Reviews for Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

95

Favorite GTA

Jericho417 | July 28, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

The amount of hours I've dumped in to San Andreas is absurd. While it has a fairly standard rags-to-riches story, the world is a blast. I would regularly spawn a jet and just fly around area 69, dodging missiles and shooting down other jets and helicopters. I'd even just drive around town listening to the radio shows, trying to avoid getting the cops attention

Then SA-MP, a multiplayer mod, was released. I was dragged back in to the world of San Andreas for another few months of joy riding. The game was very easy to mod, though. You could adjust the stats on any vehicle, making an undrivable super-car out of something mundane. There were entire replacements for most of the vehicles, filling the game with shiny sports cars or just improved models.

The game also featured a skill system. The more you drove or used a particular class of weapon, the better you were. Improving these skills would do things like making it harder to get knocked off a bike or dual wielding many of the guns. Suddenly, those rampages actually helped you out.

Character customization was also present here. You had full control over your hair style, tattoos, cloths, muscle mass, and fat. If you wanted to be build like a tank and dressed in fatigues or a fat dude in sweats, it was your choice. You could stuff CJ so full of food that he just starts throwing it back up.

Overall, this is definitely my favorite Grand Theft Auto game. Between stealth killing people in the streets with a knife, getting in to an hour long police chase, or dog fighting in jets, I was thoroughly entertained.

100

If this was a potato, it would be a good potato.

grhakerck | June 12, 2014 | See all grhakerck's reviews »

Ever played GTA SA? Then you probably know what will I talk about. If you did not play this game, you should really try it sometimes.

This my first ever 3D game and I was really impressed. The best thing is that you are not necessary to complete quests, but you can also mix your in-game experience between free roaming around and questing, or just doing what you want.

It is also one of the best games that allow cheating. There are many many cheats for different purposes which can really make your day. You can use them just a little, enough to stay alive while raiding through the city with you bazooka, or you can just become invincible and ruin the whole police and army force. The choice is yours.

The graphics are maybe not the best for the time we live in, but you get used to them pretty quickly.

But the best thing in my opinion is custom radio station in nearly all vehicles. This is actually my favourite way to relax, driving through the city and listening to all the music you like.

100

Best Game Ever Made

billie_boy86 | May 8, 2014 | See all billie_boy86's reviews »

Yes GTA San Andreas is one of the Best game I've ever played in my whole life. This is the game which I played for almost 5 years since it was launched and I still occasionally play it with tons of mods installed in it to cruise around the world of San Andreas. This game is an unforgettable experience and once your in it you'll honestly forget about other open world games. From amazing voice acting, excellent script writing, memorable characters, intriguing story that will suck you in, intense action in immense world of SA where you can explore from 3 Big Cities to Country Side to the heights of Mount Chiliad and down to the wilderness or spend your time to the seashore or chill out over the beach! This game has so much to offer that you would be spending tons of hours even after beating the several times. The replay value of GTA SA is just so good that it never really gets old.

94

Awesome Game

BossDeVos | May 2, 2014 | See all BossDeVos's reviews »

I love this game, always have. But in playing through it recently without a shared account with siblings, I absolutely cannot pass the helicopter school level. This is so freakin' frustrating! But still, this game is amazing, with a huge open world.

100

My all time favorite GTA.

Dyzzles | March 6, 2014 | See all Dyzzles's reviews »

I honestly believe Rockstar hit the top with GTA San Andreas. It is by far the best GTA they made to date. The creativity the storyline writers have is amazing. They only focused on making it interesting, instead of going down the realism route. Even after finishing the storyline, the game, being open world, gives you complete freedom to do whatever you want. You can mod just about every part of the game to make it fit to your liking. And there're even multiplayer mods made by third parties that'll offer years of fun. Spent nearly 6 years playing multiplayer myself. If you haven't tried GTA San Andreas yet, definitely give it a try. You'll regret not getting it sooner.

100

Best GTA ever!

GipsyDanger2 | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all GipsyDanger2's reviews »

It was my first GTA experience and oh boy was it good. The freedom, to be able to do anything with an open world with thousands of possibilities just makes it the best of the best in the GTA series. The story itself is quite intriguing and often hilarious which will keep you hooked and make you play more of it. Most importantly, it's so much fun! All the things you can do in this game is crazy! Pulling off stunts on your Dirt Bike or just your car is just extremely fun and something that will have you hooked for hours. I did play the previous GTA titles after this and they were very nice and showed just how much the GTA title has evolved with each title and to that extent,the perfection that is San Andreas.

