Reviews for Alpha Protocol

83

An overlooked gem

paranoidandroid | April 8, 2014 | See all paranoidandroid's reviews »

Take the choices and RPG elements of Mass Effect and the gameplay of Metal Gear Solid and you get Alpha Protocol.

A surprisingly good game with a dialogue tree and choice system that actually dramatically changes the story. It may, in fact, be the most dynamic choice system I have ever seen in a game before.

The story is your typical espionage story, but still very enjoyable. The stealth and shooting mechanics are both pretty well done and a wide variety of ways to complete a mission. This game may also have the distinction of the most OP pistol in a game ever. The first Halo has nothing on Alpha Protocol's pistol when the right perks are equipped, meaning you can finish any boss in a matter of seconds.

Overall, this overlooked game definitely deserves more attention as it really is a very unique.

88

A cult classic RPG

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

There are not a lot of RPG games where you play as an espionage agent, even less those that are well made. Alpha Protocol delivers on ALMOST all fronts. While lacking some polish the core of the game is a solid RPG with some new ideas thrown into the mix.

You can customize and choose what kind of character you will be playing and this will really impact to the way you will be playing the game. A technician won't be as good of a shooter as a straight up commando. The interactions with the npc's also matter as the way you deal with them affects what kind of relationships you will end up having with them. Your decisions really matter!

Whether you are a stealth freak or a shooter fanatic, you can build the game and your character around your preference. The controls work well enough to lend themselves to either approach.

The graphics have also stood the test of time fairly well (I'm writing this in 2014).

Give it a chance if you are into RPG games. You likely won't regret it.

81

good game for its time

damienjameswebb | March 2, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Alpha Protocol was an odd game to play. it was a spy action/thriller type of game... with a hint of RPG thrown in for good measure. i didn't really know how to play this game at first... was it an RPG? an action shooter? It was kind of an awkward play. Either way, the gameplay was smooth and the graphics were nice for a game from its time. i never ended up finishing it, however, as it felt sluggish at times for me story wise and i couldn't really get into it.

it can run very well on laptops as long as you comp the graphics a little, but it will still look good and play smooth. and the broadness of your character customization and re-play ability with different methods is really what makes this game a strong one.

87

A brilliant title that needs more love

taigatsu | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

To this day, Alpha Protocol manages to remain a massively underrated title. A fantastic piece of spy fiction, it's greatest strength lies in its verisimilitude and the depth of its reactivity. The sheer scope of conversation and the variety of character builds to try out means that you can play the game several times over and see find things that surprise you.

The world of espionage and intrigue is a breath of fresh air for an RPG, while the characters are varied and believable, and all respond realistically the wide variety of conversational approaches you can take with them. Not enough can be said about the dialogue in this game - each conversation can be played out in several different approaches, and how you treat each person effects how they respond to you and how they will interact with you in the future. One of the sharpest things said to describe the game is that while the beginning and the end remain the same, what happens in between can vary wildly.

Game play does suffer from a few weak points. It plays like a third person action shooter, but without the polish and precision that kind of game requires. Certain mechanics are bugged, broken or unbalanced. Combat can be either laborious at times, or rendered ridiculously simple by exploiting certain skills. It was designed with consoles in mind, so a gamepad is almost required - activities like hacking or locking picking are almost impossible without one.

Don't overlook this one; it's an absolute gem. If you're willing to overlook some rough edges, you'll find one of the most unique and compelling RPGs of the last decade.

66

Mediocre

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This one is a pretty good RPG game. I wouldn't say it's top notch or anything. Deus Ex: Human Revolution would be better than this one in my opinion. The stealth is good as well for what it's worth.

I didn't really the story that much. I really just kept playing because of the RPG elements that were offered. It's one of those games where I finish just because I don't want to waste anymore time on it. It's just me though. I guess I'm not a fan of RPG mixed with stealth.

80

Amazing spy rpg

bradysam | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all bradysam's reviews »

The game itself is looking a little dated now and some of the AI is a bit off. But the story itself is incredible and the amount of choice you have is amazing. You can develop a reputation with each character that you meet in game, and depending on your reputation you'll get different benefits. Each of the missions can be played through in multiple ways, each affecting the story and how the other characters in the game see you and treat you. It initially got poor reviews when it was released due to the general bugginess of the game. But it's easy to overlook once you start playing it. If you liked any of the previous Bioware games then it's easy to recommend. Similarly, if you have any interest in spy games (of which there aren't that many!) then it's quite easy to recommend as well!

77

Espionage RPG

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

There is something very positive in this game,Alpha Protocol was kinda surprise for me,I bought it on sale not really knowing what to expect and boy I dont regret a penny I spend on it.In this game you gonna play as a spy working for organization called Alpha Protocol,you gonna encounter a series of missions around the globe,meet very interesting characters,which may become either your allies or enemies(make no mistake,here you decisions matter).Story is very good,overflowing with surprising twists,and slightly changing depending on your decisions.Graphics look nice,gameplay seems a bit stiff,but it aint bad.Every mission you can complete either by stealth or simply Rambo style.I had a lot of fun with it and recommend it.

85

Spy fiction at its best

Neonberry | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a hybrid of RPG and third person shooter that gives you loads of options for customizing your character. What is even better, this will eventually effect that gameplay in quite exciting ways. You want to sneak around? Hack? Go straight in and shoot everyone in the face? It is up to you. Even though this is nothing new in the gaming world it is always a welcome addition if executed well. What I most liked about the game is the dialogues. You have only a little time to choose and what you say will affect your relationship with different people - that might help you out or not later in the game. Maybe the game did not reach its full potential but none the less it is a great game with a lot of great ideas and great replay value. I would recommend it to all those who love Bond, Bourne and Bauer and would like to find out what it might be like to be in their shoes.

74

Continuing the curse

thezayel | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all thezayel's reviews »

Poor Obsidian just can't get a break. After the almost phenomenal, but not quite finished Knights of the Old Republic 2, Alpha Protocol joins the list of games with excellent scope and ambitions, but ultimately suffering from very obvious time constraints. The intricately designed story- and dialogue systems are hampered by an ultimately lackluster gameplay. You can clearly see this game could have been grand, but they just weren't able to put down the finishing touches.

70

A decent spy RPG

Bytrine | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a decent spy RPG but it just doesn't hit it. The story is pretty well written. However, there are so many bugs and texture rendering problems it takes away from being immersed in this game. The combat is horrible and sometimes you'll peak out and get one shotted in the face, but when you do that to an AI, it doesn't work out. I wouldn't want to see a large series of the game, but maybe a sequel that fixes all of the errors in the game and have it actually finished.

80

Great Spy RPG

lucasart | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all lucasart's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a bipolar title. If measured on a strictly gameplay, you can not overlook the serious problems of balance in terms of character development (there are combinations that literally break the game in the later stages ), the stealth sessions and the AI ​​deficit are to be reviewed completely. However, assessed on the RPG side, the game is surprising for the vastness of the choices allowed, not only with regard to the growth of our pg and for the approach to missions, but it will also be possible to completely change the outcome of the events and characters, so that every game will never be the same as another. The dialogue system is as it should be in the last Bioware titles, especially if you wanted to bet on cinematograficity: there is a wheel, not the phrases severed but with the attitude to be taken, which obviously work differently depending dell'interlocutor, plus the ability to gather information to exploit. Everything is in time, a solution that, if at the beginning can be confusing, serves well to remain vigilant of the player and the pace of the narrative. Definitely recommended to all lovers of spy stories, as long as you close an eye on the technical side.

85

Vastly Underrated and a hidden gem of a game

Thunderbaws | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all Thunderbaws's reviews »

Firstly I can say this stands alone as the only game I enjoyed playing more on a second play through.

Secondly you have to realise this is no shooter, its an RPG in a rare modern setting that contains shooting elements. At the start your aim will be poor till you level up the weapon you wield.

Conversations are more complex than your standard good and evil responses and that makes things far more interesting and were multiple playthroughs not only are desired but near essential to really see what the game has to offer you.

If you like RPGs at all or fancy something that plays out a little different you owe it to yourself to give this game your time!

