Reviews for Grand Theft Auto IV

60

You have to try it out

Yoman282 | July 30, 2014 | See all Yoman282's reviews »

I spent countless hours having fun in this awesome sandbox world and I must say that it's quite nice. But there are problems since this is a bad console port i'd say and it lags/stutters on a lot of configuration but with a little bit of tweaking/commands/mods you can make it better, just don't expect too much with a low-end system. So, yeah the game is nice but to be honest it could be way better. I liked good ol' GTA:SA more.

90

Best plot in the franchise.

reginleifx | July 14, 2014 | See all reginleifx's reviews »

Though most people say it's the worst game in the franchise, I think it is the second best entry in it. Yeah, gameplay might not be as good as in previous entries if you're used to playing just to cause mayhem, but, I think it actually is a great thing, since it makes the whole experience a lot more realistic. So, no more jetpack, no more ridiculously big weapons I won't talk much about the soundtrack, but I'm going to say most radios are excellent, and they feature almost every genre you can think of. There's Latin-American music, Jazz, classic Rock, whichever genre you feel like listening to, you're likely to find it here. Now, the plot is where this game shines. At first, it feels like your regular Grand Theft Auto plot, guy comes from another city or country, gets picked up by family or friend, yadda yadda. But after a few plot twists you'll find out it's not as regular as you might think, and these plot twists and the fact that you have to make some decisions at some points of the game are, in my opinion, the best thing this franchise has introduced to any of its games. Graphics are good, but sadly, the game is terribly optimized.

80

An acceptable game, but does not live up to the GTA franchise

Kalmado07 | June 26, 2014 | See all Kalmado07's reviews »

After playing this game for a bit I kept finding myself wanting to play San Andreas instead. I felt like this was a diamond covered in bird poop that needed to huge cleaning. Modding community has done wonders for it. I personally would rather play Sleeping Dogs.

97

It's your cousin; let's go bowling!

PredatorDrone18 | June 15, 2014 | See all PredatorDrone18's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto IV is a fantastic open-world experience full of guns, cars, and your cousin Roman wanting to go bowling. GTA IV has an amazing story, with addictive gameplay and some borderline comical accents. GTA IV has endless replay capability, and you can keep on committing acts such prostitution, vehicular manslaughter, selling large quantities of drugs, assault and battery, extortion, possession of military-grade explosives, murder in the first degree, and (you guessed it) grand theft auto for hours on end. I would recommend this masterpiece to anyone, and it is definitely worth the purchase.

90

Near Perfection

billie_boy86 | May 7, 2014 | See all billie_boy86's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto IV might not to be the perfect game compared to it's predecessor San Andreas but it does took a leap forward in terms of Visuals, Handling and Physics of objects in the created world.

GTA IV story isn't as intriguing as it was for San Andreas and does not offer much of side activities instead the player will be annoyed by getting the thumbs down text messages on your cell phone in the game which dramatically decreases your relationship bar with your friends and the one's you date. A lot of things has been stripped down in GTA IV like base-jumping, gym etc.

The main reason I got GTA IV is due to it's vast variety of mods and the modding community. There are literally thousands of mods lying online for GTA IV from Vehicles to Character Customization to a whole new level in Visual Graphics which actually beats a lot of top-rated games.

85

Better on console, but a must have experience

Funtaine | May 6, 2014 | See all Funtaine's reviews »

When I first played GTA IV, I played it on my Xbox 360. I was absolutely blown away by the engaging story and characters. It had taken the already great features from the older GTA titles and improved upon these.

I recently replayed it on my PC and I was not disappointed. Of course, the control are better fitted for a console but the story was just as engaging as when the game came out. The gameplay isn't it's strong side, but the story more than makes up for it.

I would certainly recommend this game to someone who's new to the GTA franchise or who just likes sandbox games. Buy it if you haven't played it!

90

Not bad for the first entry of the HD universe

iamstillbroke | May 4, 2014 | See all iamstillbroke's reviews »

GTA IV is the first game in the series' HD universe. Featuring a new timeline divorced from GTA 3's Liberty City, IV possesses a more realistic storyline which some fans of the more out-of-this-world entries found dreary. However, IV's grittier story is one of the game's strongest points, simply due to its more biting dark humor and sympathetic characters. There's no denying that San Andreas' Grove Street crew or Vick Vance are relatable, but the payoff of Nico's many relationships felt a little more rewarding due to his more complex personality.

Gameplay-wise, it's certainly a step up from previous games, although the new driving mechanics are difficult to get used to at the start because of its stiffness. Targeting is easier this time, since the cursor moves easier from target to target. While swimming is less substantial this time, it's compensated with better running and walking mechanics. New additions which could've been implemented better include the internet, the phone, or even the TV. The phone could be argued as misused due to nagging phone calls from contacts, though.

While not built as a social sim, its social aspects could be used to diversify more missions. Beyond activation and confirmations, these could be used to make options available in accomplishing missions, or unlock new ones.

GTA IV's replayability is arguable- if one's playthrough goes through at least 87 or 90 perceent of the game content, one practically coasted through everything the game has to offer. It's a solid Triple A title, and with the price reduction, a must-buy.

89

Great and moddable game

Cofo | May 2, 2014 | See all Cofo's reviews »

GTA 4 is good game with nice story,because it is moddable you can make this already good game even better,make it look like GTA V,improve graphic,get new vehicles,you can do whatever you wanna.

Bad side is little poor optimizing but it not too bad,graphics are little outdated but as I said earlier you can find mods to improve graphics,also controls are good.

I personaly like story,this game will give you a lot of hours of play time till you finish single player story,and even then you will still have fun with mods,achievements and multiplayer part of game. GFWL shutting down but multiplayer for GTA 4 will still be available.

You will never regret if you buy any of GTA series games but this is my favourite, good and moddable game.

96

Awesome serious criminal life story

RedFrix | May 2, 2014 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto IV is what GTA V couldn't offer, I think this game was made for a more directed audience.

GTA IV story talks about a man that wants to forget the past living a new life in Liberty City like every American wants, but can't. Instead, he has to suffer through different jobs from hitman through heists.

One of my favourite missions was the Bank Robbery mission, that was a really hard one and nothing compared to GTA V.

90

Almost Perfect

Cgtitan5 | April 16, 2014 | See all Cgtitan5's reviews »

I have always loved GTA games and Grand Theft Auto 4 is no exception.

Although I don't think GTA4 is as great as San Andreas it is pretty close. GtA4 has excellent graphics but they are very demanding. I have a fairly decent gaming computer and I still get huge frame rate drops, however this is on max settings. GTA4 is definitely not very well optimized but if you fool around with the settings I am sure you will get a respectable frame rate.

The story in GTA4 is fantastic and very well acted. I really enjoyed playing as Nico. The best thing about this game as with all gta games is that is an open world and you get the freedom to do whatever you want. Overall I recommend this game.

90

A Grand Ol' Time

Roflcatz | April 9, 2014 | See all Roflcatz's reviews »

Grand theft Auto IV is a pretty striking departure from the previous entries in the Grand Theft Auto franchise. While the previous games were more cheesy parodies of American culture in various different areas, Grand Theft Auto IV sets out to tell its own story set in Liberty City, a fictional parallel of New York City, and tells a story that is without a doubt one of Rockstar's greatest works.

You start off as Nico Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant fresh off the boat trying to find a new life in America. You're first met by your cousin (who really loves bowling) as you both begin your new life in America. It obviously doesn't go exactly as planned, and from the beginning Nico realizes that the American Dream isn't going to become a reality so easily. The story spans many hours, as you work for Russian druglords, dense meat-heads, gay former friends, and even the Italian Mafia. The story takes roughly 30 hours to complete, and is compelling throughout.

The gameplay for GTA IV is probably the weakest part of the game. Movement is sluggish, gunplay is sloppy at best, and driving is like trying to swim your way out of molasses. Needless to say, the gameplay isn't the strongest part of GTA IV. However, it is serviceable and lets you do what you need to do to complete the story.

All in all, GTA IV is a great game and is a complete departure from Rockstar's previous works. With a compelling story and classic GTA formulas, it is definitely worth playing.