90

A genre defining title of its time!

sas41 | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all sas41's reviews »

My countless hours in this game were all worth it, and I will never forget it!

This is perhaps the best grand theft auto game, the reason being that after San Andreas, all the GTA games focus on realism, while San Andreas Focuses on fun instead.

There is not much to say about this game really, it includes a great ( by that I mean 2004 award winner ) soundtrack and countless hours of gameplay, it has a strong modding community and even a Multiplayer Moddification for it!

This is a MUST HAVE!

100

Months (maybe even years) of fun

WestheadUK | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all WestheadUK's reviews »

I've been playing San Andreas on PC for over a year now. The game has a fantastic storyline within it with a ton of exciting twists. You meet some great characters within the game and control one of the greatest protagonists of GTA history (imo). You control Carl Johnson (CJ) as he returns to San Andreas following the death of his mother, after the funeral Carl decides to stay around and help out his family/gang which are the Grove Street. The story becomes from small-gang wars to the insane to create some mega-money.

100/100 - Best GTA ever.

98

Old but great.

Fleexie | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all Fleexie's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto San Andreas is a pretty old game however it is perhaps one of the best games Rockstar have ever made. When it was released the graphics was the greatest at it time, and it was a visual pleasure to play the game. Even now so many years later the graphics are still good. It is maybe the GTA game with the most features and the longest story. It takes a lot of time to beat the story and then you have a lot of other great things you can do in the game. A lot of mini games, stunts and side missions. In Grand Theft Auto I have always enjoyed doing stunts, and this game is the best to do stunts in. You can do so many sick/awesome stunts that it is unbelievable. By having such a large open world as San Andreas has you can find a lot of places to do your stunts, in the cities, mountains or maybe the dessert it is your imagination that limits you.

There are a lot customization possibilities. Both cars and your character. You can tune your car but also do some great visual improvements so it is your personal vehicle. As for character customization you can change clothes, hair cuts, tattoos and you can change the looks in term of body type. If you overeat you gain wait and it is noticeable if you train in the gym and get musclemass then it is also noticeable.

All in all it is a great game if you haven't played it then hurry and buy it and play it. You have missed a lot.

96

Best GTA ever, unfortunately

sonicchaos | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all sonicchaos's reviews »

Why is it so unfortunate that San Andreas is the best GTA game ever made? Because the support for this game sucks and makes me seriously question Rockstar's good intentions. Evidently, they make quality titles. Even their worst game is still good, not just average or decent, but good or beyond good. I love Rockstar for the mature content they aren't afraid to provide, even if that means a harsh rating or even controversy. San Andreas is a mature game for immature adults. That's why we love the series so much. I was impressed by the 80s feeling of Vice City and I was impressed by the 90s vibe of San Andeas. The game nails a torn city between gang wars and the aggressive police that rule over it. CJ starts out as a generic protagonist and slowly becomes loveable, he becomes part of our crazy shenanigans. One might argue that he's a criminal and we shouldn't root for him, but I'm not rooting for his actions, that are in fact my actions, or his decisions in the cutscenes, I just like playing with him in this crazy amazing world. Let's face it, who cares for the missions? We just like playing outside to box. The story is just a means to drive our curiosity, nothing more. In this game, we are what we play. I wish I wouldn't compare it to other instalments, but setting it next to GTA IV and V, it might seems small in scale, but it's somehow the most diverse of them all. It's probably just as weird as it sounds, but it's true. Unfortunately, I have to talk about the unfortunate part. The graphics were amazing for its time, but it hasn't aged well. Nevertheless, it's still has good visuals overall and knows how to make the player exactly like in a 90s gansta movie. But the lack of support for widescreen resolution is rather upsetting. Keeping in mind that the Steam version is a complete hassle to mod, if even to get a mod working without the game crashing, looks to me like Rockstar simple wants to give up on its older games. They're too much of a bother? Apparently not, seeing how they released an Android version of San Andreas, Max Payne and Vice City that even runs ad looks better than on PC. So whatever brings more cash gets the most attention. Still, that doesn't mean the game is bad. I would replay this game whenever I just feel like. Because it's that good and immersive. Do I even have to mention the voice cast?

