Reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

88

This is better than the main game

liquidsnake78 | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

Gta 4 was no doubt a good fun game but it lacked many things the previous gta games offered and story was far boring than ever.

This is where the episodes from liberty city enter in , making gta 4 more awesome then ever. these are not just some 10mins dlc like you see today they have a good story to play and a lot of improved mechanics in game. Most importantly good missions.Leaderboards too for each mission.

This pack has both The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony expansions. Now for the bad part as you know the gta 4 pack is one of the worst releases on steam containing the soon to die GFWL + securom + rockstar social . As of now rockstar as not commented what they will do for gta 4 pack when gfwl is shutdown meaning which the game would be left broken or even removed from store . So do know what you are getting into while purchasing this, you can check the steam forums to see if anything has changed. i think its a good purchase on gmg at current sale and a nice game to play as well.

91

This is how it should be done.

Dyzzles | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all Dyzzles's reviews »

This is what I expect to receive when I purchase a DLC. EFLC provides hours upon hours of content, and even after you're done with the storylines, you'll find yourself having fun with some of the new features it adds to the original. I love how both stories collide with GTA IV's story at certain points. Adds a different kind of feel when you meet with a character that was literally you at some point. It's worth noting that EFLC doesn't depend on GTA IV, as it's standalone. Saves you plenty of money in case you played GTA IV on consoles, or you simply lost your CD. You don't have to buy it just to play these!

Do consider buying GTA - Episodes from Liberty City! It'll definitely be worth your time. :)

77

Good dlc if you like Grand theft auto IV.

DeadReap | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all DeadReap's reviews »

This dlc is very good if you like, Grand theft auto IV. Dlc adds two new stories to your game that are really good. Every thing is like original and this dlc adds few new weapons and two great stories. If you like Grand theft auto IV then you have to try this dlc. You will not regret about trying or buying it.

90

Memorable

Oblaque | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Episodes from Liberty City is more like a big expansion pack than "DLC." You get two completely new campaigns for an absurdly low price. Lots of new weapons, new vehicles, new helicopters, new cutscenes, new characters, and more explosive (and I mean EXPLOSIVE... heheh) GTA action - all crammed into one purchase, for a low price.

Don't expect new graphics though. It's the same game-world and city as GTAIV, it's just with significantly more new content to enjoy. If you haven't purchased it yet, I would definitely recommend it. It's a great value, and it'll be more than enough to keep you entertained until GTA V comes out!

95

Great DLC

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

Both these DLC's are really good in different ways. The Ballad of Gay Tony is a lot more like san andreas in a good way, it has that kind of feel and humor to it. The Lost and Damned is a more serious story but is a really great edition. Awesome stories!

90

Re-introducing the madness to GTA.

Chrillen | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all Chrillen's reviews »

Continuing their tradition of making great titles, Rockstar Games' two additions to the already phenomenal GTAIV are no exceptions, and even improve upon the core experience in several aspects.

This is particularly true for Ballad of Gay Tony, which brings back the crazier and more light-hearted humor of the previous GTA titles, especially that of San Andreas. It is a breath of fresh air from the gritty, down-beat atmosphere of GTAIV, and by extension, The Lost and Damned. That's not to say that TL&D isn't a worthwhile experience in itself, as it offers a captivating storyline, slightly more-so than BoGT, and the way that the three games fit together and take place along-side each other, is exceptionally pulled off.

Both additions also offer new weapons and vehicles, along with new characters and plenty of missions to further delve into the world of Grand Theft Auto 4. Both BoGT and TL&D are standalone expansions, meaning that the original game is not a requirement to play them.

Which you should. Right now.

92

Two Great Stories

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Rockstar, as usual, has set the bar of how DLC should be crafted as this pack features some of the most interesting characters and storylines, as well as some of the best action, of any GTA game to date. Once again though, the PC port can prove to cause some issues.

90

Rockstar, you rule!

lolwut12 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all lolwut12's reviews »

The DLCs for GTA IV is so interesting and fun that I couldn't stop playing it, The Ballad of Gay Tony has this Colorful feeling when you play it, while The Lost and Damned has a more Serious feeling. The best part about the DLCs are the new radio stations, even though they replaced and changed a few radio stations. Rockstar managed to give the most enjoyable songs in each radio stations that I couldn't get out of my vehicle because of the radio stations! There are abit of flaws in the DLCs, but still, this is one of the games I enjoyed and played alot.

85

How DLC should be done!

