviews »

Well, this game is amazing. Besides being very cheap, it's a hell of fun! Fast-action, filled with lots of jokes, and a non-sense Story that makes you want to get all those coins again and again... It even comes with a FREE-DLC! (hehe). There is also lots of achievements that extends the gameplay softly. If you consider its price, this game would cost like 10c/hour, because you're gonna play for hours and hours non-stop! Awesome!

72

Cheap, Fun, Wastes a Few Hours, What More Do You Want?

robthegamer | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all robthegamer's reviews »

The concept of the game is genius. It is a parody that takes the mick out of big game companys who charge so much money for so little. It is £2. TWO POUNDS! I picked it up with only hearing good things. I was not disappointed. When you can buy DLC to move and get the pause menu, you know what you are in for. The smallest details that you take for granted in a game, that game companys are probarbly thinking about putting out as DLC. Great game, well worth the money!

68

A delightful little distraction

Elfangorax | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all Elfangorax's reviews »

While not quite the satirical gem it has at times been made out to be, DLC Quest is filled with humorous little allusions, which serve well enough to carry its two-to-three hours of somewhat lacklustre gameplay.

A decent, genuinely amusing game to blitz in a single session, but not a lot to be getting one's teeth into beyond that.

65

Entertaining and gets its point across but lacks content

Qwertyfour | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

This game can be completed in less than 2 hours which is pretty frustrating because most of that time will be spent combing the entire area for coins. A good part about this game is that it's pseudo metroidvania in that you will use your coins to buy more upgrades which will let you explore more areas. That aspect I enjoyed immensely but everything else was pretty bad. There are 2 separate campaigns. In addition, I also disagree with the basic premise of the game. I find DLC to be enjoyable additions to games. Granted, I'm not one to drop money on the XYZ sniper crossbow gun but if I find a game enjoyable enough, I will buy DLC. There's no such thing as too much DLC, for in fact I would argue that large amounts of DLC is good for a game (well, besides online map packs which tend to divide communities)

Overall, I would not recommend getting this game at full price. At discount price, it's worth noting that there are Steam cards for this game so you'll get your monies worth back. This game feels far too much like a cheap stab at the current development cycle of games.

80

Short, but very funny

stitch123 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all stitch123's reviews »

First of all I should say that this game is really short. It has two campaigns. First is about 40 and second 60 minutes. Otherwise, game is very funny! You can find here massive amount of easter eggs and references to other games. Gameplay is very simple. You have to walk, talk, kill, collect coins and... buy DLCs (for golds you collected, of course)! That's the main part of the game. You'll buy jump, sounds, animations and more... Funny and cheap game, that will offer you a large amount of fun :)

(Sorry for my bad English)

82

It's cheap, it's funny.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

What else can we say that's not been said yet? DLC Quest takes the joke about DLC really far and makes you buy even the Pause Screen DLC (with in-game money, don't you worry). It has two campaigns, both are quite short and easy to beat, but you aren't playing for a challenge. You're playing for the jokes, and this game will sure make you laugh quite a bit with references from The Legend of Zelda, Portal, and even Skyrim. It's totally worth getting it if you're looking for a light-themed, funny little game.

68

Short and Sweet Parody

Crazyhowie | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all Crazyhowie's reviews »

DLC Quest is a parody game about the concept of DLC in games. It's short, sweet and as long as you know what you're going into, you should a few laughs out of it. It takes the concept of DLC to extremes with the notion that you have to buy animations, sounds, and the ability to go left. While of course you only spend in-game coins to unlock the DLC, it's a playful mechanic that really makes you question the value of DLC you may have purchased in the past. Growing up in the golden age of early PC gaming, you realize how much we took for granted the sheer amount of free content and patches that a game would receive months, even years after release. The gameplay itself is nothing special, as it's a fairly bare-bones platformer... but before it gets too repetitive, it'll end and hopefully you will come out of it with a chuckle or two. The second campaign did start to wear out its welcome a bit near the end for me, as it required just a bit more skill-based platforming and what felt like a little more backtracking, but I still enjoyed it for what it was. A short, sweet, cheap parody game. Nothing more, nothing less.

88

Aww man so much fun

robotoucan | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all robotoucan's reviews »

Short, and simple but so much fun. Thats where the charm comes from. Very funny. Make sure you talk to every character because some of the interactions are funny as heck. I recommend it for the price you can get a good 3 hours or so if you try to find every coin and get all the awardments.