100

My favourite gta

haider786 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all haider786's reviews »

Like most Grand Theft Auto games, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas [$6.99] launched with loads of fanfare and like many GTA's before it, its release in 2004 marked a significant evolution in the depth, complexity, and overall size of the game. In fact, if the original had any drawbacks, it would've been just how far GTA:SA was pushing the PlayStation 2. The game seemed to use 101% of what the PS2 could do, which meant maximising all the drawbacks of a console system pushed to its limit. Load times were crazy, draw distance wasn't great, and as someone who was pretty into PC gaming at the time, its low frame rate was hard to deal with. Regardless, GTA:SA was, and still is, an absolutely incredible game. As the title hints, GTA:SA is set in San Andreas which is a weird mixture of vaguely familiar elements of Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Las Vegas. There's also other familiar geography from the American southwest like an Area 51, Hollywood, the Hoover Dam, and more. You'll play as CJ and the game opens with him returning to his old stomping grounds following the death of his mother. Of course, since he's been gone everything has gone south, and a large part of the game orbits around restoring his gang on Grove Street and then eventually taking over territory from rival gangs. Of course it wouldn't be a GTA game if there weren't also lots of twists, turns, and all sorts of unsavory characters in between. 10/10 recommended

92

So much memories

gforcesa | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

This is probably my favorite GTA game to date mainly because it tells a great story and its gameplay mechanics are good and fun.You play as CJ, Carl Johnson and you arrive at San Andreas and have to get in touch with your boys.You quickly get in trouble and have to fight to survive.All the missions are very fun,some could be annoying at some times like..."All you had to do was follow the damn train CJ".The game is now on android and i'm playing it again just for old time sakes.With all the mods for the game and the multiplayer mod its really fun and worth the time

90

Best in the series to date for PC gamers

Gmen | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

At the time of writing this, GTA V is not yet out on PC. GTA IV was a bit of a step down from San Andreas, which is as the heading suggests, about the best the series has to offer to date.

There are three large islands, much like previous titles such as GTA III and GTA: Vice City, for the player to commit all sorts of heinous crimes in, from hijacking cars and going for joyrides to doing drive-by shootings, robbing stores, and getting up to all sorts of criminal mischief. Couple this with a good albeit perhaps clichéd story, truly excellent voice acting providing for hilarious dialogue and cutscenes, characters that have immense depth, and a rocking in-car radio that allows you to listen to several stations all with licenced music and corny radio chat shows (V-Rock is always the best though) and you have a game that is one hell of a fun ride.

In addition to the main quests, there are also plenty of side quests and you can spend time levelling up your character so they can become the biggest, baddest gangster in the game. This is sandbox style gaming at its absolute best. Plenty of mods for the game will prolong your enjoyment for years to come, too.

My only real gripe would be the looks of the game. Not much changed in the years from GTA III through Vice City to this, so it isn’t particularly pretty. Other than that, the controls aren’t particularly good either, but this is a minor issue.

If you’re looking to get in to the series before GTA V comes along, then get San Andreas.

90

One of the best GTA games out there

Highlander9782 | Nov. 10, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

The content of this game is very expansive including the largest map I've seen in a game which will take hours just to cover all the land while driving. The music in the game on the radio stations are very diverse and cover all types of music, my favorite being the Radio X station with metal music. The story is very immersive and includes a likeable main character you can root for. If you're a fan of the GTA series, this is a definite buy.

90

Excellent game for it's time

Kalmado | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

I have never been a huge fan of the GTA series but this game really delivers. Take into consideration when it was released and just enjoy what San Andreas has to offer and you will immerse yourself in it's world.

One gripe is the known stutter problem. It can be very irritating until you find just the right settings for your pc to make it work correctly.

Overall this is a great game to add to the library.

90

Best in the series

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

Even though the graphics were already outdated a year before this game launched on PC, it still is the best GTA in the series. In this game Rockstar really mastered the Renderware engine and build one of the greatest sandboxes of all time. From the size of the map and the number of vehicles to places to eat and the radiostations. Everything got bigger better and even more ridiculous. The only thing that seemed to be inferiour to Vice City was the story line, therefore most of my playthroughs end somewhere Las Venturas. And of course Rockstar is still a crappy pc-porter. However the sheer diversity and almost limitless amount of things to do more then make up for it. You could work out at a gym, go skydiving, get your driving/sailing/flying-license or gamble. In 2005 i would rate this game a 9.8. in 2013 an 8.2

85

Great game

Nova4 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all Nova4's reviews »

Is kinda old, but is an hell fun game, all the animations are well made, all the characters are interesting, do everything is fun... excep the flying mechanics, that are horrible... and you can not skip the flying misions, if you had pacience enough to beat it, you will had one of the best games ever made, without the horrible flying mechanics i would be a 10/10. So check it ou!

