Reviews for Grand Theft Auto III

92

One of the best games for ps2

ryanpaul | March 2, 2014 | See all ryanpaul's reviews »

Although the graphics shows it age, it still one of the best grand theft auto games ever created. This is the first game which made the series popular and it made everyone want to play it. The audio is awesome as there are a good set of radio stations and many selection of songs which made driving a joy (and also running over pedestrians).

This game is a classic that everyone will still enjoy. Being an open world game you can do anything even if your not into missions you can just walk around and do plenty of stuff such as shooting people, car jacking, hitting pedestrians, jump off a helicopter / plane. and shoot people again. It never gets boring and should be played by every gamer out there.

95

A revolution in "open world" games.

Pawlus | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all Pawlus's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto is one of the titles, that We don't have to introduce to anyone. Released in 1997 video game became popular on the world, same as it's sequel. But GTA III is a total revolution in "open world" games. Amazing graphics (in times, when it was released) in 3D, and opportunities of things we can do in game caused, that players can play this game all days. And the main thread of game often wasn't the most important. Nothing better than runaway from the LAPD Police and increasing "wanted stars", sometimes for long hours after a exhausting day. Great way of relax, so much popular that up to this day people play it, even on mobile devices.

95

One of the best

abelegu2 | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all abelegu2's reviews »

...games of that era. Definitely a must play classic. It introduced open-world with a blast (literally), it's got awesome gameplay, good enough to keep you playing for hours and hours even after the storyline ended. There is a large number of missions and each vary from the other. There is barely any repetition which is amazing for a game at the time; they also made a lot of side/bonus missions that assured you wouldn't get bored of the game if you weren't feeling like doing any of the main missions.

There is a lot of variety in weapons and cars, as well as secret locations where you can reward yourself with the best car in town. This game is a must-have: if you've played other GTAs and not this one, it's a part of the experience that you cannot miss; if you've never played a GTA game before and are willing to go back in history and have fun playing a revolutionary classic then definitely get this one. It's a steal.

99

Classic of classics.

Unbenannte | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

I said: one day this game will be a classic. I was totally wrong, today it is a classic. Lots of reviews, most of them just saying how great this game is. Really if you haven't tried a GTA title before, then start here, this is the beginning and some people say its also the end. Controls are simple, lots of cars, guns, great story, awesome dlcs, multiplayer for having a good time, open world, go crazy. Even people whit GTA V will have GTA III, maybe you could call them nostalgic, but sincerely this game marked a revolution, a new Era. Its a classic, and its as cheap as 9.99, its a steal, I would pay more for it. You should have this one if you think yourself as a gamer. Hope this helps.

86

A classic

gforcesa | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

One of the great open world games of it's time.GTA III takes place in Liberty City and you play as Claude, who doesn't speak, yeah.I remember playing this when it first released and i just used cheats and destroyed everything in my path.If you have played this before you know that graphics don't make a good game.The story is well a GTA story, you are given a mission and you have to complete it, but of course there is a real story.The game does have some bugs, i remember a mission where you had to go up on a warehouse and if you run on the warehouse you get launched hundreds of feet in one direction and die instantly and that was pretty hilarious.I'ts a classic that every gamer should play at some point of his life

95

The Dawn of an Era

itsjbro | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all itsjbro's reviews »

This started all the "open world" 3d games. And this is just the beginning of greatness, as each installment in the "Grand Theft Auto" series gets better from here. The story and crazy amount of missions are top notch. The music and voice acting is superb. If you enjoyed this on your console, you'll enjoy it even more in native 1080p graphics. Even with the "not HD textures" this game, to me, stands the test of time.

85

Good old Times

Karlasd | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Karlasd's reviews »

Ah I can remember these good old times, when GTA III has been released! It was so amazing, that new effects and these Graphics! I bought it on steam because my CD isn't working any more. But these 9,99 $ had been investigated in a great game! For fans of the GTA Series it is not Possible to 'forget' it, because it is the beginning of all! It is great that you can switch between the perspectives and the controls are simple, not so difficult like the controls of today's GTA's. I would recommend it to every person who is interested in the GTA series! I'll give the game 20 Points for the Story, 10 points for the Graphics, 20 points for these possibilities ( 2001 they were completely new features ), 30 Points for this great Open world and 5 Points for Rockstargames :)

92

Classic, yes that simple

DeaD | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DeaD's reviews »

For those, who may not ever heard of the Grand Theft Auto series, well the third one is a tps. And even more. The player can steal and drive any vehicles, which he/she confronts. This means different cars, trucks, buses, even a small plane.