86

Super entertaining, Takes a joke on DLC cont, Pretty unique game

momoster69 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

Gameplay is pretty good, its fun and i love the whole game system where you collect coins to buy a feature such as Jump, This game is kind of short but its really enjoyable. I really recommend this game to anyone.

58

Quite interesting idea and simple gameplay for indie game

y1985 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

The game has an interest idea which main character progress thought the game by purchasing DLC contents to allow new things happen.

The graphic is so simple 8-bit platform gaming style but I think it's too simple, someone might not like it but I think it's ok.

Overall I like the idea of the game.

82

A nice fun and simple game

cordin | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all cordin's reviews »

For the price you get it on steam you get a good couple hours out of it, its fun and simple which is exactly what my title says, the controls are fine the story is one like super meat boys, get the girl back, and the random events and dlc you can get from the shop make the game funny at times.

74

Fun but extremely short.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

DLC Quest is a funny but very short game. I enjoyed the music and the artwork was nice.

The game play was a bit repetitive after awhile because all you really do is jump and collect coins. I think that more combat would've helped as they give you a weapon but you barely get a chance to use it.

I recommend this game for the right price but don't expect a long game or any replay value.

100

Simple and Fun

friendbear | July 31, 2013 | See all friendbear's reviews »

This game is very simple to understand. Its funny, creative, and easy. Its doesn't drag on forever, but you will be a bit sad once the game is over. It doesn't take much to complete and its a quirky game. One of the best games anyone could recommend!

60

Average game with a funny premise

F4T4LV0iD | July 26, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

DLC Quest is a game that pokes fun at what everyone seems to have taken notice with the current generation of console games and PC gaming, that everything seems to have DLC for it now which nickel and dime you for every last cent it seems. The game really captures this concept by literally making everything in-game DLC, even the most necessary things such as moving backwards or jumping! Which adds to the hilarity of this title.

The game was a fun ride while it lasted, but the ride itself wasn't very long. The only places where the game falls flat is there is no real challenge at all, it's more or less "collect coins, buy DLC, progress, repeat". Let it be known though that all DLC in this game is bought with in-game coins you collect, nothing you actually pay for.

My final thoughts with this game is that it's a game you'd typically find on a website with free Flash games, and that's the feeling I get from this game. But with a $2.99 price tag I can't steam about it too much, because I still felt the laughs I got from this game covered the price of admission.

69

Fun, for the well-versed gamer

zipnox | July 25, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

DLC Quest is a short but sweet platform game which heavily revolves around current gimmicks within the game industry, specifically, making fun of them. If you get your hands on this ridiculous game, prepare yourself for a heap of references. If you aren't very knowledgeable of the gaming scene then this game probably isn't for you.

The game's price is suitable for the couple of hours of fun it provides, its biggest driving point is being ironic and humorous, and it plays those parts well. However I feel that the comedy tries to carry the game too hard and leaves the rest of it lacking, the graphics are dull and the music gets repetitive quite fast. The gameplay is fine but very simple, the game provides no challenge.

Overall it's a short but sweet game for a good price. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who hasn't been playing enough to get the references.

80

Funny and fun game

ADUAN | July 23, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

This game pokes fun at the trend of DLC in the gaming industry, along with various gaming references, while at the same time being a fun platformer. You can probably complete the game in 1 to 2 hours, but it is still worth playing and it is cheap at only 3 dollars.

85

An entertaining little parody with some frightening implications

David732 | July 8, 2013 | See all David732's reviews »

The gameplay is decent if generic platforming, but the real focus lies of course in the game's many jokes about the increasing commercialization of video game content. For example, you begin the game by purchasing novelties like music, animation, and the ability to move to the left from the in-game fake DLC store. While extreme, this bears concerning similarities to recent DLCs from many publishers that provide extra songs, graphics, or in-game abilities. Throughout the course of the game you will find many other quips about the industry's trends.

Admittedly, the game is short, but for a few dollars you're likely to get your money's worth of entertainment before you finish the game and gain a new perspective on the increasing prevalence of video game DLCs.

82

Simple and funny.