75

Lots Of Potential But Not There Yet

lagendofdoom | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is an role-playing action "stealth" game, you play as a spy in which you choose at what the character will be more effective, will it be at hacking ? or maybe destroying ? or killing ? or maybe at stealth ? well whatever it will be its your choice to make. The problem with the game are most likely to be the AI and the gameplay which could be significant better and more enjoyable. The story and character are pretty much mixed... some of them are interesting and some of them are boring. The game has allot of content and even if you finished the game it still worth to play it all over again to see other choices you make and a totally different outcomes of your decisions. I hope there will be a sequel or maybe a spiritual sequel to this game that will be able to fix and realize its full potential.

64

A nice try

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Alpha Protocol has some very good elements and a good idea but unfortunately it didn't quite work out the way I'd have hoped. The game itself has great potential, a mash up of great games like Mass Effect, Splinter Cell and others similar. The game does have technical flaws however, some buggy missions and cover system can be annoying to play with. The shooting can be rather hit or miss and the enemy A.I. can be pretty bad or incredibly super human in some areas of the game. The story itself is rather good , at least in my opinion but it gets held back by the gameplay which is unfortunate because its worse than Mass Effect 1's gameplay. It feels like a rushed product and had they waited and put more time into development it could have turned out to be a great game but it only falls flat

73

It fell short of being great.

pmorb | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all pmorb's reviews »

For those that enjoyed the hybrid system of action/RPG from the ME franchise, AP adds more suspense, an espionage theme and more combat. The story is actually very good, the combat is decent and the options you pick do matter and change the objectives you get. The issue with AP is the bugs. From enemy npcs having strange pathing, to being able to be see your character even while invisible, and being spotted by npcs that should not be able to. If you don't mind those hindrances, then you will enjoy the game.

75

Great RPG, below average action.

RuneClaw | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all RuneClaw's reviews »

I followed Alpha Protocol during it's long development and got it as soon as I could. My first impression however was of disappointment. It is an action RPG in a style based on Mass Effect, but it does not execute the shooting very well. It does get better as you get used to the action, but it never feels that special. The skills also feels weak and unbalanced, as some are so extremely useful, like hacking and lockpicking, while some weapons you can train in serve little purpose at all, as other weapons are just better to use.

The RPG part of the game however, is amazing. You will make choices that effects major parts of the game for you. Some organisations and characters you interact with can either become allies or enemies and some consequences are not shown for several hours. When you play the game yourself, some options might not be there, as you picked missions in a special order and did specific choices. For example, there is a mission in Russia where you meet a female mercenary and her organisation. You two can fight, become allies or stay neutral, depending on what you say and do. BUT, if you did all the other available missions in Russia before you picked this one, you will not get to do this mission as you have already acquired all the intel you were after in Russia. So Obsidian were not afraid to create a unique voiced character and a large mission map, but then make it possible to miss both, just because of your playing style. Very cool.

If you like a game with great RPG features and don't mind some weak combat and action, do give this game a try as it is worth the money and time.

70

It could be much better

simodeso | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It's very funny to play but i expected much more from this new IP. The idea is awesome because i like these type of games, the gameplay is enjoyable but the graphic is very bad, it seems a PS2 Game! I repeat that the idea behind is very nice, a game that adapts to your play-style and gives to you perks and bonuses. It has a nice longevity and re-playability because you can try different choices and the game changes. But now it doesn't cost a lot so buy it, it deserve the money that it costs.

85

Alpha Protocol is the new Deus Ex

suvojit91 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all suvojit91's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is an action role-playing stealth game developed by Obsidian Entertainment, their first title for an original IP, and published by Sega. The game revolves around the adventures of field agent Michael Thorton.

Mix Mass effect,Deus Ex & Splinter cell.That's Alpha protocol.

Story: Loyalty carries a price and no one knows this more than agent Michael Thorton. A talented young agent cast out by his government, Thorton is the only one with the information needed to stop an impending international catastrophe. To do so means he must cut himself off from the very people he is sworn to protect. As players determine how to accomplish different objectives, the decisions made and actions taken in each mission will ultimately transform the type of secret agent Michael Thorton will become. Every choice the player makes as Michael Thorton will carry consequences for his future and the fate of the world.

Alpha Protocol's narrative is built around a similarly forward-looking conversation system. As you talk to someone, you're presented with two to four options of what emotion you want to guide you in the conversation. Critically, this happens as a timer goes down, meaning that you have to choose and choose quickly, with a minimum of information. While the concept of not showing exactly what your character will say had previously existed with Mass Effect, the addition of the timer and notable vagueness of the response options make Alpha Protocol's tense affairs. It's easy to see Alpha Protocol as a precursor to The Walking Dead thanks to the timer, which adds immediate intensity to the former simple conversation model.

89

Masterpiece - if Mass Effect had met Splinter Cell

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game feels like a very creative merge of Mass Effect and Splinter Cell, due to the tactical espionage theme and the Mass Effect style graphics and controls. You can chat with the AI and by choosing different dialogue options, you can alter the storyline of the game. This can result in the next objective being a high velocity, explosive gunfight, or it can result in a sneaky approach to a target. This is a very nice game and for £9.99 you can't go wrong!

90

one of the most compelling role playing games of the last years!

spiken0 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

An astounding variety of ethical decisions, a wide range of believable, fun characters and a thrilling 24esque storyline make Alpha Protocol one of the most compelling role playing games of the last years. But be warned: The artificial intelligence is at times dumb as a rock, the save system seems rather antiquated, the graphics don’t hold up to the genre standard and the mini games are clearly not made for PC gamers. However, Alpha Protocol combines an enthralling storyline with a functioning role playing core and the highest grade of replayability in years! Well made, Obsidian!

81

Exciting espionage-rpg

zipnox | July 27, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

At first I had no idea what Alpha Protocol would bring to the table but I soon realized I was in for one hell of a ride. This game features stealth based action together with several role-playing features expertly woven together, accompanied by a great story about conspiracies, betrayal and the occasional love interest.

Alpha Protocol has its flaws, mostly in terms of poor optimization, camera control and other minor nuisances, however the rest of the game makes up for it, big time. The dialogue provides multiple choices and an engaging dialogue system in which the conversations are time based, this allows for a more dynamic and action-based experience.

I found this game to be one of my personal favorites over the last couple of years, very enjoyable and well recommended.

95

Fabulous and Under-rated

Turambar29 | July 19, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

There was no big splash when Alpha Protocol was released, though there was a lot of complaining about bugs. By the time I played it (2013), they must have fixed them, because I don't recall any bugs in my play-through. What I did get was a complex espionage-oriented rpg with great combat and stealth mechanics. I don't play much in the way of FPS, but I found the combat to be enjoyable, and challenging when pursuing stealth options. The game adapts somewhat to your playstyle, too, giving you perks (bonuses to abilities) based on which choices you make in combat and in conversations. I really like the spy feel of the game, and found the characters (and the management of relationships and conflicting loyalties) to be deep and very compelling. The graphics were excellent, and served the story well. This is one of the few games that I immediately restarted after my first play-through - the fun factor and the chance to try different approaches is really attractive! My only complaint is that no sequel is in sight...!

80

Mass Effect and Deus Ex together?

damianjar122 | July 16, 2013 | See all damianjar122's reviews »

Very nice game. When I was playing it I felt like in Mass Effect with its nice story and new Deus Ex with its battles. I will not write you anything about the plot, just play the game. Like you can see at the screenshots graphic is nice but system requirements are not high and almost everyone can play. Many weapons, improvments, battles and story makes this game really good.

75

Could have been the next Mass Effect

vvhitevvolf | July 8, 2013 | See all vvhitevvolf's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a great game that suffered from being released without being polished. It had many bugs that have since been patched and it still suffers from poor AI, occasional camera issues, overpowered bosses and some frame rate slowdown but overall this game had potential and could have been the first in a series of incredible games like we see in the mass effect series.

AP is actually a lot like Mass Effect. So if you liked Mass Effect give this game a try. There's a lot of choice that effects how the game plays out. It has a lot of variety to the missions that I find to actually be better than Mass Effect's missions.

If you are going with the "stealth" style of character the boss encounters are tough, these guys will frustrate you to the point of turning the game off. (hint: most are weak to flashbangs and shock bombs but still annoying)

Mass Effect has the whole squad thing going for it where as AP mostly has you tackling missions alone. It uses the Unreal engine and looks quite nice IMO. There are also some tweeks you can search on google to make it look even better if you want.

Here's a couple things to try for the PC version that I found helps improve the game.