87

Great comeback!

MartDrummer | April 5, 2014 | See all MartDrummer's reviews »

GTA IV. A very special GTA game. And i loved it! The story, unlike the older GTA games, is more personal. You don't just do jobs for people, you also get to know the people you work for and meet throughout the game. The gameplay is solid. Finally, there is a GREAT cover system. You can almost cover behind anything! The game still stays true to it's predecessors, while adding a few new features.

One bad thing about the game is how the cars steer. It is VERY bad. Your car literally slides around on the road. Thankfully there are plenty of mods that can adjust the physics and steering of all drivable vehicles. Great story and great gameplay + online multiplayer = Great package! Definitely worth the money, but only on sale, since it's pretty old by now.

100

Fantastic game

Grandey | Feb. 9, 2014 | See all Grandey's reviews »

This is a fantastic game! Both the campaign and the multiplayer is fun. Driving around in the city like a normal civilian, racing around the city or escaping the cops, there is tons of things to do in this game after you have finished the story. I've played this game for over 100 hours, and I still love to just drive around like all of the AI's do. I promise you, when you get tired of what the singleplayer has to offer (which might take you about 100, if not more, like it did to me!) you can try online gameplay. Play with random people or with your friends, if not both! Setup races, drive away from the cops and more! The multiplayer will bring you more than 100 hours of fun! If both the singleplayer and the multiplayer are getting boring, try modding the game! Again, 100+ hours of gameplay. Become a police-man, or Iron Man, if you so choose to! There are alot of things to do both in the ''vanilla'' / unmodded version of the game, and after you have modded it. This is a game that is really worth buying! You will not regret your purchase.

Who needs GTA V when you got this game, right? Well, GTA V would be a great game, if we, the PC-gamers had it. But the modding community shows how much you can do with this game. An example is the Los Santos (from GTA V) made for GTA IV! If GTA V won't come to the PC, the modders will bring it to GTA IV. Again, it shows how good of a franchise this has become, and how much you can do to the base game if you know what you are doing. I never get tired of this game! As I have said earlier, I have played over 100 hours of this game, my rating deserves the same. You don't see me handing out top-score any often! Rockstar, you know how to make games. Buy it, buy it now!

82

Good Game

mirceapuy | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all mirceapuy's reviews »

This game is good, and soon, with few mods will be similar with GTA V with 3 playable characters. The things i don't like, the graphic is starting to become outdated but still looking good and is poorly optimized. Besides this, you'll have some fun; but not completely, because at some point you get bored. The city feels alive but there's not plenty to do in it, just like San Andreas. You will have lots of money but don't have on what to spend them besides clothes or weapons. Good game, and modable.

75

Not too shabby

Arteus | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

As a game, Grand Theft Auto IV is solid. While a lot more serious than prior titles in the series, GTA4 retains the core mechanics that made the previous games a success. The graphics hold up fairly well even after a few years and can be modded to be better quite easily.

The main problem with this game is the quality of the port, it's an incredibly awkward game in this regard and can work fantastically on one system and then sub-par on something with similar specifications. It's certainly more demanding than it should be as a result.

The game is definitely worth a purchase if you have a powerful system to play it on. Anybody unsure about the strength of their PC may want to wait for a sale however, just in case it doesn't run quite as well as you would like.

95

Great game!

timcheung1123 | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all timcheung1123's reviews »

Although GTA5 had came, but I still like to play GTA4. Great improvement of graphic and the story of Niko really impress me. Other than the merits above, GTA4 still keep the features of GTA series, freedom. You can kill people without any reasons. You can drive and listen to the video. That's why I always enjoy the world in GTA series. For improvement, rock-star can add more activities to this game.

90

Very good to have a nice time

Unbenannte | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

Do what you want to feel free, to go crazy, get cars, and live the bad life, then buy it. Interesting campaign, if you have played and liked any GTA title, you will like this one too. Basically it’s a better city, better graphics than its predecessor, big story, lots of missions, really worth if you have time to play, and also if you’re having a bad day you can play it and get all your rage out. Single player its ok, there is some debate about if it’s better than previous GTA titles, but if you like this kind of games, then you won’t be disappointed. Also if you get tired of single player you can go multiplayer, with friends its better.

The price is really worth it, and if you have a discount voucher from GMG, you will pay less than normal people will, and that’s amazing. Hope this helps you.

80

enough things to do to last you 100+ hours

madxskillzxgame | Jan. 11, 2014 | See all madxskillzxgame's reviews »

so in single player you have the campaign and lots of other things you can go and pick up any person that you have their phone number you want and go out and eat.but their are also lots of side missions to spend time on to get 100%.the multiplayer is where i spent most of my time playing with friends for hours cause you can do whatever you want in the same city you have to be alone in if you play story mode.

68

Good game, bad port.

5474IV | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all 5474IV's reviews »

If you like free roaming around big world, interesting characters and nice graphic then this game is for you. The biggest flaw of this game is its bad optimalization, so you will need very good hardware to play it on max details. You advance in story by completing various missions like stealing cars, robbing bank, following some NPC and many more. You can also take a break from main mission and explore city, steal some car, buy clothes for your character or simply kill anyone in your sight. There are many options.

81

We are still playing it!

InBu | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all InBu's reviews »

It doesnt matter that GTA V came out, we still wont have it on pc that soon, so buy this one (now its extremely cheap) and expierience crashing cars and killing people without any reason in nice graphics that gta IV can give you. I reccomend it beucause you know it's kind of games you can play even when you have finished singleplayer and done all the side missions you can just have fun in these types of games.:)

80

Good Time

akaman16 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all akaman16's reviews »

GTA V is ground breaking in many ways, its was the first time we saw that had such realistic visuals, it looks amazing even to this day. its an amazing game no doubt about that but it does lack the crazy over the top nature of it predecessor. its controls can be fidgety especially the cover system. this doesn't detract from the experience at all as its an amazing game with minor problems, if you want to just let lose and go crazy there is no better way to do so than in GTA V its so fun going about this realistic portrayal of New York causing havoc, my greatest moments in this game haven't been from the story its just been driving around, blowing stuff up and fighting the cops.

95

Perfect Game with Multiplayer

iiilker99 | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all iiilker99's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto is a perfect game as gamers know. This version of Grand Theft Auto is very good with improved graphics and improved gameplay. Missions are much better , also you will have a phone. That's cool. Most important feature of this game is multiplayer. Multiplayer is fantastic , there's a lot of game modes and game is much funnier with friends. Team Deathmatch is my favorite and most of players prefer team deathmatch. PC version of this game is probably the best. Because you can install mods for this game and there's a lot of mods that you can install. Overall , every gamer must have this game. It worth every penny.

97

Positives outweigh negatives. Fun game!

JetStreamJam | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all JetStreamJam's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto IV is a very well polished game. When a game gets a 90 on metacritic, It basically means that you need to have this on your library if you are a real gamer.

This game is a lot of fun. You can basically just play around and roam around the city and do your own thing or go and follow the story line which is decent.

All the things you liked on the previous version was retained on this game with better graphics since the older version is a few years old already. You will still enjoy driving around the city, killing people, or running away from the police. You can go on dates, stroll around and have other miscellaneous games that you can spend and waste your time on. This is the epitome of fun that you create on your own.

The bad parts that I can think of would be the average storyline and the occasional graphics bug or physics bug that happens at several points of the game.

Buy the game and have fun!

90

Awesome as always

csnyman | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all csnyman's reviews »

The GTA franchise has been a stalwart of most gamers' games collections. This should be no different for GTA IV. The open world gameplay is bolstered by amazing graphics and a compelling storyline. Run from the law, steal the best vehicles, smuggle money, perform gang-related hits and much, much more in this gripping game. A fluid multiplayer experience just adds to this masterpiece. Join your friends and wreak havoc on the city!

85

Realism. Good and Bad

vipc | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all vipc's reviews »

GTA has always been the masters of open world games. Since GTA 3 when the world was first rendered into three dimensional, third person gameplay, GTA fans have been able to wreak absolute havoc into the cities they are rendered in.