The story is about a small thief, who wants big money, but gets easily caught in a sticky situation and ends up in a prison truck. On the way he manages to escape with a fellow prisoner, via an explosion, caused by the columbian cartel. This is how the player’s journey begins.

Despite GTA III was released 12 years ago, enjoying the gameplay can get you over the fact, that it isn’t so pretty nowadays. The physics are it’s own (12 years!), but this game still holds onto that feeling. Obligatory.

79

Decent oldie

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

Oh boy I can remember the day I first played this game in 2002. (in 2002 i would rate 9.6) It was such a groundbreaking game, the first time i entered a virtual world that felt like a real world. To have do freely whatever you want, have fun on wheels, kill (innocent)people, f*ck hookers and just wreak havoc in a convincing realistic world.

The world was very well detailed and the size of it was huge. The missions were absurd, hilaric, sadistic, diverse and fun to play. The story was about how you got lucky and escaped during a prison transfer and fight your way up to be the biggest Badass in Liberty City. But the thing i remember best, is the Soundtrack. (like most gta's)

On the downside, the world was pretty empty besides the main missions and controls (like al GTA's on pc) were at best mediocre.

I have completed the main story a few weeks ago and most side-missions. To 2013 standards this game is pretty crap. The game hasn't aged well and now i would rate it a meager 6.1. The graphics suck, and also all the other good aspects have been done better. However it still is my favorite GTA after Vice City and SanAn and nostalgic feelings are priceless.So if you had fun with it in 2002, you are likely to have it again. I sure did for 20 hours in the last few weeks. Average rating 7.9

85

A good (if old) GTA game

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

GTA III is a great open world game wit varied gameplay and a cast of interesting characters who help to progress the interesting storyline and add to the overall feeling of the sandbox city. You can do lots of things in Grand Theft Auto Three. If you want to drive fast and run over civilians you can! Or do a bank heist or just muck around in the vast city. GTA III offers you the chance to do all these things and more. The only limitations of the game is that the graphics are dated and the control system could be better but these don't drag away from the brilliant core experience.

77

Start of history

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Such a fun game and the real 3d beginning of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. The decision to go from top down 2d to a full 3d open world game was the best decision Rockstar could have made. It changed the way people looked at games not only for the mature content and story but for the game itself. Gone are the days of getting missions from some payphone and bring in the addition of cut scenes and voice actors. The way you played the game changed , the driving felt like there was weight to it, the shooting with automatic lock on to help new comers. The whole engine of course was drastically overhauled for the new 3d world and its a start of what would become the best franchise in gaming history.

95

Mother of sandbox

darkyhbk | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

GTA III was my first sandbox action game, and it was an unforgettable experience for me. The liberty to go wherever you wanted and do whatever you wanted was just mindblowing at that time. And the game does have a lot of content to offer. A big city split into three islands, filled with missions which range from shooting bad guys to racing and car chases, challenges, collectibles, vehicle deliveries and activities like taxi or ambulance cases all managed to keep you occupied and hooked in. The story, while predictable, is a fine tribute to action movies, and has all you want to see in such a game. The cutscenes are well designed, and offer some funny moments, as do some of the characters you meet, despite lacking personality and depth. The soundtrack is also one of the best around, offering radio stations for everyone's taste, from 70's pop to reggae, and from opera to hard rock- great stuff. The great design, and amazing liberty, none of them previously seen around, made this an absolute gem of the genre, and a true standard in videogaming.

78

Classic but not vintage

takuto06 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all takuto06's reviews »

The game that started the hype of open world games.

Taking a look back from all sandbox games, the basics all came from this. I remember playing this for long hours because it was pretty amazing during then. Now you see games like Saints Row, Sleeping Dogs and the sequel GTA game series with non-silent protagonists unlike the mute character in this game. This a nice game for those starting with the open world genre.

85

A great GTA despite its age.

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto 3 was the first Grand Theft Auto to be played in a third person shooter style game. This made it exciting for the players because it became easier to play and thus made it more fun. Being in the third person perspective was just a small feature compared to its varied missions and fun gameplay mechanics. The graphics are mediocre at best when played today, but don't let that stop you from enjoying this great game!