(Make a copy in the same folder of the files, APEngine.ini and APGame.ini so you can go back to original settings if you have any problems)

To improve the framerate issue:

Open "APEngine.ini" located at "Documents\Alpha Protocol\APEngine\Config" and change the following:

UseBackgroundLevelStreaming=false OnlyStreamInTextures=true OneFrameThreadLag=False

To improve Michaels Movement. This slows the turning speed and slows the animation when crouched ect. I really felt it helped improve the games controls.

"APGame.ini" located at "Documents\Alpha Protocol\APGame\Config" and change the following:

InteractDistance=250 CoverWalkSpeed=75.f CoverRunSpeed=125.f PlayerRotationSpeed=80000.0f MoveSpeedNormal=240 MoveSpeedScoped=80 SprintSpeed=320

Its a shame that the game didn't get fine tuned before release because I think it was a good start to a great franchise. Unfortunately the game was released as a buggy mess and deserved the low review scores it got. Even though it plays fine since it was patched and works even better with these tweeks, its just too late to reverse the bad reputation it has. 7.5 out of 10

82

Underrated Gem

arimajeen | July 8, 2013 | See all arimajeen's reviews »

This game is highly underrated, the story is a lot of fun, the dialogue system is great, you can play in completely different ways, both in terms of the gameplay (stealth vs going in guns blazing) and in terms of the storyline. Yes, this game worth picking up if you can get it.

66

Great but Flaws are in

Kaldar | July 2, 2013 | See all Kaldar's reviews »

I think Alpha Protocol is a very brilliant and well designed game can be a bit buggy at times but all games are but we can all see how amazing the graphic design and gameplay is.

75

Three Years Later the gem is revealed

Lightningstrike | July 1, 2013 | See all Lightningstrike's reviews »

Alpha Protocol has long been derided by much of the gaming community for its horribly buggy state of release. However, 3 years after launch many of the game breakers have been fixed and the game can now be considered playable. The game underneath is an excellent spy adventure that any fan of Bond, Bourne, or Bauer should be able to enjoy.

The conversation system, which focuses on forging a personality for your Agent instead of making long reaching decisions, though there are several of those, allows the player immerse themselves in AP's world of espionage adventure.

The core gameplay besides the conversations is the combat. Combat is broken. Any build that doesn't focus on stealth and pistols is going to have a difficult time progressing, so keep that in mind if you intend to play AP as an action shooter.

The main draw will have to be the story though. The excellent writing that Obsidian is known for is present in full force in AP. As your relationships with other charcters changes, you will see new options and bonuses open up as you progress, even if they are results of another character hating you.

Overall AP is a solid Spy game with clunky, boring combat and a great conversation system that will entertain so long as you keep your expectations from soaring too high. A wholly original experience that you won't find anywhere else in the gaming world today.

76

Something a little different...

TommyC7 | June 27, 2013 | See all TommyC7's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is straight out of Obsidian's writing stables, meaning you're in for an intriguing if frustrating RPG. The story starts out simple, you're the new guy who has been tracked to a US black ops department keeping the country safe by going into enemy territory and either actively taking down terrorists and the like or information gathering. However, its not long before things get complicated and you need to decide where your loyalties lie. you need to specialise your skill fields, make some friends or foes if you choose and find out just what you've signed up for. The combat and stealth are generally solid, although most of the games most frustrating moments will come from AI problems or the manner in which fire fights can swamp you with ease. Still, the storyline and other characters are varied enough as well as how you can interact with them make this an enjoyable RPG if you have the patience for it.

80

An Underrated Gem With a Focus on Story

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Alpha Protocol may have some flaws but it is quite good game. The story is very interesting and engaging all the way through the game. It's just like a spy movie or book. Just like Deus Ex, you have many different ways to complete your objective and there's lots of character development. If you like Deus Ex or other similar games, you will love Alpha Protocol.

80

One of the underrated games

Demilisz | June 9, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is one of games that was underrated by many reviewers. And it's not that they was wrong: at the start game was just full of bugs, graphics aren't that great and animations are bad. But it doesn't matter as story makes up almost for everything. Dialogue system is better than in Mass Effect, story overall are better and missions are fun. Oh, and your choices actually matters. So if you can get past technicalieties - grab and play. It is a great cRPG.

72

Protocol Fail?

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Well, Alpha Protocol is one of those brilliant games in his idea and that would give us hundreds of hours of good entertainment but does not for one simple reason, boring gameplay that even the most casual casual.

As you point out, there is no character editor, just a little something removable (although in some great games there or editor is short and the game is still great). The first impression is negative, you wake up in an infirmary (much to the Mass effetc 2), and players start on the nail bed. As you move something and discover the rough handling of the character, as well as animations of it painful.

As for the rest of the gameplay, we cover ourselves with a system very similar to hide in Splinter Cell, in fact, too close, the subject of security systems decipher something new, but come on, it becomes easy to get the hang , what a weariness is hacking this by the numbers, sometimes find the coincidence is just being more awake.

Then, because you have no starting points, conversations are eternal and little else to say. For me, a pain which of course I have not spent.

Graphics are not bad, fairly regular technology, sound is good and that, while the idea is basntate innovative, performing worse has been worth the truth.

70

Flat characters.. but story choices make the game

wfosnot | June 1, 2013 | See all wfosnot's reviews »

Do you care if something happens to characters in game.. probably not. However, what you select as game choices makes a difference. It had all the makings of a great game - but something happened and it falls short. Pre-mission set-up feels right, but combat feels wrong. Not to mention the game glitches...

80

Flawed, but long and exciting

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

Obsidian holds a special place in my heart for creating some of the most story driven games with a lot of character and I think this one adds up nicely to their collection. There are plenty of flaws, especially in the scaling of the weapons, but when it comes to the story, it is unique and engaging. The fact that there are TONS of different ways to play this game and come to the end, it's highly recommended for somebody who wants to experience a story. It's like playing through a very long novel and if you like that, you'll like this game.

74

What a great game... it could have been

Harbinger_87 | May 23, 2013 | See all Harbinger_87's reviews »

"Alpha Protocol" has so much going for it. An intruiging story, exceptional voice acting, great character customization and one of the best dialogue-systems ever created (including great writing), so by all means, it should have been a great game. As it stands, it is merely good. Promising, but one of the biggest wastes of potential in the history of gaming. The biggest problem is that Obsidian had lots of great ideas but failed completely to design a game around them that livens up to the potential. If you're programming an espionage-RPG, why let all missions objectives consist almost exclusively of shooting people in the face? If you let a player sink dozens of skill points in stealth and hand-to-hand-combat, why create mandatory boss battles that are absolutely unbeatable with such character-builds? And if all you do in this game is fighting bad guys, why program such a shoddy shooting-engine? Even when "Alpha Protocol" isn't bugging all over the place, it plays merely like a second rate third person shooter. And that's too bad because with a bit more polish, "Alpha Protocol" could have been great. As it stands, it's definitely worth playing for everyone who likes RPGs, especially everyone who wants to see a "realistic" RPG in execution, but if you do, I promise, you'll constantly cringe because of all the wasted potential that'll take place in front of you.

60

A sad letdown

Xentrig | May 18, 2013 | See all Xentrig's reviews »

When I first read the preview for this game, I was immediately interested. I have really enjoyed the way that developers have expanded the RPG genre. Games like Oblivion, Dragon Age, and Kotor, are all among my favorite games to play. The idea is great, and this really hit a niche that hasn't been touched, however, the execution of said idea was terrible. The combat feels clunky and confusing, the AI is near broken, and there are bugs in almost every mission you go on. All in all, this game was a dream, but not a lucid one. This is one of those dreams where you know what you are trying to do, but for some reason or another can't seem to get yourself to do it.

I am only giving it a decent score because aside from all the game parts of the game, the world and the story are not that bad. It just takes a lot to get to it.

85

A buggy masterpiece

Cheezyjax | May 18, 2013 | See all Cheezyjax's reviews »

This game excels in providing options for many different play styles. The character skills and attributes really help make each time you play the game unique. The same goes with the story, which adapts to the choices you make. This variability in gameplay and story really adds to the replayability of this game. The only issues I have with this game is the horrendous animations. You can tell this game was not made with PC in mind when you see the animations playing with a keyboard and mouse. Also this game has a low field of view, and gives no options to change it. If you can get passed a few little issues you will find a very worthwhile experience.

