Reviews for Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Overflow

85

Excellent Medieval Combat

HMKuk | May 12, 2013 | See all HMKuk's reviews »

Visceral and bloody combat with a decent fighting mechanic.

There are problems with hitboxes and so forth, but far less so than you might imagine - a lot of effort has obviously been put in to making Chivalry comfortably playable to newcomers to the genre of FPSlasher.

The gamemodes are varied, but lengthy play will see the maps becoming a bit "groundhog day".

Pros : Good Combat, satisfying mutliation, good selection of weapons. Cons : Glitchy movements occasionally, limited maps and gamemodes.

68

Has potiental but wait for futhur patches

britishlad | May 10, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Pros: The game is very quick to learn and is great for anyone who just wants to log on and bash some heads in. Getting that kill blow in just before your opponent is very satisfying, especially when you chop off someone's arm or decapitate them! The gameplay is completely dependent upon your own reaction time and skill, which is very frustrating in the beginning and becomes rewarding with the passage of time! The weapons are of good variety, and generally are all variations of range of attack, speed and damage. The graphics look fantastic on a high end machine but if you lower the graphic settings the game looks very ugly

Cons: Although addictive, the game plays like a beta test. Menus with mouseovers have letters obscured by nearby graphics due to font size changes during the mouseover. The game kept resetting my keyboard controls - I had to change them three times! which was extremely frustating! Occasionally, your character will swing their weapon wildly when no buttons are pressed. The "animation" of jumping in 3rd person view looks more like something you would expect from an 8-bit video game rather than something modern (think original Super Mario Bros). The game will repeatedly switch to the desktop during the middle of battle leaving your character at the mercy of your foes until you can Alt+Tab back into the game.

Summary: Very fun and addictive if you can stomach the bugs. It will be that much more fun once the technical issues are patched!

88

An indie treat!

Daveymon1234 | May 7, 2013 | See all Daveymon1234's reviews »

As with many of the other reviews about Chivalry, I believe this game to be an absolute cult classic. Anybody who likes games such as The Elder Scroll Franchise (Morrowwind, Oblivion, Skyrim etc.) then you will be impressed by this wonderful, but sometimes frustrating game.

If you take into account the size of the development team, the engine that they have brilliantly manipulated to create such a 'ballsy' game, then you have to say that this is one of the finest games that has been created by an indie developer.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a brilliant, but slightly buggy FPS/Slice 'em up.

85

Not for the Casual Player

Onefatcow | May 3, 2013 | See all Onefatcow's reviews »

Yes the game is great, and yes it is one of the best medieval combat games out there, but it has an extremely (emphasis on extremely) high skill level. Do not expect to be able to get a 1:1 k/d ratio early on, in fact it may be unreasonable to even expect to get many kills. Yes, the game is great, but it may not be the game for for someone who wants to play a few hours. It's a great game, if you have the time for it.

88

Great and different multiplayer game

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

If you're bored with the endless FPS games this generation, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare offers something a bit different. The combat is very heavy and meaty, a bit difficult to learn but once you master the combat, landing hits against other players feels great with added visual feedback such as dismemberments.

The game does have some balance issues but the game is also being constantly updated so hopefully they will be ironed out over time.

88

A fantastic break from your regular FPS

SpatterAnalyst | May 2, 2013 | See all SpatterAnalyst's reviews »

Let's start off with the good bits; This multiplayer game is awesome! The sword-play in this game is great, it makes Skyrim seem like an arcade game; you use the mouse to do three different attacks (stab, slash, and crush) and block either with a shield or your weapon. There are many different weapons, spread across four different classes. All DLC so far has been free! Great fun by yourself or with friends, the game still averages ~3000 people on Steam, so you'll always be able to find a game instantly! A really fun break from traditional FPS such as COD/BF.

The not-so-good bits (of which there aren't many); the game relies a lot on ping, so if you are facing someone with a much lower ping, you probably won't win. Also, shields can sometimes seem a bit over-powered, in my experience anyway!

Overall, a fantastic purchase that is well worth £15.

90

Fun game

redlady360 | May 1, 2013 | See all redlady360's reviews »

Chivalry is such a fun game to play and cracks me up quite a bit when you hear your character calling out taunts, or when you're aiming for a archer and suddenly die because you were so focussed on the archer you didn't realise you were getting attacked from behind.

I'd give it a 100 if only it didn't have a few bugs but honestly I can look past them and the only one I've really noticed isn't a major thing.

Its fun to play with your friends or on your own against others on the servers. From free for all to team objectives they all are fun, though I suggest playing free for all to get use to the game a bit. Its good training free for all and well I find it better to do that than the actual training mode as you have more than one person coming at you which helps you learn how to block easier.

It took me some time to get use to when the game auto balances teams as I'm not one who focusses on the chat box in a game and that is where it tells you that you've switched teams. However that's more my fault than the game.

Overall I just love the game and its fun to play.

90

One of the best medieval fps games!

krythorian | April 27, 2013 | See all krythorian's reviews »

This is the second best medieval fighting game (yes I think mount & blade is better).

