Reviews for Dead Island: Game of the Year

70

Good co-op but could've been better

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

The trailers for this game got me super excited, but ultimately was let down. It's a decent game if you have someone to play co-op with. But other than that, it's just so-so. Also, you should probably use it with a controller. It's much better, as it was obviously built around the consoles. Overall, though, it's pretty decent. The RPG elements adds a lot to it. It'd be better, for me anyways, if you didn't have to repair your weapons after 4-6 hits. It gets real old real quick.

90

Awesome game best played in CO-OP

davo0677 | July 9, 2013 | See all davo0677's reviews »

This game is amazing when playing solo or co-op its a must have. You are on a island and need to escape from the undead but in riptide it continues the story from the end of the 1st one

80

A Flawed Gem

m0ntag | July 8, 2013 | See all m0ntag's reviews »

This game is quite a conundrum.

Pros: Amazingly fun melee combat Long game-length (solid 20-30 hours, at least) Varied Weapons and Stats Good character progression and RPG elements Nice ideas all around

Cons: It's a bit of a shoddy port. Quests can be repetitive. Glitches and bugs (while uncommon) still exist Multiplayer can be a bit of a hassle to set up The gunplay is horrid

It's a good title with good ideas but some poor execution. Given more TLC on the PC side, it could've been amazing. As it stands, it's just good. Worth picking up, especially on a sale, but nothing that screams 'GAME OF THE YEAR'.

85

Nice if not a very deep game.

Waker_Boh | July 6, 2013 | See all Waker_Boh's reviews »

Alone or with friends Dead Island is a decent enough game. The weapons is where this game really shines. There is plenty to do however the story is pretty forgettable.

85

Good zombie FPS fun in CO OP

ndutznul | July 4, 2013 | See all ndutznul's reviews »

yeah i admit it, even i ever play this on my friend's PC, i cant event hold my finger to press buy now for this game perferct in gameplay. but not so smooth graphic. but you can forget that if you could play it with your friend all you could think is kill and kill more zombie and smash that thug, hahaha

89

Very good zombie Co-Op game

iggy81 | July 4, 2013 | See all iggy81's reviews »

I thought I was "zombied out" but picked this up only because we needed a new co op game; and I'm sure glad I did. Unexpectedly, this was some of the most fun I had playing a game in quite awhile. I would highly recommend it, especially if your planning on playing co op. Sort of a melee, zombie version of Borderlands.

90

Good zomibe game for PC with coop

medvesajt1989 | June 25, 2013 | See all medvesajt1989's reviews »

Good graphics, excellent gameplay, lots of quests. I played ~40 hours of this game, with my friends. The game have some bugs, that not patched, but this little bugs. So far even the best zombie game for PC and also the price is frendly. If your friends also have this game, then go coop!

79

Good Co-op open world zombie game

Solidice | June 11, 2013 | See all Solidice's reviews »

If your looking for an open world zombie killing RPG-like co-op action game, then this is game for you. The actual story is lacking a bit, but the co-op experience with a good group of player can provide plenty of entertainment. The co-op setup is not difficult at all either, people can drop in or out of your game at anytime, or you could join/leave someone else's game at any time.

Of course if you would rather play alone, you can change the setting to not allow anyone to join your game, but this game is definitely more fun in a group.

92

Zombies Stories

kalil | June 7, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Dead Island is a game that combines first-person action with special attention to combat, character development and customization of a vast array of weapons. The game features a dark story inspired by classic zombie movies with a compelling campaign where they can play up to 4 players in co-op. A tropical island to explore, a luxury resort, weapons galore and a legion of hungry zombies ready to get you out the bowels. What more could you want?

What is good: - The first zombie game that brings three types of styles in one: action, sandbox and a touch of RPG. - Excellent atmosphere and recreation of a tropical island, with lots of quests and things to do and zombies to eliminate. - Creation, modification and repair of arms. - Experience intense, immersive and addictive. -The AI ​​of the zombies is very successful, and there are different types and ways to address them. Power-play with 3 friends cooperatively. -Long Campaign: about 25 hours. -Trailer of the game, one of the best views to the time.