90

Just get over the technical flaws and play this game!

ZinZano | May 13, 2013 | See all ZinZano's reviews »

Picked this game up on the cheap. Very surprised. WELL worth it to me. Many people felt there were quirks with it, but once you figure it out it gets pretty fun pretty fast.

Any game that makes you think twice about killing, and later regret it needs to be played by any and all gamers. The stealth is in the top lists, character variety is awesome. And if you really like looking deep into something, you'll see an underlying philosophical theme of loyalty, orders, and "the mission".

The choices and consequences in this game are very well done which gives this game a great amount of replay values. I personally think this game is the best game Obsidian ever made. if you values the choices and consequences in the RPG and good story telling in video games, this is a game you must play.

97

Punisher's Creed RPG

kokosabre | March 5, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

Yeap...that's what exactly it looks like to me.A mix of Punisher gameplay,AC's storyline and RPG elements.It's just awesome game.During the playtime you pick up a lot of choice from which depends end of the mission,reputation with people,etc.You can gather intel and sell it to the blackmarket...There is just a lot of stuff in it.You gonna like the game.

76

Fun, Unique Action RPG

jabrw0k1 | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all jabrw0k1's reviews »

While I can't say this game is mind blowing in any way, Alpha Protocol is a very fun game. It blends third person action/shooting with RPG elements (things like skill trees, multiple choices in dialog, etc). The graphics may be a little dated, but still look good enough. Overall, I'd give it a recommendation to most fans of action/thrillers.

85

A Game Of Twists And Turns, Lies And Slivers Of Truth

CrimsonWizard | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is Obsidian's spy themed RPG, taking a few cues from stealth based games such as Deus Ex and Metal Gear. Originally released to mixed reviews over two years ago, I have had the pleasure of playing it for the first time this week and would like to try and set the record straight about this game.

The story is a very intricate plot with many threads, and it's unlikely you'll see the whole picture in only play through it all. Yes, even if you search for every file you can and do your best to squeeze information out of people, there will still be mysteries to discover. That's part of the charm of this game though and makes it feels more like a spy or mystery game than other games of its ilk. The game gives you a few subtle hints if you look closely, but it relies more on your intuition to drive the story and what parts of the mystery are unraveled. The colorful and varied cast of characters is everywhere, but fade in and out of actual importance depending on how you want to drive the story. Like the Mass Effect games, you get to talk to many people and your choices carry over throughout the story, but unlike its reliance on morality, Alpha Protocol is more ambiguous what the right choice. It manages to be realistic in that, even with the scraps of clues you uncover about your targets and contacts, you'll never be quite sure what the repercussions of your actions will be. Some characters may be fought, while others can be avoided with clever manipulation. Even early choices will have some sort of an impact towards the later part of the game, making every decision matter.

For all the praise I give the story, I do have to comment on the weaker side of the game: the combat. For my play through, I was attempting to be a stealthy martial pacifist where I would use hand to hand combat along with tranquilizer darts from the pistol. To the game's credit, hand to hand combat works fairly well on regular bad guys and mini-bosses if you can break their block. Unfortunately, this is less effective against boss characters. That is where a lot of the problem comes into play because generally, you will want to use a gun against a boss rather than your fists. The problem? Guns tend to be inaccurate outside of short range, even with accuracy upgrades. When you think you've scored a head shot, you'll see the bullet whiz by and your cover is blown. While an offensively built character won't care that much about blowing their cover, for stealthy classes that are using silencers and rely on accurate shots, this is a letdown. It's not completely broken, but this could have been done better.

Speaking of built characters, this game is an RPG and hence, your actions and completing missions will earn you experience points to give your agent skills. The system takes a lot of inspiration from Mass Effect, relying on a table you can put ability points into for various combat, tech, stealth, and defensive skills. In addition, powers are occasionally awarded for investing enough into a certain skill. For example, investing a lot of points in Stealth will offer powers to cloak you from enemy sight, making it far easier to dispatch enemies with your stealthy knockout/kill move. Oddly, there is also some inspiration from The Elder Scrolls series where you can get certain perks if you use certain skills or perform certain actions often enough. While it's not as ridiculous as jumping off cliffs over and over to increase an acrobatic skill from that title, Alpha Protocol does adapt to your style of play, whether you focus on hacking defenses, stealthy pacifism, or loud gunning.

As for the world you'll be playing in, it looks fairly good. The graphics run on the Unreal Engine so you'll notice a similar style in character structure and graphic design as other games that use it. Sadly, this does mean that several characters and locations look rather homogenized. To their credit, the developers did include some colorful characters and moments to spice things up, such as the shootout in a Russian mobster's mansion who is obsessed with 80's American culture. The music matches this trend, filling the role it's given, but doesn't stand out very often.

Thankfully, despite some issues with the combat and the limitations of the Unreal Engine, Alpha Protocol's strong story and characters help drive the game along. It's a game that makes you want to play again, just to see what you missed by siding with one character or making another hate you, and so on. For the price, you're getting several hours of entertainment, and best of all, it surprises you and adapts to your style. Obsidian once again proves it knows how to write an engaging narrative within a game, and makes Alpha Protocol a must-play for anyone who appreciates RPGs.

65

A missed opportunity

Guardian412 | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

There are games you can love or hate, but can't pass near it without a word and Alpha Protocol is definitely one of them. It's a game which would be great, but something presumably went wrong during the development. As a role playing spy game Alpha Protocol is a unique game with a great and detailed story to tell, with interesting decisions to make where each of them have a real cause and effect for the rest of the game. But unfortunately as a stealthy action game, which is the other part of Alpha Protocol, it fails thanks to the poor AI, the clunky controls and the bugs that with you'll encounter sooner or later. The game isn't bad, and if there would be a huge patch to fix the glitches, to polish the graphics, the animations, the gameplay, it would be great and a classic in the genre - and if you focus on the story and consider Alpha Protocol as a story centric game where the gameplay is mostly a secondary element, you'll definitey enjoy it. But as the game is more than a story to tell, an RPG where you have to play, sneak and fight with poor controls, due to the average / below average execution, the game is definitely a missed opportunity. I can recommend it only for those who love spy stories and have greater patience for buggy games.

80

Great RPG, problematic gameplay

bohater8 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all bohater8's reviews »

This is probably one of the best RPGs lately - every decision matters, from building your skills, to deciding who to kill or how to talk. Unfortunately, it also can be really hard to play because of technical side of a game - various mouse issues, for example. But really, this is a game that should be played by everyone who is RPG maniac.

74

Nice RPG but wanting.

andrewbeechwood | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all andrewbeechwood's reviews »

I beat it and it's very nice. The emotion system (the character likes you, don't like or don't care about you) is fantastic. That chooses really changes the game also that what you say. That makes RPG lives and you can beat it many times.

I choose spy and... stealth sometimes doesn't work like you want it. Guns in the game sucks. I just run and beat guys with bare hands. Bosses are exceptions.

I love the vibe of that game and the humor is fantastic. I laughed often. Especially Brayko - russian mobster. Pure 80's.

If this will be in promotion again - buy it. It's worth it.

68

Not flawless, but not bad

praggi93 | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all praggi93's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a spy themed RPG made by Obsidian. The game was told to offer great mechanics and an interesting storyline. However, the game mechanics are glitchy and buggy, and the story lacks soul and character. The graphics are decent, but that alone wont help you through the heaps of bugs and stupid AI's that you'll meet. If you can see past these flaws, the game offers a lot of fun. The choices you make in the game will have a lasting on the story. The game offers lots of ways to approach missions and develop your character, while the stealthy way wont always work thanks to buggy animations and stupid AI. All in all it its an unpolished gem.

67

Alpha Protocol - review

carlyle | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

In Alpha Protocol after a few missions you have the impression of being in the hands of a product with an extraordinary nature, but due to a technical realization poor never fails to show the best of themselves. Technical problems ranging from the Intelligence Artificial unconvincing graphics dated, until you come to a series of glitches and bugs related to animations and the roofing system. One related to Artificial Intelligence is revealed rather heavy, since on many occasions goes to affect the gameplay real. During stealth happens frequently encounter guards completely immobile (which only react if attacked) or, on the contrary, in real hounds. The guards also alert you only if they see a comrade on the ground, but the fact that the corpses disappear after a few seconds, makes the phases stealth much less exciting than it could have been. So many of the problems of the title Obsidian make the game suitable only for diehard fans.