CrysisX | July 8, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

DLC Quest is a platformer adventure game that has some great parodies which made me laugh a lot. All you do in this game is jumping around collecting coins to buy DLCs which helps you on your adventure. Finished the game in like 2 hours and would recommend this game to anyone who's looking for a nice hilarious game that's not too long!

79

It's a Neat game

EliParker | July 8, 2013 | See all EliParker's reviews »

This is a game that pokes fun at DLCs in general, the ones that rip consumers off. The gameplay is average, with a story that is a pun also. All in all it is a game that is meant to be taken lightly, by the gamer and their wallet.

90

Really fun game

stevenpink | July 7, 2013 | See all stevenpink's reviews »

I love this game. It's so simple and entertaining. It's rather short but, still very fun. The price is great for an awesome game. It's definitely worth purchasing!

100

Worth the Money!

mathcat | July 7, 2013 | See all mathcat's reviews »

This game is fun and humorous. The graphics you do not bother with cause they are fun. It is a very short game but played multiple times. The idea is amazing and extremely funny. I would suggest this to anybody. Well worth the 3.00 dollars. I missed this but there are two campaigns in the game. "live freemium or die" is the best.

75

A great little distraction

wvelkala | July 7, 2013 | See all wvelkala's reviews »

I picked this up for 90p in the GMG666 sale and it is certainly worth a giggle for that price. It's a great little distraction from AAA titles and good fun for what it is. If you're a bit sarcastic and cynical then you should enjoy it; it makes it's commentary on The DLC Debate and a couple of little pokes at the predictability and the mediocre building-blocks way some games are made.

There's jumping, there's coins, there's a nemesis and there's a damsel. It's clever, it's cheap and it's a good palette cleanser of a game. Worth considering if you're stuck for ideas while staring blankly at the rest of your games library!

86

Satire of the industry

kubqo | July 7, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

This game is in its core retro platformer with rpg elements. But that is not important, more significant is that it is trying to make fun of gaming industry of the last couple of years. And it does that succesfully. I would compare it to buying a ticket to the cinema for a comedy movie, but this ticket is cheaper and interactive. I was almost constatly laughing at its pokes to the industry. At the same time, i enjoyed simplistic platforming nd and exploring. DLC Quest is the funniest game you’ll ever play. I guarantee it! Go and pay that tiny amount of money developer asks for this "2-hour joke"!

84

Good satire of today's questionable standards in gaming

darkyhbk | July 6, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

DLC Quest is a rather short game, consisting of two campaigns that you can finish in about an hour each, but you can also speedrun in less than 20 minutes. But this, considering its very low price, is good value. The game itself is a simple platformer, where you basically need to collect gold coins in order to buy DLC, consisting in stuff ranging from the ability to go left to graphics enchantments, weapons and new abilities. Along the way you meet some very intentionally generic NPCs with whom you can interact. Many dialogues make fun of certain bad habits in game development and distribution, and the references are quite subtle. One character believes that the "All your base are belong to us" reference wil not be understood by more than half of the people playing, but there is enough stuff for younger gamers as well. One NPC states that "the cake is a lie", while some time later he dies because an arrow to the knee. The game doesn't have much replay value, unless you missed some awardments on your first run, but it's certainly very entertaining to play and have a relaxing couple of hours.

75

A quick, humorous jab at the industry

bwrussell | July 2, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

First off this game is about the message and the jokes not the game play, which is generic, if not well built, platform hopping. Luckily the humor and message deliver in spades. Some times making you laugh, like really laugh, out loud and everything, while other moments will bring a flash of real world revelation, often evoking memories of specific games or publishers. Just don't blast through it or you will miss many of the jokes and references. It's about the journey, not getting to the end fastest. This game has started making the sale rounds and I would definitely recommend spending the couple of dollars it costs to play it.

80

Short, but funny

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

An excellent parody of today's gaming industry, with a message hidden beneath the humor, a message that foretells - and very accurately - how gaming industry is becoming with all games being chopped and sold in parts - known as DLCs - in order to get more money. A sad truth, packed in an excellent and fun platformer full of references to pop culture stuff, memes, jokes, and game, movie and comic references.

90

A very humoristic game with a retro style.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

In DLC Quest, you are the hero who needs to save the princess from the bad guy. Sounds familiar? It is a wink at many games. Everything in the game needs to be bought, with the in-game coins of course, starting from the music going to maps, passing by a horse armor.