GTA 4 does some things right, and others wrong. The story is a fine rise to power-esque story, with an array of unique and intriguing characters. The game plays fine, and exploring the world is as fun as it has always been. There's more to do in the world than ever before, like bowling, drinking, even going to a comedy club and watching Ricky Gervais performing "live".

Unfortunately through all the good it does, It does have it's downsides. The cops for example, are relentless. It's all too easy to get the attention of the cops, and they are really brutal when chasing you down. For some, this may be a positive as it adds to the realism, but for me this is a negative. I enjoy causing a little trouble in the world, but when I do, it seems like I've caught the attention of the whole city's police and military.

And then there's the real problem with GTA 4 on the PC in particular. It is HORRIBLY ported. Even on high end systems this game can run absolutely horrible, and unfortunate to say, this was never fixed. So unless you have a monster of a machine, or you're happy to run at lower settings, then be prepared for some horrible frame rate drops and poor performance.

Nonetheless, this game is fun. I just have to say that it may be better to play this on console if you have access to one.

81

Great Technology, Boring Missions

Jman522 | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Jman522's reviews »

Where to start? The graphics style, physics, and AI all come together to create a world that seems to be running on it's own independent of the player.

I bring that up because I think that's what hooked me in. There really is nothing like traveling about in Liberty city. Stealing the vehicles of innocent citizens in broad daylight and going off on a psychopathic rampage. And yes, that is basically the traditional formula for playing GTA when not in missions. But the physics and AI take it to a whole new level. It is quite difficult to describe, but the life like movements and responses of pedestrians are quite the treat.

But let's move on. GTA4 is really a game that you play for the sandbox mode. The missions are horribly rinse repeat, travel to point A, travel to point B, Kill/Steal/Find, escape the cops, get paid. This isn't to say this type of gameplay isn't ever fun, but it's done in a very bland way. Perhaps it has to do with the "just survive" or "make it by" theme of the game. Just labor through the this tasks and hope to make it to tomorrow. I won't go much further into that as to not spoil the story.

Beside the lackluster missions, GTA really is a series that you come for the sandbox mode. And that really does compensate for the areas where the game is lacking, so keep that in mind when starting the game.

88

Very Fun Game

Jenkin | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Jenkin's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto is a great game series that has continued to impress gamers. GTA IV includes fantastic multiplayer that is fun with friends and other people. The price for GTA IV is definitely worth it as there are many many missions to complete. One of the best aspects though, of GTA IV, is the amount of mods out there to use. You have superman mods, police roleplay mods, gun mods, car mods, graphic mods, etc etc. Police chases are also fun as you try to escape from the cops with helicopters and road blocks. You will not regret buying this game.

95

Pretty Fun

PlatoonKiller | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all PlatoonKiller's reviews »

Cop shootouts never get old, story is a little bland but the game makes up for it in open world chaos! super entertaining don't worry about getting bored with this game, you wont! Especially if you are waiting for GTA V on pc, and it will happen, this game is perfect price, length, and game play wise. Enjoy playing!

82

Very good game

DeadReap | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all DeadReap's reviews »

The game is very good. I and a lot of peoples enjoyed playing this game, the storyline is very good, multi player mode is enjoyable, Physics are awesome and combined with good car handling, game play makes this game wonderful. I believe every one knows Grand theft auto franchise and you will not regret about buying this game.

82

Very good game

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

The world in GTA IV is expansive with a wide range of things to go and do. The world of GTA IV is very fun to play around in, you can rob a bank, drive off a pier on a bike, attack randomers and get into police chases. The list goes on. Coupled with that is a decent graphics engine and great voice acting which make the story shine. The story is one of the best things in GTA IV and it really makes you care about the main character and what happens to him. One problem I have is that the game is a very poor port on the PC. on my 7950 I am only getting 30fps on max graphics. But this is a small issue given the world you can play around in.

81

Another fantastic GTA game

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I played this when the game came out and for its time it was one of the best games ever made. Its hard to go back now because the game feels very stiff in comparison to games like Max Payne , Sleeping Dogs and Saints Row The Third. The driving at the time was good but now feels too floaty as if you're driving on ice all the time. The fighting mechanics although different seem incredibly stiff and hard to maneuver compared with the likes of Sleeping Dogs and Saints Row's mechanics . This a very good game still, it just hasn't aged as well which is unfortunate bceause its not that old of a game. Its worth getting and playing but it has little re-playability for me these days which is unfortunate because of how great the story is

88

GTA IV is fun but it has it's flaws

microsnitch | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all microsnitch's reviews »

I really like playing this game. You are controlling the main character Niko. I was quite interested at first but overall, the story is just okay. The gameplay could be repetitive sometimes but really, it's fun. Regarding the graphics, well, it does not really look that good but is nevertheless improvement over GTA III. However, I am quite disappointed that the game is not quite optimized on PC. There are certain hiccups/lag when I play this game and it does not matter whether I have my video setting on High nor Low. I am playing the game on my Intel Core i5 with radeon 5730 HD. I know I do not have the greatest specifications but the game is playable on around 30-48fps. The game needs a great processor. If you have quad core and a good graphics card, you should not be having trouble playing the game a great framerates. What makes this game stand out? MODS. The available MODS to improve the graphics and whatnot. The game is not dead yet.

73

Incomplete

RaTcHeT302 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

GTA IV offers a much more interesting storyline than the previous GTA games. Even though it's probably more "edible" most missions are rather generic and not as extravagant as you'd expect from previous GTA titles, most missions being limited to going from point A to B to kill C.

The only thing GTA IV did great is the new car damage physics system, along with the ragdolls pedestrians have whenever Niko runs anyone over.

The soundtrack is also great but it still fails to be varied, most tracks being really dull overall. It also lacks all the fun toys from previous games such as, attack helicopters, miniguns, jet packs, chainsaws and so on.

Overall GTA IV feels incomplete, it's as if it was mostly created with the mindset of being a glorified tech demo instead of an actual game, the PC port itself being pretty poor, running at absymal framerates on most modern systems.

Even with it's flaws though, the gunplay was certainly improved, and overall the driving too has become much satisfying. Thankfully the game is also quite moddable so the fun stuff can be easily added with some tweaking.

75

A hit or miss of the great franchise

pr_justin | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all pr_justin's reviews »

GTA IV certainly has its pluses being the first game to use R's RAGE Engine. however, for most hardcore fans of the series, it was a big let down as it seemed R followed the trend of other game developers in sacrificing content for graphics, for in comparison to San Andreas, it wasn't quite up to snuff Despite that, its a decent game with decent graphics and is well worth the money you'll put in, more so if you get the DLC as those campaigns are arguably much better than the official itself

92

Grand Theft Auto IV (almost) lives up to the hype

usacfg | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all usacfg's reviews »

This game is almost perfect. The gameplay is addictive, the story is more than adequate, and the satire of modern America is, if slightly overdone, hilarious. Now, why then, have I deducted 8 points? Those are for a few issues: the gameplay eventually gets repetitive (not surprising for a game that will take easily 25 hours on the first playthrough), the controls are far from snappy , and the game is encumbered by “Games for Windows LIVE” (GFWL), the sad excuse for a SteamWorks competitor that Microsoft came up with. It requires you to activate the game using a serial number, despite the seamless integration of DRM into Steam. Another (almost unavoidable for a 4 year old game) issue with this game is that these days it’s very difficult to find a good match in the multiplayer section of the game, and again that’s subject to all of the issues with our old friend, GFWL.

All in all, the game satisfies almost every demand someone could have for a game (obviously child friendliness is an exception) and is worth almost any price, but I’d recommend waiting for a sale, because they happen almost every other day.

95

An excellent tale of the rise of Nico Bellic.

omer2104 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all omer2104's reviews »

The game lets you step into the shoes of Nico Bellic who comes to Liberty City in hopes to find his wealthy cousin. He soon finds otherwise and works his way up. The game is a bucketload of fun. It sets you completely free to do whatever you want. Ride a motorized toilet? check. Fly around blowing things up as iron man? check. And many MANY more community made mods, variying from graphical enhancement to funny and silly mods. This game is an absolute no brainer. MUST BUY.

95

So good it makes you want to go bowling!