70

Buggy

owned2260 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all owned2260's reviews »

This would be a great game, it's basically Mass Effect in a spy setting, with a timed conversation system which provides much more tense moments in the game. However, this game is completely let down by bugs, some rendering it unplayable (stuttery mouse unless you're constantly at 60 FPS) and the combat can be frustrating with the only guns being of any use are the pistols, making it quite shallow.

81

An underrated game with a few flaws

DaiMonPaul | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

This game is highly underrated. It has gotten a lot of bad press for flaws in its gameplay, particularly its use of guns, and this is not undeserved. Stealth isn't handled great, and the gunplay isn't anything memorable, although it's not as terrible as others have made it out to be; it gets better once you have leveled up your character. More importantly, though, the game has a wonderful story with lots of replayability. There are multiple endings and multiple ways to get to those endings; replaying the game when you're done almost becomes a must. It's also very difficult to find RPG games that center on spying and political intrigue. A few other reviews have compared AP to the Mass Effect series, and while there are a few similarities in themes, I think that Alpha Protocol stands on its own as a unique game. It's not perfect, but if you enjoy RPG games that aren't set in the same old medieval fantasy setting, you'll enjoy this.

87

An excellent but rough around the edges experience

Thunderbaws | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Thunderbaws's reviews »

This is the only game I have ever played that I enjoyed the 2nd play through more than I did the first.

I find it takes a while to get into the mindset of the game. The humor is very good.

Just be aware that as its an RPG your shooting will not be spot on right away and must be leveled up. Also the way the conversations work are not your typical good and evil answers.

For this price its well worth it, all it asks is a little time and understanding and youll get on great!

100

Tragically Underrated, Brilliantly Unique Game

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

I must buck the trend and say I adored this game. I finished it three times doing every conceivable option and character build. The faction system forged through real character choices is fantastic. The dialogue system keeps things interesting as well.

Likewise, I actually loved the combat system, although the game was too easy. Also, AP has perfect pacing; levels never drag on and the game keeps you interested until the end. I only experienced a few minor bugs, so I really can't relate to all these complaints.

To me AP will go down as one of the most under-appreciated games ever. To each his or her own, but if you can look past the hate and ignore the quirks, you too might just become obsessed with being Michael Thorton.

64

low graphics

cristiano171 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Gameplay

If you play Alpha Protocol as a shooter, probably will be happier than if you try to play it as a stealth. The artificial intelligence of the enemies is terrible at times they are dumb as a rock, and at other times you can see them behind walls.

This inconsistency makes it virtually impossible to complete all missions with 100% stealth.

Another big problem are the battles against bosses (boss battles), in general they break the rhythm of the game and forced you to play very differently than you're used to the rest of the game (like what happens in Deus Ex: Human Revolution).

Graphics and Sound

Alpha Protocol charts are very similar to the first game of this generation. The problem is that the game was released in 2010 when games were already much nicer.

The textures are very weak, and at times even nonexistent. How to use the Unreal Engine, is quite common to see the textures loading going while you play, which is a bit annoying.

The voiceovers are generally good, but some secondary characters are not as well-voiced and lip sync in general is poorly made. Conclusion

Alpha Protocol is not a bad game. He does several things right, especially with his dialog design very interesting and with the power that the game gives the player decide their own destiny.

However the poor artificial intelligence of enemies and graphics boobs weigh against the overall quality of the game.

Missed the bit to prove that Obsidian can create your own game franchises, but Alpha Protocol compliance less than promises and is only recommended for the biggest fans of the stealth genre shoote

65

Modern time RPG with poor gameplay

panz3r88 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is an action-RPG with a story typical story of international intrigue you can see in a James Bond film. The gameplay is similar to Mass Effect and try to mix rpg element to the one typical of third person shooters. The main problem of the game is that in this mix nothing is well developed: the rpg elements are really simplified and the game is too linear

65

If only the game had a bit more time in development...

thefinalhope | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all thefinalhope's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is still, in it's state, a great game. That being said, it's an often buggy and frustrating game, because it had the potential to be so much better if it was in development for just a bit longer.

You are an agent. What kind, is up to you, quite literally. Want to be a suave, James Bond figure? You can be that. Want to be a direct, professional agent? You can be that too.

The game allows you to mold how you play via. a conversation wheel similar to games like Mass Effect. The only difference is, there are usually more than 3 different kinds of responses, and it's difficult to choose what to say, as characters will respond differently to how you speak with them. They will either approve of your tone (gaining affection points with that person), be neutral with it, or they won't like it and you will lose affection points with them.

Higher affection grants upgrades to your abilities, and in some cases, help with romances with some characters. All the voice work is generally well done, and the writing is extremely well done.

Visually, the game isn't anything special. Characters are the highlight in conversations, environments on the other hand, aren't often as impressive.

As for gameplay, AP allows you to build a character through a traditional RPG system with experience and talent points, which can be distributed in many different skills, a few being Pistols, Stealth, Martial Arts and Technical Aptitude. Putting points in all of these will increase your skill and also grant usable skills further in, an example being if you invest a certain amount of points into the stealth tree, you will get an ability to be invisible for a short period of time, or an ability that cloaks you automatically for a few seconds if you are seen, basically a save your butt button.

Missions in the game are generally varied and have multiple optional objectives. The optional objectives do tie in with the story, and if you do or do not do them, there will be consequences depending. This allows a lot of re-playability to see how the story goes.

Now, unfortunately the weakest part of the game, is the gameplay. The game is very buggy, and the AI is nothing short of awful. AI disappears constantly, and the mechanics of the game aren't very polished. Movement is sluggish and awkward, and the gunplay isn't rewarding or feel very good, same goes for the stealth. If you can look past this, you can really enjoy this game. I know I did.

65

A valiant effort, but flawed.

nairume | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

Obsidian's foray into the world of spycraft is an admirable but flawed experience that perhaps needed more time in development and more care given to iron out the flaws. The mechanical side of the game is adequate but contains very little memorable elements that other action RPGs or stealth action games haven't done significantly better. Even worse, while the game preaches Obsidian's typical love for player agency, the game ultimately waffles on that element by throwing you into combat scenarios where the only right answer is whatever the designer was thinking of at the time and with the story changing very little overall around your choices. You could do a whole lot worse than this game, but you could also do a whole lot better.

47

a little slow

cristiano171 | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

If you play Alpha Protocol as a shooter, probably will be happier than if you try to play it as a stealth. The artificial intelligence of the enemies is terrible at times they are dumb as a rock, and at other times you can see them behind walls.

This inconsistency makes it virtually impossible to complete all missions with 100% stealth.

Another big problem are the battles against bosses (boss battles), in general they break the rhythm of the game and forced you to play very differently than you're used to the rest of the game (like what happens in Deus Ex: Human Revolution).

Alpha Protocol is not a bad game. He does several things right, especially with his dialog design very interesting and with the power that the game gives the player decide their own destiny.

However the poor artificial intelligence of enemies and graphics boobs weigh against the overall quality of the game.

Missed the bit to prove that Obsidian can create your own game franchises, but Alpha Protocol compliance less than promises and is only recommended for the biggest fans of the genre stealth shooter.

88

An unpolished but awesome game

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Excellent game. The execution of the entire game could've been a bit better, but what's there is fun. It actually manages to do something new and different in the RPG genre so for that, I applaud it. The game itself could've benefited with some better control schemes, because when you need to be really stealthy, you still move way to fast. And killing bosses can be a bitch. There are multiple solutions to finishing a quest (stealth, action, diplomacy) and with the experience gained you can upgrade your character. Nothing you haven't really seen before. Add multiple endings to that and a good story, and you've got yourself a great, fun game. Don't listen to the critics, try it yourself.

70

So Much Potential

BillyMays14 | Sept. 30, 2012 | See all BillyMays14's reviews »

This game's brilliance is covered under layers of unintuitive control and gameplay systems.Graphics are ok and it plays like a spy version of mass effect 1. Unfortunately, the controls are not very responsive and systems like stealth are completely broken.

If you can get through that, you will find a game that actually gives you plenty of well-crafted and meaningful choices that actually dramatically impact the story of your game. If you can look through the poor exterior, you will find a solid and exceptional game underneath.