87

Beginning of open world

lok0812 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game pretty much set the standard for open world games that followed. If you have never had a chance to try this awesome game back in the days then you will find that GTA3 will be the same as any of your open world GTA games. Of course the only thing you might find different is the graphic quality since this games is more than 10 years old. There are many things you can do in the game beside taking the main storyline and watching the story unfolds. Definitely give this a try for any GTA or open world action fans.

72

Good, but hasn't aged well

FhexSans | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto III was a really fun game. I got it on the PS2 way back in the day, and it was just absolutely spectacular for a young me. In fact, it was the first sandbox game I ever played as a child, and it was absolutely revolutionary for the time. For the modern gamer, however, it's kind of difficult to recommend GTA III today, only because it really hasn't aged well especially when compared to slightly more modern additions to the GTA series like Vice City. The aiming is a bit coarse, the radio stations aren't as good as the rest of the games in my opinion, the map is a bit smaller than the next step up in the series, the story is fairly good but in my opinion not as good as the later games in the series, and it's not much to look at graphically. Still, the game still plays fairly well and for any long time fan of the series, I'd recommend it if you haven't played it. For newcomers, you might want to consider getting Vice City or San Andreas instead, but if you're feeling adventurous go ahead and grab this game!

91

Great game

liberator328 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all liberator328's reviews »

Great price great game, this is an action packed game very worth your time and money.

84

A game that attracted me to open-world genre

momoster69 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

Highly recommended, I played this game when I was very young and lets say It was one of those games that changed the gaming world, free roam - Open world type of game, full of people and different vehicles. Highly recommended to anyone especially people are into gta series or even just sandbox/openworld type of games.

80

Classic Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

ALL modern sandbox games owe their very existence to this revolutionary game. It's not just the fact that it has advanced from top-down 2D to 3rd-person 3D gameplay, but the actual game in itself deserves its own merit, let alone what it has done for gaming. There's as many missions as there are on GTA IV, but there's greater variety in the missions with more variety in the difficulty too. Liberty City isn't visually impressive, and Shoreside Vale can be confusing to navigate through at the best of times. But everything else is done so well. It's fun to play in and out of missions. The only issue is that there's almost as little to do here as there is in GTA IV. You can't really spend money on anything but weapons. But a 6 star wanted level will get a tank to come after you. Hidden packages (of which there are 100) aren't difficult to find, but not too easy either. There is an incentive for getting them: for every 10 you find a weapon is delivered to your safehouse on every island. Even now this game is good. For 2001/2002, this was years ahead of its time.

80

The first GTA that i every played

simodeso | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

It was a very great game, and still it is! Actually re-looking at the pictures the first impression was oh my god it's pretty old! Then i remembered how i enjoyed this fantastic games years and years ago.. it was a perfect sandbox with a story and enough weapons to kill everyone in a city. there are also a lot of cheat like all Gta so buy it and play it! You will enjoy this, it is ART.

90

First true 3d sandbox game

spycid | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

After two top down sandbox games, Rockstar Games released a revolutionary 3d sandbox game Grand Theft Auto III. An immersive world where you can run, walk, drive, rob and have as much fun as you want. Yes the graphics is definitely outdated and gameplay might feel a bit a sluggish, but you should not forget that the game was revolutionary for it's time.

88

An amazing sandbox game, but least best of the bunch.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

I love this game, ever since I played it when it debuted on the PS2. Tons of fond memories have been created by this game, and GTA 3 still holds up to this day. Unfortunately if I had to convince anyone to start playing Grand Theft Auto, I wouldn't tell them to start here. I started on 3, but that's because no other game was out. Vice City and San Andreas both have better music, characters, and environment. As well with protagonists with a little more likability. Not to say I don't like Claude, he's awesome, but CJ and Tommy will always be closer to me. And GTA IV is a better recommendation to most people because of how recent it is. Anyway, back to GTA 3. I love the music, the characters, and the environment, but I'm just saying it's not the best out of the GTA series. The gameplays similar to Vice City and San Andreas, just a little weaker. The story and missions aren't as fun and exciting as the other grand theft auto's, but they're still fun.

