Reviews for Anna Extended Edition

90

Beautyful horror game.

Suppression555 | Oct. 27, 2014 | See all Suppression555's reviews »

Anna is the game which gives you much more than a standart horror game. First thing if you like Dear Esther than you'll like this game too. Anna's story reminded me usually Fatal Frame 2 Crimson Butterfly because of twin sacrifices and the mask puzzles from the first Fatal Frame. Soundtrack is great but it's too soft for the horror game or mystery game. one of the main soundtrack is very similar with first Risen game. It makes me feel like wandering around and cutting chickens in the Risen. I seriously recommend this game. I'm sure it's story will catch you.

70

Too spooky for me.

Furrek | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

When I grabbed Anna - Extended Edition I had no idea this game was a horror. I knew that it's adventure, but that's all. Starting from beginning this game have pretty good puzzle elements - you will need to combine many things and sometimes you will not expect outcome. Also it's not like because puzzles are not realistic, because in my opinion they are good. Next thing is graphics, which are amazing for a game like this. The world in this game is something worth checking out. What's also great is few endings - perfect for people who like to play few times, not only once. Anna - Extended Edition is a great horror game. I had a situation when in room I was "attacked" by something and needed to start over again. I didn't knew what happened but was scared and curious, so when I tried to "summon" this thing again nothing happened... so it was very strange. I'm not big fan of this genre, but I did enjoyed Anna. I'm sure that if you are fan of horror/adventure games, you will love this game.

58

Weird videogame

Speed4Runs | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all Speed4Runs's reviews »

Anna is a really weird videogame which combines the point and click genre with horror. Throughout Anna you will witness many weird and paranormal events which, some of them, will leave you breathless. It's very funny as well as interesting, but it lacks a good longevity and gameplay innovations, although it's somehow advanced considering the average point and click games. The plot is deep and really interesting.

Graphics + performance: 5.75

Very enjoyable graphics, clean, and rich of post processing effects; yet, they're also simple, especially the shadows, which lack of any kind of newly-discovered effects (soft shadows etc.) Light effects are really cool, which are sometimes even artistic and they make a really good looking, colorful, atmosphere. The performance is pretty good generally, but when you're too close to a wall/object, the game starts to lag with big fps drops (probably caused by high poly models?)

Plot: 6.5

Very good plot which makes you want to hear more and more throughout the game. There are many endings, all of which are really interesting.

Longevity: 4.5

If you feel you're stuck in the game, it may takes you a while to know what you should do next, but once you discover it, you will most probably finish the game with the "Truth" ending, the longest one, in a not so long time. It doesn't really last long enough.

Gameplay: 5.5

Advanced version of most point & click gameplays. It doesn't have anything innovative, though. Having a full 3D-world, instead of playing with photos, in this game genre it's really cool. Even though it's funny to play, after a while you may find it boring because it's repetitive and it's very basic (you can't run, you can't jump, you can just walk and use your inventory).

Sound: 6.75

Awesome soundtracks and excellent background sounds. Voice acting is ok, but it could be improved.

Final score: 58/100

Really good game. Recommended to those who like paranormal things...

90

Excellent and freaky horror adventure game

commanderhavoc | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

This game has got a great sense of atmosphere both in the enviroments and the soundtrack. The dark water mill is really creepy, especially when you hear what sounds like a woman crying and banging all around you. And then there's of course the question as to why is the protagonist there, why was he drawn to this place and who is this mysterious Anna? Also, if you love the soundtrack, you will be happy to know that it is included in this Extended Edition as MP3 files in the Steam folder for the game, so you can listen to the atmospheric music while on the bus or out in the woods. This is a must have for those who enjoy spooky games like Barrow Hill, Dark Fall and similar titles.

100

Can't play it in one go, too freaky

Cheeseburgermaf | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all Cheeseburgermaf's reviews »

I'm not sure it's exactly healthy to show this to my grandma. I think it's that good.

I bought my mom a copy, it has impressed me this much.

Even with walkthroughs for help, I can only take so much at a time. This game will get under your skin.

It is a psychological horror game. All the tension comes from mental/emotional troubles of the protagonist. Contrast with traditional horror genres, where the source of fear is material rather than immaterial. Instead of being attacked physically, your mind is attacked. Instead of an external battle, the fight is within yourself.

It's only a game, and yet I can't just keep playing at length. It messes with me.

I only wish that I had played it sooner.

You can play it too.

At night, with the lights out, when no one else is awake.

85

A Welcome Dose of Survival Horror

Feriku | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all Feriku's reviews »

Anna has a creepy atmosphere (although the soothing music causes some dissonance) and a haunting story. The scares may lose their effectiveness once you get used to them, but Anna attempts a different sort of sanity system that is worth experiencing.

The gameplay involves the survival horror elements I love--solving puzzles to make your way through the sawmill. The puzzles may sometimes seem obscure, but there's usually a hint written somewhere. The thing that held me up the most was not noticing an item/book I needed. I wish the items stood out more.

The interesting intuition system, the multiple endings (many of which you can get by, at various points in the game, fleeing the sawmill, which I thought was a nice touch), creepy story and atmosphere, and survival horror gameplay make Anna: Extended Edition a game I definitely recommend.

92

Beautiful and Terrifying

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The atmosphere of Anna is amazing; the graphics are beautiful, the soundtrack blends nicely with the world and the events of the story, and the imagery within the game is downright creepy at times. The puzzles serve to advance the creepiness, which is just fine. Because the creepiness is so well constructed.

83

Scary and startling at the starting

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

The game does a very good job at creating good scary environment and startling moments, but once you get the hang of the game, you realize it's not that scary at all. Although it's worth trying if you are a Horror game fan and with a price like that, there is no harm in trying.

71

Nice effort!

Plasros | June 11, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

When this game is good it is bloody brilliant. There is more than just a hint of awesomeness within this flawed game. The graphics, sound effects imagery and game-play dynamics can combine to provide some truly disturbing and chilling moments that will seep into your mind and haunt you, and this alone makes it well worth a play through. What stops this game from scoring an 80 or 90 out of 100 is the somewhat obtuse puzzles which it seems can only be solved through trial and error. I had a constant feeling that I was never quite given all the information necessary to proceed in the game without having to carry out repetitive permutations.

75

Nice and Atmospheric Little Game

nightrunner227 | May 29, 2013 | See all nightrunner227's reviews »

I managed to grab this for $2 thanks to a combination of sale/voucher/credit, but now that I've played it I can say I'd have been happy with it even at full price. While I didn't find the game all that scary or even spooky, the devs did well with giving Anna a kind of darkly serene, dreamlike feeling.

pros: Nice soundtrack, graphics are pretty good, lets player choose between original and extended version, good atmosphere

cons: Not scary, puzzles are sometimes illogical, story is a little hit/miss

Overall, I'd recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of adventure games.