84

One of my favorite cult hits.

das_regal | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Ah, summer 2010. I remember waiting for the days to go by, eager for Alpha Protocol's release. When it came out the reviews weren't that great, but I adored it.

I was immediately immersed in its awesome brand of third person combat, political spy thriller themes, and clever, fast-paced dialogue. Everything you do refines who your character is, both in combat and out. Your dialogue choices even have an affect on how you preform in combat, as expressing certain personality traits can give you perks to enhance your gun play in various ways.

The one drawback is that the game's graphics are dated. Everything else is top notch, but that alone was enough to set the game back in the minds of many who played it.

Other than that little point of detraction, it's a hell of a lot of fun and you can always find it cheaply somewhere. I really commend picking it up.

75

Ambitious with Great Potential... but unfinished

fable2 | Sept. 27, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

When I had seen the trailers and the promos of Alpha Protocol (AP), I was really excited. But later, when the game came out followed by review after review criticizing it for its bugs, gameplay, and a lot of other things, it felt like a big letdown. But I still went and got the game. When I finally got down to playing it, at first I was really irritated 'coz the game kept stuttering at random and even turning down the graphics to the minimum (that took a lot of resolve!) didnt help. So, I turned back the graphics to max again and went on playing ignoring the frame rates and guess what? I really started enjoying the game! Aside from the obvious problems, AP offered a nice story, cool gameplay though a bit similar to the Splinter Cell games, a lead character who is at par with Ezio Auditore in saying the right thing at the right time. Though the game is not as good as Mass Effect 2, I liked the dialogue options and the resulting dialogues in AP over ME2. Every action in AP has a time limit; while this may seem irritating at first, it makes the game more realistic 'coz no one waits 5 minutes to say something when someone has a gun on you! Even the way that other people react to your words is good. The gameplay is standard fare of spy shooters. You can either go in blazing through the front door, or you can slip in quietly through the back door while the guard is looking away. The perks also help to make the game more interesting where as the shooting skills make the game look classy. The graphics is nice with a hint of what looks like cell shading to me and the different areas are nicely done, so that you dont get a feeling of repetitiveness. The dossiers seem like an information overload, but they all add up to the reality quotient of the game. So, cutting points for the bugs, I would give AP a 8.5 :) P.S. Time spent playing 20-40 hrs 'coz I haven't finished the game yet.

75

Flawed in ways that may or may not bother you.

Lunk | July 23, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a hard game to review, because it's simultaneously fantastic and highly flawed.

On the one hand, there are numerous technical bugs (after extensive troubleshooting I was only able to fix choppy camera movement by playing with a 360 controller instead of KBAM), the game is balanced poorly such that certain upgrade paths are vastly more powerful than others, and the actual gameplay is not that great.

On the other hand, the story elements are fantastic. As someone who enjoys RPGs that allow the player to manipulate how events unfold, I loved the number of different meaningful choices the game throws at you. The rapid-response mechanic used in conversations also works really well, forcing you to give a gut reaction instead of pausing to consider what option will give you the best loot or whatever.

If you're here looking for a fun, interactive story, I highly recommend Alpha Protocol, but if other things are more important to you you should probably proceed with caution.

70

Decent RPG

IganX | July 22, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

A fast-paced action RPG which though being short and lacking replayability value, may give you a few hours of intense gaming. The character progression isn't much, but the gameplay, graphics and story are pretty neat. Worth giving a try.

80

Forgotten Beauty

Melkarth | July 13, 2012 | See all Melkarth's reviews »

Perhaps you haven't heard of this game, or thought it was unpolished, but it needs a second chance. The great story, and the decission system, allow this game to present a complete different story every time you play.

75

Very rough around the edges, but give it a chance!

albeenox | May 16, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

Poor poor Obsidian. These guys know how to make great games, but they're always so buggy! This game is no different, it really is a great experience, that is so constantly hampered by some frustrating issues. I never found them gamebreaking, but I always found myself wishing that just a little more polish could have elevated this game to the next level.

Therefore, TOLERANCE is the word of the day. You really need to look past the mechanics and control issues in the game, and you'll be rewarded with a very enjoyable gaming experience. There's some great ideas in here, and the characters, story, gameplay and game progression are all quite enjoyable

If you go into it with an open mind, and can look past its flaws AND stick with it, you'll end up with a very memorable and entertaining experience, that you WILL want to come back to and play again. Many games out there are certainly more polished and refined, but few can match the experience and enjoyment to be found in here, if you'll only give it the chance.

75

A flawed gem

UltraGT | Sept. 23, 2011 | See all UltraGT's reviews »

It's not the best action, stealth, or RPG game. Yet it tries to do all three genres at the same time, failing and succeeding in mixed ways. The levels feel a little too linear and narrow for a stealth game, the graphics are bland and uninteresting and the shooting mechanics don't feel too good, being stat-based. On the other hand, the story and characters (Steven Heck rules!) are great. The dialogues are exciting and fluid as well, leading to many tense or extreme situations where you have to pick your answer quickly.

But where this game really shines is in the action-consequence department. The amount of choices is INMENSE, leading to a lot of different outcomes. I have already replayed the game 3 times and I'm still seeing new conversations or getting new info that I couldn't discover in previous playthroughs. It's a shame this game wasn't polished enough because it could have been a masterpiece, instead of becoming a flawed gem and gaining the status of 'cult game'.

75

An ok game

mevidek | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

Many games provide countless hours of entertainment for a decent price, but Alpha Protocol fails on these fronts. Poor graphics with pop-in graphics, annoying controls and quite fun gameplay that just becomes a chore. Alpha Protocol is one of those games that is fun for an hour, and then bores to death. If you are a massive espionage gaming fan, or an rpg-lover, perhaps even both then you may want to check this out.

90

A great game, despite its flaws

WW1137 | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all WW1137's reviews »

Alpha Protocol was a game highly anticipated by me because I love the stealth genre. I've played through it multiple times, but only as a stealth character so I can't really comment on the other types of playthroughs. Just after release there were many complaints relating to the minigames for lockpicking and such, but those have since been resolved through patches. The stealth and related mechanics have worked really well for me, the dialog and choices are great, and the story is top notch. The main problem I have with the game right now is the boss fights. At the end of each part of the story, you are forced to do a boss fight that, if you are using a stealth character, you really are not prepared for. But seeing as its my only complaint, Alpha Protocol is a great game. If you like stealth action, give it a try

79

Feels like an Indie

thomasgjj | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

This game is a great game but it feels like it is missing something.

Everything feels like it is either an Indie title or it is in early beta testing. The graphics are OK, the AI is very buggy and the combat is OK.

Although there are these small problems with the game the game is still very fun to play and has an amazing plot!

70

Good story and dialogue, bad gameplay

Quizn0s | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all Quizn0s's reviews »

The story and dialogue options in this game are amazing. The story changes depending on the choices you make, and adds a great replay value. In conversation, there are different options that make the direction of the conversation change, and even doing something as simple as not saying something can have far reaching consequences. Unfortunately, the shooting and stealth suck. But I'd say it's worth the money.

79

Enjoyable

UKShikari | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all UKShikari's reviews »

Very nice customisation and levelling system makes this game a great and immersive RPG, the storyline flows nicely even though you create it by taking certain actions/dialogue choices similar to Mass Effect, that being said it is immerive because it doesn't give you unlimited time to choose your action and it gives you a small backstory at the beginning to choose from which doubles as your class, there is around 6 to choose from, you won't struggle to choose because they're all quite diverse and enjoyable to pick.

I reccommend you pick it up and give it a go if you like games such as Dragon Age, Mass Effect or James Bond: 007 Nightfire

88

Most underrated game ever?

Bas92 | Aug. 13, 2011 | See all Bas92's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is, in my opinion, one of the most underrated games ever. While it's not perfect, it's definitely one of the best action-RPG's I've ever played.

Let's start with the cons. The gameplay, especially the combat, could use a lot of fine-tuning. The controls, animations, getting in and out of cover... it all needs a bit more polish. The hacking minigame can also be incredibly difficult with a keyboard and a mouse set-up, I'd definitely recommend a gamepad for this game. It's not impossible without a gamepad but it takes some practice.