Kazuma_San | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Kazuma_San's reviews »

Grand theft auto 4 was fine but not great. The two expansions released and a new level of enjoyment to the games. I myself did not like 'The lost and damned' but I loved 'The ballad of Gay Tony'. 'The ballad of gay tony' is what I believe the original grand theft auto 4 should have been like, just great fun! But the expansion is far from perfect. If you thought there was too little customisation in Grand theft auto 4 then you will find that Grand theft auto 4 has a lot of customisation compared to the expansions. This is a bundle worth buying and do not underestimate them for originally being DLC because they are really great and an example of how dlc should be.

88

I LOVE GTA

liberator328 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all liberator328's reviews »

I love the GTA series and this dlc holds some of the funnest and best moments in GTA history. The Ballad of Gay Tony has a hilarious and awesome story. The Lost and Damned is a much more serious story about a bikers gang. Both DLC games include new weapons and multiplayer game modes to have fun with your friends.

95

Both great expansions that add onto the godly GTA IV

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Most people praise Gay Tony, but forget about The Lost and the Damned (TLaD). Honestly, I enjoyed TLaD more than Gay Tony. But they were both amazing.

GTA IV was more popular back when TLaD came out, and I remember having gang wars in Free Mode as bikers. The customization led to biker gangs forming, and Free Mode got 10x funner, even though it was already amazing. TLaD offers a multitude of new weapons, my personal favorites being the grenade launchers and the machine pistol. And most of the new bikes were really cool. The story was definitely good, but the additions to multiplayer were where TLaD shined.

Gay Tony... was amazing. It was honestly probably better than TLaD, but I hold a little bias because I just had better times with better people during TLaD. That's not to say Gay Tony wasn't bad, because man was it amazing. It added parachutes. PARACHUTES. That alone is enough to make it good DLC. But on top of that, there's sticky bombs, a giant tank, and extra weapons like a p90, golden uzi, and a light machine gun. A better protagonist, and night clubs make Gay Tony probably the better expansion, but don't rule out the other one, because as I've said before: they're both great.

85

How expansions should be made!

AndyMadness | July 4, 2013 | See all AndyMadness's reviews »

Episodes from Liberty City is a standalone expansion, which contains The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony. It adds new content, like weapons and vehicles and most importantly - completely new story line and missions. It's a good example how expansions should be made - it improves upon the original game and adds something new, without the feeling you are paying for refurbished stuff. If GTA 4 lacked something, it's that peculiar feeling, silly characters and humor. Episodes successfully add some elements to make that up. I would say it makes the whole GTA 4 experience more lively and vivid. Sometimes it even feels Episodes should be the main game, because of the superior execution of some elements, like the missions, the varied tasks and activities that come with being a biker or a club manager.

100

Just awesome!

jomla97 | June 21, 2013 | See all jomla97's reviews »

With this DLC/expansion pack for GTA IV you will get two more great singeplayer storylines as well as more amazing multiplayer content, which are all well worth your money! An awesome expansion for an awesome game!

100

Standalone DLC of famous GTA IV

furious_gamer | June 5, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

The stories of TBOGT abd TLAD is complete opposite, yet the way the interlinked them is mind blowing. The protagonist in both story is not usual guys. Not even like Niko Bellic, much better than Niko.

The game has been modified a little bit and added few activities, which is fun and i like TBOGT much better than TLAD. Overall, quality content from Rockstar and once again, rock solid story, game play from R*.

85

Standalone Expansion that's best played alongside GTAIV

Coolicy | April 22, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

In case you didn't read it correctly, you DO NOT need a copy of GTA IV to play this standalone expansion pack. Yet, I would highly recommend that you DO get GTA IV and play that first before playing this.

The stories in TBOGT and TLAD are both self contained, and provides its own satisfying story arc. You can expect that usual Rockstar polish and content here, thrown in with GTA IV's solid mechanics such as shooting and driving.

The star of these two expansions however would be how it ties to GTA IV's story - the main reason why I recommend GTA IV as well. Expanding the stories of two seemingly usual NPC's that just passes by in Niko Bellic's life turns out to be increasingly complex.

The multiplayer requires Rockstar's Social Club, which I personally find a little cumbersome and not very intuitive. Yet, the multiplayer scene is still alive. I still jump in from time to time just to release some steam, but that wouldn't be a reason why I'd recommend Rockstar's Episodes from Liberty City. I recommend it because the single player campaigns are solid as hell and entertaining from star to finish!