DerilloDucks | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all DerilloDucks's reviews »

Exactly what you expect from a GTA game!

It's playability is what really brings us all to GTA. You can goof around running over people and stealing fast cats or you can play the intense story based around Niko Bellic an illegal immigrant trying to fight his way into the city. Both are equally fun and you never come out of playing it disappointed. The multiplayer is an added bonus to this package if you have friends who also have this game, there are plenty of game-modes from Cops vs Robbers to just running around and messing about, plenty to keep you entertained!

Although having to launch the game through Games For Windows Live sucks, you'll still get an unbeatable experience!

Have fun!

91

Good game, but not without its flaws

MoizMansoorV | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all MoizMansoorV's reviews »

This GTA game brings more of the same free-roaming action as the older games, but with a brand-new engine and protagonist. The missions are great, but technical issues mar what is an otherwise flawless experience.

Highly recommended; you can get a lot of guides online that help optimize the game's performance for your system.

94

Superb

paddyg | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all paddyg's reviews »

Rockstar have done it again. They have created a brilliant open-world game where you are free to do as you wish. Go eat a few burgers, take your cousin bowling or even visit a strip club. A large variety of vehicles will keep you happy whilst you free roam around Liberty City (Based on New York). Why not take a tour in a helicopter? Play as Niko, a eastern European who has come to the USA to live the "American Dream" which his cousin, Roman, had promised him. Experience his struggles as he makes the big time.

90

True to the Franchise!

carhothion | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all carhothion's reviews »

Rockstar did it yet again with GTA IV. As with other titles, this game allows you to roam freely through the world and do as you please. I spent hours playing this game just messing around and seeing how long I could last before the cops took me down, all before even bothering with the main story line. The port to PC was better for this than for San Andreas, but I still recommend plugging in a controller if you have one.

Graphically, this game is well built with beautiful cityscapes you can explore from the ground, sea, or air. Plenty of weapons choices are available, letting you fight with anything from bare hands to rocket launchers. Stand on a roof and snipe your targets or beat them to the ground with a baseball bat... the choice is all yours.

Story: You play Niko Bellic, freshly come to the US from Europe. Your brother tricked you into thinking he was living the high life, but you find circumstances to be otherwise when you arrive. Life doesn't leave you much choice but to enter the criminal underground where you quickly fight your way up to the top. The cut-scenes are entertaining and the characters likeable.

Gameplay: There are plenty of activities you can perform in GTA IV, from side missions to main story quests. You can take your girl on dates to go bowling or throw darts, or just get wasted and take your chances making it home. While there's all of this to be done, I do recommend using a controller to play this, though it is possible to play with a keyboard and mouse.

91

Cousin, let's go bowling!

poik12 | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all poik12's reviews »

That line is one that you will probably be sick of by the end of the game, but it doesn't take anything away from the fun that is GTA IV, and maybe even adds to it. At the heart of every GTA is the sandbox, kill everyone-and-anything open world, and this one is no different. If you want to cause mayhem, then this game is for you. However, something that is often overlooked in GTA games is the story, and in this one, it's actually quite good. It's one that takes you everywhere on the very large map that is Liberty City, and is written quite well and coherently that it doesn't feel as if Rockstar added a story mode because they felt like they had to. If I did have one problem with this game, it would be the cut scenes. They often feel a little clunky, and the audio is sometimes out of sync, but otherwise, it's a great game.

88

Another Great Grand Theft Auto

agent54494 | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all agent54494's reviews »

As always Grand Theft Auto games speak for themselves, whether that is through controversy or playability, the games are always quite entertaining. The ability to openly roam the world with cheat codes enabled is present as in previous games, so from the beginning you are able to run around the city terrorizing everything in your path. The story is on the weaker side, but that is expected. Graphics and game play are the best of the series so far. Therefore, I would say to definitely pick this game up, especially if you are already a GTA fan. You will be burning hours away before you know it.

89

A great game, but has its drawbacks

FhexSans | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

I like Grand Theft Auto IV quite a bit, but it always felt like something was missing. Sure, I loved the newer shiner graphics, the radio stations were fairly good too, the gunplay felt vastly improved from the other GTAs by far, the vehicles handled much better than the games that came before it, and so forth.

But it felt like there was a lot missing, especially after San Andreas which absolutely knocked out socks off in terms of content. Indeed, that's what felt was lacking. Car customization was nixed, as well as RPG elements, the vehicle roster was scaled back a bit in terms of variety, the map was much smaller (but I understand why, still seems sad), and a lot of the whackier things that GTA is known for got scaled back too quite a bit in exchange for a more serious atmosphere. Not that I mind it too much, I actually like the change of pace, but I just felt like there could be more.

That said, Rockstar really did hit the nail on the head on the rest of the content they made GTA IV to be (except friends and activities, man those are dull). I wish there was more, but I can be happy with what they gave us. In addition, there is a modding community around this game so there's always new content to explore as well. In the end, I played it and enjoyed it (although the campaign does tend to draw out for a while), why haven't you!

80

The Best Sandbox Out Right Now

noobboy191 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

If you were a fan of the previous games you will fall in love with this game. From the great atmosphere of the New York like Liberty City, to the great voice acting and gameplay, if you ever played the older games you will feel right at home. But be warned, this game is riddled with bugs, but half of those are funny bugs, but the other half can ruin the gaming experience from game crashes to save corruptions, although rare don't be surprised if one these bugs visits you from time to time in your stay in the great Liberty City

93

Brilliant!

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

This game has a great story and fantastic gameplay. I have had hours of fun with this game, playing with my friends online and just playing singleplayer. The port isn't that good for PC but it is still definitely playable.

95

Polished, fun and worth the investment.

khryon | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all khryon's reviews »

A very exciting sandbox with a captivating story. Though the side missions are a bit bland, especially with your "lovers", GTA IV certainly delivers in terms of it's gameplay.

Though the game is quite good, I've run into a couple of bugs - nothing big in particular, but did require a quick restart or Googling to fix the problem.

A huge plus to this game is also the sheer amount of hours you can sink into the single player and multiplayer. If you're considering whether or not to buy this game, you'd be missing out on some quality entertainment if you decide not to.

84

The blueprint for all current-gen open world games

Forceflow | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

What's left to say about this one ... thanks to the passage of time and the incremental hardware updates ironed out the performance problems (yet, don't expect to play this comfortably on a laptop with built-in graphics or something like that).

All the traditional Rockstar elements are there: great voice acting, a fantastic soundtrack, a big city to explore, a long story with interesting characters, and the usual slow climbing-up in the criminal hierarchy. Some of the side missions (taking out your girlfriend or cousin) can be quite tedious, but the overall gameplay is just great.

Pick this up, it's a classic up to par with Vice City.

100

What a game!

08woodh1 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

Is there any game series better than the GTA franchise? I thought not. This game is the most recent one in the series (for now)and it brings together most things that we all love: ragdolls, guns, explosions, police, drugs, porn and swearing. With the endless mods you can get for this game on PC, it's impossible to ever get bored with it, and to anyone who hasn't got this game, I say: Where have you been? The party's over here!

100

Best Grand Theft Auto yet!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

GTA IV: This game makes you immersed in the story from the very beginning as you follow the story of Niko Bellic; a man from croatia who travels to America with his cousin to live the American dream. As the player, you get to be a part of every aspect of his life in this new world, but don't think that the game is all hollywood and money. Niko has to face his inner turmoil against his problems with the mafia and other crime lords of this New-York-style city, shooting cars, flying helicopters, being in high speed pursuits and who can forget the blithe and flippant radiostations. This game mixes a good blend of seriousness and emotion with humour and comedy. Definiteley a game to get, 10/10.

100

Niko Welcomes you to liberty city

suvojit91 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all suvojit91's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto IV is a 2008 open world action-adventure video game, developed by Rockstar North and published by Rockstar Games.

GTA IV is a game with a compelling and nonlinear storyline, a game with a great protagonist who you can't help but like, and a game that boasts a plethora of online multiplayer features in addition to its lengthy story mode. It's not without some flaws, but GTA IV is undoubtedly the best Grand Theft Auto yet.