Now to the pros! The setting is absolutely great. I haven't seen a spy RPG before and this game does a good job at making you feel like a secret agent. The storyline and characters are also very well done. But the part where this game really shines are the choices that you have to make. Alpha Protocol takes these decisions to the next level. Unlike Mass Effect, your choices actually have a very big impact on the story. There are some really tough choices to be made and sometimes I just had to quit playing and think about what I would do next. The dialogues are timed, so you don't have a lot of time to think about your answer. I would love to see this in every RPG from now because it really puts some more pressure on you. You can't just relax and reload if you made the wrong choice. You won't even notice some of the effects of your choices until you've almost finished your playthrough.

So to conclude: get this game if you're a fan of spy themes and action RPG's. If you're still not convinced, go watch a YouTube video about Steven Heck. He's the #1 reason why this game is better than Mass Effect 2.

90

Mixed feelings

Doodier | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all Doodier's reviews »

In my opinion this is very good FPS/espionage RPG (depends on your game style) with not so good game mechanics. Some of the mini-games are annoying and dull. Despite that I realy enjoyed myself with this game! It has cool dialogues, great RPG feeling, cool perks and the graphics is nice too. I really reccomend you this game but I think not everyone will like it.

80

A Diamond in the Rough

Oublieux | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all Oublieux's reviews »

Alpha Protocol isn't perfect. It doesn't have the latest, eye-bleeding graphical eye candy or tech that some modern games do, its story is rough around the edges and sometimes laughter inducing, and the voice acting is passable at best.

... However, and this is important, the game is ridiculous amounts of fun. And, that's precisely what matters most. I call this game a diamond in the rough because it has so much more potential than the final product gave us, but you can see it from the dialogue system similar to Mass Effect's but time-based, from the multitude of skills that are at your disposable to upgrade and create any kind of character whether it be stealth, hacking, or simply balls out run and gun, to the choices that genuinely affect the outcome of your game and finale.

I honestly haven't been so engrossed in a game in a long time and Alpha Protocol just hit that spot. The gameplay is just so satisfying and feels rewarding despite the occasional quirks where the enemy AI seems clairvoyant due to some slightly shoddy programming. But such minor gripes aren't going to stop me from playing a game that's absolutely fun.

You want to know how fun? I started a second playthrough immediately after having finished the game the first time. I don't think any game has ever done that to me.

90

The Choice

rhiannon9998 | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all rhiannon9998's reviews »

For an Obsidian game it has very few game crushing bugs, and reasonable pretty graphics, and solid voice acing, the story, however, is a hogdepodge of conspiracies, treachery, double crossings and murder, leaving you with the aftertaste of confusion. However the game truly shines giving you choices and presenting the consequences of said choices, for example there is a mission where you attacked, after the ensuring firefight you are given the choice of executing the team leader or not, and that choice have repercusions lasting till the very end of the game. Another choice given is the playstyle will Mike Thorton be a slient assasin never discovered until is too late, or a commando chargin guns blazing at the first opportunity. The choice is yours.

86

Underrated Game

pauljebe | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is frequently overlooked by gamers and shunned by critics, which is a shame as this title is far better than it’s more formal reviews belie. You play the role of a secret agent who jets around the globe from safe house to safe house to uncover an insidious plot! I know that sounds cheesy, but the game is far better than my writing skills.

AP is an RPG/shooter hybrid with an emphasis on consequence of action. Throughout the game you will be presented with dialog scenes, and the choices you make during those conversations drastically alter the outcome of the story. Unlike conventional RPGs, AP’s conversation controls allow you to choose a style of response (aggressive, flirtatious, etc) rather than full dialog options. The conversations are timed and as such are almost as tense as the actions. There are no right or wrong answers but dealing with each NPC in certain ways will either win them over or turn them against you and will either open or close story options.

A single play through of AP offers around thirteen hours of action, and because of the diverse options presented to you many players play through multiple times. Some people love the dialog options and others loathe it. It has its bugs and some of the action can seem a bit clunky, but overall the experience is far greater than you’d expect. It’s like Mass Effect with spies instead of aliens, and if that sounds interesting to you then you will not be disappointed.

85

Great story, no so great game-mechanics

piippo | July 30, 2011 | See all piippo's reviews »

First off, Alpha Protocol is way better than you've might have heard beforehand. It's a trade off between deep decision/consequence based storyline and the some-what poor game-mechanics.

First the bad, at the beginning shooting isn't really fun, and those looking for this side in their game will get disappointed. Later in the game as you progress with your skills, you come too powerful. Second, the game is tad "clunky" at times and levels are pretty much set to offer you few choices, but that's it.

The good however far outweigh the bad. The story is well written, and how many espionage RPGs have you played? None? Well this is one. Deep and complex relations between characters is also something you will not find in every game. Similarly the decisions you make will have far reaching consequences. The way you choose to act directly or indirectly affects how the story and game will pan out for you. Nothing is ever that clear, or is it?

In the end, Alpha Protocol is fine example of great storytelling - just to fall short on the mechanics. The more dull part of the game is the missions, they vary from not so great to "ok, this is quite nice".

If you're tempted, and have liked what Obsidian have done in the past - I don't think you will be disappointed if you get over few of the shortcomings. Definitely better game than what metacritic might claim.

90

Great RPG

SaadKhawaja | July 25, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

Great shooter and RPG mixed into one game with excellent storyline, real choices and fantastic gameplay. I loved this game and can't believe I listened to professional reviewers giving this one such bad scores. It has about 10 hours of gameplay in a single playthrough and with choices you can get about 7 different endings, all worth going through the game to see what happens. Solid 9/10 game from my side.

75

Fine Action-RPG Game

IganX | July 22, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a long, well enough driven game, which takes us into a world of spy's in a certain childish way in some aspects, and in a very adult way in others. The RPG features of customization and choices, specially the last, are great, the gameplay is fine, the weapons and skills are OK, and the storyline is linear yet unpredictable. Its main drawbacks are its poor graphics and visual effects, and some glitches that may appear along the game. Overall the game is a fine RPG-action game, with some important choices to make, and is a recommendable game for users who like the kind of game, yet it isn't a masterpiece.

85

Wait; you can do that?

Honsy | July 12, 2011 | See all Honsy's reviews »

If there's one thing about this game you need to know, it's that the above will be coming out of your mouth every time you read about this game.

Trust me, give it some time. You'll be reading about this game, and you'll notice something that didn't occur in your playthrough. That is how this game will suck you back in. Alpha Protocol is one of the few modern RPG's that give you actual choices, not just appear to give you a choice. It's not like the choices of "Good/Evil" or "Kill Him/Her", or any Black and White options. It's all shades of grey, and the slightest difference at some point in your game will change the outcome for you.

It's not absolutely perfect; you have to work a bit to get the game working in peak performance for you, and some animations have been said to be a bit..."off". There's nothing big enough to make one thing "Hey; I shouldn't play this game" - the game makes you work, but it's definitely worth it.

A condensed list of what you need to know about this game before you play (because, honestly, if you're at a shop, you're already considering playing this game):

  • It looks like a shooter; but don't play it like one
  • If you mess up; keep playing. It'll work out.
  • Don't stress too much about your choices
  • Play this game blind; don't read walkthroughs before your first playthrough
  • Keep playing after your first 'assignment', no matter how you feel about it. It gets better

Like I said; it's not perfect, but it's the closest we're going to get.

83

Great RPG

Lost923 | June 21, 2011 | See all Lost923's reviews »

One of the greatest RPG, it has so many choices, it looks like a completely different game the second time you play it. Its true the graphics aren't really good and the control could be better, but overall it's one of the better rpgs, and the topic is not very common.

65

A decent modern-day RPG

Arukardo | June 2, 2011 | See all Arukardo's reviews »

There is not many modern-day RPGs out in the market but despite Alpha Protocol's flaws it's still a decent game.

You play as Michael Thorton, a field agent, who is caught in a global conspiracy with secret organisations. As you progress through the game you will meet many characters. Conversations with them occur in real-time, giving you a limited time to choose your words wisely. Having good relations can help you in a various situations, provide more information, even help in missions, and bad relations with enemies grant you more guards to shoot. AP is played from third-person perspective , you can use cover system, spy gadgets and skills. Gmae is using Unreal Engine 3 which sometimes shows not fully loaded textures and animations could be better.