100

Journy to a Virtual L.A.

CoillyZ | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

I don't know where to start with this game. It is one of the most finely crafted experiences that I have ever had in my entire life. Just the amount of things you can do in this game is mind-blowing. You can buy real estate, work out, buy food, ride bikes, spray paint, take part in gang wars, and fly cars(with cheats). That is only touching the surface of this. The graphics weren't revolutionary for the time, but it doesn't matter. The gameplay is spot on, and I have never had a technical problem playing this game.

91

GTA BIG FUN

aznsnsn | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

This game has such a huge world. There are so many different things to do, from police, taxi, pimp, racing, quest missions and more. The skills system and the ability to get fat or skinny just like real life make this game very dynamic and entertaining. The customization is also very great. San Andreas is such a big world, fly a jet pack over the sky scrapers, or race around in lowriders. The graphics are not the best, and the textures are so-so, but what makes the game so great is openness of the world you are placed into. I have spent many hours exploring the huge world this game has to offer. This is definitely a great buy.

90

For me, it is the best GTA

Thoosa | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

First of all, let me say something. I never spent as much time in a single player game (mainly single player if you will) as in GTA: SA. Hundreds of hours, ultimately doing everything I could. I was playing around, doing every mission, every thing that I ran into. Sure, you can say, the story was mediocre, but I loved it. The characters where really something, you can either hate them or love them, but there surely are. And the titular character is a great as well. I liked Tommy from GTA: VC, but CJ is just better. A great free world game guys, I recommend it.

80

Great Sandbox

iamkyo90 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

The graphics are not very good to say but .. is a very good game has your outstanding missions, weapons, cars, houses and what I like the game is that it has a very sad ending and the character's personality is respectable and a great friend. is also the part I love when he goes to find his brother (Sweet) to the police station were not for a long time as the game is killing people which gathered to do quests xD

98

San Andreas: King of Kings!

Sebastai | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Sebastai's reviews »

Well, certainly san andreas is the best game of its time. And it is not just enough that broke all records, if not to this day remains a mainstay for our generation game. I do not know anyone who has not played san andreas. It's a safe buy, if you like the genre, you will like this game, if you do not like the genre, you will like this game ... Nothing more to say about this piece of art.

96

Incredibly big and diverse

darkyhbk | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

GTA San Andreas pushed everything the series had previously achieved, to an incredible extent of variety and size. About 4 times bigger than III and Vice City combined, San Andreas offers an absolutely unprecedented experience. Graphically, there is a certain improvements in most aspects, except character designs, which have really low textures. However, the environments are incredibly diverse, ranging from a hot urban area in Los Santos, a temperate one in San Fierro, the forests in-between the two, and the deserts from Las Venturas. Every location feels different and has its own personality, which is charming, really. The sound is a again great. The voice acting and incredible soundtrack are the best things to be said about this, and although the game would have benefited from more sound effects, it's still a great job. The story is more mature, but still has its funny moments and trademarks of the series, but the standout thing here is the gameplay. There are a number of RPG elements introduced, such as skills for driving or shooting, the necessity to eat regularily, and much more. You can change your clothes piece by piece, get tattoos and new hairstyles, and a lot others. There's incredible variety in everything, making it a world you won't want to leave.

93

Great GTA.

Xillion | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Best Grand theft auto game in its franchise. A memorable experience and very enjoyable game. Characters in game were likable and/or funny. Best played on PC since mods enhance the experience. Compared to Grand theft auto IV, SA is still better. There's no other game like SA, and i highly recommend you buy it if you haven't played any of the games in the series.

87

Messing around

nixyjane | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all nixyjane's reviews »

This game is one of my favourite GTA's because of the character you play and the variety of awesome missions, But my favourite part of this game, is that it does not revolve only around the missions and there is tons of awesome things to do outside of the missions XD and they are extremely fun. Sometimes i just start up the game just so i can mess around :P

90

If you haven't played it, this is the time.

jobs99 | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all jobs99's reviews »

Who hasn't played this good old classic ? Everyone i know has played San Andreas, and believe me none were dissapointed. Great action, great story, great gameplay. Lots of customization: barber, clothes, gym and tuning cars. Rockstar did a great job, not just in this game, in the whole series.