Grand Theft Auto IV builds on the series' rock solid foundation with an awe inspiring recreation of Liberty City.

Grand Theft Auto IV is the eleventh title in the Grand Theft Auto series.GTA IV was subsequently been awarded the Gaming World Record of the Most Successful Entertainment Launch of All Time, and has received numerous other awards and accolades, the original version made even more success than its expansions. The PC version was released on December 3, 2008.

The game follows Niko Bellic, a veteran of an unnamed war in Eastern Europe, who comes to the United States in search of the American Dream, but quickly becomes entangled in a world of gangs, crime, and corruption. Like other games in the series, GTA IV is composed of elements from driving games and third-person shooters, and features open world gameplay, in which players can interact with the game world at their leisure. Grand Theft Auto IV also features several online multiplayer modes.

This is one of the few games which got full rating..so buy it & play it.. Ratings: VideoGamer : 10/10 GameSpot : 10/10 IGN: 10/10 Metalcritic: 98%

92

GREAT GAME!!

PixalatedGhOst | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all PixalatedGhOst's reviews »

Criminals are an ugly, cowardly lot more worthy of pity and disdain than admiration. This is what you'll learn playing through the single-player campaign in Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto IV. The series cheered (and criticized) for glorifying violence has taken an unexpected turn: it's gone legit. Oh sure, you'll still blow up cop cars, run down innocent civilians, bang hookers, assist drug dealers and lowlifes and do many, many other bad deeds, but at a cost to main character Niko Bellic's very soul. GTA IV gives us characters and a world with a level of depth previously unseen in gaming and elevates its story from a mere shoot-em-up to an Oscar-caliber drama. Every facet of Rockstar's new masterpiece is worthy of applause. Without question, Grand Theft Auto IV is the best game since Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

You play as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European attempting to escape his past and the horrors of the Bosnian war. He arrives in Liberty City to experience the American dream, only to discover his cousin, Roman, may have fibbed a bit in his tales of success. Starting from nothing, Niko makes a living as a killer and enforcer, a bad-ass foreigner who appears to have no morals. The longer we stay with Niko, the more we see that there is a broken human being inside, one who would give anything to escape the person he once was.

93

Great Game, that has you demanding for more

momoster69 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

Marvelous game, Great missions, I love the huge map and little ally ways. Rockstar has created one legendary epic game. Even the different multiplayer modes are excellent giving the player vast choices, especially how certain missions have choices on how to complete them, for an example to save one person or another which impacts the game. I would highly recommend this game.

100

Amazing

Jpux | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Jpux's reviews »

I don't know how people can't give this game a 10. It is almost perfect. It is probably my second favorite game ever, and the best game since Zelda: Orcarina of time(nothing gunna top that, sorry GTA). My favorite isnt even as good of a game (crysis), Its just a personal preference. Maybe better graphics, because if you compare it to other games of today, thats it weak spot, and has been for every other GTA, But the addition of a physics system makes this game 4 dimensional. The next GTA may be perfect if it keeps up, like this. But Niko Bellic had better be the main character next time, he is a badass.

94

A Splendid Sandbox

Jim_Pickens | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Jim_Pickens's reviews »

Whether you're playing singleplayer or multiplayer, you're sure to enjoy this crazy open-world shooter. It's Saints Row but much more realistic (but still nowhere close to complete realism). Compared to previous games in the series, it's graphically superior. You can do missions or you can just wreck havoc with the game's assortment of weapons and vehicles. But when you need a friend to help you in your destruction, multiplayer is the way to play. Although it requires Games for Windows Live, it wasn't enough to stop me from teaming up with some friends to do anything in the huge city that our hearts desire. The game isn't perfect, though; it has its fair share of bugs. It's strange, but bugs, known for beings cons and negatively affecting your gameplay, can add fun to this game! That's right, even the game's negative parts can be positives! Whatever you want to do, with friends or not, you can accomplish it in the insanely large city of Grand Theft Auto IV

86

Great game

Rexoto | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Rexoto's reviews »

A great must have game have for anyone who can run it which was the only problem i had but a few patches and its fine. story isnt great but it has that fun gameplay and humor the gta series has always had. Also being the first Gta game I have played multiplayer on it was a blast terrorizing the people of liberty city with your friend and doing all those crazy stunts you never could on your own. So if you have never played this or any of the gta series grab this now, play it and see what an amazing game you've been missing out on.

92

Niko,let's go bowling.

greasysun | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all greasysun's reviews »

The GTA series are one of the most known and greatest series in the whole gaming industry.A gamer isn't a gamer if he didnt play any of the GTA series,so if you didn't,this one is a must.

The graphical imporvement from GTA SA to IV is quite mind-blowing,the gameplay is as smooth as ever.The game also gives you a choice to do whatever you want,wanna do missions? great,wanna steal a taxi car and become a driver? why not! want to take a gun and kill everyone you see? There you go ! It's the ultimate sand-box game that I think everyone should play!

90

Father of Sandbox Games

FreakDeity | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

I am a huge fan of Sandbox games and this because of the GTA series. GTA IV is my one of the favourite sandbox game. This game totaly worth to your money and time.

100

One of the greatest... on consoles

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

I absolutely admire this game with all my heart. It has given me so many memories, I simply can't remember them all. I have played this game in and out, up and down, and over and over. The environment in GTA IV is just outstanding. The city is bustling, and every time I launch up the game, I'm just excited to do anything. Single player is outstanding, and multiplayer is one of the greatest things ever. Now, before I continue I must say I can't vouch for PC, I can only vouch for the 360. I've heard problems with the PC and how GTA IV is not that good of a PC port. Also, I don't know how well multiplayer works on the PC. But back in the days of the early 360, when you entered a multiplayer lobby and everyone was talking, it was a blast.

Just imagine you're in New York City. You have access to any common weapon you can think of, and you can take control and wreak havoc on anyone you want. You can steal any car you please, and just adventure into any part of the city. This is GTA IV. You do what you want, and you have a blast. The main storyline is great, but the game is so amazing, that even after the storyline, I spent another 500+ hours on this game. Just roaming around in Free Mode with friends alone can give you some solid playing time.

Please, get this game. It's one of the top ten games of 2000-2010.

80

Very fun, but gets repetitive at times

AdamSchuster | July 27, 2013 | See all AdamSchuster's reviews »

gta is hands down one of my favorite open world games simply because of the fact that you can do almost anything your heart desires. You can go on killing rampages, do motorcycle stunts, or see how long you can follow the rules of the road and avoid the cops. The multiplier is very standard, and the campaign starts out very fun but quickly gets repetitive and bland. Great game to have some fun in by creating chaos but the campaign needs to take itself less seriously and change it up more.

83

Awesome game not so awesome graphics

HiddenLegend | July 19, 2013 | See all HiddenLegend's reviews »

Best GTA game ever but in the current standing with other games the graphics seem to be a bit naff. clearly un-buffered textures in the world and flat images just hurt my eyes. Overall though a good game

90

Different, but in a good way.

TorpedoVegas | July 17, 2013 | See all TorpedoVegas's reviews »

GTA has been a franchise that I have cherished for years. I remember playing GTA3 at a friend's place and being blown away. I played GTA 1 and 2 at my cousin's place and thought it was great as well. Vice City and San Andres, like 3 were landmark games in their own ways.

When 4 came out, reviewers loved it and it won many game of the year awards. A lot of gamers had problems with it, but I wasn't one of them. The City was huge, and while their wasn't as much to do in it, it still was a beauty to behold. The story was top notch and is my favorite so far by Rockstar besides Red Dead and Max Payne 3.

Combat changed for a more realistic real. It took me a few hours to get it and driving down, but I finally did and the game felt that much more special to me. It took me just under 30 hours to complete, and I barely touched multiplayer. I own it on all three consoles just cause I wanted to show my support in so many ways. $20 is a great price, but it's sometimes $5 or less. Don't miss out on one of the greatest games of this generation.

93

LEGENDARY!