Having all said, if you are desperate for modern-day espionage RPG, this game is for you. After a few first levels you will be drawned into a secret spy life and you won't notice those silly animations anymore.

86

Alpha Protocol is an amazingly unrated experience.

das_regal | May 27, 2011 | See all das_regal's reviews »

It's been about a year now since this game was released. I pre-ordered a retail copy and the last few days of the wait before its unveiling were especially hard for me to stomach. I remember when I felt to pick up the game, I decided to look up what professional reviewers were saying about it.

I was heartbroken and concerned. So many people were giving the game scores between 50% and 70%. I was faced with a choice: should I cancel my pre-order at the last second and give up on the game? After all the excitement I had for its release I decided to just follow through; and man I am glad I did.

I found Alpha Protocol to be an amazing experience. It doesn't quite have the same polish as Mass Effect, but the game is similar enough technically minus that finesse, and where it really shines is in the storyline and setting department. We're so used to playing as space marines or fantasy heroes that when a real-world game comes around it feels like something totally new and fresh to experience despite the fact that it's something that exists currently in the world around us.

What Alpha Protocol does best is the incorporation of contemporary elements of warfare into a compelling conspiracy-theory narrative with a character who's personally you get to shape by the conversational tones you choose. The dialog system is fast and gripping thanks to the limited time you have to choose responses, resulting in an experience that changes drastically every playthrough.

The technical side of things isn't as bad as people make it out to be either. The gunplay is perfectly serviceable, the environments are bland but utilitarian, and the animations look perfectly fine. Alpha Protocol is an excellent RPG for people who are looking to experience something new, but similar to Mass Effect (1).

60

Funniest crouch-walk in game history

MisterSlimm | May 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is immediately underwhelming with unatmospheric graphics and a depressingly unoriginal opening (you wake up with amnesia and are talked through a training level) devoid of excitement, pacing, intrigue, spectacle or interest. Your dreary avatar humorously crouch-walks around the level giving you time to wonder why game designers have the bizarre belief that we bought a game about secret agents to be treated like an infant. We're supposed to be amazing; the game and characters should treat us as such in order to instil the relevant atmosphere. The problems with the game are legion; most notably, cover that frequently doesn't work, every boss fight being an exercise in gut-punching misery (despite one being brilliantly backed by Turn Up the Radio by Autograph) and being generally forced to choose a response before you hear enough of the lead-in. Additionally, the presence of sexual swear words feels wrong given the inspiration is clearly the bad-language-free JB spy gods of James Bond, Jason Bourne and Jack Bauer. Now while the action never gels, it certainly gets better and the game, as a whole, always feels just a hair away from greatness. Your ongoing choices also have a significant effect on most missions (not just the ending) which is highly appreciated. So while Alpha Protocol got deservedly blown away by the superior Mass Effect 2, it's certainly worth checking out now at it's budget price.

This game contains sexual swear words, adult dialogue and substance abuse (with unrealistic effects) and extreme gun violence, melee violence, a couple of unexpected and extremely graphic moments of gun violence and sensuality.

80

Alpha Protocol owns

Gvaz | April 23, 2011 | See all Gvaz's reviews »

This game takes a bit to grow on you, and I won't deny it did some things wrong, however once you get over the tutorial missions (Saudi Arabia) the game picks up a lot. The trailer on this site shows exactly what you'll get. Notice that it's not bragging about the combat? That's because unless you literally play as 007 (stealth/pistols) the combat is kind of janky. Not in the same sense as "Mass Effect" but more like Deus Ex meets Mass Effect.

That being said, the game's real draw, like any good RPG, is the character interactions and the effect on the environment. This game does this much better than any other game out now, however it gets blasted because of the combat and the minigames (which you mostly don't have to bother with) It's not perfect, but not nearly as bad as everyone seems to make it out to be.

65

Shaken, not stirred.

xtrench | April 13, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

A spy role playing game with a great story. Featuring a great dialog system that influnces the world you're in, sadly for some it will be overshadowed by the outdated graphics and animations. The combat feels slugish and uncomfortable and consists of weapons, martial arts and gadgets. But this game stands out because it's a fresh take on a role playing game away from the fantasy world.

73

A great spy story marred by technical and gameplay problems

TG_Judgement | April 8, 2011 | See all TG_Judgement's reviews »

Alpha protocol's story is possibly one of the best I've seen when it comes to spy games/movies.Complex,but not confusing that rewards multiple playthroughs.The dialogue also follows through,as it's well written and it's mass effect-esque dialogue branch can keep multiple playthroughs fresh.Unfortunatelly,it also has the same problem as mass effect,as a few choices you make might actually mislead you and have unintended results(like negatively affecting your stance with a character).Sadly in true Obsidian fashion,the game,while not a complete disaster on the technical side,leaves a lot to be desired.Slowdowns on midrange machines,serious glitches and some serious gameplay problems stain what could've been a trully great spy game.

65

Only for those who are willing to play it multiple times

steamisbetter | April 7, 2011 | See all steamisbetter's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is all about choices & consequences. What you decide to do early in the game will affect how the story plays out in the later parts of the game.

The three main areas of the game can be played in any order you wish, meaning you may get to know some of the plot characters earlier or later than you did on your previous playthrough, which changes the dialogue quite a bit. You have a reputation statistic with every plot character you meet. How they treat you depends on how you treat them. Gameplay also affects some of the perks you receive, for example playing stealthily gains you perks that further increase your stealth abilities.

Replayability and choices & consequences are about the only things Alpha Protocol does right. It's a fairly basic third-person shooter with some stealth elements, the skill tree is greatly unbalanced, the characters are unlikeable (including the main character) and the story is something you would see in a bad movie.

If you're the kind of gamer who only completes games once, then there's very little reason to get Alpha Protocol. Others will appreciate the effort they put into creating a player-driven game, but the rest of it is simply unremarkable.

75

The good Protocol that could have been better...

Jahman | April 6, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

Alpha Protocol is a real gem. Nice, big 'n shiny but, unfortunately, also terribly unpolished and with a of cracks.

The biggest pros: awesome character design, very good spy/secret agent plot, intuitive & fun conversation system, important choices that truly stick with you up until the ending and have real impact on the story, varied locations all over the world, loads of customization via outfits, weapons & gadgets. The game also offers some memorable moments like truly original quests or situations in which the given the choice of different locations to visit the characters responses will change depending on the order in which you have completed the missions (like one being annoyed that you chose to visit him last).

The biggest cons: the combat is mediocre at best, some skills are greatly overpowered (like invisibility) while others are equally underpowered (pick SMG's & shotguns as your main weapons & you're pretty much toast), the graphics are hardly stunning and the animations tend to be terribly stiff. Also the stealth & cover mechanics tend to be flunky, which leads to the situations when the enemies sometimes seem to see you through objects or you can't really tell if an object or wall can be flattened against to until you try. Also, while lock picking and hacking mini-games are fun when using a gamepad, completing them using keyboard & mouse can be quite frustrating.

A little more: Alpha Protocol is rather hard to sum up in a single sentence or state that it’s good or bad. The game is an example of truly awesome design plagued by a lot of wasted potential and mediocre gameplay. If it's only the combat you're looking for - look somewhere else. But if you can look past the gameplay flaws, you will really enjoy what Alpha Protocol has to offer, especially when it comes to the story, characters and choices you will have to make.

84

Underrated gem

Dagon | April 6, 2011 | See all Dagon's reviews »

When I first heard about the idea of espionage RPG set in the modern world I was excited, but at the same time sceptical (due to it's fresh approach to a genre) about it's commercial success. And it turns out that I was right. The game is very fresh experience in the RPG genre, it offers completely new, timed dialogue system, mission based structure and a lot of choices & consequences. Unfortunetly the game has also a share of it's problems. The minigames are really not fun, the combat system is quite weak and the game is quite bugged. Still the game is great and I think it will be a true classic.

79

Innovative gem.

keeveek | April 5, 2011 | See all keeveek's reviews »

I know, this particular title had to encounter plenty of raging reviews. Most of the reviewers focused on the graphics, which is not the best (but definitely not awful). They forgot how creative this game is! Complex mechanics, especially for dialogues and consequences of player's choices. You can really feel that your decisions mean something and affect the gameplay. This is the best reason to try this game, which will definitely give you many thrills and shocks because of the plot twists. If you don't mind poor graphics, it's must have for RPG fans.