I might be making it sound like I don't like this game, but I'm just using this review to compare this game to the other Grand Theft Autos. I love the entire series, I love this game.

100

Fantastic But Some Gameplay Features Haven't Aged Well

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

GTA 3 is one of the greatest sandbox games ever created and no doubt about it, the most influential. The city is big and feels alive with different people walking down the street. I was so amazed when I was driving and a random gang just got out of their truck and shot up a bunch of people on the street. The AI are that realistic. The soundtrack in the radio in this game is amazing with a huge variety of songs and stations. Some gameplay features are outdated like the driving and shooting but still addicting. Highly recommended game to any sandbox fan.

90

Trend setting game

furious_gamer | June 6, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

After playing GTA2 when i was a kid, i was eagerly waiting for next game to come out. But when it came out, i was quite surprised that it was in 3D. The game is much more enjoyable than in 2D which GTA & GTA 2 were. Story is compelling, addictive, characters are neatly laid out. Voice over is decent. Missions are both fun & serious and sometimes hard to do. The graphics are good compared to the games around the date it was released. Only let down was sound track, but the game excels in all other department.

Definitely a trend setter game!

80

GTA 3 is a milestone game worth playing just because of that

artigkar12 | May 28, 2013 | See all artigkar12's reviews »

This game became a phenomenon when it originally came out. Inspiring lots of other games (especially the open world genre as a whole). At first you might think that this game was basically just GTA 2 put into a 3D world, but that would be a bit incorrect. Unlike the older 2D GTA games this one had a city that you could go back and forth seamlessly (well, with a short load screen) doing whatever you want. In previous games you had to earn money to a certain goal and then you could advance to the next section, but you couldn't go back.

In this game however you do missions set by a story to advance and open up areas of the city. And that is one of the major differences to the old games as well, the story played a bigger role. You still play a mute guy doing jobs for various gangster criminal people though. The game has a lot of cheesy humour like the two first games, it has radio stations just like GTA 2. But this time you have a lot more choice with your radio stations and can even load up your own custom soundtrack (in the PC version, dunno about consoles) in one of the radio stations.

There was a lot of controversy surrounding this game at release, I remember in the local press where I live politicians were disturbed by how you could kill and maim random people on the streets in this game. I think that, yes you could do that, even getting some ingame money for it. But its not the main goal of the game or really the point. The point to the game is to be this sandbox (a term often used about this kind of openworld game) where you do whatever you want. Not interested in the story? You can still do quite a bit before you are forced to follow the story to open the rest of the city.

Had no problems with this game on Windows 7, but your mileage could vary on this one.

89

Fantastic game though a little dated now

britishlad | May 11, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

This game is probably the most fun game I (and most gamers) I have ever played. Driving through the city, shooting innocent pedestrian as I drive by, running over hookers and stealing their money, speeding over a bridge with the cops on your tail. It doesn't get much better then this. There are many people for you to kill, cars to steal, and missions to be completed. But this one is not for people who are stupid or young enough to think you can do all of these things in real life, because you can't. But, it's good for a laugh and to help you relax after a long day.

The game starts off with a scene of three people robbing a bank. As they're about to get away, the girl shoots you and you're arrested. Then, you escape when the convoy that was taking you to prison is attacked by a gang that wants to break out one of their members. They then bomb the bridge and you're free! Then, your friend helps you get some work with the Mafia, and the rest is history.

When the game was released on the PC there was a few bugs and glitches though I never had any problems myself but I can't say if these bugs were fixed in a patch or not

This game is great and like most gamers probably got plenty of hours out of it!

92

Best GTA Out There

Nuxaider | April 24, 2013 | See all Nuxaider's reviews »

GTA 3 has a place in my heart as the best GTA ever made. It has a serious yet at times humorous tone, great graphics (when it was first released), a fun sandbox world to explore.

Graphics: Though obviously outdated, it was great at the time. Though the quality isn't as good, it has a very nice aesthetic.

Sound: While GTA 3 doesn't have a noteworthy original soundtrack, its selection of songs on the radio are excellent and very nostalgic.

Gameplay: The game manages to create fun missions that are still somewhat serious, which is a major accomplishment for any sandbox game. And of course, there are the sandbox elements. Various vehicles and weapons make it fun to explore the world and destroy everyone in your path.

Overall, this is an amazing sandbox game that may be outdated, but is still a blast to play.