90

A good GTA

jedimagician | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all jedimagician's reviews »

This game is good, it was a major improvement over GTA Vice City, the maps are bigger, the graphics have improved and the physics are better. One thing I have noticed is that you no longer sprint faster than the cars. I would get this game to participate in GTA history. The game is still fun but the graphics are a bit outdated if that will be a factor in whether you will play or not.

96

Legendary

Oblaque | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

This game is absolutely legendary just like it's developers at Rockstar Games. It is best played on PC as the controls will be much easier to use than the one's off a console. PC version also allows mods and hours of fun online, I hope Rockstar brings the new GTA V onto PC as soon as possible.

98

the most epic and ambitious GTA to date

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

San Andreas has an incredibly vast and varied world that makes all the other GTA cities look like neighborhoods, even GTA4. There is miles and miles of highways connecting different areas and it will take you dozens of hours to see it all. The customization options with characters and cars are unmatched in the series as well. You can fix up your car however you want, buy property, fight in gang wars or even just cruise around. There's a reason they're going back to San Andreas with GTA5. They set up a great world with real charisma and lots to discover with GTA San Andreas and it's the perfect base for any good open world game like this. A must buy for any fan of the series.

100

The best GTA.

Worgenite | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Worgenite's reviews »

This game is easily the best GTA that was released. Sure 4 has better graphics and such but SA had so many things to do along with the much better car handling. Definitely a must buy for any GTA fan and I recommend it for those that like the sandbox 3rd person shooter genre.

100

Best GTA of all time

Destroyer4887 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Destroyer4887's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (GTA:SA) is, simply put, a great game. The six month wait for a PC port was worth it; although still not state-of-the-art, if you've got the rig for it graphics are noticably improved over the PS2. I'm a bit biased having been addicted since the original GTA came out - Gouranga refers to the easter egg you get for taking out a line of hare krishnas in the original - but the game is probably the best of the series as the world is richer and the missions more fun. My only reservation is that the violence and plot here have no place anywhere near kids, but for adults this is the best of the genre and deserves 5 stars.

GTA has fully evolved from a pure-action game in the original GTA to an RPG with a good deal of action in GTA:SA. The majority of the game revolves around completing missions rather than simply jacking cars and running over people as in the early versions. The good news is that the RPG works. Missions are funny but brutal.

It's important to note this isn't the tamer, slightly cartoonish Scarface-inspired Vice City. Instead, this is the very nasty world of early 90's South Central LA with a gangbanger-influence and language that many will find disturbing. With the revelation that interactive softcore porn is included, this very much deserves the new AO rating. (All the infamous 'hot coffee' mod does is unlock some hidden but pretty rough sex simulations and take off the computer-generated clothes of those involved - if you're disturbed by the gangbanging the in-genre scenes will make it even worse.) One wonders if the rumor that TakeTwo leaked information about the hidden code to the hacking community as a marketing stunt is true - if so, it's massively backfired and it's hard to argue they don't deserve at least some criticism for at the very least not being far more upfront about its inclusion. Even before hot coffee this was pushing the upper limits of an M rating and probably deserved an AO one. Then again, any parent who let their kid near this game - or incredibly, a litigous grandmother buying this for an unsupervised 14 year old when M is clearly marked for 17 year olds - really isn't doing their job either as its incredibly obvious this is not a game for kids. Caveat emptor, and it looks like the AO version is about to become a collector's item.

Regarding content, there are so many more things to do compared to even Vice City. The world is, in a word, huge. It takes at least 20 minutes to drive from one end of the world to another (although if you're creative you just jump the airport fence and fly a plane for 2 minutes instead). Sure, there are standard GTA missions, like mugging drug dealers and drive-bys. But there is a lot more. Want to play death from above? Complete a ton of missions and get the easter egg of a Hunter gunship that can blow anything in the game away. Want an insanely fast car? Don't steal one; go to the docks and import a Super GT. Want to show off your moves? Enter the lowrider contest or go dancing with a date. Where the change from action game to RPG is most noticeable is in the addition of skill-based character advancement. CJ needs to eat and be in shape, but more importantly needs experience with weapons if he wants to hit something besides his foot. It's not onerous by any means, but it's a noticeable difference. One other note for veteran GTA players: this is probably the first GTA in which you'll use your keyboard a bit. The shooting missions are easier with mouse control for targeting, although I definitely prefer my Logitech gamepad for driving.