MichalM | July 15, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto, you can tell anyone that name and absolutely everyone will know what are you talking about. Iconic series of games is back and it's better then ever! It's HUGE improvement and technological gap between GTA:SA and GTA IV, the physics, the graphic, the controls, absolutely everything. As any other GTA game, GTA IV have awesome storyline, characters that are irreplaceable, voice acting is just amazing. And of course, huge map to explore, maybe not so big as it was in GTA SA but here you will play in Liberty City, bigger than ever. And of course, official multiplayer, forget about mods, forget about lags, that's a proper multiplayer that you have to experience for yourself. Better get it fast :D

80

It is a porting from consoles.. but it is still good

simodeso | July 13, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Gta is always gta nothing to say at all.. Niko Bellic is the main character, the story is great, there are a lot of mods and cheat that you can use with your phone, as the older Gta's. You have also tons of guns, and it is well made even if it is a porting from consoles. I preferred the older GTA's maybe because they were something new and they added something... But if you liked San andreas or Vice City you have to buy this game. it gives a lot of hour of fun, don't worry, try to beat the police and kill them all!

88

A great game, if you can get by the flaws.

Pro_Fish | July 10, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Playing Niko, the Single Player has a very good story, and the Multiplayer is top notch as long as you can live with GFWL and R* Social Club. These two forms of DRM can be somewhat annoying, but I felt they did not destroy the experience at all. Also, the game does struggle to run even on the best of machines. Unless you are one of the few lucky ones, don't plan on maxing this game at 60 fps with max settings; the poor CPU optimization simply will not let you do that.

The most redeeming quality, I must say is the ability to modify the game. Whether it be having real life cars in-game, changing your model, or even adding completely new sections to the world, the amount of fun that can be had with this part of the PC experience provides endless value.

Overall, this is a quality package, especially with the 2 DLCs, that are must owns for anyone who is looking to own one of the greaest and most ground braking games of the past decade.

94

A story you don't want to live without

Baconation | July 8, 2013 | See all Baconation's reviews »

Niko Bellic is one of the best characters I have ever played as in any video game. You start to care for everyone you see the instant the story starts. From every sad moment to gunfight you will never want to stop until you get to the end. Even with the HUGE game world of Liberty City Rockstar still managed to make this game good and long. I would recommend this game to anybody that loves games.

84

Game has everything but co-op

horrorangel | July 8, 2013 | See all horrorangel's reviews »

Best GTA yet. Dunno why they didn't make a real multiplayer apart from deathmatch but it doesn't make it any less of GTA goodness.

80

Fantastic game but a very sloppy port

Scorpy | July 6, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Let me get one thing out of the way: GTA IV is nothing short of an amazing feat. For a game made in 2008 it took pretty much everybody by surprise with how realistic and impressive Liberty City had become. Since GTA IV is pretty old at this point, I'm going to comment solely on the PC port and what you get from it.

The PC port has a pretty fair amount of additions. The one big addition was the replay editor, which lets people save footage and make anything from machinima to kill montages. This is an incredibly powerful tool that pretty much warrants buying the game by itself. Another great thing is the mods. With a "trainer", which is basically a bunch of game-specific commands that allow you to alter things in the game (think of a developer cheat menu), you have the freedom to do pretty much anything your heart desires in the city.

The downsides aren't many but they are very problematic. The game was sloppily ported and terribly optimized for PC. The result is a mess of a game, at 16GB in size this game requires a beast of a computer to run properly. Although you don't need an extremely high-tech PC to run this at moderate settings, getting the game to look good is tough, even by today's standards.

You can find this game for pretty cheap on both consoles and PC, but PC is the much better version of the two.

85

A game I always return to

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

Although I've played this game from start to end, all the missions, all the side objectives, I always find myself returning to this game just to mess around.

The open world of GTA4 is exciting to explore and there's always new things to do, especially with friends.

I love returning to this game just to flip cars off ramps at the airport, or to jump out of helicopters high over the city, or just mindlessly rampage through the city with a rocket launcher.

88

Open World Fun

ConorEngelb | July 5, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

I tried to be interested in Niko's story, but I just didn't really care about what happened to him. I tried, I promise, but it just sort of fell a little flat for me. But that's okay, because I found more than enough enjoyment in the open world of Liberty City to make up for that. I've spent hours running around, stealing cars and causing havoc across the city (bring friends! It makes things even more enjoyable: can you say deathmatch at the airport?) and even more hours trying to drive sensibly, getting irritated because someone was going too slowly, pulling up next to them and emptying a magazine into the driver's side window.

The driving feels authentic, and most of the weapons are satisfying to use. A few, though, feel slightly wooden in Niko's hands, with no real sense of feedback. But that too, like the story not grabbing my interest, is perfectly okay because I still get to shoot people to vent my frustrations.

90

A different take on GTA

Chack | July 4, 2013 | See all Chack's reviews »

There are mixed opinions on this game, some people love it, some people hate it, personally I really enjoyed it, sure it's very different from the previous titles, but everything it does it's well executed. What a lot of people doesn't really like it's ther realism of the game, which for some of you it's too much for this game, I kinda like it. Even with that in mind, it still has everything GTA is known for, crazy gameplay, fun driving, and an open world to explore, you should at least give it a try and see for yourself :)

83

Open World Beauty

acnicu | July 4, 2013 | See all acnicu's reviews »

The world we discover in the 4th game of the series is full of life, everywhere discovering people behaving as they'd do in the real world. The multiplayer component makes this a choice for those who want to check out the series and have fun. While it may not rise up to one's expectations (mostly coming from San Andreas Multiplayer) it remains fun nontheless, providing with a few MP modes that will keep you entertained for hours.

95

I wish it would never end

Jonot86 | July 4, 2013 | See all Jonot86's reviews »

Rockstar, they take their time but you can see it at the end result.

Graphics, storyline, sound, interactive environment and combat seamless mesh in together beautifully. They don't just do one thing right in this game, they did everything right.

Only thing I could complain about this game is that it ended, the storyline got me attached and the potential of having two different endings help give it a bit more of a reply value but still having a similar ending.

The combat was fantastic as I was able to finally cover and fight "bad guys" with an array of awesome weaponry. Driving was great as many people would complain but with the realism, this is how a car typically feels and drive.

Multiplayer is the cherry one top, playing with a group of players with many similar modes will get your heart pumping with a ton of close calls and epic firefights. Cops and Robbers takes the essence of a childhood game but now able to fly helicopters, drive cars and ride boats while riding with a group of friends.

Pick this game up and don't worry about it being "old" in the videogame world. You'll definitely be satisfied and playing it for years! (until GTA 5 comes out)

91

Defining Friendship

Rollmax | July 4, 2013 | See all Rollmax's reviews »

I have owned this game on both consoles and PC, purchasing all DLC included. Aside from the great amount of story you can play through, the multiplayer will be the sole reason people purchase its upcoming sequel. Though previous installments included a great modding community with limitless multiplayer, the basic free roam and racing can produce tons of fun with friends. If you can pull in a big party, there's no doubt you can come up with something new to do. If anything, pick this up at a low price now before your friend begs you to play the newest one with him, the experience will be well worth it.

95

Amazing

fiddy187 | July 3, 2013 | See all fiddy187's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto has long been one of my favorite series of games. I can remember all the way back to GTA London. I loved everything about it back then. Shooting, driving, missions, and a whole lot of fun!

The introduction of 3D graphics into the Grand Theft Auto series was huge! GTA 3 saw a new age of sandbox gaming arrive, and most people loved every second of it. Being a violent game, questions were asked about if it was ok to have on the market. I re-call several radio stations locally calling for it's ban. Thankfully, nothing happened, and everyone was able to enjoy their game.

GTA IV was a big step in the right direction for the series. The driving physics alone added quite a bit to the game. Previous games, in comparison now-a-days fall well short!

The graphics really made everyone take a step back! Pushing both High end PC's and consoles to the very limit!

The story behind GTA IV is an interesting one. Playing at Niko, an immigrant who has come to America to join his cousin, and follow the "American Dream" - His cousin, "Roman" fills his mind with wonderful stories about America. He fails to tell Niko that he's poor, has a gambling addiction, and is in trouble!

This doesn't faze Niko, as he meets new people, finds out everyones troubles, and meets them head on, in an action packed story. One of the best in the Grand Theft Auto series.