What is not well: - Repetition of such missions. - An occasional bug, but nothing too serious.

75

Funny Multiplayer Game

Compax | June 5, 2013 | See all Compax's reviews »

This Game is awesome if you like playing zombie games with friends. You have a open world setting but the story is not so grea but good. Dont play DI alone because it makes more fun with friends. Graphic & Gameplay is good and runs smooth. Overall its very funny game and a good deal. Enjoy it!

60

Meh...

Stebsis | June 5, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Dead Island has some interesting things to it and is really fun to play... about 10 or so hours if even that. You get to choose between 4 characters each with their own special skills, but if you're looking for character driven and involving survival story in post apocalyptic open world... get Fallout 3 and New Vegas instead, they have sort of zombies too with ghouls.

You get a variety of weapons to use, and melee is definitely the thing they've focused here. Combat at times can get intense as you very rarely have any guns or bullets for them. It still gets really repetitive and monotonous, and you start to ask yourself is this all there is? Yeah, basically that's it.

The island itself is gorgeous to look at, but the setting doesn't make this zombie experience even remotely scary. Characters you meet are as deep as a puddle and main characters too are just awful.

Dead Island is best played in coop, alone it gets boring and fast, but this still is repetitive and near the end just a boring game.

84

Best zombie game ever

szami777 | May 31, 2013 | See all szami777's reviews »

I like the zombies and the open world games. Thats why this is the perfect game for me. Beautiful island, nice graphics, and the cooperative mod was totally awesome. If you dont have this game, you have to buy it :)

86

Very fun but a bit repetitive

evolken | May 28, 2013 | See all evolken's reviews »

 The story line is not very exciting or captivating but it's not the main focus of the game. The zombie killing is fun and effective to keep you entertained.
 I do like how it pays off to play the strength of your class. For example, if I'm a sharp weapons expert, I can increase the effectiveness of sharp weapons and use less stamina while attacking. While i could use a blunt-type weapon, more times than not i will be better off with a sharp weapon.
 The side quests do get a bit repetitive but I suppose there's not a lot of depth you can put into optional quests.
 Overall I am very happy with the game and have put quite a bit of time into it pretty quickly.

83

Very fun, but kinda wonky

NightFox45 | May 24, 2013 | See all NightFox45's reviews »

The game can be really fun with some friends.

There are a few glitches that I have experienced, but overall still a whole lot of fun.

The items break and deteriorate much too quickly in my opinion, to the point where your super awesome knife only takes down a handful of zombies.

The menus and controls are slightly difficult to master, but the RPG elements are fun.

Overall very fun and a good deal.

75

Sandbox zombie smashing game

Shav | May 24, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

If you are looking for some mindless zombie smashing game, then Dead Island is a game for you. It is a FPP action game, set in a paradise island of Banoi, which is a place totally infected by brainless zombies.

You have only one task - to survive by any means necessary. You have an access to wide variety of weaponry, from staves and sticks, to machine guns. The game is quite long, features nice graphics and a really nice co-op. If you have some friends that you can play with, then hesitate no more, and get this game, especially that it is really cheap nowadays.

75

Very good

Eanan | May 14, 2013 | See all Eanan's reviews »

Craving a realistic survival horror game in the wake of the Walking Dead game, I hit the reviews and found others championing Dead Island. I was not disappointed.

Things I liked:

  • The open world setting
  • Zombie dismemberment is truly satisfying
  • Joining up for quests wth strangers and rampaging through the resort is oddly satisfying

Things I didn't like:

  • The weapons degrade ridiculously fast
  • The game can be buggy at times.

If you value polish and smoothness in your games above all else, you'd be best advised to steer clear of Dead Island. But if you crave wickedly satisfying zombie-dismemberment, a full, deliciously time-wasting RPG experience and a depiction of a zombie infestation which rings surprisingly true, Dead Island should float your boat.