The game is made from a 8 bit design. It is a simple platformer, very similar to Super Mario Bros. You speak with some NPCs in order to have a little clue on what is waiting you beyond that specific point. The game is not very long, it can take you maybe 1-2 hours to complete, but at around 1$, you cannot ask for much. It is funny from the beginning until the end. There is a "fake end" and a "real" one. So, if you think you finished the game, continue to search until you get the in-game achievements, which have nothing to do with steam or games for windows live achievements.

There is nothing much to say about this game, other that I really enjoyed my experienced with it. Save your tomorow's coffee and buy this game. It really worths playing.

88

Short, sweet and to the point.

bartlec2 | June 14, 2013 | See all bartlec2's reviews »

This game is a very short one. I finished it in roughly 30 minutes, but for the low price, it's great. This game is a great non-subtle commentary of the DLC game market these days, leading to clever quips, funny comments, and fun pokes at current trends. I loved the writing of this game, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

76

Simple yet entertaining

Unex | June 10, 2013 | See all Unex's reviews »

Considering the low price I picked the game up some weeks ago, played it once and didn't play it again. But that is basically the main idea. You play it for one or two hours, laugh a little and your done. It's not intended to entertain you for hours and would be basically the same over and over again. Even though this game has like no replay value at all it was still pretty fun to play. For around 3€ I didn't expect anything else so I won't complain about the lack of content. It's just a little, simple game which was made with love for detail.

72

Really fun game, but a bit short

BlueFireGaming | June 9, 2013 | See all BlueFireGaming's reviews »

To come straight to the point, this is a great and funny game, but it is a bit short. Also, if you have completed it once, I don't think you would want to play it again because it will be just the same.

This game is great fun if you like a game with joke, and with DLC for everything (even for walking to the left!) which you can buy with in-game currency, you can be searching for coins just to get every DLC in the game.

Although this game is fun, there are some downsides to it. Sometimes, the DLC's feel pushed. For example, when you go into a forest, you need to buy a DLC pack just to go back. Things like that are a bit annoying, but you can live with it.

If you like a game full of jokes and a weird concept to buy DLC to do almost anything, this is a great game. The only thing is that it is a bit short, and it is also a one-time-joke-game, to sum it all up...

79

irreverent and unusual

KellinCore | June 8, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

that much indie, humor wild and scenic simple addition to a theme that never in my life had seen and I can enjoy this game (besides some DLC evoland by the beginning) that great game, I like the idea completely and is rather short ;c!

81

DLC Quest - a truely fun and epic quest!

Shav | May 22, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

This game is really short, and features old school graphics and sounds. But it does it well!

I spent a good 2-3 hours playing DLC Quest, and I enjoyed it. The storyline was really funny, especially if you got all the references (and hell, there are lots of em!). The game is quite straightforward platformer, but all the "DLCs" and premium packs that you can buy for ingame currency are a nice addition.

This game won't last you for a long time, nor you will want to come back for it, but trust me, it is worth its price. For less then a can of beer you can get a good 2hrs of laughter and fun.

80

Short, but extremly fun

Demilisz | May 13, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

You won't spend hours with this game. It original campaign can be completed in around thirty minutes. But this game is funny and it is hard not to laugh while talking to few NPC that are there or reading DLC descriptions. And this is so cheap that it would be a shame not to buy it.

70

A fun little game

Mandemon | May 11, 2013 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

A game is nice jab at modern "Sell the game in pieces" mentality, seen too often. Graphics are rather charming, reming of 32-bit graphics with 8-bit style.

Game is not very long, perhaps an hour or two if you drag it by doing 100% completion. However, the price tag reflects this.

Games' controls are very good and precise. Personally, I played the game with a pad, as such I can not comment of keyboard controls, but with a gamepad the game feels good. Humor is little bit hit-or-miss, either you get a chuckle or you don't. Level design is little bit bland, it does not really offer anything special.

The main gameplay revolves around getting enough coins to buy for the DLCs that either speed up the gameplay or are essential for victory. However, it does feel little bit boring after a while, since the game lacks anything else, apart from casual murder of sheep. Once again, games length works for itself, since the shortness makes sure you do not quit the game because you grew too bored.

The game is very short and very cheap quick run. The price paid is something that feels more like supporting the makers, rather than making any profit. Still, game does feel like it should be a freeware game, rather than commercial due to it's size.