The PC port is clean although several of the PS2 cheats I tested don't work. Several things are better than the console versions. Besides making your own radio station from MP3s (although the GTA ads still air in between songs), graphics are improved. If you have the hardware to run it, high end tweaks like shadowing and draw distance (meaning you can actually decipher signs among other things) are nice. This isn't a showpiece game like Half Life 2 for your 45" LCD monitor by any means - the PS2 development still shows in a vaguely polygonish feel - but the port is a definite improvement over the consoles and the previous GTAs. (If Rockstar insists on an exclusive PS3 contract going forward, hopefully the 1080p PS3 will force improvements in the next game.) I like the special guest voices (like a corrupt Samuel L. Jackson) and the 5.1 surround in general, and have fortunately not experienced any of the numerous reported sound or running problems. (I'm running a 6800GT and a dual Opteron 246 setup which probably helps.)

It's probably not the best PC game of the year based on the legacy limitations of developing this for the PS2, but it is a genre defining game and is a must play for anyone who likes being bad. Five stars.

88

Easily my favourite GTA.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

With a huge landscape to explore and goof around in, it's easy to see why so many people have fallen in love with GTA: San Andreas. You play as CJ, a guy who is infamous with the local police force and coming back home following the murder of his mother. You try to re-establish your gang as a force to be reckon with, and you'll have a blast doing so. You can customize CJ in many ways, from tattoo's to his weight. You can fly in planes, customize cars in tons of ways, and even bike around the multiple islands. The missions and fun and plenty varied, and the characters you come across are just like you'd expect from a Rockstar game, charming in their own way. You can even download SA:MP with is a multiplayer mod for San Andreas where there are lots of people playing online, pulling insane shenanigans. While the game doesn't hold up all too well in graphics and a few bugs, it's still acceptable and you'll easily loose track of time while playing.

97

My First GTA Game

nicktodd12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all nicktodd12's reviews »

This game was the first GTA game I ever played and was by far one of the best games I have ever played. There are so many things to do and so much freedom in this wide open sandbox of a game. Drive cars, rob some people, fly a plane, ride around on a bike, play some pool, etc. You even get to decide what to eat and work out so you can bulk up or let yourself get fat. It is truly awesome and can't be described by just this review. I would highly recommend picking up this awesome game for a great price.

92

So good!

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

This one is easily my favourite in the series. It is really funny, has a lot of cool features in it which make the game more interesting and the story is actually pretty interesting. A must play!

92

Great memories!

Thomazen | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Thomazen's reviews »

Who hasn't had fun in a GTA game? This gives you the best of all the GTA worlds without the problematic new GTA IV graphics-problems! A must-have!

90

The best GTA

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

Grand theft Auto San Andreas is many people's favorite GTA for a lot of reasons like the huge open world, the awesome missions, or even the character building aspect. San Andreas has the most features compared to all the games that can before it. everything in San Andreas was made better from Vice City and you can tell. Everything is just fun now!

Definitely pick up this game as soon as possible!

98

Still great and its 2013

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This was a turning point in my gaming life. The first time I played this game, I looked into the game selection Rockstar had to offer and I was not disappointed. Everything you could ever want from an open world game is in here - especially if you have a mini gangster inside you that wants to be let out! This game is one of the reasons people are so hyped for any games Rockstar say they'll release - especially if its open world. That's why this game is so successful - Rockstar has a gift for making open world games. This game is involving and humorous at the same time. You take on the roll of CJ, who has returned to the 'hood', to find only 3 of his homies left - you spend the game re-recruiting to your gang, taking out anyone who stands in your way. You have an array of vehicles too. This stretches for BMX bikes to basic cars, to large vehicles, to aircraft vehicles and even a jet-pack! This is so much fun and I honestly recommend this game to you.

98

My favourite GTA Game of all time now

momoster69 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

This game was awesome, the things you could do is impressive, buy clothes, go to the gym and work out, do missions and etc. I was really impressed, you had more character customization than GTA 4. You can increase stamina even the damn weight and the having alot of girlfriends from different cities were interesting and how they are attracted the certain attributes like Michelle loves abit of fat and least forget the epic part, buying property and earning cash. I highly recommend this game, thank you

92

Gangsta climat!

grzegorz2047 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

This is one of the best parts of the GTA series. We have a girlfriend, great graphics, lots of missions, and for each mission not only get the money as in the previous sections - only respect :). You can play nicely in la'parkour. Jump across rooftops. Jump with the parachute. Race to race and fly planes. But what I like ... August najbardiej Our NPCs are doing in real life as bands go ride a few at a time, and can you motrów to Kill the police chasing bad guys. Literally Miracle Honey :) I recommend to any fan of this little gangster climate!