A huge bonus for the game is the length it will take to complete the game. Even if you focus on only doing the main story, and don't have fun killing cops, stealing cars, or going on dates, you're still likely to put around 30-40 hours into the single player. In my first play-through, I clocked 62 hours, which included some fun!

GTA IV was the first Grand Theft Auto to be released on consoles with multi-player. PC players and fans of the Grand Theft Auto series will re-call that GTA SA came with online multiplayer, but this was during a time that the internet wasn't as widely available to everyone.

GTA IV's online play adds a whole new step to an already near perfect game! With tones of fun mission type game modes to choose from, you can easily sink another 50 hours into the online modes alone, and not get bored!

With the PC widely praised for it's modding capability, it wasn't long before users began creating fun, exciting, and interesting mods for GTA IV. The most notable for me, was a full mod for playing GTA IV, as a police officer! WIth 1000s of mods to choose from, again, i can see 50 or more hours being put into this side of the game, even after you've finished your single player story, and had enough of the normal online game modes on offer.

All in all, GTA IV was a great game from Rockstar. The wait for it's release was a pain, just like it currently is for GTA V, but in the end, not many people can say they're disappinted with this installment of the Grand Theft Auto series. I'm sure I speak for everyone when I say we're all looking forward to the next!

95

Funniest MP ever??

naess91 | July 2, 2013 | See all naess91's reviews »

GTA will always be a great game, the story of the singleplayer is great and the open world always make gta a game which is always fun to play. But its the MP part, playing with a bunch of friends which is the blast... It's totally awesome and you could have looooooads of laughter. With small funny bugs makes it even more fun. An awesome game to play while waiting for GTA 5

91

Great immersive game

statutory_grape | June 29, 2013 | See all statutory_grape's reviews »

GTA IV expands on a very good baseline of GTA games. The storyline is well developed and believable, and the characters are fun. The driving feeling is a bit off, as there is a learning curve, but it doesn't detract from a great playing game. the graphics are much better than previous GTA games, and the environment is fulfilling.

93

Multiplayer madness

auroros | June 22, 2013 | See all auroros's reviews »

If you've got some friends and feel like playing something together, GTA IV is your go-to-game. Featuring high-speed races, exciting cop-bad guy chases and just free roaming, along with many other game types. I've had so much fun with this single player and multiplayer. If you don't have it, buy it!

100

AMAZING!

jomla97 | June 21, 2013 | See all jomla97's reviews »

This is one of the best games to pick up to just free roam around in the open world of Liberty City with your friends on a motorbike or maybe a helicopter. The storyline is adrenaline pumping and you will really merge into the world of Niko Belic.

100

An Amazing Sandbox

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Gta 4 is one of the greatest sandbox games ever. The story is amazing, the gameplay is fun and addicting, the soundtrack is top-notch, exactly what you'd expect from a GTA game and the graphics are beautiful. Sure the game is more realistic bu it's still lots of fun. The multiplayer is a lot of fun but in my opinion, the San Andreas Multiplayer Mod was much better than the one GTA 4 came with. My favorite part of this game is the AI. You will never see the same person on the street next to each-other like in the old games. Each civilian is set to do their own thing. They'll interact with you, you'll feel like you're really in New York City. Highly recommended for any action and sandbox fan.

97

Best sandbox game ever made

spycid | June 9, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Rockstar never stops amazing us. GTA IV is another example of that. It is a wonderful sandbox game where you can do a whole lot of stuff. Not only that but the gameplay, storyline, soundtracks are also awesome. Truly a masterpiece. Must play for all sandbox fans.

88

Top sandbox

Tsurion | June 6, 2013 | See all Tsurion's reviews »

As far as mafia and gang games go, nothing quite compares to the graphic level of this game, in my opinion. It can be a pain running through GFWL, but once you're over it, it can provide hours or gameplay, Following missions or messing about, whatever you prefer, including online play and many mods available.

100

Best of GTA

furious_gamer | June 5, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

A perfect game, with adrenaline pumping story line, with perfect characterization, game play and everything about GTA 4 is great. Be the city, be the vehicles, weapons etc, everything is sculpted to perfection and dialogues are real funny, especially the radio convos.

There is a lot to do, side missions, activities etc. If you buy this game, you will not regret. I bought this game, both digital and retail copy.

100

AWESOME!

MissMeow | June 3, 2013 | See all MissMeow's reviews »

Awesome open world game Great story Great graphics for that year Overall 9/10 = 90%

100

Cool addition to the GTA Series!

Plasros | June 3, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

For real PC gamers that understand the hardware and know how to configure their systems this game is a 10 all the way. I have been playing it since it came out and i will probably still be playing it after 3 years or so when GTA 5 comes out. The DLC pack even finally came out for PC so i hopefully will be experianceing Liberty City again. This game is a technological marvel on all accounts so OFCOURSE you will need a PC capable of running it. This is not the same game as on the consoles! The PC version looks MUCH better even on low settings( i play all high with everything MAXED OUT at HD resolutions) and the CPU power needed is immense. At least a quad is required as this game is higly multithreaded and a decent GPU (video memory is important). My only complain is the lack of Multi-GPU scaling but maybe with a better cpu the scaling would be better. Maybe a x64 bit version of the game could help boost things but perhaps it would just double the memory requirement. Anyways thank you ROCKSTAR for bringing GTA4 to the PC and doing it so that its much much better then the console version

80

Huge game

lok0812 | June 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The game world itself is pretty huge for the game in this genre. There are many mini games and different NPCs to interact with. Player can spend time with them through different types of activity given in the game to maintain relationships. The storyline of the game is very long which can get dull being the bus-boy in every single missions and can feel a little drawn out but if you enjoy games with a long length then you won't go wrong with this. Downsize of this game is that it is a port from the console so there might be crashes and errors sometimes. Controlling with keyboard and mouse can be frustrating sometimes especially when you are driving, so a controller is very recommended. A great game none the less if it wasn't too drawn out.

97

Almost perfect

kalil | May 30, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Well here begins my analysis of GTA 4. gameplay 10 Gameplay perfect running form is very distinctive character.

Technology 10 Actual movements of each of the characters

Graphics 9.5 This could to be carefully worked over the graphics but still very good

Sound 10 Good music, good voices.

Innovation 10 Each new GTA is innovated 100 percent and it shows

90

Addicting Adventure

ebeaver1016 | May 29, 2013 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

I am a GTA fan, but even if you are not...my guess it that any random gamer would find this entertaining. It offers optimal graphics and open world story play. Besides from your missions, you can answer dating sites via computer and go play darts, pool, go to a comedy theater (actually funny), or even go to a bar. But be careful, if you drink, it's hard to drive!

The story is extensive and you can choose your destiny. I definitely felt that I got my monies worth. I played so much that my screen name always showed I was playing this game and another person I know has added it to their wishlist...

BTW...my review is based on my experience and I didn't have any problems with the game based on my opinion. This does require windows live, but I got over that quickly. I felt the game was worth it.

89

The best GTA-game

Crazy4ever | May 27, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

What makes GTA IV stand out compared to the other GTA-titles is its story, and of course the graphics and updated gameplay. Still, these last two things are factors which do appear with technology, but GTA IV has kept its old open-world crazy shooting doanythingyoulike-style gameplay and made it even better. At the same time Rockstar have addded a great story for those who like that, and together + coop and multiplayer (which is great fun too) they have made the best game in the series!

85

Top Open World Game

Compax | May 21, 2013 | See all Compax's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto IV has a great Story and the setting is just great. You have a huge map with a lot of places and sidemissions. The Game runs fine if you have a good pc. If you love GTA you must play it!

30

Most boring game of 2008

cappincrunch | May 20, 2013 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

Loved GTA 3, Vice City, and San Andreas. Never been so bored of a game since GTA IV. It was overhyped, overrated, and praised simply because of its title and rockstar's repuation. Rockstar has a great reputation and their games are amazing, but I can see beyond what blinds the fanboys.