The combat is very hard to get into at first but after some time playing you'll get used to it, according to me this game is more fun than war of the roses.

The only thing that's a minus is that the archers seems pretty overpowered.

75

Fun melee game.

sittinghawk10 | April 27, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

Pretty fun game. The movement feels pretty realistic and everyone moves as you might expect them too. Plenty of servers to play in. When you go against people with higher ping its a little annoying though. Several game modes with objectives as well as just deathmatch. I like playing dm once in a while but too much and it can get boring. The classes feel pretty balanced and you get pretty good at the weapons as you have to use them to unlock the next in the line. Would recommend. Great value.

83

Great game

catharsus | April 24, 2013 | See all catharsus's reviews »

This game is truly a refreshing relief from the generic fps shooters that have been thrown out onto the market. The game looks beautiful, and the gore is truly a sight to see. Dont wait any longer, get yourself this game, especially during this sale!

85

More than meets the eye.

BazookaSamurai | April 24, 2013 | See all BazookaSamurai's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, will most likely be more than you expected when you boot it up. This game is a gorgeous, bloody and intensive combat experience that will have you hooked from your first battle.

Offering multiple classes to play as with a multitude of combos and techniques to master, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare will keep you entertained for a long time.

If you enjoy fast paced combat, Medieval themed entertainment and blood, do yourself a favor and pick this up. I'll see you on the battlefield.

90

Bloody, Fast-paced, and Fun

murphs33 | April 23, 2013 | See all murphs33's reviews »

Great reaction-based combat, with the satisfaction of seeing your opponent meet a brutal end, including decapitations, dismemberment, and head-smashing. Unlockable weapons increase replayability, the graphics are awesome, and there are plenty of game modes. Also, it's never a problem finding a game; just be prepared to say "sorry" now and again for accidentally chopping your mates' heads off in the heat of battle.

75

Great game For fun

Gravekid | April 23, 2013 | See all Gravekid's reviews »

I really enjoyed this game and still do today i have easily sunk 100 hours into this game and im really enjoying the game with the free DLC and that the game looks astonishing it is a reccomended must buy

74

Great, fast paced, medieval war game

Shykon | April 23, 2013 | See all Shykon's reviews »

As the title says: Great, fast paced, medieval war game. Lush enviroments, very fun to play. Would recommend it to anyone in to this type of stuff.

83

One of the best multiplayer games you will ever play

rstokes | April 23, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Part COD, part mount and blade. This game is in a league of its own when it comes to multiplayer mayhem. With the recent updates levels mean much more and the new weapons are a great addition to the game. Skills reigns supreme in this game, learning to trick your opponent into a baddly placed attack or a poorly timed block will allow you to conquer the battlefield 1v1. I highly recommend this game

95

Changes your perception of First Person Melee Fighting forever.

Coolicy | April 22, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

I can't go back into sword fighting in Skyrim anymore after playing this game. Skyrim was a fun game, but the sword fighting is very simplistic when compared to this game. In Chivalry, there are really only 3 attack moves: horizontal swings, forward stab, and vertical (overhead) chops. Combined with factors like Timing, Angle, Weapon Speed and Reach makes for a very complex system. You'll encounter situations such as being flanked, surrounded, and sniped by archers and must take them into consideration when fighting an opponent. When everything's combined, it makes for one amazing sword fighting game. This game has set such a high bar for me, I'm afraid of playing games that's really a game about slashing until the enemy health is out.

Even better: The developers have updated the game since launch with FREE additional content. You get more maps, more modes, and more weapons to expand to the already impressive set in the base game. The new maps are expansive and very detailed. The new weapons are well balanced into its existing arsenal, and adding weapons to classes (eg. polearms to Men at Arms, and flails to Knights) that will change up the way you typically approach these classes.

This game has a lot of support for the friends system by letting you see him clearer in the battle. Allowing easy access to quickly regroup (when allying) or allowing vendettas to be fulfilled sooner (when enemies).

I have sunk over 100+ hours in this game already, you simply won't regret your purchase if you spend the time to learn its systems. Get this game! It's on sale now! Get it with a friend, it is worth it!

95

Amazing Multiplayer Fun

LightningMelon | April 22, 2013 | See all LightningMelon's reviews »

There are plenty of competitive, multiplayer first-person games on the market, but very of few of them are outside of the modern shooter mindset, and very few of them are any good. Chivalry is both an absolute blast to play and is very fresh, focusing on a time period not often seen in multiplayer games: medieval warfare, sans any sort of magic or fantastical elements.

Melee combat is fast, challenging and punchy, there are things to unlock but nothing unfair or necessary to survival, ranged combat is highly skill based and fun (with bows and crossbows that behave realistically), maps are large and often have cool objectives, such as having one team laying needing to slaughter a bunch of peasants that the other team has to protect, and the graphics are gorgeous. Like any online game, there are occasional issues with rude players and teamkilling (friendly fire is always on, as far as I can tell), but such small problems shouldn't keep you from experiencing this wonderful title.