95

Best sandbox game of all time

spycid | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If there is any game that has raised every benchmark in the gaming history then this is the game. There is not a thing you can't do here, drive any car you wish, have as much fun as you want, defend whatever you wish and when you are bored then you can start focusing on the main storyline and have fun. Overall it's a must play title for all sandbox fans and I'm sure most of you have played this already but very few have completed the game.

91

Open World is Fun

ConorEngelb | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

GTA:SA was the first GTA game I played, and it impressed me. Despite the now somewhat dated graphics, the scale of the world was astounding, and the gameplay fairly exciting. The most fun is to be had free-roaming the enormous world, maybe advancing the story enough to gain access to additional areas. But the emphasis is definitely on the open world.

100

One of the best of all time

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Imagine an open world, in which you can do what you want. You're CJ, a gangster with a troubled past returning home to a scattered family. You're goal is to reunite the Grove street gang, and take back what's yours. If you've never heard of Grand Theft Auto, I feel sorry for you, but you should immediately buy this game. You'll be able to freely roam the world of fictitious Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Las Vegas. Out of all the Grand Theft Auto games, this one holds true with great music, amazing characters, the biggest open world, fun customization, and a cool protagonist. There's tons of cars, weapons, and things to do in San Andreas. You can fly a plane and parachute down on an army base. You can take a semi and try to make a break into Area 69. You can search for bigfoot in the huge forest that exists in the game. All this doesn't even count the main storyline, which is by the way amazing. San Andreas probably has the best storyline out of all the GTA games, because the characters are so convincing, and there's so many twists and horrors that exist along the plotline. But honestly, I didn't even play this game when it came out, I played it in 2007 for the first time, and I still play it to this day. I can't wait till GTA V so I can spend even more time in Los Santos (Los Angeles). As soon as you stop reading this review, you would be doing yourself a dishonor if you didn't get this game.

73

Unbelievable freedom!

Speed4Runs | July 21, 2013 | See all Speed4Runs's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas represents the "absolute monarch" of open world. On GTA:SA, you can do basically anything: eat, swim, drive cars, have a job (secondary missions), drive elicopters, planes, get a flight license, a driving license, and a boating one, you can get fat, or you can slim, you can also play some mini-games, go on swim, play on casinos, go from a city to another (all the territory is surrended by some cool landscapes, such as countries and deserts, and also some villages), you can get a girlfriend, change your hair cut, and do many other crazy things. That's unbelievable (and it's a 2004 game)! The graphics aren't that great, but they contain some cool effects (such as the motion blur or the "heat" effect). Performance isn't good.

Graphics + performance: 5

*Graphics: 5.5 - They're not the best graphics that could be featured in a 2004 game, but they're not too bad. Some effects make them good, but they get "ruined" by some really bad models and textures (and the missing of reflections and realistic water (take a look at Half-Life 2 or Silent Hill 3 and you'll understand me)). The quality of the shadows and their amount is low.

*Performance: 4.5 - The performance is mediocre. You won't get very high FPS with an average PC of its times (especially if you enable anti-aliasing).

Plot: 7.25

Full of twists, the plot featured in GTA:SA is a pasterpiece. It is deep and mature (it features some real events and/or life problems), and will make you ALWAYS want to go ahead, because it's very intriguing.

Gameplay: 6.75

Amazing gameplay, either because it featuers A LOT of things to do, and because it's really funny and well done. The shootings aren't so great, though.

Sound: 7.25

GTA:SA features really AMAZING sounds: starting by music, it's perfect because it features different kind of music for every taste; the dubbing is just awesome (CJ's one will remain in the heart of a lot of people).

Longevity: 7.75

Three full cities, along with countries, desert, forests, and villages, almost two hundred missions, ability to do almost everything... isn't this awesome?

Avg. score: 6.8 I'll give an extra 0.5 score to this game because it's AMAZING and it deserves it.

Final score: 73 - Superb, I recommend it to anyone who likes violence and who likes open world games.

90

A game that represented freedom

azninja30 | July 19, 2013 | See all azninja30's reviews »

GTA San Andreas gave players the freedom we yearned for and it kept us entertained with the huge variety it offered in customizing our character, side missions, unlockables, and the huge world changed with every city you visit and take over.