The map: It's huge and a great start, but the community is so stale. Walking around is just boring. San Andreas was full of gangster trash talkers and other forms of scum. Vice City was a bit more flamboyant and slapstick. GTA IV is just sadly realistic. People walking, nothing funny about it. There's just no reason to go walk with the pedestrians and get a kick out of their world. Free roam has been ruined by a stale environment, but at least co-op play make it a bit more fun.

Co-op/multiplayer: Multiplayer is about the only thing fun about this game, but the lack of activity, and lack of server customizations ruins it. Bats only in a teamdeathmatch, demolition derby, open-world gang battles for territories (red dead redemption), there was so much potential and their effort was actually well done, but the lack of a few features and gamemodes is the reason it died off.

Co-op such a missed opportunity. Free roaming with a friend is absolutely better than nothing, but you can't fly. You can't do any missions or even side missions. You just roam around, doing stunts, and killing each other which isn't too bad, but it's half completed.

Story: Yawn. It's a realistic approach, but we don't play games for real life.. that's what real life is for. No, I don't want to hear a phone ring every 2 minutes so I can go bowling. I want to rob stores, do drive-by shootings, have gang rivalry, make money, buy property and lots of customization. THAT is progression. This is just a weak attempt at making a boring story into a fun game.

Customization: I shoud leave this blank due to its lack of options. Some pants, some hats, and some jackets. You know something is wrong when Rockstar's throne for king of sandboxes is at risk because of Saints Row.

To sum it up, this game is a giant playground with no toys.

86

Can't wait for GTA V

jonas_h | May 20, 2013 | See all jonas_h's reviews »

I have always liked the GTA series. Along with GTA San Andreas and this game can be added to the best. They are made the same way but with improved graphics and physics. This game is easily worth your money if your computer possesses the power to drive it!

I can't wait for Rockstar Games to release the next title in the GTA series!

80

A great game, just not for pc

acloggedtoaster | May 10, 2013 | See all acloggedtoaster's reviews »

GTA 4 is a blast. The world is teeming with life, the physics setting a new benchmark for games, and the missions diverse and entertaining. In essence, a perfect game, Except for one massive problem. GTA 4 is probably the most poorly optimized game one can buy for pc. I struggle to maintain 30 frames per second on a rig that far surpasses the recommended requirements. Rockstar truly Botched this port, setting a new benchmark for game porting failure. With a very strong rig, this game should work alright. On a console this game would get a 10/10

90

Another Awesome GTA Title!

Sabi96 | May 8, 2013 | See all Sabi96's reviews »

This game is very good. It continues the GTA franchise in liberty city. Graphics have been improved a lot from previous games. The pc version is unstable with fps, because it's not a clean game, it's a port from the console versions. Liberty City is a huge place to explore, you can do missions like in previous GTA titles or you can just goof around the city. The only flaw i think there is that you can not dive underwater, you can just swim on the surface. The game is also pretty long, so it's not a waste of money, you won't be able to complete it in 8 hours. The voice acting is pretty good, except when they are talking Serbian it is barely understandable, they should have cast real Serbs to do the VA because these accents are not exactly good.

Overall this game deserves a shot to everyone who hasn't tried it yet. It is a third person game everyone could love!

98

Best game ever

UPP3R | May 3, 2013 | See all UPP3R's reviews »

Best game ever! Clueless punks giving this game a 0 when they should jsut play it on console then. For real PC gamers that understand the hardware and know how to configure their systems this game is a 10 all the way. I have been playing it since it came out and i will probably still be playing it after 3 years or so when GTA 5 comes out. The DLC pack even finally came out for PC so i hopefully will be experianceing Liberty City again. This game is a technological marvel on all accounts so OFCOURSE you will need a PC capable of running it. This is not the same game as on the consoles! The PC version looks MUCH better even on low settings( i play all high with everything MAXED OUT at HD resolutions) and the CPU power needed is immense. At least a quad is required as this game is higly multithreaded and a decent GPU (video memory is important). My only complain is the lack of Multi-GPU scaling but maybe with a better cpu the scaling would be better. Maybe a x64 bit version of the game could help boost things but perhaps it would just double the memory requirement. Anyways thank you ROCKSTAR for bringing GTA4 to the PC and doing it so that its much much better then the console version.

91

Great Entry GTA Series

ravestar | May 3, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

This is a game which divide opinions, but I would highly recommend it. GTA IV take place in Liberty City, model after New York City. They did a great job of capturing the vibe of the place.

It's a impressive experience with the trademarks of the GTA series. You get a huge map, lots of missions and a rise to the top storyline.

The voice acting and graphics are the best so far in the series, and the radio stations are fun to listen to. The main story of Niko Bellic is engaging, a fresh off the boat foreigner trying to succeed to America. I find the character likeable as we learn more about his troubled past. The anti hero character dramatize the emotional experience as the story unfold.

The only issue comes with the PC version, you will need good hardware to run the game. But overall, this is a great game that's well worth playing and is the best GTA so far in my opinion.

85

Great Open World

massi2323 | May 3, 2013 | See all massi2323's reviews »

GTA IV is a very good game, and more than worth the 4 euros I spent on it. The story is pretty good even if it is weird to see the character you play try to escape his previous life and the war, only to serve mobsters in the story or wreck havoc while just driving around. The voice acting is pretty well done, even if it can be difficult to understand a few characters here and there. The main attraction of GTA IV however is the open world. It is one of the largest in video games and is a faithful recreation of New York City. The jokes in the game are good, and you can find a whole lot of parodies of american culture, like sprunk instead of sprite. The graphics are okay, before you install something like icenhancer or, to a lesser extent, sweetfx. That being said, with such a huge world to explore and things to do, you don't really pay that much attention to he graphics. The combat system is alright, even if the shooting and fighting mechanics feel a bit rough around the edges and awkward compared to third-person shooters. That said, if you have a controller, I highly recommend using it, cause the game is a console port and feels much better with a controller.

73

Overhyped but Still Somewhat Enjoyable

Nuxaider | April 25, 2013 | See all Nuxaider's reviews »

After the initial success of GTA 3, GTA 4 looked it would promise a lot and sadly, didn't deliver. Not that it's bad, but there are a lot of things lacking from previous games.

Graphics: The graphics are bit outdated by now but still look very good. The world looks very similar and authentic to New York and really helps with immersion at times.

Sound: The sound quality and assets are rather good also. The cars each sound different and the game's soundtrack that you hear mostly from the radio is a good selection of tracks to suit a wide range of genres. Voice acting for Niko and other main characters is pretty good.

Gameplay: Compared to other GTAs, GTA 4 is lacking. Immediately, you'll notice a lack of air vehicles, a lack of gadgets to play around with (jetpack), and overall, a lack of a fun story. This game takes its story a bit too seriously and the gameplay suffers as a result. The missions are mostly consisting of driving to a location, killing some people, and then driving back. To the game's credit though, there is a bank robbing mission that is a blast to play later on. I only wish the entire game was like this.

Overall, besides improved graphics and sound, not much has improved since previous GTAs. Unless you want to get it to play online with friends, I'd avoid this game.

95

Welcome to Liberty City!

onewinged90 | April 19, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

First off, I'll begin by stating that this is not a good port from the console versions. PC controls are clunky and if got a controller, you might as well as fully utilize that controller of yours. Another thing is the PC version may not fully optimized, so the game might suffer some bad framerate on certain PC.

But bad port does not mean it's a bad game, it's a pretty awesome game! There are a lot of mods available for the PC version which indeed makes it superior to the console counterparts. For example the ICEnhancer mod could make GTA IV as if it is graphically developed for next-gen platforms.

There are so much stuffs to do in Liberty City. The city itself is massive, separated by several islands. Prepare to invest dozens of hours into this great game.

The story is just perfect for an open-world sandbox game. Michael Hollick who voiced Nico Bellic, his performance is top notch. Not to mention the great voice work delivered by the side characters as well, this proves that the game is very high in production value.

For a mere $20 for a critically acclaimed title worldwide, this is a steal. Oh yeah, don't forget to purchase Episodes from Liberty City which includes both The Lost and Damned, and The Ballad of Gay Tony DLC as well. Rockstar Games continues to grace us with this awesome Grand Theft Auto title to date.

Highly recommended.