80

A one-joke game, but it's a good one...

deviousdisdain | May 11, 2013 | See all deviousdisdain's reviews »

There's something delightful about a game like this, that embraces an old-school aesthetic and charm, while simultaneously poking fun at the present state of the industry. Paid add-ons, day-one DLC's, usage of in-game currency, you name it, it's called out and lampooned here. The game makes one yearn for a simpler, more straightforward time - one without unnecessarily-tacked-on online, season passes, content cut out and sold as DLC, microtransactions... a time when getting a game meant you got everything the developers wanted to offer you. Two or so utterly charming hours, well worth the low cost of admission.

40

I've heard this joke before.

Sir_Selah | May 10, 2013 | See all Sir_Selah's reviews »

A satirical romp through a 2D platformer, DLC Quest pokes fun at modern business practices within the game industry. With references that make fun of everything from excessive DLC to day one content being sold digitally instead of being included with the purchase of a game this game covers it all.

The problem is that it does so in a manner that is almost insulting to one's intelligence.

Right off the bat you have to use in-game currency to purchase basic things like sound and the ability to pause. Although it's a valid statement about charging for basic functionality that should be free, it takes the joke out of the realm of funny and into a manner of storytelling that can only be described as beating you over the head while constantly saying "Hurrr, durrr. DLC is bad and you hate DLC so this is funny right?". The rest of the game is filled with similarly forced humor that's more about bashing on a controversial topic rather than well-crafted jokes.

The gameplay itself is extremely forgettable. You simply collect coins to purchase things you need to advance in an extremely simple 2D platformer that does nothing to challenge the player.

The prices is low enough that you may not regret the purchase, but is the game worth the hour or two of your time it will take to complete both quests? It's highly suggested that you watch a video first to see the game before you buy it.

85

A game to experience

Demeryk | May 4, 2013 | See all Demeryk's reviews »

DLC Quest takes you back twenty years with its old style graphics and 8-bit music. Through a charming story, it will make you laugh and reflect upon the state of modern gaming, where achievements are used to lengthen games, cosmetic changes such as horse armors are sold at a high price, and DLC is even used to change the ending.

The experience is over very quickly, but it is still well worth his price. Completionists have a fair amount of exploration to do to obtain everything and earn all achievements, and you can play the story multiple times to improve your score and rank up the leaderboards.

95

A joke made into a game or a game made into a joke

No57 | May 2, 2013 | See all No57's reviews »

First thing you think when you say a game is a joke is not that the game is good but that it's that bad. This is certainly not the case.

DLC Quest oozes charm. When it comes to graphics and music it can't get any more old school than this. Simple yet effective.

The story is funny if you take the time and have the mindset to enjoy it.

Mechanics? Can't say it has any. You walk, jump, double jump and wall jump, talk to people, shoot and stab.

Main drawback of the game is that it's very very short. That's nothing to steer you away from buying it. It's short but full of jokes aimed at gamers and let me tell you this, every gamer no matter how knowledgeable will get most of the jokes.

Saved the best for last. The title DLC Quest. This is where most of the jokes shine. In the past decade the gaming industry took an interesting turn from content that used to first be added into patches, then expansions now made into a DLC., or a dozen DLCs. In DLC Quest you get to buy everything as a DLC with in-game currency, gold coins. When I say you get to buy DLCs you seriously need them for everything. At the start you can't jump, you don't have weapons, you can't even walk to the left without purchasing it.

Conclusion? Low price well worth the laughs. Not going to give it a 100/100 because I don't believe in it but I certainly would in this case.

100

Absolutely Charming

jonvondom | April 17, 2013 | See all jonvondom's reviews »

Real humor in gaming is a rarity and parody is almost unheard of. I am happy to say DLC Quest manages to knock it out of the park when it comes to both.

DLC Quest is a commentary on the state of modern gaming and the over abundance of first day dlc as well as the aqudacity publishers display in making fundamental gameplay elements that should be included a paid add on. For example; when you begin the game there is no sound or animation and your charecter lacks the ability to move left.

The art. while crude has a definate charm to it.

The story is the absolute highlight of the experiance. Poking fun at games ranging from old school final fantasy to mass effect.

The only negative is that the game clocks in at a miniscule hour and change. Given the low price tag and the smile on your face the whole time this flaw can be easily overlooked.

Overall this is an experiance you do not want to miss.