85

Amazingly fun game

GrogtheGinger | July 17, 2013 | See all GrogtheGinger's reviews »

GTA San Andreas is my favourite GTA game as it has really fun driving and shooting for an older game. This should work on modern systems with a few simple tweaks and there are plenty of great mods for this game. The story is a very good tale of a gang that is losing respect and it is full of memorable characters who you enjoy to be with on missions. San Andreas is massive and even at the beginning when a lot of the world is locked off. There are lots of vehicles throughout the game and plenty of easter eggs. The stats are good as well, you can go to the gym to increase your muscle and reduce fat so you can run for longer or be better at hand to hand fighting. The radios are great too with loads of songs from the time period (early 90s) and you can even add your own music if you feel like it). This game is very fun and stands the test of time really well so this is a definite buy for anyone even slightly interested in open world or action games.

100

Amazingly Detalied Open World Game

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

San Andreas is often called the best in the GTA series, and this is 100% true! The map is huge and very detailed. The story is immersive and the gameplay is awesome. San Andreas is the perfect mix between a funny and a serious game. There are lots of weapons and vehicles, assault rifles, pistols, rpgs, boats, helicopters, airplanes etc. Each place is different and has its own little touch to it. And the mods are amazing. There's even a multiplayer mod with support for hundreds of players!

95

Probably the biggest map in any game

furious_gamer | June 5, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

This new GTA could easily be called one of the greatest games ever made. GTA San Andreas is good because it has a lot of new additions. The AI of citizens is better. The city is larger, the graphics seem better (at least on PC), the free roam options are improved (you can jump up onto/over gates and houses, now), the radio stations are better and more diverse, etc.

80

Nice one

LoudeRZz | June 4, 2013 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

Very nice GTA, the multiplayer is really fun but a little bit complicated, the single player is also nice, good plot, many vehicles types and big maps [cities], liked it.

90

A "must have" title

mrzone | May 31, 2013 | See all mrzone's reviews »

Eight years old classic, still worth to buy this game. Awesome storyline, from downtown to the casinos. Awesome dialogs and voice cast: Samuel L. Jackson, Ice-T, Axl Rose and Wil Wheaton. Great music in radios but you can use your own music library too. Fairly big open world with many things to do. You can go with the story missions, go to gang wars with your 'homies', go crazy and shoot everyone, blow up cars or just simply drive around the town. There are bikes, motorcycles, cars - which you can customize, planes and helicopters. Plenty of mods will keep you busy even after you finished the storyline. Highly recommended.

90

A Highly Entertaining Game

JugglingT | May 5, 2013 | See all JugglingT's reviews »

A vast landscape including deserts and mountains as well as multiple cities, along with entertaining characters and an evolving story, help make this game what I find to personally be the best of the currently released GTA games. Granted the graphics are somewhat dated by now, but they're easy to forgive due to the amount of fun this game has to offer. The game features various drivable vehicles including cars, motorbikes, tanks, trains, planes, helicopters and more, and the handling is very well done making it a blast just to speed about aimlessly.

The game also features light RPG elements in the use of stats such as hunger, driving skill, and strength. They never require too much attention, and aren't really necessary, but it can be a fun addition all the same. Being on PC there are also a few graphics options you can tweak (although most gaming computer's should be able to run this game without much effort nowadays), plus if desired it's also possible to add your own music to play through the in-game radio. Overall a very fun game, that still holds up even today. Would recommend.

85

Super In Depth Game

ravestar | May 3, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

The main thing that is preventing me from giving GTA San Andreas a higher score is the story. It's a good tale of friendship and betrayal, but it got draggy at parts, especially in the countryside. The game is very long and the map is massive, if only the story was as great to balance all that.

With that said, I highly recommend this game if you like open adventure and crime genres. This is a true sandbox experience, you can do things like buying clothes, working out, shooting cops or just beating up random people on the streets.

The missions here are of a wide variety, so you are likely to love and hate them depending on taste. There's a gang shooutout which was really fun, then there's a mission where you tap buttons to music rhythms....seriously. Still I would say the majority of the missions are interesting, with only a few let downs.

The graphics still hold up fairly good even today, but the gameplay mechanics do feel abit outdated. I love the radios, the music is awesome and make the long car rides more tolerable.

If you never play GTA before, this is a great place to start as this was a pretty notable point in the evolution of the series.

85

One of the best GTA after Vice City

Cavalieroscuro | April 20, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This GTA is one of the best after Vice City. As usually, there are a lot of things you can do without following the main plot (that is interesting, but you know, anyone play GTA for the "story"), including body building! There are both cities and rural zone, you can use also a bike to roam around! If you've never tried this saga, start here to see if you like it!